PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Otter Creek Brewing Company - Middlebury, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 22, 2014 @ 12:08 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Middlebury > Otter Creek Brewing Company
Otter Creek Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Otter Creek Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
793 Exchange Street
Middlebury, VT 05753
United States
(802) 388-0727
Last Updated: December 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Middlebury, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
30 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 01:00AM - 60:0PM
Tue 01:00AM - 60:0PM
Wed 01:00AM - 60:0PM
Thu 01:00AM - 60:0PM
Fri 01:00AM - 60:0PM
Sat 01:00AM - 60:0PM

Recent News
Organic brewery goes green


bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) By the Way B & B
2) Cornwall Orchards Bed & Brkfst
3) Inn on the Green
4) Linens & Lace Bed & Breakfast
5) Middlebury Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN BURLINGTON SHELBURNE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brooksville Advent Church
2) Cornwall Town Hall
3) Cotton Free Library
4) Dog Team Tavern
5) Glen Dale
6) Halpin Covered Bridge
7) Old Stone Blacksmith Shop
8) Pulp Mill Covered Bridge
9) Shard Villa
10) Stone Mill
11) Stone Row, Old
12) Wesleyan Methodist Church
13) Willard, Emma, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) American Flatbread
2) Amigos Cantina Of Middlebury
3) Angela's Pub
4) Angela's Pub
5) Blue Hen Kitchen & Market
6) Fire & Ice Restaurant
7) Green Peppers Restaurant
8) Hungry Mind Cafe
9) J M Noonie
10) Mc Donald's
11) Mc Donald's
12) Middlebury Discount Beverage
13) Mister Ups
14) Neil & Otto's Pizza Cellar
15) Panda House
16) Steve's Park Diner
17) Storm Cafe
18) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
19) Sugar House Restaurant
20) Swift House Inn
21) Taste Of India
22) Tully & Marie's Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great ? Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
This was my second stop of the day and the first trip I have ever made to Otter Creek. I sampled the Vermont Lager and the Wolavers IPA, both had a very crisp flavor but nothing spectacular. It's well worth the stop to try the beers!! I did take home a big bottle of their Imperial IPA to try at a later date.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, North Port, FL
(06/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So
People I'd talked to weren't too enthused about the beer here, but we thought we'd give it a shot anyway. They had some good ones on tap. Especially like the Maibock. The White Sail was a good summer beer as well. If you're looking for a family friendly place this is it. So friendly, another patron changed their baby on the bar while we were there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Gansevoort, NY
(04/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The Holy Grail. Not as big as I expected but bigger than life nonetheless.

No need to go into the quality of their staples - Copper Ale, Stove Pipe Porter, et. al,. We all know those by heart! The tasting room also had on tap an Oktoberfest and Otteroo Australian Sparkling Ale that were both most interesting, along with a nice Brown Ale (with Raspberries) and Oatmeal Stout. After the brewery tour our guide broke open a bottle of their Farmhouse Ale Saison that could rival Hennepin.

Probably the friendliest people I have met in a while working at Otter Creek. I returned the favor by buying everything in site! I'm eyeballing my Special Edition selection right now of Double-Decker Olde English-Style Holiday Ale, Otter Kilter Scottish-Style Wee Heavy Ale, and 15th Anniversary IPA. Hmmmm. Which one to open first?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Glitches have this review coming a bit late. Stopped after the Brewers Fest and was happily surprised at the beer quality, but more so in the hospitality. A trip a few years ago had me encounter an employee who told me how much she hated beer and described how awful it was in great detail. Folks this trip were friendly and cool. Beers great; especially liked the Oatmeal Stout (Wolavers) and the sneak preview of their Oktoberfest. Thanks for the experience Otter Creek!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
love the pale ale

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from charles sroczynski charles sroczynski, bedford, MA
(12/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Love your Oktoberfest and Copper Ale

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lebanon, CT
(12/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A bigger establishment when it comes to Vermont breweries, yet the quality is still very high. Even now that Wolaver's is involved it still seems that the flavor remains. Otter Creek is one of my favorite beers. Amazingly it's distributed in the fermentally-challenged (is that a word?) wasteland of Texas where I reside. When I heard things were changing up there in VT I was careful to match the old to the new and as a craft brewer I'll be damned if I can taste a change that wasn't the occasional fault of the shipper. I think some peoples tastebuds are registered voters..>:> Anyway, the tour is one of the best in New England. ANYone who has visited Harpoon can vouch for the difference. There are samples aplenty offered and the receptionist/cashier/tourguide we had was a knockout, even before I started drinking! It's worth a trip to visit this outfit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Houston, TX
(10/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
A great tour and the guide was even capable of answering this homebrewer's questions. I was quite impressed. The quality of their beers were excellent. A short but quality tour, well worth the visit even if a little out of the way.

If you are looking for food just a little ways down the street is a restaurant called "Fire and Ice". They have Otter Creek on tap and have excellent food. They are on Seymour Street which becomes Exchange St. They are worth going out of the way to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Diamant Don Diamant, Milton, NH
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A Lousy
Otter creep is yet another brewery who have sold their soul and cut ingredients in the brews. I challange anyone to compair the flavor of stovepipe for example, four years ago, to todays water with chocolate malt flavor. For a brewery making so much money, why cut raw materials? So little Larry can afford a new ariplane? Here is another question to Otter creep and their fans. Why is it that over the past five years, three "real micro brewerys" went out of business under the same distributor as Otter creep? Pressure from larry and the boys to curb the market and put the little guys out while the FAKE micros get bigger and bigger, all at the same time, claiming that they are still "microbrewerys". Who knows, but remember, buying this crap only helps the rich and greedy become more powerful. A side note to Wolavers. I certainly hope that you folks can run a more honest business and produce a quality beverage, because the previous establishment sure did not!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Truth about brew Truth about brew, vermont, VT
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I've always loved these guys. I hope the acquisition by Wolaver's is still maintained in high quality fashion. Love the Copper Ale, Stove Pipe Porter, Summer Wheat, and especially the Hefe Weizen. The Oktoberfest is great when available too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike I. Mike I., Jeffersonville, PA
(08/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
STOVE PIPE PORTER,STOVE PIPE PORTER, I JUST LOVE THE STOVE PIPE PORTER.VERY ROBUST KEEPING WITH FINE PORTER TRADITIONS.MANY CASES FOUND THEIR WAY TO NORTH CAROLINA AS WELL!(see M.H. no.9)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAMES STOODLEY JAMES STOODLEY, PORTSMOUTH, NH
(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Angel gave us a nice tour of the brewery and we sampled the brews. Bought a load of logo gifts for everyone and beer for ourselves. Good to see a small brewery doing well. They keep the quality high and the customers will keep coming back. Keep up the good brewing!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Making truly excellent and consistent beers. Their Alt and Porter are first rate!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, Hoboken, NJ
(01/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Great tour; it's the details and the pesonality of the brewery/tour guide that shape the experience. Otter Creek makes a dependable product worthy of abundant sampling. I would reccomend the hickory amber and the hoppy pale ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Alexandria, VA
(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Definately worth stopping by for the tour if you find yourself in the area. The staff is very knowledgable, seem really happy to be working there and were generous with the samples. Have yet to have a bad beer from this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D. Sullivan D. Sullivan, Hollis, NH
(09/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
The tour was definitely one of the beeter one's I've seen. The staff was friendly and generous with the samples. And the beer... you really gotta taste it for yourself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Ross G. Ross, Hyde Park, NY
(07/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Warner Bob Warner, Ogunquit, ME
(03/19/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
My list of top 10 beers has Otter Creek Oktoberfest holding a strong #1.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Horton J. Horton, Wells, ME
(03/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A
Tried their Oktoberfest brew at the Last Chance Saloon, Columbia, MD. I'd swear it had a hoppiness I didn't expect for this style, but I liked it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(09/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
The brewery tour was quick and no nonsense.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wayne K Pereno Wayne K Pereno, Warwick, RI
(09/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
Stopped into the brewery the day after the Vermont Brewers' Festival in Burlington. The tasting/retail room opens at 10a.m., a nice surprise. The new girl there ( her first day on the job ) is friendly and sweet albeit clueless regarding beer. The retail mgr. shut us off after several 3 oz. samples...she needs to lighten up a little, as we were there for more than 2 hours!! The tour was okay. The product is very good, which is all that matters. Their summer wheat is the first of this style that i actually liked. Cases of seconds sell for $20 which includes all deposits and growlers are refilled for $5--perfect!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Del  Vaglio Peter Del Vaglio, Thomaston, CT
(07/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The Pale and Copper ales are extraordinary; I came all the way to VT to find them. Finding the Copper on tap in most bars during my recent ski trip was icing on the cake.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Walt Schwarz Walt Schwarz, Boca Raton, FL
(02/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
The third best brewery behind McNeils and Madison's. Not bad for 19+ breweries in Vermont.. Good job..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Frank Nolin, Rutland, VT
(11/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Great
I really like their fall season beer "Hickory Switch Smoked Amber Ale". It tastes quite similar as the smoked beer from Bamberg (City in north Bavaria, Germany)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Uwe Stickel Uwe Stickel, Ottawa, Canada, ON
(10/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Bronk Rich Bronk, Troy, NY
(09/09/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.129 seconds) 00:08:41 54.161.202.106, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS