PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ale House 'The Beer Joint of Your Dreams' - Vestal, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 01:41 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Vestal > Ale House 'The Beer Joint of Your Dreams'
Ale House 'The Beer Joint of Your Dreams' Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Ale House 'The Beer Joint of Your Dreams'
Overall: Great    Score: 79.5 / 100
3744 Vestal Parkway East
Vestal, NY 13850
United States
(607) 729-9053
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: August 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Vestal, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
38 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Mansion on Asbury CT
2) South Mountain Bed & Breakfast
3) Verde Views
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BINGHAMTON VESTAL SUNY
2) COURTYARD BGM VESTAL
3) ECONO LODGE ENDICOTT
4) ENDICOTT INN
5) RODEWAY INN VESTAL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Johnson City Square Deal Arch
2) Johnson, George W., Park Carousel
3) US Post Office--Endicott
4) Washingtonian Hall
5) West Endicott Park Carousel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B G's Pizzeria & Grill
2) Big Al's Pizza
3) China Wok Vestal Park
4) Dusty Dog
5) Fuji San Japanese Restaurant
6) Hooters
7) K & K's The Old Teahouse
8) KFC
9) Lickity Split Ice Cream Shoppe
10) Living Waters Cafe
11) Long John Silver's
12) Man Nan
13) Papa John's Pizza
14) Pheonician
15) Pizza Hut
16) Portobello
17) Quiznos Sub
18) Starbucks
19) Sub Factory
20) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
21) Tastie Cream Inc
22) Uncle Gugi's Homemade Italian
23) Vestal Bakery & Deli
24) Wild Pizza
25) Wine Cellar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Most unfriendly owners imaginable! They stand and watch as the understaffed staff work their tails off!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Binghamton, NY
(11/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Small place with three dozen drafts + lots of bottles. Most of the drafts were regionals, many from NY.

Limited menu of sandwiches and pizza.

Very friendly crowd. My wife and I were visiting the area for a wedding. She started talking to a couple of guys about the beers they were drinking. Soon they were offering to let her have a taste from their glasses - and we're old, so it's not like they were hitting her.

Overall it's an oasis in an area that's being overrun by franchises.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Brad, Oakton, VA
(09/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The Ale House is a place that can easily become *your* bar. I went there in the late 80s and it quickly took on the atmosphere of "Cheers." Though I haven't lived in the area for almost twenty years, Tim and Diane the owners, still know my name and always welcome me back.

So why is this a great place?

* A large beer selection. Over 30 on tap and over 120 available. All of the other drinks you might want are available too.

* The World Tour. A fun "beers of the world" promotion that Tim has been running for over 20 years. A great way to try a lot of different beers, win some prizes and get your name on the plaque.

* Atmosphere. The Ale House is small but it has a great pub feel. Lots of wood, a copper top bar, classic rock, many TVs with sports, darts and a video game machine.

* Food. While there is no fryer, the pizza alone is worth the trip. Add to that a grill (burgers, hot ham and cheese, spiedies) and you won't leave hungry.

* People. The Ale House draws a diverse crowd: Locals, college students (mostly grad), profs and it all works. Generally no stupid drunks and if you sit at the bar by yourself, people are friendly.

* Owners. Tim and Diane in my experience are friendly and as I mentioned, after 20 years (17 of them out of the area) they still know me and welcome me back. That says a lot to me. They work most of the shifts and The Ale House is a busy place. There have been times when they have not been immediately chatty upon my arrival, but it has always been because they were getting an order up, a keg replaced, etc. That said, when the opportunity has presented to catch up, they always have. I genuinely like them and they have absolutely earned my loyalty.

* Summary. If you're into the club scene, dancing, looking to hook up, or just drink a beer and check it off a "places visited" list, this may not be your kind of place. But if you want a place to spend memorable times with friends, have great beer and food, then it's worth your time.

For me a trip back to the Binghamton area is not complete without a visit to The Ale House.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Fracchia John Fracchia, Brooktondale, NY
(05/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
Those reviewers who have expressed their displeasure with the owner's attitude couldn't be more right. And it's not just Tim, but his wife, too. They seem to take for granted that they are largely a one-of-a-kind experience in the Binghamton area. While they have 36 taps, at least a third (and usually more at certain times) are always dry. The service is often ridiculously slow, but that's only because the owner insists on having only one bartender wait on 30 people. Other annoyances: they won't serve pizza until 6 pm, the bar is closed on Sundays and only opens up at 6pm on Saturdays, and their pint prices aren't visibly displayed.

Should a rival "beer joint" that can couple solid customer service with a savvy beer sense appear, it could easily shut this place down. My advice: wait until that place comes to the Binghamton area or go to Ithaca for a real beer experience. As for you travelers: go to Sam the Beer Man in Binghamton, pick up a 6-pack of good micro-brew (a much wider selection than the Ale House), and stay in your room.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Owego, NY
(12/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great
The beer selection is excellent. There is something there for just about all tastes. There selection of IPAs could be better though. The food is very normal. It's bar food (burgers, pizza, etc). A good atmosphere for a fan of beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Abbott Andrew Abbott, Schuylerville, NY
(05/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Ale House is great!! A great beer selection (36 drafts!) and pizza that is fantastic! Wish I could get great pizza like this where I'm from (FL). Tim and the staff make sure that this is my home away from home when I'm working in the area (Lockheed). Stay at one of the close by hotels (Courtyard, Hampton, Holiday Inn) and check out The Ale House! The Courtyard is right across the street, you can walk!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, WPB, FL
(09/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good
Nice “local bar” atmosphere located in the middle of strip malls and hotels. Tap selection emphasis on micros, with a few imports. However, I was disappointed that three of my tap selections were out! Limited menu of sandwiches and pizza (no fryer so no fries, wings, etc.). Our food was served promptly and was adequate. Although the small space became crowded quickly this particular evening, (perhaps from a pre-basketball game crowd?) our server/bartender was pleasant and attentive. After experiencing The Ale House first hand I would have to say that earlier reviews show great bias pro or con for this establishment. In my opinion not the best beer bar in the universe, and definitely not the “Beer Joint Of My Dreams” but, overall a nice find in, from what sounds like, a poor beer environment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Erdman Rob Erdman, Bloomsburg, PA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the best bar in the universe...I spent many afternoons and evenings sitting at the Ale House's copper bar when I was a student at nearby Binghamton University...in fact, completing the "Ale House World Tour" (60 beers from all over the world) is probably the foremost accomplishment of my college years...I hope to visit again soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Barile Dan Barile, Lawrenceville, NJ
(10/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Was in Vestal on Business and found this place across from the hotel. Found the selection of beers to be grreat and the atmosphere to be very friendly. I look forward to visiting this place again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tierney Tim Tierney, Plaistow, NH
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
fair selection of typical beers and some not-so-outstanding locals. cozy atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oroville, CA
(08/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
For an REAL beer drinker you can't beat the friendly smile and service you get here ! As for those of you that have something to negative to say about the food .. go back to the drive thru at Mc Donald's where you belong ! There is no other place I have ever been in that even comes close to the Ale House ! I would rather wait 5 minutes for Laurie to spour me a beer than a half an hour at a local dive . You go for the friends , the laughs not for a quickie !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Hennekens The Hennekens, Vestal, NY
(07/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This place ROCKS! The food is awesome, especially the pizza. The owner, Tim, really has a great family recipe. 36 different draft choices that are always unique & fresh. What else can you ask for? Always a regular stop for me & my friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lucy Lucy, Endicott, NY
(07/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great
We've been going down to the Alehouse about once a week for the past few months. Love the place. On our first trip we were blown away by the selection of hard-to-find beers on tap. Cheese and cracker platter while we play darts there is a favorite, but we tried their supposedly great pizza a few times... there's some southwestern pizza that's fairly disguisting... the buffalo chicken is decent. Service is often slow(yet friendly and knowledgable), as the place never seems to be staffed adequately during busy hours.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Johnson City, NY
(06/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
As you've read in other reviews, owner can be cocky. In my opinion, he owns the best beer bar within 30 miles or so, so I don't hold that against him! 36 taps...at least 30 of them are stocked at any time. Several foreign bottled beers are available too. I would like to see the specials mixed up more often but am happy that they have specials at all.

Service can take a while on busy nights but it is because the place is understaffed on busy nights. The bartenders are some of the best in the area! The owners are lucky to have found them.

I think the pizza is fantasic. Of course I had several beers before tasting it though! :^)

If you're in Ithaca, go to the Chapter House. If you're in Syracuse, go to the Blue Tusk. If you're in Nashville, go to the Beer Cellar. If you're in Binghamton/Vestal/Johnson City/Endicott... go to the Ale House! These are no brainers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from anonymouse anonymouse, Endicott, NY
(04/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Nice staff, best beer selection (by far) in town.

I agree with Otter when he says they open too late. Too many times I've wanted to be there for lunch or to watch an afternoon game on TV.

Beers are always fresh.

The selection is great, but I with they'd mix it up more often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul S Paul S, Binghamton, NY
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
WOW!!! I must pass along an experience I recently had while visiting in Upstate New York. I was taken to The Ale House in Vestal, NY by some friends and relatives and I must honestly say I was blown away by my visit there. Never would I expect such a wide selection of draft and bottled beer from all over the place than this place had. I was quite suprised by the knowledge and friendliness of the guy and gal working that night. They made suggestions and recommended beers according to my tastes (dark and bitter). I tried the pizza, which was highly recommended by my son, and it lived up to its billing. A quaint, friendly atmosphere filled the place, and I eagerly await my next visit up to the Binghamton area so I can return to THE ALE HOUSE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim R Jim R, Orange County, NY
(01/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Good So So
An unbelievable beer selection and sweet service can't make up for a ho-hum atmosphere, cramped tables, and REALLY bad food. We trusted an earlier PubCrawler review that suggested the BBQ Chicken Wing Pizza...what were we thinking? My buddy and I had stomach problems for 48 hours after. You're better off sticking to the pizza at Chuck E. Cheese across the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, New Haven, CT
(11/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy Good
Only place in the area to try out and find good, non-commercial American beers. The food can be very good to fair. As others have noted, the management and the service leave a LOT to be desired. I can only recall one time going there where we didn't have anyone ticked off about the service. But if you want good beer and a huge selectoin, it's the only game in town. (and for a wide area around.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jazz Jazz, Endicott, NY
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Good
Nothing like ungrateful management and slow service in a small bar. Great beer selection, but they regularly list beers they are out of. The owner made me a burger, but then let it sit there near the grill as if it would deliver itself. A little respect would go a long way. I'll take my business elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick O'Reilly Patrick O'Reilly, Norwich, NY
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
The Ale House is Binghamton's only place where you have a real choice. Too bad they don't make their own, but still, they have everyone else's. I have one complaint though. They open way to late. I've been to several BU soccer or volleyball matches, and was hankering for one of their great burgers and a plae ale only to find it closed. This is what prevents it from getting an Awesome review. Still, having an attractive blues singer like Kelly behind the bar makes up for this somewhat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otter Otter, Binghamton, NY
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I found this establishment using this web site and was skeptical because of certain reviews. What I found was a gold mine of a beer house in the middle of a non discript strip mall on Rt 434 just down the street from Binghamton University. Owners Tim & Diane don't always greet you at the door (they are usually serving or cooking) and the pace of service is not like a corporate TGIF but if you take the time to experience what this little tavern has to offer you will be smitten. The beer selection (both draught and bottle) is first rate and the beer quality is excellent. The marinated spiedie's are fantastic and the pizza's are hand made. My only complaint is that they are closed on Sunday's and many beer travelers make pilgrimages on weekends only. If you get within 40 miles of this place and are thirsty for a beer you owe it to yourself to stop in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Gold Joe Gold, Baltimore, MD
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Good
others have mentioned issues with management attitude. they are right, Tim can be a self-centered pompous ass but there are times when he is quite friendly. Some of bartenders (all women) will take good care of the patrons, others are stuck on themselves. Unfortunately, being the only place in the area with excellent beers, this has to be tolerated. pizza is very excellent, other sandwiches are very good but if you frequent the bar then the menu is way too short.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review dan, greene, ny
(03/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great So So Great
The bartenders were busy when we were there, but they could at least acknowledge our presence and say something like "hello" or "I'll be right with you". Good beer, good pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Debbie Debbie, Conklin, NY
(02/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Excellent selection of beer. Knowledgeable staff. My wife and I found the owner to be very personable. Next time we will try the Pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rev. Earl P. Clovis Rev. Earl P. Clovis, Maine, NY
(08/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good
The people who own the place are asshole's!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review endicott, NY
(06/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
They have the biggest selection of beer including 36 on tap, they got something for everyone. The food is amazing...no question about it, the best pizza in Binghamton. The service is fast and friendly (Heather and Kelly rock!). The owner Tim and his wife Dianne are also great, there are no complaints!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Aaron, Baltimore, MD
(04/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Small in size, big on selection!!! There were three deep at the bar on the night my wife & I visited. The only food we ordered was the cheese platter, so discount our food rating!(it was good with the hot mustard). Their staff and some of their customers we spoke to were very friendly. We enjoyed ourselves there and hope to visit again real soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Essex County, NJ
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Must stop by the Ale House whenever we're visiting our family and friends in Binghamton. Tiny, friendly place focusing on good beer. What could be bad about that?! Try the spiedies (a local specialty) and many local brews from upstate and western NY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ringel Mark Ringel, Basking Ridge, NJ
(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Great selection of beer, including a number of local and regionals. Friendly folk and the food looked good. I had no problems with the owner's "attitude" - he seemed cool to me. Best "beer joint" in the area, no question.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bakes bakes, Niskayuna, NY
(09/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Best beer selection in town!!! 36 on tap! Not to mention the vast bottle selection of imports and domestics! Great food! Great service!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stu Padasso Stu Padasso, Vestal, NY
(09/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer Good, Beer Friend!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stu Stu, Vestal, NY
(09/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Lousy Good
Owner is cocky and needs to keep some opinions to himself. Just provide good beer and keep quiet!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Call Em' Like I See Em' Call Em' Like I See Em', Syracuse, NY
(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Place has a great selection of beers on tap. 36 in all and no Bud. Has a lot of different ones from the area, and out. If you love beer and in the area you have to check this place out. Food is good also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(08/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review phoenix, AZ
(09/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Good
Beer selection is great. Pizza is great. Management's attitude could be better towards the patrons. (The customer IS always right...) Overall, worth your checking it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Chambers Dave Chambers, Rochester, NY
(06/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Best Pizza in town...check out the chicken.....and oh, by the way, Kelly the bartender is a total knockout!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Endicott, NY
(07/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
A nice atmosphere and a great place to sample outstanding brews. The best chicken wing pizza I know of.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim T. Jim T., Owego, NY
(03/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great
At least two dozen quality beers on tap, including Specked Hen!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review La Crosse, WI
(02/23/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.515 seconds) 13:41:53 54.161.206.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS