PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Vermont Pub and Brewery - Burlington, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 28, 2014 @ 12:09 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Burlington > Vermont Pub and Brewery
Vermont Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Vermont Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77.5 / 100
144 College Street
Burlington, VT 05401
United States
(802) 865-0500
Last Updated: November 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Burlington, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
66 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) American Flatbread Taproom was Burlington Hearth
(0 mile)

2) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

3) Switchback Brewing Company
(0 mile)

4) What Ale's You
(0 mile)

5) Church Street Tavern
(0 mile)

6) Nectar's
(0 mile)

7) Reuben James Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

8) Three Needs Taproom
(0 mile)

9) Rasputin's
(0 mile)

10) Magic Hat Brewing Company
(4 miles)

11) Tavern On The Rocks / Lighthouse Restaurant
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Burlington Redstone B & B
2) Hartwell House Bed & Breakfast
3) Lang House on Main Street
4) Sunset House B & B
5) Willard Street Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BW WINDJAMMER INN AND CONFEREN
2) CLARION HOTEL AND CONF CTR
3) COMFORT INN SOUTH BURLINGTON
4) DAYS INN BURLINGTON COLCHESTER
5) FAIRFIELD INN BURLINGTON
6) HAMPTON INN BURLINGTON
7) HAWTHORN BURLINGTON
8) HJ HOTEL BURLINGTON SOUTH
9) MAINSTAY STS SOUTH BURLINGTON
10) SHERATON BURLINGTON HTL CONF
11) SMART SUITES
12) SUPER 8 BURLINGTON SOUTH VT
13) TRAVELODGE SHELBURNE
14) UNIVERSITY INN & SUITES
15) WYNDHAM BURLINGTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Burlington Montgomery Ward Building
2) Carnegie Building of the Fletcher Free Library
3) Champlain School
4) Chittenden County Courthouse
5) Ethan Allen Engine company No. 4
6) First Baptist Church
7) Follett House
8) GENERAL BUTLER (shipwreck)
9) Grassemount
10) Head of Church Street Historic District
11) Howard Mortuary Chapel
12) Kelsey, Martin L., House
13) Methodist Episcopal Church of Winooski
14) Moquin's Bakery
15) O.J. WALKER (shipwreck)
16) Old Ohavi Zedex Synagogue
17) Old Stone House
18) Robinson, Daniel Webster, House
19) Saltus Grocery Store
20) U.S. Post Office and Customhouse
21) Wells, Edward, House
22) Wells-Jackson Carriage House Complex
23) Winooski Block
24) Winterbotham Estate
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 135 Pearl
2) A Single Pebble
3) Ahli Baba's Kabob Shop
4) Akes' Place
5) Alley-Cats
6) Bangkok Bistro
7) Big Daddy's Pizza
8) Bosana Restaurant & Cafe
9) Bourbon Street Grill
10) Bove's Restaurant
11) Breakwaters
12) Burlington Bay Market & Cafe
13) Burlington Beverage Ctr
14) Cafe Piccolo
15) Camel's Hump Catering
16) Cannon's
17) Carbur's Restaurant
18) Caribbean Buffet
19) Chickenbone Cafe
20) Chopstick House II
21) Church Street Tavern
22) Coyotes Tex-Mex Cafe
23) Daily News
24) Daily Planet
25) Dairy Queen
26) David's City Deli
27) Dino's Pizza & Family Rstrnt
28) Dino's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
29) Dobra Tea
30) Dockside Restaurant
31) Domino's Pizza
32) Empire Express
33) Esox
34) Finnigan's Pub
35) Five Spice Cafe
36) Four Corners Of The Earth
37) Four Star Delivery Express
38) Golden Dragon Restaurant
39) Golden Star Restaurant
40) Greenstreet's Restaurant
41) Halvorson's Upstreet Cafe
42) Handy's Lunch
43) Harvest Cafe
44) Hectors Mexican Cafe
45) Henry Street Deli Mart
46) Henry's Diner
47) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
48) Ice House Restaurant & Bar
49) Iron Wolf
50) Isabel's On The Waterfront
51) J P's Pub Inc
52) Jimbo's Subs Wings & Things
53) Kahiki Moon
54) Kampus Kitchens
55) Ken's Pizza
56) Klinger's Bread Co
57) Kountry Kart Deli
58) L'Amante
59) Leonardo's Pizza
60) Leonardo's Pizza
61) Leunig's Bistro
62) Lilydale Bakery-Cafe
63) Ling's Chinese Deli Inc
64) Liquid Energy Cafe
65) Mad Hatter
66) Mandy's Catering
67) Manhattan Pizza
68) Mc Donald's
69) Metronome
70) Ming's Restaurant
71) Mona's Ristorante
72) Mr Mike's
73) Muddy Waters
74) Neci Commons
75) Nectar Rorris Restaurant
76) New England Culinary Institute
77) New England Wings
78) New World Tortilla
79) North End Express Deili
80) Number One Chinese Restaurant
81) Oak Street Deli & Mini-Mart
82) Oasis Diner Inc
83) Olde Northender Pub
84) Opaline
85) Other Place
86) Pacific Rim
87) Paradise Burritos
88) Parima Restaurant
89) Pearl Street Beverage
90) Penny Cluse Cafe
91) Pizza Hut
92) Pomodoros
93) Pub
94) Quiznos Sub
95) Radio Bean Coffeehouse
96) Radio Deli & Grocery
97) Rasputin's
98) Ray's Seafood Market
99) Red Onion Restaurant
100) Red Square Bar & Grill
101) Restaurant Marketing Svc
102) Ri Ra The Irish Pub
103) Riversedge Coffee Shop & Grill
104) Riverside Beverages
105) Robert's Deli
106) Roques Restaurante & Cantina
107) Ruben James Restaurant
108) Rusty Scuffer
109) Sage Coach
110) Sai-Gon Cafe & Lounge
111) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
112) Saldon Management Corp
113) Scrumptious
114) Seasonings Catering & Cake
115) Shalimar Of India
116) Shanty On The Shore
117) Signal To Noise
118) Smokejacks
119) Southern Soul
120) Souza's
121) Speeder & Earl's Coffee
122) Speeder & Earls
123) Splash At The Boathouse
124) Spring Discount Beverage
125) St Pierre Catering Svc
126) Starbucks
127) Starbucks
128) Stone Soup
129) Sugarsnap
130) Sweet Tomatoes Trattoria
131) Sweetwaters
132) T Rugg's Tavern
133) Taste Of Burlington
134) Ten Mothers American Bistro
135) Three Needs
136) Tommy's Grill
137) Top Of The Block
138) Trattoria Delia
139) Valencia
140) Vermont Pub & Brewery
141) Vermont Sandwich Co
142) Waggy's Store & Deli
143) Waterfront Catering Group
144) What Ale's You
145) Wyndham Burlington Hotel
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Nice place in the heart of d'town Burlington. Eight taps going on my visit to go along with a full bar. Tried a pint each of the Burly Irish Ale, Rocktoberfest and Blackwatch IPA. Good stuff. Big food menu. The veggie lasagna I had was great. Roomy dining area. One bar in the dining area, the other out in a greenhouse area. Also an outdoor patio when the weather accomodates. And if this place doesn't do it for you, American Flatbread is a half block away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(11/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good
A very attractive pub both inside and out. The wait staff seemed in tune with the crowd and were friendly, but the bar staff seemed snippy. Unfortunately my ratings reflect that as I was particularly put off but some of their comments to other folks in my party.

The Red Burly Irish Ale was what I expected and I would liked to have had another, but sensed we were on Mitzi's nerves so didn't dare ask. As I was about to leave another girl happened by and asked if I wanted anything, so I got a small Ethan Alien "Vermont Logger" and it was good as well.

Sorry to be slightly down on the place but we hit American Flatbread after this and, well, just read the review. Some people can handle busy and some can't.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
OVER 10 SELECTIONS OF QUALITY STUFF. I REALLLY LIKED THE IPA AND THE FORBIDDEN FRUIT (RASPBERRY BEER)...SO MUST OF THE GABF JUDGES!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(08/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Their Wee Heavy is to die for! Great food, wonderful establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Furst Glenn Furst, Eagle, WI
(05/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
We have found this to be a consistently great place for great beer, particularly styles from the British Isles. Usually there is something on cask and the balance of the selection will generally satisfy various tastes (e.g. usually a weiss bier for my wife). From my travels this establishment is a planned stop. Prost!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(11/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Stopped for a lunch. IPA was fine, Imperial IPA was better, more like a Northwest IPA. Stout was thin, Stout/Raspberry mix was overpowered by the raspberry. Mazern had nice malt flavor. Food was better than I remembered. Service was typical for area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Boise, ID
(10/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Great So So Good
VP&B has the look of a well financed touristy kind of spot. There is outdoor and indoor dining and a nice bar area.

We sat outside on a beautiful sunny day. Tasted a Red ale, brown, IPA, a wheat beer, smoked porter, and an Alt. All were decent beers. Nothing extraordinary but nothing bad either. The smoked porter didn't have much smoke character. If it is there, it is subtle. I ended up ordering a pint of the IPA and enjoyed it with a delicious sheppard's pie. I walked away pleased.

As a previous poster mentioned, this is nothing that you can't get at most any other decent brewpub around the nation. We did enjoy the food and beer. And prices were reasonble. That is about all you can ask for. One gripe I have with this, and most other, brewpubs is the lack of knowledgeable wait staff. Like so many other brewpubs, our waitress was totally ignorant of what went into their beers. I like to ask about the beer I am drinking and received blank stairs to my questions. Too bad, a knowledgeable staff can go a long way in improving a customers' experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Weaver Mike Weaver, Batavia, NY
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Great Great Good
When the Vt Pub and Brewery first opened, the microbrew pubs were a very new thing and everyone thought this was a great brewpub. Many years have gone by I now realize that the beer at this place is not as good as advertised. There are around 5 beers that they always have on tap and they all have the same "watery" characteristic. They will have seasonal beers on tap, but very often even though they are on the beer menu, there is no more left and I then have to get my normal Dogite Bitter. It's a nice hoppy beer but pretty watery. Most first timers enjoy the red ale, but that also gets old after a while.

The food, service, and atmosphere are very good, but you can get much getter beer quality and selection most everywhere in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Colchester, VT
(05/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy So So
my second time and my last. poor selection. service was very poor. to the gentleman's comment below, I do know good beer and gave it a 2nd chance from 2 years ago. go down the street to the flatbread grill brew pub. sorry my 2ยข

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gene gene, bloomsburg, PA
(06/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
A nice experience, the beers aren't anything above the average US brewpub selection, but that isn't a criticism, your brewpubs are splendid. All in all good beers, food & service, something your town should be proud of.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ALAN DOGGART ALAN DOGGART, POULTON-LE-FYLDE, UK
(11/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The beers were above average and the service was good. I stopped by twice, they have a really good IPA. It's definetly worth a visit, the pub is huge.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
As long as people enjoy drinking beer this brewery will flourish forever. With its live music almost every night, either inside or out, your bound to be entertained. To compliment the beer, the food that they turn out is above the average. With nice size portions and award winning entrees, youll find that the beer isnt the only thing worth trying at this brewery. Now about the beer. If your not used to the tradtional european practice of brewing your going to want to stick to the IPA or dog bite ale. To the beer afficinado this is a must on your to visit guide. They craft a true classic style of dark beers & pilsners. Along with the great staff this establishment is has alot to offer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ezra Behrends Ezra Behrends, Moline, IL
(03/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
I love this place! Great pub good with a nice selection of beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erin Erin, Boston, MA
(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We visted twice this passed weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the place. Food was very good and extremely reasonably priced. I tried the Irish Red Ale and the Stout. Found both to have good flavor but lacking a bit in body. The place was packed both nights, definitely a hot spot in Burlington. I will definitely be back next visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Leonardi Bill Leonardi, Laurel, NY
(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
The Dog Bite Bitter and Stout are spot on. Also enjoyed the IPA. This pub is a must when in Burlington.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Stevens Greg Stevens, Cleveland, OH
(09/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
different color beers but they do all taste rather insipid. touristy spot but nice deck in the summer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from al al, burlington, VT
(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
We spend last weekend in Stowe Vermont and took a day trip to Burlington. I stop to Burlington is never complete until you have a pint or two at the VT pub & brewery. The bartender on Saturday afternoon, I can't remember her name, was great and the beers were excellent. There are many breweries in Boston but Vermont is still the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jason, South Boston, MA
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
My wife and I would frequent this establishment often while I was employed in Essex Junction. Living in Dallas now and would kill for a good brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chuck Harden, Wappingers Falls, NY
(04/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
For the past 3 or 4 years I've been a frequent customer of the pub and brewery. The beer varies depending on the season but I have found that there are always a few good ones on the menu. My particular favorite is the Irish Stout. Ask the server if its available straight from the cask, it's worth it. It goes down smooth and is very easy to drink. Before you know it 7 or 8 have gone down the hatch and you are ready to head out visit the rest of the fine establishments that Burlington has to offer. In the summer the live bands can be quite entertaining. Lots of Dead, Phish, and other hippy rock covers. For a small town some of the talent is surprisingly good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John, Burlington, VT
(04/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John, Burlington, VT
(04/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
This was my first stop at a brewpub and since then I relate my experiences back to this night. We were heading out for dinner and I noticed their sign and said lets go in. Their beer was nice, with a good selection. I found the fact that they offered cask pulled beer as in the tradition of English real beer to be a treat. I of course order this right away. The bitter they offered was good. It flowed smooth across the tounge with a light mouthfeel and right into the back of the mouth. In the tradition of English bitters the taste was mellow and well rounded. Enough malt to hint at a sweetness with enough hop just to slightly suggest a bitterness when quaffed. It was a light red color with a beautiful white pillowy head. The other beer I tried was the IPA, it was distincly American. It was robustly hoppy without turning the tounge and had an inherit sweetness provided by what must be an ample amount of crystal malt. It was a darkish red color with suggestion of gold tinge and when poured it pick up a tall head of tinged white foam. The food I had was a simple sheperd's pie, and it was quite a generous portion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Hochgesang Justin Hochgesang, Yorktown Heights, NY
(12/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
I have to laugh at those above that gave Lousy ratings. They must not know what good beer really tastes like. I dare say the smoked porter at this place is the best I've ever had, and I've had quite a few in my years! I also tried the sampler, and I can't believe people say they can't tell the notice much of a difference between the beers. Their taste buds must be shot because I found a huge difference between them all, and they were all top notch beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from SG SG, Dublin, IR
(12/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
Disappointing. As I usually do, I ordered a sampler;they were bland with very little difference between most of the beers. My wife tends to drink the "lighter" beers up to a brown ale. It says it all when she ordered a "Burly Irish Ale". The IPA and Hopfest weren't that "hoppy", the Dogbite Bitter and Smokey Porter were barely adequate. The food was pretty good. The evening ended by being overcharged for a souvenirdidn't notice it 'til I was leaving a looked at their display case. (I collect one from each brewpub I visit). Those of you that rated this place highly, drive south and try McNeils.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob P Bob P, Ledyard, CT
(12/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great
I come from Germany and spended my holy- days in New England in October 2002. The visit in this pub was great. Food was very good and the service very friendly. My favorite beer was the Porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian Rau Christian Rau, Leipzig, Germany, XX
(10/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
What a wonderous variety of beers on tap. Truely not your typical brewpub. It has a nice comfortable atmosphere. Fast friendly service. The food, at least the burger and fries I had, were good. This is a great little brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Diamant Don Diamant, Milton, NH
(10/12/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.245 seconds) 00:09:48 54.205.182.45, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS