PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Stoudt's Brewing Company - Adamstown, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 21, 2014 @ 03:13 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Adamstown > Stoudt's Brewing Company
Stoudt's Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Stoudt's Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.4 / 100
2800 North Reading Road
Route 272, Post Office Box 880
Adamstown, PA 19501
United States
(717) 484-4387
Last Updated: June 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Adamstown, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Stoudt's Brewing Company
73 Reviews / 15 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Mon 04:30PM - 12:00AM
Tue 04:30PM - 12:00AM
Wed 04:30PM - 12:00AM
Thu 04:30PM - 12:00AM
Fri 12:00PM - 12:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 12:00AM

Recent News
Stoudt’s releases new Brewer’s Reserve

Stoudts Brewing Company plays the naming game


alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Black Horse
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adamstown Inn
2) Amethyst Inn
3) Barnyard Inn
4) Brownstone Colonial Inn
5) Jacob Getz House Bed & Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN DENVER
2) DAYS INN READING SHILLINGTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Butcher's Mill Covered Bridge
2) Good, John B., House
3) Kagerise Store and House
4) Red Run Covered Bridge
5) Reinholds Station Trinity Chapel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Adamstown Diner
2) Adamstown Diner
3) Adamstown Transfer Co
4) Affordable Coffee Svc
5) Black Angus Restaurant
6) Black Angus Restaurant
7) Boehringer's Drive-In
8) Huie's Gray Fox Inn
9) Lily At Southern Springs
10) Reinholds Fire Co Banquet Hall
11) Reinholds Station
12) Station At Reinholds Inn
13) Stoudtburg Village Coffee Shop
14) Susie's Restaurant
15) T & E Mountain Top Inn
16) Weaver's Banquet Facility
17) Zia Maria Italian Eatery & Pub
18) Zinn's Diner
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! N/A Awesome! Good
A let down after finally making it to Stoudt's. Not impressed with the beer, some tasted watered down. A neat old place that seemed very local. Bartender was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Food was adequate for the price ($10 for a burger + fries with a couple of fixings), but nothing special (fries too soggy/greasy). Really enjoyed the beer, though. There was a good selection on draft including cask-conditioned, and for carry-out, but why, oh why, does Stoudts insist on choosing your glass size for you?

Serving a cask ESB in little 12oz glasses is plain ridiculous: I could get the ESB in a pint, but not on cask, or on cask, but not in a pint! And they won't budge. I understand serving big beers, such as the delicious trippel, or even the excellent double IPA in sipping-size servings, but that's about it. It all just smacks of marking up for profit, which is a shame because this is otherwise a pretty nice place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Martin Martin, Paoli, PA
(12/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
As usual, great food and beer. We were disappointed in that they were out of several of the beers we wanted to try. Eddie needs to crack the whip and get brewing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(07/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
My wife and I went on a Sunday for lunch and the tour of the brewery. The restaurant service was prompt and attentive and the waitress was very pleasant. After lunch the brewery tour was a mixed experience. Conducted by Ed Stoudt it was very very informative and helpful. But there's not actually much to see as things are very compact and all you really get to look at are bunch of stainless steel tanks. Nonetheless it was worth the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wallingford, PA
(02/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopping in at Stoudt's for a brew and a burger is always a treat. Just like their beer, "consistency" best describes Stoudt's. I've never left disapointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TroegsFan TroegsFan, Palmyra, PA
(12/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Great
We stopped on our way to Philadelphia. We didn't eat there, but sat at the bar. The bartender was excellent. He was very personable & we are looking forward to returning next month for lunch & of course beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christy Edwards Christy Edwards, Etters, PA
(05/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Carol Stoudt makes the best beer in the mid-Atlantic area. The Fat Dog Stout is absolutely awesome. The beer selection is one of the best you will find anywhere. If you like beer, you will love this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from GD Elder GD Elder, La Plata, MD
(10/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
Not the greatest ambiece but I go for the beer and food. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Richboro, PA
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Been there a number of times and always interesting and good. Consistent beers, quality and service. Great local crowd too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ric Kempton Ric Kempton, Annapolis, MD
(07/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Every beer we tried was excellent. The bartender made the tasting very enjoyable. The owner himself took us on the tour/lecture. Can't wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
I had the Double IPA at a taphouse in Maryland. I thought it was kind of rough and not very drinkable. At 10%, I was expecting a challenge but this item is way below their usual great standards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(04/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Stoudt's was in my former PA/NJ neighborhood, so I have attended many times, fests, dinner, pub room. Uniformly great beer, worth a gigantic detour, pretty good food if you order carefully (and you can). No one has better fests anywhere. The only place east of St. Louis with comparable IPA is in my home town, and both places have superior other styles. You have not lived till.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MAX SPENCER MAX SPENCER, WILLIMANTIC, CT
(01/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stoudt's brews some of the best beer in the US. It is one of the few breweries that have perfected every one of their beers. The triple has always been my favorite, but this year's winter ale is phenomenal. It has a dominant roasted barley flavor that beats any other winter ale - easy. The restaurant/pub is also a really cool place to hang out. My only wish would be for them to extend their hours. By the way, the german village next door is worth stopping at if you arrive during the day while the shops are still open.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review denver, PA
(11/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy So So
WHAT CAN I SAY. THE PLACE IS IN BFE!!! IF YOU'VE EVER HAD THEIR BOTTLED BEERS THEN YOU KNOW THEY CAN BREW! HAVING THE IPA ON CASK AND THE FAT DOG STOUT FROM DRAUGHT IN THIS ECCLECTIC BUILDING WAS SOMETHING TO EXPERIENCE!! HOWEVER, WE HAD THE ABSOLUTE WORST SERVER I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!! LEFT HER $3 ON A $70.00 BILL AND THAT WAS BEING GENEROUS. COOL PLACE TO VISIT FOR A DAY TRIP AND DEFINITELY VISIT THE ROBOT MUSEUM ACROSS THE STREET FOR UNLIMITED PINBOT. WOULD LOVE TO VISIT THE LARGE BUILDING BEHIND THE BREWERY FOR A BEER FESTIVAL.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Great
Old-school upscale German atmosphere in the pub and restaurant. A big ol' 30s-vintage Packard sits in the foyer and greets your arrival. Inside is formal and comfortable at the same time. Felt like I was having a cozy dinner in somebody's 150-year-old mansion. Lots of neat breweriana from Pennsylvania breweries long-gone. Beer was quite good, especially their nice rich sweet Belgian tripel, a spot-on ESB and, in my estimation, the best Cascade-derived IPA in America -- a bitter kick with excellent malt support, phenomenal floral/fruity/citrusy hop profile, and surprisingly sweet. I often lament the overbittering that accompanies many American-brewed IPAs that use Cascade (and/or Centennial) hops, but Stoudt's strikes the perfect balance with their IPA and they got it just right. I ordered food from their pub-grub menu and was not impressed. However, their full dinner menu looked quite a bit more upscale and my "so-so" food rating is probably not an accurate reflection of their "real" (versus pub-grub) menu items.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(10/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I really miss the 22 ounce bottles!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick-Beertrekker Nick-Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stoudt's restaraunt is really cool, old time german atmosphere. Dinner was excellent and the Oatmeal Stout was very tasty. Only negative was they have no coasters, unless of coarse you want to buy some!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Miller Kevin Miller, Somerset, PA
(06/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The selection was very good with the Fat dog Stout being my favorite, but all in the sampler was good. This was the second visit to Stoudt's. Once in the backroom "beer hall" and once in the resturant area. The meals were both good and a good selection. This is a must stop for anyone driving through the area or to plan a visit to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
I like Stoudt's beer. They have many different styles, and they're all well-made (eveidenced by the numerous GABF medals they have on display). The criticisms I have from this trip and their beer festivals will seem minor, but as I'm told at work all the time, there's always room for improvement. Ordered their IPA on cask as I hadn't had the pleasure. Short pour. I understand how it is when you're busy, but uncapping a bottle or two isn't labor-intensive, so there's time to top off a hand-pull. Laid my money down and my change (50 cents) never returned. Oh well, I usually tip a buck when I only have one beer--your loss. A previous review concerning the beer fests hit the nail on the head. They are constantly oversold, and now with the bottling line taking up some space, this will be an even larger problem. The August fest was probably only 500 or so, and it was comfortable and probably the most enjoyable one I've been to in a long time (and I've been to all of 'em for all 12 years, since 1992). But these are probably petty and shouldn't get in the way of some very fine beer that you should give a try at your next opportunity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Stopped in last week to see the new bottling line in action. After some initial struggles, it's running well. A pleasant side-effect: now that the pilsner's available in 12 oz. bottles, it's selling much better. Thank God! Yes, this does mean that ALL OF STOUDT'S BEER IS BEING MADE AT THE STOUDT'S BREWERY IN ADAMSTOWN. Period. No exceptions, and pretty much everything on the shelf now is from Adamstown. I picked up a sixtel of Weiss for a party in NY, and it was very popular with everyone from alpha geek types to Bud-suckers.

Stoudt's has a great selection of beers, from pilsners and fests, to stouts and IPA, to dubbels and tripels, with the occasional rauchbier and rye beer thrown in. The beers taste great, and while the sales have been flat for years, I think this bottling line may make the difference. Find some of the new 12 oz. bottles and give them a try, they're great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just a note that all Stoudts beer is now being brewed and bottled in Adamstown and not in Scranton or Fredrick. Some of the recepies are being tweeked a little, so you may notice a difference as they move from large to small bottles. The IPA may even change to a double IPA, but that won't happen until fall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Spur of the moment, I got off the PA Turnpike and found myself driving to Stoudt's. (easy to find even when you don't know where you're going) I've had their beer before, but I'd never been to the brewery. I was by myself so I sat at the bar. The bartender (Whitey) was wonderful! He took care of me from the moment I sat down. He made my stay enjoyable with his pleasant conversation and great word games (that he writes himself). I started with a Fest, a medium-bodied amber, and it was delicious: refreshing, smooth. Finely balanced with a crisp body and sweet finish. I decided then to try the Fat Dog Stout, and Whitey didn't hesitate to give me a free...6 or 7oz... sample. So kind! It wasn't served with nitrogen, and I didn't mind because the flavor was perfect. I was having such a great time so I decided to have another Fest and some dinner (I think it's a great beer to pair with a meal). I had the seafood sampler appetizer: raw clam, raw oyster, and huge shrimp. Fresh and delicious. Then I chose the 8 oz. sirlion NY steak. I ordered it medium rare and it was prepared perfectly. My steak tasted fantastic, and the spinach and mashed potatoes that came with it were delicious too. I'm not kidding. Yes, some people's reviews have said it's (the food) a little pricey, but I had no qualms when the bill came because my experience at Stoudt's was top notch through and through. The only part that sucked was that I had to leave and get back on the PA turnpike....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrea Andrea, State College, PA
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
I spent 4 hours at the bar, and sampled 10 different beers when I visited here. I met alot of nice people and had some great conversations as well. This place is cozy and a little upscale without being pretentious. I used to like Stoudt's, but after visiting the brewery and restaurant, I love Stoudt's. I can't wait to visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great
I used to love coming down to Adamstown in October for their brewfest--that is, until they started selling as many tickets as possible to each session. The last one I was at was so crowded you couldn't move or breath. My buddy and I left and dove down to Victory. This is a shame because Stoudt's makes excellent beer and with the exception of selling as many tickets as possible, the festivals are well run. They have a manageable number of breweries there, meal included, a band (which plays the same songs with the same jokes at each festival--but you've been drinking so you don't mind it as much). I've only eaten in the restaraunt once. I thought the food was a bit pricy and not that good. But any place can have a bad night. Their Fat Dog Stout and American Pale ale are some of the best in that style. Rumor has it that they are contracting out a lot of their brewing to a place in Scranton. I hear that a lot but so far no one is willing to say for sure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Just wanted to mention that they have a very nice seasonal brew on tap right now . It's a rye beer & it kind of taste like drinking bread . I mean that in a good way !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George Taylor George Taylor, Denver, PA
(12/17/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.354 seconds) 15:13:29 54.198.142.255, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS