PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ashley's - Ann Arbor, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 08:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Ann Arbor > Ashley's
Ashley's Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Ashley's
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.7 / 100
338 South State Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
United States
(734) 996-9191
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: July 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Ann Arbor, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
23 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Arbor Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Grizzly Peak Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Conor O'Neill's Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) Amadeus Cafe and Restaurant
(0 mile)

6) Blue Tractor BBQ
(0 mile)

7) Jolly Pumpkin Cafe and Brewery
(2 miles)

8) Lord Fox
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Artful Lodger
2) Bed & Breakfast on Campus
3) Judy's Place B & B
4) Urban Retreat Bed & Breakfast
5) Vitosha Guest Haus
6) Wood's Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN AND STE ANN ARBOR
2) BELL TOWER HOTEL
3) BEST VALUE INN
4) CAMPUS INN
5) COMFORT INN AND BUSINESS CNTR
6) COMFORT INN ANN ARBOR
7) COURTYARD ANN ARBOR
8) DAYS INN ANN ARBOR
9) EXTENDEDSTAY DETROIT ANN ARBOR
10) FAIRFIELD INN ANN ARBOR
11) FOUR POINTS ANN ARBOR
12) HAMPTON INN ANN ARBOR NORTH
13) HAMPTON INN SOUTH
14) OAKWOOD ANN ARBOR
15) QUALITY INN AND STES ANN ARBOR
16) RED ROOF ANN ARBOR UNIV NORTH
17) RESIDENCE INN ANN ARBOR SOUTH
18) STUDIOPLUS DETROIT ANN ARBOR
19) SUPER 8 MOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Anderson, William, House
2) Ann Arbor Central Fire Station
3) Bell--Spalding House
4) Bennett, Henry, House
5) Delta Upsilon Fraternity House
6) Detroit Observatory
7) Dixboro United Methodist Church
8) Earl, Thomas, House
9) First National Bank Building
10) Frieze, Henry S., House
11) Germania Building Complex
12) Harris Hall
13) Hoffstetter, Jacob, House
14) Kellogg--Warden House
15) Main Street Post Office
16) Mechem, Floyd R., House
17) Methodist Episcopal Church Parsonage
18) Michigan Central Railroad Depot
19) Michigan Theater Building
20) Newberry Hall
21) Nickels Arcade
22) Northern Brewery
23) Palmer, William B. and Mary Shuford, House
24) President's House, University Of Michigan
25) Stone School
26) Ticknor, Dr. Benajah, House
27) Tuomy Hills Service Station
28) Unitarian Universalist Church
29) Weinmann Block
30) White, Orrin, House
31) Wilson, Judge Robert S., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Abe's Coney Island
3) Achilles Restaurant
4) Afternoon Delight
5) Ali-Baba
6) Amadeus Cafe
7) Amer's
8) Angelo's On The Side
9) Angelo's Restaurant
10) Arbor Brewing Co
11) Arby's
12) Arby's
13) Argiero's Italian Restaurant
14) Ashley's
15) Aut Bar
16) Azure Restaurant
17) B D's Mongolian Barbeque
18) Backroom
19) Banditos Inc
20) Banfield's Bar And Grill
21) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
22) Benny's Family Dining
23) Bev's Caribbean Kitchen
24) Blimpyburger
25) Blue Nile Of Ann Arbor
26) Bob's Big Boy
27) Boston Market
28) Broadway Cafe
29) Broken Egg
30) Burger King
31) Cafe Habana
32) Cafe Rendez-Vous
33) Caffe International
34) Campion Restuarant
35) Cava Java Bistro
36) Champion House
37) Chia Shiang Restaurant
38) China Gate Restaurant
39) Chop House
40) Cleveland's Gill & Grill
41) Cloverleaf Restaurant
42) Coffee Break
43) Conor O'neill's Traditional
44) Cottage Inn Pizza
45) Cottage Inn Pizza
46) Cottage Inn Pizza
47) Cottage Inn Pizza
48) Cubs' Ac
49) D Zanzibar
50) Daikalok Cafeteria
51) Dairy Queen
52) Denny's
53) Dinersty Restaurant
54) Dominick's
55) Earthen Jar
56) Escoffier
57) Espresso Caffe Corp
58) Espresso Royale Caffe
59) Espresso Royale Caffe Iii
60) Foods Of India
61) Frank's Restaurant
62) Fraser's Pub
63) Fuji Restaurant
64) Full Moon Restaurant & Saloon
65) Good Time Charley's
66) Gratzi
67) Heidelberg Restaurant
68) Hinodae
69) Iris Cafe
70) Jerusalem Garden
71) Jimmie Johns Gourmet Sandwich
72) Jimmy Johns Gourmet Sandwich
73) Joe Joe's Cafe & Raw Juices
74) Jonathon B Pub
75) Kai Garden
76) Kave's Kafe
77) Kerrytown Bistro
78) Lamplighter
79) Le Dog
80) Le Dog
81) Leo's Coney Island
82) Makkara
83) Manchu Wok
84) Mary's Fabulous Chicken
85) Max & Erma's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mediterrano
89) Michael's Chop House
90) Mitch's Place
91) Mr Greek's Coney Island
92) Mr Pita & The Coffee Beanery
93) Mr Pizza
94) Mr Spot's
95) New Star Chinese Restaurant
96) Northside Grill
97) Oasis Deli
98) Old China Restaurant
99) Olga's Kitchen Inc
100) Olive Garden
101) Oriental Express
102) Paesano's Restaurant
103) Palio
104) Panchero's Mexican Grill
105) Papa Chulo's
106) Parthenon Restaurant
107) Pita Pit
108) Pizza House
109) Ponderosa Steakhouse
110) Prickly Pear Southwest Cafe
111) Raja Rani
112) Real Seafood Co
113) Red Hawk Bar & Grill
114) Red Hot Lovers
115) Rick's American Cafe
116) Rod's Diner & Corp
117) Romano's Macaroni Grill
118) Sabor Latino
119) Saigon Garden
120) Sbarro
121) Seoul Garden
122) Seoul Korner Cafe
123) Seva Restaurant
124) Shalimar Restaurant
125) Shehan-Shah Indian Restaurant
126) Siam Cuisine
127) Sottini's Sub Shop
128) Southside Cafe
129) Steve's Lunch
130) Studio Four
131) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
132) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
133) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Sunflower Cafe
137) Sushi Shop
138) Sweet Lorraine's
139) Taste Of Italy
140) Tim Hortons
141) Tim Hortons
142) Tios Restaurant
143) Tony Ba'lony's Pizza & Subs
144) Touchdown Cafe
145) Tubby's Sub Shop
146) University Cafe
147) University Club
148) Victors At The Campus Inn
149) Villa Pizza
150) Wendy's
151) Wendy's
152) Wendy's
153) Wendy's
154) Yamato
155) Yes Sandwich Cafe
156) Zingerman's Catering
157) Zingerman's Delicatessen
158) Zydeco Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I'm heading to Ann Arbor for the 2010 Art Fair with some friends and my girlfriend...and all I can think about are all the beers that I am going to drink at Ashley's. If it's even half as good as when I was at UofM for undergrad then I am in for a great night. Feel safe knowing that after my night of drinking I will be taking a cab to my hotel...yes, I got a hotel for the night so I could enjoy a few more pints!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Brooklyn, NY
(07/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
Ashley's has opened up in Westland, MI. on the west side of Wayne Road north of Warren, in the building formerly occupied by Pizzeria Uno. Didn't actually count the taps-15 I think-but impressive! They rotate a number of them, including a Belgian, A national microbrew, and a Michigan made brew in the mix. If you can't get what you like on draft, the bottle menu massive. If you can't find a beer here, you might as well quit trying! Good selection of food too. Haven't been to the Ashley's in AA, but the location in Westland definitely has it's game on!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(03/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
THIS HAS TO BE IN THE MIX FOR THE BEST MULTI-TAP IN THE U.S. (ALONG WITH FALLING ROCK, MAP ROOM, TORANADO, ETC.) THE ONLY DRAWBACK IS THAT IT IS SO SMALL. SEVERAL BEER ENGINES WITH PLENTY OF VARIETY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Arguably the best bar in Michigan. A ton of great beers to choose from, with rare brews both in bottle and on tap. I have lived in Ann Arbor for several years and still have not tried them all!

The service is typically stellar but there are a few servers who are sub-par plus the occasional neophyte. But all are helpful in guiding you to a good beer selection amid the awe-inspiring diversity of options.

Getting a seat can be tough, due to this being a pretty small bar BUT in that case just head downstairs for a while and you can get a server to notify you when a table opens upstairs.

Bathrooms suck but that is to be expected in a college bar, methinks. Jukebox is sometimes too loud and smoke is sometimes problematic for those who mind it. But it would take a lot more than that to really detract from the quality of this great establishment.

P.S. the cheddar fries and bacon cheeseburger are excellent food choices for the health-unconscious consumer ;D

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrijus Perkunas Andrijus Perkunas, Harrisville, MI
(06/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Spent a weekend in Ann Arbor for a Wisconsin-Michigan football game; hoped to find a great place to drink great ales. Well, we found it! Great selection, cask ales, and rotating stock--what could be finer!

Our waiter, a young man from Philly, was very helpful. Being a hop-head, he identified with us right away and steered me to a Dogfish Head 90 Minute.....on freakin' cask!!

Oh, my, oh, my! Too bad Ann Arbor is so far from Madison, Wisconsin, or I'd be making weekend trips to this great bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from phil buteyn phil buteyn, madison, WI
(10/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This place is INCREDIBLE... the freakin' Baskin Robin's of beer!! Everytime I am in Detroit for business, I make a drive to Ann Arbor just to visit Ashley's. I always end up getting a sampler tray. They let you try things if you ask as well.

Recent favorites: Double Dimond and Old Speckled Hen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Bowling Green, KY
(07/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This place kicks ASS!! Boyfriend took me to this bar when I first moved out to Michigan. LOVE it and their HUGE selection of taps!! Had my bithday gathering here also. There's aomething for everyone, so it's a great place to have a party/get together.

Food is pretty good too. Fries are great! They don't have a lot of food selection, but what they have is pretty good.

Service is good too. Ask to try a few beers and they are cool about it. Always asking if you'd like a refill. :-) Which in my case is bad b/c I always say "YES!". They are great about giving suggestions. Every bartender/server has their own favorite, but they know all about what they serve, so it's a good thing to ask if you don't know. You won't be pushed in the wrong direction!

2 thumbs up to Ashley's! (More thumbs up if I had more thumbs!). :-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from June June, Ypsilanti, MI
(12/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Couldn't believe the selection of beers available. Since I had last been there (1 year ago) they have added even more draughts - I was told 70 in total! Food was pretty good, had the steak, girlfriend had a vegetarian item. All in All, I love this bar, the ambiance, the staff, EVERYTHING!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lloyd Lloyd, Livonia, MI
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Try the Founder's Dirty Bastard - A great Scottish on tap. Also the Arcadia ESP, Reissdorf Kolsh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brenna Brenna, Chicago, IL
(05/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Lousy Good Good
Food: I ordered the Artichoke Dip, which was cold and tasteless. The tortilla chips that accompanied the dip were stale. Just awful.

Beer: The selection is mesmerizing, and I had a fairly fresh pint of Anchor Steam, followed by a very good sampler of four Michigan beers.

Service: Not bad.

Atmosphere: I agree with some previous reviews that this place does feel a little cramped, otherwise it's a good place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Lyons Greg Lyons, Angola, IN
(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Beer selection is incredible; only concern is that since they have so many beers on tap, they can sit too long and go bad. Pretty crowded, but a great Ann Arbor hangout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amber Amber, Northville, MI
(12/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
This is a great beer bar, but I wish it was a bigger bar. There is very little room to sit at the bar, but the booth seating isn't bad. There is also a bar downstairs where you can get quite a few (but not all) of their beers. If you're looking to do some tasting, the sampler is a great option. This, along with Arbor Brewing, are two great options for fine ales in Ann Arbor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew L. Buteyn Matthew L. Buteyn, New Berlin, WI
(12/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Great
It's definitely the best beer bar for several hours in any direction, and it was cool to see a dynamic cross-section of people in there on a recent visit. About 60 on tap, with a strong import representation, as well as some very good Michigan choices (Bell's, Michigan Brewing, Dark Horse). My Dunkel tasted a little past its prime, but I would expect that with such a huge selection; although my Avery Redpoint and Crooked Tree IPA did taste fresh. My only complaint would be the smoke - it's hard to enjoy the beer when you're choking on 2nd hand tobacco. Still, a very good place and a Michigan gem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(09/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This place is (to the dedicated beer afficionado) mouth-hanging-wide-open incredible. Pub atmosphere with more than 60 beers on tap. I had a Rodenbach Red (Flanders Red Ale), Golden Draak, and Piraat, amongst others. Our server was courteous, though hazy on all the details of particular beers. She did provide four ounce 'tastes' as she explained they weren't taking any pints back because we didn't like them. We considered this more than fair. Many beers were servered with traditional temperature and carbonation levels - what might seem warm and flat to some. Again, we thought that was just the way it should be. I will definitely be getting back to this place as often as I can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from H D Stearns H D Stearns, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Lousy Great
If you order a beer and send it back because it is flat, don't tell the customer that you will re-pour the beer when you only topped it off. We could see this silly ba*tard top off my friends beer and tell him it's a brand new keg and should be fine. Then he wouldn't take the crap brew off the bill. I rate this place good because of it's selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew Wolf Matthew Wolf, Canton, MI
(07/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
so much beer to pick from that is my only prays and complaint tell me how do you pick out what you should try when they have about 50 taps with beer you have never tried and some you have never heard of lucky for me i just move to ann arbor

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael jones michael jones, marquette, MI
(12/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This was, by far, the most extensive beer selection I have ever seen in my life. There must have been 60 beers on tap from all around the world. Menu included a scale of how each beer rated in weight, flavor, etc. Very Impressed. Conner O'neils in Ann Arbor came in second. Another great bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Pratt Steve Pratt, Benton Harbor, MI
(08/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is the Best Beer Bar in America. True places like Taco Mac in Atlanta have more taps, but along with Falling Rock of Denver, these guys value every tap, and try to put the best beer in the world on every one. Recently had some Bell's Two Hearted IPA, Gulden Draak and Piraat from Belgium, and some Final Absolution from Dragonmead - and one mighty awesome headache! Only one negative comment: Now that we have entered a new decade, would someone consider cleaning the bathroom! It's not just a mess it is scary!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
If you like GREAT Beer(not water with yellow food coloring)and a GREAT atmosphere, you would have fun at ashley's. p.s. Hope to see everyone at the Ann Arbor Hash Bash April 1. and at ashley's for drinks. PEACE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Hoffman Jason Hoffman, Livonia, MI
(03/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Awesome!
Great tap selection an alright bottle selection usually busy all night. good food menu but the service i recived had to be from a rookie waiter....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt matt, detroit, MI
(12/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Great Beer Selection. If you have grown tired of the other neighborhood brews--Ashleys is a great alternative! They always have a large selection of micros (Bells on hand pull!), german & belgian styles on tap. If you are expecting to pay college bar prices in this college bar--You're in for a surprise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roy McConnell Roy McConnell, Cincinnati, OH
(03/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great Dark Beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sfrotman sfrotman, Ann Arbor, MI
(01/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Great Great
It always seems the best beers that I see on the menu are always out...Im always 5 minutes slow to getting Sierra Nevada celebration Ale on tap or other greatbrews that are RARE here in the mid-west

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Patterson John Patterson, Northville, MI
(10/01/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.366 seconds) 20:51:53 54.205.225.18, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS