PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 30, 2014 @ 07:35 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.2 / 100
800 Vinial Street
Pittsburgh , PA 15212
United States
(412) 237-9400
Last Updated: July 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
70 Reviews / 13 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(56 within 5 miles)
1) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(0 mile)

2) Monterey Pub
(0 mile)

3) Bru Lounge
(0 mile)

4) Finnigan's Wake
(0 mile)

5) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(0 mile)

6) True Cafe and Bartini
(2 miles)

7) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(2 miles)

8) Kaya
(2 miles)

9) Market Street Ale House
(2 miles)

10) Roland's Seafood Grill
(2 miles)

11) Cioppino
(2 miles)

12) Gene's Last Chance
(2 miles)

13) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(2 miles)

14) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(2 miles)

15) Six Penn Kitchen
(2 miles)

16) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(2 miles)

17) Eleven
(3 miles)

18) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

19) Gooski's
(3 miles)

20) Meat and Potatoes
(3 miles)

21) Grandview Saloon
(3 miles)

22) Packs and Dogs
(3 miles)

23) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(3 miles)

24) The Church Brew Works
(3 miles)

25) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

26) New Amsterdam
(3 miles)

27) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(3 miles)

28) Lot 17
(3 miles)

29) Brillobox
(3 miles)

30) Mad Mex
(4 miles)

31) Fuel and Fuddle
(4 miles)

32) India Garden
(4 miles)

33) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

34) Jernigan's Scotch and Cigar Bar
(4 miles)

35) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

36) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

37) S Bar
(4 miles)

38) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

39) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

40) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

41) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

42) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

43) UUBU6
(4 miles)

44) Aspinwall Grille
(4 miles)

45) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

46) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

47) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

48) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

49) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

50) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

51) Bocktown Beer and Grill
(4 miles)

52) Mad Mex South
(4 miles)

53) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

54) Bado's Pizzeria and Delicatessen
(5 miles)

55) Mexi-Casa
(5 miles)

56) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
2) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
3) Priory Inn
4) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN PARKWAY CTR INN
2) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
3) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
4) COMFORT INN & SUITES
5) DAYS INN PITTSBURGH PA
6) EXTENDEDSTAY CARNEGIE
7) FOUR POINTS PITTSBURGH AIRPORT
8) HAMPTON INN PITTS GRNTREE
9) HAWTHORN PITTSBURGH
10) HILTON PITTSBURGH
11) MAINSTAY SUITES
12) MICROTEL INN & SUITES
13) MORNING GLORY INN
14) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
15) RADISSON PITTSBURGH GREENTREE
16) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
17) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
18) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
19) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
20) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
21) THE PRIORY HOTEL
22) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Armstrong Tunnel
6) Armstrong Tunnel
7) Arsenal Junior High School
8) Bayard School
9) Bedford School
10) Beechwood Elementary School
11) Beltzhoover Elementary School
12) Bindley Hardware Company Building
13) Birmingham Public School
14) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
15) Buhl Building
16) Burke Building
17) Butler Street Gatehouse
18) Byers-Lyons House
19) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
20) Campbell Building
21) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
22) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
23) Conroy Junior High School
24) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
25) Davis Island Lock and Dam Site
26) Dollar Savings Bank
27) Duquesne Incline
28) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
29) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
30) Ewart Building
31) Fifth Avenue High School
32) Firstside Historic District
33) Fort Pitt Elementary School
34) Fortieth Street Bridge
35) Foster School
36) Frew, John, House
37) Frick Building and Annex
38) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
39) Fulton Building
40) Greenfield Elementary School
41) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
42) Heathside Cottage
43) Henderson-Metz House
44) Hoene-Werle House
45) House at 200 West North Avenue
46) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
47) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
48) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
49) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
50) Knoxville Junior High School
51) Langley High School
52) Latimer School
53) Lawrence Public School
54) Lemington Elementary School
55) Letsche Elementary School
56) Liberty Bridge
57) Lightner, Isaac, House
58) Madison Elementary School
59) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
60) McCleary Elementary School
61) McKees Rocks Bridge
62) McKees Rocks Bridge
63) Monongahela Incline
64) Moreland-Hoffstot House
65) Morrow, John, Elementary School
66) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
67) Ninth Street Bridge
68) Oakland Public School
69) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
70) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
71) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
72) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
73) Perry High School
74) Phipps Conservatory
75) Phipps--McElveen Building
76) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
77) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
78) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
79) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
80) Rodef Shalom Temple
81) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
82) Schenley High School
83) Schiller Elementary School
84) Seventh Street Bridge
85) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
86) Sixteenth Street Bridge
87) Sixth Street Bridge
88) Smithfield Street Bridge
89) Snyder, William Penn, House
90) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
91) South Side High School
92) South Side Market Building
93) South Tenth Street Bridge
94) Springfield Public School
95) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
96) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
97) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
98) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
99) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
100) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
101) Union Trust Building
102) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
103) Washington Vocational School
104) West End-North Side Bridge
105) West End-North Side Bridge
106) William Penn Hotel
107) Woods, John, House
108) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alfredo's
2) Allegheny Sandwich Shoppe
3) Amani International Coffeehouse & Cafe
4) Americano Cafe
5) Apple Cookie & Chocolate Co
6) Aramark Corp
7) Area 51
8) Art's Tavern
9) Asiago
10) Atria's Restaurant
11) Bash Nightclub
12) Bier Haus Tavern
13) Big Sam's Memphis Bbq
14) Billy's Troy Hill Bistro
15) Boardwalk Complex
16) Bob & Jim's Tavern
17) Body & Soul Restaurant & Ctrng
18) Bolo's
19) Boomerang Bbq Woodfired Pizza
20) Boss Hogs Ribs & Chicken
21) Bossa Nova
22) Boulevard Deli
23) Boulpen
24) BoxSpring Cafe
25) Braddock's American Brasserie
26) Brandy's Meeting & Eating Pl
27) British Bicycle Club
28) Brown Bag Deli
29) Brown Bag Deli
30) Brown Bag Deli
31) Buon Giorno Cafe
32) Buon Giorno Cafe
33) Burger King
34) Cafe 1814
35) Cafe Anatolia
36) Cafe Beleze Community Coffeehouse
37) Cafe Milano
38) Cafe Victoria
39) Cafe Zao
40) Cantina
41) Carnegie Museums Of Pittsburg
42) Carnegie Museums Of Pittsburgh
43) Casablanca Bistro
44) Cassis Pittsburgh
45) Castellano's Deli
46) Catering By Linda Iannotta
47) Catering By Michael
48) Centre City Cafe & Deli
49) Charles Street Cafe
50) Chemistry Night Club
51) Cherries Deli LLC
52) China Taste
53) Christos Mediterranean Grill
54) Chubby's Pizza & Hoagies
55) Circle Cafe
56) Clark Bar & Grill
57) Club Elite
58) Coffee A LA Cart
59) Colleen's Corner
60) Cool Beans Coffee Co
61) Cool Beans Coffee Co
62) Cousin Vinny's
63) Crewsers Restaurant
64) Crystal
65) Cuppa Mocha
66) Cuzamil
67) De Luca's Restaurant
68) Donnie's
69) Donzi's
70) Dowe's On 9th
71) Duke's Tavern
72) Eat'n Park Restaurants
73) Edsel Grille
74) Elliott's Off Broadway Cater
75) Emil's Lounge
76) Ephesus Mediterranean Rstrnt
77) Esther's Lunch Stop
78) F Tambellini Restaurant
79) FADZ Sandwich Shop
80) Fat Tommy's Pizzera
81) Father & Son Pizzeria
82) Fernando's
83) Fifth Avenue Beanery
84) Firehouse Lounge
85) Firewaters
86) Flamers Charburgers
87) Frank's Pizza & Chicken
88) Frenchy's Restaurant
89) Frisch's Of North Shore
90) G's Restaurante & Pizzeria
91) Gene's Last Chance
92) Giorgio's Place
93) Gli Food Svc
94) Golden Palace Buffet
95) Golob's Tavern
96) Grilled Chicken King & Steak
97) H2o Nightclub
98) Hicks Spring Garden Inn
99) Hightops
100) Hoi Polloi
101) Homeplate Bar
102) Hop's Place
103) Images Bar
104) India Palace Cuisine
105) Isalys Grocery Store
106) Italian Village Pizza
107) J R's Bar
108) James Street Restaurant
109) Jerrys 1888
110) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
111) Jimmy's Post Tavern
112) Jo Jo's Restaurant
113) Kaya
114) Kayla's Place
115) Kelly's Diner & Catering
116) Kenny B's Eatery
117) Key West
118) Klavon's Twenty Eight Street
119) LA Creme Inc
120) LA Gondola Pizzeria
121) La Scala Ristorante
122) LA Strada
123) Label Laz Co
124) Las Velas Mexican Restaurant
125) Legends North Shore
126) Leininger's Tavern
127) Lemon Grass Cafe
128) Level Club Lounge
129) Liang's Hunan Inc
130) Liberty Avenue Saloon
131) Liberty Tavern
132) Lidia's Pittsburgh
133) Lil Frankie's Pizza
134) Lillen's Restaurant
135) Lindos
136) Little Sushi Bar
137) Long John Silver's
138) Mama Chang Asian Cuisine
139) Mama Gina's Pizza
140) Mamma Pina's Pizzeria
141) Mandy's Pizza
142) Mark's Grill & Catering
143) Market Street Ale House
144) Market Street Deli Co
145) Max's Allegheny Tavern
146) Mayfield Restaurant & Lounge
147) Mc Donald's
148) Mc Donald's
149) Mc Ghee Bar & Restaurant
150) Melange Bistro Bar
151) Metropol
152) Metropolitan Cafe
153) Modern Restaurant Cafe & Bar
154) Monterey Pub
155) Mount Troy Ballroom
156) Mr Jacks Neighborhood
157) Mt Troy Deli
158) Mt Troy Inn
159) Mullaney's Harp & Fiddle
160) Mullin's Diner
161) Mynt Lounge
162) Network Industrial Inc
163) Nick's Place
164) North Shore Delicatessen
165) Olive Or Twist
166) Ona Lounge & Grill
167) Opening Night Caterers
168) Opus Restaurant
169) Original Fish Market Rstrnt
170) Original Smoothie Shoppe
171) Oscar Premire Sandwich Bar
172) Our Bar & Cafe Inc
173) Outback Steakhouse
174) Ozzio's Pizzaria
175) Pamela's P & G Diner
176) Park House
177) Park House In The Strip
178) Parrott's Pub
179) Pasta Too
180) Peanutz
181) Pegasus Lounge
182) Penn Brewery
183) People's Choice Deli & Mini
184) Peppi's Inc
185) Peppi's Inc
186) Pickles Pizza & Sandwich
187) Pittsburgh Eagle
188) Pizza Garden
189) Pizza Hut
190) Pizza Outlet
191) Pizza Parma
192) Pizza Roma Northside
193) Pocket Place & Q Ctr
194) Porky's Pizza House
195) Prestogeorge Cafe
196) Primanti Brothers
197) Primanti Brothers Bar & Grill
198) Privileged Diner Card
199) Quik-It Chicken
200) Quiznos Sub
201) Quiznos Sub
202) Quiznos Sub
203) Rebel's
204) Reinhold Ice Cream Co
205) Riggs Lounge & Restaurant
206) Rip's
207) Risen Lord Parish School
208) Riverwatch
209) Roland's Seafood Grill
210) Roly Poly
211) Ronardi's Pizzeria
212) Rosa-Villa Cafe
213) Rosebud Deli
214) Rumor'z Bar & Lounge
215) S and D Polish Deli
216) Safari
217) Salonika Gyros
218) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
219) Sanremo Pizza
220) Sbarro
221) Sbarro
222) Schwartz's Bagels
223) Serendipity Bistro
224) Seventh Street Grille
225) Shamrock Inn
226) Shooters Inc
227) Silky's Seafood Chicken & Ribs
228) Simply Subs
229) Sodexho Marriott
230) Somma Pizza
231) Sonoma Grille
232) Soprano's
233) Southwest Bistro
234) Spike's Beer Distr
235) Sports Rock Cafe
236) Starbucks
237) Starbucks
238) Starbucks
239) Starr Lounge
240) Steel City Diner
241) Steve's New York Hotdog Shop
242) Stone Front Cafe
243) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
244) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
245) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
246) Sushi Kim Restaurant
247) Sweet Time Cafe
248) Sweet Treats
249) Tango's Martini Bar
250) Tasca Navarre
251) Tastee Freez
252) Tequila Willies
253) Three Deuces Inc
254) Tom's Bar & Lounge
255) Touch Nightclub
256) Toula's
257) Trojan Pizza
258) True Cafe & Bartini
259) Ugly Duckling Gourmet Edibles
260) Uncle Bill's
261) Valhalla Microbrewery & Rstrnt
262) Vault Coffee & Tea Bar
263) Verdetto's Bar & Restaurant
264) Victory Restaurant
265) Vincent's From Greetree Pizza
266) Warner Cafe
267) Wendy's
268) Wendy's
269) West End Cafe
270) Wilson's Bar-B-Q
271) Winghart's Burger and Whiskey Bar
272) Wiseguys Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Great Great
I finally found the place (I guess it would of helped if I had followed the colorful direction signs that simply read "The Brewery"), and I'm glad I did. My wife and I loved it. The atmosphere is fantastic, and our server was both attentive and knowledgeable. I've had Penn Pilsner before, so it was no surprise to enjoy it fresh; Penn Dark was very well done, and the Weizen may have been the most flavorful I've had anywhere. I had the Bockwurst, while my wife had the Balsamic Vinegar Grilled Chicken salad. Both were excellent. I wish that I had more time to sample additional brews....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Nice place - good atmosphere! I was disappointed I could not spend more time. Good food and the menu selection was great. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Was disappointed that they did not have samplers. This was the only drawback I could find though since I thought the beers were delicious. My favorite beer was the Penn Dark -- I can see how it won an award at the GABF! The Octoberfest was also excellent and I got to take home a six-pack from the brewpub -- not something you often get to do in VA. Also, for the hopheads out there, try the Kaiser Pils. In addition, this place had a very friendly waitstaff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Borsato Robert Borsato, Annandale, VA
(11/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
First off, CONGRATULATIONS on Penn's latest GABF medals: a pair of Bronzes for Penn Gold and Penn Dark! This brings Penn's total to six. Penn's beers are great examples of their styles, clean as a whistle, and just the thing for quaffing (unless, of course, you're tying into some of the Bock or Weizenbock, in which case use a little caution: Big Beer Ahead). I love going to this place, tucked into the old Eberhardt and Ober brewery building, and having a good cold lager beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Lew "Pennsylvania Breweries" Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(10/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice tour to boot!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick--- Beer Trekker Nick--- Beer Trekker, Baltimore, MD
(07/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy So So
The first thing I noticed about this place was the number of servers standing behind the bar chatting, ignoring the customers. I sat at the bar--which only seats 4 or 5 people--and it took me 10 minutes to get a beer. The people seated at tables kept coming up to the bar to get drinks. Maybe they don't have table service, but then I don't understand the number of servers just standing around. The Penn Dark is dark in color--that's all. A light malty flavor but nothing to write home about. The Keisser Pills, looks, smells, and tastes like Budweiser--enough said. The Weitzen was actually good--especially considering they opened a bottle and poured it into a Hefeweitzen glass. Not a fan of weitzen, but this was pretty good. The stuffed banana peppers were good--they and the free parking made the trip worthwhile.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Alfred, NY
(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
Definitely German cuisine, beer as well as entertainment. Each December, a visit from Santa kicks off the season with their holiday bock, one of my favorites.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Holowach Steve Holowach, Uniontown, PA
(06/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
This place definitely had a German atmosphere. The beers were all German Style brews. I particularly enjoyed the Marzen, which was their seasonal. The food was German fare and good, but the portions were less than desirable. Also disappointing was the fact they had no samplers to taste their brews and they did not have growlers to go, just bottled beer. Not only did the waitress we had have no clue about the establishment, the food, and the BEER!(lack of proper training), she really didn't seem to care.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Columbus, OH
(04/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
Undoubtedly THE best German beer in the USA. And the food is authentic German gasthaus fare. This is the real McCoy(or Schmidt, if you will)! Ask any beer snob who disagrees if he's ever been to Der Vaterland. Penn Kaiser Pils is a dead ringer for Henninger Kaiser Pils of Frankfurt, and is my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Thomas Dan Thomas, Thomas Mills, PA
(03/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Figas Eddie Figas, McKeesport, PA
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
What this place lacks in the quality of its food, it more than makes up for in the quality of its brews!!! Also, the atmosphere is outa sight!! Every time I frequent this establishment I always end up taking a quarter keg home with me! The beer is that good! This is not a place to take you sweetheart for that romantic dinner, but definitely bring her along if you want to go somewhere and have fun!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Wagner Christian Wagner, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A N/A N/A
I've never actually been to the brewpub. I tried once to go but it was closed. The atmosphere looks pretty decent, and the beer court looks like it might be a fun place to hang out. But their products, which are widely available on tap at other establishments around Pittsburgh, are an unmitigated nightmare. Every time I tried a Penn Product I literally could not finish the rest of the glass/bottle. I was willing to give them the benefit of the doubt each time a new Penn variety was offered to me. Now I know better. Yegads, how do these people stay in business?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Lousy Great
It is great to read all the comments from people who took the time to visit this site! As the President of Pittsburgh's Homebrewing Club (No connection to this pub !) and a Certified AHA beer Judge, I really like to read responses to opinions of beer perception. Weitzen Beer, because of the aggresive Ale Yeast, will "overcarbonate". But this head that is also 50%Wheat or more is famous for its Huge Head in a half-liter glass. My suggestion is to check out the bananna and cloves that this beer is famous for and you will taste a great example of a Weitzen Bier. P.S. Don't drink it with a Lemon if you want to evaluate a Weitzen Bier.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Bloom Ed Bloom, Gibsonia, PA
(01/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Awesome! So So
This is a perfect example of a great place gone bad. They are currently having so many problems that they don't have any Hefeweizen on tap, and what is in bottles literally explodes out because of overcarbonation. Their beers can be so good here, but they either have to fix some equipment, dump some batches or fire someone. Making customers put up with shut vial crap is unacceptable in this business. I hope that by my next visit (June and October were disasters) their product is improved.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I have been their many times and I like the dark beers, especially the Octoberfest which is not available year round.I have a friend from Munich,who tells me this is the closet American brewed beer to German beer.The food is great and this is my favorite place in Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Gill Jim Gill, Hermitage, PA
(12/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!
THE brewpub of Pittsburgh. Without them we would have no others (here or any where else in PA.). Mr. Pastorius was instrumental in getting brewpubs allowed in the state (also see Stoudt). They make traditional german style beers and do it well. THE Absolute best wheat I have tried in many back to back tastings. All are good though. Beer festival in the spring is excellent with many microbrewers on hand. Stop by and thank them for what they have done for us beer lovers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed McCauslin Ed McCauslin, Harrisville, PA
(10/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
Best lagers in the tri-state. Only decoction brewery in Pgh. Keiser Pils @ Old Man Winter (Double Wheat Bock), are a must. Quality to STYLE, not quantity of beer selections. Great Hassenphefer (Rabbit) goes well with their PennDark.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Bloom Ed Bloom, Gibsonia, PA
(03/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The grandaddy of brewpubs in Pittsburgh, they do serve 4 beers at all times, though the Penn Pilsner is their best, followed by a decent wheat beer. Food can vary, but follows a good German routine. German entertainment and long tables add to the enjoyment, and they brew to the Purity Laws!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Jarvis Rick Jarvis, Wexford, PA
(01/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Awesome! Great Awesome!
The Penn Dark is as good an alt beer as I have had in the Shwarzwald in Germany. The Atmosphere is straight out of the German Beer Halls and the stolling accordion player in leiderhosen finishes it off. The meals are excellent and the quantity is superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(09/28/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
The atmosphere here is truly German brewery (not one of those fancy new high tech places), the menu is predominantly German and of good quality. The Penn Pilsner is the best of the lot, the Penn Dark has a chocolaty taste but surprisingly little body (typical of a lot of Pittsburgh dark beers). If you want authentic German food and a good Pilsner, this is the place. Also, they sponsor a beer-tasting in late spring which is worth the price of admission.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean McLinden Sean McLinden, Pittsburgh, PENNSYLVANIA
(09/24/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.331 seconds) 07:35:01 54.211.1.204, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS