PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


75th Street Brewery - Kansas City, MO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 20, 2014 @ 03:05 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MO > Kansas City > 75th Street Brewery
75th Street Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
75th Street Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75.5 / 100
520 West 75th Street
Kansas City, MO 64114
United States
(816) 523-4677
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kansas City, MO
Beer Guide for Missouri

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of 75th Street Brewery
61 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Blue Moose Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

2) Old Chicago
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brookside House
2) Guest Mansion & Limo Svc
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES CONVENTION CENTER
2) AMERISUITES OVERLND PK METCALF
3) CHASE SUITES BY WOODFIN
4) COMFORT INN I-35 SHAWNEE MISSIO
5) COURTYARD KANSAS CITY SOUTH
6) COURTYARD OVERLAND PARK
7) COURTYARD OVERLAND PK-CONV CNTR
8) DAYS INN OVERLAND PARK
9) DRURY INN SUITES OVERLAND PAR
10) EXTENDEDSTAY KANSAS CITY SOUTH
11) EXTENDEDSTAY KC OVERLAND PARK
12) HAMPTON INN KCI/OVERLAND PARK
13) HILTON GARDEN INN OVERLAND PARK
14) HOMESTEAD OVERLAND PARK
15) MARRIOTT OVERLAND PARK
16) OAKWOOD TOWN CENTER
17) OVERLAND PARK S KC AREA
18) PEAR TREE INN K.C. BY DRURY
19) RED ROOF KANSAS CITY OVERLAND
20) SHERATON OVERLAND PARK HOTEL
21) WYNDHAM GARDEN OVERLAND PARK
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bixby, Walter E., House
2) Corrigan, Bernard, House
3) Horn--Vincent--Russell Estate
4) House at 5011 Sunset Drive
5) Majors, Alexander, House
6) Santa Fe Trail--Minor Park, Kansas City, Trail Segments
7) St. Teresa's Academy Music and Arts Building
8) Van Noy, Ira C. and Charles S., Houses
9) Voigts, Herman J. and Ella B., House
10) Waldo Water Tower
11) Ward, Seth E., Homestead
12) Wolcott House
13) Wornall House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) All About Catering Inc
2) America's Best Barbecue Inc
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) B B's Lawnside Bar-B-Que
5) Bar Roma
6) Baskin-Robbins
7) Berliner Bear Inc German
8) Bobby Baker's Lounge
9) Bodyworks Phase II Nightclub
10) Chelly's Cafe
11) China King
12) China Kitchen Ii
13) China Spring
14) China Taste Express
15) Chinese Gourmet Express
16) Chop Stick Restaurant
17) Church's Chicken
18) Coach's Bar & Grill
19) Coffeebar Catering Co
20) Couzins Catfish
21) Creekside Pub & Grille
22) Culver's Of Kansas City
23) Dairy Queen
24) Deangelo's Lounge
25) Domino's Pizza
26) Ebt
27) Einstein Brothers Bagels
28) Einstein Catering
29) Far Eastern Oriental Foods
30) Fin & Flos
31) Freddy T's
32) Fuzzy's Sports Bar & Grill
33) G's Jamaican Cuisine
34) Gates & Sons Bar-B-Q
35) Gates & Sons Bar-B-Q
36) Georgia's Greek Restaurant
37) Gomer's Fried Chicken
38) Grace A Bistro On The Edge
39) Grand Saloon
40) Guadalajara Cafe
41) Happy Dragon
42) Hardee's
43) Houlihan's Restaurants Inc
44) Inge's Lounge
45) Jake Edwards Bar-B-Que
46) Jasper's Restaurant
47) Jenny's Place
48) Kabob House
49) Kfc
50) Kokoro Express
51) Lew's Grill & Bar
52) Lobster Pot Seafood Buffet
53) Look At The Bright Side
54) Louisiana Swamp Men
55) Maq Donald House
56) Marco Polo's Italian Market
57) Max's Autodiner
58) Mc Donald's
59) Mc Donald's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Mc Donald's
62) Mr Goodcents Subs & Pastas
63) Mug Shots Bar & Grill
64) New China King
65) Orange Julius
66) Oriental Express
67) Original Greek Restaurant
68) P J's Bistro
69) P T Catering
70) Papa John's Pizza
71) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
72) Parkway Cafe
73) Patrikio's Restaurant
74) Petra Cafe
75) Pizza Hut
76) Planet Sub
77) Planet Sub Catering
78) Pockets
79) Polk-A-Dot Lounge
80) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
81) Princess Garden Restaurant
82) Quiznos Sub
83) Quiznos Sub
84) Red Snapper
85) River's Edge Cafe & Bar
86) Rosati's Pizza
87) Sbarro
88) Shar J's Catering & Delicious
89) Smoke Stack Bar-B-Q
90) Sonic Drive-In
91) Sonic Drive-In
92) Sonic Drive-In
93) Starbucks
94) Stroud's Restaurant
95) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
98) Suzi's
99) Sweet'z N Eat'z Deli
100) Taco Bell
101) Tasso's Greek Restaurant
102) Tgi Friday's
103) Tommy Farha Cafe & Bar
104) Torre's Pizzeria
105) Village Lounge
106) Waid's Restaurant
107) Waiters On Wheels
108) Waldo Bar
109) Walsh's Corner Cocktail
110) Wendy's
111) Wendy's
112) Wing Star
113) Wonderful Wanda's Cafe
114) Wylie's Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
This place is going down hill. The fireman should have let it burn. Been about 4-5 years since last visit. Tried a few beers, none very good. The brown tasted like old homebrew,the IPA was a very weak pale ale. Food was OK. Kansas City needs a GOOD BREWERY and not a chain brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gman Gman, Kansas City, MO
(11/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Very good beer. We tried several and all were tasty. Wait staff friendly and helpful. We had several appetizers and all were great. We would definately go back. My only problem was signage. We drove past it the first time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(08/13/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good So So
Asked for an IPA, but they didn't have it pouring. Guy told me to try their American Pale Ale, that it was very similar. IT WAS TERRIBLE. Skunky and warm, partially flat. Tried the Irish Amber, sucked. Tried the Oktoberfest, suckiest suck that ever sucked a suck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Racine, WI
(10/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This place is really coming around. The new brewer, Nick, is trying some new things. Lots of Abbey Ales, triples and others. They're bottling some special reserve styles that are good. My only complaint is that they don't have a good line on hops with the shortage and are don't always have their IPA on because of it. I hope when the hop shortage is over, they have it back on regularly, as it's one of their best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Nelson Tim Nelson, Overland Park, KS
(01/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy Good
Nice environment with a neighborhood bar feel, though on a large scale. A lot of regulars at the bar adding local color with their personalized mugs. The beer was fresh, unfaulted, and generally interesting and during our trip the selection was quite diverse, owing as it was their 14th anniversary. The Belgian pale was what Fat Tire should be: caramel colored, malty, not too sweet. The Belgian wit was also tasty, though filtered, with an interesting spice profile (and not served with a gob of fruit in it). While the bar trons were down to earth and polite, they were slow slow slow and terribly preoccupied. Even the locals were getting pissed off. One major complaint is that the staff is not trained to pour beer properly, it was really disgraceful. Short pours abounded and the stout on nitrogen poured in 30 seconds. 75th street advertises itself as the only place in K.C. selling cask ale. We tried the cask IPA and enjoyed it's fresh hoppines, then watched the brewer roll a regular keg out of the brewhouse and attach it to the handpump - what?! This was after watching one of the bartenders pump it like a car jack with the pint glass held 4 inches below the nozzle. The place packs out for dinner, but even when the customers were few, the service was bad. The menu is more diverse than a lot of brewpubs, with vegetarian selections. The steak fries rocked but the eggplant and mushroom sandwich was a disaster while the organic buffalo burger was well prepared, though just so-so overall. An OK place to get out of a rainstorm and enjoy a couple of beers, though make sure to go during happy hour for the cheaper beer prices, and skirt the lunch and dinner rushes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monica Monica, Lincoln, NE
(10/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
Nice environment with a neighborhood bar feel, though on a large scale. A lot of regulars at the bar adding local color with their personalized mugs. The beer was fresh, unfaulted, and generally interesting and during our trip the selection was quite diverse, owing as it was their 14th anniversary. The Belgian pale was what Fat Tire should be: caramel colored, malty, not too sweet. The Belgian wit was also tasty, though filtered, with an interesting spice profile (and not served with a gob of fruit in it). While the bar trons were down to earth and polite, they were slow slow slow and terribly preoccupied. Even the locals were getting pissed off. One major complaint is that the staff is not trained to poor beer properly, it was really disgraceful. Short pours abounded and the stout on nitrogen poured in 30 seconds. 75th street advertises itself as the only place in K.C. selling cask ale. We tried the cask I.P.A. and enjoyed it's fresh hoppines, then watched the brewer roll a regular keg out of the brewhouse and attach it to the handpump - what?! This was after watching one of the bartenders pump it like a bicycle pump with the pint glass held 4 inches below the nozzle. The place packs out for dinner, but even when the customers were few, the service was bad. The menu is more diverse than a lot of brewpubs, with vegetarian selections. The steak fries rocked but the eggplant and mushroom sandwich was a disaster while the organic buffalo burger was well prepared, though just so-so overall. An O.K. place to get out of a rainstorm and enjoy a couple of beers, though make sure to go during happy hour for the cheaper beer prices, and skirt the lunch and dinner rushes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monica Monica, Lincoln, NE
(08/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Was in town on business and stopped in for a beer after dinner. Had the Mighty Mo' Stout - it was outstanding. Great balance of roastiness, sweetness and hops. Nicely done. Great atmosphere as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(05/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Andrew, you're must've be hard to please. I've been going to 75th for years, and to say the servers are snooty? At 75th? They're anything BUT. It's as laid back as it comes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Nelson Tim Nelson, Overland Park, KS
(05/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Lousy N/A
Went there for the first time since the fire. Never really went there that much before, even though I live down the street because every time I go, the service is underwhelming.

The guy who seatued us pretty much insulted us upon arrival, and our server was quite snooty. Plus, the food didn't even come with what it said it would on the menu. Maybe they're having trouble since it just opened back up.

Good luck, I won't be back unless someone else I'm going out with begs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from andrew andrew, kansas city, MO
(03/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
stopped by for a beer with my friend who was already a regular about 10 years ago and i haven't left yet hahaha. great place to learn about beer and the entire brewing process because the brewhaus is right behind you as you stand or sit at the bar. the brewers have always been ready to answer any questions and the regulars there have kept me coming back and eventually turned me into one. gooble gobble one of us. i've seen alot of comments on the ventilation and it has been updated,there is now a smoke eater right by the bar so it is a thousand times better. the brown is excellent as is the ipa i have not had the stout in a month or so, good when i had it though. the brewery is closed for a short time though because a nearby establishment kennedy's in the same building caught fire and burnt to the ground on the 15th so 75th st closed to clean up smoke damaqge and will be open very soon , but not soon enough for me. hope to see you there, cheers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from scotty [fish] copeland scotty [fish] copeland, kansas city, MO
(02/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
WE got the six pack sampler and was well pleased with the brown, IPA(an English style), the wheat and blackberry wheat. Also the had a very good pumpkin wheat. WE had a 12" pizza and were well pleased with that as well. Our waitress suggested trying a mix of the brown and pumpkin beers and it was tasty. Then I had a mix of the pumpkin and IPA beers also very tasty. Overall from the brewpubs I visited in the KC area this is the best one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Moline, IL
(11/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So So So
I have frequented this place and one of it's sister establishments, Barleys Brew Haus quite often. I find the beer to be the only thing consistent. Service is generally slow and of spotty consistency. Food quality can range from great to awful...don't try the fish and chips...soggy and cold. Ventilation is horrible. You smell like smoke even after sitting in the non smoking section. Two of us belong to the mug club, and they have managed to misplace both of our mugs! This could be a great bar if KC Hopps would focus on service and food consistency to complement the excellent beers they produce.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Overland Park, KS
(12/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Nice establishment. The food was great. Service was a little slow, but they were pretty busy. The beer was pretty good. I gave it a "great" rating but I feel it was between great and good.

The wheat and raspberry wheat were both pretty nice - same beer, one with raspberry extract added. More yeast characteristic in the brew would be helpful.

The new Irish Red was a little too hoppy for the style, but enjoyable.

The IPA claimed it was "English" style, but clearly they used american hops. Cask-IPA was better than the kegged version, but was just that, a cask-conditioned version of the same beer.

The Brown Ale was pretty good (if not quite sweet enough in my opinion).

The Oatmeal Stout was great. Silky smooth with just the right balance of bitterness-to-sweetness. I think this was their best brew (and I don't normally drink oatmeal-stouts). The Dry Stout was not available when I was there.

All in all, I liked the place. I would have liked to see a pale ale of some sort other than IPA. I think jumping from a wheat and red to IPA in hop intensity is a bad idea. They need something to buffer the gap. If you're in KC, it'a worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Poole Aaron Poole, Murphysboro, IL
(11/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great
Excellent Beers, Some of the Best Ales I have had in any Brew pub. IPA was cask conditioned and Awesome, my favorite by far. Very Good English style Brown Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Diehl Mark Diehl, Plano, TX
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
The mediterranean pasta and brown ale are each excellent. It's a bit bar'ish. WOuld take kids there, but really enjoyed it. A great watering hole for after the game. GO see the Truman Library while nearby!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Preston Hill Preston Hill, Huntsville, AL, AL
(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Bar was dark and dirty with small and few TVs for sports viewing. Beer was good, but I wouldn't go out of my way for this place

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Madison, WI
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Good
Dropped by for a Saturday lunch with a group. The beers are quite good. The Hoppapotamus Ale was very hoppy (natch) and bold, interesting concoction, 7.5/10. The Good Hope Ale a good job, balanced, well-hopped with very pleasant flavor, 7.5/10. Brown Ale also well done, smooth, good flavor, balanced, 7.5/10. The food was less positive, with soggy, mediocre fish and chips. Ordered a basket of 'pub chips', turned out to be.... potato chips. Kinda misleading and disappointing for a place trying to put on British pub airs ("Chips" in the UK are what we call french fries. What we call potato chips are called "crisps" over there). Overall, this is a fun place, with a top notch brewer that would be a home run if it paid as much attention to the food as it obviously does to the beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Overland Park, KS
(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped by for lunch (twice!) I had the cask conditioned IPA,a Stout and an "experimental" APA, late hop additions for a real nice hop nose. Overall very good food, nice selection of very good beer. (I didn't go to the bathroom but my wife did no complaints!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Medina, OH
(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I didn't get the tall, skinny chick for a server at the bar so the night started out well.

Unfortunately the cask engine was broken so no cask beers that night.

The Brown was very dark and a little bitter with a touch of acetyl at the end. A passable beer.

The Pale Ale looked and tasted like an IPA but with a little less hop taste. This was a good, well-balance beer.

Dortmunder-I don't drink many of these as you rarely see them brewed. It was golden, slightly hazy, but very malty with a touch of spice. Very nice, full-bodied beer.

The pizza was very good. 75th St. still seems to be consistent with the beer and food.

It was a major smokefest at the bar though with inadequate ventilation. I stunk of smoke after leaving. I guess you pays your money.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
I have had the raspberry wheat beer before, and it's fantastic. But after reading the reviews on this page I almost didn't go. I was really happy with this place. Did the sampler, and unfortunately they were out of Muddy Mo Stout, in it's place was a Dry Stout that was quite good.They had about 10 beers on draft including a kolsch, special pilsner, and the Irish Ale. Their Irish Ale won at the Great American Beer Festival last year- and for good reason. It's spectacular, best Irish Ale I have ever had bar none. The food was wonderful, the service was good, and when we were there the bathrooms were really clean.

Don't let the previous reviews scare you off- great brewery. Next time I am in KC, I'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
I've been going here for some time (and I live 200 miles from Kansas City) and like the brewery. I never go to a real brewpub for the food..focMichaelus on the beer..isn't that why we go? Bartender Mike is great at what he does... look for him

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, omaha, NE
(08/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
The beer was hot, the bathrooms dirty and the bartender and manager had major attitudes..WILL NOT RETURN...doubt if they stay open with this attention to details

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Satory Dave Satory, Las Vegas, NV
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Went on a day when it was 95F outside-the A/C was not working properly and it was very warm in the bar area. Beers; Cask brown-a little light on mouthfeel, but very tasty and served at the proper temp.

Hefeweizen-well done-tasted great in a hot bar.

IPA-very good. Hopped well but good balance and very drinkable.

The pizza was good-especially at happy hour prices.

The bartender had a crappy attitude-and her tip reflected it.

This place continues to have a great combination of beer and food. Now let's get the A/C fixed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(07/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Cold Food...terrible service...dirty bathrooms

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from B. Selleck B. Selleck, Fort Worth, TX
(07/04/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.468 seconds) 03:05:22 54.166.95.146, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS