PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bar Harbor Brewing Company - Bar Harbor, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 01, 2014 @ 07:12 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Bar Harbor > Bar Harbor Brewing Company
Bar Harbor Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Bar Harbor Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.4 / 100
135 Otter Creek Drive
Bar Harbor, ME 04609
United States
(207) 288-4592
Last Updated: August 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bar Harbor, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
32 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Atlantic Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Lompoc Cafe and Brewpub
(0 mile)

3) Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub
(0 mile)

4) Jack Russell's Brewpub and Beer Garden
(0 mile)

5) Geddy's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Pancho Villa's Tex Mex
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 2 Cats Bed & Breakfast
2) Acacia House
3) Acadia Motel Hotel
4) Anne's White Columns Inn
5) Atlantean Inn
6) Atlantic Oaks By the Sea
7) Bar Harbor Tides
8) Bayview Hotel Inn & Restaurant
9) Black Friar Inn
10) Briarfield Inn
11) Canterbury Cottage
12) Castlemaine Inn
13) Chiltern Inn
14) Cleftstone Manor
15) Coach Stop Inn
16) Collier House Bed & Breakfast
17) Cove Farm Inn
18) Graycote Inn
19) Harbourside Inn
20) Hatfield Bed & Breakfast
21) Hearthside Inn
22) Heathwood Inn
23) Heron House Bed & Breakfast
24) Holbrook House
25) Holland Inn
26) Inn At Canoe Point
27) Ivy Manor Inn
28) Kedge
29) Llangolan Inn & Cottages
30) Maison Suisse Inn
31) Maples Inn
32) Mira Monte Inn
33) Nannau-Seaside Bed & Breakfast
34) Ridgeway Cottage Inn
35) Saltaire Inn
36) Stratford House Inn
37) Sunset on West 115
38) Thornhedge Inn
39) Twin Gables Inn
40) Ullikana in the Field
41) Yankee Lady Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ASTICOU INN
2) BEST WESTERN INN
3) DAYS INN BAR HARBOR
4) QUALITY INN BAR HARBOUR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abbe, Robert, Museum of Stone Antiquities
2) Church of Our Father
3) Cleftstone
4) Criterion Theatre
5) Eegonos
6) Gilman, Daniel Coit, Summer Home
7) Hulls Cove High School
8) Jesup Memorial Library
9) Kane, John Innes, Cottage
10) Nannau
11) Redwood
12) Reverie Cove
13) Saint Jude's Episcopal Church
14) Saint Saviour's Episcopal Church and Rectory
15) Seal Harbor Congregational Church
16) Sproul's Cafe
17) St. Edward's Convent, (Former)
18) Turrets, The
19) Union Church of Northeast Harbor
20) US Post Office--Bar Harbor Main
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 124 Cottage Street Restaurant
2) 2 Cats
3) Bar Harbor Inn
4) Bar Harbor Lobster Bakes
5) Blue Sage Bistro
6) Cafe Milagro
7) Carlo Pizza Ristorante
8) China Joy
9) Mc KAYS Public House
10) Mother's Kitchen
11) Natures Way Cafe
12) Ocean Drive Dairy Bar
13) Reel Pizza Cinerama
14) Rinehart Dining Pavillion
15) Route 66 Pump Station Cafe
16) Siam Orchid
17) Skelly's Pure Fries & More
18) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Oh that's nice.... (I couldn't stand the suspense any longer.)

2007 Cadillac Mountain Stout (This is from Tod's final batch. The brand has been sold to the Atlantic Brewing Company, also in Bar Harbor):

It still has it's nearly opaque very deep ruby color. It still shows a lingering tan head although it's thinner now.

The nose is a blend of its original malt/roast with the dark fruit aromas so common in aged beers.

The flavor is quite complex. There's definite red raspberry and cherry flavors and a bit of vanilla. The dark fruit. flavors are only beginning to come out.(I expect them to predominate in another few years.) I'm surprised that the flavor, overall, is so light.

The finish continues to linger long after the last sip: malt, roasted barley, chocolate, fruit....and a bit of alcohol warming.

At age 7, still a wonderful beer. I think I'll save my last bottle for 2017.

[A further note: In 2009, I did a side-by-side tasting of Tod's last batch and Atlantic Brewing's version and I must say that the differences were very slight. Atlantic Brewing has remained true to the original.]

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph S. Sturgen Ralph S. Sturgen, Easthampton, MA
(03/18/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Very small brewery with very odd hours. Limited to a few hrs. on selected days. Beer is very good and would recommend you find the time to stop by if in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Thunder Hole Ale- great brown, above average

Cadillac Mountain Stout- get it, drink it, love it, savor it

Bar Harbor Peach- Nice and refreshing

This place brews A quality beers and i would strongly recomend them to anyone. the stout is VERY good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Bar Harbor Brewing Company is, without a doubt, the best brewing operation in the Bar Harbor area (if not the great state of Maine.) The Thunder Hole Ale is a fantastic English-style nut brown ale with a beautiful, malty palate. Apparently, it scored higher than Samuel Smith's Nut Brown at the World Beer Championships in Chicago. But, my favorite, by far, was the robust Cadillac Mountain Stout. I even took a bottle of this black gold back to NYC to quaff at a later date. Excellent beers and an informative tasting session (including Bar Harbor's soda syrups) made the stop at Bar Harbor a real treat. I only wish their ales were still available on draft, but the portable 22oz bottles make them great for hiking the Precipice...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
If you enjoy great beer and want to learn about the beer you enjoy, you must stop here for a tasting. You get to try all of their beers and learn about their makeup as well as how they fared in competition. I bought a mixed case to take home. Take a break from hiking and stop by this place. The beer is just incredible--even the peach!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Tod does a wonderful job! This is a must stop brewery for anyone who appreciates quality brew. A true gem!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Martin Dick Martin, Portsmouth, RI
(03/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
It's all been said before, but repetition can't hurt: Cadillac Mountain Stout may be the best stout in America (can't get it outside of Maine)-- I drink a case or two each year. Tod and Suzie (no relation) are incredibly kind, knowledgeable, and entertaining. If you go to Bar Harbor and don't visit, you're really missing out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Foster Eric Foster, Washington, DC
(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
We tried to stop by for a tour, but they were closed for brewing, so we went to the market down the street and picked up several large bottles. They only make a handful of beers, but what they make is fantastic. Possibly the best stout I've ever had. Not being a hophead, I was pleased with that the Thunder Hole had plenty of body without the bitter aftertaste that other brown ales can have. And the ginger brew is crisp and refreshing, with a unique snap that only ginger can provide. I wish it were available in other parts of the country.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skokie, IL
(09/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
A very unique place featuring excellent beers. Check the website--limited days and hours, but well worth the effort to check out. Tasting in a log cabin adjacent to their brewing facility. All beers well-made and very tasty. Not being a fruit beer lover, I was pleasantly surprised by their peach ale. But the one to have "if your having only one" is the Cadillac Mt Stout. Big, chewy, roasted enjoyment in a bottle! Be sure to take some with so you can taunt your friends who havent travelled to Maine yet!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Thunder Hole (named after a local landmark) is a great brown ale available on draft at several places in the area. The stout was also very good. I was visiting the area with my wife and this vacation was hers or I would have tried to arrange a tour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
Not bad at all. Close to town and handy to everywhere. Loved the Thunder Hole.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GregWA GregWA, Perth, WA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
wow, c'était génial! La bière est excellente. La dégustation a été bien appréciée.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stéphanie Stéphanie, Montréal, Canada, QC
(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is a small microbrewery on the outskirts of town that is well worth a visit if in the area. Todd Foster is the brewmaster and owner and the only other employee is his wife. Tod's love of beer started while in college on the west coast and he soon became an avid homebrewer. His hobby seems to have gotten him somewhere between an avid hobbyist gone wild and a true "pico" brewer if I may coin a new term for a brewery that truely does not represent the typical microbrewery. Although he has no formal brewing experience out side of homebrewing his beers are outstanding true bottle conditioned ales that pour out a little bit of his heart and soul in every bottle. Both he and his wife brew , hand bottle, and hand label each and every 22oz. bottle that leave this brewery every year (only about 50,000 cases). To their credit they have won multiple World Beer Championship medals for all their beers. Cadillac Mtn. Stout 96 of 100 pts. Thunder Hole Ale 93 of 100 pts. Harbor Lighthouse Ale 92 of 100 pts Bar Harbor Peach Ale 92 of 100 pts.

Each beer well deserving of the medals.If you are a homebrewer or beer afficianado and find yourself in this neck of the woods please do not miss the opportunity to sample tod's beers they are truely wonderful and due to the brewery's size and manpower you may not soon have the chance again. It's like Acadia National Park has it's own little Traquair House in the woods!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, bethlehem, PA
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
Thunder Hole Ale is by far the best Brown I have ever tasted! Too bad we can't get it in Maryland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Annapolis, MD
(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A N/A N/A
Nothing reminds me of Maine like camping at Acadia and having a pint by the fire before retiring for the night!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jonathan Crothers, Lancaster, PA
(04/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!
The Stout is the best I have ever had. This is one of the highlights of my trips to Maine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dic Gleason Dic Gleason, Denton, MD
(08/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tour, taste and talk beer with owner and brewer Tod Foster in July and August, Monday through Thursday between 3:30 and 5:00 pm. Fridays are tasting only with co-owner Suzi.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bar Harbor, ME
(08/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
tried the lighthouse ale, thunderhole ale & cadillac mt. stout......all were good but the stout was the culinary highlight of my trip to bar harbor.....wish i would have brought mor home with me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom C. Tom C., Marion, OH
(07/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I have been drinking the Thunder hole ale for several years but this summer was the first time I took the tour. It was fantastic to see how small an operation this is. Received a very personal tour of the basement operation. I tried the cadillac mountain stout this year. It is easy to see how it is award winning. I bought a case of each home. The tour gave me the inspiration to start homebrewing this fall. Thanks

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Gregory Dick Gregory, Waldorf, MD
(10/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
OK, so a second review today. I finished the stout and started the Thunder Hole ale and I'm still in Pubcrawler's database so I'll tell you about this one. It has a lovely clear medium brown color, a malty nose with some toastiness to it, a light/medium body, a mild malty/toasty flavor with no hop flavor, just a bit of bitterness to balance the malt, and a fairly long dry, toasty finish. No wonder it is a world champion brown ale. (A real nice nut brown, in my estimation.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph S Sturgen Ralph S Sturgen, Easthampton, MA
(10/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I rated the establishment great because we keep renting their Meadow View apartment when we vacation in Bar Harbor (about every other year). They rent it by the week. I'm also enjoying their beers. The stout seems to have more roasted barley flavor than I had noticed in previous years (this is a good thing, as I use that as a main distinction between porter and stout). It is deserving of the accolades it has received. The peach ale is also a great example of its style: noticible peach aroma and flavor balanced with the malt. My wife would rather it have a stronger peachiness as she doesn't care what the style guidelines say - just knows what she likes (also valid).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph S Sturgen Ralph S Sturgen, Easthampton, MA
(10/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The cadillac mt. stout was the best stout I think i've ever had, very well done. It is a shame that it is almost imposssible to get it outside of Maine. The thunderhole ale was wonderful as well, this place makes me wan to go back to Bar Harbor just for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tyler hackett tyler hackett, seattle, WA
(09/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The cadillac mt. stout was the best stout I think i've ever had, very well done. It is a shame that it is almost imposssible to get it outside of Maine. The thunderhole ale was wonderful as well, this place makes me wan to go back to Bar Harbor just for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tyler hackett tyler hackett, seattle, WA
(09/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The cadillac mt. stout was the best stout I think i've ever had, very well done. It is a shame that it is almost imposssible to get it outside of Maine. The thunderhole ale was wonderful as well, this place makes me wan to go back to Bar Harbor just for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tyler hackett tyler hackett, seattle, WA
(09/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The cadillac mt. stout was the best stout I think i've ever had, very well done. It is a shame that it is almost imposssible to get it outside of Maine. The thunderhole ale was wonderful as well, this place makes me wan to go back to Bar Harbor just for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tyler hackett tyler hackett, seattle, WA
(09/30/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.321 seconds) 07:12:51 54.205.52.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS