PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 21, 2014 @ 05:09 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.2 / 100
800 Vinial Street
Pittsburgh , PA 15212
United States
(412) 237-9400
Last Updated: July 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
70 Reviews / 13 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(56 within 5 miles)
1) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(0 mile)

2) Monterey Pub
(0 mile)

3) Bru Lounge
(0 mile)

4) Finnigan's Wake
(0 mile)

5) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(0 mile)

6) True Cafe and Bartini
(2 miles)

7) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(2 miles)

8) Kaya
(2 miles)

9) Market Street Ale House
(2 miles)

10) Roland's Seafood Grill
(2 miles)

11) Cioppino
(2 miles)

12) Gene's Last Chance
(2 miles)

13) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(2 miles)

14) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(2 miles)

15) Six Penn Kitchen
(2 miles)

16) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(2 miles)

17) Eleven
(3 miles)

18) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

19) Gooski's
(3 miles)

20) Meat and Potatoes
(3 miles)

21) Grandview Saloon
(3 miles)

22) Packs and Dogs
(3 miles)

23) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(3 miles)

24) The Church Brew Works
(3 miles)

25) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

26) New Amsterdam
(3 miles)

27) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(3 miles)

28) Lot 17
(3 miles)

29) Brillobox
(3 miles)

30) Mad Mex
(4 miles)

31) Fuel and Fuddle
(4 miles)

32) India Garden
(4 miles)

33) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

34) Jernigan's Scotch and Cigar Bar
(4 miles)

35) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

36) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

37) S Bar
(4 miles)

38) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

39) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

40) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

41) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

42) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

43) UUBU6
(4 miles)

44) Aspinwall Grille
(4 miles)

45) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

46) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

47) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

48) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

49) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

50) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

51) Bocktown Beer and Grill
(4 miles)

52) Mad Mex South
(4 miles)

53) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

54) Bado's Pizzeria and Delicatessen
(5 miles)

55) Mexi-Casa
(5 miles)

56) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
2) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
3) Priory Inn
4) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN PARKWAY CTR INN
2) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
3) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
4) COMFORT INN & SUITES
5) DAYS INN PITTSBURGH PA
6) EXTENDEDSTAY CARNEGIE
7) FOUR POINTS PITTSBURGH AIRPORT
8) HAMPTON INN PITTS GRNTREE
9) HAWTHORN PITTSBURGH
10) HILTON PITTSBURGH
11) MAINSTAY SUITES
12) MICROTEL INN & SUITES
13) MORNING GLORY INN
14) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
15) RADISSON PITTSBURGH GREENTREE
16) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
17) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
18) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
19) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
20) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
21) THE PRIORY HOTEL
22) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Armstrong Tunnel
6) Armstrong Tunnel
7) Arsenal Junior High School
8) Bayard School
9) Bedford School
10) Beechwood Elementary School
11) Beltzhoover Elementary School
12) Bindley Hardware Company Building
13) Birmingham Public School
14) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
15) Buhl Building
16) Burke Building
17) Butler Street Gatehouse
18) Byers-Lyons House
19) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
20) Campbell Building
21) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
22) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
23) Conroy Junior High School
24) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
25) Davis Island Lock and Dam Site
26) Dollar Savings Bank
27) Duquesne Incline
28) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
29) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
30) Ewart Building
31) Fifth Avenue High School
32) Firstside Historic District
33) Fort Pitt Elementary School
34) Fortieth Street Bridge
35) Foster School
36) Frew, John, House
37) Frick Building and Annex
38) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
39) Fulton Building
40) Greenfield Elementary School
41) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
42) Heathside Cottage
43) Henderson-Metz House
44) Hoene-Werle House
45) House at 200 West North Avenue
46) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
47) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
48) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
49) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
50) Knoxville Junior High School
51) Langley High School
52) Latimer School
53) Lawrence Public School
54) Lemington Elementary School
55) Letsche Elementary School
56) Liberty Bridge
57) Lightner, Isaac, House
58) Madison Elementary School
59) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
60) McCleary Elementary School
61) McKees Rocks Bridge
62) McKees Rocks Bridge
63) Monongahela Incline
64) Moreland-Hoffstot House
65) Morrow, John, Elementary School
66) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
67) Ninth Street Bridge
68) Oakland Public School
69) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
70) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
71) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
72) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
73) Perry High School
74) Phipps Conservatory
75) Phipps--McElveen Building
76) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
77) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
78) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
79) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
80) Rodef Shalom Temple
81) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
82) Schenley High School
83) Schiller Elementary School
84) Seventh Street Bridge
85) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
86) Sixteenth Street Bridge
87) Sixth Street Bridge
88) Smithfield Street Bridge
89) Snyder, William Penn, House
90) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
91) South Side High School
92) South Side Market Building
93) South Tenth Street Bridge
94) Springfield Public School
95) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
96) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
97) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
98) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
99) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
100) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
101) Union Trust Building
102) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
103) Washington Vocational School
104) West End-North Side Bridge
105) West End-North Side Bridge
106) William Penn Hotel
107) Woods, John, House
108) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alfredo's
2) Allegheny Sandwich Shoppe
3) Amani International Coffeehouse & Cafe
4) Americano Cafe
5) Apple Cookie & Chocolate Co
6) Aramark Corp
7) Area 51
8) Art's Tavern
9) Asiago
10) Atria's Restaurant
11) Bash Nightclub
12) Bier Haus Tavern
13) Big Sam's Memphis Bbq
14) Billy's Troy Hill Bistro
15) Boardwalk Complex
16) Bob & Jim's Tavern
17) Body & Soul Restaurant & Ctrng
18) Bolo's
19) Boomerang Bbq Woodfired Pizza
20) Boss Hogs Ribs & Chicken
21) Bossa Nova
22) Boulevard Deli
23) Boulpen
24) BoxSpring Cafe
25) Braddock's American Brasserie
26) Brandy's Meeting & Eating Pl
27) British Bicycle Club
28) Brown Bag Deli
29) Brown Bag Deli
30) Brown Bag Deli
31) Buon Giorno Cafe
32) Buon Giorno Cafe
33) Burger King
34) Cafe 1814
35) Cafe Anatolia
36) Cafe Beleze Community Coffeehouse
37) Cafe Milano
38) Cafe Victoria
39) Cafe Zao
40) Cantina
41) Carnegie Museums Of Pittsburg
42) Carnegie Museums Of Pittsburgh
43) Casablanca Bistro
44) Cassis Pittsburgh
45) Castellano's Deli
46) Catering By Linda Iannotta
47) Catering By Michael
48) Centre City Cafe & Deli
49) Charles Street Cafe
50) Chemistry Night Club
51) Cherries Deli LLC
52) China Taste
53) Christos Mediterranean Grill
54) Chubby's Pizza & Hoagies
55) Circle Cafe
56) Clark Bar & Grill
57) Club Elite
58) Coffee A LA Cart
59) Colleen's Corner
60) Cool Beans Coffee Co
61) Cool Beans Coffee Co
62) Cousin Vinny's
63) Crewsers Restaurant
64) Crystal
65) Cuppa Mocha
66) Cuzamil
67) De Luca's Restaurant
68) Donnie's
69) Donzi's
70) Dowe's On 9th
71) Duke's Tavern
72) Eat'n Park Restaurants
73) Edsel Grille
74) Elliott's Off Broadway Cater
75) Emil's Lounge
76) Ephesus Mediterranean Rstrnt
77) Esther's Lunch Stop
78) F Tambellini Restaurant
79) FADZ Sandwich Shop
80) Fat Tommy's Pizzera
81) Father & Son Pizzeria
82) Fernando's
83) Fifth Avenue Beanery
84) Firehouse Lounge
85) Firewaters
86) Flamers Charburgers
87) Frank's Pizza & Chicken
88) Frenchy's Restaurant
89) Frisch's Of North Shore
90) G's Restaurante & Pizzeria
91) Gene's Last Chance
92) Giorgio's Place
93) Gli Food Svc
94) Golden Palace Buffet
95) Golob's Tavern
96) Grilled Chicken King & Steak
97) H2o Nightclub
98) Hicks Spring Garden Inn
99) Hightops
100) Hoi Polloi
101) Homeplate Bar
102) Hop's Place
103) Images Bar
104) India Palace Cuisine
105) Isalys Grocery Store
106) Italian Village Pizza
107) J R's Bar
108) James Street Restaurant
109) Jerrys 1888
110) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
111) Jimmy's Post Tavern
112) Jo Jo's Restaurant
113) Kaya
114) Kayla's Place
115) Kelly's Diner & Catering
116) Kenny B's Eatery
117) Key West
118) Klavon's Twenty Eight Street
119) LA Creme Inc
120) LA Gondola Pizzeria
121) La Scala Ristorante
122) LA Strada
123) Label Laz Co
124) Las Velas Mexican Restaurant
125) Legends North Shore
126) Leininger's Tavern
127) Lemon Grass Cafe
128) Level Club Lounge
129) Liang's Hunan Inc
130) Liberty Avenue Saloon
131) Liberty Tavern
132) Lidia's Pittsburgh
133) Lil Frankie's Pizza
134) Lillen's Restaurant
135) Lindos
136) Little Sushi Bar
137) Long John Silver's
138) Mama Chang Asian Cuisine
139) Mama Gina's Pizza
140) Mamma Pina's Pizzeria
141) Mandy's Pizza
142) Mark's Grill & Catering
143) Market Street Ale House
144) Market Street Deli Co
145) Max's Allegheny Tavern
146) Mayfield Restaurant & Lounge
147) Mc Donald's
148) Mc Donald's
149) Mc Ghee Bar & Restaurant
150) Melange Bistro Bar
151) Metropol
152) Metropolitan Cafe
153) Modern Restaurant Cafe & Bar
154) Monterey Pub
155) Mount Troy Ballroom
156) Mr Jacks Neighborhood
157) Mt Troy Deli
158) Mt Troy Inn
159) Mullaney's Harp & Fiddle
160) Mullin's Diner
161) Mynt Lounge
162) Network Industrial Inc
163) Nick's Place
164) North Shore Delicatessen
165) Olive Or Twist
166) Ona Lounge & Grill
167) Opening Night Caterers
168) Opus Restaurant
169) Original Fish Market Rstrnt
170) Original Smoothie Shoppe
171) Oscar Premire Sandwich Bar
172) Our Bar & Cafe Inc
173) Outback Steakhouse
174) Ozzio's Pizzaria
175) Pamela's P & G Diner
176) Park House
177) Park House In The Strip
178) Parrott's Pub
179) Pasta Too
180) Peanutz
181) Pegasus Lounge
182) Penn Brewery
183) People's Choice Deli & Mini
184) Peppi's Inc
185) Peppi's Inc
186) Pickles Pizza & Sandwich
187) Pittsburgh Eagle
188) Pizza Garden
189) Pizza Hut
190) Pizza Outlet
191) Pizza Parma
192) Pizza Roma Northside
193) Pocket Place & Q Ctr
194) Porky's Pizza House
195) Prestogeorge Cafe
196) Primanti Brothers
197) Primanti Brothers Bar & Grill
198) Privileged Diner Card
199) Quik-It Chicken
200) Quiznos Sub
201) Quiznos Sub
202) Quiznos Sub
203) Rebel's
204) Reinhold Ice Cream Co
205) Riggs Lounge & Restaurant
206) Rip's
207) Risen Lord Parish School
208) Riverwatch
209) Roland's Seafood Grill
210) Roly Poly
211) Ronardi's Pizzeria
212) Rosa-Villa Cafe
213) Rosebud Deli
214) Rumor'z Bar & Lounge
215) S and D Polish Deli
216) Safari
217) Salonika Gyros
218) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
219) Sanremo Pizza
220) Sbarro
221) Sbarro
222) Schwartz's Bagels
223) Serendipity Bistro
224) Seventh Street Grille
225) Shamrock Inn
226) Shooters Inc
227) Silky's Seafood Chicken & Ribs
228) Simply Subs
229) Sodexho Marriott
230) Somma Pizza
231) Sonoma Grille
232) Soprano's
233) Southwest Bistro
234) Spike's Beer Distr
235) Sports Rock Cafe
236) Starbucks
237) Starbucks
238) Starbucks
239) Starr Lounge
240) Steel City Diner
241) Steve's New York Hotdog Shop
242) Stone Front Cafe
243) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
244) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
245) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
246) Sushi Kim Restaurant
247) Sweet Time Cafe
248) Sweet Treats
249) Tango's Martini Bar
250) Tasca Navarre
251) Tastee Freez
252) Tequila Willies
253) Three Deuces Inc
254) Tom's Bar & Lounge
255) Touch Nightclub
256) Toula's
257) Trojan Pizza
258) True Cafe & Bartini
259) Ugly Duckling Gourmet Edibles
260) Uncle Bill's
261) Valhalla Microbrewery & Rstrnt
262) Vault Coffee & Tea Bar
263) Verdetto's Bar & Restaurant
264) Victory Restaurant
265) Vincent's From Greetree Pizza
266) Warner Cafe
267) Wendy's
268) Wendy's
269) West End Cafe
270) Wilson's Bar-B-Q
271) Winghart's Burger and Whiskey Bar
272) Wiseguys Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Did not eat. Beer was decent but not spectacular. Worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Penn Brewery is back in business!

The menu has changed a little and the quality of everything I have tried has improved.

I also think the Allegheny Ale a nice addition to their beer line up.

I always liked Penn Brewery and it is great to have them back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(07/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Update to the status of Penn Brewery. On 11/23/09, Tom Pastorius, the original founder of the brewery, and a team of investors reacquired a controlling interest in Penn Brewery. Brewing resumed at the Vinial Street Brewery in December. A new kegging line was installed in February, and starting in March, the restaurant is open on fridays, serving beer only. The grand re-opening of the restaurant is scheduled for May and they will be hosting the Pennsylvania Micro Brewer's 2010 Fest on June 5th.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Alvin Steve Alvin, Henry, IL
(04/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Things aren't looking good for this Pittsburgh institution. As of August 18th 2009, all have ceased until further notice. Places like this that close "until further notice" usually don't re-open. Penn products will continue to be available courtesy of a brewing contract with Lion Brewing in Wilkes-Barre. But if the Troy Hill brewpub closes for good, it will be a sad day for Pittsburgh's brewpub scene even if it re-opens elsewhere as had been discussed in previous months. Any "new" Penn brewpub just wouldn't be the same.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(08/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
It's been too, too long since I've stopped by Penn Brewing, so we made this stop #1 on a recent beer cruise. Everything was fresh and clean; true to style. Pils had that original malty goodness I remembered from my first taste many years ago. Kaiser Pils had a spicy, refreshing quality, and I have to admit I forgot how good the dark was--especially when it was the first beer of the trip. Penndemonium is an 8% bock sweet in the nose and slightly throughout. It's smooth and drinkable despite the alcohol percentage. I'll definitely seek out Penn brews more often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To the review below, you may have opened a bottle that was not fresh. Their weizen is an excellent example of the style and has received high rating in several ber publications. Or it could be you don't like the weizen style. If that's the case, please don't disparage the brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Yardley, PA
(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Penn Brewery is starting to produce special seasonal beers. The St Nick Bock Reserve was awesome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(04/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A So So
I have had beers in the past from this brewing company through local distribution and thought they were nothing special. I stopped in and had the hefeweizen which made me feel bloated and half way through it, I wanted to move on to another beer. It was a weak and generic attempt at a weizen. The beer had a thick feel with very little spice or citrus feel. I have no idea how this won any medal at any competition. Perhaps the batch served was old? I have had the Penn Dark in the past and found it very unrememberable. I moved on to Penn Pilsner and it really had no flavor. It was a below average pilsner.

The brewery itself is awesome. You can hang out between the brewery and another smaller building. They have an outdoor bar and the ground is cobble stoned. The brewery is brick with old masonry. The atmosphere would make me want to stop in again. If I am out there again at another time of year, I would definately stop in to give the place another shot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(06/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
A definite destination when in the Pittsburgh area, particularly if you want good German food. OK, it's somewhat typical fare, and missing some of my favorites, but it IS good, and the beer is very good. The seating is rather family style -- which will put some off, but the atmosphere is quite Gem├╝tlichkeit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RFM57 RFM57, Beaver, PA
(03/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
This is a borderline "great" recommendation, based more on the food and the surroundings than the beer. I visited Penn Brewery on July 13 while in town for the All-Star Game. I had been there once before many years ago, probably in the early 90s.

The venue is a good one: lots of long tables not unlike a German beer hall. And since it's German beer and food styles they feature at Penn Brewery, the decor and seating makes sense. It was a very hot day when I visited, so the inviting outdoor beer garden space was not being used. However it looks like a great place in cooler temperatures to while away an hour or two.

I had the Rouladen (stuffed sirloin rolls), mostly because when I saw it on the menu it reminded me that my mom made the same dish occasionally many decades ago. They were well-prepared and the spatzle and red cabbage accompaniments were likewise satisfying. My wife had the potato pancakes and loved them. We also had the German meat sampler plate as an appetizer and it was hearty. (I'm headed to Munich this fall for Oktoberfest and figured I'd "test-drive" my taste buds with this hearty German fare.)

The weakest link at Penn Brewery is the beer. What was offered was certainly clean but not overly memorable. I had the Maibock and the Penn Pilsner and sipped my pal's Kaiser Pils. All were OK but there was nothing particularly noteworthy about them. Later that night I had a Penn Gold at the ballgame. It was just a crossover beer for the Bud Light crowd and can be bypassed by folks in pursuit of microbrews with character. The biggest drawback was that only five beers were available at the brewery, and three of those were variations on the same golden lager theme. I know it's a German-style brewery, but I would have welcomed an alt or other lesser-known such style.

Overall, Penn Brewery is certainly worth seeking out ... especially if you're hungry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Kane Ken Kane, Portland, OR
(07/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Come here many times, from special events like Oktoberfest or their Microbrew Festival to just stopping in before or after the game. It's always a great time. The beer is always top-notch from their weizen to the dark to the seasonals - there's always a good brew to be had. And the food has greatly improved over the last couple of years. Before it was hit-or-miss, sometimes you would get a good meal and sometimes you wouldn't. But lately all the meals I've had their have been top-notch. If you like German food and beer there's no other place to go than the Brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Been here many times. The beer is always the same quality...Awesome", but the food can be spotty. EG, last week I ordered the Brewmeister's Steak. A ribeye with a wild mushroom sauce made with their Penn Dark. I wish the sauce hadn't been so thick so it would have been easier to cut around all the fat and grissle on the cut. But, I've been here that the food's been "Awesome" too. Wish the food could be as consistantly "Awesome" as the beer and atmosphere. It truly does seem like you're in Germany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(01/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Unique, I felt like I was in bavaria! Cool old relics and breweriana from the old E&B brewery in the basement. Although nothing very adventerous, the beer was very good and true to style! Yet another PA. original.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A
I've tagged the selection as "great" because there was probably a good ten varieties available the time I stopped by. I'm crossing the Burgh, going from Church Brew to Penn Brewing to John Harvard's only to find that this brewery does not offer a sampler tray. How can you guys have such a selection and no tray? I can't be drinking a gallon of beer to try everything and then moving on. ANYWAY, try their Penn Dark. It's got a rich flavor to it that I haven't quite found anywhere else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SuperSteve SuperSteve, Spokane, WA
(11/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Good, old historic location. All German-styled beers are offered, so don't look for an Imperial IPA. Between the maibock and marzen that I tried, I favored the marzen; it seemed to have a little more flavor. I found it ironic that a Brit was on the bar (without a hand pump in sight!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I paid a visit to Penn recently and I can now say all is forgiven. So you folks can stop ragging on me for "badmouthing" the place.

You won't find an Imperial Rye Chipotle Stout or any such experimental stuff here. It's traditional German-style beers or nothing. I tried their Pilsner, Kaiser Pils and their hefe-weizen. I'm not sure why they call the Pilsner a pilsner; it is described in their literature as a Vienna lager and it certainly tastes like one (which is a good thing). Their Kaiser Pils is actually a pilsner as the name describe, and again, it tastes like one. The Weizen is appropriately tart, straw-colored, cloudy and citrus-like. Nicely done.

Atmosphere is much like that of a Munich beer hall with common tables in a big open hall, plus a smaller seating area with conventional tables and a second, smaller bar in the Rathskeller. The main level seating area features a glass wall that overlooks the gleaming brewing equipment.

Service left nothing to complain about. Beers were brought out with a pleasant attitude and a smile.

Didn't try the food but suffice to say the place smelled like a German restaurant. I'll let you decide if that's a good or bad thing.

Capital Brewery in Middleton WI is still my favorite American brewer of German beers but Penn's quality comes quite close. I'm glad I live within daytripping distance of Capital but I wouldn't be disappointed if I lived near Penn either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(04/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Penn was rocking when I stopped in last week, tables full and busy, and pint after pint of St. Nikolaus Bock sailing across the bar. I stuck to the damn-near-perfect Penn Dark and was not disappointed. Food was delicious and plentiful, service was on the dot. No complaints here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
Cool place with good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beer  drinking mike beer drinking mike, lagrange, OH
(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
A truely great brewpub. Brewed in the German tradition adhering to German purity laws. They have a nice outside area great to sit outside and enjoy a few pints. Stage with regular events.

I can't comment too much on what beers I tried. I tried the range, which was good to awesome! Worth trying if in town. Good German food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Murphy Mike Murphy, Iselin, NJ
(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Just had an enjoyable visit to this establishment on 6/26/04. The beer was clean crisp and flavorful. The Dark I found smooth and easy to drink with a nice chocolate malty tone. The service was exceptional, polite and courteous. The staff was helpful in explaining the beers and was generous enough to bring a sample of the weizen as I did not want to have a whole pint. The weizen was quite flavorful and drinkable. Also great atmosphere and good food all the way around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elk Elk, Binghamton, NY
(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
Got a chance to try the seasonal Maibock at Fat Head's over the weekend: excellent beer, smooth as silk and rich with malt. Very nice. Also heard that the Kaiser Pils may finally be bottled: can't happen soon enough for me!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Really enjoyed the Maibock and the Dark. Steak Sandwich was excellant. On weekends they have entertainment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"I don't know what The Enemy's and Tim Tomlinson's problem is. This place is far and away the best brewery in Western Pennsylvania and one of the best in the region."

My "problem," as it were, is that Penn beers were problematic when I tried them. But let's be real here -- my prior review is over 5 years old. Note some of the other reviews from around that time and it seems like Penn had hit a rough spot. In the microbrewery industry, 5 years is an eternity -- things change, I realize this, and I don't hold grudges. Recent reviews seem to indicate that Penn has subsequently gotten their act together. I moved away from Pittsburgh years ago so I haven't had a chance to re-evaluate Penn beers. Next time I'm in the area I'll give 'em another go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(04/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I don't know what The Enemy's and Tim Tomlinson's problem is. This place is far and away the best brewery in Western Pennsylvania and one of the best in the region. Great recreations of German beers, served up in an authentic German-style brauhaus. The place is practically in my back yard so I get to spend lots of quality time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Orberthur Orberthur, Mexican War Streets ('Burgh), PA
(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Stopped after several hours on road from Arlington,VA. It was quiet time on Friday. Very interesting facility with lots to see and weathered copper bar to lean on. Very German in its beer selections - no hop crazies here! Easy to find, but watch the directions closely!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynwood sinnamon Lynwood sinnamon, Arlington, VA
(04/13/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.297 seconds) 05:09:17 54.91.137.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS