PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Copper Canyon Grill and Brew Pub - Chandler, AZ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 09:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AZ > Chandler > Copper Canyon Grill and Brew Pub
Copper Canyon Grill and Brew Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Copper Canyon Grill and Brew Pub
Overall: Good    Score: 66.5 / 100
5945 West Ray Road
Chandler, AZ 85226
United States
(480) 705-9700
Listed Since: August 1996
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Chandler, AZ
Beer Guide for Arizona

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
27 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 09:00AM - 01:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 09:00AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) BJ's Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Whole Foods Market-Chandler
(5 miles)

3) Buffalo Wings and Rings
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hyde Out Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN GRACE INN
2) BRIDGESTREET SAN VENTURA
3) CHANDLER COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT
4) COMFORT INN CHANDLER
5) COUNTRY INN & SUITES TEMPE
6) EXTENDEDSTAY PHOENIX CHANDLER
7) EXTENDEDSTAY PHOENIX CHANDLER
8) FAIRFIELD INN PHOENIX CHANDLER
9) HAWTHORN CHANDLER
10) HOMEWOOD STE PHX CHANDLER
11) LA QUINTA INN PHOENIX CHANDLER
12) OAKWOOD CENTRAL CHANDLER
13) OAKWOOD SOUTH CHANDLER
14) PRIME HOTEL & SUITES CHANDLER
15) RED ROOF INN CHANDLER
16) SHERATON WILD HORSE PASS
17) SUPER 8 MOTEL CHANDLER PHOENIX
18) WINDMILL INN AT CHANDLER FASHIO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Green, Mary and Moses, House
2) Redden, Lowell, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 56 East
2) A J's Catering
3) Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
4) All Starz Sports Bar & Grill
5) Baci Cafe
6) Bj's Restaurant & Brewery
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Bondurant Museum & Event
9) Bongo's Bar & Grill
10) Burger King
11) Cafe USA
12) California Pizza Kitchen
13) Cheesecake Factory
14) Chili's Grill & Bar
15) China Lite Healthy Food Bistro
16) Chipotle Mexican Grill
17) Cinnabon
18) Cold Stone Creamery
19) Cold Stone Creamery
20) Dairy Queen
21) Dairy Queen
22) Dickeys Barbecue Pit Chandler
23) Domino's Pizza
24) Elephant Bar Restaurant
25) Espos Mexican Food
26) Famous Dave's
27) Firebirds Rocky Mountain Grill
28) Flavios Mexican Food
29) Fleming's Prime Steakhouse
30) Gandolfo's Deli
31) Garduno's Chili Packing Co
32) Godfather's Pizza
33) Gomo's Korean Restaurant
34) Great Me Lobsterbale Catering
35) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
36) Honmachi Grill
37) Howies Pub And Eatery
38) In-N-Out Burger
39) India Gate Restaurant
40) Indoor Cafe
41) Jason's Deli
42) Jilly's American Grill
43) Johnny Gee's Sports Bar & Grl
44) Keg Steakhouse & Bar
45) Kona Grill
46) Kona Jack's
47) Long Wongs
48) Macayo Commissary
49) Main Street Restaurant Group
50) Mc Donald's
51) Mc Donald's
52) Mindie's Management
53) My Big Fat Greek Restaurant
54) Nick N Willys
55) Nick N Willys
56) Nielsen's Frozen Custard
57) Ny 54 Deli
58) NYPD Pizza
59) Olive Garden
60) P F Chang's China Bistro
61) Panda Express
62) Pasta Pomodoro
63) Pepperoni's Pizza & Wings
64) Pick Up Stix
65) Picnic Specialities Inc
66) Pizza Hut
67) Queen's Bowl Inc
68) Quiznos Sub
69) Ramiro's Mexican Food
70) Ranch 1
71) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
72) Rockfish Seafood Grill
73) Royal Tag
74) Rubio's Fresh Mexican Grill
75) San Tan Deli
76) Sbarro
77) Seattle's Best Coffee
78) Sticks & Steaks
79) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
80) Taco Bell
81) Yamakasa Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just to put another place to rest, according to some "yelpers" place closed back in '07 or so. Made calls while down for Cactus League 2013 only to get "number no longer in service". And so it goes...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jking jking, Campbell, CA
(03/31/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Good Lousy
I have been dropping by Copper Canyon occasionally since they opened. I always hoped it would get better but it hasn’t. The beer sometimes is OK, but most of the time it ranges from bad to miserable. The quality is very inconsistent so be sure to sample before you order anything -- it could be good one week and lousy another. At least they don’t mind giving samples.

Last two times I went all three beers I tried were skunky or green -- the porter and stout were miserable. They were so bad I even complained to the bartender and he agreed with me. He had some kind of excuse that the porter was accidentally served too early. I appreciated his honesty but for a brewery that's been around this long it's inexcusable. He gave me an amber beer that was bad but at least I could swallow it.

Lately the maintenance has slipped. I used to go there to listen to live music but that stopped being a draw when they just got the same lame bands every week. They used to get in a variety of bands and some of them were OK. Seriously, CC could have become another Rhythm room, which we definitely need in this part of the Valley. Oh well!

Recently they stopped having live music except on days like Wednesday so now I just don't bother going. The beer sure wasn’t enough to entice me.

Lousy beer, crummy atmosphere, and no music. There are much better breweries within a few miles drive. None of them have live music either so I stay home a lot more. It’s sort of boring to go drink a beer by myself. It seems that brew pubs just don’t want to hassle with live music. It’s sure hard to find decent live entertainment.

I would be surprised if CC stays in business much longer. The last two times I went there only a few people were sitting around, and most of them were drinking Bud Lite or cocktails. It looks to me like the owner intends to run it down until he sells it.

It's sad to see this happen because CC was one of the first microbreweries in the area. They could have turned into a neighborhood favorite. I’m literally embarrassed to bring guests there because I don’t want them to get a negative impression of Chandler.

Oh well, Copper Canyon RIP! Ya had your chance but your time has come and gone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RobSanz RobSanz, Chandler, AZ
(10/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Good So So
I have come to CC occasionally for years. I guess I always hoped it would get better. The beer sometimes is OK, but most of the time it ranges from bad to miserable. The quality is very inconsistent so be sure to sample before you order anything -- it could be good one week and lousy another. At least they don’t mind giving samples.

Last two times I went all three beers I tried were skunky or green -- the porter and stout were miserable. They were so bad I even complained to the bartender and he agreed with me. He had some kind of excuse that the porter was accidentally served too early. I appreciated his honesty but for a brewery that's been around this long it's inexcusable. He gave me an amber beer that was bad but at least I could swallow it.

Lately the maintenance has slipped. I used to go there to listen to live music but that stopped being a draw when they just got the same few bad bands every week. I guess they could get those bands cheap. They used to get in a variety of bands and some of them were OK. Seriously, CC could have become another Rhythm room. Oh well!

Recently they stopped having live music except on days like Wednesday so now I just don't bother going. The beer sure wasn’t enough to entice me.

Lousy beer, crummy atmosphere, and no music. There are much better breweries within a few miles drive. None of them have live music either so I stay home a lot more. It’s sort of boring to go drink a beer by myself. It seems that brew pubs just don’t want to hassle with live much. It’s sure hard to find decent live entertainment.

I would be surprised if CC stays in business much longer. The last two times I went there only a few people were sitting around, and most of them were drinking Bud Lite or cocktails. It looks to me like the owner intends to run it down until he sells it.

It's sad to see this happen because CC was one of the first microbreweries in the area. They could have turned into a neighborhood favorite. I’m literally embarrassed to bring guests there because I don’t want them to get a negative impression of Chandler.

Oh well, Copper Canyon RIP! Ya had your chance but your time has come and gone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RobSanz RobSanz, Chandler, AZ
(10/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A Good Lousy
I have dropped by CC occasionally for years -- even right after it opened. I guess I always hoped it would get better. The beer sometimes is OK, but most of the time it ranges from bad to miserable. The quality is very inconsistent so be sure to sample before you order anything -- it could be good one week and lousy another.

Last two times I went all three beers I tried were skunky or green -- the porter and stout were miserable. They were so bad I even complained to the bartender and he agreed with me. He had some kind of excuse that the porter was accidentally served too early. He was being honest but for a brewery that's been around this long it's inexcusable.

Lately the maintenance has slipped. I used to go there to listen to live music but that stopped being a draw when they just got a few of the same bad bands every week. Every one of them played the same classic rock format and none of them did it any good. I guess they could get those bands cheap.

Recently they stopped having live music except on days like Wednesday so now I just don't bother going. Actually the bands were so bad I usually would turn around and leave as soon as I heard them for a minute or two.

Lousy beer, crummy atmosphere, and no music. There are much better breweries within a few miles drive. None of them have live music either so I stay home a lot more. I would be surprised if CC stays in business much longer. The last two times I went there only a few people were sitting around, and most of them were drinking Bud Lite or cocktails.

It's sad to see this happen because CC was one of the first microbreweries in the area. Oh well, RIP!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RobSanz RobSanz, Chandler, AZ
(10/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
We spent almost a year in the Northwest experiencing all the wonderful and quality micro-brews. We had hoped to continue our search here in Arizona. Our first experience was Copper Canyon. The beer was marginal at best - IPA (must have been misnamed), no stout/porter. The only tolerable beer was a red. The food was dreadful. The restaurant was dirty and the service marginal. We hope to have better luck at the next microbrewery!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Everywhere, US
(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
TRIED THE AMBER AND THE IPA AND THEY WERE BOTH GOOD, BETTER THAN MOST IN THE AREA. HAMBURGER WAS VERY GOOD AND SO WAS THE SERVICE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(11/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So
I wasn't sure this place was even a microbrew when I walked in. There was more advertising for the massed produced stuff than any indication that they brewed their own. In fact, the biggest selling items had Lite after their names. Their IPA had a funny taste and may have started to turn skunky. The Oatmeal Milk Porter had already turned. That stuff was downright nasty. The closest I can relate it to is something from Gettysbrew. The seasonal was a Hazelnut Porter that was Very Good. It had a great hazelnut taste immediately with no lingering aftertaste. The Sausage Hoagie was decent, at least the peppers and onions were grilled correctly. The sausage, however, should be a link and not slices that go on a pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Pretty nice place overall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent bar; by far the best I've seen. The beer just seems better here than any other bar in the Chandler area. Very live atmosphere with great music. The girls are hot and the beer is cold.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Atlanta, GA
(12/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy N/A
Upon my buddy turning 21, we searched the Valley for a place to go and have a pint or two in celebration of the occasion. When I called this place, I was greeted by an individual that said, "Call back later"; nothing more, nothing less, just "Call back later." Upon attempting to call back twice after being hung up on (without even an answer this time), I decided I'd not be patronizing this establishment. I have news for Gold Canyon's owners/management, upon whom this employee is obviously a direct reflection: when I want drive 30 miles from home to come to your establishment to spend my money, and your staff tell me to "call back later", I'm never going to call back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Thomas, Phoenix, AZ
(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(06/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great So So
Beers were good, not exemplary, but good. The stout is excellent. Food is great, as is the service. Unfortunately, the place has turned into a huge smoke container. Can't stand to be in the place for more than a few minutes, and then get home reeking like an ashtray. Disgusting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carlos Alvarez Carlos Alvarez, Tucson, AZ
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
A brewpub that opens for breakfast? This one does. Opens early on Staturdays and Sundays. The "Arizona Pale" is a Pale ale, but I've had better. Nothing to write home about. They also had a Milk Stout on tap that was much closer to the mark. The burger was excellent!

A heads up: There is a sign on the door that says that they follow the law, allow smoking, and that non-smokers are welcome to use the patio. Ashtrays were placed prominently on the bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(12/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
This is a cozy little brewpub/sportsbar located in a strip mall on Ray Road in Chandler. I identified myself as a beer reviewer upon arrival, but noticed my service was no different than any other customers, all customers are traeted well, this was impressive to me. Also the bartender was knowledgable about the beers, as was the on duty manager. Overall my experience was very pleasurable, also Kudos for having amber colored growlers, and for sealing them with tape, this is a classy move.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Beer Traveler The Beer Traveler, Tucson, Az
(04/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good
After reding the reviews, I decided to visit for dinner this evening. The food was very good, they make a mean burger and fries. The beer on the otherhand was just OK. I started with a Pale Ale, which was extremely watered down. My girlfriend, a Coor's Light drinker actually enjoyed it. To me it tasted just like a Sam Adams Lite. Hoping to find something better, I moved to the IPA. I am a huge hophead and love and have brewed my own IPAs ..... all were much better the one here. The bitter taste of hops was almost nonexistent. The food and the service on the otherhand were both great. I would go again, for the decent prices and good food. Next time I will know not to expect much from the tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phoenix, AZ
(03/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
my first trip was a pleasant experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from denny rader denny rader, phoenix, az
(03/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Service was excellent the night I was there. Beer is nothing special, but definitely better then the mainstream. Worth a visit at least once.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Bieri Gregg Bieri, Bailey, CO
(05/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
The sign out front says under new management. Was there on March 5, 2000. The wait staff really tried to give better service. They still need some work but nothing to complain about. The pale ale was very good. Nothing to write home about but very good. Tried the stout, tasty but did not hold any head. The food was very good. Everyone had no complaints. Basic mexican faire.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Needles Kurt Needles, Broomfield, CO
(03/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
If you are not from the area (like me), this can be a difficult place to find. The service was horrendous, even worse than Bandersnatch. The food was good, once we finally got to order it and got it (I don't think there were a total of 20 customers the night we were there), the service was inexcusable. The beers were decent, like most Arizona brewpubs the lighter beers are definitely aimed at the Coors Crowd, but the heavier brews were decent. The Milk Stout, while truer to the style than the one at Bandersnatch, isn't consistent or as satisfying.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. John Way M. John Way, Wheaton, IL
(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Geo, Plymouth, CT
(10/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Lousy
Got a beer pretty quick at the bar, but getting an order in for dinner never happened. After every employee walked past our table for over 20 minutes, we finally left. Then went to Rock Bottom, and were ignored there too! Must be an Arizona thing. You gotta wait at least 45 minutes to get served, so you'll appreciate it....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(09/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
This place should be in the dictionary under "average." Pretty fair Milk Stout, but overall absolutely nothing to write home about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Cap'n The Cap'n, Westlake, OH
(01/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
Pretty inconsistent stuff. Had a wonderful Milk Stout and a good Strawberry beer, but their Pale was undrinkable. Suggest tasting a few before making a selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bristol, VA
(08/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
A few blocks west of I-10. Good beer. Good food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Garcia Jim Garcia, El Toro, CA
(04/28/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.882 seconds) 21:36:46 54.89.60.200, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS