PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Syracuse Suds Factory - Syracuse, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 08:18 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Syracuse > Syracuse Suds Factory
Syracuse Suds Factory Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Syracuse Suds Factory
Overall: Good    Score: 64.6 / 100
320 South Clinton Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
United States
(315) 471-2253
Listed Since: December 1997
Last Updated: January 2000
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Syracuse, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
71 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(16 within 5 miles)
1) J. Ryans Pub
(0 mile)

2) Empire Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) The Limerick Pub
(0 mile)

4) Kelly Cole's Improper
(0 mile)

5) Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
(0 mile)

6) Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

7) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(0 mile)

8) Clark's Ale House
(0 mile)

9) Blue Tusk
(0 mile)

10) Awful Al's Smoke and Whiskey Bar
(0 mile)

11) Lucy's Retired Surfer's Bar
(1 mile)

12) Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub
(1 mile)

13) Faegan's Cafe and Pub
(1 mile)

14) Middle Ages Brewing Company
(1 mile)

15) Murrays' Pub and Grill
(3 miles)

16) Shifty's Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ancestor's Inn At the Bassett
2) Bed & Breakfast Network
3) Dickenson House on James
4) Giddings Garden B & B
5) Ophelias Garden Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FAIRGROUNDS
2) BEST WESTERN SYRACUSE AIRPORT
3) CLARION INN SYRACUSE
4) COMFORT INN CARRIER CIRCLE SYR
5) COURTYARD SYRACUSE
6) DAYS INN SYRACUSE AIRPORT
7) DAYS INN SYRACUSE UNIV CARRIER
8) ECONO LODGE MANSFIELD
9) EXTENDEDSTAY SYRACUSE DEWITT
10) HAMPTON INN SYRACUSE NO
11) HAWTHORN SYRACUSE
12) HOMEWOOD SUITES SYRACUSE
13) KNIGHTS INN LIVERPOOL NY
14) MICROTEL INN
15) PARTHENON THE GRAPES
16) QUALITY INN
17) RAMADA INN SYRACUSE
18) RAMADA LTD SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY
19) RED CARPET INN NORTH SYRACUSE
20) RED ROOF SYRACUSE
21) SHERATON SYR UNIV HTL CONF CTR
22) SUPER8 LIVERPOOL 7ST SYRAC A
23) SYRACUSE RESIDENCE INN
24) THE GENESEE GRANDE HOTEL
25) THE RADISSON AT THE MARX
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alvord House
2) Amos Block
3) Ashton House
4) Blanchard House
5) Brown, Alexander, House
6) Central New York Telephone and Telegraph Building
7) Central Technical High School
8) Chapman House
9) Clark House
10) Collins House
11) Crouse College, Syracuse University
12) Dunfee House
13) Edwards, O.M., Building
14) Estabrook House
15) Fairchild House
16) First English Lutheran Church
17) Fuller House
18) Gang House
19) Garrett House
20) Gere Bank Building
21) Gillett, William J., House
22) Gleason, Lucius, House
23) Grace Episcopal Church
24) Gridley, John, House
25) Hall of Languages, Syracuse University
26) Hanover Square Historic District
27) Hanover Square Historic District
28) Hoeffer House
29) Hunziker House
30) Hutchinson, Gen. Orrin, House
31) Kelly House
32) King, Polaski, House
33) Loew's State Theater
34) Mills, Harriet May, House
35) Onondaga County Savings Bank Building
36) Onondaga County War Memorial
37) Pi Chapter House of Psi Upsilon Fraternity
38) Plymouth Congregational Church
39) Poehlman House
40) Porter House
41) Sanderson House-- 112 Scottholm Ter.
42) Sanderson House-- 301 Scottholm Blvd.
43) Sanford House
44) Sherbrook Apartments
45) Simmons, Alton, House
46) Southwood Two-Teacher School
47) Spencer House
48) St. Paul's Cathedral and Parish House
49) Stickley, Gustav, House
50) Stowell House
51) Syracuse City Hall
52) Syracuse Savings Bank
53) Third National Bank
54) Ward House
55) Weighlock Building
56) Welsh House
57) White House
58) White Memorial Building
59) White, Hamilton, House
60) Ziegler House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1060 At The Genesee Inn
2) 313 Restaurant
3) A Plus Parlor Pizza
4) Abdo Deli & Cafe
5) Abed
6) Acropolis Pizza House
7) Adelphia Convenience & Deli
8) Aladdins Natural Eatery
9) Alessandro's Pizza
10) Alex's Grill
11) Ambrosia
12) American Cafe
13) Angotti's Family Restaurant
14) Antonio's Restaurant
15) Appetito Ristoranti Italiano
16) Aquarious Restaurants
17) Arby's
18) Arby's
19) Area 51 Of Syracuse
20) Arena Grille
21) Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips
22) Asti Caffe
23) Au Bon Pain Inc
24) Aunt Josie's Restaurant
25) B & B Lounge
26) B C Restaurant
27) Bad Bart's
28) Bagel Diner
29) Baja Burrito
30) Barge
31) Barnie's Coffee & Tea Co
32) Bean Bag Cafe
33) Beau Quest Eatery
34) Belle Mar
35) Bernards Bistro
36) Berry Town Restaurant
37) Bertha's Place Fine Fd Rstrnt
38) Best Taste Chinese Kitchen
39) Big Shots
40) Bistro 238
41) Blarney Stone Inn
42) Blue Tusk
43) Bosco's Express
44) Boulangerie Limited
45) Brick Alley Grille House
46) Bridget's Cafe & Deli
47) Brooklyn Pickle
48) Brown Restaurant
49) Bull & Bear Pub
50) Bunker Barbeque
51) Burger King
52) Burger King
53) Burger King
54) Burger King
55) Burger King
56) Burgundy Lounge
57) Cafe Chill
58) Cajun Cafe
59) Cannon's
60) Cappy's Italian Grill
61) Captians Corner
62) Caribou Club
63) Carnegie Cafe & Catering Co
64) Carnegies
65) Carrols Corp
66) Casa Latino
67) Catering With A Flair
68) Cathy's Corner Cafe
69) Caylua Grill & Cafe
70) Celebrity Den
71) Char-Walls Steak & Ribs
72) Cheers To All
73) Chef To Go
74) China House Restaurant
75) Chinese Gourmet Express
76) Chorong House Restaurant
77) Chuck's Cafe
78) City Hall Cafe
79) Clark's Ale House
80) Clinton Park Cafe & Take Out
81) Club 950
82) Coach Mac's Sports Bar & Grill
83) Coffee Pavilion
84) Corp Van Thom
85) Cosmo Pizza Shop
86) Crown Bar & Grill
87) D & R Restaurant Lounge
88) Dakota's Brickhouse Grill
89) Daniel Jack's
90) Dante
91) Darwins Restaurant & Bar
92) De Carlos Pizzeria
93) Deli
94) Dinosaur Bar-B-Q Catering
95) Dinosaur Bar-B-Q Express
96) Dolce
97) Domino's Pizza
98) Don Juan Cafe Restaurant
99) Dorian's Gourmet Pizza & Deli
100) Downtown Manhattan's
101) Dry Dock Grill
102) E J's Restaurant
103) EBA Inc
104) Elsaha
105) Empire Brewing Co
106) Faegan's Cafe & Pub
107) Famoso Tavern Ii
108) First Stop Express & Deli
109) Florina Greek Pita House
110) Forty Four's Tavern
111) Frallis Italian Kitchen
112) Franco's Pizzeria & Deli
113) Frankie's Piccolo Bistro
114) Fratelli Pizza & Deli
115) Gas Pump Tavern
116) Geddes St Bar
117) Genesee Inn Restaurant
118) Gentiles Restaurant
119) George O'Das
120) Georgia's
121) Gersey's Ltd
122) Ghetto Kitchen
123) Good N Plenty
124) Grandma's Burgers
125) Green Fornt Market
126) Gregorio's Pizza
127) H K Take Out Foods
128) Half Penny Pub
129) Halftime
130) Hanged Man Ice Cream & Cafe
131) Happy Endings
132) Harborside Deli
133) Harpers's Tavern
134) Harrison Center Coffee Shop
135) Harry's Bar
136) Hershey's Ice Cream
137) Hi Mark Quality Restaurant
138) Hooters
139) Hot Meal Program Office
140) Hunters Seafood
141) Imperial Chinese Restaurant
142) Imperial Deli Flr 1 Left
143) In & Out Restaurant
144) India Star
145) Jamaica Home Cook Restaurant
146) Jerkhut Restaurant
147) Jerry Pace
148) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
149) Joe's Deli
150) Joe's Deli
151) Joe's Deli
152) Joe's Deli
153) Joe's State Tower Restaurant
154) Joey's Italian Take Out
155) Johnnie's
156) Johnny B's Jukebox
157) Johnny Rockets
158) Jones Cafe
159) Jones' Cafe
160) Jreck Subs
161) Juanita's Mexican Kitchen
162) Julie's Place & Karen's Catrng
163) Jungle Cafe At The Zoo
164) Kahunaville
165) Kenny's Family Restaurant
166) Kfc
167) Kfc
168) Kim's Seoul Buffet
169) King David's Downtown
170) King David's Restaurant
171) Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Resta
172) Komachi
173) L Lounge
174) L V Cafe Sport
175) L'Adour
176) La Casa Del Te
177) La Cucina Di Capri
178) La Familia
179) LA Pizzeria Of Northside
180) La-Cuisine
181) Lady Bug Lunchbox
182) Lai Lai Chinese Restaurant
183) Lan Vientnamese & Chinese
184) Larmeshia's Soul Food
185) Las Delicias
186) Last Chance Cafe
187) Lee's Express
188) Legend's Restaurant & Lounge
189) Lemon Grass Thai Restaurant
190) Liberty Deli
191) Lil Papa's Pizzeria
192) Limerick Pub
193) Lindsey's Cafe Too
194) Little Gem Diner
195) Little Mac's Pizzeria
196) Lois' Lounge
197) Long Cnehg
198) Loris KOZY Corner
199) Lott's A Pies
200) Lucky Moon Cafe
201) Lucy's Retired Surfers Bar
202) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
203) Maggie's Tavern
204) Mahars & Co
205) Mahley's
206) Mai Lan Vietnamese Restaurant
207) Maine Lobster
208) Mama Gees
209) Mama Nancy's Restaurant
210) Mandeli's
211) Matrix Nightclub
212) Mc Dermott's
213) Mc Donald's
214) Mc Donald's
215) Mc Monkeez Tropical Pub
216) Millwright Cafe
217) Milton Restaurant
218) Mimi's At Madison Irving
219) Mimi's Bakery & Cafe
220) Mini Jack's Deli
221) Miss Syracuse Diner
222) Mission Restaurant
223) Mitch's Place
224) Mok Hwa Restaurant
225) Molly's Place
226) Mom's Diner
227) Mom's Lunch Box
228) Movino
229) Mr Lucky's
230) Mr Smoothie
231) Muckey's New Yorker
232) Mulrooney's
233) Murphy's Beer & Wine
234) Murphy's Tavern On The Corner
235) My 4 Rose's Italian Deli
236) My Bar
237) Nana's Deli & Pizzeria
238) Nancy's Coffee Cafe-Ctr Armory
239) New Depot Grill
240) Nibsy's Pub
241) Nick's Place
242) Nick's Tomato Pie Inc
243) Niki's Quick Cup Diner
244) Nikos Pasta Pizza & Deli
245) Nina's Cafe
246) No Borders No Boundaries
247) P J Dorsey's
248) Panda West Chinese Restaurant
249) Paninin's
250) Papa's Restaurant
251) Pascale Bakehouse & Cafe Co
252) Pascale Wine Bar & Reataurant
253) Pastabilities
254) Patsy's Pizza
255) Paul De Lima Co
256) Pavone's Pizza
257) Pearl Street Delicatessen
258) Phantom Club
259) Phantom Club
260) Phoebe's Garden Cafe
261) Pita Pit
262) Pizza 101
263) Pizza Jerks
264) Pizzaz Pizza Inc
265) Provisions Bakery
266) Quigley's Tavern
267) Quiznos Sub
268) Quiznos Sub
269) Rafferty's
270) Rain
271) Reggio Restaurant
272) Riley's
273) Roadside Cafe
274) Rodo's Cafe
275) Roman's Restraunt & Catering
276) Roman's Tavern
277) Rosie O'Grady's Tavern
278) Ruby Tuesday
279) Saba's Pizza & Deli
280) Sabastino's Beer & Kegs
281) Sabatino's Pizza Deli
282) Salads & Smoothies
283) Salads & Smoothies
284) Sally's Coffee Tree
285) Samrat Indian Restaurant
286) Sbarro
287) Sbarro
288) Serpico Restaurant
289) Shaughnessy's Pub
290) Sheraton
291) Skyline Grill Inc
292) Slices
293) Smorol's
294) Sorrento's Restaurant
295) South Philly Steak & Sub
296) Spaghetti Warehouse
297) Sparta Restaurant & Deli
298) Spring Chinese Restaurant
299) Starbucks
300) Stavros' Sandwiches
301) Stone Thrower Cafe
302) Stoop
303) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
304) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
305) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
306) Sunrise Eat In & Take Out
307) Swallow's Restaurant
308) Sweet Baba's Pizza
309) Syra-Juice Juice Bar & Eatery
310) Syracuse Suds Factory
311) T J C's Restaurant
312) T-House Restaurant
313) Taco Bell
314) Tailgators
315) Teddy's At Armory Square Inc
316) Teriyaki House
317) Thai Restaurant Of Syracuse
318) Tiffany's Catering Co
319) Tippin-In Lounge
320) To The Moon
321) Top Cat Lounge
322) Traditions Of Syracuse
323) Tree Haven Cafe
324) Trexx
325) Trio
326) Tropix
327) Tumino's Pizzeria
328) Tutu Venue
329) Twins Deli
330) Umi
331) University Tower Hotel
332) Uno Chicago Bar & Grill
333) Upstairs
334) Varsity Coffee Shop
335) Velvet Underground
336) Vinny's Deli & Take Out
337) Vito's Catering Svc
338) Walton's Corner
339) Wan Fa Restaurant
340) Weber's Restaurant
341) Welcome Inn
342) Wendy's
343) West End Diner
344) Whaley's Bbq
345) Wild Will's Saloon
346) Win Hope Chinese Restaurant
347) World Lounge & Martini Bar
348) Yankel & Co Catering
349) Z J's Pizza
350) Zuppa's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Great Great
We have been to the Suds Factory quite often over the past 19 years. We enjoy the atmosphere, Norm the Brewer, Patty and Al, and especially like their Wednesday night Jazz concerts. Last night was no exception. Spent an enjoyable evening with Norm and Patty and thoroughly enjoyed the two beers we had - the Pale Ale and the Honey Light. Both were exceptional last night. It has always been a very friendly place and continues to be so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(02/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy Lousy
This is definately the worst brewery I have ever been to in my entire life!!!! All breweries I have ever been to have a nice atmosphere...this place looked like your neighborhood rathole....oh and how about the bartenders...the one bartender refused to serve us and she looked like a $2 prostitute. She should have been standing on a corner. I tried a Weizen and it was absolutely horrible...I couldn't even finish it. Food was ok..definately never going back to that spot!! Empire and Middle Ages blow this place out of the water!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon  Shannon , Berea, OH
(07/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Yuk! and I mean yuk!

I have been to well over 75 brewpubs and breweries and this place definately is on the bottom. They only had 3 of their beers on tap cause they kicked the rest. The ones I tried were bottom of the barrel gross. They all had a sour feel to them and seemed completely off in style. Dear head brewer, learn to brew, seriously, you cant take pride in the crap you make. The rather large bar tender who served us screwed up our order and swore that the mac and cheese was the ultimate to have. The food was just as bland and off as the beers there. I didnt care for the bar tender cause after he rattled off the beers real quick i asked him to repeat them and he gave me attitude back. While he thought he was funny, I almost walked out. Seriously this place was bottom of the barrel quality. Service, food, and beer all were of poor quality!!!

I was at Empire around the block the day before and it was open and had a whole array of beers on tap worth going to. After I barely could finish my last pint at Syracuse Suds, I left there and went back to Empire to dilute the poor excuse for beer that the suds factory left in me.

and again, YUK! (listen to these reviewers, they hit it on the dot about this place being awful)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(06/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
stop by on 8/21/07 to check out the place. The staff was very nice and gave me good information on not only there place but on the Empire Brewing which was a bust to check out. Will return next time in the area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Horton James Horton, camb springs, PA
(08/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review YOUNGSTOWN, OH
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
While the beer here isn't that great, when you're walking by and see an 18 piece jazz band through the window--you stop in. Salt City Jazz Collective plays here every first Wednesday of the month (I was told) and it's not to be missed. These guys claim NOT to practice, but however it all comes together, it's great! The "Awesome" rating is for you guys! ...and I did have a stout which wasn't too bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I have tried 5 of the beers here. I like Weizen and the Irish Red. The Honey Light and pale ale were ok. The Cherry Lambic was ok as well..the waiter brought us a small glass to try. He warned us that it might taste like Robutussin(sp?). It wasn't that bad. I had the grilled cheese which was larger than expected, and the fries were good. The food was pretty inexpensive and decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandra Sandra, Middletown, RI
(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Hey Jerry! Syracuse Suds Factory doesn't even MAKE A PORTER! So before you BASH an establishment, make sure you know what you're talking about!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Renee Renee, Syracuse, NY
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great N/A
We try to get here every Wednesday evening for the various Jazz groups that perform. Ronnie Leigh, Jazz Collective, J Project. They are all terrific. Syracuse people, you are really missing something special on Wednesdays (starting around 6 p.m.) if you like good music and don't come to these. The last two times here Norm's "Brown" and "Pale Ale" were both outstanding. There was a terrific "buffet" last night (free, by the way) - a very spicy quesadilla - was that ever good! We had their soft chicken tacos for dinner, along with the toasted raviolis for an appetizer. Both were excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So N/A
The reason for my rating is obvious: there are so many good places in town (Blue Tusk & Clark's) where a thirsty traveler can parch their lips, so why come here? Maybe, my mistake was coming here AFTER Blue Tusk? While, Syracuse Suds (SS - how appropriate) is not the worst beer I've had, given the environment, it could be better - particularly since the demise of the great Empire Brewing Company. Syracuse Suds? More like Syracuse Duds. Keep trying guys! By the way, porter should be dark color.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great So So
The beer is just not very good. It's thin, with many strange characteristics. The weizen tasted much like cinnamon and the black cherry was fake, like a kid's drink mix. When I'm in the area, I stop here on a lark, with no expectations. The waitstaff, to their credit, was very friendly and nice, and fun to kid around with. But, that's not why you brew, is it?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So
Great location. Good service. But I actually couldn't drink the pale ale! My current beer is Fostbite by lake Placid at the Tusk. Will someone please reopen the Empire??

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron D Ron D, LaFayette, NY
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So
I usually read the reveiws and keep my opinions to my self but I agree with all the negative comments 100%.I hit brewpubs all over the US and the beer here is the worst.My wife and I had hoped it would improve with the move to the new location but it stayed the awful same.I do not know how anyone who truly knows beer could say otherwise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, syracuse, NY
(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
A decent place. The beer was nothing spectacular, but it wasn't bad. I really enjoyed the lambic. It's worth checking out, but in a town filled with great bars, I don't think I'd rush back anytime soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Robinson Mark Robinson, Glen Burnie, MD
(02/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been to Syracuse Suds Factory a few times and something seems to make me keep coming back!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Jennifer, Syracuse, NY
(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So Lousy
If you don't love beer this might be the place for you. The food isn't much better than the beer. However, it's one of the few places in Armory Square to watch a game on sunday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Gentry Matthew Gentry, Syracuse, NY
(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So So So
This is a nice place in a good location. Unfortunately, as open minded as I intended to be, the Pale Ale I tried seemed under-attenuated to me. Not the intentional variety either, I really couldn't get past the flavor of cold wort. I wanted to try a sample of a different offering to see if was isolated but the bartender had gone to the end of the bar to have something to eat and didn't want to get up even after eye contact. I couldn't finish the one I had, so I left for across the street. The system displayed at the storefront appears to be set-up for extract brewing only.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great
Norm's Pale Ale is a fine beer. That is the one we normally order when we get here. Don't miss this place on Wednesdays (from about 5:30 to 7:30 or so). They have terrific jazz groups - especially Ronnie Leigh and the Salt City Collective. Why would you miss this? Get some good beers, great music, and happy hour food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(11/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
I'm sure first impressions can be incorrect as I've read many negative reviews for SSF. I've been enjoying their beer for the last 5 years and think it is the jewel of Armory Square in downtown Syracuse. The Red is clean, the Wheat is smooth and the Cherry Lambic is unique and especially appeals to women who usually do not like beer. It's an excellent place to watch Monday night football with 5-cent wings and the best place for Happy Hr on Friday's from 4pm-2am for $2 draft. This is the only active brewery-pub in downtown Syracuse. The only other one, The Empire Brew Pub, left last yr - mainly due to $ issues but the stuffy atmosphere, overpriced beer and rude waitstaff didn't help either. Syr Suds is the place to be to cheer on the SU Basketball team and drown the soon to be many losses of the SU Football team this season. Check it out! The comfortable atmosphere and knowledgeable bartenders and always available for a chat Brew Master Norm are sure to impress!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heather Clark Heather Clark, Liverpool, NY
(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
It's a huge place, in a great location, in a city where good beer does not go unnoticed. But there is really nothing here to make me stop when I can enjoy Middle Ages or the selection all around the Armory. I've tried their beer, and while it isn't foul (see "PA--Gettysbrew"), it just leaves you wondering why it can't be better. Perhaps with time...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Good Lousy
Blah!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So
Extract beers? If I had known that I would not have stopped. Every beer (style) on the menu is described incorrectly. The Lambic is a “wheat beer?” I don’t care if it’s made with unmalted wheat or not no one describes a Lambic as a “wheat beer.” Anyhow, they make a “Drunken Cow” with the Lambic and a scoop of vanilla ice cream (blasphemy if you ask me). It’s not my cup of tea but the other half liked it.

Read down the menu further and it says, “The only commercially produced beers with hops grown in Central New York.” OK - we just went from “extract brewed beers” to ones featuring “home grown hops.” As in “whole hops?”

The “Pale Ale” is a “robust strong ale”. Sounds more like an IPA to me. “What is it?” I ask the barmaid. “Oh, it’s an IPA.” OK. Along comes the brewer. “It’s a Pale Ale,” he says. “English or American?” I ask. “English.” Hmmm, tastes like an American. We’ll let it slide though as it wasn’t half bad (hop-heads would like it).

The Red Ale had a nice clean nose and a sweet malty flavor. I’d rather that than some of the dry ones that are out there. This is probably the only beer that was described correctly on the menu and tasted accordingly. And it was actually pretty good - long in flavor and a nice aftertaste.

This place has some potential and I’ll try it again at some point. I liked the building as it looked like an old firehouse. For the brewer – hire someone that can write properly and re-do the beer menu. And for the barmaid, Saranac is not “merging” with “Utica Club or something like that.” Saranac and Utica Club are one in the same (brewed under the same roof by the same family of brewers).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Great So So
The reason for my rating is obvious: there are so many good places in town (Blue Tusk & Clark's) where a thirsty traveler can parch their lips, so why come here? Maybe, my mistake was coming here AFTER Blue Tusk? While, Syracuse Suds (SS - how appropriate) is not the worst beer I've had, given the environment, it could be better - particularly since the demise of the great Empire Brewing Company. Syracuse Suds? More like Syracuse Duds. Keep trying guys! By the way, porter is supposed to be a caramel color.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Jerry, Gaithersburg, MD
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
I went there on a recent trip to syracuse. The beer was horrible and the atmosphere was even worse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from adam tufillaro adam tufillaro, rochester, NY
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Very nice place to go with some guys and have a few beers with above average pub food. Excellent sandwiches and burgers. The microbrews were not the best I've ever had, but were certainly not the worst either. It's definitely a nice first stop on a Saturday night Armory Square bar run.

Some of the reviews below that trashed this place are either unfounded, or out of date, because I had a very nice experience here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Wood-Ridge, NJ
(04/21/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.271 seconds) 20:18:26 54.205.225.18, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS