PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 04:26 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.8 / 100
355 East Kalamazoo Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
United States
(269) 382-2332
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
108 Reviews / 12 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Sat 10:0AM - 12:30AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) London Grill
(0 mile)

3) Shakespeare's Pub
(0 mile)

4) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

5) The Union
(0 mile)

6) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

7) Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
(0 mile)

8) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(0 mile)

9) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(2 miles)

10) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Corner Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(3 miles)

13) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
10) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO WEST
11) SUPER 8 KALAMAZOO MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gibbs, John, House
7) Gilbert, Henry, House
8) Haymarket Historic District
9) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
10) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
11) Ladies Library Association Building
12) Lawrence and Chapin Building
13) Lilienfeld, David, House
14) Marlborough, The
15) Masonic Temple Building
16) Michigan Central Depot
17) Montague, Henry, House
18) Oaklands, The
19) Old Central High School
20) Old Fire House No. 4
21) Portage Street Fire Station
22) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
23) Rickman Hotel
24) Roberts, Martin W., House
25) Rose Place Historic District
26) Shaffer, Enoch, House
27) South Street Historic District
28) State Hospital Gatehouse
29) Stevens, Andrew J., House
30) Stuart, Charles E., House
31) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAA-Mc Donald's Er Road Svc
2) Argo Inn & Sports Lounge
3) Aries London Grill Singapore
4) Aries London Grill Singapore
5) Bagels' & Panini
6) Bar-B-Q-Pit
7) Barbq Pit
8) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
11) Big Joes Pizza & Deli
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Billie Bob's Corn Beef Deli
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bimbo's Pizza
16) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blue Dolphin
19) Blue Dolphine
20) Bogie's Cafe
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Caffe Casa
25) Centershot Lounge
26) Chicago Subs & Grill
27) Chicago Subs & Grill
28) Chicken Coop Inc
29) City Subs & More
30) Club Soda
31) Coffee Shop
32) Coney Island
33) Coney Island
34) Cosmo's Cucina
35) Cues & Brews
36) Dan's Fish & Bar B Que Shanty
37) District 211
38) District 211
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Inn
41) Dragon Inn
42) Dragon River Restaurant
43) El Grande Fiesta
44) Epic Bistro
45) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
46) Fandango Tapas Bistro
47) Fish Island
48) Fishel's Deli
49) Flame Restaurant
50) Food Dance Cafe
51) Food Dance Cafe
52) Fourth Coast Cafe
53) Francois' Macaroni Factory
54) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
55) Geno's Pizza
56) Golden Chopsticks
57) Harvey's On The Mall
58) Holly's Family Restaurant
59) Home Bar
60) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
61) Java Lounge
62) Jimmy John's
63) Josephine's
64) Just Good Food
65) Just Good Food
66) Kfc
67) King's Table
68) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
69) Kozy Inn
70) Larry's Bar & Grill
71) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
72) Lee's Garden Restaurant
73) Little Caesars Pizza
74) Louie's Restaurant
75) Louie's Restaurant
76) Main Street Cafe
77) Main Street Cafe
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Nally's Kitchen
82) Monaco Bay
83) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
84) Nick's Tavern & Grill
85) Nina's Cafe & Carousel
86) O'duffy's Pub
87) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
88) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
89) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
90) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
91) Papa's Italian Sausage
92) Petra's Cocina
93) Pizza Hut
94) Plaza Cafe
95) Plaza Cafe
96) Poor Richards Cafe
97) Ravenwood Coffee
98) Rib Tip
99) Rice Kitchen
100) Rice Kitchen
101) Root Beer Stand
102) Rugger's Up & Under
103) Sammy's
104) Sandwich Express
105) Sandwich Express
106) Scooters D's
107) Shakespeare's Pub
108) Sojo's Fish & More
109) Soup Kettle
110) South China Restaurant
111) State Grill
112) Subs-N-More
113) Subs-N-More
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Taco Bob's
117) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
118) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
119) Tradewinds Lounge
120) Union Cabaret & Grill
121) University Road House
122) Water Street Coffee Joint
123) Webster's
124) Websters Fine Dining
125) Wendy's
126) Zazios
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
A shrine to beer--high ceilings, brick interior, stained glass and beer decor. The African masks are very cool, too! Food menu was limited but unique, I just looked, maybe next time... 10 taps running when I visited. I sampled 6 and was extremely surprised that Bell's Beer was my favorite. Clean and crisp, perfect for a sultry summer afternoon. The Third Coast Beer was a close second, very effervescent and refreshing. Hell Hath No Fury and the Wedding Ale both had Belgian flavors throughout while the Old Ale was syrupy and potent. Paddy O Furniture was nondescript, and was surprising in that regard. Employees were very stand -offish and pretty much ignored everyone but each other and the occasional friend that entered. Pity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
my vacation last year included Kazoo and KBC was a definite hit! Expedition and Milk Stouts were great, Bells Beer, Sparkling ale were very good, but Big Two-Hearted IPA topped them all. Larry Bell is a master-go up there and appreciate it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
A buddy of mine and I were passing through the area and decided to search Bell's out. We had had the beer in bottles in our own area, but are not fortunate enough to find it on tap very often. While the beer and the food are very good, this is not the 'typical' craft beer sort of place. Don't get me wrong, it's not at all bad by any means and if I'm in the area again will definitely stop again. It's just not quite what I had expected. The Two Hearted is unbeatable as was the Old Ale.

One suggestion, Growlers. Other then that, very nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Short Doug Short, Indian Springs, OH
(04/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Eccentric Cafe is without a doubt the best place to enjoy a beer on a warm summer afternoon. Even in the winter the place is great. The best live music in between Ann Arbor and Chicago put together with the finest brewery in the midwest all smoke free. My only complaint is the prohibition of Bocce on lawn in the back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Hinsdale, IL
(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
I haven't reviewed Larry's place in quite a while, so time for a nudder one. I was down there for Eccentric Day (2nd Fri of Dec each year) and had a great time. A Bourbon Expedition Stout was on tap. I had one o'dem plus a Two Hearted Ale. They were both most excellent. I also picked up my usual two sixpacks to lay away for several years of the new Eccentric Ale which was released that day (hence the name Eccentric Day.) The place is still a bit quirky with Mr. Bell riding ship behind the bar on this day. He's always there to fire us up each Eccentric Day. a warning: You won't be able to get in for the festivities on Eccentric Day if you don't wear "eccentric attire." Raid the back of your closet and be creative. The food (always incidental at best) was also "eccentric." Soups, breads, and even the occasional caviar are part of the spread on this Day of days. A bonus: the "Stouts of November" and the new Third Coast Old Ale are all available at The General Store in December, too. Bell's is a must for all beer lovers and a good great party on Eccentric Day. All y'all come!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Biz Biz, Kalkaska, MI
(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Awesome!
I think Todd indicared his mistake (Saturday nite/University town)As far as wanting to find 'Expidition' on tap not likely. While Expidition Stout is perhaps one of Bell's most renowned beers it is only occasionaly brewed. Being that vitually all KBC's beers are unfiltered., unpastuerized, and bottle conditioned they are draught beers in a bottle. For the ulimate "Expidition' expierience buy the 'X' and cellar properly for 4,5,or 10yrs(awsome!!!) or attend the "Great Tastse of the Midwest" in Madison,WI where Bells has been known to opened Jeraboams? of aged Expidition Stout and Old Ale. I'm sorry that Todd had such a bad expierience at what I consider one of the best breweries in America.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Kalamazoo, MI
(12/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Great beer, that's all the counts

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deke Deke, Kent, OH
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Lousy Good
I have looked forward to visiting Bell's for a long time. It did not measure up to my expectations. I made the mistake of going on a Sat evening. They seemed more interested in being a club, than being a brewery. I had dreamed of trying their Expedition Stout on draft, only to arrive to a VERY limited draft listing. When I questioned the pitiful choices, the female bartender got short with me. I received an attitude for wanting one of the flagship beers, of a major microbrewery/brewpub while at the brewery. Was that too much to ask? The Two Hearted Ale was very good, but I already knew that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome!
OK the food was so-so, But the Beer was Awesome! The Big Two hearted IPA was unreal, and the stouts were great (except one. After hitting the pub I went next door to the retail store and got a mixed six pack to take to a friends for a tasting. We all agreed-the IPA rocked, but the Java Stout has got to go! If you're in Kazoo you MUST go to Bells!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul B. Jaeger Paul B. Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(11/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Awesome!
I was a bit turned off by this place the first time I visited last year: the big brick walls made it feel kind of cold, and for a football Sunday, there was absolutely no action. I buzzed through again last weekend, and had a bit better luck. First of all, just save yourself some money by hitting their store behind the bar. They had about 16 varieties bottled there, so I was able to stock up on the ones I hadn't tried yet (have to decide if I want to soak the labels and reuse the bottles for homebrew, or pull a Kramer/Newman and take them back with a truck full of other bottles for the Michigan deposit). Their store is also a very well-stocked homebrew supply place. The bar itself has maybe six or seven beers on tap, with a few more bottled ones, but no samplers. The only thing on tap that I hadn't just bought was their "Bell's Beer." Yup, I just had their plain ol' lager, but it was delicious anyway! Food menu is limited, however, I ordered a burger and found it to be very juicy and tasty. They're big on veggie entrees, too. Just having this and Kraftbrau across the corner from each other makes this one of America’s great beer havens (and that’s before you figure in Olde Peninsula just further down the street, in downtown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark McDermott Mark McDermott, Park Forest, IL
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stuart Stuart, Elkhart, IN
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
12 varieties on tap the day I was there. Dan (a brewer) helpful and eager to discuss beers while he had some down time. The menu was limited but good. Server was helpful providing some tasters to aid in my selections. My favorites were the old ale, batch 6000 and the double cream stout, which I had before in the bottle but not on draught. Cash only in the pub, but they do provide an ATM. Store in rear of parking lot for 6-packs, shirts and so forth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
A visit here is a must to any true beer geek! I live on the east coast and therefore can only wistfully dream of putting my hands around a pint of a Bell's beer, and what beer! During my short (alas) visit here, I lost count of all the styles offered - although, I did count at least 6 different stout. What a place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Jerry, Gaithersburg, MD
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
The best brewerery in America. Period. Rich, complex, fresh, perfectly balanced. Some of the most equisite beers I've ever had -- Two Hearted Ale on tap, an Amber that I'd choose over long list of strong ales, my first sip of Expedition Stout, Cherry Stout with chocolate cake (yes! try it!), a Sparkling Ale gives Duvel a hell of a run for the money. These guys do everything right . . . except ship Texas, where I live!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Brandon Robert Brandon, Austin, TX
(05/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Awesome!
April 1 the Oberon has been unleashed, a thursday night regatta celebrated the seasonal sensation that so many Kalamazoonians cherish. I was very pleased none the less to partake in this extrordinary evening. The Oberon is delicious, People travel from miles around to get a taste of Bell's beer, truly a formula from heaven. Peace and love thy barely, rice, and hoppes

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy So So Good
I would rather buy their beer at the store, and drink at home. The food and service are very disappointing. The problem with not liking this place is that their beer is just so damn good! The Porter has to be the best (beer isn't a subjective thing.... is it?), and a beer that tends to get overlooked is the amber. It is not true to style -but would a rose by any other name not smell as sweet? It's more like a unfiltered american pale ale (if there is such a thing). Try it (and all of their beers) - you won't be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad The Brewery Guy Chad The Brewery Guy, Houston, TX
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Great
I was there on "Circus Night" First time they ever did it I was told. It certainly was an ecclectic evening with clowns running around and a DJ and people all dressed up. Bells bottled beers here in Ohio are spotty (sometimes great sometimes swill - I think it has to do with handling). Anyhow, all the beers there that night were clean and tasty, however there was nothing that really grabbed me by the collar and compelled me to drink it. The Oberon was nice, but I would have loved a Two Heart Pale Ale or some Big beer, but alas no such luck. I did dine on free corn dogs and popcorn, in the Bier Garten, and the hops were an nice touch. Cool time, but I was hoping for a better beer selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Medina, OH
(12/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! So So Good
I find most of the beer produced here to be somewhat inconsistent. Taste and quality seem to vary from trip to trip.

A bit of advice. Don't spend all your time here. Take a few minutes and walk across the street to Kraftbrau. They specialize in German lagers. They do a great job. To miss this brewery is a real shame.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrad, Sears, MI
(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was blown away when I walked into this place. The decor and setting is great, there's a real midwest aura about it with the moosehead and giant maps. and the beer, ah yes, the beer is to kill for. bell's will make you want to slap your mother then tapdance on her grave. their product is the best beverage on the planet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Harbaugh Darren Harbaugh, Whittier, CA
(08/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Kalamazoo Brewing co./Bell's makes in my mind the best beer in the midwest, and is, again in my mind, probably on of the top 3 micro's in the country. Beer is a subjective thing to judge, but having an Oberon out of the tap in the beer garden while a good band is playing is almost religious. As far as the everything else goes, don't go there before 5 pm to avoid wait staff hangovers. There menu changes almost daily, try it. Free live jazz every Sunday night in the beer garden. I love this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Noah Noah, Port Saint Lucie, FL
(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Not much of a food menu...was very disappointed in the beers. Many had diacetyl (buttery) or metallic off-flavors. Bartender seemed like she would rather be somewhere else than be behind the bar-she didn't show much enthusiam for their products.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Collins, CO
(06/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Great place to drink great beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jim Bellinger, Portage, MI
(05/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Great Good
I've had Bell's before, but this was my first time to the brewery. The beer was awesome, and I got to meet one of the racers from Bell's mountain bike team! The food portion of the restaurant seems like an afterthought, and the speciality of the day, hot dogs, were awful. Still, great beer, a good atmosphere, and excellent gift shop, make it worth a trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John Feeney, Chesterton, IN
(05/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I have enjoyed Bell's beers for quite a number of years but have avoided a visit to the source, thinking that I might be disappointed. Such is not the case. Bell's, along with Goose Island and Great Lakes Brewing, remains one of the premiere and oldest Midwest microbreweries. They continue to turn out a great variety of beers, with hardly a poor choice among them. The Eccentric Cafe, located at the original brewery (they recently opened a new larger brewery at another site) near downtown Kalamazoo, is a very pleasant place to enjoy these beers. They do not really serve food and they may not always have every variety on tap or in bottles, but it would be hard to think anyone would be disappointed. For craft beer lovers, Bell's is not to be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Highwood, IL
(03/22/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.212 seconds) 16:26:24 54.227.156.177, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS