PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


BarrelHouse Brewing Company - Cincinnati, OH
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 10:44 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OH > Cincinnati > BarrelHouse Brewing Company
BarrelHouse Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
BarrelHouse Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.6 / 100
544-B West Liberty Street
Cincinnati, OH 45214
United States
(513) 421-2337
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Cincinnati, OH
Beer Guide for Ohio

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of BarrelHouse Brewing Company
55 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(26 within 5 miles)
1) Hudepohl-Schoenling
(0 mile)

2) Rhinos
(1 mile)

3) Dewey's Pizza - Clifton
(1 mile)

4) Mecklenburg Gardens
(1 mile)

5) Christy's and Lenhardt's
(1 mile)

6) Holy Grail Tavern and Grille
(1 mile)

7) Courtyard Cafe
(2 miles)

8) Guido's Lounge
(2 miles)

9) Longworth's
(2 miles)

10) Grammer's
(2 miles)

11) Alive One
(2 miles)

12) Nicholson's Tavern and Pub
(2 miles)

13) Rock Bottom Brewery
(2 miles)

14) Arnold's Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

15) Pizzeria UNO and Chicago Grill
(2 miles)

16) Fries Cafe
(2 miles)

17) Sunflower Coffee House and Beer Garden
(2 miles)

18) Jack Quinn's
(4 miles)

19) Cock and Bull English Pub
(4 miles)

20) Strasse Haus
(4 miles)

21) The Comet
(4 miles)

22) Northside Tavern
(4 miles)

23) Beer Sellar
(4 miles)

24) Dewey's Pizza
(4 miles)

25) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

26) Hofbrauhaus Newport
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Amos Shinkle Townhouse
2) Arlene's Stone Porch B & B
3) Ash-Ley House Bed & Breakfast
4) Christopher's Bed & Breakfast
5) Clifton House
6) Gateway Bed & Breakfast
7) Mary's Belle View Inn
8) Parker House Bed & Breakfast
9) Phuntsok Dechen Ling
10) Sandford House Bed & Breakfast
11) Symphony Hotel Bed & Breakfast
12) Weller Haus Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FORT MITCHELL INN
2) BRIDGESTREET GRAMERCY GARFIELD
3) CINCINNATI NEAR DOWNTOWN
4) CINCINNATI RIVERFRONT
5) CINCINNATIAN HOTEL
6) COMFORT SUITES NEWPORT
7) EXTENDEDSTAY COVINGTON
8) FOUR POINTS SHERATON DOWNTOWN
9) GARFIELD SUITES HOTEL
10) HANNAFORD SUITES HOTEL NEWPOR
11) HILTON CINCINNATI NETHERLAND
12) HYATT REGENCY CINCINNATI
13) MARRIOTT CVG RVR CTR
14) MARRIOTT KINGSGATE CONFERENCE
15) MILLENNIUM HOTEL
16) OAKWOOD DOWNTOWN CINCINNATI
17) RADISSON CINCINNATI RIVERFRONT
18) RAMADA INN CINCINNATI DOWNTOWN
19) RAMADA INN FT WRIGHT
20) SUPER 8 FT. MITCHELL
21) TERRACE HOTEL CINCINNATI
22) THE VERNON MANOR HOTEL
23) THE WESTIN CINCINNATI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aklemeyer Commercial Buildings
2) Alexandra, The
3) Alms and Doepke Dry Goods Company
4) Apostolic Bethlehem Temple Church
5) B & O Freight Terminal
6) Baker, John S., House
7) Balch House
8) Bauer Apartments
9) Bavarian Brewing Company
10) Beard, Daniel Carter, Boyhood Home
11) Beech Avenue Houses
12) Bellevue
13) Bellevue High School
14) Boulter, Cedric G., and Patricia Neils, House
15) Brittany Apartment Building
16) Burckhardt, A. E., House
17) Burdsal, Samuel, House
18) Burroughs, C. H., House
19) Calvary Episcopal Church Sunday School
20) Capt. Stone House
21) Carew Tower
22) Cathedral Basilica of the Assumption
23) Church, John, Company Building
24) Cincinnati and Suburban Telephone Company Building
25) Cincinnati City Hall
26) Cincinnati Enquirer Building
27) Cincinnati Gymnasium and Athletic Club
28) Cincinnati Music Hall
29) Cincinnati Tennis Club
30) Cincinnati Work House and Hospital
31) Coca-Cola Bottling Corporation
32) Cote Bonneville
33) Court Street Firehouse
34) Courtland Flats
35) Covenant First Presbyterian Church
36) Covington and Cincinnati Suspension Bridge
37) Covington Downtown Commercial Historic District (Boundary Increase)
38) Cox, George B., House
39) Cox, Jacob D., House
40) Cummins School
41) Cuvier Press Club
42) Davidson, Tyler, Fountain
43) Dayton High School
44) Derby, H. W., Building
45) Detmer, A. M., House
46) Doctors' Building
47) Domhoff Buildings
48) East Walnut Hills Firehouse
49) Eckert Building
50) Eden Park Stand Pipe
51) Eden Park Station No. 7
52) Edgecliff
53) Eighteenth District School
54) Eleventh District School
55) Elmwood Hall
56) Fairfield Avenue Historic District
57) Fenwick Club Annex
58) Field, Walter, House
59) Findlay Market Building
60) First Congregational-Unitarian Church
61) First German Methodist Episcopal Church
62) First Universalist Church
63) Foote--Fister Mansion
64) Ford Motor Company Cincinnati Plant
65) Friedlander, Abraham J., House
66) GAR Monument in Covington
67) Gerrard, Stephen A., Mansion
68) Gilbert Row
69) Goldsmith, Moses, Building
70) Goodall Building
71) Goshorn, Sir Alfred T., House
72) Grace Church
73) Gruen Watch Company--Time Hill
74) Gwynne Building
75) Haddon Hall
76) Hamilton County Memorial Building
77) Hannaford, Samuel, House
78) Hearne House
79) Hemann, Joseph A., House
80) Hewson-Gutting House
81) Hoffner Historic District
82) Hooper Building
83) House at 855-857 Oak Street
84) House at 859 Oak Street
85) Hulbert House and McAlpin Bridal Cottage
86) Hulbert House and McAlpin Bridal Cottage
87) Hummel, George, House
88) Ida Street Viaduct
89) Ingalls Building
90) JOHN W. HUBBARD (sternwheeler)
91) Kenney's Crossing
92) Kenton County Library
93) Krippendorf-Dittman Company
94) Kruempelman Farmhouse
95) Krumberg, Theodore, Building
96) Lloyd, John Uri, House
97) Lombardy Apartment Building
98) Ludlow Lagoon Clubhouse
99) Lunkenheimer, Frederick, House
100) Madam Fredin's Eden Park School and Neighboring Row House
101) MAJESTIC
102) Maxwell House
103) May, David and Mary, House
104) Mayer, S. C., House
105) Mecklenburg's Garden
106) Melbourne Flats
107) Miller, Charles A., House
108) Mills' Row
109) Mitchell, Richard H., House
110) Monmouth Street Historic District
111) Moormann, Bernard H., House
112) Morrison House
113) Moser Family Houses
114) Mother Of God Roman Catholic Church
115) Mount Adams Public School
116) Newport and Cincinnati Bridge
117) Newport and Cincinnati Bridge
118) Newport and Cincinnati Bridge
119) Newport and Cincinnati Bridge
120) Northern Bank of Kentucky
121) Northside United Methodist Church
122) Odd Fellows Hall
123) Ohio National Guard Armory
124) Old St. Mary's Church, School and Rectory
125) Our Lady of Mercy High School
126) Palace Hotel
127) Palace Theatre
128) Park Flats
129) Patton, Robert, House
130) Pendleton, George Hunt, House
131) Pfleger Family Houses
132) Phoenix Building/Cincinnati Club
133) Phoenix Club
134) Pilgrim Presbyterian Church
135) Plum Street Temple
136) Police Station No. 2
137) Police Station No. 3
138) Police Station No. 5
139) Police Station No. 7
140) Posey Flats
141) Powell, Henry, House
142) Power Building
143) Probasco Fountain
144) Probasco, Henry, House
145) Procter and Collier-Beau Brummell Building
146) Race Street Historic District
147) Ransley Apartment Building
148) Ratterman, Bernard, House
149) Rattermann, Heinrich A., House
150) Rawson House
151) Resor, William, House
152) Rookwood Pottery
153) Ropes, Nathaniel, Building
154) Russell, Charles B., House
155) Sacred Heart Academy
156) Sacred Heart Church
157) Salem Methodist Episcopal Church and Parsonage
158) Sauer, August, House
159) Saxony Apartment Building
160) Scarlet Oaks
161) Scott, George, House
162) Seiter, Joseph, House
163) SHOWBOAT MAJESTIC
164) Southgate-Parker-Maddux House
165) Spring Grove Cemetery Chapel
166) St. Francis De Sales Church Historic District
167) St. Francis Hospital
168) St. Francis Xavier Church
169) St. George Parish and Newman Center
170) St. Patrick's Catholic Church
171) St. Paul Church Historic District
172) St. Paul's Episcopal Church
173) St. Peter's Lick Run Historic District
174) St. Peter-In-Chains Cathedral
175) St. Vincent de Paul School
176) Stowe, Harriet Beecher, House
177) Taft Museum
178) Third Street Motor Car Company Building
179) Times-Star Building
180) Trinity Episcopal Church
181) Underwriters Salvage Corps
182) Veteran's Monument in Covington
183) Wadsworth Electric Manufacturing Company
184) Wallace, Charlton, House
185) Walnut Hills United Presbyterian Church
186) Westwood United Methodist Church
187) William Howard Taft National Historic Site
188) Wilson-Gibson House
189) Winton Place Methodist Episcopal Church
190) Wolfe, Mary A., House
191) Worth, Gorham A., House
192) Wright, Daniel Thew, House
193) Young Women's Christian Association of Cincinnati
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1132 Bar
2) A J Fish Chicken
3) Acropolis Chili Restaurant
4) Addis Zemen Restaurant
5) Aioli
6) Akash India Restaurant
7) Alabama Fish Bar
8) Albee Restaurant
9) Ambar India Restaurant
10) Amol Indian Restaurant
11) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
12) Aramark Sports & Entertainment
13) Arby's
14) Arby's
15) Arby's
16) Arby's Roast Beef Restaurants
17) Arloi Dee
18) Arnold's Bar & Grill
19) Aroma Coffee House
20) Arsh Restaurant
21) Atlanta Bread Co
22) Audit Force
23) Awakenings Coffee & Tea Co
24) B B Riverboats Inc
25) B-G Restaurant
26) Baba Budans Espresso Bar
27) Bagel Brothers
28) Bagel Shop
29) Bambach Catering
30) Barleycorn's Sixth Inc
31) Barrellhouse Brewing Co
32) Bassano's Restaurant
33) Bay Horse Cafe
34) Behle Street Cafe
35) Benihana
36) Benson's Catering Inc
37) Biatio's Bistro
38) Big Easy Cajun
39) Boston Market
40) Bridges A Deli
41) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
42) Burger King
43) Burger King
44) Burrito Joe's
45) C & A Food Carry Out
46) Cactus Pear Restaurant
47) Cafe
48) Cafe Americana
49) Cafe Cin-Cin
50) Cafe De Paris
51) Caffe Tazza
52) Calabash
53) California Orange Bars
54) Camp Washington Chili Inc
55) Carol's On Main
56) Central Park Cafe
57) Champs At The Hyatt
58) Charlie's Bar & Restaurant
59) Chicago Gyros
60) Chicago Style Fish & Chicken
61) Chick-Fil-A
62) Chili Co
63) China Foods
64) China House
65) China Kitchen
66) Chinese Combo King
67) Chipotle Mexigan Grill Inc
68) Cilantro Vietnamese Bistro
69) Cincinnati Catering
70) Cincy Deli & Ice Co
71) Claudias Catering
72) Club Fed
73) Cody's Cafe
74) Cold Stone Creamery
75) Corinthian Restaurant & Lounge
76) Cornell's Grocery Store
77) Courtyard Cafe On Main
78) Cutters American Bar
79) D K Market & Deli
80) Deelites Dairy Bar
81) Diane's Restaurant
82) Diner On Sycamore
83) Donatos Pizza
84) Dooley's
85) Down To The Bone
86) Dunlap Cafe
87) E Room Restaurant
88) Edwardo's Natural Pizza
89) Fast Freddies
90) Fatcats Pub
91) Fifth & Vine Street Bar
92) First Watch
93) Floyd's Restaurant
94) Frisch's Big Boy Restaurant
95) Frisch's Big Boy Restaurant
96) Frisch's Big Boy Restaurant
97) G Jay's Delicatessen & Pony
98) Gold Star Chili
99) Gold Star Chili
100) Gold Star Chili
101) Gold Star Chili
102) Golden Lions Lounge
103) Golden Nugget
104) Golden Skillet
105) Grammer's Restaurant
106) Great Steak & Fry
107) Habenero Latin American
108) Hamburger Johnny's
109) Hamburger Marys
110) Hammerhead Coffee Cafe Inc
111) Happy Wok
112) Hardee's
113) Hathaway Restaurant Inc
114) Helen's Corner Deli
115) Highland Coffee House
116) Hilvers Catering
117) Holy Grail
118) Hopsings
119) In Between
120) In The Woods Tavern
121) Isadore's Pizzeria
122) Isco Limited
123) Izzy Kadetz Inc
124) Izzy Kadetz Inc
125) J D's Honky Tonk & Emporium
126) Javier's Mexican Restaurant
127) Jeckle's In Hyde Park
128) Jeff Ruby Steak House
129) Jersey Mikes Subs
130) Jimmy John's
131) Joey's Delicatessen
132) Journey's End
133) Jump Cafe & Bar
134) Junebug Riverside Bar BQ
135) Kaldi's Coffee House
136) Katz's Deli Inc
137) Kfc
138) Kfc
139) King Wok
140) Ko-Sho Japanese Restaurant
141) Krishna
142) La Normandie
143) La Rosa's Inc
144) Le Boxx Express
145) Lenhardt's Restaurant
146) Lillies Home Cooking & Ctrng
147) Little Bit Bar
148) Longhorn Steakhouse
149) Lytle Food Shoppe
150) Mac's Pizza Pub
151) Mack's Tavern
152) Mad Frog
153) Madonna's Bar & Brill
154) Main Street Wok
155) Maisonette
156) Mama Joe's Pizza
157) Marco Polo's
158) Martin's Home Cooking
159) Martino's Restaurant
160) Mayura Indian Restaurant
161) Mc Donald's
162) Mc Donald's
163) Mc Donald's
164) Mediterranean House
165) Mike Fink Restaurant
166) Millennium Hotel
167) Minis Deli
168) Morton's Of Chicago
169) Mullane's Cafe
170) Murphy's Pub
171) Murray's Wings
172) My Good Friend Donny's Rstrnt
173) My Three Chefs
174) Myra's Dionysus Restaurant
175) New Amber Restaurant
176) New Playhouse
177) New York Sub
178) Nicola's Restorante
179) Noah's Ark
180) Notion Nitelife
181) Ogden's Place
182) Ollie's Trolley
183) On Broadway
184) One Stop Delicatessen & Bar
185) Orient Restaurant
186) Palace Restaurant
187) Palm Court
188) Palomino Restaurant Rotisseria
189) Papa Dino's Pizza
190) Papa John's Pizza
191) Papa John's Pizza
192) Paradise Coffee Shop
193) Parktown Cafe
194) Patoshniks
195) Paula's
196) Paula's On Fifteen
197) Penn Station
198) Penn Station
199) Penn Station Steak & Sub
200) Petersen's
201) Phoenix
202) Phoenix Cafe
203) Phraimworks Inc
204) Pizza Hut
205) Pizzeria Uno
206) Plaza 600
207) Pomodori's Pizzeria
208) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
209) Potato King Restaurant
210) Primavista
211) Primo Delicafe
212) Proud Rooster Restaurant
213) Queen Ann Grill & Bar
214) Quizno's Classic Subs
215) Quizno's Classic Subs
216) Rally's Hamburgers Inc
217) Red Fox Grill
218) Red Pepper
219) Red Squirrel
220) Red Squirrel Restaurant
221) Redfish Restaurant
222) Rhine Room Restaurant
223) Richie's Fast Food Restaurant
224) Riverfront Banquet Ctr
225) Rock Bottom Brewery
226) Roly Poly Rolled Sandwich
227) Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches
228) Roma Ristorante
229) Rookwood Ice Cream Parlor
230) Ruby Tuesday
231) S & S Bar B Que
232) S & S Railroad Deli
233) Sakkio Japan
234) Sasari Restaurant
235) Sbarro
236) Scotti's Italian Restaurant
237) Seafood 32
238) Shanghai Mama's
239) Shrimpy's
240) Skyline Chili Inc
241) Skyline Chili Inc
242) Skyline Chili Inc
243) Skyline Chili Inc
244) Skyline Chili Inc
245) Sophia's Deli & Restaurant
246) Sports Page Restaurant
247) Sports Page Restaurant
248) Spot Bar
249) Starbucks
250) Stengers Cafe
251) Stockyard Cafe
252) Submarine Galley Subs & Spirit
253) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
254) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
255) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
256) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
257) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
258) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
259) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
260) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
261) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
262) Sudsy Malone's Rock & Roll Bar
263) Sunflower Coffee Shop
264) Taco Bell
265) Taco Bell
266) Taco Casa Restaurant
267) Taft Field Tavern
268) Taste Buds
269) Teezs
270) Temple Restaurant
271) Tgi Friday's
272) Thai Cafe
273) Thai Express
274) Thai Taste
275) Tink's Cafe
276) Trotters Cafe
277) Tucker's Restaurant
278) Tuckers Restaurant
279) Twin Trolley
280) U S Chili
281) Ulysses Whole World Foods
282) Uncle Woody's
283) United Restaurant
284) Uno Chicago Bar & Grill
285) Uno Of Cincinnati
286) Venice Pizza
287) Vindu Indian Carry Out
288) Vine Street Kafe
289) Wah Mee Restaurant
290) Wall Street Deli
291) Wall Street Deli
292) Washington Platform Saloon
293) Wendy's
294) Wendy's
295) Wendy's
296) Wendy's
297) Wendy's
298) White Castle
299) White Castle
300) Yeatman's Seafood Cantina
301) Yum Yum Chinese Restaurant
302) Zebo's Bistro
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Barrelhouse Brewery closed sometime in mid 2010 - a sad day in Cincinnati brewing history. Anyone have any idea if there is a chance of the phoenix rising from the ashes?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Avey Avey, Cincinnati, OH
(01/11/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Their new bottling machine arrived the week of March 17. They soon will be filling 22 oz. bottles. As indicated by others they are strickly a production brewery. No tap room but they do fill and sell growlers at the brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
open but relocated...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Reopened and now at a new address as now noted.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Katy, TX
(12/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
The BarrelHouse microbrewery has NOT shut down; only the brewpub. All the equipment (and the brewmaster) were moved a mile or two away into a new building. They are not only continuing to serve all their bar and restaurant accounts, but they also are planning start bottling at least a few of their beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Westemeier Ed Westemeier, Cincinnati, OH
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
According to their website they will be opening over on West Liberty Street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Milan, MI
(04/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Amen to that. Maybe if everyone's really lucky, an Applebee's, TGIF, or Chili's will open there. AND maybe they'll serve Bud!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
"Closed 2/28/05 after sale of assets & recipes to local boutique brewery firm." Well Christ on stilts. How is it that great places like this keep closing down while swill peddlars like Ram and Rock Bottom not only thrive but spread like a bad disease?

Hmph.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(04/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed 2/28/05 after sale of assets & recipes to local boutique brewery firm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lee Lee, Cincinnati, OH
(03/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The Barrelhouse hits a homerun with me everytime I go. They have a huge selection of craft brewed beers, currently my favorite is the Indie Black Ale (if I have to pick just one) and a great selection of food. The location that they are in is the only knock I can give them. Parking is at a premium as it's largely on street parking. But with a little patience you can normally find a spot not far from the front door. For me it is quite a drive to get there, but I know that once I'm there, I'm sure to find a great pint of beer in front of me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Short Doug Short, Indian Springs, OH
(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Decent enough, nice place. None of the beers rocked my world, but of the four I tried three were brewed well and were drinkable.

I'd go again.

Bready - SEA WA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from troy troy, Seattle, WA
(02/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Eight offerings on this visit. I enjoyed the nitro pale ale and the Sternwheeler stout the most. Decent amount of traffic for a mid-afternoon stop. The chicken chili was great, but I guess you expect that when in Cinci. Were advertising a brew fest for the 2nd weekend of Dec--sounded like it would be a good time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
I just had the IPA--they were out of the cask conditioned stuff. It was not top-notich but quite drinkable. The neighborhood is not inviting and I wouldn't recommend exploring it much at night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alex Bensky Alex Bensky, Detroit, MI
(07/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Arrived during the lunch hours and found a parking spot just down from the entrance. As I had read previous reviews about the neighborhood, I kept a watchful eye to form my own opinion. When I went in, I was happily surprised with 12 offerings on tap! I purchased two samplers to go along with my lunch (beer cheese soup was great!) and enjoyed the ride. Vandermeer 00 (an old ale) was very tasty as was the Belgian winter. When I went out to hit the meter and it took a few moments, the bartender asked where I had parked, I told him not far, but that I had stopped to see a woman screaming at (imaginary?) things. "Yeah, we get hookers, crackheads around here" Too bad that an above average place is saddled with this sort of area. I'd make a (daytime) visit again, though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Oatmeal stout was very good--service and food were way up there. Would go out of my way to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terrigirl Terrigirl, Jewett, OH
(05/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
This place is all business. A nice, big, open, airy atmosphere with no gimmicks, post-modern decor or pretense of being hipper-than-thou. (That didn't stop a couple of hipster-wannabes from finding their way to this place. Cincinnati hipsters -- now that's funny.)

While the brewpub standard seems to be 5 or 7 varieties available, BarrelHouse had over a dozen. Nice variety. The quality of the beer ranged from quite good to dead-on. The pilsener, blonde and bock were right on style. The wheat was close, but a bit watery. The cream ale was, well, creamy or something. The IPA, like almost every other American iteration of the style, was way too bitter. The red also struck me as being excessively bitter for the style, and with not enough floral bouquet. The porter was nice and roasty and appropriately hopped. My favorite was the Scotch ale. It was a little too cloying to be true to the style, but in its own right it was an extraordinarily big tasty complex brew.

I wasn't terribly hungry so I didn't try the food, though other patrons vouched for its quality. I guess I'll take their word for it.

My server was a stocky black guy whose name eludes me for the moment. The poor guy was the only server there, keeping tabs on 7 or 8 parties scattered throughout the place, and doing an outstanding job of it. Kudos to the (short-staffed) service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
All is forgiven. Back in town on business. After reading the positive reviews of this place, we had to try again. This time we found a parking place directly across the street. A good start. No cover charge this time. It was early in the day. Our first impression suggested an honest, unpretentious bar that is about the beer. Too many brewpubs are now about catering to the yuppie crowd. See and be seen. The beer is an afterthought. Not at BarrelHouse. I led off with “You got Bud Light?” Always interesting to see the bartender’s reaction. Got a You must be crazy look and a polite “No”. At BarrelHouse they serve only their own. And they are rightly proud of their offerings. The bartender offered samples. My first pint was their Pale Ale. Hoppy, floral and outstanding. I then tried their Imperial Stout. Nectar. This place is fine. We happened to be sitting next to the assistant brewmaster. Had a great conversation. He suggested the Vandermeer 00 Strong Ale. Named for double no hit Johnny Vandermeer. I had a pint. Spectacular. Don’t worry about the neighborhood. The beer is worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Checkosky Steve Checkosky, Syracuse, NY
(11/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Back in Cinti for a brief visit and had a chance to come back. Didn't want to come when there was a cover charge for music we didn't like, so we arrived in the afternoon. This beer is terrific! From the Sternwheeler Stout that my friend had, to the Vandermeer 00 (a strong ale) that I had, we were happy we were able to make this stop again (it's been a little over a year since we were able to come here). Their Cumberland Pale Ale (really an IPA) was also good. Love the Cinti names - Flying Pig Pilsner, Redlegg Ale, etc. But our favorites were the Vandermeer (guess who that's named after!) and the Stout. Excellent beers. And we were pleased to find some at a Cinti restaurant we went to later. This place is a must stop. Yep, the neighborhood isn't the best in Cinti, but the beer is definitely worth going for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(11/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Have gone to a brewpub in a rougher neighborhood while in Detroit, however, was pleasantly rewarded by some great beer at this establishment. Definitely worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Henry Robert Henry, Atlanta, GA
(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
The Bsrrel House by far one of my favorite palces in Cincinnati. I am so spoiled by their beer that I have a hard time drinking anyting bottled. My favorite is the Nitro Pale Ale which uses nitrogen instead of carbon dioxide. Its ultra smooth and very very tasty. There are only two beer I would never order again, their cream ale which has no real taste and the Real Firken Ale which isn't my cup of tea. As many have stated the Hefeweisen is excellent as is their Red. I am headed there soon to hopefully try their new Hopped to Hell IPA. You can't really go wrong with any of their beers though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cameron, Alexandria, KY
(04/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Barrelhouse just added an IPA to their list, and it's a very strong, highly hopped IPA. It's outstanding. They also have a great Helles Bock right now. Their pale ale and stout are excellent year-round beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Good Great
Although unable to visit the brewpub, I fortunately was able to try four of their beers at the Cincinnati Oktoberfest. Fresh from the keg, outdoors, with Germanic food and music, is a great way to enjoy beer! These four were great. I am uploading a photo of their beer trailer/booth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stewart Eastman Stewart Eastman, New Orleans, LA
(12/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I visited the BarrelHouse over the weekend in order to take part in their annual Microbrew Festival. I was very impressed with the selection of micros at the festival, and the beers served by the BarrelHouse were all very good.

Pizza, German-style sausage and other finger-foods were provided during the event and all were very good brewpub fare. A bluegrass band was brought in which enhanced the festive atmosphere. All in all it was well worth the trip to attend the event, although I would like to return sometime to just sit down and eat their food with a full glass of one of their beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Micah Siegmund Micah Siegmund, Columbus, OH
(11/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So So So
The music scene isn't that great, and it really takes away from the pleasure of just having a couple of pints with some friends over conversation, which is generally much better than what the bands are providing. If you can't make it during the few hours before the music starts, you should definitely grab a growler and get the beers to go...definitely worth it!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Telly Telly, Covington, KY
(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
In town on business staying in Florence, KY, just across the river. We checked PubCrawler as always to find a place for a few good brews and some food. Nothing in Northern Kentucky. Oldenberg had closed and no brepubs in Covington. On to Porkopolis. As other reviewers have mentioned, The Barrelhouse is in a rough neighborhood. So we arrived before 8. It was still light. In fact the area around Barrelhouse is very rough. Undaunted, we parked the car and made our way. When we got there, a guy at the door asked for $10 from the 2 of us to get in. There was music tonight. I told the greeter that we didn't want music, just good beer, food and a friendly atmosphere. No deal. We left and went to the Rock Bottom on Fountain Square. Good, not great. When we returned to our hotel, we read that there was a mini riot in the Barrelhouse area the night before. Car windows were smashed and people driving through were threatened. My advice: Call ahead and watch the news before risking a trip. Damn shame.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Checkosky Steve Checkosky, Syracuse, NY
(04/29/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.062 seconds) 22:44:28 23.23.57.182, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS