PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Atlantic Brewing Company - Bar Harbor, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 01:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Bar Harbor > Atlantic Brewing Company
Atlantic Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Atlantic Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.3 / 100
15 Knox Road
Bar Harbor, ME 04609
United States
(207) 288-2337
Last Updated: November 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bar Harbor, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
32 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Bar Harbor Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Lompoc Cafe and Brewpub
(0 mile)

3) Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub
(0 mile)

4) Jack Russell's Brewpub and Beer Garden
(0 mile)

5) Geddy's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Pancho Villa's Tex Mex
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 2 Cats Bed & Breakfast
2) Acacia House
3) Acadia Motel Hotel
4) Anne's White Columns Inn
5) Atlantean Inn
6) Atlantic Oaks By the Sea
7) Bar Harbor Tides
8) Bayview Hotel Inn & Restaurant
9) Black Friar Inn
10) Briarfield Inn
11) Canterbury Cottage
12) Castlemaine Inn
13) Chiltern Inn
14) Cleftstone Manor
15) Coach Stop Inn
16) Collier House Bed & Breakfast
17) Cove Farm Inn
18) Graycote Inn
19) Harbourside Inn
20) Hatfield Bed & Breakfast
21) Hearthside Inn
22) Heathwood Inn
23) Heron House Bed & Breakfast
24) Holbrook House
25) Holland Inn
26) Inn At Canoe Point
27) Ivy Manor Inn
28) Kedge
29) Llangolan Inn & Cottages
30) Maison Suisse Inn
31) Maples Inn
32) Mira Monte Inn
33) Nannau-Seaside Bed & Breakfast
34) Ridgeway Cottage Inn
35) Saltaire Inn
36) Stratford House Inn
37) Sunset on West 115
38) Thornhedge Inn
39) Twin Gables Inn
40) Ullikana in the Field
41) Yankee Lady Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ASTICOU INN
2) BEST WESTERN INN
3) DAYS INN BAR HARBOR
4) QUALITY INN BAR HARBOUR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abbe, Robert, Museum of Stone Antiquities
2) Church of Our Father
3) Cleftstone
4) Criterion Theatre
5) Eegonos
6) Gilman, Daniel Coit, Summer Home
7) Hulls Cove High School
8) Jesup Memorial Library
9) Kane, John Innes, Cottage
10) Nannau
11) Redwood
12) Reverie Cove
13) Saint Jude's Episcopal Church
14) Saint Saviour's Episcopal Church and Rectory
15) Seal Harbor Congregational Church
16) Sproul's Cafe
17) St. Edward's Convent, (Former)
18) Turrets, The
19) Union Church of Northeast Harbor
20) US Post Office--Bar Harbor Main
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 124 Cottage Street Restaurant
2) 2 Cats
3) Bar Harbor Inn
4) Bar Harbor Lobster Bakes
5) Blue Sage Bistro
6) Cafe Milagro
7) Carlo Pizza Ristorante
8) China Joy
9) Mc KAYS Public House
10) Mother's Kitchen
11) Natures Way Cafe
12) Ocean Drive Dairy Bar
13) Reel Pizza Cinerama
14) Rinehart Dining Pavillion
15) Route 66 Pump Station Cafe
16) Siam Orchid
17) Skelly's Pure Fries & More
18) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I sampled everything--wheeee! The COAL PORTER is an old fav...but the SPECIAL OLD BITTER (SOB) is my new fav.

My beer-hating wife and daughter liked their ginger, blueberry, and something light, mebbe it was a summer ale?

Their BBQ was outa this world...three thumbs up. Ribs terrif, pulled pork was dry, smoky, NO FAT, and full of just the right amount of smoky flavor. YUM.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david david, SV, AZ
(07/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
Was here a few weeks ago and had a very good selection. The beers were good with the porter being my favorite. The BBQ place was in business, but had just eaten so didn't try. Could get several of the beers on tap in the BBQ place. Would recommend you trying when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
I got there too late for a tour but the BBQ place was still open out back. THe food was good but only had the Coal Porter. It was a good porter--and as expected, so much better on tap than in bottles.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Great
The folks here try real hard and it shows. My favorite is the Coal Porter followed closely by the SOB and the Blueberry. Put this one on your itinerary.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Martin Dick Martin, Portsmouth, RI
(03/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Actually tried a sampler at Lompoc Cafe in Bar Harbor, which is associated with the brewery. Very good beers, with the Blueberry being good enough and unique enough that we bought some to take home. The food is very good, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skokie, IL
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Nice counttry location before you get into Bar Harbor proper. There is a tasting area in the gift shop and the server was more than kind and helpful with lots of good beer talk to go with the 6 different samples. The SOB (special Old Bitter) had the most character of all the Maine beers I had tasted to this point in my trip. I picked up some supplies to take home and stopped at the grill--a screened-in building with food and beer. The SOB was on tap there and was equally good as the bottled sample. They also had the Bragget on tap, which was much smoother (2001 vintage) than the bottled sample--very enjoyable. An excellent stop in a great place to visit on your next trip to Maine!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I love this place, which I would describe more as a tap room than a brew pub. Very simple and unpretentious, and the people are great. This was my second visit, and we went out of our way to stop by during our trip to Maine in June 2004. I had the S.O.B. which is an excellent bitter, and the Ginger Wheat, which is not your typical wheat beer. The ginger bite was noticeable, and not offensive. Also enjoyed the Real Ale (nut brown) and blueberry ale. During our vacation, we had some Coal Porter, Real Ale, and Blueberry in the bottle too, and brought some home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Boa the Beer Trekker Boa the Beer Trekker, Kensington, MD
(07/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
All of the beers are drinkable but the Coal Porter is superb. I didn't much care for the ginger seasonal. The blueberry ale is their trademark brew. Although I don't usually enjoy flavored beers this one was most enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Loved the blueberry ale. Top spot a bit far out of town but great staff

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GregWA GregWA, Perth, WA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Coal Porter. Enough Said. Hands down the best Dark beer I have had in the U.S. They moved from the small "in town" location and have built quite a buisness based on Real Ale, Coal Porter, Blue berry Ale, and some others. I have had all of them but prefer the Coal Porter!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Cassey Jr. Rich Cassey Jr., Trooper, PA
(01/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Had their beer at the Lampoc Cafe and "Brewpub"( not really a brew pub but just a pub that showcases ABC's beers. We sought out the actual brew pub the next day and had the Coal Porter,Blueberry ale, Real ale, Ginger ale. The porter was good and all others were just mediocre at best.However, they had a bottle conditioned Braggot Barley wine aged since Nov. 2000 that was outstanding!! Lots of port and sherry nuances with a big smoky warm mouthfeel. Did not try the food there so cannot comment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, bethlehem, PA
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Brew Pub is open seasonally. We visited the store and sampled the beers in town and thought they were very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A
The coal Porter is excellent

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darlene Barrows Darlene Barrows, brandon, VT
(11/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Skeptical of the Blueberry Ale, I tried it as a novelty. It was very good to outstanding. I returned for more and more and took some home. Subtle but definite aroma of blueberries in a very good ale. Nicely balanced. A great fruit beer. Very refreshing on a summer day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clemson, SC
(08/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
The pub consists of a screened in porch located next to a pretty large brewhouse. Don't try looking for this place at night, it's only open during the day. I tried a sample of all the beers and found all of them pretty bland with little body.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Harnish Bob Harnish, Drexel Hill, PA
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Great microbrewery just outside of Bar Harbor. Their Real Beer is fantastic. The Coal Porter is pretty sweet. But their Braggert Barley Wine is to die for. Brought lots home with me. Almost every bar or restaurant in Bar Harbor sells some of their brews. The guide giving the tour could have been better educated about brewing. The indoor/outdoor cafe is a great idea that other microbreweries should look into.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Macedon, NY
(06/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Brewery is no longer at this location.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Macedon, NY
(06/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
Not a good Brew Pub, but believe it or not, it's the best one in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Sunbury, PA
(11/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I've been drinking the Bar Harbor Real Ale for several years. The new location is a bit sterile however gave a great tour. The new cafe has some great burgers to go along with the real ale. i always bring a couple of cases back!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Gregory Dick Gregory, Waldorf, MD
(10/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Gregory Dick Gregory, Waldorf, MD
(10/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Leaf peeping in New England last fall, I averaged 2 micro-breweries per day for 10 days. Atlantic Brewing was hands down the best beer I tasted in New England. All their beer was excellent. Great selection and I picked up 2 blue ale glasses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Bergus Peter Bergus, Edmonds, WA
(09/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The Coal Porter was very good. The others I tried on their sampler were OK, but tended to be thin and watery. The blueberry was an OK novelty, but not great beer. Had only a bowl of gazpacho soup which was pretty good. This is a nice place and worth a visit, just don't expect great beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Quillman Jim Quillman, Louisville, KY
(08/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
This is not a brewpub. They serve their beer at their place next door at the Lompoc Cafe at 36 Rodick St.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Woodbury Carl Woodbury, Contoocook, NH
(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
This place just opened and will be the main production location. Bicycle out from town and enjoy their beer in the public room next to the brewery and avoid the crowds at the Rodick Street location downtown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Woodbury Carl Woodbury, Contoocook, NH
(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
Blueberry Ale.....mmmmmm yummy!!! We're driving fifteen hours this year to get some more of this wonderful stuff to drink before Steeler's games. It's perfect for a hot summer afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Melissa Woods Melissa Woods, Scottdale, PA
(08/13/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.455 seconds) 01:28:50 54.167.182.201, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS