PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Flatlander's Brewing Company - Lincolnshire, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 12:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > Lincolnshire > Flatlander's Brewing Company
Flatlander's Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Flatlander's Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75.9 / 100
200 Village Green
Lincolnshire, IL 60069
United States
(847) 821-1234
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: August 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lincolnshire, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
36 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) WhirlyBall
(3 miles)

2) Ram Restaurant and Brewery
(4 miles)

3) Gators
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Round-Robin Guesthouse Bed Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES VERNON HILLS
2) BRIDGESTREET POINTE
3) COUNTRY INN & SUITES DEERFIELD
4) COURTYARD LINCOLNSHIRE
5) EMBASSY SUITES NORTH SHORE
6) EXTENDEDSTAY BUFFALO GROVE
7) EXTENDEDSTAY VERNON HILLS
8) HAMPTON INN & SUITES
9) HAWTHORN SUITES LINCOLNSHIRE
10) HAWTHORN SUITES LTD.
11) HYATT DEERFIELD
12) LA QUINTA ARLINGTON HEIGHTS
13) LINCOLNSHIRE RESORT MARRIOTT
14) OAKWOOD BUFFALO GROVE
15) RAMADA INN GRAND COURT
16) SPRINGHILL SUITES LINCOLNSHIRE
17) WOODFIELD SUITES NORTHSHORE
18) WYNDHAM GARDEN BUFFALO GROVE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Armour, J. Ogden, House
2) Leonard, Clifford Milton, Farm
3) Lewis, Lloyd, House
4) Shorecrest Hotel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) B K Operations Inc
2) Bagel Bin Inc
3) Big Bowl
4) Bin 36 Lincolnshire
5) Champps Americana
6) Deli 3
7) Denny's
8) Dunkin Donuts
9) Egg Harbor Cafe
10) Flatlanders Restaurant & Brwry
11) Flour Child's
12) Hamco
13) Jerry's Supper Club
14) Jimmy's Char House Inc
15) King's Wharf Restaurant
16) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream & Trtry
17) Mc Donald's
18) NBJ Operations Inc
19) P J Willickers
20) Potbelly Sandwich Works
21) Simon Lin's Asian Bistro
22) Solbat Restaurant
23) Starbucks
24) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
25) Tacos Del Rey
26) Wakaba Inc
27) Wildfire
28) Wok King Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place has been closed since at least 2012! Best small brewery in the area, Tighthead in Mundelein (right next to the Metra train station). Finn's is still decent. Best beer bars/restaurants, Firkin's in Libertyville (one block north of Finn's on Milwaukee Ave) and also try Whirlybird's, tucked away behind the Baby's R US on Route 60, but food is solid and they have fabulous selection of beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Wagner Pete Wagner, Grayslake, IL
(03/15/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
Great place to watch sports. The bar area is huge and they have several large televisions. The beer is less than impressive. I heard they have plans for a couple more establishments in the area. Hopefully they will imporve the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(01/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Lifeless and corporate, both the atmopsphere and the beer. Lots of attention is focused on seeing and being seen, not much focus on brewing interesting and flavorful beers. Go to Mickey Finn's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, romeoville, IL
(03/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Went for lunch and tried the sampler. Prairie Wheat was quite good -- clean, crisp, with citrus finish. The Holiday Bock was really interesting -- overpowering at first, but making a great pairing with the ostrich burger I tried. Blackberry Blonde Ale was a little disappointing, the Winter Lager was delicious and unexpectedly nutty, and the Stout had wonderful mouthfeel with malty chocolate notes. Really warm atmosphere, very good food (did I mention the ostrich? my wife had a grilled salmon salad that was also good), but only okay service. We'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skokie, IL
(01/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
This is an OK brewpub, not great, but not terrible either. The service was good, the place was nice, but the beer is simply usable. It is just good enough to get you by. If you are nearby, try it, but not worth going out of the way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Tried all the beers. OK. We did not eat here but locals say the food is good. We had trouble finding the place but it turned out to be in a mall just off Milwaukee Ave.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Flatlanders was awesome when it opened several years ago, but it's not quite the same any more. The beer is passable, and occasionally good, but never outstanding like it used to be. The last year or so, Miller, Bud, and others have been heavily advertised at Flatlanders - never a good sign for a brewpub. Food is good, but, like the beer, not outstanding. Service has always been above average. If you're in the area, it's worth the stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
A very large, very nice establishment. The food and service were outstanding, Honest Abe Ale and Harvest Amber were very good. Good selection on menu except few vegetarian items. The food was just perfect, the booths were roomy and comfortable. I would go here to eat even if I didn't drink beer. Well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from missi missi, bradley, IL
(11/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I only checked out the tap room since the restaurant was closed. I was a little dissapointed as I was hoping for a light snack, but they wouldn't even get me some chips! Anyway, good music & nice atmosphere. I had Abe's Honest Ale, & the Lincolnshire Lager, both good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
There was a group of us, so we had a chance to try most of the beers. The cask IPA and Abe Ale were both excellent. The special, a heifeweizen, was excellent, among the best we have had of this type. The food and service were also quite good. We got there a bit before the official opening time, but we seated anyway. Cara (sp?) did a super job as waitress, and never wrote anything down, for a group of six, and did not miss a beat. This is a grand place to try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(06/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
As it was one of several stops, we didn't try the food. We tried the beer, and it was excellent. They had a great APA and Scotch Ale. The Locomotive Stout had a very promising nose, and was good. My wife liked it more than I did...I thought it was just a bit thin. They also had a very robust wheat, very banana-y flavor. A bit sweet for me to drink a lot of, but if you like wheats, you must order one. Nice atmosphere in the place, we'll be back to try the food too sometime.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(06/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
By far one of Chicagolands better brew pubs. The dark beer is outstanding (very smooth). The food is great (the wings are notable). Has both a bar area and a sitdown eating area (with a huge stone fireplace)that does not interfear with each other. You have got to visit if in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Gilkerson Joe Gilkerson, Glenview, IL
(04/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good
Was there on 2/23/02 for drinks and food. Beer was good but the Dunkleweise they have on tap is infected!!!

I hope they take care of this problem soon or there will be problems in the near future.

Food was Great and the bartenders are top notch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leach Leach, Grayslake, IL
(02/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This is easily one of the finest brewpbus in the midwest. Abe's is a very good pale ale, but what I really enjoy is the hand-pulled Amber, which is the second best cask-conditioned ale I've had (next to Bishop's Bitter at Sherlock's Home). This is the starting point of a classic pubcrawl. From here, venture to Mickey Finn's and then finish the night at The Firkin.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew L. Buteyn Matthew L. Buteyn, New Berlin, WI
(01/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
The best in the northern suburbs

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kett Carr Kett Carr, grayslake, IL
(10/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
I found this place by accident. I should have more. The beer, food, and setting are superior. Taste was important to the owners in more than just beer. The fest & wheat beers were sampled on that trip. We ended up with growlers!!! ^..^

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S. Gibson S. Gibson, Kankakee, IL
(07/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Excellent place to watch sports. I tried the 80 Shilling, Dopplebock, aAmerican Pale Ale, and The Irish Stout. The Dopplebock was pretty good, and the Pale hoppy, but thin. The Stout was the most disappointing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Hoover Mike Hoover, Sutherland, VA
(01/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
This was my first visit to Flatlander's so I had to try a sampler. I chose the 80 Schilling, Honest Abes, Harvest Amber, and Stout. In general they were all drinkable, but the only one that stood out was Abe's. In fact since they had this one on Cask, I moved to that next. I was hoping the Stout would have been better, but it is hard to find really good Stouts. The bar room was nice, very large and open with TV's and live music. They also have a large outside patio area, to bad is was raining during my visit. Overall a place I will return to in the future. I am still surprised how hard it is to find better than average beer in the Chicago area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Hoffman Estates, IL
(08/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I enjoyed the 80 Shilling and the Abe's. What makes this place somewhat attractive is that they usually have something on cask, which is always a special treat. Nice barroom and beer garden.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Buteyn Phil Buteyn, Beaver Dam, WI
(04/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
I quaffed seven keg beers and two real ales. The Harvest Amber Ale was complex, well balanced and had a great nose and mouthfeel. The 80 Shilling Ale made me want to go back to Scotland... A clean dry, bitter, and phenolic aftertaste and great kettle carmelization make it a good speciman of an Export 80. Abe's Honest Ale was a nice IPA, very similar to an Anchor Liberty Ale; try this one from the cask. They even had an excellent fruit beer, (hear me out on this one), good enough for me to bring a growler home. Olde Orchard Ale is a Cherry Ale and I am guessing the cherries are still in the serving tank. It actually tasted like cherries with a marriage of the malt (not wheat) sweetness that made it taste like cherry pie or cobbler. As it warmed, I got vanilla notes and laughed because it made me think I had put vanilla ice cream on my cherry pie. It was VERY unique. Try it and email me your thoughts...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Sides Jr Phil Sides Jr, Concord, NH
(09/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Great So So
We went on a Sunday at the tail end of the Brunch. Food had been sitting out for a while. The waitress was very friendly and into beer. Unfortunately all of the beers tasted like they had been cut half and half with tap water. The Honest Abe brew was the best of the lot, but everything else was very disppointing. Food is very pricey here also. I had to make the trip to Mickey Finn's the same afternoon to get some decent beer. Please take the few extra minutes to travel north to Mickey's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(07/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Nice sampler available. It lasted me through my meal. Speaking of the meal, it was great. Menu items range from sandwiches to steak. Arrived at 6pm on a Saturday night and walked right in. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. By 8 pm the wait was 45 min for dinner, so go early! Beers are good, period. Nothing bad and nothing WOW. The place is easy to get and a short hop from the hotels in Rosemont and Northbrook. Travelers who like good beer and food should look this place up. I will be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Christensen Eric Christensen, Plainfield, IL
(04/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
Don't expect to eat right away on the weekends. Very crowded. Beer is ok but I would rather go north about 15 min to Mickey Finn's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Brandenburg Bob Brandenburg, Buffalo Grove, IL
(02/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So So So
The original brewer (Rick) made great beer at Flatlander's, but the current staff makes pretty watery stuff. The food and service are very unattentive, but for whatever reason, the place is always crowded. With all the choices in Chicago, I would avoid Flatlanders. If you must satisfy your curiousity, try the Honest Abe's IPA or something on Cask.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
A pretty large choice of beers, and all are generally ok. The place is really a large restaurant with the brewpub for show. Worth a try, tho.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Brick Mike Brick, Annandale, VA
(12/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Really good beer, seven brews available. The food was a little over-priced, but was very good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Janesville, WI
(11/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is outstanding. Tried as many as my body would allow. The guy in me thought the waitresses were nice to look at as well. ;) I travel a lot and enjoy finding an establishment like this every now and again

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Poore Bill Poore, Cedar Rapids, IA
(11/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So So So So So So So
Mundane, slightly overpriced food. Beer is okay, but not worth a trip. Try Mickey Finns (north 15 min) instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from L Bartelt L Bartelt, Highland Park, IL
(10/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Not as mature as Mickey Finn's and more commercial but worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Prince David Prince, Villa Park, IL
(09/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Beer Garden is fun. Go to the Sunday Brunch. Awesome! Make reservations. Popular spot with music on weekends. All around one of the best you'll go to anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Wiegers Dave Wiegers, Gurnee, IL
(07/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Must see Beer Garden & Bar it is totally relaxing and fun!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harry Buttocks Harry Buttocks, Deerfield, IL
(03/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Hendel Robert Hendel, Riverwoods, IL
(02/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The taproom is a great place to kick back and enjoy a great selection of beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schaumburg, IL
(02/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great beer!! Food out of this world. Hard to get into. Poor parking. Beautiful prairie style building and decorating. If too crowded go North to Mckeee fins (liberty ville) or south to Jimmy's char house @ millwaukee & deerfield rd

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Yael Yael, Northbrook, IL
(01/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anthony Anthony, Chicago, IL
(12/26/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.342 seconds) 12:29:48 54.91.82.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS