PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 01:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.8 / 100
355 East Kalamazoo Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
United States
(269) 382-2332
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
108 Reviews / 12 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Sat 10:0AM - 12:30AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) London Grill
(0 mile)

3) Shakespeare's Pub
(0 mile)

4) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

5) The Union
(0 mile)

6) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

7) Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
(0 mile)

8) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(0 mile)

9) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(2 miles)

10) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Corner Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(3 miles)

13) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
10) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO WEST
11) SUPER 8 KALAMAZOO MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gibbs, John, House
7) Gilbert, Henry, House
8) Haymarket Historic District
9) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
10) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
11) Ladies Library Association Building
12) Lawrence and Chapin Building
13) Lilienfeld, David, House
14) Marlborough, The
15) Masonic Temple Building
16) Michigan Central Depot
17) Montague, Henry, House
18) Oaklands, The
19) Old Central High School
20) Old Fire House No. 4
21) Portage Street Fire Station
22) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
23) Rickman Hotel
24) Roberts, Martin W., House
25) Rose Place Historic District
26) Shaffer, Enoch, House
27) South Street Historic District
28) State Hospital Gatehouse
29) Stevens, Andrew J., House
30) Stuart, Charles E., House
31) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAA-Mc Donald's Er Road Svc
2) Argo Inn & Sports Lounge
3) Aries London Grill Singapore
4) Aries London Grill Singapore
5) Bagels' & Panini
6) Bar-B-Q-Pit
7) Barbq Pit
8) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
11) Big Joes Pizza & Deli
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Billie Bob's Corn Beef Deli
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bimbo's Pizza
16) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blue Dolphin
19) Blue Dolphine
20) Bogie's Cafe
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Caffe Casa
25) Centershot Lounge
26) Chicago Subs & Grill
27) Chicago Subs & Grill
28) Chicken Coop Inc
29) City Subs & More
30) Club Soda
31) Coffee Shop
32) Coney Island
33) Coney Island
34) Cosmo's Cucina
35) Cues & Brews
36) Dan's Fish & Bar B Que Shanty
37) District 211
38) District 211
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Inn
41) Dragon Inn
42) Dragon River Restaurant
43) El Grande Fiesta
44) Epic Bistro
45) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
46) Fandango Tapas Bistro
47) Fish Island
48) Fishel's Deli
49) Flame Restaurant
50) Food Dance Cafe
51) Food Dance Cafe
52) Fourth Coast Cafe
53) Francois' Macaroni Factory
54) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
55) Geno's Pizza
56) Golden Chopsticks
57) Harvey's On The Mall
58) Holly's Family Restaurant
59) Home Bar
60) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
61) Java Lounge
62) Jimmy John's
63) Josephine's
64) Just Good Food
65) Just Good Food
66) Kfc
67) King's Table
68) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
69) Kozy Inn
70) Larry's Bar & Grill
71) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
72) Lee's Garden Restaurant
73) Little Caesars Pizza
74) Louie's Restaurant
75) Louie's Restaurant
76) Main Street Cafe
77) Main Street Cafe
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Nally's Kitchen
82) Monaco Bay
83) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
84) Nick's Tavern & Grill
85) Nina's Cafe & Carousel
86) O'duffy's Pub
87) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
88) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
89) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
90) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
91) Papa's Italian Sausage
92) Petra's Cocina
93) Pizza Hut
94) Plaza Cafe
95) Plaza Cafe
96) Poor Richards Cafe
97) Ravenwood Coffee
98) Rib Tip
99) Rice Kitchen
100) Rice Kitchen
101) Root Beer Stand
102) Rugger's Up & Under
103) Sammy's
104) Sandwich Express
105) Sandwich Express
106) Scooters D's
107) Shakespeare's Pub
108) Sojo's Fish & More
109) Soup Kettle
110) South China Restaurant
111) State Grill
112) Subs-N-More
113) Subs-N-More
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Taco Bob's
117) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
118) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
119) Tradewinds Lounge
120) Union Cabaret & Grill
121) University Road House
122) Water Street Coffee Joint
123) Webster's
124) Websters Fine Dining
125) Wendy's
126) Zazios
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
The beers at the Eccentric are always excellent. The best brown I've ever had. However, the place is so popular that getting one is sometimes difficult - but worth the wait. The draft that comes out to Ypsi/Ann Arbor area is always good - had some awesome Oberon and Amber at Side Tracks last week. Wow, was that stuff good. Bell's will survive after the rest have all folded from post-craft-beer-back-to-Bud fallout (it's happening all over the country - beware, beer fans!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(09/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Without a doubt, Bell's beer rivals the quality of some of the best European beers, even those brewed by monks in German monastaries! My hope for Bells is that it really takes off and spreads throughout the land, so that everyone can enjoy their fine beer. One of my personal favorites was a chocolate stout I had once on a cold day in winter. :) I agree with what others have said about the alcohol content of their beers; it's very high. Bring a designated driver!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Munson Kevin Munson, Grand Rapids, MI
(07/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Two hearted ale is best beer in the world!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Horning Kevin Horning, Grand Rapids, MI
(06/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Bells beer is the nectar of the gods. Thick, strong, balanced, consistent. Two Hearted (IPA) is the best in the country, and the stouts(cherry, kalamazoo, double cream, expedition) are right up there. With the addition of the full service dining (amazing menu and daily specials) it truly is the best place to experience real ales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Drinker Beer Drinker, Kalamazoo, MI
(05/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This is what brewpubs should be. The selections were well hopped and malty according to style. Wish I still went to WMU...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr J Dr J, Shreveport, LA
(03/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
By far, the best beer brewed in the USA. Oberon is THE best beer in the world, second only to Guinness. Pale and Amber are both exceptional, as well as the rest of the diverse selection available in K'zoo. Cherry Stout is an interesting alternative, but the Eccentric Ale is something that MUST be experienced!!! Would suggest to anyone who can make it to take the tour of the brewery. Very interesting and informative.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.A. Cain J.A. Cain, Ann Arbor, MI
(02/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I agree with 99% of the comments posted here! Having travelled around the country and sampled many different microbrews, Larry's beers have become the standard for which I rate others. There really is nothing like those that come out of Kalamazoo! I ALWAYS have people bring me a case when they come out to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Vanderberg Brian Vanderberg, Watertown, NY
(01/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!
No food to speak of, but the selection and palate pleasing varieties darks and ales is worth the trip from anywhere. If you're hungry, there is plenty of local dining off site. The beer garden is the place to be on a summer weekend evening - great entertainment and the best of Larry's best. Simply the best of its kind around - still!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ward Vanderberg Ward Vanderberg, Kalamazoo, MI
(01/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Simply put, the best beer in America. These beers tend to be very high alcohol, so if you plan on drinking, take a driver. Worth the drive from anywhere in Western Michigan for the serious beer fan, the Cafe often has rare (unbottled) beers on tap, and cask conditions every Thursday afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Simply amazing. Some of the best ale brewed anywhere on the planet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. Raye M. Raye, Iowa City, IA
(11/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Being from Michigan, I miss Kalamazoo's products a lot. The porter is a classic...chewy and incredibly flavorful. The IPA is a hop lover's delight. These guys just can't brew a bad beer! Some day, I'd like to try their Imperial Stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from KB KB, Round Rock, TX
(10/06/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
My favorite hangout!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr Beerz Mr Beerz, Richland, MI
(10/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Awesome!
Love the beer garden! It's a great place to hang out on a sunday afternoon drinking what's gotta be some of the best beer on the planet!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Kalamazoo, MI
(10/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
Just another excellent review, what more is there to say?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Craig, Okemos, MI
(10/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
All of these comments/reviews are (for the most part) right on target. However, in a few cases, the praise is not high enough. I am proud to say that I have sampled microbrews from Maine to California and from Michigan to Texas and none, and I mean none of them match or even approach the consistently superior quality of Larry Bell's beers. Larry makes what are easily some of the best beers on the planet, the man is a beer genius.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ezra Goodnoe Ezra Goodnoe, San Francisco, CA
(09/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I grew up near Kalamazoo and remember when Larry Bell first started out. The quality of the beer was superior then and still is today. I've been to many brewpubs around the country and have not found any that can match his porter or best brown ale. I now live in Georgia and when anyone comes from Michigan to visit I have them bring me some Bell's beer. I look forward to the day I can get it here. Thanks Larry for the great beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark E. Olmsted Mark E. Olmsted, Roswell, GA
(08/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
I've never actually been to the pub but my friend sent me a box of beer while he was home visiting and it included a bottle of the "Bells Porter" and the "Old Ale" Both were huge beers and very well done, I recommend these brews highly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wes Harris Wes Harris, Newcastle, WA
(07/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Bell's was the first microbrewery in the Midwest (yes...including Chicago and Detroit) and their beer tastes like it. Bell's is consistently the best microbrewed beer around. They have specialty beers at the pub that you can't get anywhere else (Batch 3000 and Homegrown ale are the 2 newest additions to this group). Their bottled favorites like Oberon (err...Solsun) and Amber Ale are always pleasing to the palatte. In short, if you're ever in Michigan, go out of your way to try this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Miller Brian Miller, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Bell's was the first microbrewery in the Midwest (yes...including Chicago and Detroit) and their beer tastes like it. Bell's is consistently the best microbrewed beer around. They have specialty beers at the pub that you can't get anywhere else (Batch 3000 and Homegrown ale are the 2 newest additions to this group). Their bottled favorites like Oberon (err...Solsun) and Amber Ale are always pleasing to the palatte. In short, if you're ever in Michigan, go out of your way to try this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Miller Brian Miller, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I've not spent a great deal of time at the Eccentric Cafe, but I have consumed many a Bell's Beer. I sell five of them at the 7-Eleven I manage. I would go so far as to rate them above any national brand overall. There are specific beers I enjoy more than Bell's conconctions, but Bell's is the most consistent brewing company I am aware of. If they decided to go national, they could put a lot of former-microbreweries out of business. Best beer in Michigan!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Travis Robert Travis, Wyoming, MI
(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Bell's is one of the main reasons I miss Kzoo. I have many fond memories of the place. Fantastic ales, including pale, amber, and two old ale/barley wine styles. The eccentric ale is one of the strongest ales I've ever tasted. I can only take one glass; it's an old ale meant to age, but most people drink it young when the annual batch is first served on eccentric day. The stouts are also awesome. All the live bands I've seen there have been great, the Jah Kings were a major party, the whole place was dancin'! What little food they have is great, love the mustard and pretzels. They regularly serve special brews on tap that are not available in the bottle (Irish Whiskey Stout was fantastic). They have hand pump taps (not CO2) for pulling great great, smooth pints. I could spend another hour reviewing this place, but I think you get the point. Bell's is everything a brewpub should be. They have a huge and loyal clientel made up of a wonderfully broad cross section of the local culture. You'll see all different types of people there. Don't miss this place if you have a chance to check it out. You will thoroughly enjoy it. I can't wait to go back!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark LeSage Mark LeSage, Shreveport, LA
(06/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I came to Kalamazoo for College. I stayed for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason J. Hall Jason J. Hall, Kalamazoo, MI
(05/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
There's a reason there are so many reviews of this place: Because it's like taking a beer pilgrimmage! Beer garden is huge and nice. All varieties of beers speak for themselves. The bartenders and brewers seem to be happy to be part of the team. Other than Bell's, there is no real reason to see Kalamazoo (sorry).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bert Pass Bert Pass, Highland, IN
(03/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Excellent beer!! Many different beers to choose from. The beer labels are the most creative I have seen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Hartzler Jason Hartzler, Normal, IL
(03/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The Eccentric Cafe is a great place to sample the best beers around. Larry Bell simply crafts the finest ales and stouts you are going to find. Check it out, it's sure to please!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandey Slevatz Sandey Slevatz, Kalamazoo, MI
(01/27/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.55 seconds) 13:37:57 54.204.94.228, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS