PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Syracuse Suds Factory - Syracuse, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 06:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Syracuse > Syracuse Suds Factory
Syracuse Suds Factory Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Syracuse Suds Factory
Overall: Good    Score: 64.6 / 100
320 South Clinton Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
United States
(315) 471-2253
Listed Since: December 1997
Last Updated: January 2000
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Syracuse, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
71 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(16 within 5 miles)
1) J. Ryans Pub
(0 mile)

2) Empire Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) The Limerick Pub
(0 mile)

4) Kelly Cole's Improper
(0 mile)

5) Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
(0 mile)

6) Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

7) MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room
(0 mile)

8) Clark's Ale House
(0 mile)

9) Blue Tusk
(0 mile)

10) Awful Al's Smoke and Whiskey Bar
(0 mile)

11) Lucy's Retired Surfer's Bar
(1 mile)

12) Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub
(1 mile)

13) Faegan's Cafe and Pub
(1 mile)

14) Middle Ages Brewing Company
(1 mile)

15) Murrays' Pub and Grill
(3 miles)

16) Shifty's Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ancestor's Inn At the Bassett
2) Bed & Breakfast Network
3) Dickenson House on James
4) Giddings Garden B & B
5) Ophelias Garden Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FAIRGROUNDS
2) BEST WESTERN SYRACUSE AIRPORT
3) CLARION INN SYRACUSE
4) COMFORT INN CARRIER CIRCLE SYR
5) COURTYARD SYRACUSE
6) DAYS INN SYRACUSE AIRPORT
7) DAYS INN SYRACUSE UNIV CARRIER
8) ECONO LODGE MANSFIELD
9) EXTENDEDSTAY SYRACUSE DEWITT
10) HAMPTON INN SYRACUSE NO
11) HAWTHORN SYRACUSE
12) HOMEWOOD SUITES SYRACUSE
13) KNIGHTS INN LIVERPOOL NY
14) MICROTEL INN
15) PARTHENON THE GRAPES
16) QUALITY INN
17) RAMADA INN SYRACUSE
18) RAMADA LTD SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY
19) RED CARPET INN NORTH SYRACUSE
20) RED ROOF SYRACUSE
21) SHERATON SYR UNIV HTL CONF CTR
22) SUPER8 LIVERPOOL 7ST SYRAC A
23) SYRACUSE RESIDENCE INN
24) THE GENESEE GRANDE HOTEL
25) THE RADISSON AT THE MARX
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alvord House
2) Amos Block
3) Ashton House
4) Blanchard House
5) Brown, Alexander, House
6) Central New York Telephone and Telegraph Building
7) Central Technical High School
8) Chapman House
9) Clark House
10) Collins House
11) Crouse College, Syracuse University
12) Dunfee House
13) Edwards, O.M., Building
14) Estabrook House
15) Fairchild House
16) First English Lutheran Church
17) Fuller House
18) Gang House
19) Garrett House
20) Gere Bank Building
21) Gillett, William J., House
22) Gleason, Lucius, House
23) Grace Episcopal Church
24) Gridley, John, House
25) Hall of Languages, Syracuse University
26) Hanover Square Historic District
27) Hanover Square Historic District
28) Hoeffer House
29) Hunziker House
30) Hutchinson, Gen. Orrin, House
31) Kelly House
32) King, Polaski, House
33) Loew's State Theater
34) Mills, Harriet May, House
35) Onondaga County Savings Bank Building
36) Onondaga County War Memorial
37) Pi Chapter House of Psi Upsilon Fraternity
38) Plymouth Congregational Church
39) Poehlman House
40) Porter House
41) Sanderson House-- 112 Scottholm Ter.
42) Sanderson House-- 301 Scottholm Blvd.
43) Sanford House
44) Sherbrook Apartments
45) Simmons, Alton, House
46) Southwood Two-Teacher School
47) Spencer House
48) St. Paul's Cathedral and Parish House
49) Stickley, Gustav, House
50) Stowell House
51) Syracuse City Hall
52) Syracuse Savings Bank
53) Third National Bank
54) Ward House
55) Weighlock Building
56) Welsh House
57) White House
58) White Memorial Building
59) White, Hamilton, House
60) Ziegler House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1060 At The Genesee Inn
2) 313 Restaurant
3) A Plus Parlor Pizza
4) Abdo Deli & Cafe
5) Abed
6) Acropolis Pizza House
7) Adelphia Convenience & Deli
8) Aladdins Natural Eatery
9) Alessandro's Pizza
10) Alex's Grill
11) Ambrosia
12) American Cafe
13) Angotti's Family Restaurant
14) Antonio's Restaurant
15) Appetito Ristoranti Italiano
16) Aquarious Restaurants
17) Arby's
18) Arby's
19) Area 51 Of Syracuse
20) Arena Grille
21) Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips
22) Asti Caffe
23) Au Bon Pain Inc
24) Aunt Josie's Restaurant
25) B & B Lounge
26) B C Restaurant
27) Bad Bart's
28) Bagel Diner
29) Baja Burrito
30) Barge
31) Barnie's Coffee & Tea Co
32) Bean Bag Cafe
33) Beau Quest Eatery
34) Belle Mar
35) Bernards Bistro
36) Berry Town Restaurant
37) Bertha's Place Fine Fd Rstrnt
38) Best Taste Chinese Kitchen
39) Big Shots
40) Bistro 238
41) Blarney Stone Inn
42) Blue Tusk
43) Bosco's Express
44) Boulangerie Limited
45) Brick Alley Grille House
46) Bridget's Cafe & Deli
47) Brooklyn Pickle
48) Brown Restaurant
49) Bull & Bear Pub
50) Bunker Barbeque
51) Burger King
52) Burger King
53) Burger King
54) Burger King
55) Burger King
56) Burgundy Lounge
57) Cafe Chill
58) Cajun Cafe
59) Cannon's
60) Cappy's Italian Grill
61) Captians Corner
62) Caribou Club
63) Carnegie Cafe & Catering Co
64) Carnegies
65) Carrols Corp
66) Casa Latino
67) Catering With A Flair
68) Cathy's Corner Cafe
69) Caylua Grill & Cafe
70) Celebrity Den
71) Char-Walls Steak & Ribs
72) Cheers To All
73) Chef To Go
74) China House Restaurant
75) Chinese Gourmet Express
76) Chorong House Restaurant
77) Chuck's Cafe
78) City Hall Cafe
79) Clark's Ale House
80) Clinton Park Cafe & Take Out
81) Club 950
82) Coach Mac's Sports Bar & Grill
83) Coffee Pavilion
84) Corp Van Thom
85) Cosmo Pizza Shop
86) Crown Bar & Grill
87) D & R Restaurant Lounge
88) Dakota's Brickhouse Grill
89) Daniel Jack's
90) Dante
91) Darwins Restaurant & Bar
92) De Carlos Pizzeria
93) Deli
94) Dinosaur Bar-B-Q Catering
95) Dinosaur Bar-B-Q Express
96) Dolce
97) Domino's Pizza
98) Don Juan Cafe Restaurant
99) Dorian's Gourmet Pizza & Deli
100) Downtown Manhattan's
101) Dry Dock Grill
102) E J's Restaurant
103) EBA Inc
104) Elsaha
105) Empire Brewing Co
106) Faegan's Cafe & Pub
107) Famoso Tavern Ii
108) First Stop Express & Deli
109) Florina Greek Pita House
110) Forty Four's Tavern
111) Frallis Italian Kitchen
112) Franco's Pizzeria & Deli
113) Frankie's Piccolo Bistro
114) Fratelli Pizza & Deli
115) Gas Pump Tavern
116) Geddes St Bar
117) Genesee Inn Restaurant
118) Gentiles Restaurant
119) George O'Das
120) Georgia's
121) Gersey's Ltd
122) Ghetto Kitchen
123) Good N Plenty
124) Grandma's Burgers
125) Green Fornt Market
126) Gregorio's Pizza
127) H K Take Out Foods
128) Half Penny Pub
129) Halftime
130) Hanged Man Ice Cream & Cafe
131) Happy Endings
132) Harborside Deli
133) Harpers's Tavern
134) Harrison Center Coffee Shop
135) Harry's Bar
136) Hershey's Ice Cream
137) Hi Mark Quality Restaurant
138) Hooters
139) Hot Meal Program Office
140) Hunters Seafood
141) Imperial Chinese Restaurant
142) Imperial Deli Flr 1 Left
143) In & Out Restaurant
144) India Star
145) Jamaica Home Cook Restaurant
146) Jerkhut Restaurant
147) Jerry Pace
148) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
149) Joe's Deli
150) Joe's Deli
151) Joe's Deli
152) Joe's Deli
153) Joe's State Tower Restaurant
154) Joey's Italian Take Out
155) Johnnie's
156) Johnny B's Jukebox
157) Johnny Rockets
158) Jones Cafe
159) Jones' Cafe
160) Jreck Subs
161) Juanita's Mexican Kitchen
162) Julie's Place & Karen's Catrng
163) Jungle Cafe At The Zoo
164) Kahunaville
165) Kenny's Family Restaurant
166) Kfc
167) Kfc
168) Kim's Seoul Buffet
169) King David's Downtown
170) King David's Restaurant
171) Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub & Resta
172) Komachi
173) L Lounge
174) L V Cafe Sport
175) L'Adour
176) La Casa Del Te
177) La Cucina Di Capri
178) La Familia
179) LA Pizzeria Of Northside
180) La-Cuisine
181) Lady Bug Lunchbox
182) Lai Lai Chinese Restaurant
183) Lan Vientnamese & Chinese
184) Larmeshia's Soul Food
185) Las Delicias
186) Last Chance Cafe
187) Lee's Express
188) Legend's Restaurant & Lounge
189) Lemon Grass Thai Restaurant
190) Liberty Deli
191) Lil Papa's Pizzeria
192) Limerick Pub
193) Lindsey's Cafe Too
194) Little Gem Diner
195) Little Mac's Pizzeria
196) Lois' Lounge
197) Long Cnehg
198) Loris KOZY Corner
199) Lott's A Pies
200) Lucky Moon Cafe
201) Lucy's Retired Surfers Bar
202) Mac Gregor's Grill & Tap Room
203) Maggie's Tavern
204) Mahars & Co
205) Mahley's
206) Mai Lan Vietnamese Restaurant
207) Maine Lobster
208) Mama Gees
209) Mama Nancy's Restaurant
210) Mandeli's
211) Matrix Nightclub
212) Mc Dermott's
213) Mc Donald's
214) Mc Donald's
215) Mc Monkeez Tropical Pub
216) Millwright Cafe
217) Milton Restaurant
218) Mimi's At Madison Irving
219) Mimi's Bakery & Cafe
220) Mini Jack's Deli
221) Miss Syracuse Diner
222) Mission Restaurant
223) Mitch's Place
224) Mok Hwa Restaurant
225) Molly's Place
226) Mom's Diner
227) Mom's Lunch Box
228) Movino
229) Mr Lucky's
230) Mr Smoothie
231) Muckey's New Yorker
232) Mulrooney's
233) Murphy's Beer & Wine
234) Murphy's Tavern On The Corner
235) My 4 Rose's Italian Deli
236) My Bar
237) Nana's Deli & Pizzeria
238) Nancy's Coffee Cafe-Ctr Armory
239) New Depot Grill
240) Nibsy's Pub
241) Nick's Place
242) Nick's Tomato Pie Inc
243) Niki's Quick Cup Diner
244) Nikos Pasta Pizza & Deli
245) Nina's Cafe
246) No Borders No Boundaries
247) P J Dorsey's
248) Panda West Chinese Restaurant
249) Paninin's
250) Papa's Restaurant
251) Pascale Bakehouse & Cafe Co
252) Pascale Wine Bar & Reataurant
253) Pastabilities
254) Patsy's Pizza
255) Paul De Lima Co
256) Pavone's Pizza
257) Pearl Street Delicatessen
258) Phantom Club
259) Phantom Club
260) Phoebe's Garden Cafe
261) Pita Pit
262) Pizza 101
263) Pizza Jerks
264) Pizzaz Pizza Inc
265) Provisions Bakery
266) Quigley's Tavern
267) Quiznos Sub
268) Quiznos Sub
269) Rafferty's
270) Rain
271) Reggio Restaurant
272) Riley's
273) Roadside Cafe
274) Rodo's Cafe
275) Roman's Restraunt & Catering
276) Roman's Tavern
277) Rosie O'Grady's Tavern
278) Ruby Tuesday
279) Saba's Pizza & Deli
280) Sabastino's Beer & Kegs
281) Sabatino's Pizza Deli
282) Salads & Smoothies
283) Salads & Smoothies
284) Sally's Coffee Tree
285) Samrat Indian Restaurant
286) Sbarro
287) Sbarro
288) Serpico Restaurant
289) Shaughnessy's Pub
290) Sheraton
291) Skyline Grill Inc
292) Slices
293) Smorol's
294) Sorrento's Restaurant
295) South Philly Steak & Sub
296) Spaghetti Warehouse
297) Sparta Restaurant & Deli
298) Spring Chinese Restaurant
299) Starbucks
300) Stavros' Sandwiches
301) Stone Thrower Cafe
302) Stoop
303) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
304) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
305) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
306) Sunrise Eat In & Take Out
307) Swallow's Restaurant
308) Sweet Baba's Pizza
309) Syra-Juice Juice Bar & Eatery
310) Syracuse Suds Factory
311) T J C's Restaurant
312) T-House Restaurant
313) Taco Bell
314) Tailgators
315) Teddy's At Armory Square Inc
316) Teriyaki House
317) Thai Restaurant Of Syracuse
318) Tiffany's Catering Co
319) Tippin-In Lounge
320) To The Moon
321) Top Cat Lounge
322) Traditions Of Syracuse
323) Tree Haven Cafe
324) Trexx
325) Trio
326) Tropix
327) Tumino's Pizzeria
328) Tutu Venue
329) Twins Deli
330) Umi
331) University Tower Hotel
332) Uno Chicago Bar & Grill
333) Upstairs
334) Varsity Coffee Shop
335) Velvet Underground
336) Vinny's Deli & Take Out
337) Vito's Catering Svc
338) Walton's Corner
339) Wan Fa Restaurant
340) Weber's Restaurant
341) Welcome Inn
342) Wendy's
343) West End Diner
344) Whaley's Bbq
345) Wild Will's Saloon
346) Win Hope Chinese Restaurant
347) World Lounge & Martini Bar
348) Yankel & Co Catering
349) Z J's Pizza
350) Zuppa's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Great Great
We have been to the Suds Factory quite often over the past 19 years. We enjoy the atmosphere, Norm the Brewer, Patty and Al, and especially like their Wednesday night Jazz concerts. Last night was no exception. Spent an enjoyable evening with Norm and Patty and thoroughly enjoyed the two beers we had - the Pale Ale and the Honey Light. Both were exceptional last night. It has always been a very friendly place and continues to be so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(02/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy Lousy
This is definately the worst brewery I have ever been to in my entire life!!!! All breweries I have ever been to have a nice atmosphere...this place looked like your neighborhood rathole....oh and how about the bartenders...the one bartender refused to serve us and she looked like a $2 prostitute. She should have been standing on a corner. I tried a Weizen and it was absolutely horrible...I couldn't even finish it. Food was ok..definately never going back to that spot!! Empire and Middle Ages blow this place out of the water!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon  Shannon , Berea, OH
(07/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Yuk! and I mean yuk!

I have been to well over 75 brewpubs and breweries and this place definately is on the bottom. They only had 3 of their beers on tap cause they kicked the rest. The ones I tried were bottom of the barrel gross. They all had a sour feel to them and seemed completely off in style. Dear head brewer, learn to brew, seriously, you cant take pride in the crap you make. The rather large bar tender who served us screwed up our order and swore that the mac and cheese was the ultimate to have. The food was just as bland and off as the beers there. I didnt care for the bar tender cause after he rattled off the beers real quick i asked him to repeat them and he gave me attitude back. While he thought he was funny, I almost walked out. Seriously this place was bottom of the barrel quality. Service, food, and beer all were of poor quality!!!

I was at Empire around the block the day before and it was open and had a whole array of beers on tap worth going to. After I barely could finish my last pint at Syracuse Suds, I left there and went back to Empire to dilute the poor excuse for beer that the suds factory left in me.

and again, YUK! (listen to these reviewers, they hit it on the dot about this place being awful)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(06/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
stop by on 8/21/07 to check out the place. The staff was very nice and gave me good information on not only there place but on the Empire Brewing which was a bust to check out. Will return next time in the area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Horton James Horton, camb springs, PA
(08/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review YOUNGSTOWN, OH
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
While the beer here isn't that great, when you're walking by and see an 18 piece jazz band through the window--you stop in. Salt City Jazz Collective plays here every first Wednesday of the month (I was told) and it's not to be missed. These guys claim NOT to practice, but however it all comes together, it's great! The "Awesome" rating is for you guys! ...and I did have a stout which wasn't too bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I have tried 5 of the beers here. I like Weizen and the Irish Red. The Honey Light and pale ale were ok. The Cherry Lambic was ok as well..the waiter brought us a small glass to try. He warned us that it might taste like Robutussin(sp?). It wasn't that bad. I had the grilled cheese which was larger than expected, and the fries were good. The food was pretty inexpensive and decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandra Sandra, Middletown, RI
(07/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Hey Jerry! Syracuse Suds Factory doesn't even MAKE A PORTER! So before you BASH an establishment, make sure you know what you're talking about!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Renee Renee, Syracuse, NY
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great N/A
We try to get here every Wednesday evening for the various Jazz groups that perform. Ronnie Leigh, Jazz Collective, J Project. They are all terrific. Syracuse people, you are really missing something special on Wednesdays (starting around 6 p.m.) if you like good music and don't come to these. The last two times here Norm's "Brown" and "Pale Ale" were both outstanding. There was a terrific "buffet" last night (free, by the way) - a very spicy quesadilla - was that ever good! We had their soft chicken tacos for dinner, along with the toasted raviolis for an appetizer. Both were excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Syracuse, NY
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So N/A
The reason for my rating is obvious: there are so many good places in town (Blue Tusk & Clark's) where a thirsty traveler can parch their lips, so why come here? Maybe, my mistake was coming here AFTER Blue Tusk? While, Syracuse Suds (SS - how appropriate) is not the worst beer I've had, given the environment, it could be better - particularly since the demise of the great Empire Brewing Company. Syracuse Suds? More like Syracuse Duds. Keep trying guys! By the way, porter should be dark color.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(10/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great So So
The beer is just not very good. It's thin, with many strange characteristics. The weizen tasted much like cinnamon and the black cherry was fake, like a kid's drink mix. When I'm in the area, I stop here on a lark, with no expectations. The waitstaff, to their credit, was very friendly and nice, and fun to kid around with. But, that's not why you brew, is it?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So
Great location. Good service. But I actually couldn't drink the pale ale! My current beer is Fostbite by lake Placid at the Tusk. Will someone please reopen the Empire??

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron D Ron D, LaFayette, NY
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So
I usually read the reveiws and keep my opinions to my self but I agree with all the negative comments 100%.I hit brewpubs all over the US and the beer here is the worst.My wife and I had hoped it would improve with the move to the new location but it stayed the awful same.I do not know how anyone who truly knows beer could say otherwise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, syracuse, NY
(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
A decent place. The beer was nothing spectacular, but it wasn't bad. I really enjoyed the lambic. It's worth checking out, but in a town filled with great bars, I don't think I'd rush back anytime soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Robinson Mark Robinson, Glen Burnie, MD
(02/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been to Syracuse Suds Factory a few times and something seems to make me keep coming back!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Jennifer, Syracuse, NY
(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So Lousy
If you don't love beer this might be the place for you. The food isn't much better than the beer. However, it's one of the few places in Armory Square to watch a game on sunday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Gentry Matthew Gentry, Syracuse, NY
(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So So So
This is a nice place in a good location. Unfortunately, as open minded as I intended to be, the Pale Ale I tried seemed under-attenuated to me. Not the intentional variety either, I really couldn't get past the flavor of cold wort. I wanted to try a sample of a different offering to see if was isolated but the bartender had gone to the end of the bar to have something to eat and didn't want to get up even after eye contact. I couldn't finish the one I had, so I left for across the street. The system displayed at the storefront appears to be set-up for extract brewing only.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great
Norm's Pale Ale is a fine beer. That is the one we normally order when we get here. Don't miss this place on Wednesdays (from about 5:30 to 7:30 or so). They have terrific jazz groups - especially Ronnie Leigh and the Salt City Collective. Why would you miss this? Get some good beers, great music, and happy hour food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(11/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Great Great
I'm sure first impressions can be incorrect as I've read many negative reviews for SSF. I've been enjoying their beer for the last 5 years and think it is the jewel of Armory Square in downtown Syracuse. The Red is clean, the Wheat is smooth and the Cherry Lambic is unique and especially appeals to women who usually do not like beer. It's an excellent place to watch Monday night football with 5-cent wings and the best place for Happy Hr on Friday's from 4pm-2am for $2 draft. This is the only active brewery-pub in downtown Syracuse. The only other one, The Empire Brew Pub, left last yr - mainly due to $ issues but the stuffy atmosphere, overpriced beer and rude waitstaff didn't help either. Syr Suds is the place to be to cheer on the SU Basketball team and drown the soon to be many losses of the SU Football team this season. Check it out! The comfortable atmosphere and knowledgeable bartenders and always available for a chat Brew Master Norm are sure to impress!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heather Clark Heather Clark, Liverpool, NY
(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So
It's a huge place, in a great location, in a city where good beer does not go unnoticed. But there is really nothing here to make me stop when I can enjoy Middle Ages or the selection all around the Armory. I've tried their beer, and while it isn't foul (see "PA--Gettysbrew"), it just leaves you wondering why it can't be better. Perhaps with time...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Good Lousy
Blah!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So
Extract beers? If I had known that I would not have stopped. Every beer (style) on the menu is described incorrectly. The Lambic is a “wheat beer?” I don’t care if it’s made with unmalted wheat or not no one describes a Lambic as a “wheat beer.” Anyhow, they make a “Drunken Cow” with the Lambic and a scoop of vanilla ice cream (blasphemy if you ask me). It’s not my cup of tea but the other half liked it.

Read down the menu further and it says, “The only commercially produced beers with hops grown in Central New York.” OK - we just went from “extract brewed beers” to ones featuring “home grown hops.” As in “whole hops?”

The “Pale Ale” is a “robust strong ale”. Sounds more like an IPA to me. “What is it?” I ask the barmaid. “Oh, it’s an IPA.” OK. Along comes the brewer. “It’s a Pale Ale,” he says. “English or American?” I ask. “English.” Hmmm, tastes like an American. We’ll let it slide though as it wasn’t half bad (hop-heads would like it).

The Red Ale had a nice clean nose and a sweet malty flavor. I’d rather that than some of the dry ones that are out there. This is probably the only beer that was described correctly on the menu and tasted accordingly. And it was actually pretty good - long in flavor and a nice aftertaste.

This place has some potential and I’ll try it again at some point. I liked the building as it looked like an old firehouse. For the brewer – hire someone that can write properly and re-do the beer menu. And for the barmaid, Saranac is not “merging” with “Utica Club or something like that.” Saranac and Utica Club are one in the same (brewed under the same roof by the same family of brewers).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Great So So
The reason for my rating is obvious: there are so many good places in town (Blue Tusk & Clark's) where a thirsty traveler can parch their lips, so why come here? Maybe, my mistake was coming here AFTER Blue Tusk? While, Syracuse Suds (SS - how appropriate) is not the worst beer I've had, given the environment, it could be better - particularly since the demise of the great Empire Brewing Company. Syracuse Suds? More like Syracuse Duds. Keep trying guys! By the way, porter is supposed to be a caramel color.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Jerry, Gaithersburg, MD
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
I went there on a recent trip to syracuse. The beer was horrible and the atmosphere was even worse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from adam tufillaro adam tufillaro, rochester, NY
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Very nice place to go with some guys and have a few beers with above average pub food. Excellent sandwiches and burgers. The microbrews were not the best I've ever had, but were certainly not the worst either. It's definitely a nice first stop on a Saturday night Armory Square bar run.

Some of the reviews below that trashed this place are either unfounded, or out of date, because I had a very nice experience here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Wood-Ridge, NJ
(04/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
The Pale Ale taste like a Nut Brwon, the Brown seemed like a Porter and the Sweet Stout seemed like a Porter. However, it was a nice place. Even though the beers seemed to not what there names implied, they were still very tastey. Food was good and the server better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Dave from syracuse you need to get a life other than downing someone business if you are so great why don't you open you own pub or bar this is a very hard business and people like you do not help matters by putting all these place down.( in the Armory Square.) Suds Factory is a great place to go i have never had a beer or drink out of a plastic cup.And the only time the TV's are up loud is when a important game is on like SU football, SU Basketball, World Series things like that. people do go to bars to watch sports on tv and if you have a problem with things like that you should just stay home. I like the Suds factory they have been in business for a long time and the have great food and wed jazz is awesome Friday happy hour is great to. i have read all of the reviews and i think there is something fishy going on. Norm is a great guy and will talk to you about beer any time your there . Everyone has a different style of making these beers you may not like everything you try. Suds your doing a great job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Syracuse, NY
(04/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
I went to Suds Factory during the Holidays and I was really pleasantly surprised at how nice it was.It was very nicely decorated and the servie was superb. My wife and I along with another couple enjoyed dinner there for the first time.WE had a few vinos and had the specials of the night. For pub fare,we actually loved the variety of the menu.Our favorite of the night was the bread pudding.Yummy. We will definately be back for some great tasting food and couple of totties !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Eric, Auburn, NY
(01/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
I just read that review from Dave from Syracuse and obviously his ex works there. He does'nt know what he is talking about. I loved the food,the jazz on Wed. nights, and the staff was very friendly. Dave,maybe you should stay home and make your own party. You must have a good time at home because you dislike all the bars downtown.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michele Michele, Syracuse, NY
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
This is a terrible establishment in a beautiful building and location. They make you drink beer from little plastic cups, there are TV's blaring everywhere, the beer they brew tastes terrible (utter incompetence!), and the people who work and drink there are lame. I can't wait for them to go bankrupt so that a good bar can be made in that great space.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dave, Syracuse, NY
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Went to the Sud's factory about 1 month ago and have been debating on how to rate the place in regards to quality. I ordered the sampler and was not impressed with many of them at all. I just could not palate the taste. My girlfriend seemed to enjoy the Black cherry lambic and she was the only one to say a good word about that beer in a group of 4.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lance, Binghamton, NY
(03/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A So So
This is a large place with a big bar and was fairly quiet for a Friday night. There was no beer list in sight, and the labels on the tap handles were turned toward the inside of the bar. When asked what they had, the bartender started with the Macros, Bud lite, etc. When asked what they made themselves, the bartender wasn't that familiar and had to read the taps. Tried several styles, none was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Foamee, Columbia, Md
(03/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Wednesday nights at the Suds Factory is a night not to be missed. You Syracuse locals who do not get out for these terrific Jazz nights are missing a wonderful treat. No cover charge. Where can you get such entertainment for only the price of your beers/food? Tonight was the Salt City Jazz Collective (here once a month - usually the first Weds of the month, but with the Holiday, it was tonight). 16 of some of the greatest musicians anywhere. And a special treat. Ronnie Leigh (another local Jazz great who also plays here on other Wednesdays during the month) sang with Tammy Spadafora. Their rendition of Autumn Leaves was fantastic. We had Syracuse Suds' Pale Ale - tonight it was great. But even if you prefer the (yuk) Bud Lites, come on out on Wednesdays and support this place - they give the community wonderful entertainment. Way to go Patty and Al!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, GA
(01/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy
J...... in Syracuse, you have lived a sheltered life. You need to get out more. If you think this place makes good beer, you must have a frickin' erection when you swill an Old Milwaukee Lite! The fact that this place produces some of the nastiest beer this side of the moon is a well know fact........ Live with it. Now get back to your Bud Lite, like everyone else in the joint, including the owner. The best thing that could happen to this abortion, is for the owner to sell it to someone that had an clue as to what a BrewPub was all about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clifton Park, NY
(06/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I just have to say, that I just read ALL of the comments posted by other people thus far, and I'm a bit ashamed. I've been to the SSF many times, and I've never been disappointed. Microbrews all have a distinct taste, and to those who do not just suck down Miller Lite or Labatt Blue, it's a nice change. And to be so vindictive is not only childish, but inappropriate. The bartenders are pleasant, the waitstaff cheerful, and the food is quite good. If you want to chug down pints of Budweiser, go to any bar. If you want a good time, with good people, go to the Syracuse Suds Factory.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J J, Syracuse, NY
(06/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy
How in the world call this buzzard puke beer? Everyone at the bar drinking megaswill....I wondered why? Now I know why. Fire the SCUM-MASTER, and get someone in there that has a clue as how to craft beer. Avoid this joint at all cost!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Denver, CO
(06/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To all at the Syracuse Suds Factory, I hope that no one took what I said about your beer personally. I just wanted to state my honest opinion from the experience that I have had in the past. I will say that it has been some time (6 months) since I last have had your beer. I will be in Syracuse and hope that my opinion will change greatly--if so, I will gladly post a good review. If your wondering, someone from Boston thought it "mean-spirited" with my review. Please, understand that I am just trying to raise the standard of beer within this great brewing state. Again, no personal offense meant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So Lousy
by no means is this authentic germam beer. the hefe is a best an awfuf american wheat. most beers are barely drinkable and tend to all taste like rootbeer. why bother with this place when you have Empire, tusk and clarks right around the corner

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review syracuse, NY
(05/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
The real deal??? come on...I have never (and I honestly mean never) have had a decent beer from this place. There have been many times that I have had to dump out the beer at beer festivals because I couldn't get through the few ounces. I generally like to find good in all beers, but have always found this beer to be bad and completly uninspired. Plus I have seen the owner or brewer?? I honestly do not know which one drinking a micehlob lite at a festival. In all honesty, for the general business of micros, I think these guys should restructure their recipes. Rob Davis Brewmaster Great Adirondack Brewing Co. Lake Placid, N.Y

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Davis Robert Davis, Lake Placid, NY
(05/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Not posting a review, merely answering a few allegations...

"First of all, I don't think these reviewers even know what an authentic german brew tastes like." - umm, excuse me? I've been to Germany and had the beer there, thanks. This place brews a pale ale, a brown ale, a stout, a black cherry lambic - none of which are remotely Geman styles. And their hefe was not a good brew when I tried it.

I have no vendetta, business interests across the street (the parking garage?) nor am I a national brand drinker. And I wouldn't know anyone else on this site if they came up & bit me on the behind. I do, however, know what a good beer tastes like and do want to see local breweries succeed on their merits. Tell ya what - I'll hit Suds again next time I'm in Syracuse, and I'll keep these recent postitive reviews in mind when I do. And I'll post my honest opinion of the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bakes bakes, Niskayuna, NY
(04/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
This was our next stop on our trek. Our S.C.A.L.E. group had fun here, it was early in the evening so the place wasn't really crowded but still had quite a few people in it. Overall I thought the beer was of great quality. It is obvious that Norman the brewmaster really puts his heart into his beer. I enjoyed the hefe-wiezen and thought the porter was exceptional. Some members of our group had a fun time talking to Norman and you could tell he was proud of his efforts. I don't know why some of these past reviews were so negative, must be some vendeta. Didn't eat here as we were stuffed from our meal at Empire. Will have to come back and try the food here and enjoy Norman's beer again. Service was great too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Widomski Ed Widomski, Clark Mills, NY
(04/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
We went in on a saturday afternoon, before the SU crowd started happening and we weren't dissappointed. The Pale Ale was darker than normal, but it was hoppy -- not to bad. The Brown was good - maple-like sweetness in the finish. The weizen was pretty dark, not too true to style, but drinkable. The Black Cherry Lambic was interesting, but not my taste...so sweet it was like drinking cherry soda. Service was prompt and courteous. We didn't eat there, so i've no comment on food...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
first of all, I don't think these reviewers even know what an authentic german brew tastes like. this is the real deal.... the food and staff are excellent, if they werent how would they stay in business all these years? makes you wonder if the complainers have business interests across the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review syracuse, NY
(04/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The Pale Ale and the Black Cherry Lambic were especially good. None of the other four were disappointing. I note the bad reviews: I think these folks either are in concert or else are National Brand drinkers. I was there on 9/6/2001 and enjoyed myself thoroughly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ort. Carlton. Ort. Carlton., Athens,, GA
(01/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good Lousy
My first try at the new location. Sorry to say that out of about 8 of us only one liked the beer after trying all selections. Most of us did not finish the glass.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
I am appalled by the poor reviews that I have read on this site. Fortunately I did not see this site before going to the SSF or else perhaps I would have missed out on a wonderful beer. My favorite was the IPA although I sampled all and enjoyed them all, even the Cherry Lambic even though I am not a fan of Lambics. This one was more of a cordial, the bing cherries eminating. I travel frequently and have sampled numerous brews and this in my opinion was at the top. I had the opportunity to meet the brewmeister, Norm who is very versed in his trade and truely proud of the quality he instills in his handcrafted beers. The bar was strangely not packed compared to nearby establishments, but I found it friendly, clean, all things well maintained and returned several times during my stay in Syracuse. Perhaps these false reviews are affecting their trade. And that is a sad note!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Parks Kevin Parks, Rochester, NY
(10/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
Yes, the beer wasn't great. And, the place was filthy. However, with new management this place could be something. New bartenders, brewer, and chef would be a good start to improving this place. Great location!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dexter, MI
(09/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To Steve C - I do agree that something seems odd about numerous bad reviews appearing at about the same time and that some of the comments were rather nasty and sophomoric. In this case, however... I have relatives in Syracuse who thoroughly enjoy beer and avoid this place. I have friends in Syracuse, whose opinions on beer I respect and who work within ten blocks of Armory Square, who won't go near this place for lunch or dinner let alone beer. And they've both gone there on occasion, in both locations, hoping that things would improve. Even with eight different people telling me to avoid SSF, I went anyway. And I tried three of their beers simply because I couldn't believe how poorly made the first two were. I've had literally thousands of different beers, and these rank down there with my first homebrew efforts. And THAT is not an easy thing to do. :) Frankly? I doubt that the management cares one iota about what people say as long as they make money at the end of the day. If they did, this place wouldn't have been this bad for this long. Just my opinion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bakes bakes, Niskayuna, NY
(08/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is not a review but a comment on some recent reviews.

I travel a lot on business, enjoy good beer and rely on the reviews in Pubcrawler for advice. I have written a few negative reviews myself. Management, as well as those involved in the preparation of food and beer should appreciate honest feedback.

However there is a nasty, mean, even vicious quality to many of the most recent reviews. Urine, boot polish, paint thinner. This may be good for a few yucks, but it isn't helpful. Also there is similarity in the writing style, phrasing, and adolescent humor. Makes you wonder if the same person may have written multiple reviews using different names. Or maybe it's just piling on.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Checkosky Steve Checkosky, Syracuse, NY
(05/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy
As a fan of brown ale, this place gets no endorsement from me. Taste wasn't the only factor , it looked like the bartender emptied a bottle of boot polish into my glass. No thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Troy Marley Troy Marley, New Haven, CT
(05/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy
It was a busy and jammin' Saturday night dowtown Syracuse. That is, except for one place. How this place was empty when there were lines out the door at every other establishment was at first a mystery to me, then I had one of the house beers(a weizen). I soon came to realize (rather quickly)what the problem was. I guess brewing and serving beers that taste like urine doesn't go well in this town. Faced with the choice of sampling other body fluid tasting ales, or acting like a local and leave immediately, we chose the latter. I recommend this place for people who have either no self-esteem or self-respect.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Nancy Rick Nancy, Buffalo, NY
(05/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
Two words: False Advertising. The "award-winning" clam chowder must've competed for "Best Soup Served Below Room Temperature." As bad as the food was, the beer was much worse. Imagine a really good stout beer, rich and robust with a certain thickness that is standard for this genre of beer. The Stout served here is thin and bland (at best); very close to a warm Pepsi. Thumbs down all the way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carlin Shea Carlin Shea, Scranton, PA
(05/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy
All you need to know about this place is that they serve their lambic beer with vanilla ice cream. I bought one for my date to try and I haven't seen her since. They degrade a rather nice spot in Syracuse's bar district.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Gerrard Jon Gerrard, Seneca Falls, NY
(05/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
The Pale Ale was dreadful! Also had a bunch of degenerates hanging around playing "quick draw" (one of whom I think was the manager). The placed creeped me out. STAY AWAY!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barb Dietrich Barb Dietrich, Buffalo, NY
(05/01/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
Regretted this venture from the get-go. A dozen poorly placed t.v.'s hung from ridiculous angles, rendering it nearly impossible to watch a game and drink. This turned out to be a hidden blessing, because the house brewed ales were undrinkable at best. Hey, at least the bathrooms were nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry J. Fernakis IV Henry J. Fernakis IV, Oswego, NY
(03/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
A really great place...to get a nap on a Friday or Saturday night! Came up during February and the place was empty. Also needs to offer draft beers other than their own. Those could ALL be replaced. This place is very, very bad.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Victor Falange Victor Falange, Eagle Bay, NY
(03/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
What the hell is this stuff? I can probably take paint off my garage with the homebrews. Garbage in a glass.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nathaniel Ronn Nathaniel Ronn, Townsend, MA
(03/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
quite possibly one of the worst microbrews that I've ever sampled. Probably ercipe for their "brown" ale: 1/2 cup dirt, 1/2 cup water, stir until murky. Food rivaled beer as hardly ingestable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from alon p. cohen alon p. cohen, baltimore, MD
(03/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
No good came from my experience here. The black lambic was pretty bad and the brown ale was also undrinkable. The food was cold. I do not recommend at all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Arthur Dent Arthur Dent, Rochester, NY
(03/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
The beer was AWFUL! Enough said.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stan Mobokobowitz Stan Mobokobowitz, syracuse, NY
(03/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Terrible experience. Tried the stout and the Pale ale, came nowhere near finishing either one. Service was terrible, when I complained about the food (which was cold and undercooked)to the manager on duty(who I think was chewing tobacco), I got an attitude and was told pretty much "so what". Never again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gern Blanstien Gern Blanstien, Syracuse, NY
(03/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Remember that first homebrew? The one where you followed the recipe on the label to add 2 lbs. of corn sugar? And you popped open the first bottle to try it, and it tasted nothing at all like beer? Well, now there's a brewpub where you can relive that experience. Tried the stout (tasted like liquid brown sugar), the brown (almost drinkable, but not enough to wash that persistently cloying stout flavor away) and the weizen (they somehow managed to capture that "bottled unpasteurized micro stored in the sun for two weeks" tang in a draft beer). I felt sorry for the brewing equipment. The service was fine - it's what they were serving that was the problem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bakes Bakes, Niskayuna, NY
(03/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review syracuse, NY
(03/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Great So So
I've only walked out of two brewpubs without finishing my beer, and this was one of them!(The other was Gettysbrew) Coincidently i belive both pubs are extract breweries. We had a hefe-wiezen and a brown, both were sour. My hefe-wiezen was clear and dark (not a dunkel) and tasted nothing like a wheat beer. Couldn't get past the beer to try any food. In a town with so many other places to drink great beer, i wish them luck. The pub itself is nice and open, and i did see it somewhat crowded one night, probably bottle beer and liquor drinkers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Erdman Rob Erdman, Bloomsburg, PA
(04/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Syracuse Suds Factory has reopened at its new location on the corner of Walton Street and South Clinton. The brewery installation is still in progress.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Heine Frank Heine, Ithaca, NY
(10/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
As of the end of July 1998: Building is empty and brewpub closed. It is rumored that they will reopen on Walton Street near the Empire BP.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo Miller Geo Miller, Plymouth, CT
(08/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So
Only 3 of 5 home brews on tap, very poor selection. My soup was cold. Menu needs to be upgraded. More foods for those who don't eat meat. Better quality sandwich breads, rolls would also help.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul J. Carey Paul J. Carey, DeWitt, NY
(01/03/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stanley Smith Stanley Smith, Liverpool, NY
(12/21/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I am some what bias. As, I am the Owner. But thank you for the other reveiws and if you would like to check out our web site it is www.sudsfactory.com -Thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Smith Al Smith, Syracuse, NY
(12/16/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
A real 'Cheers Bar'. Staff hospitality is a huge plus. They remember you and your name. Al, the owner, and Norm, the brewmaster, are there most nights and enjoy discussing beer. The Pale Ale is superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Checkosky Steve Checkosky, Syracuse, NY
(12/03/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.309 seconds) 06:57:56 54.204.215.209, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS