PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 24, 2014 @ 06:35 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.2 / 100
800 Vinial Street
Pittsburgh , PA 15212
United States
(412) 237-9400
Last Updated: July 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
70 Reviews / 13 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(56 within 5 miles)
1) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(0 mile)

2) Monterey Pub
(0 mile)

3) Bru Lounge
(0 mile)

4) Finnigan's Wake
(0 mile)

5) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(0 mile)

6) True Cafe and Bartini
(2 miles)

7) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(2 miles)

8) Kaya
(2 miles)

9) Market Street Ale House
(2 miles)

10) Roland's Seafood Grill
(2 miles)

11) Cioppino
(2 miles)

12) Gene's Last Chance
(2 miles)

13) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(2 miles)

14) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(2 miles)

15) Six Penn Kitchen
(2 miles)

16) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(2 miles)

17) Eleven
(3 miles)

18) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

19) Gooski's
(3 miles)

20) Meat and Potatoes
(3 miles)

21) Grandview Saloon
(3 miles)

22) Packs and Dogs
(3 miles)

23) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(3 miles)

24) The Church Brew Works
(3 miles)

25) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

26) New Amsterdam
(3 miles)

27) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(3 miles)

28) Lot 17
(3 miles)

29) Brillobox
(3 miles)

30) Mad Mex
(4 miles)

31) Fuel and Fuddle
(4 miles)

32) India Garden
(4 miles)

33) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

34) Jernigan's Scotch and Cigar Bar
(4 miles)

35) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

36) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

37) S Bar
(4 miles)

38) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

39) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

40) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

41) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

42) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

43) UUBU6
(4 miles)

44) Aspinwall Grille
(4 miles)

45) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

46) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

47) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

48) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

49) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

50) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

51) Bocktown Beer and Grill
(4 miles)

52) Mad Mex South
(4 miles)

53) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

54) Bado's Pizzeria and Delicatessen
(5 miles)

55) Mexi-Casa
(5 miles)

56) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
2) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
3) Priory Inn
4) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN PARKWAY CTR INN
2) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
3) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
4) COMFORT INN & SUITES
5) DAYS INN PITTSBURGH PA
6) EXTENDEDSTAY CARNEGIE
7) FOUR POINTS PITTSBURGH AIRPORT
8) HAMPTON INN PITTS GRNTREE
9) HAWTHORN PITTSBURGH
10) HILTON PITTSBURGH
11) MAINSTAY SUITES
12) MICROTEL INN & SUITES
13) MORNING GLORY INN
14) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
15) RADISSON PITTSBURGH GREENTREE
16) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
17) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
18) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
19) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
20) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
21) THE PRIORY HOTEL
22) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Armstrong Tunnel
6) Armstrong Tunnel
7) Arsenal Junior High School
8) Bayard School
9) Bedford School
10) Beechwood Elementary School
11) Beltzhoover Elementary School
12) Bindley Hardware Company Building
13) Birmingham Public School
14) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
15) Buhl Building
16) Burke Building
17) Butler Street Gatehouse
18) Byers-Lyons House
19) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
20) Campbell Building
21) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
22) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
23) Conroy Junior High School
24) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
25) Davis Island Lock and Dam Site
26) Dollar Savings Bank
27) Duquesne Incline
28) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
29) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
30) Ewart Building
31) Fifth Avenue High School
32) Firstside Historic District
33) Fort Pitt Elementary School
34) Fortieth Street Bridge
35) Foster School
36) Frew, John, House
37) Frick Building and Annex
38) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
39) Fulton Building
40) Greenfield Elementary School
41) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
42) Heathside Cottage
43) Henderson-Metz House
44) Hoene-Werle House
45) House at 200 West North Avenue
46) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
47) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
48) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
49) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
50) Knoxville Junior High School
51) Langley High School
52) Latimer School
53) Lawrence Public School
54) Lemington Elementary School
55) Letsche Elementary School
56) Liberty Bridge
57) Lightner, Isaac, House
58) Madison Elementary School
59) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
60) McCleary Elementary School
61) McKees Rocks Bridge
62) McKees Rocks Bridge
63) Monongahela Incline
64) Moreland-Hoffstot House
65) Morrow, John, Elementary School
66) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
67) Ninth Street Bridge
68) Oakland Public School
69) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
70) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
71) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
72) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
73) Perry High School
74) Phipps Conservatory
75) Phipps--McElveen Building
76) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
77) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
78) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
79) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
80) Rodef Shalom Temple
81) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
82) Schenley High School
83) Schiller Elementary School
84) Seventh Street Bridge
85) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
86) Sixteenth Street Bridge
87) Sixth Street Bridge
88) Smithfield Street Bridge
89) Snyder, William Penn, House
90) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
91) South Side High School
92) South Side Market Building
93) South Tenth Street Bridge
94) Springfield Public School
95) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
96) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
97) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
98) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
99) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
100) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
101) Union Trust Building
102) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
103) Washington Vocational School
104) West End-North Side Bridge
105) West End-North Side Bridge
106) William Penn Hotel
107) Woods, John, House
108) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alfredo's
2) Allegheny Sandwich Shoppe
3) Amani International Coffeehouse & Cafe
4) Americano Cafe
5) Apple Cookie & Chocolate Co
6) Aramark Corp
7) Area 51
8) Art's Tavern
9) Asiago
10) Atria's Restaurant
11) Bash Nightclub
12) Bier Haus Tavern
13) Big Sam's Memphis Bbq
14) Billy's Troy Hill Bistro
15) Boardwalk Complex
16) Bob & Jim's Tavern
17) Body & Soul Restaurant & Ctrng
18) Bolo's
19) Boomerang Bbq Woodfired Pizza
20) Boss Hogs Ribs & Chicken
21) Bossa Nova
22) Boulevard Deli
23) Boulpen
24) BoxSpring Cafe
25) Braddock's American Brasserie
26) Brandy's Meeting & Eating Pl
27) British Bicycle Club
28) Brown Bag Deli
29) Brown Bag Deli
30) Brown Bag Deli
31) Buon Giorno Cafe
32) Buon Giorno Cafe
33) Burger King
34) Cafe 1814
35) Cafe Anatolia
36) Cafe Beleze Community Coffeehouse
37) Cafe Milano
38) Cafe Victoria
39) Cafe Zao
40) Cantina
41) Carnegie Museums Of Pittsburg
42) Carnegie Museums Of Pittsburgh
43) Casablanca Bistro
44) Cassis Pittsburgh
45) Castellano's Deli
46) Catering By Linda Iannotta
47) Catering By Michael
48) Centre City Cafe & Deli
49) Charles Street Cafe
50) Chemistry Night Club
51) Cherries Deli LLC
52) China Taste
53) Christos Mediterranean Grill
54) Chubby's Pizza & Hoagies
55) Circle Cafe
56) Clark Bar & Grill
57) Club Elite
58) Coffee A LA Cart
59) Colleen's Corner
60) Cool Beans Coffee Co
61) Cool Beans Coffee Co
62) Cousin Vinny's
63) Crewsers Restaurant
64) Crystal
65) Cuppa Mocha
66) Cuzamil
67) De Luca's Restaurant
68) Donnie's
69) Donzi's
70) Dowe's On 9th
71) Duke's Tavern
72) Eat'n Park Restaurants
73) Edsel Grille
74) Elliott's Off Broadway Cater
75) Emil's Lounge
76) Ephesus Mediterranean Rstrnt
77) Esther's Lunch Stop
78) F Tambellini Restaurant
79) FADZ Sandwich Shop
80) Fat Tommy's Pizzera
81) Father & Son Pizzeria
82) Fernando's
83) Fifth Avenue Beanery
84) Firehouse Lounge
85) Firewaters
86) Flamers Charburgers
87) Frank's Pizza & Chicken
88) Frenchy's Restaurant
89) Frisch's Of North Shore
90) G's Restaurante & Pizzeria
91) Gene's Last Chance
92) Giorgio's Place
93) Gli Food Svc
94) Golden Palace Buffet
95) Golob's Tavern
96) Grilled Chicken King & Steak
97) H2o Nightclub
98) Hicks Spring Garden Inn
99) Hightops
100) Hoi Polloi
101) Homeplate Bar
102) Hop's Place
103) Images Bar
104) India Palace Cuisine
105) Isalys Grocery Store
106) Italian Village Pizza
107) J R's Bar
108) James Street Restaurant
109) Jerrys 1888
110) Jimmy John's Gourmet Sandwich
111) Jimmy's Post Tavern
112) Jo Jo's Restaurant
113) Kaya
114) Kayla's Place
115) Kelly's Diner & Catering
116) Kenny B's Eatery
117) Key West
118) Klavon's Twenty Eight Street
119) LA Creme Inc
120) LA Gondola Pizzeria
121) La Scala Ristorante
122) LA Strada
123) Label Laz Co
124) Las Velas Mexican Restaurant
125) Legends North Shore
126) Leininger's Tavern
127) Lemon Grass Cafe
128) Level Club Lounge
129) Liang's Hunan Inc
130) Liberty Avenue Saloon
131) Liberty Tavern
132) Lidia's Pittsburgh
133) Lil Frankie's Pizza
134) Lillen's Restaurant
135) Lindos
136) Little Sushi Bar
137) Long John Silver's
138) Mama Chang Asian Cuisine
139) Mama Gina's Pizza
140) Mamma Pina's Pizzeria
141) Mandy's Pizza
142) Mark's Grill & Catering
143) Market Street Ale House
144) Market Street Deli Co
145) Max's Allegheny Tavern
146) Mayfield Restaurant & Lounge
147) Mc Donald's
148) Mc Donald's
149) Mc Ghee Bar & Restaurant
150) Melange Bistro Bar
151) Metropol
152) Metropolitan Cafe
153) Modern Restaurant Cafe & Bar
154) Monterey Pub
155) Mount Troy Ballroom
156) Mr Jacks Neighborhood
157) Mt Troy Deli
158) Mt Troy Inn
159) Mullaney's Harp & Fiddle
160) Mullin's Diner
161) Mynt Lounge
162) Network Industrial Inc
163) Nick's Place
164) North Shore Delicatessen
165) Olive Or Twist
166) Ona Lounge & Grill
167) Opening Night Caterers
168) Opus Restaurant
169) Original Fish Market Rstrnt
170) Original Smoothie Shoppe
171) Oscar Premire Sandwich Bar
172) Our Bar & Cafe Inc
173) Outback Steakhouse
174) Ozzio's Pizzaria
175) Pamela's P & G Diner
176) Park House
177) Park House In The Strip
178) Parrott's Pub
179) Pasta Too
180) Peanutz
181) Pegasus Lounge
182) Penn Brewery
183) People's Choice Deli & Mini
184) Peppi's Inc
185) Peppi's Inc
186) Pickles Pizza & Sandwich
187) Pittsburgh Eagle
188) Pizza Garden
189) Pizza Hut
190) Pizza Outlet
191) Pizza Parma
192) Pizza Roma Northside
193) Pocket Place & Q Ctr
194) Porky's Pizza House
195) Prestogeorge Cafe
196) Primanti Brothers
197) Primanti Brothers Bar & Grill
198) Privileged Diner Card
199) Quik-It Chicken
200) Quiznos Sub
201) Quiznos Sub
202) Quiznos Sub
203) Rebel's
204) Reinhold Ice Cream Co
205) Riggs Lounge & Restaurant
206) Rip's
207) Risen Lord Parish School
208) Riverwatch
209) Roland's Seafood Grill
210) Roly Poly
211) Ronardi's Pizzeria
212) Rosa-Villa Cafe
213) Rosebud Deli
214) Rumor'z Bar & Lounge
215) S and D Polish Deli
216) Safari
217) Salonika Gyros
218) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
219) Sanremo Pizza
220) Sbarro
221) Sbarro
222) Schwartz's Bagels
223) Serendipity Bistro
224) Seventh Street Grille
225) Shamrock Inn
226) Shooters Inc
227) Silky's Seafood Chicken & Ribs
228) Simply Subs
229) Sodexho Marriott
230) Somma Pizza
231) Sonoma Grille
232) Soprano's
233) Southwest Bistro
234) Spike's Beer Distr
235) Sports Rock Cafe
236) Starbucks
237) Starbucks
238) Starbucks
239) Starr Lounge
240) Steel City Diner
241) Steve's New York Hotdog Shop
242) Stone Front Cafe
243) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
244) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
245) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
246) Sushi Kim Restaurant
247) Sweet Time Cafe
248) Sweet Treats
249) Tango's Martini Bar
250) Tasca Navarre
251) Tastee Freez
252) Tequila Willies
253) Three Deuces Inc
254) Tom's Bar & Lounge
255) Touch Nightclub
256) Toula's
257) Trojan Pizza
258) True Cafe & Bartini
259) Ugly Duckling Gourmet Edibles
260) Uncle Bill's
261) Valhalla Microbrewery & Rstrnt
262) Vault Coffee & Tea Bar
263) Verdetto's Bar & Restaurant
264) Victory Restaurant
265) Vincent's From Greetree Pizza
266) Warner Cafe
267) Wendy's
268) Wendy's
269) West End Cafe
270) Wilson's Bar-B-Q
271) Winghart's Burger and Whiskey Bar
272) Wiseguys Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Did not eat. Beer was decent but not spectacular. Worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Penn Brewery is back in business!

The menu has changed a little and the quality of everything I have tried has improved.

I also think the Allegheny Ale a nice addition to their beer line up.

I always liked Penn Brewery and it is great to have them back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(07/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Update to the status of Penn Brewery. On 11/23/09, Tom Pastorius, the original founder of the brewery, and a team of investors reacquired a controlling interest in Penn Brewery. Brewing resumed at the Vinial Street Brewery in December. A new kegging line was installed in February, and starting in March, the restaurant is open on fridays, serving beer only. The grand re-opening of the restaurant is scheduled for May and they will be hosting the Pennsylvania Micro Brewer's 2010 Fest on June 5th.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Alvin Steve Alvin, Henry, IL
(04/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Things aren't looking good for this Pittsburgh institution. As of August 18th 2009, all have ceased until further notice. Places like this that close "until further notice" usually don't re-open. Penn products will continue to be available courtesy of a brewing contract with Lion Brewing in Wilkes-Barre. But if the Troy Hill brewpub closes for good, it will be a sad day for Pittsburgh's brewpub scene even if it re-opens elsewhere as had been discussed in previous months. Any "new" Penn brewpub just wouldn't be the same.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, IL
(08/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
It's been too, too long since I've stopped by Penn Brewing, so we made this stop #1 on a recent beer cruise. Everything was fresh and clean; true to style. Pils had that original malty goodness I remembered from my first taste many years ago. Kaiser Pils had a spicy, refreshing quality, and I have to admit I forgot how good the dark was--especially when it was the first beer of the trip. Penndemonium is an 8% bock sweet in the nose and slightly throughout. It's smooth and drinkable despite the alcohol percentage. I'll definitely seek out Penn brews more often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To the review below, you may have opened a bottle that was not fresh. Their weizen is an excellent example of the style and has received high rating in several ber publications. Or it could be you don't like the weizen style. If that's the case, please don't disparage the brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Yardley, PA
(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Penn Brewery is starting to produce special seasonal beers. The St Nick Bock Reserve was awesome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(04/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A So So
I have had beers in the past from this brewing company through local distribution and thought they were nothing special. I stopped in and had the hefeweizen which made me feel bloated and half way through it, I wanted to move on to another beer. It was a weak and generic attempt at a weizen. The beer had a thick feel with very little spice or citrus feel. I have no idea how this won any medal at any competition. Perhaps the batch served was old? I have had the Penn Dark in the past and found it very unrememberable. I moved on to Penn Pilsner and it really had no flavor. It was a below average pilsner.

The brewery itself is awesome. You can hang out between the brewery and another smaller building. They have an outdoor bar and the ground is cobble stoned. The brewery is brick with old masonry. The atmosphere would make me want to stop in again. If I am out there again at another time of year, I would definately stop in to give the place another shot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(06/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
A definite destination when in the Pittsburgh area, particularly if you want good German food. OK, it's somewhat typical fare, and missing some of my favorites, but it IS good, and the beer is very good. The seating is rather family style -- which will put some off, but the atmosphere is quite Gem├╝tlichkeit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RFM57 RFM57, Beaver, PA
(03/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
This is a borderline "great" recommendation, based more on the food and the surroundings than the beer. I visited Penn Brewery on July 13 while in town for the All-Star Game. I had been there once before many years ago, probably in the early 90s.

The venue is a good one: lots of long tables not unlike a German beer hall. And since it's German beer and food styles they feature at Penn Brewery, the decor and seating makes sense. It was a very hot day when I visited, so the inviting outdoor beer garden space was not being used. However it looks like a great place in cooler temperatures to while away an hour or two.

I had the Rouladen (stuffed sirloin rolls), mostly because when I saw it on the menu it reminded me that my mom made the same dish occasionally many decades ago. They were well-prepared and the spatzle and red cabbage accompaniments were likewise satisfying. My wife had the potato pancakes and loved them. We also had the German meat sampler plate as an appetizer and it was hearty. (I'm headed to Munich this fall for Oktoberfest and figured I'd "test-drive" my taste buds with this hearty German fare.)

The weakest link at Penn Brewery is the beer. What was offered was certainly clean but not overly memorable. I had the Maibock and the Penn Pilsner and sipped my pal's Kaiser Pils. All were OK but there was nothing particularly noteworthy about them. Later that night I had a Penn Gold at the ballgame. It was just a crossover beer for the Bud Light crowd and can be bypassed by folks in pursuit of microbrews with character. The biggest drawback was that only five beers were available at the brewery, and three of those were variations on the same golden lager theme. I know it's a German-style brewery, but I would have welcomed an alt or other lesser-known such style.

Overall, Penn Brewery is certainly worth seeking out ... especially if you're hungry.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Kane Ken Kane, Portland, OR
(07/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Come here many times, from special events like Oktoberfest or their Microbrew Festival to just stopping in before or after the game. It's always a great time. The beer is always top-notch from their weizen to the dark to the seasonals - there's always a good brew to be had. And the food has greatly improved over the last couple of years. Before it was hit-or-miss, sometimes you would get a good meal and sometimes you wouldn't. But lately all the meals I've had their have been top-notch. If you like German food and beer there's no other place to go than the Brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Been here many times. The beer is always the same quality...Awesome", but the food can be spotty. EG, last week I ordered the Brewmeister's Steak. A ribeye with a wild mushroom sauce made with their Penn Dark. I wish the sauce hadn't been so thick so it would have been easier to cut around all the fat and grissle on the cut. But, I've been here that the food's been "Awesome" too. Wish the food could be as consistantly "Awesome" as the beer and atmosphere. It truly does seem like you're in Germany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(01/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Unique, I felt like I was in bavaria! Cool old relics and breweriana from the old E&B brewery in the basement. Although nothing very adventerous, the beer was very good and true to style! Yet another PA. original.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A
I've tagged the selection as "great" because there was probably a good ten varieties available the time I stopped by. I'm crossing the Burgh, going from Church Brew to Penn Brewing to John Harvard's only to find that this brewery does not offer a sampler tray. How can you guys have such a selection and no tray? I can't be drinking a gallon of beer to try everything and then moving on. ANYWAY, try their Penn Dark. It's got a rich flavor to it that I haven't quite found anywhere else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SuperSteve SuperSteve, Spokane, WA
(11/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Good, old historic location. All German-styled beers are offered, so don't look for an Imperial IPA. Between the maibock and marzen that I tried, I favored the marzen; it seemed to have a little more flavor. I found it ironic that a Brit was on the bar (without a hand pump in sight!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
I paid a visit to Penn recently and I can now say all is forgiven. So you folks can stop ragging on me for "badmouthing" the place.

You won't find an Imperial Rye Chipotle Stout or any such experimental stuff here. It's traditional German-style beers or nothing. I tried their Pilsner, Kaiser Pils and their hefe-weizen. I'm not sure why they call the Pilsner a pilsner; it is described in their literature as a Vienna lager and it certainly tastes like one (which is a good thing). Their Kaiser Pils is actually a pilsner as the name describe, and again, it tastes like one. The Weizen is appropriately tart, straw-colored, cloudy and citrus-like. Nicely done.

Atmosphere is much like that of a Munich beer hall with common tables in a big open hall, plus a smaller seating area with conventional tables and a second, smaller bar in the Rathskeller. The main level seating area features a glass wall that overlooks the gleaming brewing equipment.

Service left nothing to complain about. Beers were brought out with a pleasant attitude and a smile.

Didn't try the food but suffice to say the place smelled like a German restaurant. I'll let you decide if that's a good or bad thing.

Capital Brewery in Middleton WI is still my favorite American brewer of German beers but Penn's quality comes quite close. I'm glad I live within daytripping distance of Capital but I wouldn't be disappointed if I lived near Penn either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(04/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Penn was rocking when I stopped in last week, tables full and busy, and pint after pint of St. Nikolaus Bock sailing across the bar. I stuck to the damn-near-perfect Penn Dark and was not disappointed. Food was delicious and plentiful, service was on the dot. No complaints here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
Cool place with good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beer  drinking mike beer drinking mike, lagrange, OH
(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
A truely great brewpub. Brewed in the German tradition adhering to German purity laws. They have a nice outside area great to sit outside and enjoy a few pints. Stage with regular events.

I can't comment too much on what beers I tried. I tried the range, which was good to awesome! Worth trying if in town. Good German food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Murphy Mike Murphy, Iselin, NJ
(11/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Just had an enjoyable visit to this establishment on 6/26/04. The beer was clean crisp and flavorful. The Dark I found smooth and easy to drink with a nice chocolate malty tone. The service was exceptional, polite and courteous. The staff was helpful in explaining the beers and was generous enough to bring a sample of the weizen as I did not want to have a whole pint. The weizen was quite flavorful and drinkable. Also great atmosphere and good food all the way around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elk Elk, Binghamton, NY
(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
Got a chance to try the seasonal Maibock at Fat Head's over the weekend: excellent beer, smooth as silk and rich with malt. Very nice. Also heard that the Kaiser Pils may finally be bottled: can't happen soon enough for me!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Really enjoyed the Maibock and the Dark. Steak Sandwich was excellant. On weekends they have entertainment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"I don't know what The Enemy's and Tim Tomlinson's problem is. This place is far and away the best brewery in Western Pennsylvania and one of the best in the region."

My "problem," as it were, is that Penn beers were problematic when I tried them. But let's be real here -- my prior review is over 5 years old. Note some of the other reviews from around that time and it seems like Penn had hit a rough spot. In the microbrewery industry, 5 years is an eternity -- things change, I realize this, and I don't hold grudges. Recent reviews seem to indicate that Penn has subsequently gotten their act together. I moved away from Pittsburgh years ago so I haven't had a chance to re-evaluate Penn beers. Next time I'm in the area I'll give 'em another go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(04/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I don't know what The Enemy's and Tim Tomlinson's problem is. This place is far and away the best brewery in Western Pennsylvania and one of the best in the region. Great recreations of German beers, served up in an authentic German-style brauhaus. The place is practically in my back yard so I get to spend lots of quality time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Orberthur Orberthur, Mexican War Streets ('Burgh), PA
(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Stopped after several hours on road from Arlington,VA. It was quiet time on Friday. Very interesting facility with lots to see and weathered copper bar to lean on. Very German in its beer selections - no hop crazies here! Easy to find, but watch the directions closely!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynwood sinnamon Lynwood sinnamon, Arlington, VA
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beer, great food and great service. What more can I say.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The beer is very good. Although they have added "American Food" to the menu you can still get a great German meal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Gray Matt Gray, McCandless, PA
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Oops, make that culinary... this damn website kicks you off so fast, it's tough to write it all down without a few panic-driven typos.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beers and great food, not so great owner. Listen Fritz, if you enjoy conversing with the people who make this all possible, don't bother with Tom Pastorius. I don't think he likes mixing with the "little people." It's hard for him to climb down off his throne. But, if it's great culilary adventure you want, you can't miss here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(10/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Had a great late lunch here 7/17/03. The Kaiser Pils was outstanding but the Hefeweizen was perfect in every respect. Really a joy to taste such fine examples of German brewing. The Meat, Cheese and Bread Platter appetizer was a great way to down a couple of cool ones.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff McClellan Jeff McClellan, Raleigh, NC
(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I stopped here after the Vintage Grand Prix, and very much enjoyed the place. They did not have a large selection of beers, but the Heifeweizen was very good (nice banana, spice and head), the dark was quite nice. The courtyard was a very relaxing place to unwind.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Gretat German style beers and food. One of the better breweries we visited on a 17 brewpub tour of Ohio and west PA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
Dissapointed they no longer fill up growlers (came all the way from Baltimore) due to "the six packs they sell now" but I feel that when Im sitting 10 feet from a serving tank and I cant get my growler filled for the same price as their 6-pack something is wrong with the management/marketing plan for sure!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Catonsville, MD
(05/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Mr. Tomey, I couldn't let your comment go by. Rest assured, Tom Pastorius is NOT a jerk. Tom Pastorius is one of the true gentlemen in the craft brewing industry, a well-spoken, educated man who runs a clean business. His annual beer festival in June is one of the most popular fests with the brewers because of how well they are treated. This is the very first negative comment I've ever heard about Tom. He is one of my favorite people in the Pennsylvania brewing industry, in a group of great people. His beer's damned good, too. No slam on you, just letting you know my opinion, based on about 8 years of interviewing Tom for stories I've done.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great
We enjoyed all the beers we tried, which was all of them. I particularly enjoyed the Marzen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(04/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
During my brief enrollment at North Catholic in the late 80's I walked past this beautiful building every day thinking it was a shame there was not more urban rebuilding. Several years after joining the army I came home to discover the brewery and have stopped in several times since. I love everything from the history to the food and rounding it off with the brew. I've never left sober and plan to visit every time I come home. Great pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kirk Kuebbing, Ft. Drum, NY
(04/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
This is a great place. its perfect. a noisy beer garden with good food and great beer. I like really big beers. they dont make any biggies but what they make sets the standard for that genre. Their wheat is top notch and the kaiser pils is a nice hoppy beer. Its also relatively family friendly. Mr. Pastorious, although rumored to be a jerk, clearly knows how to make a good brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mr .Tomey, pittsburgh, pa
(03/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
One of my favorite pubs all-time (or should I say Stuebe?)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Sutula Dave Sutula, Berea, OH
(10/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I have zero complaints or suggestions for improvement, but I have several compliments: The beers, the atmosphere, the food, the service, all, even the swing band, were great! And I'm not saying this flippantly; it was all truly excellent. It's almost enough to make me want to live in Pittsburgh. Instead, I'll plan to revisit the Penn Brewery the next time I'm in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Road Mode Road Mode, Asheville, NC
(09/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Penn Brewery continues to grow and produce fine products. We were there last Saturday with a group of six... Waitress was attentative, food was fresh and we consumed a fine portion of their Weizen which is a fine wheat beer and good for summertime..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I grew up and went to college in the 'Burgh. I only wish they'd been open then. A truly wonderful place to go with friends, your kids (for the great German food), or, if you must :-( alone. My favorite's the Penn Dark, followed by the Pilsner and Gold. I don't like wheat beers in general (too yeasty for me) so I won't offer my opinion on the Weizen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Stanko Paul Stanko, Crown Point, IN
(06/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Ambience of Munich (squint a little). Long communal tables to eat and quaff your excellent beer. Jazz combo accompanied dinner when I was there, a nice touch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Violand Larry Violand, Cleveland, OH
(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Penn Brewery is quite an interesting place. Seated in what use to a strong German section of Pittsburgh its history dates back well over 100 years.

Inside you will find a very traditional German interior, very dimly lit at best. The menu reflects the German heritage. Do note, the pickings are very limited (1 dish) for anyone on a fixed diet or vegetarian folks.

Beer wise Penn gets a so-so rap for their local saturation of the Penn products. They are better than the competing Pittsburgh Brewing Products consistantly. Much better fresh picks than the typical beer you find bottled from them.

A must stop for any Pittsburgh beer tour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris paris, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The Penn Brewery is a great asset to Pittsburgh. Go here for a true German brewhouse experience...from the food to the decor (including the long wooden tables found in Germany) and including the atmosphere. (The last time I was there a man was playing tunes on the accordian.) Octoberfest is not to be missed. Crowds flock here for a great time and for beer. I highly recommend a trip here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kimberly Booth Kimberly Booth, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Another Great American Beer Festival medal for Penn Gold -- the fifth, and the FOURTH GOLD. Some kind of achievement. Congratulations!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(10/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Best microbrewery in Pittsburgh!!! Try the Penn Dark and Penn Weizen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review McKees Rocks, PA
(04/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I had a great time on a Saturday night - the place was packed and had a live jazz band. The hefeweizen took me back to Bavaria; it's the best I've had in the US.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D. Murphy D. Murphy, Woodbridge, VA
(04/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Good solid beers that are well worth a visit. The food was good, and the service was very good. It is a little hard finding the place for out of towners, but worth it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Hobaugh Russ Hobaugh, Birdsboro, PA
(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I maek a stop here any time I am in the 'Burgh. The Penn Pilsner has been a staple in my beer diet since I first tried it 3 years ago. The atmosphere is terrific, big oak picnic style tables which are great for a group of friends. Their seasonals are always good and ture to their style and thier regular brews all please (Dark, Gold, Kaiser Pils,Weizen)A bit of Germany right in Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brett Hollern Brett Hollern, Windber, PA
(08/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
The atmosphere at the Penn Brewery was simply awesome! The live band had the whole place singing and clapping. The beer was fabulous and the food was affordable and very delicious. The whole ambiance was relaxed in its own informal way. I felt like I was in a German beer garden.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(05/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Great Great
I finally found the place (I guess it would of helped if I had followed the colorful direction signs that simply read "The Brewery"), and I'm glad I did. My wife and I loved it. The atmosphere is fantastic, and our server was both attentive and knowledgeable. I've had Penn Pilsner before, so it was no surprise to enjoy it fresh; Penn Dark was very well done, and the Weizen may have been the most flavorful I've had anywhere. I had the Bockwurst, while my wife had the Balsamic Vinegar Grilled Chicken salad. Both were excellent. I wish that I had more time to sample additional brews....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Nice place - good atmosphere! I was disappointed I could not spend more time. Good food and the menu selection was great. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Was disappointed that they did not have samplers. This was the only drawback I could find though since I thought the beers were delicious. My favorite beer was the Penn Dark -- I can see how it won an award at the GABF! The Octoberfest was also excellent and I got to take home a six-pack from the brewpub -- not something you often get to do in VA. Also, for the hopheads out there, try the Kaiser Pils. In addition, this place had a very friendly waitstaff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Borsato Robert Borsato, Annandale, VA
(11/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
First off, CONGRATULATIONS on Penn's latest GABF medals: a pair of Bronzes for Penn Gold and Penn Dark! This brings Penn's total to six. Penn's beers are great examples of their styles, clean as a whistle, and just the thing for quaffing (unless, of course, you're tying into some of the Bock or Weizenbock, in which case use a little caution: Big Beer Ahead). I love going to this place, tucked into the old Eberhardt and Ober brewery building, and having a good cold lager beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Lew "Pennsylvania Breweries" Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(10/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Nice tour to boot!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick--- Beer Trekker Nick--- Beer Trekker, Baltimore, MD
(07/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Lousy So So
The first thing I noticed about this place was the number of servers standing behind the bar chatting, ignoring the customers. I sat at the bar--which only seats 4 or 5 people--and it took me 10 minutes to get a beer. The people seated at tables kept coming up to the bar to get drinks. Maybe they don't have table service, but then I don't understand the number of servers just standing around. The Penn Dark is dark in color--that's all. A light malty flavor but nothing to write home about. The Keisser Pills, looks, smells, and tastes like Budweiser--enough said. The Weitzen was actually good--especially considering they opened a bottle and poured it into a Hefeweitzen glass. Not a fan of weitzen, but this was pretty good. The stuffed banana peppers were good--they and the free parking made the trip worthwhile.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Alfred, NY
(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
Definitely German cuisine, beer as well as entertainment. Each December, a visit from Santa kicks off the season with their holiday bock, one of my favorites.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Holowach Steve Holowach, Uniontown, PA
(06/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
This place definitely had a German atmosphere. The beers were all German Style brews. I particularly enjoyed the Marzen, which was their seasonal. The food was German fare and good, but the portions were less than desirable. Also disappointing was the fact they had no samplers to taste their brews and they did not have growlers to go, just bottled beer. Not only did the waitress we had have no clue about the establishment, the food, and the BEER!(lack of proper training), she really didn't seem to care.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Columbus, OH
(04/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
Undoubtedly THE best German beer in the USA. And the food is authentic German gasthaus fare. This is the real McCoy(or Schmidt, if you will)! Ask any beer snob who disagrees if he's ever been to Der Vaterland. Penn Kaiser Pils is a dead ringer for Henninger Kaiser Pils of Frankfurt, and is my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Thomas Dan Thomas, Thomas Mills, PA
(03/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Figas Eddie Figas, McKeesport, PA
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
What this place lacks in the quality of its food, it more than makes up for in the quality of its brews!!! Also, the atmosphere is outa sight!! Every time I frequent this establishment I always end up taking a quarter keg home with me! The beer is that good! This is not a place to take you sweetheart for that romantic dinner, but definitely bring her along if you want to go somewhere and have fun!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Wagner Christian Wagner, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A N/A N/A
I've never actually been to the brewpub. I tried once to go but it was closed. The atmosphere looks pretty decent, and the beer court looks like it might be a fun place to hang out. But their products, which are widely available on tap at other establishments around Pittsburgh, are an unmitigated nightmare. Every time I tried a Penn Product I literally could not finish the rest of the glass/bottle. I was willing to give them the benefit of the doubt each time a new Penn variety was offered to me. Now I know better. Yegads, how do these people stay in business?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Pittsburgh, PA
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Lousy Great
It is great to read all the comments from people who took the time to visit this site! As the President of Pittsburgh's Homebrewing Club (No connection to this pub !) and a Certified AHA beer Judge, I really like to read responses to opinions of beer perception. Weitzen Beer, because of the aggresive Ale Yeast, will "overcarbonate". But this head that is also 50%Wheat or more is famous for its Huge Head in a half-liter glass. My suggestion is to check out the bananna and cloves that this beer is famous for and you will taste a great example of a Weitzen Bier. P.S. Don't drink it with a Lemon if you want to evaluate a Weitzen Bier.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Bloom Ed Bloom, Gibsonia, PA
(01/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Awesome! So So
This is a perfect example of a great place gone bad. They are currently having so many problems that they don't have any Hefeweizen on tap, and what is in bottles literally explodes out because of overcarbonation. Their beers can be so good here, but they either have to fix some equipment, dump some batches or fire someone. Making customers put up with shut vial crap is unacceptable in this business. I hope that by my next visit (June and October were disasters) their product is improved.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I have been their many times and I like the dark beers, especially the Octoberfest which is not available year round.I have a friend from Munich,who tells me this is the closet American brewed beer to German beer.The food is great and this is my favorite place in Pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Gill Jim Gill, Hermitage, PA
(12/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!
THE brewpub of Pittsburgh. Without them we would have no others (here or any where else in PA.). Mr. Pastorius was instrumental in getting brewpubs allowed in the state (also see Stoudt). They make traditional german style beers and do it well. THE Absolute best wheat I have tried in many back to back tastings. All are good though. Beer festival in the spring is excellent with many microbrewers on hand. Stop by and thank them for what they have done for us beer lovers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed McCauslin Ed McCauslin, Harrisville, PA
(10/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
Best lagers in the tri-state. Only decoction brewery in Pgh. Keiser Pils @ Old Man Winter (Double Wheat Bock), are a must. Quality to STYLE, not quantity of beer selections. Great Hassenphefer (Rabbit) goes well with their PennDark.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Bloom Ed Bloom, Gibsonia, PA
(03/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The grandaddy of brewpubs in Pittsburgh, they do serve 4 beers at all times, though the Penn Pilsner is their best, followed by a decent wheat beer. Food can vary, but follows a good German routine. German entertainment and long tables add to the enjoyment, and they brew to the Purity Laws!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Jarvis Rick Jarvis, Wexford, PA
(01/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Awesome! Great Awesome!
The Penn Dark is as good an alt beer as I have had in the Shwarzwald in Germany. The Atmosphere is straight out of the German Beer Halls and the stolling accordion player in leiderhosen finishes it off. The meals are excellent and the quantity is superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(09/28/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
The atmosphere here is truly German brewery (not one of those fancy new high tech places), the menu is predominantly German and of good quality. The Penn Pilsner is the best of the lot, the Penn Dark has a chocolaty taste but surprisingly little body (typical of a lot of Pittsburgh dark beers). If you want authentic German food and a good Pilsner, this is the place. Also, they sponsor a beer-tasting in late spring which is worth the price of admission.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean McLinden Sean McLinden, Pittsburgh, PENNSYLVANIA
(09/24/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.94 seconds) 06:35:51 50.16.112.199, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS