PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Map Room - Chicago, IL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 02, 2014 @ 03:00 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IL > Chicago > Map Room
Map Room Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Map Room
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.2 / 100
1949 North Hoyne
Chicago, IL 60647
United States
(312) 252-7637
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Chicago, IL
Beer Guide for Illinois

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Map Room
45 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(49 within 5 miles)
1) Owen and Engine
(0 mile)

2) Revolution Brewing LLC
(0 mile)

3) Quenchers Saloon
(0 mile)

4) Abbey Pub and Restaurant
(2 miles)

5) SmallBar
(2 miles)

6) Laschet's Inn
(2 miles)

7) Resi's Bierstube
(2 miles)

8) Half Acre Beer Company
(2 miles)

9) Village Tap
(2 miles)

10) Small Bar Logan Square
(2 miles)

11) Small Bar Divison
(2 miles)

12) Piece
(2 miles)

13) Moonshine
(2 miles)

14) Delilah's
(3 miles)

15) Charlie's Ale House
(3 miles)

16) Local Option
(3 miles)

17) Small Bar Fullerton
(3 miles)

18) Glascott's Saloon
(3 miles)

19) United States Beer Company
(3 miles)

20) Four Farthings Tavern and Grill
(3 miles)

21) Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn
(3 miles)

22) Uberstein
(3 miles)

23) The Duke of Perth
(3 miles)

24) Sheffield's Wine and Beer Garden
(3 miles)

25) Lincoln Tap Room
(3 miles)

26) Redmond's
(3 miles)

27) Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville
(3 miles)

28) Mike's Ale House
(3 miles)

29) Mike's Ale House
(3 miles)

30) Grizzly's Lodge
(3 miles)

31) Ginger's Ale House
(3 miles)

32) Murphy's Bleacher's
(3 miles)

33) The Cubby Bear
(3 miles)

34) Chicago Brauhaus
(4 miles)

35) The Grafton Pub and Grill
(4 miles)

36) The Leadway Bar
(4 miles)

37) Rock Bottom Brewery
(4 miles)

38) Clark Street Ale House
(4 miles)

39) Fado Irish Pub
(4 miles)

40) The Lucky Monk
(4 miles)

41) Old Town Ale House
(4 miles)

42) Butch McGuire's
(4 miles)

43) Metropolitan Brewing
(4 miles)

44) Hopleaf Bar
(4 miles)

45) The Beer Bistro
(4 miles)

46) Jaks Tap
(4 miles)

47) Acre Restaurant
(4 miles)

48) Walrus Pub
(4 miles)

49) Fireside Lounge
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) At Home Inn Chicago
2) City Scene Bed & Breakfast
3) Gold Coast Guest House
4) House of Two-Urns
5) Inn on Early Ave
6) Old Town Bed & Breakfast
7) Villa Toscana Guest House
8) Wicker Park Inn
9) Windy City B & B Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN RIVER NORTH
2) BRIDGESTREET STERLING
3) BW HAWTHORNE TERRACE HOTEL
4) CITY SUITES HOTEL
5) CLARIDGE HOTEL
6) DAYS INN GOLD COAST DOWNTOWN
7) HABITAT SUITES AT PRES TOWERS
8) HOLIDAY INN & SUITES CHICAGO
9) HOTEL ALLEGRO CHICAGO
10) MAJESTIC HOTEL
11) MARRIOTT CHICAGO @MED.DIST/UIC
12) OAKWOOD CHICAGO
13) THE WESTIN CHICAGO RIVER NORTH
14) THE WILLOWS HOTEL
15) W CHICAGO CITY CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 7th District Police Station
2) Aquitania, The
3) Auditorium Building, Roosevelt University
4) Automatic Electric Company Building
5) Balaban & Katz Uptown Theatre
6) Belden Stratford Hotel
7) Belmont-Sheffield Trust and Savings Bank Building
8) Best Brewing Company of Chicago Building
9) Biograph Theater Building
10) Boyce Building
11) Building at 5510 North Sheridan
12) Building at 900 West Lake Street
13) Burlingham Building
14) Chicago Telephone Company Kedzie Exchange
15) Church of the Epiphany
16) Conway Building
17) Cook County Criminal Court Building
18) Dawson Brothers Plant
19) Dewes, Francis J., House
20) Edgewater Beach Apartments
21) Emmel Building
22) First Congregational Church of Austin
23) Foley, Jennie, Building
24) Fort Dearborn Hotel
25) Gage Group--Ascher, Keith, and Gage Buildings
26) Gauler, John, Houses
27) Germania Club
28) Getty Tomb
29) Groesbeck, Abraham, House
30) Guyon Hotel
31) Halsted, Ann, House
32) Hermitage Apartments
33) Holy Trinity Russian Orthodox Cathedral and Rectory
34) Hull House
35) Immaculata High School
36) Jewish People's Institute
37) King, Patrick J., House
38) Legler, Henry E., Regional Branch of the Chicago Public Library
39) Lincoln Park, South Pond Refectory
40) Loucks, Charles N., House
41) Malden Towers
42) Mandel Brothers Warehouse Building
43) Manor House
44) Midwest Athletic Club
45) Montgomery Ward Company Complex
46) North Wells Street Historic District
47) Northwestern Terra Cotta Company Building
48) Notre Dame de Chicago
49) Old Chicago Historical Society Building
50) Old Colony Buildings
51) Old Main Building
52) One LaSalle Street Building
53) Pattington Apartments
54) Pulaski Park and Fieldhouse
55) Reebie Moving and Storage Company
56) Reid Murdoch Building
57) Rookery Building
58) Ropp-Grabill House
59) Rosehill Cemetery Administration Building and Entry Gate
60) Shedd Park Fieldhouse
61) Sheridan Plaza Hotel
62) Smith, J. P., Shoe Company Plant
63) St. Ignatius College
64) St. Matthew Evangelical Lutheran School
65) St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church
66) Story-Camp Rowhouses
67) Swedish American Telephone Company Building
68) Swedish Club of Chicago
69) Teich, Curt, and Company Building
70) Theurer-Wrigley House
71) Trustees System Service Building
72) United States Post Office--Chicago
73) Uptown Broadway Building
74) Waller, William, House
75) Warner, Seth, House
76) West Jackson Historic District (Boundary Increase)
77) Yondorf Block and Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1 Chop Suey
2) 2 Amigos
3) A Tavola
4) Abbey Pub
5) Abril Mexican Restaurant
6) Acapulco Night Club
7) Acqualina Restaurant
8) AEL Catering & Assoc Inc
9) Alcala Restaurant
10) Alexy's Restaurant
11) Alley Dogs
12) Amana Restaurant Inc
13) American Roadshow Catering
14) Andie's Grill
15) Andras Underdog Inc
16) Andrezej Grill & Restaurant
17) Angelo-Vito's Pizzeria
18) Arcoiris
19) Armitage Hall
20) Armitage Sandwich's
21) Armitage Shrimp House
22) Art Gallery KAFE
23) Arturo's Tacos Mexican Food
24) Asi Es Guerrero
25) Atlantis Carribean Eatery
26) Aueen Albert Diner & Lounge
27) Babaluci
28) Babylon Eatery
29) Banana Leaf
30) Bar Hoppers
31) Bar Louie
32) Barcello's Pizzeria
33) Beboba Limited
34) Beef Stop
35) Beefee
36) Bellonas Pizza
37) Benjarong Thai
38) Best Submarine
39) Best Submarine
40) Best Subs Ii
41) Bialystok Pub
42) Big Boy Gyros
43) Big Red Rice & Noodle
44) Big Tony's Pizza
45) Birrias Huentitton Restaurant
46) Birrieria Estilo Jalisco
47) Birrieria Las Cacuelas
48) Bismarch Submarine
49) Bite Cafe
50) Black Beetle
51) Black Rock
52) Blackwater Cafe
53) Blue Fin
54) Blue Light
55) Blue Willow Chinese Restaurant
56) Bongo Room
57) Borinquen Restaurant
58) Borinquen Restaurant
59) Boston Bar-B-Q
60) Botello's Mexican Foods
61) Boulevard Cafe
62) Brandi's Restaurant
63) Bransfield Bar & Grill
64) Breaktime
65) Brett's Restaurant
66) Brisku's Bistro & Bar
67) Bucktown Grill
68) Buffet Castle
69) Bujak's Great Sandwiches
70) Buona Fortuna
71) Buona Terra
72) Burger King
73) Burger King
74) Burger King
75) Burger King
76) Burger King
77) Burger Land
78) Burger Land
79) Burrito Factory
80) Burrito Joint
81) Burrito Mex
82) C & T Fast Food
83) Cafe Absinthe
84) Cafe Con Leche
85) Cafe Del Mondo
86) Cafe Dret Hermanas
87) Cafe Laquardia
88) Cafe Los Arcos
89) Cafe Lura
90) Cafe Matou
91) Cafe Ritmo Latino
92) Cafe' Bolero & Grill
93) Caffe De Luca
94) Caffe Di Falco
95) Cafiteria De Pancho
96) Camacho's Restaurant
97) Campell & Elston Food Mart
98) Canpecae Seafood
99) Cans Bar & Canteen
100) Canton Express
101) Carlos's Snack Bar
102) Carniceria Roman
103) Carnitas El Paisa
104) Cassavas
105) Catering Kitchen
106) Celtic Crown
107) Chang's Chinese Restaurant
108) Charbroiled House
109) Charleston Inc
110) Charley Thai Place
111) Charlie's On Leavitt
112) Chatzy's Restaurant
113) Chemically Imbalanced Comedy
114) Chen's Garden
115) Chicago Pizza
116) Chicken House
117) Chicken Run
118) Chief O'Neill's Pub & Rstrnt
119) China Buffet
120) China Station
121) Chino John Restaurant
122) Chipotle Mexican Grill
123) Choi's Chinese Restaurant
124) Chris-Wallton Inn
125) Christina's Place
126) Clara's Restaurant
127) Claus's Tavern
128) Cleo's
129) Club Lucky
130) Club PM
131) Coast Sushi Bar
132) Cobalt
133) Cold Comfort Cafe & Deli
134) Congress Pizzeria
135) Congress Restaurant
136) Connie's & Johnnie's
137) Continental Cafe
138) Corner
139) Corner Bakery
140) Costa Alegre
141) Costello Sandwich & Sides
142) Cousins Turkish Dining
143) Cozy Corner Diner & Pancake
144) Crabbby Kim's
145) Crepes A Latte Exclsv Ctrng
146) Crown Associates
147) Curious Theatre Branch
148) D & C Hot Dogs
149) D'vine Wine Bar
150) Damen
151) Damen Avenue Grill
152) Dapper's Restaurant
153) Darkroom
154) Deli On Rice
155) Delta Ice Cream
156) Dhammaragsar Thai Restaurant
157) Di Vita Restaurant
158) Diane's
159) Dimartino Fast Food
160) Discount Dresses
161) Dixie Snackshop
162) Domino's Pizza
163) Don Carlos Restaurant
164) Don Chema Restaurant
165) Don Marcos Restaurant
166) Dona Mari's
167) Dorothy's Liquors
168) Dr J's Place
169) Dunkin Baskin
170) Dunlay's On The Square
171) Earwax Cafe
172) Eat First
173) Eat Your Hearts Out
174) Echo
175) Ecua Rico
176) Ecuador Restaurant
177) El Asador Restaurant
178) El Capitan Restaurant
179) El Charo
180) El Chino Tacos
181) El Cid 2
182) El Cid Tacos Inc
183) El Guanaco
184) El Imperio De Memin
185) El Jibarito
186) El Mercado
187) El Mexico De Ayer Inc
188) El Pacifico
189) El Paisano Taco's
190) El Palenque
191) El Palmar
192) El Pobre Jose
193) El Rincon Del AMOR
194) El Rinconcito Cubano
195) El Secreto Escondido
196) El Taconazo Restaurant
197) El Tinajon
198) El Ultimo Brinco
199) Elston Village Lounge Inc
200) Endy's Deli
201) Estelle's Cafe & Pub
202) Eva's Tacos
203) Family Pride Bar-B-Que
204) Family Sushi Restaurant
205) Famous Taco Burrito Kings
206) Fast Food House
207) Fat Willy's Rib Shack
208) Father & Son Restaurant
209) Feast
210) Feast
211) Ferndell Restaurant
212) Festa Pizza
213) Fez Inc
214) Fish Xpres
215) Flash Taco
216) Florasta Restaurant
217) Florida Cafe
218) Floyd's Pub
219) Flying Saucer Inc
220) Franklin's Restaurant & Lounge
221) Fredine's Bar Bq
222) Friendship Restaurant
223) Fuller's Pub II
224) Fullerton Restaurant
225) Gannon's Pub
226) Garcia's Place
227) George Kedzie Liquors
228) George's Hot Dogs
229) Giordano's
230) Glunz Bravarian Haus
231) Golden Chef Chinese Kitchen
232) Golden Nugget Pancake House
233) Golden Nugget Pancake House
234) Got Pizza
235) Grace & Leavitt Liquors
236) Grand-Division Gyros Ltd
237) Greg's Gyros
238) Guatanamera
239) Gyros Express
240) Hawthorn Grill
241) Hirickey's Noodle Shop
242) Holiday Club
243) Hortex Restaurant
244) Hot Doug's Inc
245) Hugo's Burritos
246) Ibis Restaurant
247) International
248) International House-Pancakes
249) Irazu Costa Rica Restaurant
250) Izalco Restaurant
251) J & P Snack Shop
252) Jinx Cafe
253) Joe's Grill
254) John's Drive In
255) John's Restaurant & Lounge
256) Johnny's Grill
257) Kaleidoscope
258) Kfc
259) Kfc
260) Kfc
261) Kfc
262) Kfc
263) Kitsch'n On Roscoe
264) Kudos
265) La Bruquena
266) La Cocina Criolla
267) La Cocina De Maria
268) La Encantada
269) La Estacion
270) La Fiesta Matica
271) La Finca Restaurant
272) La Fogata Mexican Restaurant
273) La Palma Restaurant
274) La Pena Restaurant & Bar
275) La Pequena
276) Lacumbamba
277) Lakeview Sub
278) Las Asadas Restaurant
279) Latin American Restaurant
280) Lavilla Restaurant & Banquets
281) Lazo Tacos
282) Le Bouchon
283) Lee's Chop Suey
284) Leona's Pizzeria
285) Leona's Restaurants
286) Let's Mex-An It
287) Levee
288) Li'l Guys Deli Sandwiches
289) Lily's Fast Food
290) Lin's Garden
291) Lincoln Tavern & Restaurant
292) Little Caesars Pizza
293) Local Grind
294) Los Rosales
295) Lou Lou Caffe & Bar
296) Lucky Man Restaurant
297) Lula Cafe
298) Lulu's Hot Diggity Dog
299) Lupita's Fast Food
300) Mack's Red Hots
301) Maiz
302) Man-Jo's Drive In
303) Manjovin Restaurant
304) Margarita Pizzeria & Sports
305) Maria Resinos Restaurant
306) Maria's Beef & Pizza
307) Marta Restaurant
308) Mattie's Place
309) Maxwell Street West Corp
310) Mc Donald's
311) Mc Donald's
312) Mc Donald's
313) Mc Donald's
314) Mc Donald's
315) Megamall Fast Food
316) Meritage Restaurant
317) Mi Barrio Restaurant
318) Mi Familia Restaurant
319) Mi-Mexico
320) Mic Duck's Drive In
321) Mirabell Restaurant & Lounge
322) Mirai
323) Mis Tacos
324) Mr Pollo
325) Nandu Restaurant
326) New China Buffet
327) New Light House
328) New Oasis Restaurant
329) Nick's Fast Food
330) Nick's Pit Stop
331) Nick's Restaurant
332) Nikko's Drive In
333) Northside Cafe
334) Oddo's Pizza
335) Old Lviv
336) Pacific Cafe
337) Papa Jin Chinese Restaurant
338) Papa's Cache Sabroso
339) Park View Restaurant
340) Parkside Food & Liquor
341) Paul Zakopane Harnas Rstrnt
342) Pepe's Mexican Restaurant
343) Peppe's Hot Dogs
344) Phlair
345) Pizza Hut
346) Pockets Corporate Office
347) Poncedlin
348) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
349) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
350) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
351) Pozoleria Sanjuan
352) Quesadilla's
353) Racer
354) Rambutan
355) Rapture
356) Red Apple Restaurant
357) Restaurant El Caracol
358) Restaurant Los Claveles
359) Restaurant Santigo Papa
360) Richie's On Elston
361) Rinconcito Sudamericano
362) Roberts Hot Dog
363) Roong Thai Restaurant
364) Rotisserie's Restaurant
365) Royal Restaurant
366) Sabor Latino
367) Sabor Latino
368) Sabor Y Son
369) Sam's Country Kitchen
370) Sauces Alba Restaurant
371) Serio Cosimo
372) Sinibar
373) Six Corners Grill
374) Sonson Criollo Restaurant
375) Souk
376) Soul Kitchen
377) Spring
378) Square One
379) Staropolska Inc
380) Steve's Gyros
381) Streetside Cafe
382) Subterranean
383) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
384) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
385) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
386) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
387) Sunny Submarine
388) Sunshine Restaurant Inc
389) Super Burrito
390) Superdawg Drive-In Inc
391) Swans
392) Taco Bell
393) Taco Bell
394) Taco Bell
395) Taco's & Salsa
396) Taco's Zacatecas
397) Tacos Garcia
398) Tacos Garcias
399) Taqitos De Morelos
400) Taqueria El Amigo
401) Taqueria El Ranchito
402) Taqueria Los Comales
403) Taqueria Poncitlan
404) Taqueria Poncitlan Iv
405) Taqueria Puebla
406) Taste Of Ixcapuzalco
407) Tasty Sub
408) Thai Eatery
409) Thai Lagoon
410) Thai Village
411) Thomas Perez Bar
412) Titanic
413) Titanic Sub
414) Tlatzala Restaurant
415) Toast Two
416) Tom's Fried Rice
417) Tore's Italian Beef
418) Total Restaurant Svc
419) Tres Rosas
420) Tropical Taste
421) Turistic Lunch
422) Uncle Remus
423) Van Phat Chinese Restaurant
424) Vanessa's Sandwich Shop
425) Vicki's Place
426) Victory's Banner
427) Village Cafe & Pizza
428) Vito & Angelo's Pizzeria
429) Wendy's
430) Wendy's
431) West Side Bbq & Grill
432) Western Round Up
433) White Castle
434) White Castle
435) Wilson Donuts
436) Winds Cafe
437) Yellow Submarine Sandwich
438) Zacatecas Restaurant
439) Zacatecas Restaurant
440) Zio Pino's Place
441) Zoom Inc
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy
Never thought I would disparage the Map Room, but must warn potential visitors of what happened there yesterday. Our annual crawl is 16 yrs old and the Map Room has been a stop each year. Always, the Saturday before the Super Bowl. Always arriving early afternoon. 30-40 well-behaved crawlers who treat and tip servers well.

On Jan 12 I sent the Map Room an e-mail to remind them of our visit on Feb 2. We did not ask for any special discounts or deals.

When the first few crawlers started coming in, they were served. Once the bartender saw the line continuing to stream into the door, he stopped serving and declared he would not serve anyone else and asked that we leave!

I asked what had happened that he was denying service. He said "owner's policy - we do not serve unannounced pub crawls." I explained that I had sent an e-mail and that we were regular visitors each year. He shrugged and said "no one told me about it." He did not offer to call the owner to check it out.

We moved onto our next stop, Lemmings, and stayed double the alloted time there. Got great service. Their beer selection is not quite the same, but the hand-pulled Three Floyds Alpha Kings really hit the spot.

Maybe the Map Room has decided it does not need customers in addition to its regulars. Maybe they just had a communication problem. Either way, there are many deserving bars in Chicago that I know will appreciate participating in our pub crawl next year and beyond. We will not be returning to the Map Room

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Zonny Zonny, Naperville, IL
(02/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Good
Very cool bar with great beer selection. no kitchen but sat and sun at 1 pm they bring in a small buffet. The below yuppie complaints seem unfounded, but there was evidence that it was the popular place for that region of wicker park e.g. fellow at bar talking about how crowded it was Sat night was drinking a heineken. He didn't seem evil, and really shouldn't we be happy that he might accidentally be exposed to better beer, like the 'da bears' group drinking Steigl?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review louisville, KY
(11/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
Regarding beer selection (bottle or on tap) and beer quality, this place is absolutely amazing. The place is not huge (a good thing as far as I'm concerned) and has a pleasant atmosphere about it - at least on my Wednesday evening trip - making it effortless to talk to total strangers about the wonderful world of beer!

Only mild complaint is that it was a bit too hot in there, though I sure wasn't complaining about that after my Dogfish Head Midas Touch!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fernando Rubio Fernando Rubio, Denton, TX
(06/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
The Map Room is a very cool beer bar with a great varied selection, though the atmosphere is definitely not for everyone. The vibe is very preppy/rock-n-roll, but don't let that prevent you from stopping by and checking out the selections.

In our recent trip through Chicago beer places, this seemed to have the best selections. We had been there once before and enjoyed it thoroughly. My only compliants are that sometimes it can be hard to get a beer (it gets crowded) and the listing of available taps needs to be updated.

We walked in and were ecstatic to see that Dogfish Head Immort Ale was on tap, only to be told it ran out the first night it was tapped. That's alright, except it was still marked on the easily erasable chalkboard. Further, the bartender gave me a look as if I was stupid for asking, while standing directly below the aforementioned chalkboard. Regardless, ordered the Immort Ales in bottles, along with a 60 Minute IPA and played some pool.

The pool table is completely free, which is cool, and there's an Apple computer for free websurfing while you're drinking - a unique touch. Make sure you check out hte Map Room when in Chicago.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Begley Jim Begley, Las Vegas, NV
(09/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Good
great beer selection, and nice clientel until after 8 or so, turns violently yuppified and bizarre, but u cant beat the beer and laid back atmosphere. Although owner is a little too cool for his shoes, would still recomend.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from capt trips capt trips, new siberia, IN
(02/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
By far my favorite beer bar...Not only is the selection the best I've found in Chicago so far, but they do a great job in keeping up a rotation so there is always something new. In addition, if you are a local, Belgian beer Mondays and International Night (Wednesdays) are always a treat. Plus they host a monthly "beer school" where you are given a tasting menu of 8-12 beers based upon the monthly theme...

Overall, what else could you want?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karl Karl, Chicago (by way of StL), IL
(01/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The doorman was friendly but I must ask the management to let this guy have some time off, and give him a "map" to find other great beer bars in the area/country...he told me the Map Room was the only place that had so many taps...wish everyone could travel like the Pubcrawlers do! I can add that the best little buritto joint is right up the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick-Beertrekker Nick-Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I finally made it to the Maproom on New Years Eve, 2004. I live in South Carolina (sister lives in Chitown) and Id been looking forward to checking this place out for a long time. I grew up in Peoria but never knew about the Maproom while I was in illinois. I was een better than I expected. I dont need to go on about the selection, that has been covered. The atmosphere and friendliness of the place were great. The Bartender, wish i remembered his name, was friendly and knowlegable. After having a Corsendunk Abbey brown ale on draft, I explained that I liked belgian browns. He went in back and came back with a Liefmans Goudenband. My new favorite beer ever. I talked beer with several bartenders and the customers sitting around me. I felt like I'd been coming to this bar for years and it was my first visit. Cant wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Norgart Ryan Norgart, Charleston, SC
(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A So So Good
I used to look forward to my visits here because of the quality of of cask conditioned ale. The last two trips I found the cask beer fouled. The last trip it tasted like disinfectant. Apparently they are working toward the elimination of the cask beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George Cary George Cary, Ottawa, IL
(01/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Well, after many years of swinging by the Map Room with the kid(s), ordering take-out from a nearby restaraunt and having a wonderful time, things have changed. Since the MR doesn't have a food liscense, the cops have apparently cracked down and you are no longer allowed to drink in the company of your children. If that represents a victory for family values, I am Donald Duck. A sad day. And not the MR's fault.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hal Hackett Hal Hackett, Milwaukee, WI
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
You here the phrase "They have a great selection of beers on Tap" for a lot of places. But the Map Room's taps are so much more than that. You can tell that they don't pick their beers just because they are available, they go to all lengths to select the right beers for the mix and I expect with much trouble to track them down. These are beer lover beers across the board, not just taps that are driven by distributors. When you can sour-up with a Cantillon Gueze, smooth it down with a Nitro Summit Oatmeal Stout then have a bitter blast of Three Floyds Alpha King you know you are in a good place. Of course accelerating out of the turn with a Delerium Tremmens is encouraged too. They even have beers from my home state of Maine on tap!

We stopped in for a quick one after late breakfast and ended up staying all day. Meg the bartender was good company, knowledgeable about beer and played a fine selection of tunes on the stereo for us. Easy place to fall into a conversation about anything with the beer drinking stranger next to you. Nothing stuffy about this joint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(09/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
You've read the previous reviews; it is really difficult to add to what has been said by others. For me, great beer is a passion. When one finds a great beer bar, with exemplary service from folks who know what it's like to love great beer, you just want the whole world to know that such a beervana exists. Have been to NYC, Portland (OR), Boston, Munich, Bruges (Belgium), Ireland, Seattle and Baltimore (home of Max's on Broadway), they all are up there with Chicago. A sample of what I had here: Spaten Maibock, Adnams Broadside Bitter (cask),Great Lakes' Edmund Fitzgerald Porter, Founder's Dirty Bastard, Bell's Expedition Stout, Bell's Kalamazoo Stout, Three Floyds Alpha King and DeKonnick - on tap!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Jerry, Gaithersburg, MD
(05/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I travel 50% of the time and use PubCrawler to find the best beer bar in every city I go to. The Map Room is #1 on my list. Many places can match the variety (200 beers, 26 on tap), but I have yet to find a bar that can match the Map Room's care, knowledge, and good taste in selecting beers. I can always find a new and woderful taste experience. One example: the only place in the U.S. I have found Westvleren 12.

Very knowledgeable and helpful bartenders as well, and a very pleasant atmosphere. No food except on International night, but they keep a folder of places that deliver.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Roth James Roth, Hastings, MN
(01/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
The place to go for a beer in Chicago. Too many beers not enough time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Des Plaines, IL
(07/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
What can I say? Awesome! An excellent beer bar. Thanks to the bartender who bought me a drink in the interest of US-UK relations! I shall certainly make another trip there on my next visit to Chicago.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lee Blower Lee Blower, Derby, UK
(07/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is my favorite beer bar in the whole world. It's just a great place to spend a few hours relaxing and enjoying beers that would be very difficult to find on tap anywhere else. Staff is knowledgeable about the beer, and always serve it at the right temperature and in the right glass.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gargantua, Madison, WI
(06/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
I noticed there were no recent reviews so I thought I'd speak up. I've been able to get to the Map Room for an hour or two on Saturday afternoons this year, and it's become the highlight of my week. It's not crowded, I can sit and read the paper, watch sports (or Iraq) on the tube, and try utterly fantastic beers on tap. No pretension, just very, very civilized. (I hope that's not an insult.) Thank you, Map Room. Hey, try the Oerbier while it's still there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hal Hackett, Ottawa, IL
(03/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I would rate this as the place to go in Chicago. Selection was amazing and despite being packed on a Saturday night, the friendly bar staff took the time to tell us about some great local beers. This is well worth the cab fare - it has displaced a couple of other, more centrally located, beer establishments as a "must visit" when I am in the city of big shoulders. Go. You won't regret it. One of the country's best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Volker Stewart Volker Stewart, Charm City, MD
(10/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
The Map Room is one of the best beer bars that I have ever been to. Only the Toronado, in San Francisco, is better. The bar is easy to get to. It is about two blocks west of Damen, on Armitage. Too bad it is not closer to an "L" station. My advice is that if you are in Lincoln Park, hop on the Armitage bus and you will be there in about 15 minutes. The Map Room is a corner bar with big windows. There are many travel books available to read as you sip your beer. I enjoyed a Bell's Oberon, a crisp wheat beer from Kalamazoo and a Jenlain, a bier de garde. I've never seen Jenlain on tap before. They also had some Belgians (Kwak and De Koninck)and a great selection of midwest beers (Capital and Three Floyds). This is the perfect place to spend a lazy afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Holl Doug Holl, Atlanta, GA
(09/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Located in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, the Map Room is unpretentious and slightly on the funky side, but it has the city's best selection of beers, especially Belgians and imports you won't find elsewhere. The offerings also include the better Midwest microbreweries such as Bell's and Three Floyds. The Map Room is the bar of choice for Chicago's serious beer fans, and it would be impossible for a beer lover not to enjoy him/herself here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Highwood, IL
(07/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I agree with Jeff from LaCrosse, the establishment does have a very nice feel to it, and it will be a regular stop whenever I go to Chicago. Very interesting beer selection, decor, and clientele.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(04/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
This is a great beer pub. They always get the finest and most interesting selections of microbrews available. I just had some brand new Bell's Old Ale on tap. Wow! They also have Bell's Batch 5000 in bottles along with Goose Island, Alphaking,...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from South Side Sully South Side Sully, chicago, IL
(04/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Real nice ambiance. Just a real good feel to it. Those who've complained must like lounges or something. I don't get to Chicago too often, but when I do this place will be on the agenda. The variety & quality is as noted.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Hotson Jeff Hotson, La Crosse, WI
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Another exceptional beer bar in Chicago. If only someone would open one in Southern NJ. A busy Friday night and snow did not keep us from here! An unbelievable selection of draft and bottle beers from everywhere. Bring food here with you also as there is none to be found. Don't miss this place at all! Can't wait for next year!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(03/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I agree with The Enemy. This is certainly one of the best beer bars in the country. Staff is generally knowledgeable about beer. There's always a couple of beers on cask, served at the correct temperature. My only complain is that they tend to run the music a little too loudly, but maybe I'm getting too old.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DougH DougH, Chicago, IL
(12/28/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.45 seconds) 15:00:34 54.205.52.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS