PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 29, 2014 @ 11:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.2 / 100
800 Vinial Street
Pittsburgh , PA 15212
United States
(412) 237-9400
Last Updated: July 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
70 Reviews / 13 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(56 within 5 miles)
1) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(0 mile)

2) Monterey Pub
(0 mile)

3) Bru Lounge
(0 mile)

4) Finnigan's Wake
(0 mile)

5) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(0 mile)

6) True Cafe and Bartini
(2 miles)

7) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(2 miles)

8) Kaya
(2 miles)

9) Market Street Ale House
(2 miles)

10) Roland's Seafood Grill
(2 miles)

11) Cioppino
(2 miles)

12) Gene's Last Chance
(2 miles)

13) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(2 miles)

14) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(2 miles)

15) Six Penn Kitchen
(2 miles)

16) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(2 miles)

17) Eleven
(3 miles)

18) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

19) Gooski's
(3 miles)

20) Meat and Potatoes
(3 miles)

21) Grandview Saloon
(3 miles)

22) Packs and Dogs
(3 miles)

23) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(3 miles)

24) The Church Brew Works
(3 miles)

25) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

26) New Amsterdam
(3 miles)

27) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(3 miles)

28) Lot 17
(3 miles)

29) Brillobox
(3 miles)

30) Mad Mex
(4 miles)

31) Fuel and Fuddle
(4 miles)

32) India Garden
(4 miles)

33) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

34) Jernigan's Scotch and Cigar Bar
(4 miles)

35) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

36) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

37) S Bar
(4 miles)

38) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

39) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

40) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

41) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

42) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

43) UUBU6
(4 miles)

44) Aspinwall Grille
(4 miles)

45) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

46) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

47) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

48) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

49) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

50) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

51) Bocktown Beer and Grill
(4 miles)

52) Mad Mex South
(4 miles)

53) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

54) Bado's Pizzeria and Delicatessen
(5 miles)

55) Mexi-Casa
(5 miles)

56) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
2) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
3) Priory Inn
4) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN PARKWAY CTR INN
2) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
3) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
4) COMFORT INN & SUITES
5) DAYS INN PITTSBURGH PA
6) EXTENDEDSTAY CARNEGIE
7) FOUR POINTS PITTSBURGH AIRPORT
8) HAMPTON INN PITTS GRNTREE
9) HAWTHORN PITTSBURGH
10) HILTON PITTSBURGH
11) MAINSTAY SUITES
12) MICROTEL INN & SUITES
13) MORNING GLORY INN
14) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
15) RADISSON PITTSBURGH GREENTREE
16) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
17) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
18) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
19) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
20) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
21) THE PRIORY HOTEL
22) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Armstrong Tunnel
6) Armstrong Tunnel
7) Arsenal Junior High School
8) Bayard School
9) Bedford School
10) Beechwood Elementary School
11) Beltzhoover Elementary School
12) Bindley Hardware Company Building
13) Birmingham Public School
14) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
15) Buhl Building
16) Burke Building
17) Butler Street Gatehouse
18) Byers-Lyons House
19) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
20) Campbell Building
21) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
22) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
23) Conroy Junior High School
24) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
25) Davis Island Lock and Dam Site
26) Dollar Savings Bank
27) Duquesne Incline
28) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
29) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
30) Ewart Building
31) Fifth Avenue High School
32) Firstside Historic District
33) Fort Pitt Elementary School
34) Fortieth Street Bridge
35) Foster School
36) Frew, John, House
37) Frick Building and Annex
38) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
39) Fulton Building
40) Greenfield Elementary School
41) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
42) Heathside Cottage
43) Henderson-Metz House
44) Hoene-Werle House
45) House at 200 West North Avenue
46) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
47) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
48) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
49) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
50) Knoxville Junior High School
51) Langley High School
52) Latimer School
53) Lawrence Public School
54) Lemington Elementary School
55) Letsche Elementary School
56) Liberty Bridge
57) Lightner, Isaac, House
58) Madison Elementary School
59) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
60) McCleary Elementary School
61) McKees Rocks Bridge
62) McKees Rocks Bridge
63) Monongahela Incline
64) Moreland-Hoffstot House
65) Morrow, John, Elementary School
66) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
67) Ninth Street Bridge
68) Oakland Public School
69) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
70) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
71) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
72) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
73) Perry High School
74) Phipps Conservatory
75) Phipps--McElveen Building
76) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
77) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
78) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
79) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
80) Rodef Shalom Temple
81) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
82) Schenley High School
83) Schiller Elementary School
84) Seventh Street Bridge
85) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
86) Sixteenth Street Bridge
87) Sixth Street Bridge
88) Smithfield Street Bridge
89) Snyder, William Penn, House
90) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
91) South Side High School
92) South Side Market Building
93) South Tenth Street Bridge
94) Springfield Public School
95) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
96) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
97) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
98) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
99) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
100) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
101) Union Trust Building
102) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
103) Washington Vocational School
104) West End-North Side Bridge
105) West End-North Side Bridge
106) William Penn Hotel
107) Woods, John, House
108) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alfredo's
2) Allegheny Sandwich Shoppe
3) Amani International Coffeehouse & Cafe
4) Americano Cafe
5) Apple Cookie & Chocolate Co
6) Aramark Corp
7) Area 51
8) Art's Tavern
9) Asiago
10) Atria's Restaurant
11) Bash Nightclub
12) Bier Haus Tavern
13) Big Sam's Memphis Bbq
14) Billy's Troy Hill Bistro
15) Boardwalk Complex
16) Bob & Jim's Tavern
17) Body & Soul Restaurant & Ctrng
18) Bolo's
19) Boomerang Bbq Woodfired Pizza
20) Boss Hogs Ribs & Chicken
21) Bossa Nova
22) Boulevard Deli
23) Boulpen
24) BoxSpring Cafe
25) Braddock's American Brasserie
26) Brandy's Meeting & Eating Pl
27) British Bicycle Club
28) Brown Bag Deli
29) Brown Bag Deli
30) Brown Bag Deli
31) Buon Giorno Cafe
32) Buon Giorno Cafe
33) Burger King
34) Cafe 1814
35) Cafe Anatolia
36) Cafe Beleze Community Coffeehouse
37) Cafe Milano
38) Cafe Victoria
39) Cafe Zao
40) Cantina
41) Carnegie Museums Of Pittsburg
42) Carnegie Museums Of Pittsburgh
43) Casablanca Bistro
44) Cassis Pittsburgh
45) Castellano's Deli
46) Catering By Linda Iannotta
47) Catering By Michael
48) Centre City Cafe & Deli
49) Charles Street Cafe
50) Chemistry Night Club
51) Cherries Deli LLC
52) China Taste
53) Christos Mediterranean Grill
54) Chubby's Pizza & Hoagies
55) Circle Cafe
56) Clark Bar & Grill
57) Club Elite
58) Coffee A LA Cart
59) Colleen's Corner
60) Cool Beans Coffee Co
61) Cool Beans Coffee Co
62) Cousin Vinny's
63) Crewsers Restaurant
64) Crystal
65) Cuppa Mocha
66) Cuzamil
67) De Luca's Restaurant
68) Donnie's
69) Donzi's
70) Dowe's On 9th
71) Duke's Tavern
72) Eat'n Park Restaurants
73) Edsel Grille
74) Elliott's Off Broadway Cater
75) Emil's Lounge
76) Ephesus Mediterranean Rstrnt
77) Esther's Lunch Stop
78) F Tambellini Restaurant
79) FADZ Sandwich Shop
80) Fat Tommy's Pizzera
81) Father & Son Pizzeria
82) Fernando's
83) Fifth Avenue Beanery
84) Firehouse Lounge
85) Firewaters
86) Flamers Charburgers
87) Frank's Pizza & Chicken
88) Frenchy's Restaurant
89) Frisch's Of North Shore
90) G's Restaurante & Pizzeria
91) Gene's Last Chance
92) Giorgio's Place
93) Gli Food Svc
94) Golden Palace Buffet
95) Golob's Tavern
96) Grilled Chicken King & Steak
97) H2o Nightclub
98) Hicks Spring Garden Inn
99) Hightops
100) Hoi Polloi
101) Homeplate Bar
102) Hop's Place
103) Images Bar
104) India Palace Cuisine
105) Isalys Grocery Store
106) Italian Village Pizza
107) J R's Bar
108) James Street Restaurant
109) Jerrys 1888
110) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
111) Jimmy's Post Tavern
112) Jo Jo's Restaurant
113) Kaya
114) Kayla's Place
115) Kelly's Diner & Catering
116) Kenny B's Eatery
117) Key West
118) Klavon's Twenty Eight Street
119) LA Creme Inc
120) LA Gondola Pizzeria
121) La Scala Ristorante
122) LA Strada
123) Label Laz Co
124) Las Velas Mexican Restaurant
125) Legends North Shore
126) Leininger's Tavern
127) Lemon Grass Cafe
128) Level Club Lounge
129) Liang's Hunan Inc
130) Liberty Avenue Saloon
131) Liberty Tavern
132) Lidia's Pittsburgh
133) Lil Frankie's Pizza
134) Lillen's Restaurant
135) Lindos
136) Little Sushi Bar
137) Long John Silver's
138) Mama Chang Asian Cuisine
139) Mama Gina's Pizza
140) Mamma Pina's Pizzeria
141) Mandy's Pizza
142) Mark's Grill & Catering
143) Market Street Ale House
144) Market Street Deli Co
145) Max's Allegheny Tavern
146) Mayfield Restaurant & Lounge
147) Mc Donald's
148) Mc Donald's
149) Mc Ghee Bar & Restaurant
150) Melange Bistro Bar
151) Metropol
152) Metropolitan Cafe
153) Modern Restaurant Cafe & Bar
154) Monterey Pub
155) Mount Troy Ballroom
156) Mr Jacks Neighborhood
157) Mt Troy Deli
158) Mt Troy Inn
159) Mullaney's Harp & Fiddle
160) Mullin's Diner
161) Mynt Lounge
162) Network Industrial Inc
163) Nick's Place
164) North Shore Delicatessen
165) Olive Or Twist
166) Ona Lounge & Grill
167) Opening Night Caterers
168) Opus Restaurant
169) Original Fish Market Rstrnt
170) Original Smoothie Shoppe
171) Oscar Premire Sandwich Bar
172) Our Bar & Cafe Inc
173) Outback Steakhouse
174) Ozzio's Pizzaria
175) Pamela's P & G Diner
176) Park House
177) Park House In The Strip
178) Parrott's Pub
179) Pasta Too
180) Peanutz
181) Pegasus Lounge
182) Penn Brewery
183) People's Choice Deli & Mini
184) Peppi's Inc
185) Peppi's Inc
186) Pickles Pizza & Sandwich
187) Pittsburgh Eagle
188) Pizza Garden
189) Pizza Hut
190) Pizza Outlet
191) Pizza Parma
192) Pizza Roma Northside
193) Pocket Place & Q Ctr
194) Porky's Pizza House
195) Prestogeorge Cafe
196) Primanti Brothers
197) Primanti Brothers Bar & Grill
198) Privileged Diner Card
199) Quik-It Chicken
200) Quiznos Sub
201) Quiznos Sub
202) Quiznos Sub
203) Rebel's
204) Reinhold Ice Cream Co
205) Riggs Lounge & Restaurant
206) Rip's
207) Risen Lord Parish School
208) Riverwatch
209) Roland's Seafood Grill
210) Roly Poly
211) Ronardi's Pizzeria
212) Rosa-Villa Cafe
213) Rosebud Deli
214) Rumor'z Bar & Lounge
215) S and D Polish Deli
216) Safari
217) Salonika Gyros
218) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
219) Sanremo Pizza
220) Sbarro
221) Sbarro
222) Schwartz's Bagels
223) Serendipity Bistro
224) Seventh Street Grille
225) Shamrock Inn
226) Shooters Inc
227) Silky's Seafood Chicken & Ribs
228) Simply Subs
229) Sodexho Marriott
230) Somma Pizza
231) Sonoma Grille
232) Soprano's
233) Southwest Bistro
234) Spike's Beer Distr
235) Sports Rock Cafe
236) Starbucks
237) Starbucks
238) Starbucks
239) Starr Lounge
240) Steel City Diner
241) Steve's New York Hotdog Shop
242) Stone Front Cafe
243) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
244) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
245) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
246) Sushi Kim Restaurant
247) Sweet Time Cafe
248) Sweet Treats
249) Tango's Martini Bar
250) Tasca Navarre
251) Tastee Freez
252) Tequila Willies
253) Three Deuces Inc
254) Tom's Bar & Lounge
255) Touch Nightclub
256) Toula's
257) Trojan Pizza
258) True Cafe & Bartini
259) Ugly Duckling Gourmet Edibles
260) Uncle Bill's
261) Valhalla Microbrewery & Rstrnt
262) Vault Coffee & Tea Bar
263) Verdetto's Bar & Restaurant
264) Victory Restaurant
265) Vincent's From Greetree Pizza
266) Warner Cafe
267) Wendy's
268) Wendy's
269) West End Cafe
270) Wilson's Bar-B-Q
271) Winghart's Burger and Whiskey Bar
272) Wiseguys Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beer, great food and great service. What more can I say.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The beer is very good. Although they have added "American Food" to the menu you can still get a great German meal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Gray Matt Gray, McCandless, PA
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Oops, make that culinary... this damn website kicks you off so fast, it's tough to write it all down without a few panic-driven typos.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beers and great food, not so great owner. Listen Fritz, if you enjoy conversing with the people who make this all possible, don't bother with Tom Pastorius. I don't think he likes mixing with the "little people." It's hard for him to climb down off his throne. But, if it's great culilary adventure you want, you can't miss here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Had a great late lunch here 7/17/03. The Kaiser Pils was outstanding but the Hefeweizen was perfect in every respect. Really a joy to taste such fine examples of German brewing. The Meat, Cheese and Bread Platter appetizer was a great way to down a couple of cool ones.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff McClellan Jeff McClellan, Raleigh, NC
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I stopped here after the Vintage Grand Prix, and very much enjoyed the place. They did not have a large selection of beers, but the Heifeweizen was very good (nice banana, spice and head), the dark was quite nice. The courtyard was a very relaxing place to unwind.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Gretat German style beers and food. One of the better breweries we visited on a 17 brewpub tour of Ohio and west PA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
Dissapointed they no longer fill up growlers (came all the way from Baltimore) due to "the six packs they sell now" but I feel that when Im sitting 10 feet from a serving tank and I cant get my growler filled for the same price as their 6-pack something is wrong with the management/marketing plan for sure!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Catonsville, MD
(05/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Mr. Tomey, I couldn't let your comment go by. Rest assured, Tom Pastorius is NOT a jerk. Tom Pastorius is one of the true gentlemen in the craft brewing industry, a well-spoken, educated man who runs a clean business. His annual beer festival in June is one of the most popular fests with the brewers because of how well they are treated. This is the very first negative comment I've ever heard about Tom. He is one of my favorite people in the Pennsylvania brewing industry, in a group of great people. His beer's damned good, too. No slam on you, just letting you know my opinion, based on about 8 years of interviewing Tom for stories I've done.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
We enjoyed all the beers we tried, which was all of them. I particularly enjoyed the Marzen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(04/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
During my brief enrollment at North Catholic in the late 80's I walked past this beautiful building every day thinking it was a shame there was not more urban rebuilding. Several years after joining the army I came home to discover the brewery and have stopped in several times since. I love everything from the history to the food and rounding it off with the brew. I've never left sober and plan to visit every time I come home. Great pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kirk Kuebbing, Ft. Drum, NY
(04/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
This is a great place. its perfect. a noisy beer garden with good food and great beer. I like really big beers. they dont make any biggies but what they make sets the standard for that genre. Their wheat is top notch and the kaiser pils is a nice hoppy beer. Its also relatively family friendly. Mr. Pastorious, although rumored to be a jerk, clearly knows how to make a good brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mr .Tomey, pittsburgh, pa
(03/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
One of my favorite pubs all-time (or should I say Stuebe?)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Sutula Dave Sutula, Berea, OH
(10/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I have zero complaints or suggestions for improvement, but I have several compliments: The beers, the atmosphere, the food, the service, all, even the swing band, were great! And I'm not saying this flippantly; it was all truly excellent. It's almost enough to make me want to live in Pittsburgh. Instead, I'll plan to revisit the Penn Brewery the next time I'm in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Road Mode Road Mode, Asheville, NC
(09/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Penn Brewery continues to grow and produce fine products. We were there last Saturday with a group of six... Waitress was attentative, food was fresh and we consumed a fine portion of their Weizen which is a fine wheat beer and good for summertime..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I grew up and went to college in the 'Burgh. I only wish they'd been open then. A truly wonderful place to go with friends, your kids (for the great German food), or, if you must :-( alone. My favorite's the Penn Dark, followed by the Pilsner and Gold. I don't like wheat beers in general (too yeasty for me) so I won't offer my opinion on the Weizen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Stanko Paul Stanko, Crown Point, IN
(06/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Ambience of Munich (squint a little). Long communal tables to eat and quaff your excellent beer. Jazz combo accompanied dinner when I was there, a nice touch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Violand Larry Violand, Cleveland, OH
(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Penn Brewery is quite an interesting place. Seated in what use to a strong German section of Pittsburgh its history dates back well over 100 years.

Inside you will find a very traditional German interior, very dimly lit at best. The menu reflects the German heritage. Do note, the pickings are very limited (1 dish) for anyone on a fixed diet or vegetarian folks.

Beer wise Penn gets a so-so rap for their local saturation of the Penn products. They are better than the competing Pittsburgh Brewing Products consistantly. Much better fresh picks than the typical beer you find bottled from them.

A must stop for any Pittsburgh beer tour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris paris, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The Penn Brewery is a great asset to Pittsburgh. Go here for a true German brewhouse experience...from the food to the decor (including the long wooden tables found in Germany) and including the atmosphere. (The last time I was there a man was playing tunes on the accordian.) Octoberfest is not to be missed. Crowds flock here for a great time and for beer. I highly recommend a trip here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Booth Kimberly Booth, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Another Great American Beer Festival medal for Penn Gold -- the fifth, and the FOURTH GOLD. Some kind of achievement. Congratulations!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Best microbrewery in Pittsburgh!!! Try the Penn Dark and Penn Weizen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review McKees Rocks, PA
(04/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I had a great time on a Saturday night - the place was packed and had a live jazz band. The hefeweizen took me back to Bavaria; it's the best I've had in the US.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D. Murphy D. Murphy, Woodbridge, VA
(04/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Good solid beers that are well worth a visit. The food was good, and the service was very good. It is a little hard finding the place for out of towners, but worth it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, Birdsboro, PA
(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I maek a stop here any time I am in the 'Burgh. The Penn Pilsner has been a staple in my beer diet since I first tried it 3 years ago. The atmosphere is terrific, big oak picnic style tables which are great for a group of friends. Their seasonals are always good and ture to their style and thier regular brews all please (Dark, Gold, Kaiser Pils,Weizen)A bit of Germany right in Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brett Hollern Brett Hollern, Windber, PA
(08/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
The atmosphere at the Penn Brewery was simply awesome! The live band had the whole place singing and clapping. The beer was fabulous and the food was affordable and very delicious. The whole ambiance was relaxed in its own informal way. I felt like I was in a German beer garden.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(05/21/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.43 seconds) 11:49:49 54.82.170.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS