PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 11:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.8 / 100
355 East Kalamazoo Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
United States
(269) 382-2332
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
108 Reviews / 12 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Sat 10:0AM - 12:30AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) London Grill
(0 mile)

3) Shakespeare's Pub
(0 mile)

4) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

5) The Union
(0 mile)

6) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

7) Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
(0 mile)

8) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(0 mile)

9) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(2 miles)

10) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Corner Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(3 miles)

13) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
10) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO WEST
11) SUPER 8 KALAMAZOO MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gibbs, John, House
7) Gilbert, Henry, House
8) Haymarket Historic District
9) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
10) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
11) Ladies Library Association Building
12) Lawrence and Chapin Building
13) Lilienfeld, David, House
14) Marlborough, The
15) Masonic Temple Building
16) Michigan Central Depot
17) Montague, Henry, House
18) Oaklands, The
19) Old Central High School
20) Old Fire House No. 4
21) Portage Street Fire Station
22) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
23) Rickman Hotel
24) Roberts, Martin W., House
25) Rose Place Historic District
26) Shaffer, Enoch, House
27) South Street Historic District
28) State Hospital Gatehouse
29) Stevens, Andrew J., House
30) Stuart, Charles E., House
31) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAA-Mc Donald's Er Road Svc
2) Argo Inn & Sports Lounge
3) Aries London Grill Singapore
4) Aries London Grill Singapore
5) Bagels' & Panini
6) Bar-B-Q-Pit
7) Barbq Pit
8) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
11) Big Joes Pizza & Deli
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Billie Bob's Corn Beef Deli
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bimbo's Pizza
16) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blue Dolphin
19) Blue Dolphine
20) Bogie's Cafe
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Caffe Casa
25) Centershot Lounge
26) Chicago Subs & Grill
27) Chicago Subs & Grill
28) Chicken Coop Inc
29) City Subs & More
30) Club Soda
31) Coffee Shop
32) Coney Island
33) Coney Island
34) Cosmo's Cucina
35) Cues & Brews
36) Dan's Fish & Bar B Que Shanty
37) District 211
38) District 211
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Inn
41) Dragon Inn
42) Dragon River Restaurant
43) El Grande Fiesta
44) Epic Bistro
45) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
46) Fandango Tapas Bistro
47) Fish Island
48) Fishel's Deli
49) Flame Restaurant
50) Food Dance Cafe
51) Food Dance Cafe
52) Fourth Coast Cafe
53) Francois' Macaroni Factory
54) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
55) Geno's Pizza
56) Golden Chopsticks
57) Harvey's On The Mall
58) Holly's Family Restaurant
59) Home Bar
60) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
61) Java Lounge
62) Jimmy John's
63) Josephine's
64) Just Good Food
65) Just Good Food
66) Kfc
67) King's Table
68) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
69) Kozy Inn
70) Larry's Bar & Grill
71) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
72) Lee's Garden Restaurant
73) Little Caesars Pizza
74) Louie's Restaurant
75) Louie's Restaurant
76) Main Street Cafe
77) Main Street Cafe
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Nally's Kitchen
82) Monaco Bay
83) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
84) Nick's Tavern & Grill
85) Nina's Cafe & Carousel
86) O'duffy's Pub
87) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
88) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
89) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
90) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
91) Papa's Italian Sausage
92) Petra's Cocina
93) Pizza Hut
94) Plaza Cafe
95) Plaza Cafe
96) Poor Richards Cafe
97) Ravenwood Coffee
98) Rib Tip
99) Rice Kitchen
100) Rice Kitchen
101) Root Beer Stand
102) Rugger's Up & Under
103) Sammy's
104) Sandwich Express
105) Sandwich Express
106) Scooters D's
107) Shakespeare's Pub
108) Sojo's Fish & More
109) Soup Kettle
110) South China Restaurant
111) State Grill
112) Subs-N-More
113) Subs-N-More
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Taco Bob's
117) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
118) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
119) Tradewinds Lounge
120) Union Cabaret & Grill
121) University Road House
122) Water Street Coffee Joint
123) Webster's
124) Websters Fine Dining
125) Wendy's
126) Zazios
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
In general, Bell's brews the best beers in any style they try their hand at. Summer never was if you didn't have an Oberon (especially if you are one of us who drank it when it was known as Solsun). Keep an eye out for Larry Bell at a beer festival near you -- although the distribution is currently very limited, Larry makes his way about the country, and I haven't heard a single account involving his being sober...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kalamazoo, MI
(03/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
After a weekend in Detroit touring microbreweries we were let down by this place .Although the beers were Bells and I like most Bells beers .I was dissappointed that in this place they did not offer a sampler and did not even offer table sevice for food or beer .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jerry Bromley, Ludington, MI
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
I have mixed feelings about this establishment. The Cherry Stout, Burbon Stout and Kalamazoo Stout were excellent beers. And I don't normally like stouts. They were clean and showed no sign of infection. I would love to find these beers at my local liquor store. However... The Amber Ale, Best Brown Ale, Third Coast Beer and Porter ALL showed signs of DMS, especially the Third Coast Beer. There was a distinct DMS (creamed corn/cooked cabbage) odor in these beers. I hope they get this fixed quickly. Unfortunately, they were out of the Two Hearted Ale on tap. So I bought some at the gift shop. That is a wonderful hoppy beer and I always enjoy it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stefan Kelley Stefan Kelley, Fort Wayne, IN
(01/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Deciding to stop in Kalamazoo wasn't really a decision, as much as a mandate. I wasn't sure what to expect...a place that brews wonderful beers could be a let-down; sort of like meeting a celebrity you love and being disappointed because they are rude. Well, Bell's was anything but...a glorious Two-Hearted IPA and Sparkling Ale later, and I was sold. The 2-Hearted is one of the best in hoppy heaven, sitting right next to 3 Floyd's Alpha King, Victory Hop Devil, and Dogfish Head 60 & 90 Minute IPA's. The Sparkling Ale, on the other hand, is a smooth Belgianesque brew, though nothing to serve the faint of heart at 10% ABV. The appetizers my partner and I ordered were equally satisfying...DO try the pesto spread. Also, as a Pennsylvania native accustomed to fascist liquor laws (the infamous "case" law), I particularly liked the gift shop where you can mix-and-match ANY of their beers, including their gargantuan barleywines, big stouts (i.e., Expedition), and the entire line of "November" stouts. I even picked up an ccentric Ale from '99...great stuff! Most of the staff I encountered were very friendly, with the exception of one of the gift shop employees. If travelling I-94, East or West, take the 94 business loop through Kalamzoo to Bell's, or forever hold your tongue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Kehnel Steve Kehnel, Athens, OH
(12/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Erm, meant to rate beer "Awesome" in prior review.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Great
Kalamazoo makes some of the best beers in the midwest. The Oberon is a very unique and rather delicious take on the wheat style; the Two-Hearted Ale is thick with flavor and one of the best American examples of an IPA; the coffee stout is a bit too much for me; the Kalamazoo stout suits my tastes better... bitter, malty and smooth; the cherry stout is an excellent blend of sweet and bitter if you can find it; Expedition Stout is ridiculously strong; it goes on and on. It's mindblowing how many brews this place makes, and there isn't a marginal one among them. Unfortunately the bartender in the pub and the guy in the retail store were both a bit curt with us. In fact, virtually everyone we encountered in Kzoo had an attitude. Strange.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Kalamazoo Brewing Co. continually produces some of the best beer available. Oberon Ale is one of THE best summer ales on the market and Kalamazoo Stout in absolutely wonderful. I have yet to sample a Bell's product that I did not enjoy, there is something for everyone at Bell's (unless you don't like beer, i.e. American Macro Brews). Unfortunately I have not tried the food at the Eccentric Cafe, but if it's even half as good as the beer you're in for a treat!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JJS JJS, Flanders, NJ
(09/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Good
The best thing about Kalamazoo is Bell's Be sure to try there best- Bell's special double cream stout, if you like sweet stouts, or the old english ale- very tasty

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from erb erb, battlecreek, MI
(09/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
I've enjoyed Bell's products for many years...the best in Michigan and among the best anywhere. FINALLY made it to the Eccentric Cafe and wouldn't you know it...it was a business lunch so I had to have Iced Tea!!!! A crime! Been down there three times for business lunches and NO BEER! I WILL make it back during my leisure time to hoist a pint or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from karl karl, traverse city, MI
(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
One of the top 10 craft breweries in America. The tap room is very cool, and the amber, pale, and expedition stout are terrific.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(04/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
What can I say? Larry Bell is the king. These beers are as bold as they get. Fabulous. And the pub is quirky and cool--very laid back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amber Amber, West Chester, PA
(03/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Never had the food, but the brewery is justifiably the most famous in Michigan and one of the best in the country. The beers are always quality and the constant experiementation and style evolution much appreciated. Gotta love the big, open, airy tap room, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Henne Sean Henne, Waterford, MI
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I finally decided to just go and see for myself. The beer is worth hunting this plase down. The Cafe is eccentric, and the food not your standard fare, but the beer is why you should go. The porter is amazing and I am working my way through the bottles that I brought home. The cherry stout is one a the better uses of fruit in beer that I've ever tasted. Take a map with you when you go because there is no real sign.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Squire Jeff Squire, St. Marys, OH
(02/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I had my choice of six stouts the day I was there. Amazing. Every beer was well done, and the staff was extremely helpful and informed of the beers. Seek this place out- easily the best in Kalamazoo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Warsaw, IN
(11/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
It took three trips around the block to find the place, but it was well worth it. The beer selection is excellent, this month they were featuring a nice selection of stouts. The spiced stout was worth the effort, the pale ale was also quite nice. The menu was eclectic as the name of the cafe suggests. Do not forget to stop at the general store on the other side of the parking lot. A dandy place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(11/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I live five minutes from Bell's. My friends and I often sit in their biergarden and marvel at our great fortune ! If you like malty, complex, unfiltered ales - this is the place. Thursday night they usually offer something on the hand-pull. Two-Hearted Ale is golden, full-bodied and hoppy - a phenomenal beer. Their Porter is great and now they offer 10 different stouts ! They also routinely offer Old Ale in snifters and once a year their special Eccentric Ale - both fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from H D Stearns H D Stearns, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
I sampled my first Bell's Amber Ale back in 85 or 86. The heavens parted, the choir sang, and I became a convert to the best beers on the planet.

Larry remains true to his homebrewing roots, and The Eccentric Cafe bears this out. Always something new, amusing, and wonderful on tap.

The layout of the pub is well done, but I wish there were more tables....after one or two brews, one NEEDS to sit and savor!

If you fancy yourself a beer lover, you MUST add Bell's Eccentric Cafe and Brewery to your Life List of experiences.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas M Thomas M "Biz" Bisard, Kalkaska, MI
(08/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
THERE IS NO BETTER BEER IN THIS COUNTRY. I ONLY WISH THAT I COULD GET IT IN DC.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review alexandria, VA
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
No matter what side of town I move to Bell's is always on the way home. I am with out a dought spoiled by the best real ales and stouts I have encountered on my travels throughout the U.S. I miss the small pub charm that was in the beginning, but things always evolve (I.E. loud music, and tons of people) There are always quiet Sundays.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Philip Molloy Philip Molloy, Kalamazoo, MI
(06/01/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A neat little place to sit and enjoy some of the best beer in Michigan. Love that Oberon. The food is also very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erik Harms brewer@Dragonmead Erik Harms brewer@Dragonmead, Grosse Pointe, MI
(10/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
A landmark brewery in Michigan!! You must stop in if you are within a few hours of the place. The beer garden is a nice relaxing place to sip a few an forget about the world. Definately some of the best beer in Michigan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Suchy Jim Suchy, Westland, MI
(04/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Larry started homebrewing while working in a bakery and developed his own unique yeast. You can taste the bread when you drink his beers. Delicious! I travel extensively and visit breweries all over the country. I am spoiled. Nothing anywhere comes even close to matching the magic that are the beers produced at the Kalamazoo brewing company. The porter is far and away the best brewed anywhere in the world (even England). The stouts (I have tried 10 different varieties from Bell's) are undescribably delicious. If you ever visit Chicago or Detroit, the two or three hours that it takes to drive to Kalamazoo (it's exactly halfway between the two) will be rewarded beyond expectation. Do it. These beers must be experienced for you to call yourself a real beer drinker.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Hagey Jim Hagey, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mindi McKenna Mindi McKenna, Saginaw, MI
(11/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
The Kalamazoo Stout has to be the best stout I have ever tasted and the amber ale is awesome. I have'nt made the cafe yet but am planning a trip real soon. P.S anybody know the guy on the Kalamazoo Stout label?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Arndt Tom Arndt, Michigan City, IN
(10/02/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.372 seconds) 11:18:08 54.82.122.194, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS