PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Great Lakes Brewing Company - Cleveland, OH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 04:46 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OH > Cleveland > Great Lakes Brewing Company
Great Lakes Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Great Lakes Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.9 / 100
2516 Market Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44113
United States
(216) 771-4404
Last Updated: December 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Cleveland, OH
Beer Guide for Ohio

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Great Lakes Brewing Company
160 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Rock Bottom Brewery
(0 mile)

2) McNulty's Bier Markt
(0 mile)

3) The Flying Monkey Pub
(0 mile)

4) Flat Iron Cafe
(0 mile)

5) Edison's Pub
(0 mile)

6) The Harp
(0 mile)

7) Harbor Inn
(0 mile)

8) Cleveland Chophouse and Brewery
(0 mile)

9) Market Garden Brewery
(0 mile)

10) Winking Lizard Tavern
(2 miles)

11) Boneyard Beer Farm
(2 miles)

12) Flannery's Pub
(2 miles)

13) Indigo Imp Brewery Limited
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Amenity Guest House B & B
2) Brownstone Inn
3) Clifford House Bed & Breakfast
4) Edgewater Estates
5) Glendennis Bed & Breakfast
6) Greystone
7) Stone Gables
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BRIDGESTREET CRITTENDEN COURT
2) COMFORT INN DOWNTOWN
3) DAYS INN CLEVELAND
4) EMBASSY SUITES HOTEL CLEVELAND
5) HAMPTON INN CLEVELAND DOWNTOWN
6) HILTON GARDEN INN DOWNTOWN
7) HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS DOWNTOWN
8) HOLIDAY INN SELECT CITY CENTER
9) HYATT REGENCY AT THE ARCADE
10) MARRIOTT DOWNTOWN KEY CENTER
11) OAKWOOD DOWNTOWN CLEVELAND
12) RADISSON HOTEL GATEWAY
13) RENAISSANCE CLEVELAND HOTEL
14) SHERATON CLEVELAND CITY CENTRE
15) TRAVELODGE LAKEWOOD
16) WYNDHAM PLAYHOUSE SQUARE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Archwood Congregational Church
2) Benedict, Sarah, House
3) Bingham Company Warehouse
4) Black, H., and Company Building
5) Body Block
6) Bohemian National Hall
7) Bomante House
8) Brooklyn Bank Building
9) Caxton Building
10) Central YMCA
11) Cleveland Arcade
12) Cleveland Discount Building
13) Cleveland Grays Armory
14) Cleveland Harbor Station, U.S. Coast Guard
15) Cleveland Home For Aged Colored People
16) Cleveland Masonic Temple
17) Cleveland Packard Building
18) Cleveland Public Square
19) Cleveland Trust Company
20) Cleveland West Pierhead Light
21) Cleveland Worsted Mills Company
22) Colonial and Euclid Arcades
23) Cook Building
24) Courtland, The
25) Crawford-Tilden Apartments
26) Dall, Andrew, Jr. and James, Houses
27) Detroit-Superior High Level Bridge
28) Division Avenue Pumping Station
29) Dixon Hall Apartments
30) Dunham Tavern
31) East Fourth Street Historic District
32) East Ohio Gas Company Building
33) Ensworth, Jeremiah, House
34) Erie Railroad Cleveland Powerhouse
35) Euclid, The--Seventy-First Street Building
36) Federal Knitting Mills Building
37) Federal Reserve Bank Of Cleveland
38) First Methodist Church
39) Forest City Bank Building
40) Forest City Brewery
41) Gaensslen, Phillip, House
42) Gifford, Dr. William, House
43) Globe Iron Works Building
44) Goldsmith, Jacob, House
45) Gordon Square Building
46) Greyhound Bus Station
47) Halle Building
48) Harp Apartments
49) Harvard School
50) Hill, James, House
51) Hilliard Apartment Building
52) Hotel Statler
53) House of Wills
54) Hoyt Block
55) Hruby Conservatory of Music
56) Ireland, Joseph, House
57) Jennings Apartments
58) Jones Home for Children
59) Kennedy Apartments and Commercial Block
60) Kindra, W. H., Apartments
61) Krause Building--Otto Moser's Cafe
62) Kundtz, Theodor, Company Building
63) League Park
64) Lerner Building
65) Lindner Building
66) Lorain YMCA Building
67) Lorain-Carnegie Bridge
68) Malio House
69) May Company
70) McKinley Terrace
71) Medical Centre Building
72) Merwin, George, House
73) Miller Block
74) Montana Apartments
75) Morgan, Garrett, House
76) Neff Apartments
77) New England Building
78) North Presbyterian Church
79) Ohio Bell Henderson-Endicott Exchange Building
80) Old Federal Building and Post Office
81) Old Stone Church
82) Olney, Charles, House and Gallery
83) Panek Block
84) Park Building
85) Perry-Payne Building
86) Pilgrim Congregational Church
87) Plaza Apartments
88) Prospect Avenue Row House Group
89) Quad Hill
90) Riverside Cemetery Building
91) Riverside Cemetery Chapel
92) Rockefeller Building
93) Root and McBride-Bradley Building
94) Schweinfurth, Charles, House
95) Shiloh Baptist Church
96) Society for Savings Building
97) Southworth House
98) St. Ignatius High School
99) St. John's AME Church
100) St. John's Episcopal Church
101) St. Joseph's Church and Friary
102) St. Michael the Archangel Catholic Church
103) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
104) St. Stanislaus Church
105) St. Stephen Church
106) St. Theodosius Russian Orthodox Cathedral
107) Stager-Beckwith House
108) Stockbridge Apartment Building
109) Superior Avenue Viaduct
110) Tavern Club
111) Templar-Farrell Motor Sales Building
112) Third Church of Christ Scientist
113) Tiedemann, Hannes, House
114) Townes, Clayton, House
115) Trinity Cathedral
116) Trinity Cathedral Church Home
117) Union Club
118) Union Steel Screw Office Building
119) United Motor Service Building
120) Universal Terminal Company Dock and Warehouse
121) Upson-Walton Company Building
122) USS COD (submarine)
123) Variety Store Building and Theatre
124) Venice Building
125) Walker and Weeks Office Building
126) Warszawa Neighborhood District
127) Waterman Service Building
128) Watterson School
129) West Side Market
130) West Technical High School
131) Western Reserve Building
132) Wheatley, Phillis, Association
133) White Chewing Gum Company Building
134) Woodland Avenue and West Side Railroad Powerhouse
135) Zion Lutheran Church
136) Zion Lutheran School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 12 Street Bistro
2) 1222 Prospect Inc
3) 2527
4) 806 Wine & Martini Bar
5) A & W
6) A Cafe
7) A J Rocco's Expresso Bar
8) A-Dawgs
9) ABC Bar
10) Acappella
11) Al's Again
12) Al's Court Lounge & Deli
13) Aladdin's Baking Co
14) All Around Town Catering
15) Alvies Gateway Grill & Ctrng
16) Anne's Lunch
17) Annunciation Party Ctr
18) Apple Cured Meats
19) Arabica Coffee House
20) Arby's
21) Artemis Night Club
22) Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips
23) Atlanta Bread Co
24) Au Bon Pain
25) Au Bon Pain
26) Au Grill
27) Auntie Anne's Hand Rolled Soft
28) B & A Variety Store
29) B A Restaurant
30) Bad To Da Bone
31) Bailey's Resturant
32) Bar Experts Inc
33) Barney's Chicken Grill
34) Barristers Deli Restaurant
35) Beach Club
36) Beachcomber
37) Best Steak & Gyros
38) Big Egg Restaurant
39) Big Guy's Pizza
40) Blind Pig
41) Blue Pointe Grille
42) Bluestone Restaurant Syst LTD
43) Bogies Coffee House
44) Bottoms Up Of Cleveland
45) Bounce Night Club
46) Boykin Management Co
47) Bridges At The Gund
48) Bridgeview Cafe
49) Bruno's Ristorante & Catering
50) Burger King
51) Bw3
52) C Town Cafe
53) Caberet Dada Inc
54) Cafe Ah Roma
55) Cafe Sausalito
56) Cajun & Grill
57) California Greenhouse Cafe
58) Captain Frank's
59) Carney's Top Of The Flats
60) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
61) Casbah Cafe
62) Castaldi's Market & Grill Twr
63) Century At The Ritz-Carlton
64) China Sea Express
65) China Sea Express
66) China Town
67) China Town
68) China Town 3
69) Chopsticks
70) Chris's Gyro
71) Circus
72) Civilization
73) Cleveland Athletic Club
74) Cleveland Bean Sprout
75) Cleveland Chop House & Brewery
76) Cleveland Corporate Caterers
77) Clevelander Bar & Grill
78) Cloud Nine Lounge
79) Coffee Co's
80) Collision Bend Cafe
81) Convocation Center At CSU
82) Country Kitchen
83) County Administration Snack
84) County Administration Snack
85) Court House Cafe
86) Cov Restaurants
87) Coventry Restaurant
88) Critics Choice
89) Crow's Nest
90) D'Vine Wine Bar
91) Dairy Queen
92) Dairy Queen
93) Danny's Deli
94) Dari Delite
95) Daves Rib Shack
96) Dempsey's Oasis Tavern
97) Diamond Club
98) Diamondback Brewery
99) Dick's Last Resort
100) Dive Bar
101) Doc's Place
102) Edison's Nextdoor Deli
103) Edison's Pub
104) El Manantial Restaurant
105) El Tropical
106) Elan Catering
107) English Oak Room
108) Erie Bleu
109) Ernie's Restaurant Two
110) Executive Den Downtown
111) Fado Irish Pub
112) Famous Dave's-3 Corp
113) Fat Cats
114) Fat Fish Blue
115) Ferris Steak House-Gateway
116) Fine Arts Food Ctr
117) Fish Bone Beer Farm
118) Fishbones Beer Farm
119) Flannery's Pub
120) Flat Iron Cafe
121) Flats Pizza
122) Flo Cafe LLC
123) Flying Fig
124) Flying Monkey Pub
125) Food City
126) Frank & Paulys
127) Frank's Bratwurst
128) Freddie's Southern Style Rib
129) Fuddruckers
130) Fulton Bar & Grill
131) Funky Buddah
132) Gail's Place By Jw
133) Gamekeeper's Big City
134) Garden At The Atrium
135) Gardenia Diamond Cafe
136) Gargano's Catering
137) Gate 49 Pizza
138) Gatekeepers Inn
139) Ginza Sushi House
140) Gli Food Svc
141) Golden China Restaurant
142) Great Lakes Brewing Co
143) Great Lakes Chili Co
144) Great Steak & Fry
145) Great Steak & Fry
146) Great Taste
147) Greek Express
148) Greek Isles Restaurant
149) Grill Fish
150) Guv'nor Pub & Dining Room Inc
151) Halle's Cafe
152) Hamiltons Martini Bar
153) Hanna Deli
154) Harbor Inn Cafe
155) Hard Rock Cafe Intl
156) Harmony Bar & Grille
157) Harp
158) Heaven & Earth Dance Club
159) Heck's Cafe
160) Hellenick Coffee Shop
161) Hickersons At The Hanna
162) Hilarities 4th St Theatre
163) Hooples River Bed Cafe
164) Hooters
165) Hornblower's Barge & Grill
166) Hotz Cafe
167) Hotz Valley View Cafe
168) Houlihans Of Cleveland
169) House Of Cues Cafe
170) Howl At The Moon Saloon
171) Hunan Gourmet
172) Hunan Renaissance
173) Hunt Club Sports Bar
174) Huron Square Deli
175) Hush Nightclub
176) Hyde Park Chop House
177) Hydra Cafe
178) Ice Box Lounge
179) Ideal Market
180) Il Circo Restaurant
181) Improv At The Power House
182) Inn Of The Barrister's
183) It's Greek To You
184) Italian Villa Pizza
185) Izzy's Lunchbox
186) J Karam Inc
187) J P's Tavern & Grill Inc
188) Jake's
189) Jerehiah's Deli
190) Jillian's Billiard Club
191) Jim Alesci's Downtown
192) Joe De's Favorite Pizza
193) Joe's Crab Shack
194) John Q's Steakhouse
195) Johnnie's Deli & Restaurant
196) Johnny Mango
197) Johnny's Bistro
198) Johnny's Little Bar & Grill
199) Juju's Cafe
200) Juniper Grille
201) Just Like Mama's
202) Kabob House
203) KAOS
204) Key West Cafe
205) Kfc
206) Kfc
207) Kimberely's Catering
208) Kimo's Sushi Shop
209) King Philly Cafe
210) Kosta's
211) LA Bo Dega
212) La Tortilla Feliz
213) Lake Boys Cafe
214) Lava Lounge
215) Lemon Tree Restaurant Coffee
216) Lincoln Delicatessen
217) Lincoln Inn
218) Lincoln Park Pub
219) Liquid Cafe Fusion
220) Lola Bistro & Wine Bar
221) Longevity
222) Lorain
223) Louvre Nightclub
224) Lozada's Restaurant
225) Lu Cuisine
226) Lucky's Cafe
227) Lunch Date
228) Lynn Pl Restaurante
229) Mallorca
230) Man's World
231) Manchu Wok
232) Mardi Gras At One Cleveland
233) Mardi Gras Pizza
234) Marigold Cafe & Catering
235) Market Avenue Wine Bar
236) Marlin
237) Massimo Da Milano
238) Master Wok
239) Mc Carthy's Ale House
240) Mc Donald's
241) Mc Donald's
242) Mc Donald's
243) Mercury Lounge
244) Metropolitan At The Huntington
245) Metropolitan Cafe
246) Michael's Restaurant
247) Middle East Restaurant Inc
248) Mike's Kitchen
249) Mike's Kitchen Restaurant
250) Minh-Anh Vietnamese Restaurant
251) Mirage On The Water
252) Moda Nightclub
253) Mojo Cafe Bar Portico Bakery
254) Morton's Of Chicago
255) Mr Bill's Tavern
256) Mr Hero
257) Napa Asian Cuisine By Hunan
258) Nate's Deli & Restaurant
259) Natural Buffet
260) Near West Coffee & Tea
261) New Yorker Restaurant & Deli
262) Nick's Family Restaurant
263) Nine Dragon
264) Ninth Street Bar
265) Noble Roman's Express Pizza
266) North Point Grill
267) Oasis Snack Bar
268) Odeon Concert Club
269) Ohio City Deli
270) Ohio City Oasis
271) Ohio City Pizzeria
272) Old Angle
273) Old Bronx Restaurant & Deli
274) Old Fashion Hot Dogs
275) One Walnut
276) Ontario Street Cafe
277) OPA On West 25th
278) Orient Express Chinese Restrnt
279) Osteria & Osteria
280) Otto Moser Tavern
281) Oui Oui Cafe
282) Oz Bar & Bistro
283) P J's Luncheonette
284) Panera Bread
285) Panini's
286) Panini's Gateway Bar & Grill
287) Panini's In The Flats
288) Panini's Warehouse District
289) Papa John's Pizza
290) Parallax
291) Parker's Restaurant & Catering
292) Peabody's Concert Club
293) Pierogi Palace
294) Pizza & Cazone
295) Pizza Hut
296) Pizza Hut
297) Pizza Pan
298) Pizzanos Pizza
299) Plaza Cafe
300) Plaza Servery
301) Power Play Game Room
302) Powerhouse Pub
303) Quizno's Classic Subs
304) Quizno's Classic Subs
305) Quiznos Sub
306) Quiznos Sub
307) Ragtime
308) Rascal House
309) Rathskeller Restaurant & Tvrn
310) Redfish Cajun Grill & Bar
311) Redfish Restaurant
312) Reggie's Saloon
313) River's Edge
314) Riverwalk Cafe LTD
315) Rock Bottom Brewery
316) Rockfeller Cafe
317) S & K Deli
318) S R Restaurant Corp
319) Sakkio Japan
320) Sakkio Japan
321) Sakura
322) Sammy's Grill
323) Sammy's In The Flats
324) Sammy's Metropolitan Ballroom
325) Sanctuary
326) Sans Souci
327) Santa Fe Cafe
328) Sbarro
329) Sbarro
330) Schnitzel Co
331) Scully's
332) Seaport Inn
333) Second Street Diner
334) Select Restaurants Inc
335) Sergio's Italian Restaurant
336) Shanghai Restaurant
337) Sheraton
338) Shooters On The Water Inc
339) Sidebar
340) Silver Fox Show Bar
341) Silver Wok
342) Slices/Cafe Med
343) Smg Food & Beverage
344) Smoothie Avenue
345) Sokolowski's University Inn
346) Sonic Drive-In
347) Soupere'e
348) Soupermarket Inc
349) South Side
350) Southern Cafeteria
351) Spaghetti Warehouse
352) Sportsman Restaurant
353) Spot Restaurant
354) Spy Bar
355) Star At Playhouse Square
356) Starbucks
357) Starbucks
358) Starbucks
359) Starbucks
360) Stark Weather Southside
361) Steak Escape
362) Steve's Lunch
363) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
364) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
365) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
366) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
367) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
368) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
369) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
370) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
371) Sun Valley Beverage
372) Sushi 86
373) Sushi Rock
374) T & S Management Inc
375) Taco Bell
376) Taco Bell
377) Take A Bite
378) Talkies Film & Coffee Bar
379) Tap House
380) Tasty Treats
381) Taverne On The Mall
382) Teahouse Noodles
383) Terrace Club
384) Tgi Friday's
385) Theory
386) Third Street Cafe
387) Thirsty Parrot
388) Ticket To Tokyo
389) Tiki Bar
390) Tony's Deli
391) Tony's Deli & Restaurant
392) Tony's Southside Pizza
393) Tortilla Feliz LA
394) Touch Supper Club
395) Traci's Restaurant
396) Traffic
397) Tremont Scoops
398) Trs Ltd
399) Trucker's Tavern
400) Two Five Lounge
401) Uptown Deli
402) Velvet Dog
403) Velvet Tango Room
404) Vico
405) Vincenza's Pizza & Pasta
406) Wall Street Deli
407) Wall Street Deli
408) Wall Street Deli
409) Water House Restaurant
410) Watermark
411) Waterstreet Grill
412) Webb's Alabama Bar-Bque
413) Wendy's
414) Wendy's
415) Wendy's
416) West Side Market Cafe
417) Westside Market Cafeteria
418) Whitmore's Downtown Bar-B-Q
419) Whitmores Bbq
420) Wilbert's
421) Win Wah Chinese Restaurant
422) Windows On The River City View
423) Winking Lizard Gateway
424) Winsor's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Had the Elliot Ness, Burning River Pale Ale as well as Dortmunder Gold.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Redlands, CA
(01/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
We stopped in for lunch on a road trip passing through Cleveland. I was happily impressed. I had a Hales Ale Saison, available only in the brew pub. It was delicious, and complimented the burger most perfectly. The Bourbon Barrel Blackout Stout really made the day perfect, however, and went most wonderfully with the bread pudding. This dessert combination made the entire trip. In fact, I'd drive back there from Dayton, OH, just to have this combination again. I strongly recommend getting some of the limited availability Stout if at all possible!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Shannon, Beavercreek, OH
(10/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
During a driving tour along the lake west of Cleveland we stopped at Phil's Inn Restaurant in Port Clinton where I inquired as to the draft beer available. The choices were Bud Lite and Burning River Pale Ale - an easy decision.

The Burning River is excellent ale, just right on the hops. The bartender couldn't tell me much about the beer but he remembered well the source of the name when the Cuyahoga River caught fire in Cleveland in 1969.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe G Joe G, Greensboro, NC
(10/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Able to stop by a few times recently, and as always, not disappointed. Moondog ESB was a nice way to get one of my visits started; a nice combo of hops upfront and malt to back it up. Grand Cru was unfiltered and much lighter than I expected--great flavor profile. Barrel Select Pils had good flavor, was clean, and the malt didn't fade. Oktoberfest was rich and malty, maybe more so than the "usual" Oktoberfest. Independence Ale was like most of Great Lakes' products; well balanced, with all flavors appropriate to style. Luckily got to pick up some Moondog and Imperial Dortmunder for home at the take out shop. More super visits at Great Lakes!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Thanks to Shelby for providing the brews and food at Great Lakes Brewing, and Brewer Luke for stopping by the table to talk beer! HANDS DOWN AWESOME! Great location, next to the market, just over the bridge from the stadium. YOU REALLY MUST GO HERE. Great range of seating from the biergarten, to the outdoor café, to the indoor restaurant and bar, to the basement pub. The staff is VERY FRIENDLY and the food is fantastic! We tried the potroast sandwich, old world burger, pulled pork, and sausage sampler with fresh rot (red) kraut and mustard. BUT THE BEER….. WOW! I’m not a huge porter fan, but get the Fitz! The Edmund Fitzgerald Porter is great, robust and well balanced. I enjoyed the Commodore Perry IPA, but was expecting and hoping for a little more hop. The Burning River Pale Elliot Ness Amber, and Rockfeller Bock are all well done. The seasonal Moondog Bitter is good, but not exceptionally bitter. GET THE SAMPLER. 10 (YES TEN) 5 oz glasses of beer for $10, do the math, how can you go wrong?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Some notes from my last two visits. I always cross my fingers that Commodore Perry IPA will be on and it was both times! It's just as good as I remembered with an almost perfect balance for an IPA. Also, it's offered in bottles now! Rockefeller Bock wasn't overly sweet, also having a good balance. Ohiop City Oatmeal Stout had a nice roasty, slightly sweet flavor. One of the few GL beers under 5% (4.8). Prohibition Pils was a perfect beer to start the day with, clean and crisp. Food as good as always, service from Steve T. spot on. An unexpected treat was seeing their carry out in the gift shop on special both visits! With this luck, I should have played the lottery!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
I visited this brewpub on May 18,2007 and had the following brews; Burning River Pale Ale 6.0%, Dortmunder Gold 5.8%, Edmund Fitzgerald Porter 5.8%, Elliot Ness Amber Lager 6.2%, Holy Moses White Ale 5.4%, Commodore Perry IPA 8.0%, Prohibition Pils 5.1%, Lake Erie Monster 9.0% and York Street Bitter 4.4%. These brews were all outstanding. My only complaint about this place is that their food has gotten just a bit to pretentious. I was enjoying my sampler so much that I saw bratwurst and expected a sandwhich. It was beautifully served on a tablespoon of kraut with some lovely dots of mustard around it. I guess I need to stop enjoying the beer and read the menu a little better. I'll be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(06/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Hit GL right at the opening bell and the place was swamped within 10-15 minutes. Plopped down at the bar and was immediately awed by the 10 beers on tap--4 which were new to me. Steve was kind enough to pour a few tastes to get me started. Pumpkin Ale was nice; the spices more prevalent than the pumpkin and malt. York St. Bitter would be a great session beer, drinkable with just the right amount of hops. Rye of the Tiger was great-- a crisp rye and hops bite with a super nose. Rackhouse Ale was a sweet ale aged in bourbon barrels. It was the best "new" beer I've had at GL in quite a while, but will not be for the drinker who doesn't like the bourbon flavor--it's all about the bourbon! Burger was good, but my Cleveland guilty pleasure of New Orleans bread pudding was superb. The huge slab they gave me had me like a Thanksgiving turkey--totally stuffed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy N/A
Came to Cleveland for an Indians game and to visit brewpubs. On 8/26/06 I visited Great Lakes Brewing Co along with 7 family and friends. We arrived about 10-10:30pm and tried to go into the restaurant section only to be stopped by a manager who told us they closed that section for the evening, the downstairs bar was closed and the tables in the bar had signs that said "reserved". So we orderd pints from the bar and went out to the "Beer Garden". Before we could all sit down a woman cleaning tables said we had to move someware else because the area was closed. The only place left was the sidewalk so we stood there until a table became available. NEVER have any of us felt so unwanted as a customer ALL emplloyees were unhelpful or downright rude. I filled out their survey 2 weeks ago to let Owner or Manager know how poorly we were treated, still no response. The different beers we tried were exellent except the Holy Moses white ale was overhopped(couldn't taste the orange peel, chamomile and coriander over the hops) but still very good. Will try 1 more time to see if they were just having a bad day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Barr Shannon Barr, Shepherd, MI
(09/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Visited Great Lakes BC on 7/23 as part of a baseball/beer swing thru Ohio/Pennsylvania. Left the "Jake" after enjoying a few Yuengling lagers and walked over the Lorian Bridge.No small feat.This Sunday, it was "dog day". Bring your pooch to the brewpub.Pun intended, the place was a zoo but there was sanctuary inside.No dogs allowed. Things were crazy but managed to run thru a pint each of the Burning River(Pale Ale), Eliot Ness(Amber) and the Edmond Fitzgerald(Porter). Voted for the Porter as best in show...The food menu was fairly standard with a couple twists. Ordered the chicken sandwich. Had to rent a vice to get my mouth around it.Good stuff...The place is definitely a d'town Cleveland favorite judging by the crowd.And this is the first "brewpub" I've been to that had its own gift shop.Walking distance from town,close access to the Red Line from the airport.Well worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(07/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Great
Great Beer!!!

The food was good - electic, but small (and somewhat pricey) menu - we had the cheese soup (tasted good, but the texture was a bit off) and a polynesian chicken pizza (HIGHLY recommended with the summer selection of beers).

The service was so-so...when we found out they were out of two of the beers for the sampler, they would not allow us to have two of another type...we had to do without and pay the same. Not very cool.

The best thing about our visit to Great Lakes was that I walked away happy with a lager for the first time in a long time. Usually a fan of the hoppiest IPAs and dark, roasty stouts - Dortmunder Gold Lager has an A+ in my book!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muddy dogger muddy dogger, Denver, CO
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great Lakes continues to be one of the best places for beer in Cleveland, and for that matter, in Ohio or the entire Eastern US. New to me this trip was Market St Wheat, which had an excellent balance of banana/clove flavors. Saison D'Ete was nice, but slightly less crisp and refreshing than I've come to expect in this style. Edmund Fitzgerald Porter, New Orleans bread pudding, and Steve Taylor all continue to be near the top of their categories. A must-stop if you're in the area, or just passing through.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Been going here for years, but never reviewed it. Usually have 8 beers on tap. The staples are the Porter, Vienna Lager, Pale Ale, Gold - all very good. The Ed Fitz Porter might be the best Porter around - can't get enough of it. When I was there recently however, they no longer serve food in the cellar, which is very disappointing as I like to hang out down there, watch the TV, drink some beer and get something to eat at the bar. Hopefully they'll change back, but I know there were a few people who weren't happy about this. My pregnant wife and I had to head back upstairs to the bar area, stand around for awhile and wait for an open seat at the bar to get some food, while there was plenty of room downstairs. I heard it was something about the cooks having to bring food downstairs - which I can understand, but why not have some little 'food elevator' system if that's the case. I think they'll end up losing some business if there's no food downstairs

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Pittsburgh (not a stillers fan), PA
(05/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great
Eight flavors of beer; all their own brews. All were delicious(I only had room to try four). The Porter really stood out--one of the best I've ever tasted.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Foisy Mark Foisy, Evanston, IL
(04/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Always worth a trip anytime in Cleveland! The atmosphere is comfortable. In the summer it's even better because you can sit outside on the sidewalk area or courtyard. Don't try to steal a glass..you will be soooo busted by the doorman!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I was told tochecj this place out, I did last summer, and loved it! Burning RIver IPA and Ed Fitz Porter,were great, the Barrell Select Pils was good, but the Dortmunder Gold was outstanding! And the food's great, too. Definitely go!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(01/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
Luke and the team have gotten rid of the Big "D" in the beers and once again we have great beer from Great Lakes. Now we have more choices for the beer geeks in Cleveland. Keep up the good work. Mike

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mike mccolgan mike mccolgan, north olmsted, OH
(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
This was actually my second trip to Great Lakes, the first was several years and many more beers ago, so my memory was a little foggy, however, i remembered thinking it was pretty cool. My memory for once was solid. Great Lakes has pretty much all a brew pub should have going for it. A great variety of beers, the pumpkin beer was the best of the bunch, but they all had merit. The christmas ale was the weakest of the bunch as we were a little disappointed in the lack of spices. I also enjoyed the Belgian whit. The place is entirely non-smoking which actually allows you to taste the beer you are drinking. The menu is a little foo foo, but the the food was pretty darn good. If you are in Cleveland it is the place to go and they have some excellent growlers at a very reasonable price if you are into such things.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Phillips Doug Phillips, Austin, TX
(12/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome!
BEER NIRVANA!! A MUST STOP FOR ANY BEER GEEK!! BURNING RIVER IS THE BEST APA I HAVE EVER HAD.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(11/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The Edmund Fitzgerald is the best Porter that I have had in the U.S.! The Blackout Stout is also insanely tasty!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from asa asa, Houston, TX
(11/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hey Beav, good news concerning the Commodore Perry IPA. It is slated to be bottled next year as a seasonal brew. You can email the brewery from our website & when we know when it will be released, we will let you know! Thanks, - Pete Bar Manager GLBC

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Gerome Pete Gerome, Cleveland, OH
(10/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
Had Burning River Red while watching The Yankees at Jacobs Field in August. Dark red brew and was very hoppy and bitter. Would have been better if it wasn't 97 degrees at game time. Next trip I will have to visit the brewery itself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald Donald, manalapan, NJ
(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I went to beer school at the brewery next door to the brewpub on 10/12/05. The "school" consisted of a hour long tour of the brewery with a complete no nonsense demonstration of how beer is made. Even if you don't know a thing about beer, you will have a decent understanding of how GLBC makes beer. Unfortunately the samples served during "class" were bottled instead of on tap. The cost was $15 and you got five samples, a sampler glass with logo and a beer school graduate t-shirt. GLBC is always worth a stop when in Cleveland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped here twice while on a business trip. The most spectacular thing about this place is the food.... man, is it ever good. If you like bread at all, be sure to try it, some of the best I've ever had -- they use spent grains from the brewery to give it a great crunch. And they have a great selection of great beers as well. You can't go wrong. I'd definitely rank this as my number one destination in Cleveland.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David M. Taylor David M. Taylor, Two Rivers, WI
(10/02/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.353 seconds) 16:46:12 54.205.205.47, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS