PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barley Creek Brewing Company - Tannersville, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 06:08 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Tannersville > Barley Creek Brewing Company
Barley Creek Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Barley Creek Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 74.5 / 100
RR 1 / Sullivan Trail and Camelback Road
Tannersville, PA 18372
United States
(570) 629-9399
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: January 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Tannersville, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Barley Creek Brewing Company
112 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:01AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:01AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:01AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:01AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:01AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:01AM - 12:00PM
Sat 11:01AM - 12:00PM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Pocono Brewing Company
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Britannia Country Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CAESARS BROOKDALE
2) CHATEAU RESORT & CONF CENTER
3) COMFORT INN HEART OF POCONOS
4) DAYS INN TANNERSVILLE PA
5) HOWARD JOHNSON BARTONSVILLE PA
6) KNIGHTS INN POCONOBARTONSVILLE
7) RAMADA LTD POCONO TANNERSVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Henryville House
2) Swiftwater Inn
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) American Eatery
2) Amici Pizza & Pasta
3) Au Bon Pain
4) Barley Creek Brewing Co
5) Chateau Resort & Conference
6) China Iii
7) Christine's Reeders Inn
8) Eats & Sweets Inc
9) Family New York Pizza
10) Friendly's Restaurant
11) Galeano's Pizza & Pasta
12) Irv's Hideaway Inn
13) Lodge At Mountain Springs Lake
14) Magic Wok
15) Matti's Cafe Deli Bakery
16) Mr Deli
17) Northwest Espresso
18) Plaza Delicatessen
19) Romano's Pizzeria
20) Sapino's Italian Deli & Ctrng
21) Smuggler's Cove Restaurant
22) Tandoor Palace
23) Tannersville Diner
24) Tannersville Inn
25) Taste Bud Restaurant
26) Train Coach Restaurant
27) Uncle Ray's Pizza & Eatery Inc
28) White Castle
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Lousy So So
I never had a problem here before, so the following incident may not be the norm. My wife went to get a couple of growlers filled as she generally does after a visit to the nearby outlet mall. She encountered a very rude and non-caring bartender. When she asked what beers were available he threw a menu at her and said "everything but these three" while pointing too rapidly at the selection for it to register with her. Rather then wait for her to chose, he then decided to walk away. She asked if there were an Octoberfest available and he replied over his shoulder "No". When she questioned if there would be one soon he sarcasticly replied " I assume so, since it's almost October". She finally got one growler filled and left, most likely to never return. The place wasn't busy so I can't figure out why this guy had such a crummy attitude. For a $13 refill, the beer is only okay....better than Bud, but not by much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ, NJ
(09/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Extremely fun place to bring the kids. Loved the service and the food and beer were excellent! I would highly recommend stopping by for lunch or dinner. I also noticed they have a nice looking upper deck that apparently is open on Thursdays for wiffle ball leagues. Looks like a really fun place. My family loved it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Ron, Gardner , MA
(07/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
My husband and I have been stopping into Barley for years. They have a very friendly staff. The food has always been consistent. After a long day of shopping the beer satisfied our thirst!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tannersville, PA
(07/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
We stopped in here after a long day of hiking and from the outside it looked great. Full parking lot, nice building and just enough of a wait to grow the anticipation. The first red flag was that the hostesses seemed to not have a clue about how long the wait was going to be and how to manage the list. Cutting to the chase we were finally seated to a soaking wet table with no means to ry it off ourselves. It took a very long time for our waitress to appear. She informed us that due to some problem they only had 2 of their 12 or so beers up and running. (On a Saturday night!) Shouldn't they tell you that before you sit down? She took our drink order and returned for the food order, per usual. It took OVER AN HOUR to get our food! Our 4 and 7 year old showed great poise under such conditions. Now for the worst part. My son ordered the children's mac and cheese (Kraft no less). It looked like it had been sitting out on the porch for an hour. Hard as a rock, dry, almost unrecognizable. He wouldn't even touch the fork. My daughter's pizza was burnt to a crisp and was cold. 2 bites in she pushed it aside. They both converged on my chicken popper appetizer which was also cold, but they ate it anyway. My wife's quesadilla was also cold but her hunger was too strong and we all picked at that. The waitress never came by to check on us and again she was gone for an extremely long time so the wife and kids had to finally leave the table. I waited and asked that the mac and cheese be removed from the bill and explained our experience. No manager, no apology, no nothing. I almost got up and left without paying but I think stealing is wrong, although I felt as if I were robbed that night. Needless to say it was a huge downer to an otherwise perfect day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Frenchtown, NJ
(07/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
My friends and I always enjoy barley creek. The food is delicious and the service is fast and friendly. The location makes it a perfect place to stop in after a day at camelback and grab a bite to eat. Almost everything I order on the menu is great but my favorite is the pasta, always delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant both friends and family. Stop in and check it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from katie katie , chapel hill, NC
(02/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great time!! Friendly staff and excellent food!! I'm shocked with all the negative reviews! I would recommend barley creek to everyone!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Marshalls creek , PA
(12/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
First let me say that if I'd known this place was within walking distance of the outlet shopping center I would have spent more time here. As it turned out we stopped here on our last day of vacation on a whim only to discover it's located behind the outlets that we went to earlier in the week. I must not of had my beer-dar turned on that day. Inside it's a very nice looking cabin-ish styled bar/restaurant. I think they also have a separate deck/pavilion out back. The beer selection is pretty good for a brewpub (light ales, lagers, wheats, IPAs and barley wines). I had the Iron Arm wheat first which was good. It didn't knock me off my seat but I wouldn't turn it down either. Then I had the Rescue IPA which was the same; good but nothing to get worked up about. Didn't have anything else as our group was just stopping for a short time. Had wings and sweet potato fries which were also very good. Would like to have spent more time here. It looks like it could be a fun place to hang out while the significant others are shopping. And they have free tours every day at 12:30. Maybe next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(08/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So
The beer was average at best. I visited the site end of November 07 and was dissapointed. They need to find a better brewer. My firt batches of home brew tasted better.

I hope they turn it around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from K K, Lititz, PA
(02/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So Lousy Lousy
Lots of beers available, and a nice building. Business is obviously good. But it must be for lack of competition, because the service was sloooooow, the food mediocre and waaaaaay overpriced, and the beers pretty terrible. Their lightest beer was really just seltzer water. The golden ale might as well have been MGD or something comparable. When I can sling back a stout as if it were a soda, there's a problem. This was awful. We felt we'd been ripped off.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Staten Island, NY
(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
i think barley creek has the most outragious prices on the mountian. They had bumped prices up three times in the last year and a half and the the food has just gotten worse. they had a wonderful staff in the fall of 06 and then the owner decided to become an alcoholic and take out. startng by firing one of the best staffs barley creek has had. even though there were waits the staff seemed to get people in and out with a smile on their face the whole time no matter how long the wait. even baseball player jorge posada was there. but now the place is getting worse and worse. the slow kitchen staff and lousy management makes this place a hell hole. you will wait at least 30 min before you get a table and take notice to to discusting floors. then you will wait another 10 to 15 min before a sever comes to take your order. the food will be lousy and so will the beer. might as well get a miller light or corona becasue the barley beer will leave a sour taste in your mouth. lastly i do not recommened the creek to anyone goin to the poconos on vacation because you will just be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review reeders, PA
(09/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Planned a Romantic Get-away around the Brewpub.... Should have gone directly to the hotel!

The place was pretty cool looking but it stopped there. We were great by the most unenthusiastic hostess that I've ever met...acted like we were an inconvenience... and waited forever for a table.

We ordered a sample and oddly enough...they all tasted the same. For a brewpub, I was NOT impressed with the beer at all! Service was slow and the food was way over priced and not worth the cost...AT ALL!!

As we were leaving we past a table where the folks had just left..Their sampler sat there..basically UNTOUCHED!! We had to laugh!

We left with empty growlers (that never happened before) Thank goodness we brought a mixed variety of beers from home!

Don't think I'd go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lori Lori, Wrightsville, PA
(02/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
I live in Tannersville and my boyfriend is a mug-club member. We travel a lot and are always visiting new breweries and he hasn't found a beer that he enjoys more than Barley Creeks. The food is also wonderful, and the prices aren't bad either. It's a great, friendly environment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Stroudsburg, PA
(02/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Good N/A
Barley Creek got back to me finally and offered to replace the case. So I'm adding this to upgrade the rating I gave their service. Fair's fair.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(12/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A Lousy N/A
I'm here to note that I recently bought a Barley Creek sampler case that I returned to my distributor because the beers had gone sour (sounds similar to what some others here have experienced at the brewpub). I've tried lots of sampler cases and hundreds of beers and never had this happen before. I rated the service "lousy" also because I e-mailed Barley Creek twice about this and never got a reply. Fortunately, my distributor gave me full credit on the return, even though I'd choked down five bottles trying to find something in the case that was drinkable. For a couple dollars extra I upgraded to a Heavy Seas sampler.

My 2 cents.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(12/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So So So
Barley Creek went from a great place that took pride in their product, cared about their customers, and took care of their regulars. this has now come quite the opposite.

The beer: The beer has become very inconsistant in taste. I have tasted some beers that were clearly contaminated and others that had something very wrong with them, from oxigination to poorly cleaned tap systems.

The bottling production has increased and prices have been going up, while food quality is also going down.

I have talked to people who handle distribution of micro brews around my parts and they stopped selling cases of barley creek because after 2 weeks, the beer goes bad.

its ashame what has been happening to this place because it was of high quality, but now i know many people who would not even recomend this place at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review schnecksville, PA
(12/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
After 5 years, I decided to try Barley Creek again, this time by trying the Rescue IPA in the bottle.

It was terrible! No malt taste, no hop taste, with a rancid, bitter taste like a old pickle. I see that the bottles have a lot of sediment in the bottom. I thought that was from bottle conditioning, but I hope for their sake that it was from the beer re-fermenting and dying. So maybe I'll try it again in another five years, to see if they've fixed it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(12/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I went to Barley Creek for the first time in February of 2006. I went back again in March. In july I purchased a mug above the bar for $50, that saves you 20% off your bill. On 2 occasions my family and I have taken the 2 and a half hour drive from Waretown NJ just to enjoy the "STUPID HOT WINGS" the best wings on the planet. I fell in love with B.C. and plan on going back again and again and again!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james allotta james allotta, waretown, NJ
(11/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So So So
A little too expensive and seemed to be abnormally crowded for the time that we came by. Unfortunate because it had a nice atmosphere overall, but the employees don't really seem to care.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(10/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just a thought, but the next time you go to a brewpub, why don't you just go look at the tap handles before you order?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Yardley, PA
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Richboro, PA
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
Very disappointing. Four beers on tap is nowadays the exception rather than the rule for most brewpubs. Creek Light not very good at all--foul nose, took a sip just to say I tried it. Antler Brown a little too sweet, caramel for my liking. Angler Black Lager OK, just enough "dark" to make it interesting. After these other brews, Rescue IPA was surprisingly good. As many people at the bar drinking macro swill as the house brews. Lots of wasted time by staff with personal conversations rather than attending to the patrons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
I found BCBC on pubcrawler and was psyched to find a place so close to Camelbeach; the destination for the day and the carrot I hung in front of the kids so I could have another beer adventure in relative peace. Great plan but then there's reality.

We (my girlfriend, her 11 year old and my 4 year old) arrived here after a long day of water parking; thirsty, hungry and tired. We were greeted with one family ahead of us who had already been waiting for around 10-15 minutes. After another 5 or more minutes a hostess took my name and said there was another 20-30 minute wait because "they were short handed". Noticing seats in the bar I inquired if we could sit there, the hostess said sure and that we would be served much faster there. Not so. It was another 10 minutes before anyone even acknowledged us despite flailing attempts at catching the bartender or waitress's (who was working the area) attention. Finally we got our drink order in. I pressed the waitress for the current selection, she didn't know what all was on tap. I ordered the sampler, which was supposed to include all the current offerings. It didn't; it was 3 shy of all of them.

The beer was disappointing. Most were flat, not without carbination, just lacking any quality or taste character that I have come to expect from a brew pub. The IPA barely had any hop character and there was no finish. I drank the beers presented to me but wanted something that would salvage this over 2 hour ordeal. I couldn't force myself to order any of the beers in the sampler. Right as I was leaving, one of the bar patrons ordered a wheat beer. I just about hit the roof! I love Wheat beers and was livid that I was not about it or had it included in the sampler. Finding out about the wheat upon my exit was the final nail. I'll never be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Moncavage Bob Moncavage, Bethel Park, PA
(08/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I went here while filling the space between a wedding and reception. The place was absolutely jammed, which is why the service rating is what it is. I had a dark ale (don't remember the name), and it was dynamite. I'm also a big fan of scorching hot wings and the one here were among the best I've had. I just wish this place was closer to home, because I'd certainly be a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David David, Hopatcong, NJ
(07/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Dynamite beer, and firey hot wings!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hopatcong, NJ
(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.158 seconds) 18:08:56 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS