PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lion Brewery - Wilkes-Barre, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 17, 2014 @ 12:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Wilkes-Barre > Lion Brewery
Lion Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Lion Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 75 / 100
700 North Pennsylvania Boulevard
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18705
United States
(570) 823-8801
Last Updated: January 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Wilkes-Barre, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
13 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Elmer Sudds
(4 miles)

2) J.K. Moose's Par Four
(4 miles)

3) Arena Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

4) Jim McCarthy's Tavern on the Hill
(4 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW GENETTI HOTEL AND CONF CTR
2) COMFORT INN WILKES BARRE
3) DAYS INN WILKES BARRE PA
4) ECONO LODGE WILKES BARRE
5) HAMPTON INN WILKES BARRE
6) HOST INN AND RESIDENTIAL SUITES
7) RAMADA INN
8) RED ROOF WILKES BARRE
9) TRAVELODGE WILKES BARRE
10) WOODLANDS INN AND RESORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge in City of Wilkes-Barre
2) Catlin Hall, Wilkes College
3) Central Railroad of New Jersey Station
4) Comerford Theater
5) Denison House
6) Forty Fort Meetinghouse
7) Guthrie, George W., School
8) Luzerne County Courthouse
9) Luzerne Presbyterial Institute
10) Market Street Bridge
11) McClintock Hall
12) Swetland Homestead
13) Weiss Hall
14) West End Wheelmen's Club
15) Wyoming Monument
16) Wyoming Seminary
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anthracite Cafe
2) Arby's
3) Bettelli's Villa
4) Brad's Restaurant
5) Buddies Deli
6) Burger King
7) Burger King
8) Carey's News Stand
9) Ceccoli's Pizza
10) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
11) Chick's Cafe
12) Chicken Coop Inc
13) Chili's Grill & Bar
14) Colarusso's Pizza
15) Cracker Jack
16) Curley Creme Soft Ice Cream
17) Denny's
18) Dominic's Of New York
19) Dominick's Cafe
20) Dough Co
21) Dougherty's Pub
22) Dress For Less Consignments
23) Dukey's Cafe
24) Emerald's Restaurant
25) Florio's Pizza
26) Fort Cafe
27) Friendly's Restaurant
28) Gardner Avenue Deli & Catering
29) Giovine's Deli
30) Golden Palace Catering Svc
31) Great Escape
32) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
33) Grotto Pizza
34) Happy Garden Chinese Rstrnt
35) Haslins Cafe
36) Haystacks
37) Ho Yi Chinese Restaurant
38) Januzzi's
39) Jerry's Place Pizza
40) K Medici
41) Katana
42) Kfc
43) Left Bank Restaurant
44) Leggio's Pizzaria
45) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
46) Mark II Family Restaurant
47) Mc Donald's
48) Mc Donald's
49) Michael's Family Restaurant
50) Miner's Mills Pub
51) Music Box Dinner Playhouse
52) Nathan's Famous
53) Nino's Pizzeria & Italian
54) Norm's Pizza & Eatery
55) Old Country Buffet
56) Old Tymes Pizza Parlour & Pub
57) Ole Tyme Charleys Restaurant
58) Olive Garden
59) Olives Mediterranean Cafe
60) Papa John's Pizza
61) Parsons Deli
62) Parsons Family Restaurant
63) Patte's Sports Bar & Rstrnt
64) Peters
65) Philly Subs
66) Pizza Bella
67) Pizza Hut
68) Pizza II Plains
69) Pizzano's
70) Plains Pub
71) Red Lobster Restaurant
72) River Street Jazz Cafe
73) Royal Pizza
74) Ruby Tuesday
75) Saber Room Restaurant
76) Saloon Since 1914
77) San's Pizzeria
78) Serpico Pizza
79) Silver Queen Hotel
80) Silver Queen Restaurant
81) Spernoga's Hide-A-Way
82) Stookey's Bar-B-Que
83) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
84) Taco Bell
85) Tgi Friday's
86) Toma's Pizza & Subs
87) Torony's Giant Hot Dog
88) Two Gals Pizza & Subs
89) Waterfront Bar & Grill
90) WBG Enterprises LLC
91) Wendy's
92) Wildflowers Restaurant
93) Willow Tree
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great ? ? Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've been drinking Lions Head beer consistently for over five years. Last week, as usual, I purchased a case at my local distributor. Opened the first bottle - it tasted awful. Tried another botte, same results. I returned it and exchanged it for a new case - again, same awful taste. Something is definitely wrong here. Please look into this ASAP.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Leer Robert Leer, Havertown, PA
(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Lion Brewery has been purchased by Blue Point Capital Partners.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(11/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I have been drinking Brewery Hill and Pocono brands for some time now. The Pale Ale is tops. I rate it up there with Sierra Nevada.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Leaman Don Leaman, Toms River, NJ
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was born and raised in Wilkes-Barre. I am looking for a beer distributer here in Florida to purchase the Lion Brewery products including Gibbons and Stegmaier. Please advise (grammar correct version. thanks)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilkes-Barre, PA
(09/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm splurging tonight and trying a bottle of the Liebotschaner Cream Ale and the Lionshead Pilsner side by side. Both these items were around $10 a case at my local, which is a fairly attractive price. Although the LCA has had some success at the Great American, I had no information about the the Lionshead. The pils bottle has the Stegmaier logo on it but not the LCA. Both look OK in the glass and have similar head characteristics. I think the LCA (bought back in the summer) is starting to age as it looked a little cloudy. It has a pile more body though, with that distinctive cream ale flavor. The Pils is lighter but with decent amounts of malt and hops flavors for the style. I would stack it up against any of the mainstream American "pilsners". Check these two out if you can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, PA
(02/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Good
I recently had an opportunity to tour "The Lion," and I must say that not only was I impressed by the quality of the beer, I was equally impressed by the diversity of the brews, from "Gibbons" and "Stegmier," to the new "Brewery Hill" beers. (Pocono Lager is a good one!) I very much enjoyed all the beers I tasted, unfortunatly I did not get the opportunity to taste the "Liebotschaner Cream Ale." (I've been hearing wonderful things about the "LCA!") It is great to see a brewery with such a great history moving forward, successfully. Congratulations to the Brewmaster, Owners, and Management! Keep up the good work! ... Cheers!! :O)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James S. Keeler James S. Keeler, Quakertown, PA
(06/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Yes, The Lion still brews Gibbons along with Stegmaier brands.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Alansky Mark Alansky, Hatfield, PA
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Do they still brew the old Gibbon's brand?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, union, NJ
(03/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
CONGRATULATIONS to The Lion and brewmaster Leo Orlandini: named medium-sized brewer of the year by this year's Great American Beer Festival! Not to mention they also won two gold medals for their Pocono Lager and excellent Liebotschaner Cream Ale! Now that The Lion has a full QC lab, you cannot find a better value than their Brewery Hill Pale Ale: crisp, hoppy, clean and refreshing, for a price you won't believe. The Lion fights on, and I can only hope the locals will someday give them the support they deserve.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Lew "Pennsylvania Breweries" Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(11/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
One of the finest Pale Ales that I've had. The Centennial Lager is on par with Yuengling's. Although their Black & Tan is nice, methinks it is over rated. You have a 50/50 shot with their sesaonl brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilkes-Barre, PA
(08/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Brewery Hill Black & Tan is as good as Yuengling and just maybe a tad better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gildea John Gildea, Forty Fort, PA
(07/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A
The Penn Centenial Lager isn't that great, stick with Yuengling Lager or another lager of their's called "1857." They do make a great porter (Stegmaier's Porter); it's one of the best porters I've had. Please keep in mind, however, that this is the same brewery that makes Stegmaier's Gold Medal, perhaps the most vile beer ever made throughout the history of brewing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Dietrich Matt Dietrich, Bethlehem, PA
(07/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
I have enjoyed two of the beers offered by this brewery under the Brewery Hill label, namely the Caramel Porter and the Black and Tan. I look forward to trying their other products including the Penn Centennial Lager and the Pale Ale which friends have told me are very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Amin Jay Amin, Cedar Grove, NJ
(03/02/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.253 seconds) 00:55:06 54.82.58.198, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS