PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 07:25 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 79.1 / 100
200 East Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
United States
(269) 343-2739
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: October 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan



Read our BLOG:
Olde Peninsula Brewpub Implements New Green
User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
55 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
(0 mile)

2) London Grill
(0 mile)

3) Shakespeare's Pub
(0 mile)

4) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

5) The Union
(0 mile)

6) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

7) Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
(0 mile)

8) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(0 mile)

9) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(2 miles)

10) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Corner Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(3 miles)

13) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
10) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO WEST
11) SUPER 8 KALAMAZOO MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gibbs, John, House
7) Gilbert, Henry, House
8) Haymarket Historic District
9) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
10) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
11) Ladies Library Association Building
12) Lawrence and Chapin Building
13) Lilienfeld, David, House
14) Marlborough, The
15) Masonic Temple Building
16) Michigan Central Depot
17) Montague, Henry, House
18) Oaklands, The
19) Old Central High School
20) Old Fire House No. 4
21) Portage Street Fire Station
22) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
23) Rickman Hotel
24) Roberts, Martin W., House
25) Rose Place Historic District
26) Shaffer, Enoch, House
27) South Street Historic District
28) State Hospital Gatehouse
29) Stevens, Andrew J., House
30) Stuart, Charles E., House
31) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAA-Mc Donald's Er Road Svc
2) Argo Inn & Sports Lounge
3) Aries London Grill Singapore
4) Aries London Grill Singapore
5) Bagels' & Panini
6) Bar-B-Q-Pit
7) Barbq Pit
8) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
11) Big Joes Pizza & Deli
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Billie Bob's Corn Beef Deli
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bimbo's Pizza
16) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blue Dolphin
19) Blue Dolphine
20) Bogie's Cafe
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Caffe Casa
25) Centershot Lounge
26) Chicago Subs & Grill
27) Chicago Subs & Grill
28) Chicken Coop Inc
29) City Subs & More
30) Club Soda
31) Coffee Shop
32) Coney Island
33) Coney Island
34) Cosmo's Cucina
35) Cues & Brews
36) Dan's Fish & Bar B Que Shanty
37) District 211
38) District 211
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Inn
41) Dragon Inn
42) Dragon River Restaurant
43) El Grande Fiesta
44) Epic Bistro
45) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
46) Fandango Tapas Bistro
47) Fish Island
48) Fishel's Deli
49) Flame Restaurant
50) Food Dance Cafe
51) Food Dance Cafe
52) Fourth Coast Cafe
53) Francois' Macaroni Factory
54) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
55) Geno's Pizza
56) Golden Chopsticks
57) Harvey's On The Mall
58) Holly's Family Restaurant
59) Home Bar
60) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
61) Java Lounge
62) Jimmy John's
63) Josephine's
64) Just Good Food
65) Just Good Food
66) Kfc
67) King's Table
68) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
69) Kozy Inn
70) Larry's Bar & Grill
71) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
72) Lee's Garden Restaurant
73) Little Caesars Pizza
74) Louie's Restaurant
75) Louie's Restaurant
76) Main Street Cafe
77) Main Street Cafe
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Nally's Kitchen
82) Monaco Bay
83) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
84) Nick's Tavern & Grill
85) Nina's Cafe & Carousel
86) O'duffy's Pub
87) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
88) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
89) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
90) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
91) Papa's Italian Sausage
92) Petra's Cocina
93) Pizza Hut
94) Plaza Cafe
95) Plaza Cafe
96) Poor Richards Cafe
97) Ravenwood Coffee
98) Rib Tip
99) Rice Kitchen
100) Rice Kitchen
101) Root Beer Stand
102) Rugger's Up & Under
103) Sammy's
104) Sandwich Express
105) Sandwich Express
106) Scooters D's
107) Shakespeare's Pub
108) Sojo's Fish & More
109) Soup Kettle
110) South China Restaurant
111) State Grill
112) Subs-N-More
113) Subs-N-More
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Taco Bob's
117) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
118) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
119) Tradewinds Lounge
120) Union Cabaret & Grill
121) University Road House
122) Water Street Coffee Joint
123) Webster's
124) Websters Fine Dining
125) Wendy's
126) Zazios
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
They now have domestic beer which is what I prefer. The food is always awesome. You need to try the Brewpub dip to start, it is also awesome. The wait staff is good some better than others. We go the at least once a month lately. Nate seems to be the best waiter we have had, He is great. We will be going there tonight right after a play at the Civic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Raab Rich Raab, Paw Paw, MI
(03/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
My friend Dale and I checked this place out 12-27-07 and we ordered the original 5 with our food and that for me is the way Im going from here on out.That way if I don't like something Im not stuck with a pint.I liked the IPA and the Stout the best and was very suprized by the Raspberry Wheat . I liked it and Im not one to go for fruit beers at all.Dale lives in Milwaukee and comes to Michigan to visit his mom and I live just south of Jackson so when he visits we make time to get together and hoist a few. The Old Peninsula will no doubt be our starting point again.Real nice laid back atmosphere !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ramon ramon, jerome, MI
(01/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I recently moved to Kalamazoo and stopped into Olde Peninsula when I was browsing around downtown. I had the brewpub dip and a Razberry Wheat. Both were spectacular. My boyfriend had the Sunset Red which was also delicious. Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cristina Miller Cristina Miller, Kalamazoo, MI
(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped by on a recent Sunday and took advantage of their brunch buffet. A wide variety of items should satisfy most hungry patrons. Made to order omelets, carving station and all the breakfast fixings were an unexpected treat. Hefe was crisp and refreshing, not overbearing. Tornado Pale was nice--bitter hops as opposed to citrusy or fruity. Midnight Stout was slightly sweet and roasty--drinkable. Batch 200 had the malty sweetness of a barleywine with a hint of alcohol in the nose (9.75%). Double IPA is actually quite smooth for weighing in at 10.75%. Beer for brunch--breakfast of ex-champions!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I hadn't been to Kalamzoo for five years and when a friend from there told me to go to Olde Peninsula I said I'd rather go to Bell's. He told me that the got a new brewer about four years ago and everything was different. He wasn't kidding. There were 9 beers on tap. O.P. IPA, Haymarket Ale, Sunset Red, Midnight Stout, and Raspberry Wheat where the "usuals" but there were four killer seasonals! Double IPA, Batch 200 (I was told it was the new brewers 200th batch), Anniversary Ale (a bourbon barrel ale), and a great German style Hefeweizen. I had a sampler of all of them and they were completely without off flavors and distinctly wonderful. My favorites were the Anniversary Ale, Hefeweizen, O.P. IPA, Double IPA, and Stout. They were all worthy of being bottled and distributed across the US! Man, my friend was right. The beer has gotten so much better since I was here last. Way to go Olde Peninsula!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, pittsburgh, PA
(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I love Olde Peninsula. My husband and I are addicted to the Brew Pub Dip and I always get the Pumpkin Ale this time of year. The service is wonderful!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leigh Leigh, Kalamazoo, MI
(10/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Came here for food after starting our drinking at Bell's, because of what was on the limited menu. Ah, nothing like a burger and onion rings with a couple of Haymarkets before and during. The Midnight Stout made for a great finish, not a dry Irish like Guinness, but not as sweet as Mackesson either. As a cigar smoker I can't light up most "smoking" establishments, so that's a non-issue. Overall a nice place to drink, and eat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(10/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
Again they were out of the seasonal (Raspberry Wheat). Both the IPA and the Heffe were good. Beer-b-que pizza was great, the burger was so-so. Service at the bar was good. I've been back 3 times on business trips.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good So So
They were out of the seasonal beer ( but was still on menu) when we were there. The food quality has definitely declined in recent years. The spicy tai shrimp roll-up only had shrimp in half the roll-up, the california ruben was terrible, the rootbeer was lukewarm, and the diet pepsi was a regular pepsi. Additionally we asked to be seated in a non-smoking seat, but the entire place smelled like smoke, so we all left smelling like ashtrays!

Overall, the food was lousy and would only return now to get my growler re-filled with beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review kalamazoo, MI
(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
Came here to get some beer and food after a State Theatre show and found that the beer selection was great and tasted awesome! O.P. must have an awesome brewer! We loved our server, Jenny! She was so nice and helpful with the menu. She made us feel like we were her only table! The only downfall was the greeting at the door. The hostess was no energetic and seemed like she hated working there. Overall, everything was great and we will definitely be back soon! Thanks Jenny! You are awesome!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, Kalamazoo, MI
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Ate here before touring the Kzoo's beer establishments. Very good food, had the IPA and the 123, both were great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Norman James Norman, Zion, IL
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I visited OP for dinner prior to hitting Bell's (Tell me Gabriel, why don't you like Bell's?). This was a very pleasant place: great, though not overwhelming, beers (OP IPA, Sunset Red Ale, 123 Ale and Midnight Stout). A very wide selection, something for everyone and anyone that enjoys delicious beer. OP is OK!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped by for a bite of lunch before a pilgrimage to Bell's. Appetizer was good--the hot sauce for wings/fingers was hot but strangely appealing. The Batch 100 was an Imperial IPA. Hoppy/malty/citrus--very good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
There was a good variety of beer available that should appeal to whatever taste you may have on any particular day...Stout, IPA, Razberry...food was well prepared and had a good presentation. As far as service, we sat at the bar and had a very friendly, attentive bartender. If you are looking for a place to go for good food and good beer in a relaxing pleasant atmosphere, in my opinion this is the place to go in Kalamazoo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S.Tubbs S.Tubbs, Mishawaka, IN
(04/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Love the OP went on a first date there now we are engaged to get married. Great beer, awesome dinner and just overal nice place!! We visit often :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kalamazoo, MI
(01/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
This is a nice place with pretty good food. I didn't really expect much from the beer, but the IPA was a pleasant surprise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
A nice place with very good food and very good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beer  drinking mike beer drinking mike, lagrange, OH
(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
My family and I have been to OP many times. The food in my opinion is a little better than average. I really enjoy their Black Rasberry Beer. I've worked in some of Kalamazoo's finest restaurants. My family and I know good food prepaired properly. I'm sorry to say that after 9/11/04 we will not return. The manager showed some poor judgement with the lack of service that we recieved. Sorry to have to say Good Bye.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Sutherland Mark Sutherland, Scotts, MI
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Awesome! Great
Located in an old historic building at one time a book bindery and a military training facility. It was graduation day at WMU when I was visiting, so there was a huge lunch crowd. Even with that, the bartender had to get the award for "most cheerful" and possibly "most efficient" as well. Thee beers were improved by 100% from a visit a few years ago. The IPA was very nice, with the stout a close second. Rhea (Bartender 60) encouraged me to try some beer blends (stout/IPA and stout/berry) both of which were good also. Good job on the (very) improved beer and two thumbs way up for Rhea--you rock!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Stopped by over Memorial Day weekend. The stout was good -- it finished well, and even my wife could appreciate the lingering chocolate. Hefeweisen was crisp and refreshing, and the Marionberry Ale had the right balance of red ale and blackberry notes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skokie, IL
(06/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I visited OP for dinner prior to hitting Bell's (Tell me Gabriel, why don't you like Bell's?). This was a very pleasant place: great, though not overwhelming, beers (OP IPA, Sunset Red Ale, 123 Ale and Midnight Stout). A very wide selection, something for everyone and anyone that enjoys delicious beer. OP is OK!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Jerry, Gaithersburg, MD
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
It is now safe to go to the OP. Gonzo and his so called beers are gone and the brewer from the now closed Mystic is there. The only reason Mystic closed was ownership not the beer. So they no for the first time have an IPA that is very good. The Red is now real beer not just colored water. It is now worth the trip if you are in the area. The service is a little slow but, I will wait an extra min or two for Dan's IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Pfeiffer Don Pfeiffer, Toledo, OH
(03/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The O.P knows how it's supposed to be done. Their brews are for the true beer lover. It's hard to leave with out trying them all, though if you're driving you must resist the urge. The Stout is a sneaky one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Harbaugh Darren Harbaugh, Whittier, CA
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place is great. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere and the food is great (especially for a brewpub). The real attraction is the beer. I for one can't stand Bell's and this is a killer alternative. One of my favorites is their Black and Tan. My all time favorite is only available in the fall. The mighty Pumpkin Ale!!! Awesome beer with a hint of spice to it and a smooth but not overly sweet pumpkin aftertaste. The best. They also have wine and special drinks like Kalamazoo Kool-Aid for the non-beer lover. Enjoy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gabriel Gabriel, Kalamazoo, MI
(09/09/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.48 seconds) 07:25:34 54.196.120.58, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS