PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 23, 2014 @ 01:02 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.8 / 100
355 East Kalamazoo Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
United States
(269) 382-2332
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
108 Reviews / 12 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Sat 10:0AM - 12:30AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) London Grill
(0 mile)

3) Shakespeare's Pub
(0 mile)

4) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

5) The Union
(0 mile)

6) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

7) Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
(0 mile)

8) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(0 mile)

9) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(2 miles)

10) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Corner Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(3 miles)

13) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
10) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO WEST
11) SUPER 8 KALAMAZOO MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gibbs, John, House
7) Gilbert, Henry, House
8) Haymarket Historic District
9) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
10) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
11) Ladies Library Association Building
12) Lawrence and Chapin Building
13) Lilienfeld, David, House
14) Marlborough, The
15) Masonic Temple Building
16) Michigan Central Depot
17) Montague, Henry, House
18) Oaklands, The
19) Old Central High School
20) Old Fire House No. 4
21) Portage Street Fire Station
22) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
23) Rickman Hotel
24) Roberts, Martin W., House
25) Rose Place Historic District
26) Shaffer, Enoch, House
27) South Street Historic District
28) State Hospital Gatehouse
29) Stevens, Andrew J., House
30) Stuart, Charles E., House
31) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAA-Mc Donald's Er Road Svc
2) Argo Inn & Sports Lounge
3) Aries London Grill Singapore
4) Aries London Grill Singapore
5) Bagels' & Panini
6) Bar-B-Q-Pit
7) Barbq Pit
8) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
11) Big Joes Pizza & Deli
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Billie Bob's Corn Beef Deli
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bimbo's Pizza
16) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blue Dolphin
19) Blue Dolphine
20) Bogie's Cafe
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Caffe Casa
25) Centershot Lounge
26) Chicago Subs & Grill
27) Chicago Subs & Grill
28) Chicken Coop Inc
29) City Subs & More
30) Club Soda
31) Coffee Shop
32) Coney Island
33) Coney Island
34) Cosmo's Cucina
35) Cues & Brews
36) Dan's Fish & Bar B Que Shanty
37) District 211
38) District 211
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Inn
41) Dragon Inn
42) Dragon River Restaurant
43) El Grande Fiesta
44) Epic Bistro
45) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
46) Fandango Tapas Bistro
47) Fish Island
48) Fishel's Deli
49) Flame Restaurant
50) Food Dance Cafe
51) Food Dance Cafe
52) Fourth Coast Cafe
53) Francois' Macaroni Factory
54) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
55) Geno's Pizza
56) Golden Chopsticks
57) Harvey's On The Mall
58) Holly's Family Restaurant
59) Home Bar
60) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
61) Java Lounge
62) Jimmy John's
63) Josephine's
64) Just Good Food
65) Just Good Food
66) Kfc
67) King's Table
68) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
69) Kozy Inn
70) Larry's Bar & Grill
71) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
72) Lee's Garden Restaurant
73) Little Caesars Pizza
74) Louie's Restaurant
75) Louie's Restaurant
76) Main Street Cafe
77) Main Street Cafe
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Nally's Kitchen
82) Monaco Bay
83) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
84) Nick's Tavern & Grill
85) Nina's Cafe & Carousel
86) O'duffy's Pub
87) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
88) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
89) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
90) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
91) Papa's Italian Sausage
92) Petra's Cocina
93) Pizza Hut
94) Plaza Cafe
95) Plaza Cafe
96) Poor Richards Cafe
97) Ravenwood Coffee
98) Rib Tip
99) Rice Kitchen
100) Rice Kitchen
101) Root Beer Stand
102) Rugger's Up & Under
103) Sammy's
104) Sandwich Express
105) Sandwich Express
106) Scooters D's
107) Shakespeare's Pub
108) Sojo's Fish & More
109) Soup Kettle
110) South China Restaurant
111) State Grill
112) Subs-N-More
113) Subs-N-More
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Taco Bob's
117) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
118) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
119) Tradewinds Lounge
120) Union Cabaret & Grill
121) University Road House
122) Water Street Coffee Joint
123) Webster's
124) Websters Fine Dining
125) Wendy's
126) Zazios
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
What happened to paying higher prices and keeping the good beer. Porter, Best Brown, Scotch Ale, all watered down and tasteless. Could hardly tell them apart. See you at OP.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Kalamazoo, MI
(10/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Just want to add my kudos for Bell's to all the previous ones. Their beer is great. I love Oberon! I buy it my by the case. I haven't been to their pub for a few years, so i can't review that. I am a homebrewer and their new homebrewer shop is great, they have everything you'll need to start brewing yourself, and there is always someone nearby who knows what they are talking about if you need advice. this is a must visit if you are in West Michigan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Town Greg Town, Prattsville, NY
(12/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by during a recent beer tour through the great beer state of Michigan. Place was hopping with lots of eager Bell's fans, but service was great from the sole bartender on duty. Highlights of this visit included Consecrator Dopplebock; way too smooth and drinkable at 10% and Dog Days IPA which had a good clean finish; a keeper. The best brew this stop was Double Brown--barrel-aged, but not overbearing. At 10%, it had a nice balance and would have merited another if time only was on my side. They've also recently opened a new store for carry out, Bell's gear, and brewing supplies.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Whoo hoo!

Bell's is coming back to Illinois.

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/chi-ap-mi-bellsbeer-chicag,0,1143004.story

Now we can get all the "Uberon" we need. lol

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(08/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
If you don't ever go to another beer place in the world...GO HERE! The beer is absolutely spectacular with several taps that you cannot buy by the bottle. Uberon...is the absolute best. Listen to music, sit in he patio or just wonder around. Just go here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(07/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Bell's has some the best beer in the east. The space is interesting and inviting. The two hearted is a nicely balanced IPA. The Belgium abbey was strong and flavorful and the porter, while robust, was well proportioned. The food was blander than expected.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
GREAT live music, GREAT beer, and non-smoking! Summertime they have a amazing beer garden in the back with live music continuing throughout the seasons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Linsey Linsey, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bell's may have a temporary solution for their problems in Illinois.

Check out the story.

http://drinkcraftbeer.com/tag/bells_brewing.html

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(01/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place is awesome!!!! BELL IS TRUE GREATNESS! Check this out- http://www.myspace.com/twoheartedale

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tvneik Tvneik, St. Clair Shores, MI
(01/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bruce,

Where in Chicago are you buying Bell's? You must be crossing the Wisconsin border.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
We were there just for the beer, and the bartender knew it. He was proud of what they make, and took care of us very well. The beer garden is great! (Yeah, it was a few months ago. So I'm slow.)I can get most of their stuff here (Chicago), but it's so much nicer drinking it at their home instead of ours. Met some great people from Arbor Brewing while we were there, just enjoying themselves on a Sunday afternoon. They were cool enough that I want to hit their place next time I'm in the Detroit area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Bruce, Palatine, IL
(12/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Awesome!
I'm a longtime fan of Bell's. I just could pass this w/o responding to the suggestion that you should eat at Old Peninsula. Actually, you should eat one door east of Old Penninsula, at the London Grill. Ten taps, extensive bottle selection (disclaimer: I manage it, and I've developed the beer selection), and fabulous food. I was a longtime customer before I started work here, and it isn't about who signs my check.

Now, back to Bells: Eccentric day (a no-miss party, a holy day of recreation) is a week early this year, on December 8th. Also, plan a summer visit to check out the beer garden.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Second trip here, and again no disappointment in the beer available. Big Two Hearted IPA astounding as always! Third Coast Beer enjoyable too. Alas, no Double Cream Stout on tap, but these things happen. Drank here first before eating at the Old Peninsula, see my review there. Keep on Keepin on Larry!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(10/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The best in Kalamazoo. It's a must-stop if you're in the area. I haven't had the food in forever b/c it takes up valuable space reserved for beer. Two-Hearted ale is underrated and is a must-try for beer afficianados. The key to great service is to be a regular. If the guy behind the bar knows you're there for the beer you'll be fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Polskahaus Polskahaus, Phoenix, AZ
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Oberon is always great, better out of the tap. The Belgian Tripel (Hell Hath No Fury)was interesting, not what I was expecting. HHNF was pretty dark, caramelized with Anise flavors. Food was OK, coconut chicken sandwich was pretty good. Service was slow, but the many regulars seemed happy. May have hit it on an off night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Was passing through the area and knew I had to at least make a brief stop. Wedding Ale was an unfiltered honey wheat, slightly spicy with fruit (peach? apricot?) notes as well. The porter is just a very nice beer, smooth and roasty, just the way I like it. The chicken/shrimp/wild rice soup was fantastic! Reminded me of a gumbo, but with a chicken base. Picked up some supplies for friends back home, especially the Double Cream Stout--yum!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Was passing through the area, and even though I couldn't stay for very long, I knew I needed to stop and have a least a few beers. Wedding Ale was and unfiltered honey wheat, slightly spicy with fruit (peach? apricot?) throughout. Needed something from the dark side also, so I tried a porter. Pretty damn good! Smooth and roasty, full flavored. Had some of their chicken/shrimp/wild rice soup which was fantastic! Kind of like a gumbo, but not quite. Picked up some product for friends back home--still one of Michigan's best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
To the guy that says the porter in not enough choclatey for him. well my friend, it is not a choclatey porter, it is a porter. FRO. Not Friends right on

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Weidler Bruce Weidler, Kalamazoo, MI, MI
(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So
Being born, raised and schooled (WMU) in Kalamazoo, I'll always have a soft spot for Bells. I lived in California for a while and would always cram my suitcase full of Bells to take back with me following a family visit. However, I have noticed a little drop in quality in the past few years. The winter beer is, frankly, terrible. The last couple of six packs of Best Brown (which I've always liked) have been very disappointing. As for the pub itself well, it's legendary (or infamous) for it's lousy service. I think they have slightly let their guard down and are being surpased in quality by smaller Michigan brewers such as Dark Horse, Michigan Brewing Co., and Arcadia. Still, they are Bells and each pint puts a smile on my face!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Casey Casey, Ferndale, MI
(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've never been to the cafe. I live in Grand Rapids. But I bought a six pack of the porter. and it is not good for a porter. It's more like a brown ale. It's good for beer, but for a porter it was pretty poor. They should retry their recipe. Most porters are more choclatey or mocha tasting this was not. But again it was good for a beer. Better than any other domestic beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Christensen Patrick Christensen, Grand Rapids, MI
(01/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great
If you love beer this is a must stop! Extensive draft selection almost to the point of being overwhelming. Very good quality and diversity of styles. No growlers though????? My only dislikes were the lack of bar seating and general cleanliness of the bar area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I am a longtime fan of Bells. Tonight I tried a Winter White Ale. Absotutely delicious. But, it is an odd winter beer. To me, it tastes exactly like a summer wheat beer. As much as I like Oberon, I would be more apt to grab one of these on a hot summer afternoon. Seriously tasty though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've been a true Bell's Oberon fan for years now.. so, had to have it straight from the source! My husband & I took a roadtrip and loved the atmosphere of the brewery & along with sampling a few different Bell's & a beer garden too.. AWESOME!! We will be back!! (Oh yeah, the Manhattan Clam Chowder from the Eccentric Cafe was the best!!.. Haven't found any that compare to that.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shelley Shelley, Waterford, MI
(11/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I was able to enjoy the Pale Ale, Amber and the outstanding Two-Hearted Ale. The Amber was freshly brewed and very good. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Norman James Norman, Zion, IL
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
A visit here is a must to any true beer geek! Living on the East Coas, I can only wistfully dream of putting my hands around a pint of a Bell's - and what beer! During my short (alas) visit here, I lost count of all the styles offered - although, I did count at least 6 different stout. What a place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
A shrine to beer--high ceilings, brick interior, stained glass and beer decor. The African masks are very cool, too! Food menu was limited but unique, I just looked, maybe next time... 10 taps running when I visited. I sampled 6 and was extremely surprised that Bell's Beer was my favorite. Clean and crisp, perfect for a sultry summer afternoon. The Third Coast Beer was a close second, very effervescent and refreshing. Hell Hath No Fury and the Wedding Ale both had Belgian flavors throughout while the Old Ale was syrupy and potent. Paddy O Furniture was nondescript, and was surprising in that regard. Employees were very stand -offish and pretty much ignored everyone but each other and the occasional friend that entered. Pity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
my vacation last year included Kazoo and KBC was a definite hit! Expedition and Milk Stouts were great, Bells Beer, Sparkling ale were very good, but Big Two-Hearted IPA topped them all. Larry Bell is a master-go up there and appreciate it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
A buddy of mine and I were passing through the area and decided to search Bell's out. We had had the beer in bottles in our own area, but are not fortunate enough to find it on tap very often. While the beer and the food are very good, this is not the 'typical' craft beer sort of place. Don't get me wrong, it's not at all bad by any means and if I'm in the area again will definitely stop again. It's just not quite what I had expected. The Two Hearted is unbeatable as was the Old Ale.

One suggestion, Growlers. Other then that, very nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Short Doug Short, Indian Springs, OH
(04/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Eccentric Cafe is without a doubt the best place to enjoy a beer on a warm summer afternoon. Even in the winter the place is great. The best live music in between Ann Arbor and Chicago put together with the finest brewery in the midwest all smoke free. My only complaint is the prohibition of Bocce on lawn in the back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Hinsdale, IL
(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
I haven't reviewed Larry's place in quite a while, so time for a nudder one. I was down there for Eccentric Day (2nd Fri of Dec each year) and had a great time. A Bourbon Expedition Stout was on tap. I had one o'dem plus a Two Hearted Ale. They were both most excellent. I also picked up my usual two sixpacks to lay away for several years of the new Eccentric Ale which was released that day (hence the name Eccentric Day.) The place is still a bit quirky with Mr. Bell riding ship behind the bar on this day. He's always there to fire us up each Eccentric Day. a warning: You won't be able to get in for the festivities on Eccentric Day if you don't wear "eccentric attire." Raid the back of your closet and be creative. The food (always incidental at best) was also "eccentric." Soups, breads, and even the occasional caviar are part of the spread on this Day of days. A bonus: the "Stouts of November" and the new Third Coast Old Ale are all available at The General Store in December, too. Bell's is a must for all beer lovers and a good great party on Eccentric Day. All y'all come!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Biz Biz, Kalkaska, MI
(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Awesome!
I think Todd indicared his mistake (Saturday nite/University town)As far as wanting to find 'Expidition' on tap not likely. While Expidition Stout is perhaps one of Bell's most renowned beers it is only occasionaly brewed. Being that vitually all KBC's beers are unfiltered., unpastuerized, and bottle conditioned they are draught beers in a bottle. For the ulimate "Expidition' expierience buy the 'X' and cellar properly for 4,5,or 10yrs(awsome!!!) or attend the "Great Tastse of the Midwest" in Madison,WI where Bells has been known to opened Jeraboams? of aged Expidition Stout and Old Ale. I'm sorry that Todd had such a bad expierience at what I consider one of the best breweries in America.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Kalamazoo, MI
(12/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Great beer, that's all the counts

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deke Deke, Kent, OH
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Lousy Good
I have looked forward to visiting Bell's for a long time. It did not measure up to my expectations. I made the mistake of going on a Sat evening. They seemed more interested in being a club, than being a brewery. I had dreamed of trying their Expedition Stout on draft, only to arrive to a VERY limited draft listing. When I questioned the pitiful choices, the female bartender got short with me. I received an attitude for wanting one of the flagship beers, of a major microbrewery/brewpub while at the brewery. Was that too much to ask? The Two Hearted Ale was very good, but I already knew that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome!
OK the food was so-so, But the Beer was Awesome! The Big Two hearted IPA was unreal, and the stouts were great (except one. After hitting the pub I went next door to the retail store and got a mixed six pack to take to a friends for a tasting. We all agreed-the IPA rocked, but the Java Stout has got to go! If you're in Kazoo you MUST go to Bells!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul B. Jaeger Paul B. Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(11/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Awesome!
I was a bit turned off by this place the first time I visited last year: the big brick walls made it feel kind of cold, and for a football Sunday, there was absolutely no action. I buzzed through again last weekend, and had a bit better luck. First of all, just save yourself some money by hitting their store behind the bar. They had about 16 varieties bottled there, so I was able to stock up on the ones I hadn't tried yet (have to decide if I want to soak the labels and reuse the bottles for homebrew, or pull a Kramer/Newman and take them back with a truck full of other bottles for the Michigan deposit). Their store is also a very well-stocked homebrew supply place. The bar itself has maybe six or seven beers on tap, with a few more bottled ones, but no samplers. The only thing on tap that I hadn't just bought was their "Bell's Beer." Yup, I just had their plain ol' lager, but it was delicious anyway! Food menu is limited, however, I ordered a burger and found it to be very juicy and tasty. They're big on veggie entrees, too. Just having this and Kraftbrau across the corner from each other makes this one of America’s great beer havens (and that’s before you figure in Olde Peninsula just further down the street, in downtown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark McDermott Mark McDermott, Park Forest, IL
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stuart Stuart, Elkhart, IN
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
12 varieties on tap the day I was there. Dan (a brewer) helpful and eager to discuss beers while he had some down time. The menu was limited but good. Server was helpful providing some tasters to aid in my selections. My favorites were the old ale, batch 6000 and the double cream stout, which I had before in the bottle but not on draught. Cash only in the pub, but they do provide an ATM. Store in rear of parking lot for 6-packs, shirts and so forth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
A visit here is a must to any true beer geek! I live on the east coast and therefore can only wistfully dream of putting my hands around a pint of a Bell's beer, and what beer! During my short (alas) visit here, I lost count of all the styles offered - although, I did count at least 6 different stout. What a place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Jerry, Gaithersburg, MD
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
The best brewerery in America. Period. Rich, complex, fresh, perfectly balanced. Some of the most equisite beers I've ever had -- Two Hearted Ale on tap, an Amber that I'd choose over long list of strong ales, my first sip of Expedition Stout, Cherry Stout with chocolate cake (yes! try it!), a Sparkling Ale gives Duvel a hell of a run for the money. These guys do everything right . . . except ship Texas, where I live!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Brandon Robert Brandon, Austin, TX
(05/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Awesome!
April 1 the Oberon has been unleashed, a thursday night regatta celebrated the seasonal sensation that so many Kalamazoonians cherish. I was very pleased none the less to partake in this extrordinary evening. The Oberon is delicious, People travel from miles around to get a taste of Bell's beer, truly a formula from heaven. Peace and love thy barely, rice, and hoppes

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy So So Good
I would rather buy their beer at the store, and drink at home. The food and service are very disappointing. The problem with not liking this place is that their beer is just so damn good! The Porter has to be the best (beer isn't a subjective thing.... is it?), and a beer that tends to get overlooked is the amber. It is not true to style -but would a rose by any other name not smell as sweet? It's more like a unfiltered american pale ale (if there is such a thing). Try it (and all of their beers) - you won't be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad The Brewery Guy Chad The Brewery Guy, Houston, TX
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Great
I was there on "Circus Night" First time they ever did it I was told. It certainly was an ecclectic evening with clowns running around and a DJ and people all dressed up. Bells bottled beers here in Ohio are spotty (sometimes great sometimes swill - I think it has to do with handling). Anyhow, all the beers there that night were clean and tasty, however there was nothing that really grabbed me by the collar and compelled me to drink it. The Oberon was nice, but I would have loved a Two Heart Pale Ale or some Big beer, but alas no such luck. I did dine on free corn dogs and popcorn, in the Bier Garten, and the hops were an nice touch. Cool time, but I was hoping for a better beer selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Medina, OH
(12/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! So So Good
I find most of the beer produced here to be somewhat inconsistent. Taste and quality seem to vary from trip to trip.

A bit of advice. Don't spend all your time here. Take a few minutes and walk across the street to Kraftbrau. They specialize in German lagers. They do a great job. To miss this brewery is a real shame.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrad, Sears, MI
(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was blown away when I walked into this place. The decor and setting is great, there's a real midwest aura about it with the moosehead and giant maps. and the beer, ah yes, the beer is to kill for. bell's will make you want to slap your mother then tapdance on her grave. their product is the best beverage on the planet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Harbaugh Darren Harbaugh, Whittier, CA
(08/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Kalamazoo Brewing co./Bell's makes in my mind the best beer in the midwest, and is, again in my mind, probably on of the top 3 micro's in the country. Beer is a subjective thing to judge, but having an Oberon out of the tap in the beer garden while a good band is playing is almost religious. As far as the everything else goes, don't go there before 5 pm to avoid wait staff hangovers. There menu changes almost daily, try it. Free live jazz every Sunday night in the beer garden. I love this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Noah Noah, Port Saint Lucie, FL
(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Not much of a food menu...was very disappointed in the beers. Many had diacetyl (buttery) or metallic off-flavors. Bartender seemed like she would rather be somewhere else than be behind the bar-she didn't show much enthusiam for their products.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fort Collins, CO
(06/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Great place to drink great beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jim Bellinger, Portage, MI
(05/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Great Good
I've had Bell's before, but this was my first time to the brewery. The beer was awesome, and I got to meet one of the racers from Bell's mountain bike team! The food portion of the restaurant seems like an afterthought, and the speciality of the day, hot dogs, were awful. Still, great beer, a good atmosphere, and excellent gift shop, make it worth a trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John Feeney, Chesterton, IN
(05/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I have enjoyed Bell's beers for quite a number of years but have avoided a visit to the source, thinking that I might be disappointed. Such is not the case. Bell's, along with Goose Island and Great Lakes Brewing, remains one of the premiere and oldest Midwest microbreweries. They continue to turn out a great variety of beers, with hardly a poor choice among them. The Eccentric Cafe, located at the original brewery (they recently opened a new larger brewery at another site) near downtown Kalamazoo, is a very pleasant place to enjoy these beers. They do not really serve food and they may not always have every variety on tap or in bottles, but it would be hard to think anyone would be disappointed. For craft beer lovers, Bell's is not to be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Highwood, IL
(03/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
In general, Bell's brews the best beers in any style they try their hand at. Summer never was if you didn't have an Oberon (especially if you are one of us who drank it when it was known as Solsun). Keep an eye out for Larry Bell at a beer festival near you -- although the distribution is currently very limited, Larry makes his way about the country, and I haven't heard a single account involving his being sober...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kalamazoo, MI
(03/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
After a weekend in Detroit touring microbreweries we were let down by this place .Although the beers were Bells and I like most Bells beers .I was dissappointed that in this place they did not offer a sampler and did not even offer table sevice for food or beer .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jerry Bromley, Ludington, MI
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
I have mixed feelings about this establishment. The Cherry Stout, Burbon Stout and Kalamazoo Stout were excellent beers. And I don't normally like stouts. They were clean and showed no sign of infection. I would love to find these beers at my local liquor store. However... The Amber Ale, Best Brown Ale, Third Coast Beer and Porter ALL showed signs of DMS, especially the Third Coast Beer. There was a distinct DMS (creamed corn/cooked cabbage) odor in these beers. I hope they get this fixed quickly. Unfortunately, they were out of the Two Hearted Ale on tap. So I bought some at the gift shop. That is a wonderful hoppy beer and I always enjoy it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stefan Kelley Stefan Kelley, Fort Wayne, IN
(01/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Deciding to stop in Kalamazoo wasn't really a decision, as much as a mandate. I wasn't sure what to expect...a place that brews wonderful beers could be a let-down; sort of like meeting a celebrity you love and being disappointed because they are rude. Well, Bell's was anything but...a glorious Two-Hearted IPA and Sparkling Ale later, and I was sold. The 2-Hearted is one of the best in hoppy heaven, sitting right next to 3 Floyd's Alpha King, Victory Hop Devil, and Dogfish Head 60 & 90 Minute IPA's. The Sparkling Ale, on the other hand, is a smooth Belgianesque brew, though nothing to serve the faint of heart at 10% ABV. The appetizers my partner and I ordered were equally satisfying...DO try the pesto spread. Also, as a Pennsylvania native accustomed to fascist liquor laws (the infamous "case" law), I particularly liked the gift shop where you can mix-and-match ANY of their beers, including their gargantuan barleywines, big stouts (i.e., Expedition), and the entire line of "November" stouts. I even picked up an ccentric Ale from '99...great stuff! Most of the staff I encountered were very friendly, with the exception of one of the gift shop employees. If travelling I-94, East or West, take the 94 business loop through Kalamzoo to Bell's, or forever hold your tongue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Kehnel Steve Kehnel, Athens, OH
(12/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Erm, meant to rate beer "Awesome" in prior review.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Great
Kalamazoo makes some of the best beers in the midwest. The Oberon is a very unique and rather delicious take on the wheat style; the Two-Hearted Ale is thick with flavor and one of the best American examples of an IPA; the coffee stout is a bit too much for me; the Kalamazoo stout suits my tastes better... bitter, malty and smooth; the cherry stout is an excellent blend of sweet and bitter if you can find it; Expedition Stout is ridiculously strong; it goes on and on. It's mindblowing how many brews this place makes, and there isn't a marginal one among them. Unfortunately the bartender in the pub and the guy in the retail store were both a bit curt with us. In fact, virtually everyone we encountered in Kzoo had an attitude. Strange.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Kalamazoo Brewing Co. continually produces some of the best beer available. Oberon Ale is one of THE best summer ales on the market and Kalamazoo Stout in absolutely wonderful. I have yet to sample a Bell's product that I did not enjoy, there is something for everyone at Bell's (unless you don't like beer, i.e. American Macro Brews). Unfortunately I have not tried the food at the Eccentric Cafe, but if it's even half as good as the beer you're in for a treat!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JJS JJS, Flanders, NJ
(09/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Good
The best thing about Kalamazoo is Bell's Be sure to try there best- Bell's special double cream stout, if you like sweet stouts, or the old english ale- very tasty

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from erb erb, battlecreek, MI
(09/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
I've enjoyed Bell's products for many years...the best in Michigan and among the best anywhere. FINALLY made it to the Eccentric Cafe and wouldn't you know it...it was a business lunch so I had to have Iced Tea!!!! A crime! Been down there three times for business lunches and NO BEER! I WILL make it back during my leisure time to hoist a pint or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from karl karl, traverse city, MI
(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
One of the top 10 craft breweries in America. The tap room is very cool, and the amber, pale, and expedition stout are terrific.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(04/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
What can I say? Larry Bell is the king. These beers are as bold as they get. Fabulous. And the pub is quirky and cool--very laid back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amber Amber, West Chester, PA
(03/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Never had the food, but the brewery is justifiably the most famous in Michigan and one of the best in the country. The beers are always quality and the constant experiementation and style evolution much appreciated. Gotta love the big, open, airy tap room, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Henne Sean Henne, Waterford, MI
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I finally decided to just go and see for myself. The beer is worth hunting this plase down. The Cafe is eccentric, and the food not your standard fare, but the beer is why you should go. The porter is amazing and I am working my way through the bottles that I brought home. The cherry stout is one a the better uses of fruit in beer that I've ever tasted. Take a map with you when you go because there is no real sign.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Squire Jeff Squire, St. Marys, OH
(02/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I had my choice of six stouts the day I was there. Amazing. Every beer was well done, and the staff was extremely helpful and informed of the beers. Seek this place out- easily the best in Kalamazoo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Warsaw, IN
(11/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
It took three trips around the block to find the place, but it was well worth it. The beer selection is excellent, this month they were featuring a nice selection of stouts. The spiced stout was worth the effort, the pale ale was also quite nice. The menu was eclectic as the name of the cafe suggests. Do not forget to stop at the general store on the other side of the parking lot. A dandy place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(11/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I live five minutes from Bell's. My friends and I often sit in their biergarden and marvel at our great fortune ! If you like malty, complex, unfiltered ales - this is the place. Thursday night they usually offer something on the hand-pull. Two-Hearted Ale is golden, full-bodied and hoppy - a phenomenal beer. Their Porter is great and now they offer 10 different stouts ! They also routinely offer Old Ale in snifters and once a year their special Eccentric Ale - both fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from H D Stearns H D Stearns, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
I sampled my first Bell's Amber Ale back in 85 or 86. The heavens parted, the choir sang, and I became a convert to the best beers on the planet.

Larry remains true to his homebrewing roots, and The Eccentric Cafe bears this out. Always something new, amusing, and wonderful on tap.

The layout of the pub is well done, but I wish there were more tables....after one or two brews, one NEEDS to sit and savor!

If you fancy yourself a beer lover, you MUST add Bell's Eccentric Cafe and Brewery to your Life List of experiences.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas M Thomas M "Biz" Bisard, Kalkaska, MI
(08/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
THERE IS NO BETTER BEER IN THIS COUNTRY. I ONLY WISH THAT I COULD GET IT IN DC.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review alexandria, VA
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
No matter what side of town I move to Bell's is always on the way home. I am with out a dought spoiled by the best real ales and stouts I have encountered on my travels throughout the U.S. I miss the small pub charm that was in the beginning, but things always evolve (I.E. loud music, and tons of people) There are always quiet Sundays.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Philip Molloy Philip Molloy, Kalamazoo, MI
(06/01/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A neat little place to sit and enjoy some of the best beer in Michigan. Love that Oberon. The food is also very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erik Harms brewer@Dragonmead Erik Harms brewer@Dragonmead, Grosse Pointe, MI
(10/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
A landmark brewery in Michigan!! You must stop in if you are within a few hours of the place. The beer garden is a nice relaxing place to sip a few an forget about the world. Definately some of the best beer in Michigan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Suchy Jim Suchy, Westland, MI
(04/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Larry started homebrewing while working in a bakery and developed his own unique yeast. You can taste the bread when you drink his beers. Delicious! I travel extensively and visit breweries all over the country. I am spoiled. Nothing anywhere comes even close to matching the magic that are the beers produced at the Kalamazoo brewing company. The porter is far and away the best brewed anywhere in the world (even England). The stouts (I have tried 10 different varieties from Bell's) are undescribably delicious. If you ever visit Chicago or Detroit, the two or three hours that it takes to drive to Kalamazoo (it's exactly halfway between the two) will be rewarded beyond expectation. Do it. These beers must be experienced for you to call yourself a real beer drinker.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Hagey Jim Hagey, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mindi McKenna Mindi McKenna, Saginaw, MI
(11/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
The Kalamazoo Stout has to be the best stout I have ever tasted and the amber ale is awesome. I have'nt made the cafe yet but am planning a trip real soon. P.S anybody know the guy on the Kalamazoo Stout label?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Arndt Tom Arndt, Michigan City, IN
(10/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
The beers at the Eccentric are always excellent. The best brown I've ever had. However, the place is so popular that getting one is sometimes difficult - but worth the wait. The draft that comes out to Ypsi/Ann Arbor area is always good - had some awesome Oberon and Amber at Side Tracks last week. Wow, was that stuff good. Bell's will survive after the rest have all folded from post-craft-beer-back-to-Bud fallout (it's happening all over the country - beware, beer fans!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(09/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Without a doubt, Bell's beer rivals the quality of some of the best European beers, even those brewed by monks in German monastaries! My hope for Bells is that it really takes off and spreads throughout the land, so that everyone can enjoy their fine beer. One of my personal favorites was a chocolate stout I had once on a cold day in winter. :) I agree with what others have said about the alcohol content of their beers; it's very high. Bring a designated driver!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Munson Kevin Munson, Grand Rapids, MI
(07/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Two hearted ale is best beer in the world!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Horning Kevin Horning, Grand Rapids, MI
(06/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Bells beer is the nectar of the gods. Thick, strong, balanced, consistent. Two Hearted (IPA) is the best in the country, and the stouts(cherry, kalamazoo, double cream, expedition) are right up there. With the addition of the full service dining (amazing menu and daily specials) it truly is the best place to experience real ales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Drinker Beer Drinker, Kalamazoo, MI
(05/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This is what brewpubs should be. The selections were well hopped and malty according to style. Wish I still went to WMU...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr J Dr J, Shreveport, LA
(03/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
By far, the best beer brewed in the USA. Oberon is THE best beer in the world, second only to Guinness. Pale and Amber are both exceptional, as well as the rest of the diverse selection available in K'zoo. Cherry Stout is an interesting alternative, but the Eccentric Ale is something that MUST be experienced!!! Would suggest to anyone who can make it to take the tour of the brewery. Very interesting and informative.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.A. Cain J.A. Cain, Ann Arbor, MI
(02/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I agree with 99% of the comments posted here! Having travelled around the country and sampled many different microbrews, Larry's beers have become the standard for which I rate others. There really is nothing like those that come out of Kalamazoo! I ALWAYS have people bring me a case when they come out to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Vanderberg Brian Vanderberg, Watertown, NY
(01/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!
No food to speak of, but the selection and palate pleasing varieties darks and ales is worth the trip from anywhere. If you're hungry, there is plenty of local dining off site. The beer garden is the place to be on a summer weekend evening - great entertainment and the best of Larry's best. Simply the best of its kind around - still!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ward Vanderberg Ward Vanderberg, Kalamazoo, MI
(01/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Simply put, the best beer in America. These beers tend to be very high alcohol, so if you plan on drinking, take a driver. Worth the drive from anywhere in Western Michigan for the serious beer fan, the Cafe often has rare (unbottled) beers on tap, and cask conditions every Thursday afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Simply amazing. Some of the best ale brewed anywhere on the planet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. Raye M. Raye, Iowa City, IA
(11/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Being from Michigan, I miss Kalamazoo's products a lot. The porter is a classic...chewy and incredibly flavorful. The IPA is a hop lover's delight. These guys just can't brew a bad beer! Some day, I'd like to try their Imperial Stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from KB KB, Round Rock, TX
(10/06/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
My favorite hangout!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr Beerz Mr Beerz, Richland, MI
(10/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Awesome!
Love the beer garden! It's a great place to hang out on a sunday afternoon drinking what's gotta be some of the best beer on the planet!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Kalamazoo, MI
(10/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
Just another excellent review, what more is there to say?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Craig, Okemos, MI
(10/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
All of these comments/reviews are (for the most part) right on target. However, in a few cases, the praise is not high enough. I am proud to say that I have sampled microbrews from Maine to California and from Michigan to Texas and none, and I mean none of them match or even approach the consistently superior quality of Larry Bell's beers. Larry makes what are easily some of the best beers on the planet, the man is a beer genius.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ezra Goodnoe Ezra Goodnoe, San Francisco, CA
(09/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I grew up near Kalamazoo and remember when Larry Bell first started out. The quality of the beer was superior then and still is today. I've been to many brewpubs around the country and have not found any that can match his porter or best brown ale. I now live in Georgia and when anyone comes from Michigan to visit I have them bring me some Bell's beer. I look forward to the day I can get it here. Thanks Larry for the great beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark E. Olmsted Mark E. Olmsted, Roswell, GA
(08/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
I've never actually been to the pub but my friend sent me a box of beer while he was home visiting and it included a bottle of the "Bells Porter" and the "Old Ale" Both were huge beers and very well done, I recommend these brews highly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wes Harris Wes Harris, Newcastle, WA
(07/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Bell's was the first microbrewery in the Midwest (yes...including Chicago and Detroit) and their beer tastes like it. Bell's is consistently the best microbrewed beer around. They have specialty beers at the pub that you can't get anywhere else (Batch 3000 and Homegrown ale are the 2 newest additions to this group). Their bottled favorites like Oberon (err...Solsun) and Amber Ale are always pleasing to the palatte. In short, if you're ever in Michigan, go out of your way to try this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Miller Brian Miller, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Bell's was the first microbrewery in the Midwest (yes...including Chicago and Detroit) and their beer tastes like it. Bell's is consistently the best microbrewed beer around. They have specialty beers at the pub that you can't get anywhere else (Batch 3000 and Homegrown ale are the 2 newest additions to this group). Their bottled favorites like Oberon (err...Solsun) and Amber Ale are always pleasing to the palatte. In short, if you're ever in Michigan, go out of your way to try this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Miller Brian Miller, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I've not spent a great deal of time at the Eccentric Cafe, but I have consumed many a Bell's Beer. I sell five of them at the 7-Eleven I manage. I would go so far as to rate them above any national brand overall. There are specific beers I enjoy more than Bell's conconctions, but Bell's is the most consistent brewing company I am aware of. If they decided to go national, they could put a lot of former-microbreweries out of business. Best beer in Michigan!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Travis Robert Travis, Wyoming, MI
(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Bell's is one of the main reasons I miss Kzoo. I have many fond memories of the place. Fantastic ales, including pale, amber, and two old ale/barley wine styles. The eccentric ale is one of the strongest ales I've ever tasted. I can only take one glass; it's an old ale meant to age, but most people drink it young when the annual batch is first served on eccentric day. The stouts are also awesome. All the live bands I've seen there have been great, the Jah Kings were a major party, the whole place was dancin'! What little food they have is great, love the mustard and pretzels. They regularly serve special brews on tap that are not available in the bottle (Irish Whiskey Stout was fantastic). They have hand pump taps (not CO2) for pulling great great, smooth pints. I could spend another hour reviewing this place, but I think you get the point. Bell's is everything a brewpub should be. They have a huge and loyal clientel made up of a wonderfully broad cross section of the local culture. You'll see all different types of people there. Don't miss this place if you have a chance to check it out. You will thoroughly enjoy it. I can't wait to go back!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark LeSage Mark LeSage, Shreveport, LA
(06/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I came to Kalamazoo for College. I stayed for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason J. Hall Jason J. Hall, Kalamazoo, MI
(05/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
There's a reason there are so many reviews of this place: Because it's like taking a beer pilgrimmage! Beer garden is huge and nice. All varieties of beers speak for themselves. The bartenders and brewers seem to be happy to be part of the team. Other than Bell's, there is no real reason to see Kalamazoo (sorry).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bert Pass Bert Pass, Highland, IN
(03/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Excellent beer!! Many different beers to choose from. The beer labels are the most creative I have seen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Hartzler Jason Hartzler, Normal, IL
(03/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The Eccentric Cafe is a great place to sample the best beers around. Larry Bell simply crafts the finest ales and stouts you are going to find. Check it out, it's sure to please!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandey Slevatz Sandey Slevatz, Kalamazoo, MI
(01/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
The beers are in my opinion the best in the entire midwest. Eccentric Cafe is a warm homey place to meet good people and drink great beer. The outdoor beer garden is the best summer party spot I know of. Can't say enough about Bells!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck and Kim Chuck and Kim, Rochester, MI
(01/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Very knowledgeable bartenders, great beers and a small town pub atmosphere. They don't serve food but have a full selection of menus from area restaurants to visit for dinner or to have food delivered to their bar. Highly recommended establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Joseph, MI
(01/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Great Stouts! Needs to get some food, any food in the place. The staff is great, they seem to really like/love working there, very helpful and knowledgeable. Very nice beer garden!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Duke Jackson Duke Jackson, Kalamazoo, MI
(01/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
A great place to listen to some great tunes and enjoy a quality beer - a definite "must visit" in Kalamazoo!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amanda Amanda, Kalamazoo, MI
(12/14/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Larry Bell makes some of the most intense dark beers around. 4 ounces of his expedition stout will make any light beer disappear. The cherry stout makes a great rye bread too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Cameron Alan Cameron, Monroe, MI
(12/13/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Has really improved in the past few years. Beer is good but has lost a lot of its soul. More of a microbrewery than a brewpub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Conklin Jeff Conklin, Grand Rapids, MI
(11/05/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
An excellent display of hardy dark ales with excellent grow hair on your chest characters.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kalamazoo, MI
(10/24/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
What food? Have to say that Larry Bell makes the best dark beers but I will be honest and say that I dont go writting mom and dad about the Pale ale and Amber (but then I dont like any Amber).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Patterson John Patterson, Northville, MI
(10/01/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.807 seconds) 01:02:08 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS