PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Latrobe Brewing Company - Latrobe, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 01:36 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Latrobe > Latrobe Brewing Company
Latrobe Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Latrobe Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.3 / 100
119 Jefferson Street
PO Box 350
Latrobe, PA 15650
United States
(724) 537-5545
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Latrobe, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Latrobe Brewing Company
20 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) WINGATE INN LATROBE PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Citizens National Bank of Latrobe
2) Kingston House
3) Latrobe Armory
4) Pennsylvania Railroad Station--Latrobe
5) St. Vincent Archabbey Gristmill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) All American Grill
2) Aroma Italiano
3) Battleships Subs & Suds
4) Bella Pasta Italian Restorante
5) Bruster's Old Fashion Ice Crm
6) Burger King
7) Burger King
8) Campbell's Restaurant
9) China Garden
10) Christopher's Pizza
11) Dairy Queen
12) Denny's
13) Denny's
14) Dino's Sports Lounge
15) Eat'n Park Restaurants
16) Ed's Corner Stasion
17) Fairview Dairy Inc
18) Falbo's Lounge
19) FOE No 01188
20) Fox's Pizza Den
21) Fuggenthaler's Catering
22) Gerry's In The Kitchen
23) Glengarry Golf Links Inc
24) Golden Wok
25) Halula's Restaurant
26) Harbor Inn
27) Hollow Tavern
28) Huber Hall
29) Ice Creamery
30) J L's Bar
31) Jioio's Restaurant
32) Kfc
33) Lil' Cruisers
34) Long John Silver's
35) Mc Donald's
36) Mc Donald's
37) Nopalitos Mexican Restaurant
38) Picnic Basket
39) Pizza Hut
40) Pizza Siena
41) Pub At Glengarry Inc
42) Quiznos Sub
43) Reeb's Bar & Grille
44) Scotty G's Pizzeria
45) Sharky's Cafe
46) Sleepy Hollow Inn
47) Subway Restaurant
48) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
49) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
50) Susie O'Day's
51) Taco Bell
52) Touchdown Club
53) Valley Dairy
54) Vocelli Pizza
55) Wendy's
56) Wong China
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So ? Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette is reporting on 2006/05/19:

"....[Inbev]Belgian owner announced plans to put it [Latrobe Brewing] on the market and sell the Rolling Rock brands to Anheuser-Busch for $82 million...

...Anheuser-Busch will begin brewing Rolling Rock and Rock Green Light in August at its Newark, N.J. brewery."

Better get over to visit Latrobe Brewing before it goes the way of the Dodo bird - extinct.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(05/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Great
For an American Lager, Rolling Rock is top notch. They recently started giving tours, so me and a collegue drove over to Latrobe while in PA doing some work in Pittsburgh. The tour was very nice. They take you directly on the floor of the brewery, bottling/canning, and packaging lines. Very well done. It was nice to see a lot of old RR Breweriana outside the gift shop. Very well done!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I have grown up on Rolling Rock. To all the negative reviews I say this... Drink what you enjoy! I ENJOY Rolling Rock X pale, a beer without bitter aftertaste. For ME this is the BEST beer I have ever had! Drink what you enjoy and be merry, and scuttle the reviews! Try it if you love pale ale!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave L Dave L, Montpelier, VT
(05/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Dude, go back: Latrobe is now giving tours. And don't stoop to the snide remarks about the river and the tires; as if. Just because you weren't smart enough to call ahead, doesn't mean they're not smart enough to use pure water for making beer (and just how much smarts would THAT take?).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
In college I went with a group to the Rolling Rock brewery only to learn that they did not give tours. We were depressed after driving all the way from Milwaukee. There was a river right by the brewery that had a bunch of old tires floating in it, possibly where the water comes from?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Tony, Milwaukee, WI
(04/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Tony, Milwaukee, WI
(04/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Do you offer tours of your brewery?? I have toured Duquesne Brewery, Iron City Brewery, Guinness in Dublin and several micro breweries. I would like to tour your brewery on March 15, 2003. Will you invite me and my wife?? Thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Whitehall, near Pittsburgh, PA
(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
First of all, RR is the only beer I drink and is the only one I can swallow. It is light, refreshing and doesnt leave that bitter beer taste in my mouth. For one that doesnt like most beers, this is a real accomplishment. Ive grown up on RR and as for the guys on here who think it is 30 mins from Canonsburg and comes from dirty river water...that would be it is more like an hour and a half from you if you drive fast and get no traffic, AND that would be Pittsburgh Brewing Company that the other guy is most likely talking about with the river. Rolling Rock is from spring water in Latrobe. Maybe you should know your facts before trashing something. RR FOREVE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clarksville, PA
(08/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A Lousy
Having grown up on RR, I may have a little more insight then most people. This used to be an excellent, quality pale beer. Once Labatts bought the brewery, they turned it into a generic, marketable and just plain terrible tasting beer(Skunk Smell & Taste). Sort of what most Canadian beers taste like.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Greensburg, PA
(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great
Refreshing "OLE 33" is very enjoyable. Reviews from G. Michael Yingling stating that latrobe is 30 minutes from canonsburg shows clearly he is clueless!bill from bellfonte is just as confused, what RIVER are you talking about? Bill have you SEEN the LATROBE RESERVOIR?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S. Bird S. Bird, North Huntingdon, PA
(05/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A Good
Rolling Rock has long been one of my favorite beers. Not because it's particularly great tasting or perfectly balanced or made according to any lofty German or Belgian purity standard and certainly not because it's perceived as being "trendy"...not by any stretch. I drank it back when it was commonly refered to as being "consistently non-consistent", which is no longer an issue. I still drink it today because it is a simple, non pretentious, honest (not brewed in NY,TX and/or WI while purporting to be imported or from Boston), refreshing beer. Rolling Rock is more likely to sponsor a Tractor Pull than a NasCar event and they don't charge an arm and a leg for their modest one brewery beer. The industry could use more "Rolling Rocks" and fewer beer snobs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from K. Ryan K. Ryan, Kutztown, PA
(02/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A N/A So So
Good Lord! Are there really people out there who enjoy this beer for its flavor? Or is it the marketing of the mysterious '33' or the fact that if you drink enough of it you'll get drunk? This budcoorsmiller knockoff is for those shallow people who like to watch Oprah while they eagerly await their next government check! Trendy? Fashionable? God help us all if it is. Have any of you ever actually SEEN the river that the water for this beer comes from? Ugh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Bellefonte, PA
(02/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I would of never guessed so many people who think Rolling Rock is the best beer out there would actually visit a site dedicated to rating breweries, brewpubs, and beer bars. It's sort of like a Priest rating birth control devices. What's next, Motel 6 being listed as a 5 star hotel?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Michael Yingling G. Michael Yingling, Canonsburg, PA
(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
This is the beer of beers. There are many stories about the name Rolling Rock and picture of the horse head on the bottle, but I am going to set the story straight. One day down in Latrobe, two drunk guys were driving along and a horse ran out into traffic and was hit by oncoming cars. Now this wasn't a pretty site, and one of the drunks said the horse looked like a big rock rolling across the highway, hence Rolling Rock. Oh yeah, that number "33"... well that's how many times that poor horse was pummelled on that lonely highway. Sad story....... but excellent beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ernie McDougall (ANF Forever) Ernie McDougall (ANF Forever), Butler, PA
(09/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
I would definitely agree with my good friends steve and chris who also enjoy Old #33. Not only is it a great quality beer, it taste great and is a beer that you can drink till you pass out. By the way, G.Michael Yingling, you must be a zima fan ya rim job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skynyrd for Life Skynyrd for Life, Butler, PA
(09/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
I feel that i need to comment on this brewery, being that its about 30 minutes away from me. It is a small brewery (micro) that produces ONE macro (budmillercoors) quality beer, nothing more or better. So if you like macro quality beer but want a beer that has a different identity, Rolling Rock is for you. If you want micro quality beer, steer very clear.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Michael Yingling G. Michael Yingling, Canonsburg, PA
(09/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Singer Chris Singer, Butler, PA
(09/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Awesome!
Rolling Rock is hands down my favorite beer in the United States Of America. It sends chills up my spine just thinking about that green bottle full of "liquid laughter". That's why my new favorite number is "33" ,the same number painted onto the side of every Rolling Rock bottle.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Shuler (The Rolling Rock  Man) Steve Shuler (The Rolling Rock Man), Butler, PA
(09/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
The cheap beer for quality beer lovers...!//TSB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A So So
Rolling Rock Extra Pale is brewed mountain springs, in Latrobe, PA by the Latrobe Brewing Company, established in 1893. Rolling Rock was first introduced in 1939, using the same label still used today. The name Rolling Rock came from the Rolling Rock Estate, a horse ranch outside of Latrobe, hence the horse head on the label. See http://members.aol.com/Lydon71/33.html

If you like a smooth beer without any bitterness, you will enjoy Rolling Rock Extra Pale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nancy McAdams Nancy McAdams, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/01/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.211 seconds) 13:36:05 54.205.179.23, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS