PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Arbor Brewing Company - Ann Arbor, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 20, 2014 @ 03:54 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Ann Arbor > Arbor Brewing Company
Arbor Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Arbor Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.6 / 100
114 East Washington
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
United States
(734) 213-1393
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: February 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Ann Arbor, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Arbor Brewing Company
86 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 01:00PM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Grizzly Peak Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Ashley's
(0 mile)

3) Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Amadeus Cafe and Restaurant
(0 mile)

6) Blue Tractor BBQ
(0 mile)

7) Jolly Pumpkin Cafe and Brewery
(2 miles)

8) Lord Fox
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Artful Lodger
2) Bed & Breakfast on Campus
3) Judy's Place B & B
4) Urban Retreat Bed & Breakfast
5) Vitosha Guest Haus
6) Wood's Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN AND STE ANN ARBOR
2) BELL TOWER HOTEL
3) BEST VALUE INN
4) CAMPUS INN
5) COMFORT INN AND BUSINESS CNTR
6) COMFORT INN ANN ARBOR
7) COURTYARD ANN ARBOR
8) DAYS INN ANN ARBOR
9) EXTENDEDSTAY DETROIT ANN ARBOR
10) FAIRFIELD INN ANN ARBOR
11) FOUR POINTS ANN ARBOR
12) HAMPTON INN ANN ARBOR NORTH
13) HAMPTON INN SOUTH
14) OAKWOOD ANN ARBOR
15) QUALITY INN AND STES ANN ARBOR
16) RED ROOF ANN ARBOR UNIV NORTH
17) RESIDENCE INN ANN ARBOR SOUTH
18) STUDIOPLUS DETROIT ANN ARBOR
19) SUPER 8 MOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Anderson, William, House
2) Ann Arbor Central Fire Station
3) Bell--Spalding House
4) Bennett, Henry, House
5) Delta Upsilon Fraternity House
6) Detroit Observatory
7) Dixboro United Methodist Church
8) Earl, Thomas, House
9) First National Bank Building
10) Frieze, Henry S., House
11) Germania Building Complex
12) Harris Hall
13) Hoffstetter, Jacob, House
14) Kellogg--Warden House
15) Main Street Post Office
16) Mechem, Floyd R., House
17) Methodist Episcopal Church Parsonage
18) Michigan Central Railroad Depot
19) Michigan Theater Building
20) Newberry Hall
21) Nickels Arcade
22) Northern Brewery
23) Palmer, William B. and Mary Shuford, House
24) President's House, University Of Michigan
25) Stone School
26) Ticknor, Dr. Benajah, House
27) Tuomy Hills Service Station
28) Unitarian Universalist Church
29) Weinmann Block
30) White, Orrin, House
31) Wilson, Judge Robert S., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Abe's Coney Island
3) Achilles Restaurant
4) Afternoon Delight
5) Ali-Baba
6) Amadeus Cafe
7) Amer's
8) Angelo's On The Side
9) Angelo's Restaurant
10) Arbor Brewing Co
11) Arby's
12) Arby's
13) Argiero's Italian Restaurant
14) Ashley's
15) Aut Bar
16) Azure Restaurant
17) B D's Mongolian Barbeque
18) Backroom
19) Banditos Inc
20) Banfield's Bar And Grill
21) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
22) Benny's Family Dining
23) Bev's Caribbean Kitchen
24) Blimpyburger
25) Blue Nile Of Ann Arbor
26) Bob's Big Boy
27) Boston Market
28) Broadway Cafe
29) Broken Egg
30) Burger King
31) Cafe Habana
32) Cafe Rendez-Vous
33) Caffe International
34) Campion Restuarant
35) Cava Java Bistro
36) Champion House
37) Chia Shiang Restaurant
38) China Gate Restaurant
39) Chop House
40) Cleveland's Gill & Grill
41) Cloverleaf Restaurant
42) Coffee Break
43) Conor O'neill's Traditional
44) Cottage Inn Pizza
45) Cottage Inn Pizza
46) Cottage Inn Pizza
47) Cottage Inn Pizza
48) Cubs' Ac
49) D Zanzibar
50) Daikalok Cafeteria
51) Dairy Queen
52) Denny's
53) Dinersty Restaurant
54) Dominick's
55) Earthen Jar
56) Escoffier
57) Espresso Caffe Corp
58) Espresso Royale Caffe
59) Espresso Royale Caffe Iii
60) Foods Of India
61) Frank's Restaurant
62) Fraser's Pub
63) Fuji Restaurant
64) Full Moon Restaurant & Saloon
65) Good Time Charley's
66) Gratzi
67) Heidelberg Restaurant
68) Hinodae
69) Iris Cafe
70) Jerusalem Garden
71) Jimmie Johns Gourmet Sandwich
72) Jimmy Johns Gourmet Sandwich
73) Joe Joe's Cafe & Raw Juices
74) Jonathon B Pub
75) Kai Garden
76) Kave's Kafe
77) Kerrytown Bistro
78) Lamplighter
79) Le Dog
80) Le Dog
81) Leo's Coney Island
82) Makkara
83) Manchu Wok
84) Mary's Fabulous Chicken
85) Max & Erma's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mediterrano
89) Michael's Chop House
90) Mitch's Place
91) Mr Greek's Coney Island
92) Mr Pita & The Coffee Beanery
93) Mr Pizza
94) Mr Spot's
95) New Star Chinese Restaurant
96) Northside Grill
97) Oasis Deli
98) Old China Restaurant
99) Olga's Kitchen Inc
100) Olive Garden
101) Oriental Express
102) Paesano's Restaurant
103) Palio
104) Panchero's Mexican Grill
105) Papa Chulo's
106) Parthenon Restaurant
107) Pita Pit
108) Pizza House
109) Ponderosa Steakhouse
110) Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe
111) Raja Rani
112) Real Seafood Co
113) Red Hawk Bar & Grill
114) Red Hot Lovers
115) Rick's American Cafe
116) Rod's Diner & Corp
117) Romano's Macaroni Grill
118) Sabor Latino
119) Saigon Garden
120) Sbarro
121) Seoul Garden
122) Seoul Korner Cafe
123) Seva Restaurant
124) Shalimar Restaurant
125) Shehan-Shah Indian Restaurant
126) Siam Cuisine
127) Sottini's Sub Shop
128) Southside Cafe
129) Steve's Lunch
130) Studio Four
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
133) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Sunflower Cafe
137) Sushi Shop
138) Sweet Lorraine's
139) Taste Of Italy
140) Tim Hortons
141) Tim Hortons
142) Tios Restaurant
143) Tony Ba'lony's Pizza & Subs
144) Touchdown Cafe
145) Tubby's Sub Shop
146) University Cafe
147) University Club
148) Victors At The Campus Inn
149) Villa Pizza
150) Wendy's
151) Wendy's
152) Wendy's
153) Wendy's
154) Yamato
155) Yes Sandwich Cafe
156) Zingerman's Catering
157) Zingerman's Delicatessen
158) Zydeco Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great So So
BIG DIFFERENCE A YEAR MAKES....JUST ASK THE FOOTBALL FANS.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(11/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
The Cask Conditioned IPA was very good. Cool atmosphere with good conversations had. I think that's mostly to do with not having any televisions at the bar. Didn't get to eat there, but the chips and salsa were pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Racine, WI
(11/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good
Sorry to have to echo the sentiments in the previous review. Overall a very disappointing stop based on my previous visits. Beers generally were too sweet for my liking or had a hint (or more) of "Belgiany" notes running through them (where it certainly wasn't appropriate). Only the decent service kept this from having a lower overall review score. Pity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Lousy Lousy
What happened here?!?! Once a favorite stop anlong the line, now a nobrainer to pass up. Still the same great line-up of beers, yet they don't match up to what they used to be. Lets do better ABC. I felt like I was in high school again, with such an immature staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Ann Arbor, MI
(05/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
BEERS SEEMED TO HAVE IMPROVED QUITE A BIT SINCE MY LAST VISIT SEVERAL YEARS AGO. CASK VERISONS OF THEIR PORTER AND IPA CAN'T BE BEAT. GARLIC BREAD WITH PESTO AND ROASTED PEPPERS IS NOT TO BE MISSED. IF ONLY THEIR FOOTBALL TEAM CAN IMPROVE THIS MUCH.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy So So
Went for a beer and left with a bad taste in my mouth. Beers were ok, not as good as they used to be. Service was very poor. Don't sit at the bar. Stuck up bartenders who think they know it all. Not a pub atmosphere at all. IPA is worth trying. Ample parking, which is a plus for Ann Arbor. Overall, a bad experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review saline, MI
(07/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Very good beers, particularly the potent ones. Terminator doppelbock is reason enough to come here (though it is not always on tap). Sacred Cow IPA and Old 22 are staples of an Ann Arbor beer diet. The Uskratch Maibock is a rare treat and delicious. The stouts are solid and can pack a punch. ***Note: you can get around the 3-drink-maximum for the "strong" beers (8%+) by getting 3 pitchers ;)

Food is good but overpriced, to be sure.

My only real complaint is the service. If you come in at night, expect to be ignored completely. Go right to the bar to order, as the waitstaff are more dispensers of items than actual waitstaff. And even as mere dispensers, they are quite inconsistent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrijus Perkunas Andrijus Perkunas, Harrisville, MI
(06/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!
If you're looking for a brewpub that hits on all cylinders this is the one. It's beers are top notch, usually about 6 on tap. The food is so good. The ambience is really unique, kind of a Victorian look, and the atmosphere is nice. The service is always good. If you're a stout fan, they serve a Russian Imperial Stout to die for. I took a die hard Miller High Life fan there and he drained two glasses of it! Always have a handpump cask beer as well. And it's in Ann Arbor. You cannot go wrong here. Overall, with all things considered, my favorite brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Brown Alan Brown, Lincoln Park, MI
(02/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Arbor Brewing proved to be a nice stop after watching a Badger-Michigan football game. The majority of the 100,000 fans that attended the game probably sought out bars that served common macros; but only beer snobs go to a place serving fine ales like this, so there was ample elbow room to enjoy some excellent ales.

I had a couple of cask-conditioned IPA's that were totally over the top; wonderful, wonderful brews. What a fine way to wind down after watching my Badgers fall to the Wolverines...plus getting to watch college football on the tv's at the Arbor.

If you enjoy quality ales, this place is for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from phil buteyn phil buteyn, madison, WI
(10/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Its nice for a beer fan to be in Ann Arbor. The two downtown brewpubs are only a few blocks from one another, so trying both is no biggie. Came here after a good experience at Grizzly Peak and wasn't disappointed. No Parking Pils was the runt of the lot; a few off tastes were somewhat distracting. Big Ben Mild was nicely drinkable with a dry finish. Askratcher Maibock had a malty sweetness, but no big overpowering finish. Jackhammer Old was my favorite; syrupy, fruity, very nice, but way too drinkable! Reuben was very good as well; a good compliment to the brews. A good stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I was part of a tour given by the owners, Matt and Renee. Bot are really into beer and is shows. Their IPA is wonderful, but the Terminator and Super Snapper are my favs. Matt makes a smoked beer reminiscent of one made in Bamburg, Germany. The food is good, but go for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Smigielski Michael Smigielski, Ypsilanti, MI
(02/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
Although I had A great time with this one, nothing really stood above the norm. Good beer, apethetic service at best, nice bar though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
I love ann arbor and when I go back to MI to go home to my family, I always go here. The beer is top quality and the taps are always rotating. A lot of breweries I go to dont rotate their beer enough or they do it too much so that if you find a beer you really like, you cant go back and get it 3 weeks later. They ususaly have about 10 or so beers. Its a great bar with a college town feel. The food is ok. Nothing to write home about. Service is kinda lame. Overall, one of the better beer places in MI, and ive been to quite a few.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from nick schwartz nick schwartz, new york city, NY
(12/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Love this place. We go for happy hour quite a bit. Bartenders are wonderful (Erin!!). Food is very good too. Stout in oh so yummy!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from June June, Ypsilanti, MI
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Neat English pub setting. We tried the Milestone Cask Porter, MMMMMMM! Love those fresh cask beers. The irish stout was alright. The worst part of the trip is that U of M lost to Ohio State.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pesci Pesci, Petoskey, MI
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
beer was fine. it annoyed me that i couldn't get a hamburger on the late night menu made of beef-just tempeh and black bean burgers-but that's ann arbor for you. i think we saw the waitress 3 times in 4 hours. better than grizzly peak down the road but far inferior to ashley's on state when it comes to beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Kimberly, Ann Arbor, MI
(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
6 taps, 2 casks (I'm a sucker for cask beer, but why not?). Sacred Cow IPA on cask was super! Nice amount of hops but not so overwhelming that it ruined the cask character. Best beer in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great So So Good
I found nothing inspiring about this brewpub. I had a pint of their Hefewiezen and a pint of their cask conditioned IPA. The Hefe, while drinkable, had none of the aromas and flavors that I've come to expect from a good Hefe. The cask conditioned IPA was was acerbic and had none of the west-coast floral hop flavor that they boasted on their menu. The food was fine, but the service was lacking. Finally, they were "out" of almost half of the beers on their menu. I can see running out of a specialty ale, but when a place is "out" of its mainline brews I begin to wonder.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Graham Glenn Graham, Oswego, NY
(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
AWESOME TO HAVE 2 BEER ENGINES! ONLY HAD THE CHANCE TO VISIT ONCE ON MY VISIT FOR MY BIRTHDAY(TAX DAY), THOUGH NEXT TIME WILL SPEND MY TIME HERE VS. THE GRIZZLY PEAK ON THE OTHER END OF WASHINGTON. The NO PARKING PILSNER was crisp, dry and full flavored with a distinct hop bitterness in the finish. My kind of "LAWN MOWIN'" pilsner. Very easy to drink this again and again. The SACRED COW CASK IPA which gives a nod as the description states,"West Coast Style," of a spicy-citrusy nose with a touch of grapefruit. Kinda reminds me of the Sierra Nevada Pale Ale blended with their X-mas brew, Celebration Ale. Yummy! My HOP palate was ever so delighted and the brew characteristics carried on thru to the finish. Unfortunately the only other brew I had (though I may have had "X2" of each sampled. Hah! Stopped in @ 10 and left at 2 AM. Whew! Anywho! The FARICY FEST IRISH STOUT, the "nitro blend" stout did not disappoint with a creamy dark coffee-like essence with mild bitterness enhanced with a peaty, smoky, roasted flavor with plenty of chocolate and espresso notes carried into the finish. Damn! For me, ARBOR is a 7 hour drive. Same time next year! Great t-shirts too. Mine says, " Beer, just like Mom used to make!" Hope this interests beerheads into checking this out first and foremost. The other in downtown is worth a look-see, but this place ROCKS with great brew, pool in the smoking area bar, conversation in the main bar without smoking. Truly great to be able to savor great brew and not have my olfactory senses insulted with smoke. More brewpubs should follow their lead!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ROBERT DREWERY ROBERT DREWERY, UNIONTOWN, PA
(05/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is THE place for a great beer! The oatmeal stout and red snapper are my favorites!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ann Arbor, MI
(03/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The beer can be somewhat inconsistant from time to time. They always make a good effort. The IPA is always good. Better than you would expect for a college town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(03/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I had olde no. 22 (alt) and the cask porter, both great. they four higher gravity beers on tap. I plan on going back to try those sometime. Brought my family this time, we all liked the food except for my wife, who had some kind of pasta. I'm not a pasta person so I can't comment on that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(02/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
Need more and better trained waitstaff. Our server took our order and we never saw him after he dropped off our drinks. The manager brought our cold food out, and took additional drink orders, but we had to retrieve them from the bartender ourselves as half of our drinks were empty and he had poured them, our waiter just never brought them. The cajun fries are great, but not when your beer is sitting at the bar...it's a good place to have a beer at the bar, but not for a good dining experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill & Cyn Bill & Cyn, Grass Lake, MI
(01/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
We enjoyed meeting Douggie the brewmaster. His comments were very informative and entertaining.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stuart Stuart, Elkhart, IN
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Lousy Lousy So So
The food was bland and overpriced! Not a good dining experience. Had been to the Michigan Brewer's Festival in Ypsilanti and did not op to drink any more beer at dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alewife Frazier Alewife Frazier, Lexington, KY
(07/26/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.342 seconds) 03:54:34 54.204.79.235, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS