PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hyde Park Brewing Company - Hyde Park, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 07:23 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Hyde Park > Hyde Park Brewing Company
Hyde Park Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hyde Park Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.1 / 100
4076 Albany Post Road
Hyde Park, NY 12538
United States
(845) 229-8277
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: July 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hyde Park, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hyde Park Brewing Company
30 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Belvedere Country Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) SUPER 8 HIGHLAND NY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bard Infant School and St. James Chapel
2) Bergh-Stoutenburgh House
3) Crum Elbow Meeting House and Cemetery
4) Esopus Meadows Lighthouse
5) Hyde Park Elementary School
6) Hyde Park Firehouse
7) Hyde Park Railroad Station
8) Langdon Estate Gatehouse
9) Reformed Dutch Church, Parsonage and Lecture Hall
10) Roosevelt Point Cottage and Boathouse
11) Roosevelt, Isaac, House
12) Rymph, George, House
13) Stoutenburgh, William, House
14) US Post Office--Hyde Park
15) Wales House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) American Bounty Restaurant
2) Antonella's Restaurant
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Best Wok Chinese Restaurant
5) Best Wok Chinese Restaurant
6) Coco's Pizza
7) Frederick's Of Hyde Park
8) Gaffneys Pub
9) Georgie O's
10) Great Wall
11) Jim's Home Cooking
12) Joe's Hot Dogs
13) Julian's Market & Deli
14) K & D Deli
15) Mona Lisa's Gourmet Pizza
16) Mrs Nesbitt's Cafe
17) Park Discount Beverage Ctr
18) Pete's Famous Restaurant
19) Pete's Famous Restaurant
20) Primo Pizzeria & Deli
21) Ronzoni Pizzeria Restaurant
22) T & B Deli
23) T & F Pizza
24) Toto's Ice Cream
25) Toucan Bar & Grill
26) Tropics Grille
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Tried the sampler and enjoyed every brew. The Black Lager was amazing. The Cheddar Lager Soup, I could have made a meal out of multiple servings, it's the best I've ever found. All the food we had was exceptional. Drove 2 hours to give them a try and can't wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Stockholm, NJ
(08/07/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Good Good
Great location for a brewpub...above-average price for dishes, but good food. Asked server for appetizer menu, but should have asked for the bar menu.

The beers were lackluster. There was no character, mouthfeel or crispness. I had to ask what syle of beer was on "tap 9" and server said it was a scotch ale. Could have sworn is was a Belgian-style.

The place seems more interested in brining people in to watch football, karaoke and mixed drinks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Montoursville, PA
(11/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I thoroughly enjoyed this brewery. I started with the SOB (Special Old Bitter), which I found to be excellent; nice and bitter with a nice balance of malt and hops. The Winkle Lager was a rather flavorful pilsner (not normally my favorite style, but this one was quite good). The Rough Rider Red Lager was also very good; a nice malty red-colored ale. I really enjoyed the Von Schtupp’s Black Lager; a dark (although light-bodied) lager with a slight roasted flavor. The seasonal Hefeweizen was also quite good; a traditional hefe; a little light on the banana/clove flavor (I thought) – my wife thought it was one of the best she’d ever had. The food was also very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Awesome!
I love the atmosphere of this place. It is located in Mansion Row directley across from the FDRoosevelt Presidental Library. I think his spirt comes across Route 9 to come have a beer here as he is buried on the grounds of the Library like Elvis lies at Graceland in Memphis.

The Rough Rider Red was the best beer they have the Blonde and the S.O.B. seemed kind of watered down.

The cheese soup and the fish and chips were great. The french fries were big steak fat fries mixed in with sweet potato fries. It was delicious it made up for the water downed beers.

The service was wonderful the blonde jewish girl with the nice rear end was very helpfull.

Even the requlars were very talkative and friendly. Not the typical drunk types just the local joe stoping by for a beer and leaving.

Awesome place would visit again and again!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I always try to stop in when I am in the area and once again found it to my liking. Had a few porters and a burger and it really hit the spot. Nice place, reasonably priced and their darks are always consistent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from charlie charlie, brightwaters, NY
(11/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Every time I have gone to the Hyde Park Brewing Co. I have found the food, service and beer all great. The food is reasonably priced and the portions are generouse. i have never found a better portabello mushroom sandwhich. I have always enjoyed the beer and have never found it weak or tasteless. I also like to get the sampler so I can enjoy all the different brews. Being that my husband and I live near Hyde Park we go there often abd are never disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cynthia Cynthia, salt point, NY
(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great So So So So
I visited on 7/15 after touring the Presidental grounds across the street. This is an incredibly convenient location if you have made the trip to see FDR's place. If you made the trip only for Hyde Park Brewing, you are bound to be disapointed...Unless you are a big lager fan...of so/so lagers. I'll confess, lagers are not my beer of choice and I knew that they brewed mostly lagers before I went. They did have a pale ale on tap--it tasted like a slightly bitter Bud. The Black Lager had a nice chocolatly flavor--it it was overwhelmingly a lager. There was no list of beers on tap--and none of the taps were labled so everytime you wanted to order something different there was the "sigh" at having to repeat a list of beers. So, I just stopped ordering beer. Friendliness and converstaion are not 2 things at which bartender excelled. The beers on tap were listed in the menu--which was proptly taken away as soon as I ordered my food. And speaking of food--that was very good and very reasonalby priced. Despite the tone of this review, if I find myself in Hyde Park again, I will likely stop in but I wouldn't go out of my way to stop in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Good N/A
This visit: Tasted the "S.O.B." (ESB type) Thin bodied, not much more than hoppy water. Little malt character. Porter--not much character. This place is hit or miss. Not on my A and B lists of BPs. There are too many uncertainties in life as it is. I drink beer to escape. If it's a poison I need to ingest now and then to stay sane, it better taste good, damnit! Is this place trying to accomodate the mass market drinkers? One piece of evidence for that is the number of TVs. Get it together, guys. P.S. For great beer, go southon Rt 9 about 6 miles to "Half Moon" retail and its beer bar next door. A candy store of beer and with growlers to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, middletown, NY
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Let me clarify my previous review. Re: beer quality for 2 of the three products was indeed GREAT. In past visits the quality has ranged from so-so to great depending on style of brew. Some of the brews can be a bit thin-bodied and scaled down for my taste

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, middletown, NY
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Visited 2/8/04. Had 3 products: Winkles Pilsener, SOB Ale, Chaos Dry Stout. I'll begin with the good. The SOB Ale was close to awesome. Great taste profile and balance of malt and hops with a smooth and medium body. Could drink a lot of this. The dry stout was great. Light body, dry (not Guiness dry), with an espresso note. Very enjoyable. The Winkles pilsener was a disappointment (so-so). Its only redeeming quality was smoothness of body. It is nearly devoid of the pilsener features of mild maltiness and the herbalness of Saaz hops. This tasting had a front palate of "city water", an empty mid palate, and finished with just a trace of any character. I've had this product on previous visits and found it lacking in one feature or another. The food is great and moderately priced. Service was good, but even with few customers in the place at the time the bartender had an attention lapse or two. Overall, very good place, nice ambience, but the TVs--at least 4 in the bar area--could produce a "sports bar" atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jt jt, middletown, NY
(02/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Sunday Afternoon, two homebrewers in search of local brews; I love the atmosphere at Hyde Park but now it is a non-smoking venue..not really bar-friendly, one brewer having to step outside in Feb. to smoke. Big Easy Blonde as pleasant as ever. We went on a pubcrawl that day and was happy we started with Hyde Park.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donamarie Donamarie, Krumville, NY
(03/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
The special bitter was okay, the black lager was very good. Service was good as was the food. Great location as you visit the mansions along the Hudson.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(09/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
I loved this place. The beer was fantastic and the service was uncommonly great. Perfect place to go after a visit to the Vanderbilt mansion. I highly recommend it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from LJudd LJudd, North Brunswick, NJ
(08/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Tremendous place. The interior is pleasing as are the many collections of beer related items. Great artwork for the different beer styles. Located in the heart of historic Hyde Park new York directly across from the FDR Estate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Coles Gary Coles, Bethel, CT
(05/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped in on a Sunday afternoon. The place was at about half capacity. We were seated right away and the very friendly waitress took our drink orders and continued the great service throughout our visit. I had the sampler, which broke down as follows. The two lightest selections, Big Easy Blonde and Winkle Lager (a pilsner) were ok, but very thin. The Rough Rider Red was a solid beer with nice malt character, and it's what my wife choose. The SOB (a bitter) had great flavor, but also lacked body. They didn't have the stout or porter, but in their place was a Von Schtupp's Black Lager. This had the smokey/espresso character of a stout, but the lighter body made it very drinkable. However, the feather in their cap was the Barrel 9 seasonal - Maibock. Sweet and tasty, with good body and a smooth finish made this my choice for the pint. The food was good, and priced reasonably. I would definitely return here when in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So So So
Beer was OK but not as full body as I prefer. The food was decent for the most part although a little pricy. We order some wings which came old and cold. The waitress took them off the tab but it still was disappointing. The place is not bad but could be much better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Stormville, NY
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beer and food at reasonable prices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc Ledoux Marc Ledoux, Bristol, CT
(01/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beer and food at reasonable prices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc Ledoux Marc Ledoux, Bristol, CT
(01/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Stopped in on the way back from Cooperstown this past week, waited almost 10 minutes for someone to sit us at a table, not that they were busy, there just was'nt anyone interested in helping us. Waitress once she showed up was helpful and quick. Food was very good, beer n cheese soup was worth while. Had the brewer's special - Octoberfest, it was decent and proper. The stout had a weird metallic aftertaste which was not pleasant at all. They were out of Porter which I would have liked to try. Located right across from FDR's home, they have three hiking trails there so you can burn off some of the calories from the beer n food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bubba Bubba, Glen Cove, NY
(10/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
The Rough Rider red ale was great.The bar has a reael pub atmosphere with a can and tray collection on display.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(05/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
A relaxing place to drink light full bodied brews. Worth while visiting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Murray Mark Murray, Fishkill, NY
(07/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Belchertown, MA
(07/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Great
The maibock is awesome! I love this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Bravado Phil Bravado, Bronx, NY
(05/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Beers are a little light but still very drinkable

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Huntington Station, NY
(03/24/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.391 seconds) 19:23:34 54.83.228.89, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS