PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 24, 2014 @ 04:40 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 79.1 / 100
200 East Michigan Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
United States
(269) 343-2739
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: October 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan



Read our BLOG:
Olde Peninsula Brewpub Implements New Green
User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
55 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
(0 mile)

2) London Grill
(0 mile)

3) Shakespeare's Pub
(0 mile)

4) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

5) The Union
(0 mile)

6) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

7) Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
(0 mile)

8) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(0 mile)

9) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(2 miles)

10) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Corner Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(3 miles)

13) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
10) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO WEST
11) SUPER 8 KALAMAZOO MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gibbs, John, House
7) Gilbert, Henry, House
8) Haymarket Historic District
9) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
10) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
11) Ladies Library Association Building
12) Lawrence and Chapin Building
13) Lilienfeld, David, House
14) Marlborough, The
15) Masonic Temple Building
16) Michigan Central Depot
17) Montague, Henry, House
18) Oaklands, The
19) Old Central High School
20) Old Fire House No. 4
21) Portage Street Fire Station
22) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
23) Rickman Hotel
24) Roberts, Martin W., House
25) Rose Place Historic District
26) Shaffer, Enoch, House
27) South Street Historic District
28) State Hospital Gatehouse
29) Stevens, Andrew J., House
30) Stuart, Charles E., House
31) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAA-Mc Donald's Er Road Svc
2) Argo Inn & Sports Lounge
3) Aries London Grill Singapore
4) Aries London Grill Singapore
5) Bagels' & Panini
6) Bar-B-Q-Pit
7) Barbq Pit
8) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
11) Big Joes Pizza & Deli
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Billie Bob's Corn Beef Deli
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bimbo's Pizza
16) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blue Dolphin
19) Blue Dolphine
20) Bogie's Cafe
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Caffe Casa
25) Centershot Lounge
26) Chicago Subs & Grill
27) Chicago Subs & Grill
28) Chicken Coop Inc
29) City Subs & More
30) Club Soda
31) Coffee Shop
32) Coney Island
33) Coney Island
34) Cosmo's Cucina
35) Cues & Brews
36) Dan's Fish & Bar B Que Shanty
37) District 211
38) District 211
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Inn
41) Dragon Inn
42) Dragon River Restaurant
43) El Grande Fiesta
44) Epic Bistro
45) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
46) Fandango Tapas Bistro
47) Fish Island
48) Fishel's Deli
49) Flame Restaurant
50) Food Dance Cafe
51) Food Dance Cafe
52) Fourth Coast Cafe
53) Francois' Macaroni Factory
54) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
55) Geno's Pizza
56) Golden Chopsticks
57) Harvey's On The Mall
58) Holly's Family Restaurant
59) Home Bar
60) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
61) Java Lounge
62) Jimmy John's
63) Josephine's
64) Just Good Food
65) Just Good Food
66) Kfc
67) King's Table
68) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
69) Kozy Inn
70) Larry's Bar & Grill
71) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
72) Lee's Garden Restaurant
73) Little Caesars Pizza
74) Louie's Restaurant
75) Louie's Restaurant
76) Main Street Cafe
77) Main Street Cafe
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Nally's Kitchen
82) Monaco Bay
83) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
84) Nick's Tavern & Grill
85) Nina's Cafe & Carousel
86) O'duffy's Pub
87) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
88) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
89) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
90) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
91) Papa's Italian Sausage
92) Petra's Cocina
93) Pizza Hut
94) Plaza Cafe
95) Plaza Cafe
96) Poor Richards Cafe
97) Ravenwood Coffee
98) Rib Tip
99) Rice Kitchen
100) Rice Kitchen
101) Root Beer Stand
102) Rugger's Up & Under
103) Sammy's
104) Sandwich Express
105) Sandwich Express
106) Scooters D's
107) Shakespeare's Pub
108) Sojo's Fish & More
109) Soup Kettle
110) South China Restaurant
111) State Grill
112) Subs-N-More
113) Subs-N-More
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Taco Bob's
117) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
118) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
119) Tradewinds Lounge
120) Union Cabaret & Grill
121) University Road House
122) Water Street Coffee Joint
123) Webster's
124) Websters Fine Dining
125) Wendy's
126) Zazios
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Good
The Beer is great, the food So So, except for the brewpub dip which is top notch! The portions are skimpy too! But again the beer is great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jhami jhami, Kalamazoo, MI
(08/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
A favorite stop for me, my husband and friends. Our mutual favorite is the Brew Pub Dip -- You MUST try it!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kendra Eldridge Kendra Eldridge, Three Rivers, MI
(07/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love the midnight stout, not too bitter and not too sweet

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review anon, kalamazoo, MI
(06/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love the midnight stout, not too bitter and not too sweet

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review anon, kalamazoo, MI
(06/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Honey Wheat is the best beer around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ryan, Livonia, MI
(04/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
The 123 ale is fantastic.....a perfect combination. Menu selection is diverse. The Irish tendencies were a great suprise. Nice relaxed atmosphere, as a good pub should be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Patrick, Warren, RI
(04/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Nice, straight-ahead, no-frills beer. Especially liked the 123 Ale, which had a touch of their stout mixed in. A nice big taste with a quick bitter finish. The burger was huge, and quite cheap. An added bonus: the pub is right across the street from the hotel I'm staying in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nacho, Brooklyn, NY
(03/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
My husband and I visited Olde Penninsula for the first time a week ago. We enjoyed it very much! My husband had a couple of the Tornado Pale Ales, I had a couple of the Spiced Porters. Before we left we split a Midnight Stout. They were all great! Like they say, "Damn good beer!" The food and service were great as well. We will difinitely go back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chari Chari, Grand Rapids, MI
(01/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
THIS PLACE IS THE BEST..GREAT BEER AND A GREAT SELECTION OF BEERS..A MICROBREW FOR EVERYONE..I REALLY LIKE THE RED ALOT..THE FOOD IS EVEN BETTER THAN THE BEER..THIS PLACE DEFINETLY TAKES PRIDE IN THE BEER AND FOOD..GREAT WAITSTAFF ALSO VERY NICE AND FRIENDLY..THEY HAVE ALOT OF NICE LOOKING PEOPLE WORKING FOR THEM..AND THAT CAN'T BE BAD..WILL DEFINETLY VISIT OVER AND OVER...ENJOY..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BOB AND DIANA BOB AND DIANA, BRIDGEVIEW, IL
(01/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
The beer here is OK... passable but nothing special. The food was very tasty for pub fare and very reasonably priced. The waitress was very nice, which was a refreshing change from all the attitude we were getting from people during our visit to Kalamazoo. Are people just not happy in this town or something?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Chicago, IL
(09/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review JOhn, Kalamazoo, MI
(09/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
All of the beers have a rich, full-bodied taste. There is nothing whimpy or bland about this beer. The raspberry wheat is a local favorite and is refreshingly not too sweet for a fruity beer. The home-made sodas are great as well as the delicious food. The atmosphere is fun yet relaxed, with occasionally live music. The service is great. It is by far one of my favorite brewpubs in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christine Coller Christine Coller, Battle Creek, MI
(06/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
great razberry beer -- awesome place for the western michigan university students -- always a good time to hang out and drink LOTS of beer!! gotta love O.P.!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from amber amber, portage, MI
(05/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Recenty had the Tornado Ale and the Haymarket - OP's attempts at American-style pale ale. The Tornado was a little "grassy", but you could get used to it. The Haymarket seemed lighter - not as intense as the Tornado. Food was ok, service a little inattentive. This place has been consistently good over the years.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Fielding Carl Fielding, Ann Arbor, MI
(04/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
This place seems to be a favorite with a lot of locals and college students, particularily on Friday and Saturday nights when you can wait 45 minutes for a table. The draw is cleary the atmosphere and the very reasonably priced food. Their beer selection hasn't had a significant change in at least five years - it gets old. Their regular offerings are Tornado Pale Ale, Sunset Red Ale, Midnight Stout and Rockin' Razberry Wheat (Great name, huh?). I guess I would recommend any of the first three to wash down your meal. I usually have a Tornado Pale Ale, which is often good, but occasionally as murky as a hefeweizen. I find the Sunset Red a little to understated, and the Midnight Stout light-bodied. The wheat is generally redolent of that cardboardy protein taste found in some wheat beers and artificial raspberry flavoring (That's why it's spelled with a 'z'). Some people really like it, though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from H D Stearns H D Stearns, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
The beers are a bit on the tame side but have some redeeming qualities. Out of the 5 that I tried, the Expresso Stout was an easy favorite and borders on excellent. They do have excellent bar staff (Rhea and Loren) who took the time to answer questions. I tried some of their soup and it was fantastic but we didn't eat dinner there this trip. Well worth a stop if you are in K.Zoo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Suchy Jim Suchy, Westland, MI
(04/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The kind of atmosphere I enjoy at brewpubs. I sampled everything they had. I give it a 4 on a 5 scale for brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Riley Riley, Clio, MI
(09/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
Take the sampler and go back to the porter or anything dark unless you like your beer on the bland side. Food is really good ... great place to take a non beer lover!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Little Nick Little, Charlotte, MI
(01/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Great
The beer can't hold a candle to Bell's, but neither can anyone else's. My favorites to date have been the Downtown Brown (which they don't always have) and their Midnight Stout. I think this is the only place in town you can get a "yard" of beer. The food's good, and the atmosphere isn't bad either. If you're just out for beer, go to Bell's, but if you want a good meal, and a pint of something nice and dark, this is a good choice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Miller Brian Miller, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good So So
I agree with some of the other reviews on this place. The stout and porter are tasty, everything else tastes like Miller attempt at making real beer. They all have this crappy Budweiser/Coors character to them. This place is a restaraunt first, "brew pub" second (a far second). I've been to several of these fad "brew pubs", and most of their beers are pretty boring. Nonetheless, OP provides brewing diversity to the area, and you can have better-than-average beer (stout/porter/brown) with a good meal. The beer simply cannot measure up to Bell's. Sorry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark LeSage Mark LeSage, Shreveport, LA
(06/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So So So
Stout is good. Porter is good when they have it. The light beers all seem to have a *really* nasty aftertaste. Stay Dark.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason J. Hall Jason J. Hall, Kalamazoo, MI
(05/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great beer, great food and wonderful service add up to a great time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Sheehan Patrick Sheehan, Canton, MI
(05/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Excellent beer, menu, atmosphere. These guys have really done a great job of bringing this once forgotten section of Kalamazoo back to life. Great job!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Zuk Peter Zuk, Wyandotte, MI
(04/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Good
A very good stout. They should look at adding the "Downtown Brown" to their permanent list of brews. The waitress I had was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phoenix Rann Phoenix Rann, Racine, WI
(03/01/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.646 seconds) 16:40:14 54.80.43.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS