PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Grand Rapids Brewing Company - Grand Rapids, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 21, 2014 @ 02:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Rapids > Grand Rapids Brewing Company
Grand Rapids Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Grand Rapids Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73.1 / 100
3689 28th Street Southeast
Grand Rapids, MI 49512
United States
(616) 285-5970
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Rapids, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Grand Rapids Brewing Company
50 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

2) Schmohz Brewing Company
(4 miles)

3) Brewery Vivant
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hampton Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES GRAND RAPIDS APRT
2) BEST WESTERN MIDWAY HOTEL
3) COMFORT INN
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES GRAND RAPID
5) DAYS INN AIRPORT
6) EXEL INN GRAND RAPIDS
7) EXTENDEDSTAY KENTWOOD
8) FAIRFIELD INN GRAND RAPIDS
9) HILTON GRAND RAPIDS AIRPORT
10) HOMEWOOD STE GRAND RAPIDS
11) QUALITY INN TERRACE CLUB
12) RADISSON HTL GRAND RAPIDS EAST
13) RED ROOF GRAND RAPIDS
14) SLEEP INN GRAND RAPIDS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ada Covered Bridge
2) Thornapple River Drive Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Arby's
3) Asian Garden
4) Bagel Beanery
5) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
6) Blimpie Subs & Salads
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Burger King
9) Burger King
10) Burger King
11) Burger King
12) Burger King
13) Carrabba's Italian Grill
14) Chicago Diversified Food
15) Concord Enterprises
16) Cone City
17) Empire Wok Buffett
18) Erika's Delicatessen
19) Get Em N Go
20) Good Grinds
21) Gourmet To Go
22) Gourmet To Go Catering
23) Great Steak & Potato Co
24) Greektown Cuisine
25) Grille 29
26) IHOP
27) John Brann's Of Cascade Stkhs
28) Mc Donald's
29) Mc Donald's
30) Mother Hubbard Pizza
31) Mr Pita Of Grand Rapids
32) New Beginnings
33) Nora Development Co
34) Original Chicago Hot Dog Co
35) Palermo Pizza Place
36) Pita House II
37) Romano's Macaroni Grill
38) Smokey Bones Barbeque & Grill
39) Starbucks
40) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
41) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
42) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
43) Suki Hana Of Woodland
44) Swanson Inmate Commissary Svc
45) Tavern On Kraft
46) Wendy's
47) Yeung's Lotus Express
48) Zoup
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place is currently closed, they are re-opening at a new location near downtown. The new location will put Founders, HopCat and them all within walking distance.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Great Good
This is an excellent place for a meal; I've dined here several times, and haven't had a bad dish yet. The cheese-filled pretzels are great appetizers, and the meatloaf is super. The servers have always been prompt, cheerful, and capable. That being said, I'm always disappointed by the beer. The dark, despite the description, is pretty thin, and the other beers are unremarkable. Alas, it's the only show in town, unless Founders expands to include more than sandwiches. So it's good for a meal, but don't get your hopes up for imaginative or excellent beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DreamFielder DreamFielder, Dyersville, IA
(07/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
This is very nice, clean place. We stopped for lunch and I had their Hefeweizen which was decent. I tried their Onion Porter soup which was very good. Tasted the IPA and was not impressed. I would stop again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry Nydeen Terry Nydeen, Albany, MN
(08/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
I'm looking at some notes I wrote from my visit. "Some malt", "slight spices", "pretty weak", "thin", "no head" were just some of the impressions I got. Lumberman Dark was the best of a sorry lot. Clam chowder was filling, but nothing special. Lots of great beer opportunities in Grand Rapids, just not here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
A very nice looking place. The beer was mediocre at best. This was the first stop of a pub crawl weekend in Grand Rapids. We were very disappointed with most of the beer. Maybe just a bad night. Will try again next year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Got a growler of the Rye Cru. Very unique!!! Also very goooood!! Never disappointed when I stop here. Great selection of beers,good variety is the key John! Good food, reasonably priced, good service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al, Mount Clemens, MI
(04/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
Ok place to stop when in town. Friday night at 9pm and the place was dead. Beers are ok- nothing special. Nothing that grabs you. Many bottled beers at the grocery store are better. Too much of a chain restaurant feel and quality. Just like a Big Buck Brewery- too commercial.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deb Deb, Schoolcraft, MI
(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
Fairly standard brewpub beer portfolio. Didn't have a beer that I didn't like here, though I didn't have a beer that I felt really stood out either. Food is very nice though and John S. the head brewer is always willing to chat about his beers with guests.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Augustine Iacopelli Augustine Iacopelli, Wichita, KS
(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
Stopped in recently, had the London Calling Pale Ale. Very good. Food very good and reasonable. The brewer saw my growler on the table and came over and talked with us for a while. Even went back to brewery to retreive recipe info for us. We're never disappointed whe nwe stop here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al, Mount Clemens, MI
(10/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
food is consistently excellent - beers for the most part are trying to cater to the masses, but not bad - Silver Foam, allegedly an original Grand Rapids Beer was WAY too watery and not very good at all. Service good. Food Good. Beer accomplishes what they are looking to accomplish - not the main reason for people to come in, but a nice perk.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Grand Rapids, MI
(09/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A very good place to eat and drink. Good selection of beer and good flavor. I'm not a fan of IPA but I tried theirs and it had a very good and comlex hop flavor. Lots of unique food items. Tried their version of new england clam chowder-Wow, way different than your used to but excellent. Been there twice and will go again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Barr Shannon Barr, Shepherd, MI
(09/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
I tried the Heffe, IPA and Silver Foam, all of which tasted watery without a great deal of flavor. They must be brewing for the macro crowd. The bar-b-que chicken pizza was so-so, too thin for my tastes with a vinegar flavored off the shelf sauce. Service was good and attentive. I didn't bring home a growler even when I could have expensed it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(08/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tod Tod, Poyal Center, IN
(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
This was near my hotel, so I stopped for a bite and maybe some beer. Apricot Lambic was sweet, sickeningly so, not very nice at all. Abbey Road IPA was a decent pale ale, but didn't fit the bill if compared to other IPAs I've had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Another fine restaurant with some good beers. I liked the Pale ale and Hefewizen as well as the Lumberman Dark (Porter). The food was excellant as was the service. Even though it is part of a chain, I feel the beers here are well put together.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ann Arbor, MI
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Tried the tap selections that were new to me--Clockwork Orange was a wit with slight hints of spice and fruit. Baltic Porter was not bad at all, well-balanced and very tasty. Southwestern spring rolls were a good pick from the app menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
Tried the sampler. On the whole, beers were flavorful but didn't have the 'mouthfeel' that I expect some beers to have. The pilsner had a nice toasty finish, the porter had a nice chocolate/caramel flavor and finish but wasn't heavy enough in my mouth. The Belgian special brew was great. Food was really good, with really large portions (loved the Cheddar Ale Soup and the whitefish dip). The service was outstanding and knowledgeable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skokie, IL
(08/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Their beer is average, at best, with the classic brown as my pick from the 6 they had on tap. Varied crowd; families, singles, all ages. Appetizers weren't too bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Have been going here for awhile. Food has improved. Beer is good but would like to see the selection improve. Need to expand the selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ROB ROB, KENTWWOD, MI
(11/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I tried the Silver Foam & The River City Red which were both very good. I also had the cask-conditioned pale ale, which was my first experience with cask-conditioned ales... wonderful. I think they had 10 beers on tape, a Munich Dunkel, an ESB, and octoborfest were there specialty brews, I had to get a growler of the ESB to go. The soft pretzels are awesome for an apetizer the rest of the food was just average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(10/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good Good
Food: Awful. The cheddar beer soup wasn't good, and the chicken tenders tasted like they came right out of the microwave. I imagine prison food might be better.

Beer: Not bad. The Pale Ale was about average, but I really liked the Dark (smoky, rich).

Service: Pretty decent.

Atmosphere: The best part of the place - great bar atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Lyons Greg Lyons, Angola, IN
(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome!
Great atmosphere, attentive service. Would like to see more vegetarian foods on the menu. Pale ales always good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kara Kara, Grand Rapids, MI
(12/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
Beers do not even come close to Founder's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Milo Milo, Middleville, MI
(08/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Had the Cask Condition Pale Ale that was very good with nice hoppiness. Enjoyed the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Davis John Davis, Bloomington, IL
(06/29/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.283 seconds) 02:45:17 50.17.176.149, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS