PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub - Bar Harbor, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 22, 2014 @ 07:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Bar Harbor > Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub
Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub
Overall: Great    Score: 77.3 / 100
102 Eden Street
Bar Harbor, ME 04609
United States
(207) 288-4914
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: February 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bar Harbor, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
30 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Atlantic Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Bar Harbor Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Lompoc Cafe and Brewpub
(0 mile)

4) Jack Russell's Brewpub and Beer Garden
(0 mile)

5) Geddy's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Pancho Villa's Tex Mex
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 2 Cats Bed & Breakfast
2) Acacia House
3) Acadia Motel Hotel
4) Anne's White Columns Inn
5) Atlantean Inn
6) Atlantic Oaks By the Sea
7) Bar Harbor Tides
8) Bayview Hotel Inn & Restaurant
9) Black Friar Inn
10) Briarfield Inn
11) Canterbury Cottage
12) Castlemaine Inn
13) Chiltern Inn
14) Cleftstone Manor
15) Coach Stop Inn
16) Collier House Bed & Breakfast
17) Cove Farm Inn
18) Graycote Inn
19) Harbourside Inn
20) Hatfield Bed & Breakfast
21) Hearthside Inn
22) Heathwood Inn
23) Heron House Bed & Breakfast
24) Holbrook House
25) Holland Inn
26) Inn At Canoe Point
27) Ivy Manor Inn
28) Kedge
29) Llangolan Inn & Cottages
30) Maison Suisse Inn
31) Maples Inn
32) Mira Monte Inn
33) Nannau-Seaside Bed & Breakfast
34) Ridgeway Cottage Inn
35) Saltaire Inn
36) Stratford House Inn
37) Sunset on West 115
38) Thornhedge Inn
39) Twin Gables Inn
40) Ullikana in the Field
41) Yankee Lady Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ASTICOU INN
2) BEST WESTERN INN
3) DAYS INN BAR HARBOR
4) QUALITY INN BAR HARBOUR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abbe, Robert, Museum of Stone Antiquities
2) Church of Our Father
3) Cleftstone
4) Criterion Theatre
5) Eegonos
6) Gilman, Daniel Coit, Summer Home
7) Hulls Cove High School
8) Jesup Memorial Library
9) Kane, John Innes, Cottage
10) Nannau
11) Redwood
12) Reverie Cove
13) Saint Jude's Episcopal Church
14) Saint Saviour's Episcopal Church and Rectory
15) Seal Harbor Congregational Church
16) Sproul's Cafe
17) St. Edward's Convent, (Former)
18) Turrets, The
19) Union Church of Northeast Harbor
20) US Post Office--Bar Harbor Main
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 124 Cottage Street Restaurant
2) 2 Cats
3) Bar Harbor Inn
4) Bar Harbor Lobster Bakes
5) Blue Sage Bistro
6) Cafe Milagro
7) Carlo Pizza Ristorante
8) China Joy
9) Mc KAYS Public House
10) Mother's Kitchen
11) Natures Way Cafe
12) Ocean Drive Dairy Bar
13) Reel Pizza Cinerama
14) Rinehart Dining Pavillion
15) Route 66 Pump Station Cafe
16) Siam Orchid
17) Skelly's Pure Fries & More
18) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
It looks like the URL for their webpage has simply changed.

Try this URL: http://www.bhmaine.com/MCBCPrimary.html

They still might be closed but....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Stihiler Scott Stihiler, Fairbanks, AK
(06/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Is this place closed? The link to the website doesn't work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Johnston Rob Johnston, Walnut Creek, CA
(06/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
After reading the recent reviews was not sure about the situation. The brewery was out back of the resturant and is seperate. The resturant didn't open till 4:00 and not very crowded. The waitress was very nice and service was good. Food wasabove average with a good selection. There were 7 beers on tap all ales that were good. There was nothing that was awesome, but would go back if we are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in and had lunch while on vacation. I had the Blueberry Ale and it was outstanding! The food and service was tops. Very warm atmosphere in the restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Perrine Bob Perrine, Princeton Junction, NJ
(09/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So Lousy
Ate at Jack Russell's on June 29 and tried 3 different tap beers. Each had a terrible aftertaste; perhaps contaminated lines? Food was so-so and overpriced for the quality. How about adding some butter to the mashed potatoes? They were watery and tasteless, but even they were better than the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kat Kat, Conneaut, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I had a great time the day I was there (6-23-05). The bartender--who's name I now can't remember was great and the others at the bar were fun too. I got the nickle tour of the brewery and a 6 pack to go. On tap were: gold ale, pale ale, brown, blueberry, porter, extra special bitter, and oatmeal stout. All of them were very good--the extra special bitter was extra sweet and I'm not fond of sweet beer but it was well built. The porter had a hint of a smoky flavor that was nice. Although not a fan of fruit beers I thought that their blueberry was very good. In my notes I wrote that the oatmeal stout was "fabulously yummy."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Tom St. Germain and Nina Barufaldi (owners) have truly created a wonderful dining or simply drinking establishment. With fun Waitstaff, great food and drinks what more could you ask for? Jack Russells is definitly a "must stop" in Bar Harbor. The food is a cross between the standard pub menu and fine dining. It is excellent. the chef noticably puts a lot of time and care into each plate that goes out. The owners both work extremely hard Tom St. Germain cooks, brews, and even waits tables on occasion. Nina runs the front while tending bar she is an amazing woman. This is by far my favorite restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jill Jill, Bar Harbor, ME
(11/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bar Harbor, ME
(11/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Stopped here after visiting Atlantic, so I may have downgraded their beers a little due to that. There were five on tap, all average to slightly above average, but none really stood out to my tastes. The blueberry seemed fresh, certainly not the "fake" fruit taste you get so often in flavored beer. The place has a relaxed feel and there were a few groups enjoying the limited but sufficient menu. Chicken fingers not too bad for a snack.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped here for dinner on the way out of Bar Harbor during my trip in June 2004. Limited menu but the fish and chips was really good. Service was very attentive and friendly. We have two year old twins and the staff was very accommodating. Very nice atmosphere. There were five beers on tap and I ordered a sampler. I enjoyed the Stout, Porter, and Blueberry Ale the most. It is worth checking out if you’re brew pub touring in Maine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Boa the Beer Trekker Boa the Beer Trekker, Kensington, MD
(07/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I used to be a regular at the old Taproom downtown. I was sorry to discover the beer quality has declined significantly. The beers were watery and rather bland with the exception of the stout and the blueberry ale. After my sampler I had a black and tan made with these two which made a good combo. One ale (I think the pale) tasted strongly of contamination either in the tap lines or during the brewing itself. In fairness, it was their second open day of the season but this is the sort of oversight one expects in a Bud-class bar. The food was quite good, crabcakes and pork tenderloins, though the accompanying garlic mashed potatoes were dry and tasted like reconstituted instant mix. The atmosphere is nice and informal and they have outside seating available. The staff was very nice to us, attentive and efficient. Tom St. Germain knows how to run a first-class operation so hopefully the kinks in the brewery will be worked out shortly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
What more can I say than keep up the good work

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GregWA GregWA, Perth, WA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
BOTH Maine Coast Brewing and Jack Russell Brewpub are located at this address. The Brewpub is more prominent, on the main highway, ans should command equal listing (or separate)as necessary!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Charleston, WV
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Very relaxed friendly atmosphere. Visited on a warm summer day, ate and drank in the outdoor tables with umbrellas, overlooking Bar Harbor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WV Ed WV Ed, Charleston, WV
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Now Jack Russells Brewpub. Had the expresso stout (very overpowering coffee aroma and flavor...had to remind myself this was actually a beer),had the brown(rather bland and uninspiring),had the blueberry ale (a noticable medicinal aftertaste and a lot of diacytyl and butterscotch notes) Food was O.K. and waitstaff was terrible.Very difficult to get anyones attention, slow for refills. Actually saw a few people leave because service was so slow and they were not overly busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, bethlehem, PA
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
only one tap avail. when there at jack russels but it was alrigt. the bottled beer was contaminated

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review carl, pgh, pa
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So
I had a sampler round of nine beers they had on tap and all were horribly infected!! The service was ok but the beers.....were so sour, brown ale was the worst, very close to malt vinegar!! I have visited over 300 breweries and this place is giving all the rest of them a bad name, they really need a brewer that knows how to brew ;-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Nash Greg Nash, Halifax, NS
(10/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Brewery no longer at this location. Are currently moving into Jack Russel's Pub outside of town on Rte. 3.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Macedon, NY
(06/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I loved this little place! Great beer, burgers (although i didn't eat), music and a TV. What else could anyone want?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vic Sytzko Vic Sytzko, Fair Lawn, NJ
(05/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So Lousy
This would make a better hot dog squeeze inn than a brew pub. Server overworked and unpredictable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob E Bob E, Sunbury, PA
(11/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My first visit back since leaving Maine in 1997. The place is still there, little has changed except the staff. Several brews were on tap including the IPA which was suitably hoppy with a very agreeable finish. The new staff was still friendly and this is still my favorite brewpub anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is a "must stop" if you are in Bar Harbor---very tiny--loads of atmosphere--great burgers--local hangout--and no less than 3 stouts on our visit--the most unusual brewpub--and excellent microbrews. Hope to return next year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kathleen Kathleen, Rochester, NY
(09/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
In the heart of Bar Harbor's tourist area, amidst a sea of souvenir shops and chowder houses, is this tiny, downscale, straightforward brewpub. Sit on a stool, relax, eat some peanuts from a dogdish, and sample the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Enoch and Sandy Enoch and Sandy, Catonsville, MD
(08/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Good
My wife loved the Blueberry Ale. The Bartender was a hoot, cooking, serving beer and socializing all at the same time!! (Not bad for his first night!) A small brewpub, to say the least...but very memorable. A great place to have a beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Darren, Hooksett, NH
(06/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
It is the smallest brewpub that I have been in. I loved the I.P.A. because I am a hophead and the I.B.U.'S were kickin' in that brew. If you are a burger freak, this is a place to be. Their slogan "In Hops We Trust" is right on the money. This place is fun because it is different from any I have ever been in the past.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Gant Ed Gant, Millville, NJ
(01/08/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.878 seconds) 07:18:50 54.167.171.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS