PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lake Superior Brewing Company - Grand Marais, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 22, 2014 @ 07:56 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Marais > Lake Superior Brewing Company
Lake Superior Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Lake Superior Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
N-14283 Lake Avenue
Post Box 310
Grand Marais, MI 49839
United States
(906) 494-2337
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Marais, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Lake Superior Brewing Company
55 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Curiosity Corner
2) Lake Superior Brewing Co
3) Sportsman's Restaurant
4) West Bay Diner & Delicatessen
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Another visit, this time during a Triathlon. The place was too packed the first try, but by 3 pm we got some bar space. Very friendly atmosphere, as always. Out of whitefish, as is too usual, but not unexpected on that day. We ordered ESBs, very good. Perch baskets were not up to the usual standard of the food at LSBC, unfortunately- the fries and rings were great, but it seemed like the fish had been held awhile. Still, given the crowds that day we were happy to have any perch at all! We'll be back, the place has a good track record for us.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Stevens Point, WI
(09/03/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Worst place that I ever ate at. Service was the worst, Do not go there you will be sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gerry Gerry, Grabd Rapids, MI
(12/25/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So
We were on vacation and totally got ripped of by this place. Maybe because it is the only place for miles. First of all they give you paper plates to eat off from. Second they portray there pizza as the most popular thing on there menu. So we thought awesome sounds great. We got the pizza and it was literally made with a store bought pizza crust with toppings thrown on top. After having to pay $18 for it we were completely in shock! There crazy bread was good. My son ordered fries that were not cooked all the way through. Please think twice before stopping here. It really is to bad because a lot of our friends snowmobile around the area and they will be loosing all of that business.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brenda Brenda , Cadillac, MI
(08/25/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The entire staff is great and friendly. We spend 4th of July and New Years week in the area and always stop in here for the perfect panini's, popcorn and the great selection of tasty BEER! Next time your there try the NutBrown our personal favorite. It has always been a easy pit stop while we snowmobile for a quick warm me up and lunch. We are heading there again for new years eve 2010 cant wait!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rudy Bailey Rudy Bailey, Eaton Rapids, MI
(12/07/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Our 2nd time there, we will make it more often now that h-58 is paved! The place is a riot of knotty pine paneling, very hygglig, as they say in Denmark. Scotch eggs were hearty with a Brown Ale, cheesy-garlic popcorn also very good, as were Buffalo Wings with Bleu cheese dressing. Cherry Wheat beer was also good, brought back memories of "Kiddie Cocktails." We had to make do with appetizers, because it's been blowing so bad that nobody can go out on the Lake, so they were out of Whitefish! We survived on the appetizers pretty well, though, thanks. Then a smooth drive back to AuTrain!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Stevens Point, WI
(10/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Everything was great as usual. My family and I were staying in Curtis a couple of weeks ago and decided to drive up for some Scotch Eggs. At first the waitress said they were out, but sensing our frustration she went in the back and was able to get 2 fresh hot orders for us. They were delicious as always. We ordered 2 chicken tender baskets for 2 of my children. Not only were they good and reasonably priced the basket contained 4 huge pcs and tons of fries. The Beer,food, atmosphere, and service were great as always. This was our 4th visit and certainly will not be our last.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Dearborn, MI
(07/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A trip to beautiful Grand Marais, MI, is not complete without a stop at the Lake Superior Brewing Company. The food is fabulous! If you like FRESH whitefish, this is the place to have it. The salad bar, although rather small, is always fresh and their homemade blue cheese dressing is to die for. Another specialty is the garlic-cheese popcorn which goes great with a cold brew on a beautiful, sunny afternoon! We were camping at Muskallonge State Park and drove 18 miles on gravel roads just to eat there! As usual, the food was awesome, the beer was cold, and the service was fantastic! Warning--don't be in a rush--allow plenty of time to talk and joke with the wait staff and the locals!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Curtis, MI
(07/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I first stopped by this place in July 2007, and I have been going back to the U.P. just to visit this place several times a year since then. The beers are awesome, the pizza, scotch eggs, beer cheese dip and so much more are fantastic. The staff and patrons are what make it so great. The root-beer and red pop are wonderful as well. It's a place the whole family can go out to, as well and the guy just passing through town as I was. Be sure to grab a jug to go, you will be sorry you didn't.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan K Ryan K, Michigan Center, MI
(05/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My brother and I and a friend spent an afternoon here in early March during our annual snowmobiling trip. What a wonderful experience! Can't wait to go back and have been recommending it to everyone I know who visits Gods Country. Keep up the great work, you have earned three lifelong fans!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Gray Craig Gray, Allegan, MI
(04/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
The pale ale might be best I have had! Enough so that I am trying to get the local store to stock it!

The "plain" wheat beer was very refreshing!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve T. Steve T., Bedford, MI
(08/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Friendly atmosphere, great food, especially the pizza with the fresh made dough. Best pizza I've had in years, can't wait to go back. House made draft rootbeer and beers were excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Galloway, OH
(06/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
If you are within 50 miles of LSBC you have to try it. Friendly staff, good beer, fantastic atmosphere, wonderful small town and beautiful part of the country.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Kent, Lawrenceburg, IN
(06/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!
Beer quality is great, why would people drive hundreds of miles to drink water (ie. Bud Light)? Only negative is quanity, sometimes all 6 or 7 brewed beers are not on tap at the same time.

Food variety and quality is also great and as for service, your glass is rarely empty. My wife and I have been visiting Grand Marais since 1993 and we feel as if we are now one of the locals. The atmoshere is one of a kind.

Gert Tribe Owosso MI

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gert Tribe Gert Tribe, Owosso, MI
(03/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome!
Great place for a home brew, chicken sandwich & Pizza. We ALWAYS make sure to visit a when we are up there. Heading there next weekend and can't wait to see everyone. The staff is friendly. If your looking for a place to eat & drink, this is the one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Shawn, Ypsilanti, MI
(01/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I'm coming up the middle weekend of the month. I'm glad Bryan from Grand Rapids won't be there--I'm a bit picky of whom I drink with. lol

Looking forward to some more Scotch Eggs! This place is a gem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, East Lansing, MI
(08/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
We went to the bar on a monday night around 5:30pm their were 12 of us, three of us order pizzas the rest order dinners or sandwichs, one of the pizzas came 20 min's after we ordered the other food came shortly before that, the other two pizzas came 1 hour after we ordered everbody else had long since been finnished all the waitess said sorry we only have two ovens. If that is the case maybe you should tell the customers that there will be a wait. I will never go back to that place again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bryan bryan, grand rapids, MI
(07/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My husband and I love this place. Fresh fish, home brewed beer, and "nature in abundance". After hiking on the most beautiful trails along the Lake Superior coast I couldn't ask for a better way to end the day, a pint of Jasper Cherry, and a whitefish sandwich. We continue to go back year after year. The locals are always very nice to us, and most seem to remember us. Once the bartender enjoyed our company so much that he stayed open & drank with us until 3am, and the next morning he delivered us coffee to our hotel room (Albertsons). We also went spent a portion of our honey moon in Grand Marais.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Danielle Thom Danielle Thom, Oconomowoc, WI
(07/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Overall this is a very cool place and a place any one can feel at home. This is just about the only place to eat in town at night so it was busy. We ordered a sampler, they had 6 beers to sample, a wheat, a cherry ale, a pale ale, an ESB, a brown ale, and a stout. Their best beers were the Pale ale and the stout, all of their beer were above average and they seem to care to make beer with flavour. I had a pizza quite good and my wife had chicken fingers and she enjoyed them. The service was a bit slow but I will give them the benefit of the doubt and say it was because they were busy. A very cool place and it is definitely worth the trip to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Moline, IL
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was new to the town last winter and had the time of my life. This town has a special meaning to people who have been there and visited. The people are great and the experience of being there is a once in a life time chance for a first timer. I spent quit a bit of time in town last year, i was up almost every weekend frome the first snow. The town is great and the lake superior brewing company completes your wonderful experience. I meet alot of people up there and became good friends with a few, (Jer, Tami, Ashley,) good times... Can't wait to see you guys this year..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jacob Jacob, Wayne, MI
(01/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
The puddingstone beer did it for me, highly recommend it if your not into dark micro brews. The food was delicous also, we'll be back! Also don't leave without filling up their special "grawl mauler" jug, good deal and great souvenier.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Holland, MI
(12/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Lake Superior Brewing (ok, ok- the pristine nature of the area too) are the reason we spend our weeks vacation each July 4th time period in Grand Marais. Great beers (although always run out of Stout! and not since our first year visit have we been fortunate enough to catch the Porter on tap), great food and staff (they even helped arrange a special 10th anniversary dinner for us this July (complete with our favorite window seat, linen and flowers!- quite out of character for the northwoods tavern atmosphere), fun travelers to meet, great other brewery tales to share, welcoming locals that just make you want to check out available real estate and become one with them. Hard to pick just one favorite beer so might as well plan on taking a different growler back to the cabin every night! Would love to see the brewery expand capacity! See you July 2007.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deb Deb, Schoolcraft, MI
(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I spent last year's birthday at LAKE SUPERIOR BREWING COMPANY and had a great time. I enjoyed knowing that beers tasted like the names. I plan to come this weekend [Likely Saturday October 7, 2006. Look for Mary-ann and Vickie. I've bragged to her about the pub for weeks now and I know you'll meet her expectations.

Thank you for the birthday beers! Do tell the nice lady in the bake shop next door, I appreciate her voice. She serrinaded me on my birthday! I plan to pay her a visit as well and experience some great treats!

Mary-ann Masura

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary-ann Mary-ann, Canton, MI
(10/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
My husband would say the puddingstone is the best, but I love the hematite stout. We love Grand Marais and make sure we stop in to the Lake Superior Brewing company every time I visit my dad in that beautiful little town. The pizza and the whitefish are great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heather Heather, Grand Rapids, MI
(09/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I loved this place. The beer was wonderful. Tried the four current offerings starting with Puddingstone Light (very good) then the blueberry ale (forgot the name) O.K. but too much of a dessert beer for me. The Belgian Gold made me not want to leave Grand Marais ever. The barman told us it was the strongest beer they had ever brewed and to watch myself. A fellow conesuer concurred as he stumbled off his stool. Finally the Hemitite Stout this beer also made me want to look at the local real estate market. The staff were very friendly. The barman has a good sence of humor and easily shot come backs at three rowdy drunks and left us smiling. Read the menu carefully you get exactly what you order. I was taken back a little with the cole slaw on my sandwich. Not a bad sandwich, just a little surprised by the slaw. I would tell you about the bread sticks but my friend is the kind of guy who only orders them to be cool. Towards the final moments of our short stay I had a tough choise to make. Hemitie Stout or Belgian Gold. My Irish family was very happy with the stout. I will be back again next summer, or maybe even this winter, or maybe in a week or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from garth parish garth parish, brimley, MI
(09/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Great
The beer was excellent but they only had four kinds available that day. I had all four and was very happy with each. The atmosphere is great for traveler's. We spent four hours here on a rainy day and the homemade pizza and appetizers that we had were outstanding. Not many other choices in Grand Marais, and there doesn't need to be with this place in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, Prairie du Sac, WI
(09/12/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.212 seconds) 19:56:19 23.22.59.252, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS