PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Buffalo Brew Pub / Brewing Company - Williamsville, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 12:56 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Williamsville > Buffalo Brew Pub / Brewing Company
Buffalo Brew Pub / Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Buffalo Brew Pub / Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 71.1 / 100
6861 Main Street
Williamsville, NY 14221
United States
(716) 632-0552
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Williamsville, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
35 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Pizza Plant
(0 mile)

2) Pizza Plant
(0 mile)

3) Amherst Pizza and Ale House
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Victorian Hotel
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN NORSTAR INN
2) CLARION HOTEL BUFFALO AIRPORT
3) COMFORT SUITES BUFFALO AIRPORT
4) ECONO LODGE WILLIAMSVILLE
5) HAMPTON INN BUFFALO AMHST
6) HERITAGE HOUSE COUNTRY INN
7) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS
8) LORD AMHERST MOTOR HOTEL
9) MARRIOTT BUFFALO NIAGARA
10) QUALITY INN AIRPORT
11) RAMADA LIMITED BUFFALO AIRPORT
12) RED ROOF BUFFALO AIRPORT
13) RED ROOF BUFFALO AMHERST
14) SLEEP INN BUFFALO AIRPORT
15) SUPER 8 AMHERST NIAGARA FALLS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Chapel of Our Lady Help of Christians
2) Garrison Cemetery
3) Williamsville Christian Church
4) Williamsville Water Mill Complex
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 3 Sisters Deli
2) Abbott's Frozen Custard
3) Anderson's Frozen Custard Inc
4) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
5) Arby's
6) Arby's
7) Arirang Korean & Japanese
8) Bagel Jay's
9) Bamboo China Restaurant
10) Bill Gray's
11) Bocce Club Pizzeria
12) Bocce Club Pizzeria Inc
13) Brennan's Bowery Bar & Rstrnt
14) Buffalo Brew Pub
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Butterwood Desserts Inc
18) Caffe Aroma
19) Caffe Espresso
20) Canton Chinese Restaurant
21) Centerpointe Deli
22) Central Station
23) Chang's Garden
24) Chef's Table
25) China House
26) China Panda
27) Christopher's Family Restrnt
28) Clark-Williams Cafes
29) Como Cafe
30) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
31) Creekview Restaurant
32) Daffodils Restaurant
33) Dairy Queen
34) Damon's Clubhouse
35) Denny's
36) Dhini's Cafe
37) Dibella's Old Fashion Sub
38) Don Pablo's
39) Eagle House Restaurant
40) Eurest Dining Svc
41) Evolution Club & Restaurant
42) Fazoli's
43) Five Star China Buffet
44) Fuji Grill
45) Glen Park Tavern
46) Golden Duck Restaurant
47) Golden Parachute
48) Great Northern Pizza Kitchen
49) Greek Isles Restaurant
50) Harris Hill Diner
51) Harris Hill Inn
52) Hennessey's Irish Pub & Rstrnt
53) Heroes
54) Hoagie Brothers Giant Subs
55) Ichi Shogun Restaurant
56) Jack's Place
57) Jackie's Deli
58) Jenny's Ice Cream
59) Jimmy's Restaurant
60) Joe Mata's
61) Keglers Sports Lounge
62) Korea House Restaurant
63) La Mezza Luna Restaurant
64) LA Nova Inc
65) La Porta's Pizzeria
66) LA Rosa New York Pizzeria
67) Libartion Station
68) Little Caesars Pizza
69) Little White House Restaurant
70) Louie's Deli & Imports
71) Marcos Italian Deli
72) Mark's Pizzeria
73) Marvino's Evans Pizza & Subs
74) Mattina's Pizzeria
75) Mc Donald's
76) Mc Donald's
77) Mc Donald's
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Mahon Steak & Seafood
81) Mighty Taco
82) Mighty Taco
83) Mike's Pizzeria
84) Mike's Subs-Williamsville
85) Original Pancake House
86) P J Avenue Pizzeria
87) Palm's Banquets
88) Party Paradise
89) Pesci's Pizza
90) Pietro's Restaurant
91) Pizza Hut
92) Pizza Plant
93) Pizza Plant
94) Pizza Works Etc
95) Protocol Restaurant
96) Quiznos Sub
97) Quiznos Sub
98) Quiznos Sub
99) Red Lobster Restaurant
100) Renee's Deli
101) Roadhouse Grill
102) Rocco Caffe
103) Rose Bud Cafe
104) Sams Express Restaurant
105) Santora's Phase II
106) Say Cheese ! Pizza Co
107) Sedano's Restaurant
108) Shogun Restaurant
109) Sorrentino's Pizzeria
110) Soupherb Gourmet
111) Spot Coffee
112) St Angelo's Restaurant
113) Starbucks
114) Starbucks
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
117) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
118) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
119) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
120) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
121) Super Buffet
122) Taco Bell
123) Takeout Taxi
124) Tandoori's Royal Indian
125) Tea Time
126) Ted's Jumbo Red Hots
127) Tgi Friday's
128) Tijuana Taco
129) Tijuana Taco
130) Transit Lanes Inc
131) Village Desserts
132) Village Grille
133) Wendy's
134) William Jefferson Inc
135) Williamsville Bistro
136) Zippy's Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Great So So
I haven't been in here for a few years, and they once were a favorite stop. No more. It is a brew-pub, but the bartender said they can't find anyone to brew their lager. They serve Yuengling, not a bad beer, but I can buy that in the gas station next door. Their amber is like dishwater with some red dye in it, and the pilsner has a soapy after taste. My dinner was fine, but overall, I am looking for a new spot when I travel to Bflo. They do have about 20 taps, so there is choice, but stay away from their own beer, or maybe just stay away?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fern Fern, Thornton, NH
(04/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Lousy Good So So
I regularly use pubcrawler while travelling. The Buffalo Brewpub is the first establishment I have felt the need to review here...and that is not a good thing.

I was in the area for business and decided to give this place a try as it was more 'on the way' than other Buffalo brew pubs listed here. How I wish I had gone out of the way.

Upon arriving at the pub I was surprised to see bright neon signs outside. A bit cheesy for a brewpub I thought, but since it was located amongst a sea of chain stores I figured it was just a matter of fitting in with the neighbors.

There were a couple of fellas standing on the porch having a smoke when I walked up and we exchanged greetings, or rather I did. They didn't seem to want to be bothered.

The inside of the pub was pleasant. Plenty of people of all different walks of life enjoying themselves and peanut shells littering the floor. The bar was lined with dozens of taps. A waitress told me to grab any table I liked and she'd send someone over.

The gal who waited on me was pleasant, friendly even, however when I asked her a question or 2 about their house beers I didn't get the impression she was too well informed. I ordered an Amber, which arrived reasonably quickly. I'd rather it hadn't arrived at all. I have been to dozens of brewpubs over the years and this was by far the worst beer I've had at any of them. I can hardly describe how bad it was. The taste seemed like a cross between fermented coca cola and week old sweat socks.

While choking down this beer I asked the waitress what she'd recommend on the menu for a vegetarian. She suggested the veggie lasagna which I happily agreed to. Mistake number 2. When the plate arrived all I could see was a thick layer of solidifying cheese with a floret of broccoli poking through. I got to work on this lasagna and found that a. it had no tomato sauce b. no noodles and c. tasted absolutely awful. I pushed the $10 plate aside and returned to my lousy amber. The waitress showed up about 5 minutes later and seeing the plate at the end of the table inquired what was wrong. I explained that while I've never sent a meal back in my life I simply could not eat this. I inquired about the lack of tomato sauce and she explained that they don't use tomato sauce in their lasagna. Now while I'm sure that there must be lasagna recipes out there that don't call for tomato sauce, one would think that an establishment wouldn't throw such a curveball on their menu, or at least would better describe the slob they were slinging. This was no lasagna, it was a casserole of some sort- and a lousy one at that.

The waitress did the right thing by insisting on taking it back and trying to appease me. She said she didn't want me to go away hungry. (she was aware I was a business traveller) She recommended the veggie burger, which I reluctantly agreed to and I ordered their Pale Ale in the meantime.

The pale arrived quickly but was no better than the amber. It was one of the blandest, bodiless beers I have ever had. At this point I was beginning to get annoyed. This was the 3rd item they brought me and each one was, at best, disappointing, and at worst, unpalatable.

Next the veggie burger arrived. It was on a decent looking bun, and on the burger was 2 slices of tomato and 2 thick, white leaves of iceberg lettuce. The burger, which was some house recipe, was dry as can be. At least the fries were ok.

I don't know what more I can say. Beer, lousy. Food, awful. Wait staff, friendly, cute (fortunately), uninformed. Would I go back? You couldn't pay me enough.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JZip JZip, Boght Corners, NY
(09/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Awesome! Good So So So So
They get an awesome for beer selection because they have a whole wall of taps of other micros. The house beers were nothing special. The amber tasted like chlorine which made me wonder if the brewer is using city water and not purifying it whish offsets beer so much. I was a bit aggravated when 2 couples at the bar came in and asked what a hefeweizen was and the waitress compared it to the likes of a light beer like coors and miller. Shame on her for having so many taps and telling people that it is all about color that determines a flavor of beer. If you do not know what you are talking about, do not even try. I had to lean in and explain what a hefeweizen was so they didnt expect a cloudy Coors. The only decent drinkable product they made was the stout, but I had so many oatmeals that trump this one to call it good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(07/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Have to agree with the majority, and with my review from 2004. House beers--no. Guest beers--yes. Happy hour specials were house beers and well drinks. Their Oatmeal Stout was passable, but too many other great choices to waste much time on just that beer. Great Lakes, Southern Tier just too good to pass up. Food is as advertised, better than you might expect, and gets to you quickly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Stopped by for beers and dinner on August 26 while passing through area on way to concert in North Tonawanda. I've been here a few times over the years but it had been a long while since my previous visit. Place was slammed with customers and there was a wait for table seating. Luckily myself and a friend were able to snag a couple of seats at the supplemental bar area by the front door. I know better than to order the house beers as extract brewing just does not cut it anymore. It may have been groundbreaking 20 years ago but it's time has passed. Sadly due to space limitations I doubt that they will ever be able to upgrade to an all grain system. Thank goodness that they have a couple dozen other taps of mostly quality beer to choose from. Great Lakes Burning River Pale Ale on tap and also served in pitchers.... Hell Yeah! Took a while to get our orders taken due to the mass of customers but once we had placed our food order it arrived to us in under 10 minutes which I found rather amazing. Food was above average and I enjoyed my visit. Worth a stop but just do not have high expectations for the house beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Lousy Good So So
Tried the Oatmeal Stout and the Pale Ale. Nothing special about either one. Food was really bad. They have a huge selection of local and microbrew beers. It is obvious that they know their house beers are subpar. If it wasn't for the visible brewing equipment, you would not know they even brewed beer. Their beer takes a backseat to others on the menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe D'Angelo Joe D'Angelo, Marysville, MI
(06/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Good Good
Very large and well stocked bar. Thier beers were tasty and well balanced, but not very adventurous. However thier guest taps are plentiful and make up for any short comings. Food was beyond description!!!! Very large deliscous portions at a reasonable price. Growlers are very pricey. I would deffinately return if in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(06/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Food was great! They stock quite a few beers,and have several house brews.I tried the house-brewed Amber, it was perfectly balanced and good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken King Ken King, Lowell, MA
(04/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
Buffalo Brew Pub's Oatmeal Stout and Autumn Alt that I tried were very solid offerings. Well made, flavorful but not exactly adventurous. The Pub's own staple offerings appeared of secondary to the patrons who were primarily drinking the spectrum of other offerings from some of NY's better craft brewery beers down to plenty of Domesti-swills. The bar area was a little generic and geared towards volume; packed on a Thursday evening. Everything on the checklist about this place was "Fine", but for myself, I never really got past the lack of "Brewpub atmosphere" … There was plenty of good beer, but it just wasn't about the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(12/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
The Buffalo burger was great. I am not a real fan of their home brews, but they have a wide selection to choose from. I had the Ellicottville Pale Ale!! As a regular there,it would help if they changed brews more frequently from other brewers. Bring in Victory and Lake Placid

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PJJ PJJ, Williamsville, NY
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
I often stay at the hotel right next to the Pub, so it's a convenient stop. If I'm just rating their house beers, I change my pick to "so-so". There's really not much there to satisfy my palate. But, they do provide several other brews that are pretty good, especially the Southern Tier group. There's lots of Blue, Bud and the like as well. It is a good place for everyone to find something to their liking, and the chowder I had was very good too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(05/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Great Good Good
I have been to the BBP several times and the service has run the gambit--never bad, though. The food has always been good. The selection of beer is great...but the quality of their own beer is really poor. I keep trying it hoping that it will get better. It doesn't. It's a big space with tv's, games etc. and a great variety of taps. If they were relying on the sale of their own brew, they'd be gone by now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Buffalo Brewpub is a friendly place with a large selection of beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregory Gregory, Clarence, NY
(10/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
This place is a Buffalo classic. Family oriented and great beer. The spring bock was a keeper. I'll go back to this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Scruphy, Alexandria, VA
(05/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
As brewpubs go, this one was solid but average on the day of my visit. The beer selection tended toward the lighter brews. All were acceptable, but only the Pale Ale and Oatmeal Stout stood out as above average. Buffalo Brewing is worthy of your patronage, but not the sort of place that will leave you raving about the experience to your friends.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ajb, Iowa City, IA
(04/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So So So
I think they must not have any interest in brewing beer. These beers shouldn't have been served. They should stick to commercial beers, or hire a brewer. The Lager was very, very bland. The Amber Ale was good and malty. The Autumn Alt had turned in the keg, I think; I hope it wasn't contagious. The Oatmeal Stout was mild but not offensive. The Raspberry Wheat had very little fruit taste and NO wheat (Weizen) taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(11/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
On my visit to this old drinking hole I use to frequent in my college days, the bar was quiet and the bartender was very helpful. The first beer, Edmund Fitzgerald Porter-Great Lakes Brewing was great tasting with medium body and a good finishing taste. I had to back up and try a brew I heard was also good ,IPA Impaled Ale-Middle Age Brewing this also had a great taste with a nice hoppy finish. Finally I had a real local brew, Buffalo Oatmeal Stout, this too was exceptional tasting one that I would have again. A nice touch to this brew pub is that you can eat as many peanuts and popcorn you want and just concentrate on spending your hard earned money on buying good beer. I will no doubt return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Scheele Eric Scheele, Montpelier, VA
(05/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Great beer especially the darker brews. Kringle Beer for the holidays is always a treat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven L. Prusakowski Steven L. Prusakowski, Gainesville, FL
(02/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A So So Lousy
Was In Town for a wedding and this place was close. Me and the groom and a few others went for a few the night before the big day. Looked nice outside..had lke 30 beers on tap...but was a dump inside with all the locals. Their beer was farr less than I expected and ended up drinking other Porter/Stouts. Not a place to go back to any time soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, Romeo, MI
(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Good Lousy So So
The amber was tart and the lager was flat, though drinkable. We did not care for the service, but we could clearly see how popular this place is among the locals because it was packed from one end of the bar to the other. We assumed it was because of their massive beer selection. Good thing too, because their own beer was less than stellar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy Tray Timothy Tray, Houston, TX
(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Good Lousy So So
The amber was tart and the lager was flat, though drinkable. We did not care for the service, but we could clearly see how popular this place is among the locals because it was packed from one end of the bar to the other. We assumed it was because of their massive beer selection. Good thing too, because their own beer was less than stellar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy Tray Timothy Tray, Houston, TX
(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Good Lousy So So
The amber was tart and the lager was flat, though drinkable. We did not care for the service, but we could clearly see how popular this place is among the locals because it was packed from one end of the bar to the other. We assumed it was because of their massive beer selection. Good thing too, because their own beer was less than stellar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy Tray Timothy Tray, Houston, TX
(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
I think I was expecting more from this pub. This was the last stop on my tour. I only tried a Porter and it was not great. (Had a long drive ahead of me) The Beef on Weck was pretty good. However, It was my first time trying one so I have nothing to compare it to. Bar looks a lot nicer on outside then inside. Good selection of other microbrews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Burdman Burdman, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Good Good
We stopped in for the first time in 3 years and I was genuinly surprised at how average the food was. I'd always had good"pub grub" there but the bratwurst platter I had on February 5th was abominable. The sausages were obviously frozen and microwaved because the outsides wre hot and the insides were frozen solid, and the "German potato salad was no other potato salad I've ever seen. The beers were okay, even good, the waitress actually knew about beer and the ambiance is excellent, but don't ask for the bratwurst. Perhaps it's my fault. I shouldn't have asked for German food in a Polish town. PS It's still a great place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Awesome! Great
This was my first brepub visit, back in 199o. They have a nice selection of taps, but the proprietary brews really are only fair at best. The best thing about the Brewpub is the mellow atmosphere and the truly wonderful bartenders.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Quincy, MA
(11/21/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.579 seconds) 12:56:17 54.211.219.68, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS