PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Syracuse Suds Factory - Syracuse, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 16, 2014 @ 05:11 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Syracuse > Syracuse Suds Factory
Syracuse Suds Factory Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Syracuse Suds Factory
Overall: Good    Score: 64.6 / 100
320 South Clinton Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
United States
(315) 471-2253
Listed Since: December 1997
Last Updated: January 2000
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Syracuse, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
71 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(16 within 5 miles)
1) J. Ryans Pub
(0 mile)

2) Empire Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) The Limerick Pub
(0 mile)

4) Kelly Cole's Improper
(0 mile)

5) Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
(0 mile)

6) Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

7) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(0 mile)

8) Clark's Ale House
(0 mile)

9) Blue Tusk
(0 mile)

10) Awful Al's Smoke and Whiskey Bar
(0 mile)

11) Lucy's Retired Surfer's Bar
(1 mile)

12) Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub
(1 mile)

13) Faegan's Cafe and Pub
(1 mile)

14) Middle Ages Brewing Company
(1 mile)

15) Murrays' Pub and Grill
(3 miles)

16) Shifty's Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ancestor's Inn At the Bassett
2) Bed & Breakfast Network
3) Dickenson House on James
4) Giddings Garden B & B
5) Ophelias Garden Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FAIRGROUNDS
2) BEST WESTERN SYRACUSE AIRPORT
3) CLARION INN SYRACUSE
4) COMFORT INN CARRIER CIRCLE SYR
5) COURTYARD SYRACUSE
6) DAYS INN SYRACUSE AIRPORT
7) DAYS INN SYRACUSE UNIV CARRIER
8) ECONO LODGE MANSFIELD
9) EXTENDEDSTAY SYRACUSE DEWITT
10) HAMPTON INN SYRACUSE NO
11) HAWTHORN SYRACUSE
12) HOMEWOOD SUITES SYRACUSE
13) KNIGHTS INN LIVERPOOL NY
14) MICROTEL INN
15) PARTHENON THE GRAPES
16) QUALITY INN
17) RAMADA INN SYRACUSE
18) RAMADA LTD SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY
19) RED CARPET INN NORTH SYRACUSE
20) RED ROOF SYRACUSE
21) SHERATON SYR UNIV HTL CONF CTR
22) SUPER8 LIVERPOOL 7ST SYRAC A
23) SYRACUSE RESIDENCE INN
24) THE GENESEE GRANDE HOTEL
25) THE RADISSON AT THE MARX
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alvord House
2) Amos Block
3) Ashton House
4) Blanchard House
5) Brown, Alexander, House
6) Central New York Telephone and Telegraph Building
7) Central Technical High School
8) Chapman House
9) Clark House
10) Collins House
11) Crouse College, Syracuse University
12) Dunfee House
13) Edwards, O.M., Building
14) Estabrook House
15) Fairchild House
16) First English Lutheran Church
17) Fuller House
18) Gang House
19) Garrett House
20) Gere Bank Building
21) Gillett, William J., House
22) Gleason, Lucius, House
23) Grace Episcopal Church
24) Gridley, John, House
25) Hall of Languages, Syracuse University
26) Hanover Square Historic District
27) Hanover Square Historic District
28) Hoeffer House
29) Hunziker House
30) Hutchinson, Gen. Orrin, House
31) Kelly House
32) King, Polaski, House
33) Loew's State Theater
34) Mills, Harriet May, House
35) Onondaga County Savings Bank Building
36) Onondaga County War Memorial
37) Pi Chapter House of Psi Upsilon Fraternity
38) Plymouth Congregational Church
39) Poehlman House
40) Porter House
41) Sanderson House-- 112 Scottholm Ter.
42) Sanderson House-- 301 Scottholm Blvd.
43) Sanford House
44) Sherbrook Apartments
45) Simmons, Alton, House
46) Southwood Two-Teacher School
47) Spencer House
48) St. Paul's Cathedral and Parish House
49) Stickley, Gustav, House
50) Stowell House
51) Syracuse City Hall
52) Syracuse Savings Bank
53) Third National Bank
54) Ward House
55) Weighlock Building
56) Welsh House
57) White House
58) White Memorial Building
59) White, Hamilton, House
60) Ziegler House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1060 At The Genesee Inn
2) 313 Restaurant
3) A Plus Parlor Pizza
4) Abdo Deli & Cafe
5) Abed
6) Acropolis Pizza House
7) Adelphia Convenience & Deli
8) Aladdins Natural Eatery
9) Alessandro's Pizza
10) Alex's Grill
11) Ambrosia
12) American Cafe
13) Angotti's Family Restaurant
14) Antonio's Restaurant
15) Appetito Ristoranti Italiano
16) Aquarious Restaurants
17) Arby's
18) Arby's
19) Area 51 Of Syracuse
20) Arena Grille
21) Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips
22) Asti Caffe
23) Au Bon Pain Inc
24) Aunt Josie's Restaurant
25) B & B Lounge
26) B C Restaurant
27) Bad Bart's
28) Bagel Diner
29) Baja Burrito
30) Barge
31) Barnie's Coffee & Tea Co
32) Bean Bag Cafe
33) Beau Quest Eatery
34) Belle Mar
35) Bernards Bistro
36) Berry Town Restaurant
37) Bertha's Place Fine Fd Rstrnt
38) Best Taste Chinese Kitchen
39) Big Shots
40) Bistro 238
41) Blarney Stone Inn
42) Blue Tusk
43) Bosco's Express
44) Boulangerie Limited
45) Brick Alley Grille House
46) Bridget's Cafe & Deli
47) Brooklyn Pickle
48) Brown Restaurant
49) Bull & Bear Pub
50) Bunker Barbeque
51) Burger King
52) Burger King
53) Burger King
54) Burger King
55) Burger King
56) Burgundy Lounge
57) Cafe Chill
58) Cajun Cafe
59) Cannon's
60) Cappy's Italian Grill
61) Captians Corner
62) Caribou Club
63) Carnegie Cafe & Catering Co
64) Carnegies
65) Carrols Corp
66) Casa Latino
67) Catering With A Flair
68) Cathy's Corner Cafe
69) Caylua Grill & Cafe
70) Celebrity Den
71) Char-Walls Steak & Ribs
72) Cheers To All
73) Chef To Go
74) China House Restaurant
75) Chinese Gourmet Express
76) Chorong House Restaurant
77) Chuck's Cafe
78) City Hall Cafe
79) Clark's Ale House
80) Clinton Park Cafe & Take Out
81) Club 950
82) Coach Mac's Sports Bar & Grill
83) Coffee Pavilion
84) Corp Van Thom
85) Cosmo Pizza Shop
86) Crown Bar & Grill
87) D & R Restaurant Lounge
88) Dakota's Brickhouse Grill
89) Daniel Jack's
90) Dante
91) Darwins Restaurant & Bar
92) De Carlos Pizzeria
93) Deli
94) Dinosaur Bar-B-Q Catering
95) Dinosaur Bar-B-Q Express
96) Dolce
97) Domino's Pizza
98) Don Juan Cafe Restaurant
99) Dorian's Gourmet Pizza & Deli
100) Downtown Manhattan's
101) Dry Dock Grill
102) E J's Restaurant
103) EBA Inc
104) Elsaha
105) Empire Brewing Co
106) Faegan's Cafe & Pub
107) Famoso Tavern Ii
108) First Stop Express & Deli
109) Florina Greek Pita House
110) Forty Four's Tavern
111) Frallis Italian Kitchen
112) Franco's Pizzeria & Deli
113) Frankie's Piccolo Bistro
114) Fratelli Pizza & Deli
115) Gas Pump Tavern
116) Geddes St Bar
117) Genesee Inn Restaurant
118) Gentiles Restaurant
119) George O'Das
120) Georgia's
121) Gersey's Ltd
122) Ghetto Kitchen
123) Good N Plenty
124) Grandma's Burgers
125) Green Fornt Market
126) Gregorio's Pizza
127) H K Take Out Foods
128) Half Penny Pub
129) Halftime
130) Hanged Man Ice Cream & Cafe
131) Happy Endings
132) Harborside Deli
133) Harpers's Tavern
134) Harrison Center Coffee Shop
135) Harry's Bar
136) Hershey's Ice Cream
137) Hi Mark Quality Restaurant
138) Hooters
139) Hot Meal Program Office
140) Hunters Seafood
141) Imperial Chinese Restaurant
142) Imperial Deli Flr 1 Left
143) In & Out Restaurant
144) India Star
145) Jamaica Home Cook Restaurant
146) Jerkhut Restaurant
147) Jerry Pace
148) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
149) Joe's Deli
150) Joe's Deli
151) Joe's Deli
152) Joe's Deli
153) Joe's State Tower Restaurant
154) Joey's Italian Take Out
155) Johnnie's
156) Johnny B's Jukebox
157) Johnny Rockets
158) Jones Cafe
159) Jones' Cafe
160) Jreck Subs
161) Juanita's Mexican Kitchen
162) Julie's Place & Karen's Catrng
163) Jungle Cafe At The Zoo
164) Kahunaville
165) Kenny's Family Restaurant
166) Kfc
167) Kfc
168) Kim's Seoul Buffet
169) King David's Downtown
170) King David's Restaurant
171) Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Resta
172) Komachi
173) L Lounge
174) L V Cafe Sport
175) L'Adour
176) La Casa Del Te
177) La Cucina Di Capri
178) La Familia
179) LA Pizzeria Of Northside
180) La-Cuisine
181) Lady Bug Lunchbox
182) Lai Lai Chinese Restaurant
183) Lan Vientnamese & Chinese
184) Larmeshia's Soul Food
185) Las Delicias
186) Last Chance Cafe
187) Lee's Express
188) Legend's Restaurant & Lounge
189) Lemon Grass Thai Restaurant
190) Liberty Deli
191) Lil Papa's Pizzeria
192) Limerick Pub
193) Lindsey's Cafe Too
194) Little Gem Diner
195) Little Mac's Pizzeria
196) Lois' Lounge
197) Long Cnehg
198) Loris KOZY Corner
199) Lott's A Pies
200) Lucky Moon Cafe
201) Lucy's Retired Surfers Bar
202) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
203) Maggie's Tavern
204) Mahars & Co
205) Mahley's
206) Mai Lan Vietnamese Restaurant
207) Maine Lobster
208) Mama Gees
209) Mama Nancy's Restaurant
210) Mandeli's
211) Matrix Nightclub
212) Mc Dermott's
213) Mc Donald's
214) Mc Donald's
215) Mc Monkeez Tropical Pub
216) Millwright Cafe
217) Milton Restaurant
218) Mimi's At Madison Irving
219) Mimi's Bakery & Cafe
220) Mini Jack's Deli
221) Miss Syracuse Diner
222) Mission Restaurant
223) Mitch's Place
224) Mok Hwa Restaurant
225) Molly's Place
226) Mom's Diner
227) Mom's Lunch Box
228) Movino
229) Mr Lucky's
230) Mr Smoothie
231) Muckey's New Yorker
232) Mulrooney's
233) Murphy's Beer & Wine
234) Murphy's Tavern On The Corner
235) My 4 Rose's Italian Deli
236) My Bar
237) Nana's Deli & Pizzeria
238) Nancy's Coffee Cafe-Ctr Armory
239) New Depot Grill
240) Nibsy's Pub
241) Nick's Place
242) Nick's Tomato Pie Inc
243) Niki's Quick Cup Diner
244) Nikos Pasta Pizza & Deli
245) Nina's Cafe
246) No Borders No Boundaries
247) P J Dorsey's
248) Panda West Chinese Restaurant
249) Paninin's
250) Papa's Restaurant
251) Pascale Bakehouse & Cafe Co
252) Pascale Wine Bar & Reataurant
253) Pastabilities
254) Patsy's Pizza
255) Paul De Lima Co
256) Pavone's Pizza
257) Pearl Street Delicatessen
258) Phantom Club
259) Phantom Club
260) Phoebe's Garden Cafe
261) Pita Pit
262) Pizza 101
263) Pizza Jerks
264) Pizzaz Pizza Inc
265) Provisions Bakery
266) Quigley's Tavern
267) Quiznos Sub
268) Quiznos Sub
269) Rafferty's
270) Rain
271) Reggio Restaurant
272) Riley's
273) Roadside Cafe
274) Rodo's Cafe
275) Roman's Restraunt & Catering
276) Roman's Tavern
277) Rosie O'Grady's Tavern
278) Ruby Tuesday
279) Saba's Pizza & Deli
280) Sabastino's Beer & Kegs
281) Sabatino's Pizza Deli
282) Salads & Smoothies
283) Salads & Smoothies
284) Sally's Coffee Tree
285) Samrat Indian Restaurant
286) Sbarro
287) Sbarro
288) Serpico Restaurant
289) Shaughnessy's Pub
290) Sheraton
291) Skyline Grill Inc
292) Slices
293) Smorol's
294) Sorrento's Restaurant
295) South Philly Steak & Sub
296) Spaghetti Warehouse
297) Sparta Restaurant & Deli
298) Spring Chinese Restaurant
299) Starbucks
300) Stavros' Sandwiches
301) Stone Thrower Cafe
302) Stoop
303) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
304) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
305) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
306) Sunrise Eat In & Take Out
307) Swallow's Restaurant
308) Sweet Baba's Pizza
309) Syra-Juice Juice Bar & Eatery
310) Syracuse Suds Factory
311) T J C's Restaurant
312) T-House Restaurant
313) Taco Bell
314) Tailgators
315) Teddy's At Armory Square Inc
316) Teriyaki House
317) Thai Restaurant Of Syracuse
318) Tiffany's Catering Co
319) Tippin-In Lounge
320) To The Moon
321) Top Cat Lounge
322) Traditions Of Syracuse
323) Tree Haven Cafe
324) Trexx
325) Trio
326) Tropix
327) Tumino's Pizzeria
328) Tutu Venue
329) Twins Deli
330) Umi
331) University Tower Hotel
332) Uno Chicago Bar & Grill
333) Upstairs
334) Varsity Coffee Shop
335) Velvet Underground
336) Vinny's Deli & Take Out
337) Vito's Catering Svc
338) Walton's Corner
339) Wan Fa Restaurant
340) Weber's Restaurant
341) Welcome Inn
342) Wendy's
343) West End Diner
344) Whaley's Bbq
345) Wild Will's Saloon
346) Win Hope Chinese Restaurant
347) World Lounge & Martini Bar
348) Yankel & Co Catering
349) Z J's Pizza
350) Zuppa's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
The Pale Ale taste like a Nut Brwon, the Brown seemed like a Porter and the Sweet Stout seemed like a Porter. However, it was a nice place. Even though the beers seemed to not what there names implied, they were still very tastey. Food was good and the server better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Dave from syracuse you need to get a life other than downing someone business if you are so great why don't you open you own pub or bar this is a very hard business and people like you do not help matters by putting all these place down.( in the Armory Square.) Suds Factory is a great place to go i have never had a beer or drink out of a plastic cup.And the only time the TV's are up loud is when a important game is on like SU football, SU Basketball, World Series things like that. people do go to bars to watch sports on tv and if you have a problem with things like that you should just stay home. I like the Suds factory they have been in business for a long time and the have great food and wed jazz is awesome Friday happy hour is great to. i have read all of the reviews and i think there is something fishy going on. Norm is a great guy and will talk to you about beer any time your there . Everyone has a different style of making these beers you may not like everything you try. Suds your doing a great job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Syracuse, NY
(04/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
I went to Suds Factory during the Holidays and I was really pleasantly surprised at how nice it was.It was very nicely decorated and the servie was superb. My wife and I along with another couple enjoyed dinner there for the first time.WE had a few vinos and had the specials of the night. For pub fare,we actually loved the variety of the menu.Our favorite of the night was the bread pudding.Yummy. We will definately be back for some great tasting food and couple of totties !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Auburn, NY
(01/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
I just read that review from Dave from Syracuse and obviously his ex works there. He does'nt know what he is talking about. I loved the food,the jazz on Wed. nights, and the staff was very friendly. Dave,maybe you should stay home and make your own party. You must have a good time at home because you dislike all the bars downtown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michele Michele, Syracuse, NY
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
This is a terrible establishment in a beautiful building and location. They make you drink beer from little plastic cups, there are TV's blaring everywhere, the beer they brew tastes terrible (utter incompetence!), and the people who work and drink there are lame. I can't wait for them to go bankrupt so that a good bar can be made in that great space.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dave, Syracuse, NY
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Went to the Sud's factory about 1 month ago and have been debating on how to rate the place in regards to quality. I ordered the sampler and was not impressed with many of them at all. I just could not palate the taste. My girlfriend seemed to enjoy the Black cherry lambic and she was the only one to say a good word about that beer in a group of 4.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lance, Binghamton, NY
(03/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A So So
This is a large place with a big bar and was fairly quiet for a Friday night. There was no beer list in sight, and the labels on the tap handles were turned toward the inside of the bar. When asked what they had, the bartender started with the Macros, Bud lite, etc. When asked what they made themselves, the bartender wasn't that familiar and had to read the taps. Tried several styles, none was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Foamee, Columbia, Md
(03/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Wednesday nights at the Suds Factory is a night not to be missed. You Syracuse locals who do not get out for these terrific Jazz nights are missing a wonderful treat. No cover charge. Where can you get such entertainment for only the price of your beers/food? Tonight was the Salt City Jazz Collective (here once a month - usually the first Weds of the month, but with the Holiday, it was tonight). 16 of some of the greatest musicians anywhere. And a special treat. Ronnie Leigh (another local Jazz great who also plays here on other Wednesdays during the month) sang with Tammy Spadafora. Their rendition of Autumn Leaves was fantastic. We had Syracuse Suds' Pale Ale - tonight it was great. But even if you prefer the (yuk) Bud Lites, come on out on Wednesdays and support this place - they give the community wonderful entertainment. Way to go Patty and Al!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, GA
(01/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy
J...... in Syracuse, you have lived a sheltered life. You need to get out more. If you think this place makes good beer, you must have a frickin' erection when you swill an Old Milwaukee Lite! The fact that this place produces some of the nastiest beer this side of the moon is a well know fact........ Live with it. Now get back to your Bud Lite, like everyone else in the joint, including the owner. The best thing that could happen to this abortion, is for the owner to sell it to someone that had an clue as to what a BrewPub was all about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clifton Park, NY
(06/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I just have to say, that I just read ALL of the comments posted by other people thus far, and I'm a bit ashamed. I've been to the SSF many times, and I've never been disappointed. Microbrews all have a distinct taste, and to those who do not just suck down Miller Lite or Labatt Blue, it's a nice change. And to be so vindictive is not only childish, but inappropriate. The bartenders are pleasant, the waitstaff cheerful, and the food is quite good. If you want to chug down pints of Budweiser, go to any bar. If you want a good time, with good people, go to the Syracuse Suds Factory.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J J, Syracuse, NY
(06/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy
How in the world call this buzzard puke beer? Everyone at the bar drinking megaswill....I wondered why? Now I know why. Fire the SCUM-MASTER, and get someone in there that has a clue as how to craft beer. Avoid this joint at all cost!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Denver, CO
(06/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To all at the Syracuse Suds Factory, I hope that no one took what I said about your beer personally. I just wanted to state my honest opinion from the experience that I have had in the past. I will say that it has been some time (6 months) since I last have had your beer. I will be in Syracuse and hope that my opinion will change greatly--if so, I will gladly post a good review. If your wondering, someone from Boston thought it "mean-spirited" with my review. Please, understand that I am just trying to raise the standard of beer within this great brewing state. Again, no personal offense meant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So Lousy
by no means is this authentic germam beer. the hefe is a best an awfuf american wheat. most beers are barely drinkable and tend to all taste like rootbeer. why bother with this place when you have Empire, tusk and clarks right around the corner

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review syracuse, NY
(05/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
The real deal??? come on...I have never (and I honestly mean never) have had a decent beer from this place. There have been many times that I have had to dump out the beer at beer festivals because I couldn't get through the few ounces. I generally like to find good in all beers, but have always found this beer to be bad and completly uninspired. Plus I have seen the owner or brewer?? I honestly do not know which one drinking a micehlob lite at a festival. In all honesty, for the general business of micros, I think these guys should restructure their recipes. Rob Davis Brewmaster Great Adirondack Brewing Co. Lake Placid, N.Y

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Davis Robert Davis, Lake Placid, NY
(05/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Not posting a review, merely answering a few allegations...

"First of all, I don't think these reviewers even know what an authentic german brew tastes like." - umm, excuse me? I've been to Germany and had the beer there, thanks. This place brews a pale ale, a brown ale, a stout, a black cherry lambic - none of which are remotely Geman styles. And their hefe was not a good brew when I tried it.

I have no vendetta, business interests across the street (the parking garage?) nor am I a national brand drinker. And I wouldn't know anyone else on this site if they came up & bit me on the behind. I do, however, know what a good beer tastes like and do want to see local breweries succeed on their merits. Tell ya what - I'll hit Suds again next time I'm in Syracuse, and I'll keep these recent postitive reviews in mind when I do. And I'll post my honest opinion of the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bakes bakes, Niskayuna, NY
(04/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
This was our next stop on our trek. Our S.C.A.L.E. group had fun here, it was early in the evening so the place wasn't really crowded but still had quite a few people in it. Overall I thought the beer was of great quality. It is obvious that Norman the brewmaster really puts his heart into his beer. I enjoyed the hefe-wiezen and thought the porter was exceptional. Some members of our group had a fun time talking to Norman and you could tell he was proud of his efforts. I don't know why some of these past reviews were so negative, must be some vendeta. Didn't eat here as we were stuffed from our meal at Empire. Will have to come back and try the food here and enjoy Norman's beer again. Service was great too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Widomski Ed Widomski, Clark Mills, NY
(04/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
We went in on a saturday afternoon, before the SU crowd started happening and we weren't dissappointed. The Pale Ale was darker than normal, but it was hoppy -- not to bad. The Brown was good - maple-like sweetness in the finish. The weizen was pretty dark, not too true to style, but drinkable. The Black Cherry Lambic was interesting, but not my taste...so sweet it was like drinking cherry soda. Service was prompt and courteous. We didn't eat there, so i've no comment on food...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
first of all, I don't think these reviewers even know what an authentic german brew tastes like. this is the real deal.... the food and staff are excellent, if they werent how would they stay in business all these years? makes you wonder if the complainers have business interests across the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review syracuse, NY
(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The Pale Ale and the Black Cherry Lambic were especially good. None of the other four were disappointing. I note the bad reviews: I think these folks either are in concert or else are National Brand drinkers. I was there on 9/6/2001 and enjoyed myself thoroughly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ort. Carlton. Ort. Carlton., Athens,, GA
(01/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good Lousy
My first try at the new location. Sorry to say that out of about 8 of us only one liked the beer after trying all selections. Most of us did not finish the glass.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
I am appalled by the poor reviews that I have read on this site. Fortunately I did not see this site before going to the SSF or else perhaps I would have missed out on a wonderful beer. My favorite was the IPA although I sampled all and enjoyed them all, even the Cherry Lambic even though I am not a fan of Lambics. This one was more of a cordial, the bing cherries eminating. I travel frequently and have sampled numerous brews and this in my opinion was at the top. I had the opportunity to meet the brewmeister, Norm who is very versed in his trade and truely proud of the quality he instills in his handcrafted beers. The bar was strangely not packed compared to nearby establishments, but I found it friendly, clean, all things well maintained and returned several times during my stay in Syracuse. Perhaps these false reviews are affecting their trade. And that is a sad note!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Parks Kevin Parks, Rochester, NY
(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
Yes, the beer wasn't great. And, the place was filthy. However, with new management this place could be something. New bartenders, brewer, and chef would be a good start to improving this place. Great location!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dexter, MI
(09/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To Steve C - I do agree that something seems odd about numerous bad reviews appearing at about the same time and that some of the comments were rather nasty and sophomoric. In this case, however... I have relatives in Syracuse who thoroughly enjoy beer and avoid this place. I have friends in Syracuse, whose opinions on beer I respect and who work within ten blocks of Armory Square, who won't go near this place for lunch or dinner let alone beer. And they've both gone there on occasion, in both locations, hoping that things would improve. Even with eight different people telling me to avoid SSF, I went anyway. And I tried three of their beers simply because I couldn't believe how poorly made the first two were. I've had literally thousands of different beers, and these rank down there with my first homebrew efforts. And THAT is not an easy thing to do. :) Frankly? I doubt that the management cares one iota about what people say as long as they make money at the end of the day. If they did, this place wouldn't have been this bad for this long. Just my opinion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bakes bakes, Niskayuna, NY
(08/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is not a review but a comment on some recent reviews.

I travel a lot on business, enjoy good beer and rely on the reviews in Pubcrawler for advice. I have written a few negative reviews myself. Management, as well as those involved in the preparation of food and beer should appreciate honest feedback.

However there is a nasty, mean, even vicious quality to many of the most recent reviews. Urine, boot polish, paint thinner. This may be good for a few yucks, but it isn't helpful. Also there is similarity in the writing style, phrasing, and adolescent humor. Makes you wonder if the same person may have written multiple reviews using different names. Or maybe it's just piling on.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Checkosky Steve Checkosky, Syracuse, NY
(05/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy
As a fan of brown ale, this place gets no endorsement from me. Taste wasn't the only factor , it looked like the bartender emptied a bottle of boot polish into my glass. No thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Troy Marley Troy Marley, New Haven, CT
(05/11/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.508 seconds) 05:11:01 54.196.196.72, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS