PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pittsburgh Brewing Company - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 06:23 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Pittsburgh Brewing Company
Pittsburgh Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Pittsburgh Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 69.2 / 100
3340 Liberty Avenue
Pittsburgh , PA 15201
United States
(412) 682-7400
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: July 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Pittsburgh Brewing Company
29 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
Pittsburgh brewing institution moving east


alternatives
(69 within 5 miles)
1) New Amsterdam
(0 mile)

2) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

3) The Church Brew Works
(0 mile)

4) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(1 mile)

5) Brillobox
(1 mile)

6) Lot 17
(1 mile)

7) Bites and Brews
(2 miles)

8) Harris Grill
(2 miles)

9) Pittsburgh Deli Company
(2 miles)

10) Casbah Mediterranean Kitchen and Wine Bar
(2 miles)

11) Point Brugge Cafe
(2 miles)

12) Red Room Cafe and Lounge
(2 miles)

13) Kelly's Bar and Lounge
(2 miles)

14) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

15) Salt of the Earth
(2 miles)

16) Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
(2 miles)

17) Fuel and Fuddle
(2 miles)

18) India Garden
(2 miles)

19) Aspinwall Grille
(2 miles)

20) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

21) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

22) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

23) Eleven
(2 miles)

24) Gooski's
(2 miles)

25) Meat and Potatoes
(2 miles)

26) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(3 miles)

27) Cioppino
(3 miles)

28) Gene's Last Chance
(3 miles)

29) Six Penn Kitchen
(3 miles)

30) Market Street Ale House
(3 miles)

31) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(3 miles)

32) Roland's Seafood Grill
(3 miles)

33) Kaya
(3 miles)

34) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(3 miles)

35) The Parlour
(3 miles)

36) Bru Lounge
(3 miles)

37) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(3 miles)

38) Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
(3 miles)

39) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(3 miles)

40) Finnigan's Wake
(3 miles)

41) Monterey Pub
(3 miles)

42) East End Brewing Company
(3 miles)

43) Bangkok Balcony
(3 miles)

44) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Restaurant
(3 miles)

45) Squirrel Hill Cafe aka The Cage
(3 miles)

46) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(4 miles)

47) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

48) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

49) S Bar
(4 miles)

50) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

51) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

52) UUBU6
(4 miles)

53) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

54) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

55) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

56) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

57) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

58) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

59) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

60) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

61) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

62) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(4 miles)

63) Grandview Saloon
(5 miles)

64) Packs and Dogs
(5 miles)

65) D's Six Packs and Dogz
(5 miles)

66) The Map Room
(5 miles)

67) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

68) Burgatory Bar
(6 miles)

69) Beer Nutz Bottle Shop
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Appletree Bed & Breakfast
2) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
3) Le Domanine
4) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
5) Priory Inn
6) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
2) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
3) HILTON PITTSBURGH
4) MORNING GLORY INN
5) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
6) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
7) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
8) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
9) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
10) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
11) THE PRIORY HOTEL
12) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Allerdice, Taylor, High School
6) Alpha Terrace Historic District
7) Armstrong Tunnel
8) Armstrong Tunnel
9) Arsenal Junior High School
10) Baxter High School
11) Bayard School
12) Bedford School
13) Beechwood Elementary School
14) Beltzhoover Elementary School
15) Bindley Hardware Company Building
16) Birmingham Public School
17) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
18) Bost Building
19) Bridge in Shaler Township
20) Buhl Building
21) Burke Building
22) Butler Street Gatehouse
23) Byers-Lyons House
24) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
25) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
26) Colfax Elementary School
27) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
28) Conroy Junior High School
29) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
30) Dilworth Elementary School
31) Dollar Savings Bank
32) Duquesne Incline
33) East Liberty Market
34) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
35) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
36) Evergreen Hamlet
37) Ewart Building
38) Fifth Avenue High School
39) Firstside Historic District
40) Fort Pitt Elementary School
41) Fortieth Street Bridge
42) Foster School
43) Frick Building and Annex
44) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
45) Fulton Building
46) Fulton Elementary School
47) Gardner-Bailey House
48) Greenfield Elementary School
49) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
50) Heathside Cottage
51) Henderson-Metz House
52) Highland Building
53) Highland Towers Apartments
54) Hoene-Werle House
55) Homestead High-Level Bridge
56) Homestead Pennsylvania Railroad Station
57) House at 200 West North Avenue
58) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
59) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
60) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
61) Hunt Armory
62) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
63) Knoxville Junior High School
64) Larimer School
65) Latimer School
66) Lawrence Public School
67) Lemington Elementary School
68) Letsche Elementary School
69) Liberty Bridge
70) Liberty School No. 4, Friendship Building
71) Lightner, Isaac, House
72) Lincoln Elementary School
73) Linden Avenue School
74) Longfellow School
75) Madison Elementary School
76) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
77) McCleary Elementary School
78) Monongahela Incline
79) Moreland-Hoffstot House
80) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
81) Ninth Street Bridge
82) Oakland Public School
83) Old Heidelberg Apartments
84) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
85) Park Place School
86) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
87) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
88) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
89) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
90) Perry High School
91) Phipps Conservatory
92) Phipps--McElveen Building
93) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
94) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
95) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
96) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
97) Rodef Shalom Temple
98) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
99) Schenley High School
100) Schiller Elementary School
101) Scott, James, House
102) Sellers House
103) Seventh Street Bridge
104) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
105) Singer, John F., House
106) Sixteenth Street Bridge
107) Sixth Street Bridge
108) Smithfield Street Bridge
109) Snyder, William Penn, House
110) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
111) South Side High School
112) South Side Market Building
113) South Tenth Street Bridge
114) Springfield Public School
115) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
116) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
117) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
118) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
119) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
120) Sterrett Sub-District School
121) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
122) Union Trust Building
123) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
124) Washington Vocational School
125) Westinghouse High School
126) Whitehill-- Gleason Motors
127) Wightman School
128) William Penn Hotel
129) Woods, John, House
130) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Lounge
2) Abay Ethiopian Cuisine
3) Adrian's Pizza
4) Alexander's Pasta Express
5) Angelo's Pizzeria
6) Anna Misiaszek
7) Anthon's Restaurant & Bakery
8) Armand's Bar
9) Arsenal Public House
10) Atria's Restaurant & Tavern
11) Avanti Uno
12) Bar Millvale
13) Barbs Country Kitchen
14) Baum Vivant
15) Bellini Mediterranean Cuisine
16) Bikki
17) Bill's Tavern
18) Bloomfield Distributing Co
19) Bloomfield Sandwich Shop
20) Boo's Inc
21) Boston Market
22) Bottles Pub
23) Break-N-Eat Ind Caterers
24) Buffalo Blues
25) Burger King
26) Cafe Bellas
27) Cafe Sam
28) Cafe Soiree
29) Cafe Zinho
30) Calabria's Italian Restaurant
31) Candlelight Lounge Inc
32) Cappy's Cafe'
33) Capri Pizza
34) Casbah
35) Charlie Bly's Tavern
36) Charlie's
37) China House
38) China Inn
39) China Lin
40) China Palace Chinese Rstrnt
41) Cignas' Restaurant & Lounge
42) City Cafe
43) Club Havana
44) Coca Coffee Lounge
45) Coffee Tree Roasters
46) Coge Inc
47) Common Grounds Coffee House
48) Copper Pot Catering
49) Coyote Cafe
50) Cozumel
51) Cracker Barrel
52) Crazy Cones Ice Cream
53) Crepes Parisiennes
54) Cump's Super Sub
55) Damico's Place
56) De More's Pizza
57) Del's Bar & Restaurant
58) Dinette
59) Doc's Place
60) Dockside Cafe
61) Domino's Pizza
62) Duranti's Park Plaza Rstrnt
63) Eddie's Restaurant
64) El Dolce Cafe
65) Elbow Room
66) Enrico Biscotti Co
67) Ernies Diner
68) Fajita Grill
69) Flash's Ii
70) Flora's Grill & Grocery
71) Flora's Restaurant & Catering
72) Foundry Aleworks Inc
73) Frank's Pizza Shop
74) Frankie's Extra Long
75) G M Dog'n Burger Shoppe
76) Gator's Saloon
77) Gene's Last Chance
78) Geno's Restaurant and Big Belly Deli
79) Girasole
80) Girasole
81) Good Time Bar
82) Gran Canal Caffe
83) Grant Bar Inc
84) Graziano's Pizzeria
85) Grub Hut Restaurant
86) Hambone's
87) Happy Day Lounge Inc
88) Happy Family Restaurant
89) Hardee's
90) Harris Grill
91) Hermies Gyros
92) Houlihan's
93) Hub's Pub
94) India Palace Cuisine
95) J Harris Grill
96) Jens Juice Joint
97) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Rstrnt
98) JJF Inc
99) Johnny's Coffee Shop
100) Johnny's Place
101) Just Cousins
102) JVS Tavern
103) Kar Hing Chinese Foods
104) Kate & Allie's Cafe & Catering
105) Kelly's Bar & Lounge
106) Kfc
107) Kfc
108) Khalil's Ii
109) Kim's Coffee Shop
110) Kim's Place
111) Kopec's
112) La Feria
113) La Filipiniana Teody's
114) Lamarca Floral & Cappucino Emp
115) Laverne's Diner
116) Le Perroquet
117) Linda's Family Kitchen
118) Lombardozzi Restaurant
119) Lorigan Street Bar
120) Lot 17 Bar & Grill
121) Luna Bar & Grill
122) Mama Rosa
123) Mama Rosa & Daughter
124) Mark's Place
125) Mason Jar
126) Max & Erma's
127) Mc Donald's
128) Mezzanotte Cafe
129) Midtown Tavern
130) Miyoshi Japanese Bistro
131) Monte Cello's
132) Moonlight Express
133) More' Restaurant
134) Morning Glory Coffeehouse
135) My Thai Restaurant
136) New Way Gourmet
137) New York New York Inc
138) Nico's Recovery Room
139) Nied's Hotel
140) Nirvana Deli
141) Nooners
142) Nova Cafe
143) Oh Yeah! Ice Cream and Coffee Company
144) Om Shiva Hookah Lounge
145) Orient Kitchen
146) Oriental Wok
147) P & G Diner
148) Pamela's
149) Panda Village Chinese Rstrnt
150) Panera Bread
151) Pap's & Us
152) Papa John's Pizza
153) Partner's
154) Pasta Piatto
155) Penn Main Cafe
156) Peoples Restaurant
157) Pesaro's Pizza
158) Pho Minh
159) Pita Garden
160) Pittsburgh Deli Co
161) Pizza Hut
162) Pizza Hut
163) Pizza Italia
164) PIZZUTTI'S Restaurant
165) Pleasure Bar & Restaurant
166) Quiznos Sub
167) Quiznos Sub
168) Ray's Marlin Beach Bar & Grill
169) Rhodesia Bey Restaurant
170) Rice King
171) Ritters Diner Inc
172) River Moon Cafe
173) Rocky's Restaurant & Catering
174) Roger's Bar
175) Ron's Pizza Palace
176) Rose Room Restaurant
177) Rotelli The Water Works
178) Round Corner Cantina
179) Salac's Inc
180) Salpietro Restaurant
181) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
182) Sausalido
183) Scoops Plus
184) Seasons Pizza & Cafe
185) Seven Cee's
186) Shady Grove
187) Shadyside Saloon
188) Sharp Edge Bar & Restaurant
189) Si Senor Intl
190) Sidelines Bar & Grill
191) Silky's Pub
192) Soba Lounge
193) Soiree Catering
194) Sonny's Tavern Inc
195) South Avis Inn
196) Spaghetti Warehouse
197) Spak Brothers
198) Sree's Foods
199) Starbucks
200) Starbucks
201) Starbucks
202) Starr's Lunch Counter
203) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
204) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
205) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
206) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
207) Sufak's Round Corner Hotel
208) Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
209) Supreme Pizza
210) Sushi Too
211) Sweeney Irish Pub
212) Taco Bell
213) Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
214) Taste Of India
215) Tasty Chinese Restaurant
216) Tea Lightful LLC
217) Teabags
218) Temperanceville Tavern
219) Tessaro's
220) Thai Cuisine
221) Thai Place Cafe
222) Thai Place Restaurant
223) The Quiet Storm
224) Thirsty's Restaurant & Saloon
225) Thunderbird Cafe
226) Toro's Ribs & Brew
227) Tram's Kitchen
228) Trolls Restaurant
229) Twisters Soft Serve Ice Cream
230) Umi Japanese Restaurant
231) Union Grill
232) Union Grill 2
233) Unique Pizza Factory
234) Upstairs Saloon
235) Urban Fusion Cafe
236) Vecenie's Distributing Co
237) Vermont Flatbread Co
238) Vi's Sweet Treats
239) Village Pizza
240) Vince's Pizzeria
241) Vocelli Pizza
242) Walnut Grill
243) Wendy's
244) Wendy's
245) White House Inn
246) Whitey's Place
247) William Penn Tavern
248) Young Bin Kwan Restaurant
249) Your Inner Vagabond
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
No beer produced here anymore. All Pgh Brewing products are made at a contract packer in Latrobe Pa.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(10/04/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place was closed for renovation when I was in town in August.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Pittsburgh Brewing Company filed Chapter 11 bankruptcy yesterday. The company is still in operation and producing beer.

The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette is covering the story: http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/05342/618920.stm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Good
A nice old brewery to visit. Take a tour if you can. Lots of neat breweriana on display.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
As you can see most of the locals look down thier noses a Iron City beer. This has been a first generation middle-class tradition for a number of years m because they don't want people to think of them as "blue collar." Take it from a guy from New Jersey who's family has been middle-class and up for six generations, it's not a bad beer compared to the nation brands. It's not Yuengling or Straubs but it's good beer. I.C. light is a great light beer I am told by those who like watery beer. Pittsburgh Brewing is making a beer called Augustiner, under license, which is quite good for a mass produced beer. They also make a lot of the Sam Adams for this region.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Gray Matt Gray, McCandless, PA
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Oops, forgot to click the ratings... GOOD, GOOD, GOOD & GOOD.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Now I've gotta tell you, the beer really is CRAP. I mean it honestly sucks. The reason I'm giving it a Good rating is because, if you're looking for a regular ordinary premium glass of swill, you can't do wrong with this muck. Compared to Bud, Miller or Coors, it's just as horrible as they are. Alright, maybe it's a bit better, more in the realm of Rolling Rock or Genesee if you get my drift. So what have we learned here: You want crap beer? This is for you. Tired of the usual crap and looking for something a little less crappy? Here you go. What the hell, you'll be supporting the little guy. Plus a trip to the brewery is really worth it . A big leftover of some past industrial age. Very cool.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A N/A
I actually like the IC Light, but I have to say that regular Iron City is the rankest beer I have ever had the displeasure of tasting. I like beer and have tried quite a variety over my lifetime, and have only come across 2 in my life that I absolutely could not drink. There are other beers that I really don't prefer, but will still drink if that's all there is, but Iron City is not one of them. I think their secret ingredients for this one are piss and river water.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, McDonald, PA
(09/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
What can you say about Iron City....Its just the best beer out their. i can see if you want to try the other beers out their. But theirs nothing like having about 30 of your freinds over on a saturday night and having a ice cold Keg of iron city on tap.....Now thats City Living baby

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Williams Kevin Williams, Pittsburgh, PA
(09/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
I am usually not one to make postings online, but here goes. I am not a professional drinker, but I was born in da Burgh and moved away at a very young age. My parents lived there all their lives. Now that I am of the legal drinking age, when we go back to visit relatives, I have to stock up on IC and IC Light to bring back to St. Louis, MO. with me. There is a true home town heritage and culture that Pittsburgh emmits. The food is better, or at least greasier, the pizza is much better, and the beer is colder. The people are loyal to their sports teams and there is a tradition that is one of a kind. The beer is a part of this culture and it is truley unique.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Rizzo Matt Rizzo, St. Louis, MO
(08/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Although, I usually drink I.C.Light, the Iron City brand is very drinkable, and as good as any of the domestic lagers out there. As far as I.C.Light is concerned, I would rank it above any of the premium domestic lights out there (coors light , miller lite etc.). Also to some of you pittsburghers who seem to be down on the brand, please remember these brands are the same brands that were selling 1 million bbls. in the early 80's., with about 85% of the sales coming in W. PA. I don't think any of the other reg. brews can say that. Don't confuse quality with image.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mike, new castle, PA
(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A Lousy
I grew up in Pittsburgh (Penn Hills) and I would not wish this garbage on my worst enemy. Just a sip give one a headache. Bottom line, when you see and IC or IC Light be afraid, be very afraid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Washington, DC
(01/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hmm, interesting conversation going on here. I've already rated the beer so I don't need to do it again. I too lived in Pittsburgh for a brief time while my wife attended CMU. (If we're lucky she'll be going there again soon and I'll be glued to a bar stool at the Sharp for another 4 or 5 years.) I know exactly what R.W.C is talking about. It's not that Pitt folks weren't friendly; quite to the contrary, you won't find a city of friendlier folks. At least I haven't so far. But people's values there were surprisingly provincial for a major northern city, and it seemed they were very careful to make sure their values weren't compromised too much by outside influences. I guess this is a good thing because the values being guarded are by and large virtuous. But I can see how this guarded attitude might be perceived as hostility by outsiders. Whether or not this has been an impediment to population growth and outside investment as R.W.C. implies is probably not something that can be determined without very careful, thorough study.

And for whatever else it's worth, apparently Pittsburgh Brewing isn't relying on a stagnant regional population to keep them in business; I've seen Iron City for sale here in Chicago.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(09/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good
My whole family supports PBC. They have very good beer. I like the IC Light in a bottle the best. I was born and raised in the ole 'Burgh and me and my family only drink PBC swill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Debbie Norkevicus Debbie Norkevicus, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
R.W.C.: A response seems to be needed. First, I am an outsider too, from eastern PA; born there, grew up there, live there now. Like you, I went to CMU (History MA, 1984); unlike you, I never found Pittsburgh to be hostile to outsiders. The people I met from Pittsburgh were proud of what they had and never too busy to talk to me about the town. Second, I rate Iron City as "good" in comparison to other mainstream American beers (as I said in my review), and I stick by that. It's as good as any other mainstream American beer. Third, Pittsburgh isn't just stagnant, it's shrinking, though you need to go back further than 25 years to see that. Pittsburgh's lost 1/3 of its population since 1960. The decline of Big Steel is most of that, despite what some Pittsburghers have told me. Finally, I agree with you that the city desperately needs outside investment. But don't attribute my "Who Needs You?" to the city. I only said that in reference to the ridiculous statements I've heard about Iron City outside Pittsburgh. Iron City has always been a Pittsburgh beer, and the city has always supported it, just like Yuengling in Schuylkill County. The brewery will live or die on the support of Pittsburgh. That's true too, and why not? What's wrong with a local brewery? But the city is not going to save itself by buying from outside and killing local industry it DOES have. If you want to discuss this further, my e-mail is attached.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(05/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Dear Lew Pennsylvania Breweries Flotsom Jetsom Herbert Walker Bush:

Since this is technically supposed to be a beer review site, I'll make a token contribution: Iron City is so rife with adjuncts that it's hard to figure out why someone who drinks beer for a living would rate it as "good." But I felt more compelled to respond to your comment, "Hey, you guys outside the area, make all the Iron City slams you want, who needs you?"

I was a student at Carnegie-Mellon University. I wanted to stay in Pittsburgh but I found this whole "who needs you" attitude to be so pervasive that it was downright discouraging. It is undoubtedly one reason why the Pittsburgh metropolitan area has not grown one single bit in the last 50 years while the rest of the nation's population has increased by over 40%. In real terms, that is a population loss of about one third. It's why houses routinely sit on the market for 2 years before selling, even with asking prices that haven't been seen in other cities in 25 years. It's why your kids graduate from school, get the hell out, and never come back. It's why prospective residents, businesses and investors throw up their hands in frustration and set up shop elsewhere.

Who needs us outsiders? Pittsburgh does. Wake up. Your city is dying. No new stadium projects are going to save you. No other contrived government works projects mislabled as "investment" are going to save you. The "who needs you" sneer will certainly not save you. The only thing that will save your town from veritable extinction, if it isn't already too late, is outsiders. That is, if we're ever welcome.

Who needs us outsiders? You do. In the worst way. And if we're ever going to set up shop and save your city, some of us will want beer options other than that liquid ass you call "Iron City."

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R.W.C. R.W.C., Forest Lake, MN
(04/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A N/A
Absolutely the worst beer ever. Should it even be called "beer"? It's lighter than the Ginger Ale I drink. Though, Augustiner is tolerable I wouldn't drink it if anything half-way decent was available. Note the "it's a burgh thing" mentality of these Steeler fans who care more about getting hammered than actually enjoying the taste of the swill they're drinking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I grew up in Pittsburgh--Fombell/South Park/Crafton/Zelienople and now live in Chicago--Orland Park. I have a home keg in my house & have IC light on tap.

I also have a shrine to the best sports teams in the world from the area where the best athletes in the world come from--Western, PA!!!!

PBC beverages are the best beers available in the world!

WHOOOO!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Randolph Al Randolph, Chicago, IL
(01/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
I have grown up in pittsburgh.I have also delivered beer in the burgh for five years Iron city beer is great The true Pittsburgers drink it because its a burg thing. I'm proud to drink ironcity and proud to have delivered it Ironcity is not just a name I'ts a blue collered way of life

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from clint litfin clint litfin, north side pittsburgh, PA
(01/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Pittsburgh Brewing is east of downtown near what is considered the Bloomfield section of Pittsburgh most notably - a rock throw away from the Church Brew Works.

They are known for their IC Light products these days. For the die-hard beer folks Pittsburgh brewing is mainstream swill, although they have the talent, experience and history to turn out small batches of good beer.

I have only vistied their bar/living museum/town hall seeming area during a local feel-good group's use of such. I certainly would like to see more of an emphasis on the micros and more interaction in the beer community from PB.

Notably, the Augustiner product I believes rolls out from them and is notably better than the other stuff Pittsburgher's are accustom to consuming..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris paris, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I am 24 years old and have grown up in Indiana, Pa. Although I am not living in the I have been lucky enough to live in one of your surrounding target areas. It is nice to go out at I.U.P. and have the cold refreshing feel of Pittsburgh in your hand.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Ackerman Jason Ackerman, Indiana, PA
(01/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
i'm sorry i don't know the full address on the place, but by damnit, this has got to be one of the best "home town" beers around!!!! It's one of the greastest things about "the 'Burgh", along with The Steelers!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, new alexandria/ormond beach fl, pa
(12/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I wish every city could be as lucky as Pittsburgh. How many cities have their own brewery which not only produces awesome beer but has the ability to boast its sports figures and landmarks on the cans. Every Steeler to enter the Hall of Fame is on an Iron City can as well as the great, young boxer the Pittsburgh Kid. IC Light is the best light beer in the country and if the people of Pittsburgh do not stop buying Coors Light and other watered down national beers we could lose this wonderful icon and tradition that has quenched Pittsburgh's thirst since 1861. I now live in Tampa and have to rely on visiing relatives to drive me down cases of IC Light and Iron City.Go get yourself a cold Iron!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Conners Chris Conners, Tampa, FL
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Great
Like Nancy said, most Pittsburghers know Pittsburgh Brewing as Iron City, and that's the truth. Second truth: I drink beer for a living, the good, the bad, and the ugly, and Iron City is no better or worse than any of the national brands of mainstream beer; IC Light is actually better than most. Third truth: if Pittsburgh doesn't get off its Coors Light-swilling butt, they aren't going to have a local brewery. PBC realizes this, and is totally revamping their image with a smart new retro campaign that concentrates on the 'City' instead of the 'Iron,' just like Pittsburgh is doing. "This is City Living," their trucks proclaim. Hey, you guys outside the area, make all the Iron City slams you want, who needs you? Iron City has always made their payroll in Pittsburgh, and that's where it's going to happen or not this time. Meanwhile, yuinz in Da Burgh: stop buying advertising instead of beer. Support your local brewery and the men and women who work there. The labor trouble is OVER, and management's got their heads on straight. Give the beer a shot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Pennsylvania Breweries Bryson Lew Pennsylvania Breweries Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(10/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A So So
go with the IC light B+ its good on tap but i cant believe i liked reg. iron city beer in college C+... on tap its ok kind of...this is animal house frat beer...steeler talegate beer...i give them a good for their IC light its not beer water like so many other light beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd C. Todd C., THE BURGH, PA
(08/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A N/A
I have never actually been to the brewery but their Iron City products are widely available on tap in local watering holes and in bottles at the beer distributors. This is not a beer made for the trendy microbrew crowd or the Bass drinking crowd. This is a decidedly working-class beer marketed toward and brewed with the city's sizeable working class market IN MIND. Considering that, it is perhaps unfair to give it a "so-so" ranking because it is a beer that deliberately does not try to be grand or tasty or cute. It has its niche and it fills it well to the immense satisfaction of its target market. Consider it a grade or two above Miller High Life. Where beer is concerned, Pittsburgh is no Milwaukee. But the cheeeheads can keep their Miller--for this town, it's Iron City!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A N/A So So
Pittsburgh Brewing Company now has a dark beer. I was offered Iron City Dark last night and thought I'd try it. The color is a lovely rich brown, reminiscent of a good stout, but there the comparison ends. The taste is bitter and lacking in body. I'd rate it C+. There are excellent dark beers around, but this isn't one of them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(04/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Good
Iron City is a solid domestic beer in the mid-price range.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nancy McAdams Nancy McAdams, Pittsburgh, PA
(09/28/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Pittsburgh Brewing Company is best known for their Iron City Beer, hence their web site: http://www.ironcity-beer.com/index.html If you asked a a Pittsburgh local directions to Pittsburgh Brewing Company, they'd probably answer, "Huh?" but if you asked for Iron City Brewery, they'd tell you it's on Liberty Avenue across from the Church Brew Works.

Iron City Beer has the reputation for being a working class beer. People under 30 make disparaging comments about the taste, but I like it. I-C Light is more satisfying than the light beers from some of the bigger breweries which I think are sometimes watery. The "Gimme an I-C Light" advertising campaign tried to change the image of the beer. My opinion - if you want image, this isn't the beer for you, but if you want a good, solid domestic beer in a mid-price range, you may enjoy Iron City beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nancy McAdams Nancy McAdams, Pittsburgh, PA
(09/27/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.246 seconds) 06:23:20 54.237.249.10, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS