PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


August Schell Brewing Company - New Ulm, MN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 08:32 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MN > New Ulm > August Schell Brewing Company
August Schell Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
August Schell Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84 / 100
Schell's Park
New Ulm, MN 56073
United States
(800) 770-5020
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: May 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for New Ulm, MN
Beer Guide for Minnesota

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of August Schell Brewing Company
10 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Deutsche Strasse Bed & Brkfst
2) Innis House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) MICROTEL INN AND SUITES NEW U
2) SUPER 8 NEW ULM MN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Boesch, Hummel, and Maltzahn Block
2) Chicago and North Western Railroad Depot
3) Fesenmaier, Bernard, House
4) Gag, Wanda, Childhood Home
5) Grand Hotel
6) Hermann Monument
7) Kiesling, Frederick W., House
8) Lind, Gov. John, House
9) Melges Bakery
10) New Ulm Armory
11) New Ulm Oil Company Service Station
12) New Ulm Post Office
13) Old Main, Dr. Martin Luther College
14) Schell, August, Brewing Company
15) Schell, Otto, House
16) South Broadway Historic District
17) South German Street Historic District
18) St. Michael's School and Convent
19) Turner Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
2) B & L Bar Inc
3) BSH Enterprises
4) Burger King
5) Cornerstone Coffee
6) Erbert & Gerbert's Inc
7) Kegel KLUB
8) Klossner House
9) Main Ingredient
10) Mowan's Bar
11) Olde World Deli & Catering
12) Otto's Feierhaus & Green Mill
13) Pioneer College Caterers Inc
14) Rodney's Tavern
15) Smiley's Tavern
16) Three Sisters Tea Room
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Great People, great beer and a beautiful setting. For the hearty beer drinker Bockfest is a must. Worth the travel no matter the distance

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Frederick Tom Frederick, Mankato, MN
(11/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!
One of the coolest breweries I have ever seen. Very old....140 years old actually. And it still has the actual residence of August Schell still attached to the working brewery. Just really neat to see how these German imigrents started this place 140 years ago...is the middle of nowhere! It still is pretty far off the beaten path but awesome and well worth the visit. The beers are all very good....but it would be worht thte trip to go even if they weren't.....very cool place. Okteboerfest in New Ulm is supposed to be a blast...as well as Bock Fest

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Pesa Paul Pesa, Maple Grove, MN
(01/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Have been enjoying Schells Firebrick and Pale Ale for many years. This past weekend had the opportunity to tour the brewery grounds. Learned that they were changing their Bock to a Caramel Bock and why they changed the marketing from a German Style Pale Ale to Pale Ale. Enjoyed samples of their products and put a new perspective on a Minnesota classic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Spyhalski Paul Spyhalski, Austin, MN
(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Took the tour during the Octoberfest celebration in New Ulm. The place was very crowded as expected for this weekend. After the tour they provide very generous samples of several of their beers. I really enjoyed the specialty beers as they call them. All were very good, but I really liked the Pilsner. Worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Lakeville, MN
(10/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
My wife and I went on our honeymoon and stopped at the brewery and couldn't get into the brewery for a tour but could go in the museum. We had a good time. We purchased a sampler pack and all of the beers were great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Merrill, WI
(11/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Simply one of the best breweries in America! Very high quality beers that are easy to enjoy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hastings, MN
(11/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
One of my favorite micros. Octoberfest is the one I really look forward to all year and Zommerfest (Kolsch) and Schmaltz's Alt are great ones too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Trevor Peterson Trevor Peterson, Bloomington, MN
(03/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Excellent local brewery and they really know how to throw a party - if at all possible one must attend their BockFest held each Spring. Beers are terrific and the quality and care in brewing is evident. Schmaltz Alt is worth getting your hands on at any cost.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Moechnig Craig Moechnig, Hastings, MN
(02/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
My friends and I visited Schell during OktoberFest98. They give a good tour and video of their traditional German brewing techniques and copper kettle. This brewery is one of the oldest operations in the US. At the end they give a generous tasting of bottled and keg beer. We especially enjoyed operating the tap for their Pils and Octoberfest! All three of us rated Schell's tap Pilsner the best in Minnesota. It was hoppy, krisp, and had a nice citrusy nose. It also has the benefit of a long lagering aging and Krausening, which is a natural reinjection carbonation technique. The Oktoberfest was a darker excellent brew, mellower yet flavorful, but not sweet. We later compared it with German tap brews at the Black Forest, Mpls. Schell's Octoberfest compared very favorably with Hacker Pschorr's and Spaten's Oktoberfest from Munich. I also liked their German Style Pale Ale, which is similar to an IPA. Avoid Schell's Original Deer Brand. It is harsh and crude malt diluted with corn. Visit them at http://www.schellsbrewery.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Lee Phil Lee, Minneapolis, MN
(10/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review tucson, AZ
(01/01/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.106 seconds) 08:32:21 54.227.41.242, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS