PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hoppers Grille and Brewery - Palm Harbor, FL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 10:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > FL > Palm Harbor > Hoppers Grille and Brewery
Hoppers Grille and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hoppers Grille and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79.5 / 100
36221 East Lake Road
Palm Harbor, FL 34685
United States
(727) 786-2966
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: February 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Palm Harbor, FL
Beer Guide for Florida

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hoppers Grille and Brewery
20 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Hoppers Pub and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Lagerhaus Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Saint Somewhere Brewing Company
(2 miles)

4) Palm Harbor Ale House
(3 miles)

5) Old Chicago
(3 miles)

6) Oldsmar Tap House
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bavarian Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN PALM HARBOR HOTEL
2) DAYS INN TARPON SPRG CLEARWAT
2) DAYS INN TARPON SPRG CLEARWAT
3) KNIGHTS INN PALM HARBOR
3) KNIGHTS INN PALM HARBOR
4) OAKWOOD NORTHWEST TAMPA
4) OAKWOOD NORTHWEST TAMPA
5) RED ROOF INN
5) RED ROOF INN
6) THE WESTIN INNISBROOK
6) THE WESTIN INNISBROOK
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Arcade Hotel
2) Arfaras, N. G., Sponge Packing House
3) DUCHESS (Sponge Hooking Boat)
4) GEORGE N. CRETEKOS (Sponge Diving Boat)
5) Meres, E. R., Sponge Packing House
6) N.K. SYMI (Sponge Diving Boat)
7) Safford House
8) ST. NICHOLAS III (Sponge Diving Boat)
9) ST. NICHOLAS VI (Sponge Diving Boat)
10) Tarpon Springs City Hall, Old
11) Tarpon Springs High School, Old
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) ABC Pizza
2) Angel's Market Coffee Shop
3) Archie's Kitchen Table
4) Bangkok Express Tour
5) Blimpie & Smoothie Island
6) Blimpie Subs & Salads
7) Bread & Butter Gourmet Deli
8) Bridge Cafe
9) Brooker Creek Grille
10) Brooklyn Boys Pizza
11) Bruschetta's
12) Captin Jacks Sunset Grill
13) China One
14) China Wok
15) Church's Chicken
16) Cielito Lindo Mexican Rstrnt
17) Cravings
18) Cta Restaurants
19) D & R Pub
20) Dream Of Cuba
21) Eagles's Nest Lounge
22) Express Stop Inc
23) Fairway Pizza
24) Finish Line Subs
25) Godfather's Pizza
26) Greek Pizza Kitchen
27) Griddlo Restaurant
28) Happy Greek
29) Hellas Cafe
30) Hellas Restaurant
31) Hoppers Pub & Grill
32) Kfc
33) Larry's Old Fashioned Ice Crm
34) Lazaros Coffee Shop
35) Lighthouse Coffee
36) Limani
37) Line & Coconut Grill
38) Little Caesars Pizza
39) Louis Pappas Market Cafe
40) Mac Sub V
41) Mc Donald's
42) Mixer Bar & Grill
43) Muzzie's Ice Cream & Sandwich
44) New Wok Inc
45) Nick's Pizza & Seafood
46) Papa John's Pizza
47) Pepsi-Cola Distribution Ctr
48) Piscasso's Palate
49) Pizza Hut
50) R K Khodian Ent
51) Ritter's Frozen Custard
52) Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill
53) Sakura Sushi
54) San's Pizzeria
55) Scalawags Grill House
56) Shades Bar
57) Snookers Grill
58) Sports Bar
59) Starbucks
60) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
61) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
62) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
63) Sweeties Inc
64) T J's Pour House
65) Takee Outeee Of East Lake
66) Tarpon Woods Restaurant Corp
67) Trolley Stop Ice Cream Shop
68) Udder Delights
69) Wendy's
70) Yiannis
71) Zante Cafe Neo
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hoppers is gone....almost, sadly. The beer was great for florida where geriatrics and microbrews barely coexist. The trip up a road called McMullen booth would expose you to 3 different Hoppers. All that remains is the Trinity location and no more house beers. The owner was transporting beer across county lines from one brewed local to another, didn't set well with the ATF crew. Thank goodness for Dunedin Microbrews to save the suncoast from a drought. Marty- Tarpon Springs FL

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tarpon Springs, FL
(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
As fo this writing,the place is closed for remodeling with a new owner taking over. Will probably change the name too. Too bad...seems Hopper's has had a problem with the managers at other facilities, too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BC BC, Tampa, FL
(01/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Good Great So So
Went in last night based on the many positive recommendations here. Our waitress informed us that the owner had lost his brewing license and that they would no longer be carrying any of their own micro-brewed beers. They had a small selection of other more mainstream micros on tap and a few kegs leftover of their own beer. Wasn't crowded at all at 10PM (probably due to the above).

Sort of disappointing given all the positive ratings we read.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Field Steven Field, Holiday, FL
(11/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This Hoppers was the surprise of my "Hit every brewpub in Florida" vacation. We happened to come across this treasure while traveling between two other brewpubs, and it was totally unexpected. There were 12 of their own brews and the ones we sampled were awesome. I tried a sample of the berry Lambic (Razzberry or Wildberry?) and ended up drinking three more, just awesome. The place was packed, we grabbed the last two seats at the bar. The bartender was the best, informative, friendly and efficient. He told us the other area Hoppers locations so we could add them to our "must visit" list. The food was very good too, my salad was very fresh and my father enjoyed his sandwich. Service was fast and good considering that it was a full house. Don't miss this one!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from melissa melissa, Indianapolis, IN
(03/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Bohemian Pilsner and Brown Ale were terrific. Large menu for brewpub. Service was very friendly and informative.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken H Ken H, Seminole, FL
(07/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The ribs were fantastic and Jennifer was

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jeff Pearl, Miami, FL
(02/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I was in Hoppers on a Saturday afternoon. Nice place with a helpfull and attentaive staff. I had the Cattail Pale and the Royal Bohemian Pils, both excelent beers. Well worth the trip if in the Tampa area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bealeton, VA
(02/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
I visited this pub for the first time last week. I was impressed by the beer selection. They had twelve of their own beers on tap, another 15+ other brands on tap and a handful of bottled beers as well. The guest taps were mostly mainstream brews, but there were a few interesting ones including Sierra Nevada Pale, Spaten Optimator, Youngs Chocolate Stout and Leffe.

I stopped in at lunch time. The bar area was empty, but the dining area was fairly full. I took a seat at the bar. From the beginning of my visit until the time I left, I had good service. Two different ladies kept checking on me. I didn't find any of the bad service that some have encountered. I had a Reuben sandwich with a side of beans and rice. My meal arrived quickly and was very good. Now on to the beer...

The selection of their own beers was impressive. It covered a wide variety of styles and strengths. The beers on tap included a pale ale, bock, two pilsners, weizen, schwarz, fruit lambic, several strong beers and some others that I can't remember. I wanted to try several so I was VERY happy to find that Hoppers sells tasters.

The first beer I tasted was the Magnum 44. It was a 44 proof (22abv) beer served from a beer engine! It was at room temp and had little to no carbonation. It was clear gold in color with an interesting fruitiness, mild bitterness and some heat from the alcohol. It was fairly dry considering it's strength. The fruitiness seemed familiar, but I couldn't put my finger on it. Maybe a mead-like fruitiness? It's possible that it might not have been an all malt beer. The fruitiness could have come from the yeast or from whatever the beer was aged in. I asked my server how it was made, but she said the only thing she knew about it was that it had been aged for seven months. This mysterious beer was surprisingly smooth and I was very happy to have the opportunity to taste it. The next beer I sampled was the dunkle bock. It was described as an Austrian style bock. I thought this malty bock was well-made and very tasty. (I should have tasted this before the Magnum...) The third taster was the Cat Tail Pale Ale. I would classify it as a well-balanced India Pale Ale. I really liked the balance of malt with the hop bitterness, flavor and aroma. The forth was a strong (12abv)Christmas beer (Blitzen?). I'm not sure what style of beer this was, but it reminded me of a Wheatwine I once had. This excellent beer was smooth, creamy, malty and had a thick head. For my last taster, I tried the Lambic. It was made with blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. If you're expecting a traditional, acidic, sour lambic, you'll be disappointed. However, that doesn't mean that this is a bad beer. It starts off with abundant sweet berry flavors and fades to a pleasant, tart finish. I didn't dectect the alcohol at all. All in all this was a tasty, refreshing fruit beer.

I would love to re-visit this pub and try the other beers I missed. I commend the brewer on the variety of beers brewed. I love a pub that experiments and surprises me along with producing excellent more common beer styles. Keep up the great work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kev Kev, Lake Park, GA
(12/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Hopper's is in a strip mall on East Lake Road. I went for lunch and it was quiet and comfortable. They had 10 beers on tap. Old Porch Dog was a roasty and bitter brown ale. Flying Gator was an outstanding English strong ale. It was intensely malty. The Helm's Dunkler was a dark and sweet bock. This was one of the best beers that I have ever had. I congatulate Hopper's for brewing a Wild Berry Lambic. This style is one that I rarely see. At 11%, and very sweet, it is well worth trying. I love brewpubs that have guest taps. Hopper's had several well chosen taps including Leffe Blond and Young's Double Chocolate. This place also has great food. I had a tuna steak sandwich, cooked perfectly to a medium rare, with dill mayo. Go to this place, you'll leave with a big smile on your face.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Holl Doug Holl, Atlanta, GA
(12/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Had a great time. Just got into homebrewing myself and my supply guys told me about Hoppers. 2 words - thi splace was really a cool place to go to and have beer and a meal. See?? The sampler was really good, but the girl needed to get her prices straight. Wait staff is so so, no major problems, but I would definetly go again, and you are stupid if you think you can get a good Philly steak ( i hate evn calling it that) anywhere outside Philly ( Pat's..or anywhere else in Philly.), but the place is good, try it out once at least.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Holiday, FL
(11/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy Lousy
I live down the street and let me enlighten you...the philly cheesesteak is awesome, also the red rice and beans and a few other sandwich's (Don't order dinners or specials). But...The service SUCKS! They have a bunch of incompetent, ill-mannered, dizzy girls running around! If you want to spend most of your time picking your ass waiting, by all means stop by, The good service reviews on this site are from their friends...so don't believe everything you read! And let me tell ya..the other location near the corner of Tampa RD and East-lake Rd...Is 10X worse! Do yourself a favor - order a cheesestaek over the phone, run in, get 1 beer, then DON'T TIP these assholes and split!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Palm Harbor, FL
(11/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy Good
This place is out of the way from all of the other sites to see in the Tampa Bay area. I have to admit that the drive was worth it from the point of view of the beers they had on tap. They were definitely some of the finest beers I've sampled, though I would still rate TBBC the best in the area. The down side to this place was the service. It sucked!!! I literally sat at the bar for 14 minutes while upteen staff walked right by me without asking for an order. This was especially true for a blonde overweight barman who appeared more interested in doing everything else, but serve beer. When one patron asked him for something he totally ignored them even though it was evident that he heard them. Finally a nice young lady, who was obviously waiting on tables, took my beer and food order. Unfortunately, because she was primarily waiting tables, she got back to me too infrequently. The entire staff was more concerned about counting tips, smoking cigs, and chatting then taking care of business. AS I said above the beer was excellent, kudos to the brewmaster, and the variety of styles was impressive, BUT get some new help. I doubt I will return. At TBBC they are friendly, service/customer oriented, and the beer is the best in the Tampa Bay area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Bieri Gregg Bieri, Bailey, CO
(02/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
The proper name of this brewpub is Hoppers Grille & Brewery. Brewmaster Franz Rothschadl does wonders making both lagers and ales in his petite 3-barrel system. I wandered in on a packed Friday night to discover 15 homemade brews on tap, some 20 guest taps, and a soon-to-be released Christmas Lager fermenting. I particularly enjoyed the Cat Tail Pale Ale, Old Porch Dog, Helm's Dunkel and Fischer Heller Bock. Whatever style you like, Franz can make it and likely has at one time or another. You probably need to be making a trip to Palm Harbor to find yourself there, but it's not really all that far from the northwest side of Tampa - so make the trip - and it's not too far from Dunedin Microbrewery either. Hoppers is an oasis in the relatively spartan brewing landscape of the south west coast of Florida. If only I lived closer! --- Keep up with Southern Brewing at BeerSouth.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rutledge Tom Rutledge, Knoxville, TN
(12/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
On a return trip to Brooker Creek I met the brewmaster and he let me sample some of the lagers and pilsners. To my surprise there was a pilsner called Helm's Pils that tasted very much like something you'd find on the draft at a local restaurant in lets say Berlin. The Bohemian Pilsner has won awards and is more like a Czech Pilsner. The Octoberfest which is seasonal was outstanding and my favorite. I like the standard cat-tail pale ale which is normally one of their regular hand crafted beers always available. A great brew pub that will surprise you! Food is good also. If they went to a smoke free environment it would be the ultimate brewery tasting experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, St. Petersburg, FL
(11/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
I've been going to brooker creek over the years and it has gotten better. They enlarged their brewing capabilities and now there's a ton of beers to select that are made on site. I like the pale ales and brown ales. I have never had their stout, would like to see and taste some. Lots of lagers but I have not yet tasted a pilsner/lager that reminds of anything I've had in germany from the tap? I like this place a lot and I also frequent the tampa bay brewing company. One thing I would change at brooker creek-ventilation, when someone lights up a cigarette there's no way to get away from it. At Tampa Bay Brewing you have more sq footage and the smokers don't get in the way of the real beer tasting experience. I'll keep coming back to Brooker but will have to throw my clothing into the wash when I get home to get rid of the smoke that's permeated my clothing. I am thankful that Brooker is brewing and serving great beer and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, St. Petersburg, FL
(10/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Kind of a unique selection, a bit off-the-beaten-trail. Many German, Belgian, and Austrian styles on their list when I was there. And I stumbled out satisfied! Top shelf...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johnny B Johnny B, Boston, MA
(09/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Well out of the way from the Tampa St Pete area, but worth it if you love good beer. They carry their own beers and tons of other taps. The original brewer is now the brewer/owner of Tampa Bay Brewing (Florida's best place) so Brooker's has some excellent roots.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(01/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great selection of beer and food. Only local brew-pub with over a 100 selections. Micro selection and home brew is outstanding. Watched this place grow in notarity for the past 13 years. More than meets their moto of "Life is too short to drink cheap beer!"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Watson Jim Watson, Safety Harbor, FL
(06/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The best brew-pub in the Tampa Bay area. The brew-master, Franz(sp?), is great and will answer any questions about how each of the beers is made. They have a lot of food choices on their menu as well and everything that I've had has been wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Dean David Dean, Tampa, FL
(05/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
Bad lighting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tampa, FL
(04/10/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.404 seconds) 10:45:57 54.83.236.56, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS