PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lake Superior Brewing Company - Grand Marais, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 07:56 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Marais > Lake Superior Brewing Company
Lake Superior Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Lake Superior Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 80 / 100
N-14283 Lake Avenue
Post Box 310
Grand Marais, MI 49839
United States
(906) 494-2337
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Marais, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Lake Superior Brewing Company
55 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Curiosity Corner
2) Lake Superior Brewing Co
3) Sportsman's Restaurant
4) West Bay Diner & Delicatessen
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Server was willing to help us to make beer selections by offering sample of different beers. Waitstaff allowed plenty of linger time when we were just "hanging around". Locals were very informative by helping us plan our daily adventures in the beautiful UP. Ted made us feel right at home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RONALD PELLEY RONALD PELLEY, East Windsor, CT
(08/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Pizza our first night was fantastic-fresh ingredients, especially fresh chopped garlic (need to ask) on top. Beer was solid and tasty. Whitefish sandwich day 2 was better. If you want sophistication, stay in a metro spot. If you want laid back tavern, midwestern conversation, good pub & grub, good beer and good folks, this is a don't miss.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Kennedy John Kennedy, Grand Rapids, MI
(06/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The best beer in the universe bar none. Anyone who says differently does not know beer. The Sandswtone Pale Ale, ESB, and Agate Amber (red) are all top o the line. The atmosphere and food is equally as great. Well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, Neenah, WI
(02/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Lake Superior Brewing Company is a staple in our yearly snowmobile trips to the upper peninsula of Michigan. We have a zero tolerance for alcohol when we ride, so I can't rate the beer, but the food and the crew are top notch. The scotch eggs and grilled cheese sandwiches rock. Also, you HAVE to try the homemade root beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Gipson Bill Gipson, Warren, MI
(12/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Awesome! Good Good
They didn't have the pale ale or the ESB, but the brown was good as well as their red ale. The whitefish sandwich is worth the trip by itself, and the beers are solid so when in the area give it a chance. They are doing good work here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, Peoria Heights, IL
(10/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy
Drove from Harrison, Mi.to partake of the beer and food because of the great reviews I found here and from a friend of mine. The barmaid/waitress had the personality of a perturbed rattle snake. I had a Blueberry Wheat. It was bitter and the Blueberry flavor was barely there. I had intended to have dinner there but after I encountered this waitress I departed after one beer. Total disapointment. Would never go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Harrison, MI
(09/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
would love to go back for some more of that great beer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from martha martha, howell, MI
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Had a great visit to Grand Marais in mid-April. The best selection of beer they've ever had. The ESB was super! Sandstone seemed much better than ever. This placed is great, the residents are among the most friendly I've come across. I've been to Grand Marais a couple of times a year for the last 8 or 9 years, this place is the biggest reason why. Outstanding pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Duke Duke, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is by far worth the 8 hour drive. We usually visit the UP around Labor Day or after and this is the only restaurant we visit. The Sandstone Pale Ale is to die for. Hope to try the Pumpkin ale someday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich and Jen Bury Rich and Jen Bury, Algonquin, IL
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
LSBC is why we visit the GM 4 weeks or more each year! Friendly owner and staff make us feel at home. Love the Granite Brown and Jasper Cherry. Good pizza, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed & Sharon Ed & Sharon, Gobles, MI
(03/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The beer, pizza, and service was great. Even during snowmobile season. TRY THE CHEESESTIX!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gaylord, MI
(10/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Love that Agate Amber Ale. The pizza is wonderful as well as the whitefish sandwich. Love the place and look forward to visiting every year. DLH/Monroe,MI

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dee Dee, Temperance, MI
(08/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Grand Marais is a piece of heaven on earth. Look forward to the yearly family gathering the first week of August at Woodland Park in time for the music festival. Food is good, service is friendly, beer is cold... and the scenery is awesome. Who could complain?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brandee Brandee, Chesaning, MI
(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I tried the ESB and the stout,both were pretty good.The food was decent.When you have a brewpub in a town of 400 people on the shore of Lake Superior you really cant complain.

If you are in Grand Marais dont miss the West Side Diner.Great food,all homemade,and reasonably priced.You wont be sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Everett Jack Everett, Churubusco, IN
(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
Was there in Aug.'02,trust me,you don't want to see the brewing equipment!What a disappointment,went out of the way to go there,but a beautiful area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review muff, Sandusky, OH
(05/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
The beer is great at this little out of the way brewery. Tammy the bartender was fun to chat with. I didn't get a chance to see the brewing equipment but the beer was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DDD DDD, Rosebush, MI
(12/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Only had time for a couple quick beers, but I thought it would be worth subsequent visits. I liked the pale ale better than the brown, and they were out of stout, but any micro in which the bartender partakes of the product gets my endorsement. Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, Peoria Heights, IL
(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Happened upon this place after camping for a few days - spoiled myself with pizza and homebrew - warm and friendly - worth making a stop on return visit planned for mid Sept.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, rockford, IL
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Great
I'm rating this place great on location alone...wow! The scenery is breathtaking. You could almost put a McDonald's here and have it rate pretty well. That said, this place is not that bad. The beers are mostly thin and uneventful but, overall, they're refreshing and a good complement to the incredible surroundings.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from karl karl, traverse city, MI
(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
very homey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris michalek chris michalek, Dahaher, MI
(01/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
Beer selection was limited to three and quality was not very good. Little flavor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Good selection of brew for a town of 400 people. Pizza is a must. Ran across this bar by chance. Glad I did.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Cincinnati, OH
(08/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
Memorial Day weekend, Coca-cola 600 on the big screeen, great service and best pizza that side of Vango's in Marquette, with out it Grand Marais would have been skipped on our trip! Need to get on top of the Pale Ale shortage, 3rd trip there, and never tasted it yet. Worth the trip!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S Slater S Slater, Kalamazoo, MI
(08/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good
Not a yuppie brewpub, but rather a typical UP tavern that happens to brew its own beer. The selection is limited, but the Pale Ale was delightfully hoppy. I even tried my first pasty!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul David Mena Paul David Mena, Cochituate, MA
(07/21/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.167 seconds) 19:56:17 107.22.141.14, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS