PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Grizzly Peak Brewing Company - Ann Arbor, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 11:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Ann Arbor > Grizzly Peak Brewing Company
Grizzly Peak Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Grizzly Peak Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.7 / 100
120 West Washington Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
United States
(734) 741-7325
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: June 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Ann Arbor, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Grizzly Peak Brewing Company
62 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

Recent News
A ‘Bear’ of a homebrew


alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Arbor Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Ashley's
(0 mile)

3) Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Amadeus Cafe and Restaurant
(0 mile)

6) Blue Tractor BBQ
(0 mile)

7) Jolly Pumpkin Cafe and Brewery
(2 miles)

8) Lord Fox
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Artful Lodger
2) Bed & Breakfast on Campus
3) Judy's Place B & B
4) Urban Retreat Bed & Breakfast
5) Vitosha Guest Haus
6) Wood's Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN AND STE ANN ARBOR
2) BELL TOWER HOTEL
3) BEST VALUE INN
4) CAMPUS INN
5) COMFORT INN AND BUSINESS CNTR
6) COMFORT INN ANN ARBOR
7) COURTYARD ANN ARBOR
8) DAYS INN ANN ARBOR
9) EXTENDEDSTAY DETROIT ANN ARBOR
10) FAIRFIELD INN ANN ARBOR
11) FOUR POINTS ANN ARBOR
12) HAMPTON INN ANN ARBOR NORTH
13) HAMPTON INN SOUTH
14) OAKWOOD ANN ARBOR
15) QUALITY INN AND STES ANN ARBOR
16) RED ROOF ANN ARBOR UNIV NORTH
17) RESIDENCE INN ANN ARBOR SOUTH
18) STUDIOPLUS DETROIT ANN ARBOR
19) SUPER 8 MOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Anderson, William, House
2) Ann Arbor Central Fire Station
3) Bell--Spalding House
4) Bennett, Henry, House
5) Delta Upsilon Fraternity House
6) Detroit Observatory
7) Dixboro United Methodist Church
8) Earl, Thomas, House
9) First National Bank Building
10) Frieze, Henry S., House
11) Germania Building Complex
12) Harris Hall
13) Hoffstetter, Jacob, House
14) Kellogg--Warden House
15) Main Street Post Office
16) Mechem, Floyd R., House
17) Methodist Episcopal Church Parsonage
18) Michigan Central Railroad Depot
19) Michigan Theater Building
20) Newberry Hall
21) Nickels Arcade
22) Northern Brewery
23) Palmer, William B. and Mary Shuford, House
24) President's House, University Of Michigan
25) Stone School
26) Ticknor, Dr. Benajah, House
27) Tuomy Hills Service Station
28) Unitarian Universalist Church
29) Weinmann Block
30) White, Orrin, House
31) Wilson, Judge Robert S., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Abe's Coney Island
3) Achilles Restaurant
4) Afternoon Delight
5) Ali-Baba
6) Amadeus Cafe
7) Amer's
8) Angelo's On The Side
9) Angelo's Restaurant
10) Arbor Brewing Co
11) Arby's
12) Arby's
13) Argiero's Italian Restaurant
14) Ashley's
15) Aut Bar
16) Azure Restaurant
17) B D's Mongolian Barbeque
18) Backroom
19) Banditos Inc
20) Banfield's Bar And Grill
21) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
22) Benny's Family Dining
23) Bev's Caribbean Kitchen
24) Blimpyburger
25) Blue Nile Of Ann Arbor
26) Bob's Big Boy
27) Boston Market
28) Broadway Cafe
29) Broken Egg
30) Burger King
31) Cafe Habana
32) Cafe Rendez-Vous
33) Caffe International
34) Campion Restuarant
35) Cava Java Bistro
36) Champion House
37) Chia Shiang Restaurant
38) China Gate Restaurant
39) Chop House
40) Cleveland's Gill & Grill
41) Cloverleaf Restaurant
42) Coffee Break
43) Conor O'neill's Traditional
44) Cottage Inn Pizza
45) Cottage Inn Pizza
46) Cottage Inn Pizza
47) Cottage Inn Pizza
48) Cubs' Ac
49) D Zanzibar
50) Daikalok Cafeteria
51) Dairy Queen
52) Denny's
53) Dinersty Restaurant
54) Dominick's
55) Earthen Jar
56) Escoffier
57) Espresso Caffe Corp
58) Espresso Royale Caffe
59) Espresso Royale Caffe Iii
60) Foods Of India
61) Frank's Restaurant
62) Fraser's Pub
63) Fuji Restaurant
64) Full Moon Restaurant & Saloon
65) Good Time Charley's
66) Gratzi
67) Heidelberg Restaurant
68) Hinodae
69) Iris Cafe
70) Jerusalem Garden
71) Jimmie Johns Gourmet Sandwich
72) Jimmy Johns Gourmet Sandwich
73) Joe Joe's Cafe & Raw Juices
74) Jonathon B Pub
75) Kai Garden
76) Kave's Kafe
77) Kerrytown Bistro
78) Lamplighter
79) Le Dog
80) Le Dog
81) Leo's Coney Island
82) Makkara
83) Manchu Wok
84) Mary's Fabulous Chicken
85) Max & Erma's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mediterrano
89) Michael's Chop House
90) Mitch's Place
91) Mr Greek's Coney Island
92) Mr Pita & The Coffee Beanery
93) Mr Pizza
94) Mr Spot's
95) New Star Chinese Restaurant
96) Northside Grill
97) Oasis Deli
98) Old China Restaurant
99) Olga's Kitchen Inc
100) Olive Garden
101) Oriental Express
102) Paesano's Restaurant
103) Palio
104) Panchero's Mexican Grill
105) Papa Chulo's
106) Parthenon Restaurant
107) Pita Pit
108) Pizza House
109) Ponderosa Steakhouse
110) Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe
111) Raja Rani
112) Real Seafood Co
113) Red Hawk Bar & Grill
114) Red Hot Lovers
115) Rick's American Cafe
116) Rod's Diner & Corp
117) Romano's Macaroni Grill
118) Sabor Latino
119) Saigon Garden
120) Sbarro
121) Seoul Garden
122) Seoul Korner Cafe
123) Seva Restaurant
124) Shalimar Restaurant
125) Shehan-Shah Indian Restaurant
126) Siam Cuisine
127) Sottini's Sub Shop
128) Southside Cafe
129) Steve's Lunch
130) Studio Four
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
133) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Sunflower Cafe
137) Sushi Shop
138) Sweet Lorraine's
139) Taste Of Italy
140) Tim Hortons
141) Tim Hortons
142) Tios Restaurant
143) Tony Ba'lony's Pizza & Subs
144) Touchdown Cafe
145) Tubby's Sub Shop
146) University Cafe
147) University Club
148) Victors At The Campus Inn
149) Villa Pizza
150) Wendy's
151) Wendy's
152) Wendy's
153) Wendy's
154) Yamato
155) Yes Sandwich Cafe
156) Zingerman's Catering
157) Zingerman's Delicatessen
158) Zydeco Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I was greeted by a nice bartender Jennifer- and then selected the 3C IPA-- a really nice beer. After she mentioned it was one of their award winning beers. So-- I guess she validated my selection. I was there too early for a meal but would return again and even go out of my way to return to do so. My GP logo pint glass is getting my collection close to 150.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe K Joe K, Geneva, NY
(07/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
www.grizzlypeak.NET is the current website. I am going to check it out- this week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe K Joe K, Geneva, NY
(07/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wow- maybe the best brewpub in the State- my humble opinion. Certainly the busiest. Sells more beer than any brewpub in the State of Michigan according to the Michigan Liquor Control. Come see why this is the case. The beer is fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Carlson Jon Carlson, Ann Arbor, MI
(10/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
CONGRATS.... YOU WIN THE ANNUAL ANN ARBOR PUB CRAWL. UNTIL NEXT YEAR....I BID YOU A FAIRWELL.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(11/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Fun place to be down town. Pretty cool atmosphere. The Grizzly Pale Ale was very good, the other selections were so so. Just not to my liking. The pizza was pretty good. I'd stop in again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Racine, WI
(11/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
This is essentially the same as North Peak in Traverse City. And like that branch, the beer was unimpressive. Tried the heffeweizen, which was too banana-y and floral, but yet was thin and flat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
GOT TO LOVE THE EXPERIMENTATION GOING ON HERE. LAST VISIT SEVERL YEARS AGO THERE WAS A LAMBIC OFFERING. HOW MANY TIMES DO YOU SEE THAT IN A BREWERY? THIS VISIT THE HOPPY BELGIAN WHEAT WASN'T QUITE MY CUP OF TEA.....BUT KEEP UP THE IMAGINATIVE BREWS!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Nice beer selection and quality beers one would expect from a brewpub where folks pay attention. The night I was there the chef had a special -- salmon roasted in a corn husk, served over hominy, which in turn was flavored with peppers & tomatoes and had a nice level of spiciness. Even had local (thank you) spinach spread about over the hominy. This was truly a pleasant, unexpected treat. I managed to get through three pints, running from weiszen (not so spiffy, but not a weiszen fan here) to IPA (excellent) to another IPA (thank you again). Nice evening. Then headed down to Conor O'Neill's down the street to catch some music, Guinness, and top the evening off with a shot of McCallum's. Life is good.

jb

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review longmont, CO
(10/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Started my Michigan beer crawl here. 9 beers offered; I tried some that were new to me. Oast House Ale was malty and smooth, while the Steelhead Red had a tinge of sweetness to it. The Pale was very similar to the Oast House and the Bearpaw Porter was very good, very drinkable. The most unique offering this trip was Juniper Ale on cask. Being a reformed gin drinker, I always take any opportunity to remind myself of the great flavor of juniper. There was lots of juniper in the nose and the flavor meshed with the hops nicely--I could see myself having more than a few if I were a regular here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I would have to say I really liked this place. Good beer, relaxing and friendly!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Like this place a lot. Warm and friendly atmosphere. Good place to crawl to if your visiting AA, or just a local looking for a good brew and a good time. :-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from June June, Ypsilanti, MI
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Still struggling with U of M's loss, I drowned myself in Irish pleasure with the County Cork's Irish Stout, very roasted and chewy. We also sampled the ESB which was a nice, hoppy change. Keep em coming.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pesci Pesci, Petoskey, MI
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
6 taps, 3 casks when I stopped by. Cask ESB malty with a slight tartness at end. They put on a barleywine on cask while I was there. Unique to me to see one on cask. Sweet/tart dominated the flavors, perhaps not suited to cask format?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
This is a solid brewpub, but it's nothing to turn cartwheels over. I had their cask-conditioned summer ale and ESB. The summer ale had a pleasing flavor, and the ESB tasted like an ESB, but neither had the aromas typical in cask-conditioned ales. Moreover, both were served far too cold to allow for those aromas to develop. The food and service were fine. Grizzly Peak certainly beats the hell out of Ann Arbor brewing, but does not hold it's own when compared to other brewpubs around the country. It is worth a try if you're in Ann Arbor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Graham Glenn Graham, Oswego, NY
(06/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I went there on New Year's Eve for dinner, and was pleasantly surprised by their IPA and scotch ale. Both were brewmaster specials, and they were outstanding. I wish they would add these beers as regular offerings. The food and service were also great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
This is one of my favorite places to go. I can't say all the beers are great, since I don't care for all types, but I do find their Porter, ESB, Red and Octoberfest AWESOME. The food is quite tasty, too. I don't eat red meat, but can always find something delicious. The only gripe I might have is that their sweet potatoe fries are underdone at times. Service is great, too. I usually go away with a couple of growlers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Smigielski Michael Smigielski, Ypsilanti, MI
(12/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Soup was terrific and Dunkelweissen and Red beers were good. ESB was god too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stuart Stuart, Elkhart, IN
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Old, brick/wood building on a main street. 7 beers on tap [lus 3 on the cask. Beers are OK, with some being better than average, but none that were outstanding. I've never had a lambic on cask before, but it too, was nothing special. There were strange odors throughout the place, possibly from cleaning products or the like. The bartender was very helpful with samples and his choices were among the best I had there (IPA and porter).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Sounds like Dylan from NC just has a problem with Ann Arbor. Overall, I think GP does a pretty good job. Couldn't he just order his hamburger without the "fancy fixings" that he had to remove?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Burr Burr, Traverse City, MI
(06/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the greatest bar in Ann Arbor!! Friendly Staff...Great Beer...Highly Recommend joining the Mug Club

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Headley Jon Headley, Cleveland, OH
(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Most of the beers here are unimpressive. Sometimes they do a speciality beer that is quite good. A scotch ale they had in December was fantastic, and a scottish 90-schilling ale they had recently was decent. But if you want great beer, go down the street to Arbor Brewing. The food here is good, but it depends on what you order. I had a reuben that was okay, but not great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(03/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Great Good
I found that GP beers were very bland and lacked much real character. I agree with another reviewer that they seemed to reflect a "corporate" feel, possibly to appeal to a wider audience that may not fully appreciate what a good IPA or Abbey ale should taste like. I also found that the atmosphere and the food were very snooty. By this I mean that you can't just order a hamburger. You have to get a hamburger with all sorts of fancy fixings all over it that I later had to peel off. Not a big deal to some, and I'm sure that some like it, but to a simple guy like me it is a bit over the top, but so is most of Ann Arbor. The wait staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dylan Dylan, Camp Lejeune, NC
(01/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
We used some of our vacation time to check out ann arbor. This was the Number #1 brewpub. I had a beer I can't know recall, but It was great, Ordered the steak sandwich with it I ordered a 10 year old whiskey which was awesome! If I worked near this place. I would be a regular. Cheers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenny Kenny, Anaheim, CA
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Grizzly Peak is the place to go for dinner with beers. The beer is very good, but it seems that GP aims to make it a bit bland in an attempt to broaden its appeal. GP is after all a franchise and I would say the beer reflects this with "corporate" flavor undertones. My favorites are usually the cask-conditioned ales, which are made on a smaller scale and are unique to each GP establishment, as opposed to being uniform across the franchise (McBeer? :) GP is more of a yuppie bar than a place to drink beer, with an upscale clientele. Unlike the beer, the food is excellent and the menu broad and varied. I suggest dining at GP with a beer or two, then heading down the block to Arbor Brewing, which has the best beer in Ann Arbor, but lower quality food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Ann Arbor, MI
(06/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place!.....The soup is the best around and the beer awesome. We'll definitely be back to explore the menu further!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nina, Royal Oak, MI
(05/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
Really a top-notch eatery! I would ask for Christian as a server- he is very knowledgable and wonderfuly personable...We had a great experience and will be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ken Burns, Southfield, MI
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Awesome! Good
With 9 homemade brews on tap, Grizzly Peak offers lots of good brews. The 9-beer sampler is a cheap and fun way to try the field, but if you're looking for something more substantial than a 5 oz. glass, I suggest their house red. The rotating flavored stout might seem alluring, but be forewarned...it can be more like punishment than anything else: cherry stout sounds great, at least. The food is OK and the service is very friendly and knowledgable. #2 in Ann Arbor behind the A.B.C.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, Lake Nebagamon, WI
(01/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Nice selection of fairly tasty beers. The food is pretty good but a tad pricey. The service could be a bit better. Overall, a decent place to stop in for a beer and maybe some appetizers, but, for the price, there are some better places out there for eats in A^2.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Livonia, MI
(01/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
One of the top pales around. If you like hoppy beer then this one is for you. If you don't, then don't bother ordering. Their wheat beer (summer special) is also top of the line. They are in a great old building right downtown Ann Arbor. Food and service are top notch. They need to improve their guest beer selection (i.e. eliminate the bottles of bud).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas C. Koziara Thomas C. Koziara, Ann Arbor, MI
(07/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Good
Grizzly Peak has a cozy interior with a great selection of food but an uninspired beer offering. Occasional seasonals are a treat. The calamari is worth the trip alone. Service was not as good as Ann Arbor Brewing just down the street. Some places you visit because they have great food and it is just a bonus that they happen to be a brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph C Topping III Joseph C Topping III, Huntsville, TX
(06/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This place turned me on to British Bitter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Thomas Jerry Thomas, Lathrup Village, MI
(02/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Good Good
Not the best place in Ann Arbor to drink beer, by a long shot. Sometimes they have a seasonal worth trying, but for the most part their brews are pretty lackluster. The food, on the other hand, is always a treat!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Henne Sean Henne, Waterford, MI
(02/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
Beers were thin with little body and taste. Service was slow at 4:00 pm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
There was a 90 min. wait for a table so I just grabbed a growler of their Porter to go, it was good. Will try to stop again to try their food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Nice menu, food was good. Service was good. 8 beers on tap most were good. It is a good place to eat but you should save room for the beer from Arbor Brewing down the street after dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Holland, MI
(03/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy Good
i have been to the estalishment twice both times i have tried a couple of different beers by the trird i can find one that is drinkable the food is very up scale and a little price but in both my trips the service has been lousy i had to get up to find my waitress to get a second and third beer and my compainion couldn't even find her to get more coffee. in my opinion if you want to try the beer here sit at the bar if you want the food and one drink you will enjoy your self

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael jones michael jones, marquette, MI
(12/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
I would definitely go here for the food but the beer was nothing out of the ordinary.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Kasen Dan Kasen, Chicago, IL
(11/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good
What one needs to realize with Grizzly Peak is that it is primarialy a resturaunt that also happens to brew beer. If I'm looking for dinner I would much rather visit them than Arbor Brewing Company. That said, the beer here is ok, period. Nothing they have moved me at all. My advise: spend the day in Ann Arbor coming in in time to have lunch @ ABC, go to Leopold Bros for a few hours, head to Grizzly Peak for dinner, and then drink the night away at Ashley's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Lyon Aaron Lyon, Ann Arbor, MI
(03/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
unfortunately i went to this place because i was told the beer was better than at arbor. i tried the full sampler and can honestly say that there was a contamination situation going on there. the only beer that was drinkable was the vienna, and i must assume that was because they used a different yeast for it . the stout was also drinkable, but only because the heavy flavor overwhelmed the off flavor. i visited in sept. of '99 and i hope they have corrected the problem since then. i hate to see one brewpub give others a bad name by serving a poor product

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike heberlein mike heberlein, santa barbara, CA
(01/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
I was here recently, visiting with Jim, Wendy and Craig. We hooked up through Pubcrawler and Jim agreed to meet and do a little crawl through Ann Arbor. The beer here was pretty good. The Bearpaw Porter was excellent, a really full bodied, complex brew. I also liked the nice malt balance of the Golden. We all had something to eat; my pizza was very good. A very nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, PA
(12/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I really liked this place. Beer and food are good, wait people are good. Arbor Brewing?...I don't think so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Schmidt Rick Schmidt, Toledo, OH
(11/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good
I finally got to try Grizzly and was shocked that so many other reviewers think the beer is better than at Arbor. The beer here is very inoffensive (i.e., bland), except for an ESB I tried from the cask that tasted like it had something wrong with it or had some strange ingredient added during the brewing process. (Funny note: I asked the brewtender whether anything had been added and he said "no, I took it right out of the cask.") The only food we tried was a hummous appetizer that was tasty but way overpriced. Hummous costs pennies to make, but the serving size was about 1/4 cup with a few taco chips for 5 or 6 bucks. Atmosphere-wise, this place is a little too ferny/brass rails/dark green paint for me. My advice: if you really have a discerning beer palate, and like places as comfortable as an old worn-out pair of slippers, go to Arbor. If you want an "upscale" type establishment with beer that is OK but not memorable, Grizzly is for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moondoggie Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(10/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
At last count, I have visited over 60 brewpubs and this one definitely ranks toward the top. Food, service and atmosphere were top notch. And, of course, the beer... Of the eight samples that I had, five were excellent or very good (Steelhead Red, Victor's Golden Ale, ESB, Pale Ale and Six Tap Hefe).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Kath Doug Kath, Livonia, MI
(07/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Beer, food, and service are almost always top notch. There's no reason to go anywhere else when in the Ann Arbor area. If you want bad beer in a weird place with weird people, go down the street to Arbor Brewing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(06/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped in to this place and Arbor's during a business trip. Preferred Grizzly's for the better beer & service. I was suprised to see regular pub food was not offered here (nachos, wings, etc.) More of an up-scale menu. Tried the cheese soup and it was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neal Neal, Cedar Rapids, IA
(06/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place establishes the definition of a brew pub. It dosen't get too much better. Everything from the staff to the food and beer is top notch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Craig, Ann Arbor, MI
(06/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Food was exceptional! the beer plentiful and tasty! the single malt scotch sampler made the ideal dessert for a wonderful dining experience!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lisa Buchanan Lisa Buchanan, Westland, MI
(04/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Searching for a beer worthy of drinking in a half yard was a task. I settled for a pale that was mildly hopped but quite flavorful. The atmosphere is comfortable. The bartender was extremely attentive--passing out samples of the Juniper Pale Ale, IPA, Porter & Stout(however, I continued to order the Pale and noticed the other patrons requested the Pale Ale too). The food smelled and looked wonderful. We'll eat here - instead of drinking here on our next visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathie McConnell Kathie McConnell, Cincinnati, OH
(03/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Consistently the best beers in Ann Arbor. Try the Pale Ale or the Red, though all are worth a try. The 6th tap is usually quite awesome as well. The food speaks for itself. Who says a top-notch brewpub has to sacrifice excellence in the taste and quality of its food?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(01/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! So So Good
The best part of this brewpub is the food, especially the ice cream. The beer is good, but needs a little more flavor. It was a slow day and still the wait staff couldn't find time to serve us in a manner you would expect from a restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marcus Popiolek Marcus Popiolek, Hollidaysburg, PA
(01/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
Grizzly Peaks has the most attractive brewpub in Ann Arbor, but the compliments stop there. Brewing interesting, flavorful beers are not a priority at Grizzly Peaks. Try either Arbor or Brewbakers. With as much as I like Grizzly, hopefully their beer will improve (as Arbor has).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
The service was friendly. The burgers taste great from the wood fired grill, but you must leave room for a big bowl of their malt flavored ice cream.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Lally Tom Lally, Ansonia, CT
(08/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Second visit was almost as great as the first. Service was exceptional. The salmon was prepared exactly as asked. The bread was wonderful, although the new menu seems to lack compared to the old. Pale Ale was well done and stout was tastey, and looked even better... but the menu's "Guinness like" description is a bit much. Bread pudding was GREAT again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Houston, TX
(08/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Of the two brewpubs in Ann Arbor, I used to put Grizzly first. But their beer got less interesting, and Arbors got much better. The beer here is solid, but is much of a sameness after a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Spencer W. Thomas Spencer W. Thomas, Ann Arbor, MI
(07/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
I didn't eat there, but it definitely seems worth a try. Our server seemed knowledgable about the beer, and suggested other places in town where we might try different brews. But why would we? The cask conditioned ESB and Porter were both at the height of flavor that night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Masog Tom Masog, Laurel, MD
(07/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great N/A
Try the bread pudding. Stout is solid. It mocks the brewpub down the street

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Laurin Ken Laurin, Houston, TX
(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy So So
This is the brewpub of choice if you are a fern bar type. Lots of expense accounts and out-of-town executives entertaining, but probably wondering why they can't get Red Dog on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Deikis John Deikis, Chelsea, MI
(01/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Serve mostly ales, waitstaff not as informed as at Arbor Brewing Co. But food is good and beer is well done although their Big Ben tastes too much like Bud.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pinckney, MI
(12/26/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Great beer, great food. A super nice atmosphere. Very friendly customers also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Conklin Jeff Conklin, Grand Rapids, MI
(11/05/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Excellent beer selection, which you can get in a yard or half-yard. Very good food but be prepared to wait forever after U of M football games.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dayton, OH
(10/14/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is _the_ Brew Pub in Ann Arbor.

The competition cannot hold a candle to this place.

Try the Wood Fire Oven Pizzas!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Canton, MI
(10/13/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.257 seconds) 11:48:22 107.22.37.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS