PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant - Patchogue, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 11:02 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Patchogue > Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant
Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 75.7 / 100
67 West Main Street
Patchogue, NY 11772
United States
(631) 447-BEER
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Patchogue, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant
31 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Blue Point Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Great South Bay Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN MEDFORD
2) RADISSON MacARTHUR AIRPORT
3) RESIDENCE INN HOLTSVLL LONG ISL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Congregational Church of Patchogue
2) Smith--Rourke House
3) St. Paul's Episcopal Church Complex
4) United Methodist Church
5) US Post Office--Patchogue
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 175 Sabor Latino Restaurant
2) 7 Express Inc
3) A & I Delicatessen
4) AKPP
5) Alfie's
6) Athena East Restaurant
7) Bao Wei Lin Inc
8) Bay Avenue Deli
9) Bayside Delicatessen
10) Best Meal
11) Blue Moon Deli
12) Brick House Brewery & Restrnt
13) Bucci's Pizzeria
14) Burger King
15) Burger King
16) Cafe Latino Deli & Restaurant
17) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
18) Casino Restaurant
19) Ceasar's Cafe
20) Chachama Grill
21) Chance
22) China Jade Kitchen
23) China King
24) Chuck E Cheese's
25) Cornerstone
26) Curry Kabob House
27) Del Fiore Pizza Co
28) Domino's Pizza
29) Donato's Restaurant
30) Dublin Deck
31) Dunton Inn
32) Ecuamericano Restaurant
33) El Gran Tejano
34) El Triunfo
35) G & G Lunchnet & Stationery
36) Gene's Country Store
37) George's Luncheonette
38) George's Restaurant
39) Gino's Pizzeria
40) Gourmet Lunch Box Inc
41) Guy's Pizza
42) Happy King Kitchen
43) Harbor Grill
44) Harborside Restaurant
45) How May Kitchen & Restaurant
46) How Wok Kitchen
47) Imaces Pepperoni Grill
48) International House-Pancakes
49) Island Grill Inc
50) It's A Deli
51) J & B Restaurant
52) Jillys
53) Karleen's Deli & Catering
54) Kfc
55) KFC
56) LA Strada Restaurant
57) Laisla Deli
58) Latina Grocery & Deli
59) Latino Continental Restaurant
60) Lawan Authentic Thia Rstrnt
61) Lempa Pizza Y Tacos 2
62) Les's Pizza Place Inc
63) Los Hermanos Taveras
64) Louis Xvi
65) Luigi's Italian Ices
66) Lung Hing Restaurant
67) Mama Leonora Rstrnt & Pizzeria
68) Mc Donald's
69) Mc Donald's
70) Medford Pitta
71) Mediterranean Manor
72) Metropolis Diner
73) Mexican Grill
74) My Hero
75) Mystic Flavors Inc
76) Nancy's Crab Shack
77) Nellis Pizzeria
78) New Century Kitchen
79) Newman's
80) Nino's Pizzeria
81) Oar House
82) Oasis Diner
83) Old Olive Tree
84) On The Waterfront
85) Panda House
86) Papa John's Pizza
87) Peter's Lunchnet
88) Pine Grove Inn
89) Pita House
90) Pizza Shoppe
91) Plaza Mini Market
92) Pollo Rico Chicken Takeout
93) Reese's 1900
94) Rocco's Pizza
95) Ron-C Deli
96) Ronnie's Deli
97) Royal Pizzeria
98) Salabella's Pizzeria
99) Sandella's Cafe
100) Shake Down
101) Shelly's Deli
102) Sicilia D'oro Family Rstrnt
103) Snack Shack
104) Some Place Else Pub
105) South Shore Restaurant
106) Star Kitchen
107) Station Pizza
108) Strano Pub
109) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
110) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
111) Sunset Harbor
112) Swan Country Deli & Gift
113) T J's Hero Shop II
114) Taco Bell
115) Thai Lemon Grass
116) Tom's Luncheonette
117) Trio
118) Tung Sing Chinese Restaurant
119) Two Morrow's Pub
120) Utter Delight Dairy Inc
121) Wah Lum Restaurant
122) Waverly Avenue Milk Depot
123) Wendy's
124) West Lake Inn
125) Zino Pizza Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
I have been there several times and I always get the sauerbrauten. It is flavorble and the potato dumpings and red cabage are good too. But for the price I always leave alittle hungry as the give small portions. service there was also great. Either lower the cost or put alittle more on the plates. My wife has tried several different dishes and enjoyed them all. I have not yet tried JRs sauerbraten but plan on giving it a shot and see how good and how much they give you

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review shirley, NY
(08/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good
I have been here a couple of times on my trips to Long Island. Face it's a little pricier than the rest of the country. My experience is the waitstaff is great. Their very friendly. First visit I tried the pumkin ale. If it hadn't been for the sugar and cpices on the rim of the glass, it pretty much would have been a tastless brew. As I think about it, pumpkin with out the sugar and nutmeg is a pretty tastless vegetable. The peel'n'eat shrip while out of season were pretty good. The was no frozen taste. I was impressed. The Hopped Kitty is, in my opinion, their best selection. Great hop taste. The Stout was good although served a little too cold. After it warms up, the flavor comes out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Lousy
After having been a regular customer since the Brickhouse opened more than ten years ago it's very disapointing to see the downhill slide it's taken. The service usually stinks, the food has gone way up in price while sinking ever lower in portions and quality and to top it off they have added three pages of typical tiresome crap to the menu ( Oh boy! 20 dollar fajitas! ) while eliminating the interesting daily specials which was usually what I'd order. Finally, for some bizarre reason most of the staff and their hangers on now fancy themselves some breed of rock star and the Cooler Than You vibe is laughably obnoxious. The only reason to go anymore is the beer and you can get that around the corner in a much friendlier environment at the Bluepoint Brewery itself.

So,to the current management at the Brickhouse: Thanks a lot for ruining my favorite restaurant and may your tenure be brief.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peach Peach, sayville, NY
(11/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good
I went there 1/05/08 Saturday with my Dad for lunch.I never had a complaint till today,Dad and I order for lunch the chicken parmigiana hero.When we got our $9.00 hero it was on a little hoogie roll with 2 tiny chunks of tasteless chicken.It was a big waste of $18.00 and it didn't fill us up.Plus all the beer that everyone likes they don't make anymore(blue berry,rye beer,paul brown)what are you guys trying to do, lose customers.I wasn't to happy at the brick house today.The only good thing was the bar tender AnnMarie she is a sweet heart.Don't ever get rid of her like you jerks did with all the good beer.Maybe we should try a different place next time.I can't wait till JRs steakhouse opens then maybe the Brick house will get its act together. Glen

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glen Rosuck Glen Rosuck, E.Patchogue, N.
(01/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
Went on a Friday night because they advertised on their website a special/deal for a complete dinner for $16.95. We asked our waitress for the menu for that particular special she told us they didn't offer that anymore (I had just seen it advertised on the website not even an hour before we went there). First disappointment. Went to order from regular menu. Waitress informed me that they didn't have that particular meal. Disappointment #2. I had to settle for a meal that I wasn't really in the mood for. Won't be going there anytime soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Patchogue, NY
(10/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been to the Brickhouse Several time and on each occation the food and beer have been Awsome!!! The selection of beer and the Quality is outstanding. The service is excellent. The Brickhouse is a must stop when you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bayport, NY
(03/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
The beers are brewed on premises by the brewer from Blue Point Brewery, which is located just down the road. In addition to their own beers, they also have a couple of Blue Point beers on tap. My wife had a pint of Blueberry Ale from Blue Point that she really enjoyed. I decided to try the sampler, which consisted of seven beers, including two from Blue Point; the blueberry and Blue Point Toasted Lager. The toasted lager was quite good; a smooth, full-bodied lager. We picked up a six pack in a gas station nearby to bring home with us. The first Brick House beer in the sampler was a decent Light Ale, followed by a winter seasonal called Blitzen, which was a strong, amber colored bitter ale. The Brick House Boys Red was a nicely hopped amber ale. The Hurricane Kitty Pale Ale was an outstanding American style pale ale; nice and hoppy with a strong, malty background. I began to get nervous when I saw that the next beer in the sampler was a pumpkin ale with pumpkin spices floating on top. I still think that pumpkin and beer should NEVER be mixed together. However, this was better than expected – it was actually drinkable, though I still wouldn’t ever want to drink a whole pint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
Great beer. Ends there. Ordered steak medium rare. It came charred. The waitress was unsympathetic, and she actually became sarcastic! I recommend experienced professional management, change of waitresses to more professional types, and intense training of ALL staff for consistency. Learn to fire people. Get a new chef. Pay the money for a good one. Everyone will notice the difference. This has the potential to be a great restaurant/pub. (Constructive criticism)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Blue Point, NY
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
If there is a line out front--don't let that scare you away. They are probably waiting for a seat out in the hop garden. Opt for bar seating so you can get in there and start drinking. The person from NYC who claimed that this place had no charm...I'm not sure what is up there. Honestly, "charm" is not a word I think of to describe brew pubs but if this NYC-er is used to the likes of the sterile environment of Chelsea Brewing they may have been uncomfortable in the likes of The Brickhouse. A buddy of mine and I stopped in here for dinner after some tasting at Blue Point. I found the beer here much better although the patrons not as colorful. Our major bartender (they all seemed to share the bar) was new..so I cut her some slack when she didn't know what an IPA was--but let's hope the management has better/more training in store for her and furture employees. The Hurricain Kitty IPA was really nice--coppyery color that made you expect a much more malty flavor, but it was nice an bitter. The double stout was a tad sweet but really good. The Brown was a bit dull. Didn't seem to have much flavor. On tap that day was: Street Light, Hurricaine kitty IPA, Red, Brown, Double stout, Summer Buzz--and from Blue point (they share a head brewer) the Toasted Lager. My steak sandwich was great, but by buddy said his was tough.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
INTERESTING HOW IT FILLS THE BILL - FROM A COZY NEIGHBORHOOD PUB TYPE OF PLACE, TO A FAMILY-FRIENDLY RESTAURANT, TO A HOPPING PARTY-TIME CLUB. GOOD STAFF AND FOOD, CREATIVE BREWS

INTERESTING SEASONAL BREWS (ESPECIALLY THE HONEY-PUMPKIN), GOOD TO EXCELLENT FOOD, MODERATELY PRICED, FRIENDLY, ATTENTIVE STAFF, CASUAL AND COMFORTABLE ATMOSPHERE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TERRI TERRI, MEDFORD, NY
(04/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good
Food was good, service Excellent, the RED was delicious

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Link Jim Link, Patchogue, NY
(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Got here for an open mic night..plaid the congas. Friendly staff and patrons. Disappointed in all the corporate swill they serve but discussed it with the bartender...gotta keep the ignorant happy or they go elsewhere. Food a little pricey. Oh well more great beer for us...MUST STOP!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Stopped in here for lunch after visiting Blue Point Brewing a few blocks away. Their beers are currently being brewed by BPB (but on the Brickhouse premises). There were 4 Brickhouse beers and the Blue Point Toasted Lager. I had the Hurricane Kitty Pale, which was an excellent beer. My wife started with the Toasted Lager, but there had to be something wrong with the lines or the keg, because after just tasting and liking it at the Brewery, it was awful here. But the server switched it for the Red without any problems and my wife was much happier. I also tried the Brown, which was pretty good. The food was very good and the service was great. With 2 places brewing fresh ales and lagers in Patchogue, you can't go wrong making a visit here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review steve, somerset, nj
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
The food was fairly good. I really liked the BrickHouse Pasta. The Winter Warmer ale was excellent. Overall it was a good experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Port Jefferson Station, NY
(12/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I just came from the Brickhouse. The bar was hopping with some live music, but we went into the back room for some dinner. I had a pint of the Hurricane Kitty, and I was not disappointed. It was a great hoppy IPA. I also tried the Paul Brown Ale, which was a basic American Brown Ale - it was also very good. The food was great. They have more than basic pub grub. Some nice pasta dishes, some seafood dishes and a few nice specials. The service was great too, and the waitresses really knew alot about the beer. Even though it is about a 45 minute drive, I will go back often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Irwin Markus Irwin Markus, Baldwin, NY
(09/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
I am a "regular" here so maybe I am a bit biased, but I visit brew pubs all over the US, and I think Brickhouse can hold a candle to any of them. I don't agree with the (Nameless) reviewer who said the place has "no charm". He obviously hasn't visited a lot of brew pubs. This is a great old building which has been nicely restored. He also called Patchogue "past its prime" but it's making a comeback, and a number of town visitors I have brought there found the village and the Brickhouse very charming. As for the beer...Hurricane Kitty Pale Ale is as good as any I have had. They do a very good stout, a great red, and a lot of other "seasonal" beers that change regularly. They usuelly have 6-8 on tap, and some "guest" beers also. The food is good these days and has improved over the years. I love the New Orleans Pasta and the sandwiches and fish dishes are usually very good. The service needs to be improved --it tends to be slow and the servers need more "beer smarts". I know the brewer is working on that but the management needs to make a commitment to better service. I would gladly pay more for a meal and a beer if the service was better. Helpful hint to Pub Crawlers- Have dinner at the bar, OR if you are going to sit down, get a beer at the bar first. Then you can relax with a brew and if the service is a little slow that night, you wont mind. All in all definietley worth the trip - especially the weeknight happy hour with $2.50 pints. Going on 5 years old and Brickhouse has outlasted a lot of other BrewPubs on Long Island. Hope it lasts a long time. I am spoined having uch good beer close to home, and the place is definitely good for Patchogue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christopher Christopher, Patchogue, NY
(11/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A
I didn't care for the beer. There was a noticeable off flavor. I tried only one so perhaps they do a better job with the others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from greenmon greenmon, Asheboro, NC
(09/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
i went there w/ my family and fiancee to celebrate my engagement. the Hurrican Kitty was a definate highlight. I live outside binghamton now, but grew up in nearbye center moriches and am kicking myself for not trying it when i was a local.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ryan ryan, center moriches, ny, NY
(08/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I went to the Island recently on business, and before I went I hit Pub Crawler to check out what Suffolk County had to offer. After reading some of the reviews of the Brickhouse, I was a bit hesitant to try it, but my office partner and I decided to give it a try. We're glad we did. It's a really nice place in a great old building with a good brewpub atmosphere. We ate dinner in the back room (surrounded by a horde of wives all decked out in red for Valentine's Day, but that's another story) and had a nice time. The IPA was not over-the-top hoppy, but very drinkable, and the stout was nice and roasty. Good food, too. It's not pretentious, which is refreshing for downstate NY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(02/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
The usual 6 or 7 options. Neither the "Summer Buzz 2" or the porter were particularly distinctive. This is certainly the most working-class brewpub I've ever been too. Downtown Patchogue is long past its prime and the reuse of this nice old building is part of the attempt to revitalize Main Street. However, one wonders whether they even used an architect for the renovation: the interior of the place has zero charm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New York, NY
(08/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
I must say that after reading all the reviews I thought I was going to have the beer experience of a life time. I have to admit that the beer was over carbonated and over hopped for the styles. The service was lacking, I ordered a sampler when I was seated and got it just as I was finshing my dinner. I have been to the West Coast from San Francisco to Seattle and I don't know a Pale that would be put to shame by this beer. It was not worth a trip from N.J.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Lauver Chris Lauver, Oakland, NJ
(07/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is way at the end of Long Island and absolutely worth the drive. The service and food were first rate, a pleasant experience that I won't soon forget. The food is upscale, but fairly priced. The beers ARE AWESOME!!! An associate and I went through the Dunkelweizen, Pale Ale, Red, and the Honey Wheat (don't laugh, it's 7.7% alcohol). All were world class. The Pale Ale would put most West Coast Pales to shame. Yes, it is a long drive to Patchogue from the city, but it is very well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(06/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Good
I've always enjoyed Norman's brews, but had one of the worst dining experiences of my life at the Brickhouse a few months back. My father and sister were in from out of state and I wanted to impress them with a good meal, so off to the Brickhouse we went. Well, to make a long story short, the meal was a nightmare! We waited almost an hour and a half for it, my meal and everyone else's was cold and "UNCOOKED". When your dealing with a broiled seafood platter, that just does not sit well. I hope things do improve, and maybe I'll get the nerve to try it again someday......MAYBE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Amoroso Scott Amoroso, Patchogue, NY
(04/08/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The place is the greatest with the added bonus of a wide variety of good music Wednesday thru Saturday. Yes, I'm biased !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Patchogue, NY
(02/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
ED Travers is the man on Fridays

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roy Rinfret Roy Rinfret, Bellport, NY
(02/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bernie Berman Bernie Berman, Valencia, CA
(02/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I couldn't have made it any better if I did it myself!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Colby Keegan Colby Keegan, Patchogue, NY
(01/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bird in Hand, PA
(10/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
The ribs are great. The fries need work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Luis Carbonell Luis Carbonell, Deltona, FL
(07/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Check out the fantastic collection of NY breweriana upstairs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(04/10/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.208 seconds) 11:02:13 54.227.63.195, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS