PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Grand Rapids Brewing Company - Grand Rapids, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 03:58 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Rapids > Grand Rapids Brewing Company
Grand Rapids Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Grand Rapids Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73.1 / 100
3689 28th Street Southeast
Grand Rapids, MI 49512
United States
(616) 285-5970
Listed Since: July 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Rapids, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Grand Rapids Brewing Company
50 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

2) Schmohz Brewing Company
(4 miles)

3) Brewery Vivant
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hampton Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES GRAND RAPIDS APRT
2) BEST WESTERN MIDWAY HOTEL
3) COMFORT INN
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES GRAND RAPID
5) DAYS INN AIRPORT
6) EXEL INN GRAND RAPIDS
7) EXTENDEDSTAY KENTWOOD
8) FAIRFIELD INN GRAND RAPIDS
9) HILTON GRAND RAPIDS AIRPORT
10) HOMEWOOD STE GRAND RAPIDS
11) QUALITY INN TERRACE CLUB
12) RADISSON HTL GRAND RAPIDS EAST
13) RED ROOF GRAND RAPIDS
14) SLEEP INN GRAND RAPIDS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ada Covered Bridge
2) Thornapple River Drive Bridge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Arby's
3) Asian Garden
4) Bagel Beanery
5) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
6) Blimpie Subs & Salads
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Burger King
9) Burger King
10) Burger King
11) Burger King
12) Burger King
13) Carrabba's Italian Grill
14) Chicago Diversified Food
15) Concord Enterprises
16) Cone City
17) Empire Wok Buffett
18) Erika's Delicatessen
19) Get Em N Go
20) Good Grinds
21) Gourmet To Go
22) Gourmet To Go Catering
23) Great Steak & Potato Co
24) Greektown Cuisine
25) Grille 29
26) IHOP
27) John Brann's Of Cascade Stkhs
28) Mc Donald's
29) Mc Donald's
30) Mother Hubbard Pizza
31) Mr Pita Of Grand Rapids
32) New Beginnings
33) Nora Development Co
34) Original Chicago Hot Dog Co
35) Palermo Pizza Place
36) Pita House II
37) Romano's Macaroni Grill
38) Smokey Bones Barbeque & Grill
39) Starbucks
40) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
41) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
42) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
43) Suki Hana Of Woodland
44) Swanson Inmate Commissary Svc
45) Tavern On Kraft
46) Wendy's
47) Yeung's Lotus Express
48) Zoup
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Ok, so i tried the "pooh" beer. There, it's out in the open. As for the others, the Pale was generously hopped, but the Lumberman's Dark was nothing to get excited about. The service was attentive, and I like the atmosphere in the pub - more comfortable than Big Buck down the street. Not a bad place at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(05/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I tried several brewpubs in Grand Rapids, and found this to be the best of the lot. Their Russian Imperial was very good, as was an extremely hoppy APA. Service and food were both good as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, birdsboro, PA
(04/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great place for a dinner and a brew. They had a cask conditioned pale ale, which put them to the front of the page in my book. It was not as hoppy as most, but still good. The dinner was excellent as was the service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(11/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Generic beer, no real winners.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good So So
The porter was thin,no aroma a bit to bitter for porter. The help was frendly and pleasent. THey need to think about we vegetairians.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from porter from porter from, port, MI
(06/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good
I feel as though they do a better job with their porters and stouts than they do with their lighter beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Imbault Eric Imbault, Cedar Springs, MI
(05/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
The Lumberman Dark is a one of the better darks in town. I eat there often and always have great service and have never had a bad meal. The Burbon Sirloin is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Wyoming, MI
(07/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy
The beer is very thin and not brewed to style. Loud atmosphere, slow and unknowledgeable service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leesburg, VA
(10/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Good atmosphere. Beer isn't best, but you can do a lot worse! I like going here when I'm in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Nichols Ron Nichols, Goodrich, MI
(10/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Been there half a dozen times, never had any complaints. I've always had decent beer-food-service. Similiar menu/beer to Grizzly Peak in Ann Arbor (same owners), which is my local favorite. I think Traffic Jam in Detroit was Michigan's first brewpub, and GRBC was the first in the GR area. Doesn't matter, been to them all except the ones in the U.P.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(08/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
They showed promise once with an excellent Imperial Stout, then the head brewer quit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Horning Kevin Horning, Grand Rapids, MI
(06/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Clinton Township, MI
(02/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Porter was excellent. Sampler is worth the experience. Food was good, but expensive. Would call again when shopping nearby, but that's all!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Little Nick Little, Charlotte, MI
(01/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Very uninspired, watery beers. With all the choices in Grand Rapids, this wouldn't be my first.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The Lumberman Dark is awesome. Half Yards are the common place here. Watch them pour the Sampler, best sampler tray I have seen yet. Try the pork medalions in bourbon sauce with potato pancakes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chas. Chas., Grand Rapids, MI
(09/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
A delightful place with great food and wonderful service. The beers vary by the month.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Rehfeldt Dick Rehfeldt, Lakeview, MI
(09/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A great combination of Food, Beer and Staff. What else would you expect from the first licensed BREWPUB in Michigan? If you check the facts, it is not a microbrewery like Bells but a brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(09/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I had a nice dinner. The Stout was tasty. Contrary to views expressed by Jeff Conklin further down this page, the Grand Rapids Brewing Company was not the first micro in Michigan. According to the American Guide to Microbreweries, Bell's was the first Micro in the Midwest (although they don't define "midwest"). Anyway, good eats, worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Miller Brian Miller, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
I liked the items on the menu....very different from the usual Brass & Fern type restaurants. The beer was pretty good...the sampler is the way to try them and then go back to your Budweiser.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Detroit, MI
(06/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good
I had a good experience here. Tried a porter, and it was above average. However, I have friends who have told me of lousy service at this establishment. It would appear to me that I happend by on a good night. I'll probably go back sometime, but it's not my first choice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Travis Robert Travis, Wyoming, MI
(06/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
There are many more brewpubs in Grand Rapids and this is not the first in Michigan. Check your facts!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Grand Rapids, MI
(04/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Of the two brewpubs here in GR, they are well above the other one in overall achievements!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Hatch Pete Hatch, Grand Rapids, MI
(02/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good
Great Beer applies to my personal Favorite, River City Red

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kanoza Kevin Kanoza, Gand Rapids, MI
(11/22/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Owned by a large corporation, doesn't have the soul of a smaller brewpub. First brewpub in Michigan

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Conklin Jeff Conklin, Grand Rapids, MI
(11/05/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Better than average service. Did not have any high hop brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Webster Greg Webster, Redford, MI
(10/20/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.539 seconds) 03:58:33 54.237.184.242, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS