PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Church Brew Works - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 02:09 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > The Church Brew Works
The Church Brew Works Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Church Brew Works
Overall: Great    Score: 78.1 / 100
3525 Liberty Avenue
Pittsburgh , PA 15201
United States
(412) 688-8200
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of The Church Brew Works
157 Reviews / 13 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Tue 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Wed 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Thu 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(69 within 5 miles)
1) New Amsterdam
(0 mile)

2) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

3) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(0 mile)

4) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(1 mile)

5) Brillobox
(1 mile)

6) Lot 17
(1 mile)

7) Bites and Brews
(2 miles)

8) Harris Grill
(2 miles)

9) Pittsburgh Deli Company
(2 miles)

10) Casbah Mediterranean Kitchen and Wine Bar
(2 miles)

11) Point Brugge Cafe
(2 miles)

12) Red Room Cafe and Lounge
(2 miles)

13) Kelly's Bar and Lounge
(2 miles)

14) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

15) Salt of the Earth
(2 miles)

16) Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
(2 miles)

17) Fuel and Fuddle
(2 miles)

18) India Garden
(2 miles)

19) Aspinwall Grille
(2 miles)

20) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

21) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

22) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

23) Eleven
(2 miles)

24) Gooski's
(2 miles)

25) Meat and Potatoes
(2 miles)

26) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(3 miles)

27) Cioppino
(3 miles)

28) Gene's Last Chance
(3 miles)

29) Six Penn Kitchen
(3 miles)

30) Market Street Ale House
(3 miles)

31) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(3 miles)

32) Roland's Seafood Grill
(3 miles)

33) Kaya
(3 miles)

34) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(3 miles)

35) The Parlour
(3 miles)

36) Bru Lounge
(3 miles)

37) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(3 miles)

38) Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
(3 miles)

39) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(3 miles)

40) Finnigan's Wake
(3 miles)

41) Monterey Pub
(3 miles)

42) East End Brewing Company
(3 miles)

43) Bangkok Balcony
(3 miles)

44) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Restaurant
(3 miles)

45) Squirrel Hill Cafe aka The Cage
(3 miles)

46) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(4 miles)

47) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

48) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

49) S Bar
(4 miles)

50) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

51) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

52) UUBU6
(4 miles)

53) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

54) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

55) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

56) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

57) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

58) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

59) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

60) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

61) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

62) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(4 miles)

63) Grandview Saloon
(5 miles)

64) Packs and Dogs
(5 miles)

65) D's Six Packs and Dogz
(5 miles)

66) The Map Room
(5 miles)

67) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

68) Burgatory Bar
(6 miles)

69) Beer Nutz Bottle Shop
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Appletree Bed & Breakfast
2) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
3) Le Domanine
4) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
5) Priory Inn
6) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
2) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
3) HILTON PITTSBURGH
4) MORNING GLORY INN
5) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
6) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
7) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
8) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
9) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
10) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
11) THE PRIORY HOTEL
12) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Allerdice, Taylor, High School
6) Alpha Terrace Historic District
7) Armstrong Tunnel
8) Armstrong Tunnel
9) Arsenal Junior High School
10) Baxter High School
11) Bayard School
12) Bedford School
13) Beechwood Elementary School
14) Beltzhoover Elementary School
15) Bindley Hardware Company Building
16) Birmingham Public School
17) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
18) Bost Building
19) Bridge in Shaler Township
20) Buhl Building
21) Burke Building
22) Butler Street Gatehouse
23) Byers-Lyons House
24) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
25) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
26) Colfax Elementary School
27) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
28) Conroy Junior High School
29) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
30) Dilworth Elementary School
31) Dollar Savings Bank
32) Duquesne Incline
33) East Liberty Market
34) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
35) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
36) Evergreen Hamlet
37) Ewart Building
38) Fifth Avenue High School
39) Firstside Historic District
40) Fort Pitt Elementary School
41) Fortieth Street Bridge
42) Foster School
43) Frick Building and Annex
44) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
45) Fulton Building
46) Fulton Elementary School
47) Gardner-Bailey House
48) Greenfield Elementary School
49) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
50) Heathside Cottage
51) Henderson-Metz House
52) Highland Building
53) Highland Towers Apartments
54) Hoene-Werle House
55) Homestead High-Level Bridge
56) Homestead Pennsylvania Railroad Station
57) House at 200 West North Avenue
58) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
59) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
60) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
61) Hunt Armory
62) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
63) Knoxville Junior High School
64) Larimer School
65) Latimer School
66) Lawrence Public School
67) Lemington Elementary School
68) Letsche Elementary School
69) Liberty Bridge
70) Liberty School No. 4, Friendship Building
71) Lightner, Isaac, House
72) Lincoln Elementary School
73) Linden Avenue School
74) Longfellow School
75) Madison Elementary School
76) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
77) McCleary Elementary School
78) Monongahela Incline
79) Moreland-Hoffstot House
80) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
81) Ninth Street Bridge
82) Oakland Public School
83) Old Heidelberg Apartments
84) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
85) Park Place School
86) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
87) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
88) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
89) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
90) Perry High School
91) Phipps Conservatory
92) Phipps--McElveen Building
93) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
94) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
95) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
96) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
97) Rodef Shalom Temple
98) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
99) Schenley High School
100) Schiller Elementary School
101) Scott, James, House
102) Sellers House
103) Seventh Street Bridge
104) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
105) Singer, John F., House
106) Sixteenth Street Bridge
107) Sixth Street Bridge
108) Smithfield Street Bridge
109) Snyder, William Penn, House
110) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
111) South Side High School
112) South Side Market Building
113) South Tenth Street Bridge
114) Springfield Public School
115) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
116) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
117) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
118) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
119) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
120) Sterrett Sub-District School
121) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
122) Union Trust Building
123) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
124) Washington Vocational School
125) Westinghouse High School
126) Whitehill-- Gleason Motors
127) Wightman School
128) William Penn Hotel
129) Woods, John, House
130) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Lounge
2) Abay Ethiopian Cuisine
3) Adrian's Pizza
4) Alexander's Pasta Express
5) Angelo's Pizzeria
6) Anna Misiaszek
7) Anthon's Restaurant & Bakery
8) Armand's Bar
9) Arsenal Public House
10) Atria's Restaurant & Tavern
11) Avanti Uno
12) Bar Millvale
13) Barbs Country Kitchen
14) Baum Vivant
15) Bellini Mediterranean Cuisine
16) Bikki
17) Bill's Tavern
18) Bloomfield Distributing Co
19) Bloomfield Sandwich Shop
20) Boo's Inc
21) Boston Market
22) Bottles Pub
23) Break-N-Eat Ind Caterers
24) Buffalo Blues
25) Burger King
26) Cafe Bellas
27) Cafe Sam
28) Cafe Soiree
29) Cafe Zinho
30) Calabria's Italian Restaurant
31) Candlelight Lounge Inc
32) Cappy's Cafe'
33) Capri Pizza
34) Casbah
35) Charlie Bly's Tavern
36) Charlie's
37) China House
38) China Inn
39) China Lin
40) China Palace Chinese Rstrnt
41) Cignas' Restaurant & Lounge
42) City Cafe
43) Club Havana
44) Coca Coffee Lounge
45) Coffee Tree Roasters
46) Coge Inc
47) Common Grounds Coffee House
48) Copper Pot Catering
49) Coyote Cafe
50) Cozumel
51) Cracker Barrel
52) Crazy Cones Ice Cream
53) Crepes Parisiennes
54) Cump's Super Sub
55) Damico's Place
56) De More's Pizza
57) Del's Bar & Restaurant
58) Dinette
59) Doc's Place
60) Dockside Cafe
61) Domino's Pizza
62) Duranti's Park Plaza Rstrnt
63) Eddie's Restaurant
64) El Dolce Cafe
65) Elbow Room
66) Enrico Biscotti Co
67) Ernies Diner
68) Fajita Grill
69) Flash's Ii
70) Flora's Grill & Grocery
71) Flora's Restaurant & Catering
72) Foundry Aleworks Inc
73) Frank's Pizza Shop
74) Frankie's Extra Long
75) G M Dog'n Burger Shoppe
76) Gator's Saloon
77) Gene's Last Chance
78) Geno's Restaurant and Big Belly Deli
79) Girasole
80) Girasole
81) Good Time Bar
82) Gran Canal Caffe
83) Grant Bar Inc
84) Graziano's Pizzeria
85) Grub Hut Restaurant
86) Hambone's
87) Happy Day Lounge Inc
88) Happy Family Restaurant
89) Hardee's
90) Harris Grill
91) Hermies Gyros
92) Houlihan's
93) Hub's Pub
94) India Palace Cuisine
95) J Harris Grill
96) Jens Juice Joint
97) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Rstrnt
98) JJF Inc
99) Johnny's Coffee Shop
100) Johnny's Place
101) Just Cousins
102) JVS Tavern
103) Kar Hing Chinese Foods
104) Kate & Allie's Cafe & Catering
105) Kelly's Bar & Lounge
106) Kfc
107) Kfc
108) Khalil's Ii
109) Kim's Coffee Shop
110) Kim's Place
111) Kopec's
112) La Feria
113) La Filipiniana Teody's
114) Lamarca Floral & Cappucino Emp
115) Laverne's Diner
116) Le Perroquet
117) Linda's Family Kitchen
118) Lombardozzi Restaurant
119) Lorigan Street Bar
120) Lot 17 Bar & Grill
121) Luna Bar & Grill
122) Mama Rosa
123) Mama Rosa & Daughter
124) Mark's Place
125) Mason Jar
126) Max & Erma's
127) Mc Donald's
128) Mezzanotte Cafe
129) Midtown Tavern
130) Miyoshi Japanese Bistro
131) Monte Cello's
132) Moonlight Express
133) More' Restaurant
134) Morning Glory Coffeehouse
135) My Thai Restaurant
136) New Way Gourmet
137) New York New York Inc
138) Nico's Recovery Room
139) Nied's Hotel
140) Nirvana Deli
141) Nooners
142) Nova Cafe
143) Oh Yeah! Ice Cream and Coffee Company
144) Om Shiva Hookah Lounge
145) Orient Kitchen
146) Oriental Wok
147) P & G Diner
148) Pamela's
149) Panda Village Chinese Rstrnt
150) Panera Bread
151) Pap's & Us
152) Papa John's Pizza
153) Partner's
154) Pasta Piatto
155) Penn Main Cafe
156) Peoples Restaurant
157) Pesaro's Pizza
158) Pho Minh
159) Pita Garden
160) Pittsburgh Deli Co
161) Pizza Hut
162) Pizza Hut
163) Pizza Italia
164) PIZZUTTI'S Restaurant
165) Pleasure Bar & Restaurant
166) Quiznos Sub
167) Quiznos Sub
168) Ray's Marlin Beach Bar & Grill
169) Rhodesia Bey Restaurant
170) Rice King
171) Ritters Diner Inc
172) River Moon Cafe
173) Rocky's Restaurant & Catering
174) Roger's Bar
175) Ron's Pizza Palace
176) Rose Room Restaurant
177) Rotelli The Water Works
178) Round Corner Cantina
179) Salac's Inc
180) Salpietro Restaurant
181) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
182) Sausalido
183) Scoops Plus
184) Seasons Pizza & Cafe
185) Seven Cee's
186) Shady Grove
187) Shadyside Saloon
188) Sharp Edge Bar & Restaurant
189) Si Senor Intl
190) Sidelines Bar & Grill
191) Silky's Pub
192) Soba Lounge
193) Soiree Catering
194) Sonny's Tavern Inc
195) South Avis Inn
196) Spaghetti Warehouse
197) Spak Brothers
198) Sree's Foods
199) Starbucks
200) Starbucks
201) Starbucks
202) Starr's Lunch Counter
203) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
204) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
205) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
206) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
207) Sufak's Round Corner Hotel
208) Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
209) Supreme Pizza
210) Sushi Too
211) Sweeney Irish Pub
212) Taco Bell
213) Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
214) Taste Of India
215) Tasty Chinese Restaurant
216) Tea Lightful LLC
217) Teabags
218) Temperanceville Tavern
219) Tessaro's
220) Thai Cuisine
221) Thai Place Cafe
222) Thai Place Restaurant
223) The Quiet Storm
224) Thirsty's Restaurant & Saloon
225) Thunderbird Cafe
226) Toro's Ribs & Brew
227) Tram's Kitchen
228) Trolls Restaurant
229) Twisters Soft Serve Ice Cream
230) Umi Japanese Restaurant
231) Union Grill
232) Union Grill 2
233) Unique Pizza Factory
234) Upstairs Saloon
235) Urban Fusion Cafe
236) Vecenie's Distributing Co
237) Vermont Flatbread Co
238) Vi's Sweet Treats
239) Village Pizza
240) Vince's Pizzeria
241) Vocelli Pizza
242) Walnut Grill
243) Wendy's
244) Wendy's
245) White House Inn
246) Whitey's Place
247) William Penn Tavern
248) Young Bin Kwan Restaurant
249) Your Inner Vagabond
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I visited this brewpub on 10/13/05 and had the following brews; Celestial Gold, Pipe Organ Pale, Pious Monk Dunkel, Blast Furnace Stout, Confessional Kolsch, Octoberfest, and Burley Friar Barley Wine. The barley wine was not part of my sampler, but the waiter brought me a small sample to try. It was outstanding! Not quite what I am used to in a barley wine, but it made the stop for me. I can't add much to what others have said of the atmosphere, it is worth the stop in just to check out the stained glass. I was disappointed at the cost of the 6 packs to go. $10 for a six to go made it too expensive for me to take home this brew to my friends. You would think it would be cheaper at the source? Like a couple other brewpubs on this journey they did not have their medal winning brew available for me to try. Next time I am in town I will have to try the food!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Owners Note - This same batch of MaiBock took the Gold Medal at 2005 Grat American Beer Festival in the bock category. It also took two silvers and a bronze at the GABF in previous years. Great beers can be made in America using quality malt versus insane quantity of hops. Cheers - Father Foamy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from father foamy father foamy, pgh, PA
(10/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy So So
The fact that they converted an old Catholic church to a functioning brewery is very cool. The atmosphere is really sort of neat. This however doesn't make the utterly flavorless beer any better. Nor does it make up for the fact that the waitress acted like she was doing you some sort of favor just to bring you a drink.

I had been anticipating visiting this place for weeks and could not have been more disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joshua Frank Joshua Frank, Rockford, IL
(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
I visited for the second time over Labor Day Weekend with my Dad and Aunt. As others have mentioned, it is a beautiful place to have a beer, even if for the old Catholic in me a little sacrilegious! They had a pale ale on cask that was very good. I also had the pale ale they had on tap and trying the two was a good way to taste the differences between real ale and regular ale. The Dunkle lived up to its awards, it was very good. The only brew I really didn’t like was a cherry stout. The food was excellent, especially the 7 onion soup and the cheesesteak sandwich.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Alvin Steve Alvin, Henry, IL
(09/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
6 beers on tap. Tried the ones I hadn't had before; can't say that there's a whole lot to say about them, though. Stout was the best, mild and drinkable. Celebration de Mayo was a Vienna style that had a bit too much sweetness for my liking. Maibock @ 7% was pretty much nondescript. As I've mentioned before, Church is more about the place than the beers. It's spacious--there were about 70 people there and it felt empty. Good for them though, always room for one more!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Beers well done but not remarkable. Not much in the flavor category but they might be brewing to get people who have not tried pub beers interested. Menu pretty high end with prices to match but definitely good. Would go back for the food rather than the beer. Adding something for the hoppy in a person might be a good idea.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven LaRue Steven LaRue, Ogden, UT
(06/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
I couldn't really find anything outstanding about most of the beers I had here, namely the dunkel, the IPA, the stout, the pale ale, and the gold lager. All are competently done and none are "bad" but suffice to say it won't necessarily be the beer that will keep me coming back. I did have one standout beer, however: a Belgian-style tripel that stacks up well against Belgium's finest offerings. The date on the bottle suggests it had been aged for five years. I must say, it aged exceptionally well.

Service has been spotty in the past but this time our needs were met without pause or fumble. Our waitress was top-notch.

Food was very good if a little steep. (I suppose they have to pay for the upkeep of this massively ornate place somehow.) Best cheese steak sandwich I can remember and the fries had a nice zing.

Atmosphere: it just can't be beat. The photos speak for themselves.

Even if the beer isn't stellar, this is a wonderful Pittsburgh institution that deserves your patronage if you're in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(04/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is one of my favorite places in Pittsburgh in terms of atmosphere. Beautiful stained glass windows and high ceilings, and the lighting isn't too bright. The food is excellent and the servers and bartenders are always friendly and cool to talk to. And of course the beer is great. I think the Blast Furnace Stout is my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lisa Ondrey Lisa Ondrey, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Stopped in last week and was lucky enough to find the Bocks au Chocolats on tap. Wonderfully dry cocoa-flavored beer, not the chock-sweet chocolate beers you'll find elsewhere, and light in body and color. Delightful. Service was quick, witty, and just a bit smart-assed: perfect for the moment. Great time, thanks, Church!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(01/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Incredibly place. Great beer, cool aesthetics, a little sacreligion, what more could one possibly want?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, PA
(12/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Good So So
Do you like Augustiner? Good, cause all the beers here taste like it! Seriously, clean your lines or something, cause the beer all tastes the same! Maybe your average "Bud light" guy likes the atmosphere and is being "wacky" by drinking a micro-brew, but this place needs to do more than just be in a "kooky" location. The beer is mediocre at best and bland at worst. the food is alright, I'll give you that, but if you are someone who likes different styles of beer to actually taste different, try Rock Bottom Brewery, or The Sharp Edge until this place gets it's act together. (Which hopefully, will be soon. You guys used to be good!?!?!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Matt, Pittsburgh, PA
(12/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
It seemed a little strange to be drinking in what was once a church.Who could of thought of that one?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beer  drinking mike beer drinking mike, lagrange, OH
(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Church Brew Works continues to excel at both brewing beer and food. I was back recently to try their Oktoberfest. While it was good I was a little disappointed in its lack of a “kick”. It seemed a little mild for an Oktoberfest. But their standards remain very good. Their stout is very tasty and the Pious Monk Dunkel remains one of my favorite brews anywhere. The food has always been excellent. Everything from simple burgers and fries or pizza to the more upscale meals are always tasty. Of all the brewpubs to go under recently in the ‘Burg area, I’m glad this one has remained. Let’s hope it continues. We need more local brewpubs to contrast the blandness of the chains.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Lewis John Lewis, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Was in the 'Burgh for a wedding. Heard this is the place to go for great beer. Stopped in on a gloomy Sat afternoon. The place wasn't too busy, but then, this was at 3 in the afternoon. I would imagine the atmosphere is better during happy hour, late night, etc. I started with the Pipe Organ Pale. Excellent. Then I did the sampler. My favorite was the Pious Monk Dunkel but they were all very good. Highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff K Jeff K, Boca Raton, FL
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Well the Church Brew Works continues to bring the crowds in and keep me a happy diner.

Every other month on the first Thursday, this place hosts Pittsburgh Geek Night. A good reason for the tech industry folks to get out and mingle.

Every visit I get the undeniable Southwest pizza... It's one of the best pizzas anywhere in Pittsburgh.

This time I tried the high alchol beer they had on tap... It seemed flat. The seasonal Weiss beer was a good followup and quite popular amongst the geeks.

The Church is working on bringing in an increasingly larger wine selection. That should please the non-beer folks visiting the Church.

Parking is around back and along the side street as well as limited space along Liberty Avenue... I only note this, because on weekends and event times, parking can be hard to find.

I can only say positive things about this Pittsburgh institution that keeps brewing and around even long after the other nearby brewpub concepts have long faded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, pittsburgh, PA
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
It's hard to not be overwhelmed coming into the Church. The whole place is gorgeous. We got there late on a Friday night, but because of competing event in the area, getting a table was not a problem. The owners need to get over their problem with serving bar food in the dining room. We visitors from 300 miles away had no idea why we couldn't get a pizza in the "dining room," which has no apparent physical separation from the bar; since we saw people in the dining room eating pizza we insisted, though we probably wouldn't have bothered if there were more vegetarian options on the dining room menu. The salads were some of the best fresh green "house" salads I've ever had in 25 years of travel. Our waitress was a slow starter, but turned out to be excellent--she took the time to explain to us the bar-vs.-dining room policy. I won't reveal her name, because she told us that waitstaff has been hassled for not following the "rules." To the owners: You have an outstanding venue, very good beers (the Brown Ale was our favorite, the Alt was runner-up, but a littel thinner and drier than we expected) very good food and capable waitstaff. Why make your food policy the customer's problem? Sure, we understand if you are busy, this policy makes sense--BUT if you don't make that clear to the customer upon entry, you make it seem like it's their problem for asking. My long experience with designing customer service satisfaction makes me bristle when an arbitrary policy makes it difficult for me to buy from you. Get it? Of course, on balance, you have a fantastic place well worth visiting and revisiting, but this takes you from a solid five star to a 3-1/2.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Steichmann Jay Steichmann, Ann Arbor, MI
(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Very nice atmospher. So many beers it was hard to choose. Waiter very attentive. Didn't mind waiting a little while for food as we were busy sipping away! Pulled Pork sandwich great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Jo Mary Jo, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good
This was my 2nd visit. Last year I tried the sampler and really couldn't adeqautely comment on the quality. This year I tried the Pale Ale and Maibock and was not impressed. I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and the setting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
A must see. Nice selection of beers. Interesting Pittsburgh based food. Had a Pittsburgh salad that was filling, hot, and I would buy it again. Our service on Sunday afternoon was friendly and prompt.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynwood sinnamon Lynwood sinnamon, Arlington, VA
(04/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Re: review below -- I'm glad to hear the Foundry brewer found work. I'm still heartbroken about the Foundry's demise. Now I know where I can get Foundry-quality brew. Foundry and Church Brew... now there's a great team.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Enemy The Enemy, Chicago, IL
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great
Been coming here since 1996, not long after it opened. Food is excellent - the pizzas are the best around (not your typical pizza either). Service is pretty good - a few times I've had to wait for service longer than I wanted, but when the place is busy I expect that. There's been plenty of times I've been served quickly, so it all evens out - I'm not the type to whine if I'm not being treated like a king. The beer is good, but I wish they'd have more variety sometimes. The stouts and porters are never on tap for long. They recently had some coffee stouts there (which were out of this world!), which I learned were brewed by the ex-brewer of the Foundry. It tasted very similar to the wonderful Breakfast Blend, which I miss so much...as well as the Foundry :-( They always have a Gold, Dunkel, Brown, Pale Ale on tap and about 2-3 others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sean sean, Pittsburgh, PA
(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy Good
"THE" worst service of any brewpub I've ever been in. I've been there many times and EVERY time, I've had horrible service (won't bore you with details - trust me - it's BAD). The pizza is out of this world. I would go there for the chicken and sun dried tomato pizza alone. Not a big fan of their beer though :( sorry guys. Atmosphere is second to none - A MUST SEE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DannyK DannyK, Youngstown, OH
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
The specialty beers are some of the best, period, from any brew-pub. The barley-wine and other high gravity big beers are always very well made and true to style. You must try the rotating specials to really appreciate the quality of this brewery. Wood oven pizza is what I usually eat, can't remember the other food.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bloombrews bloombrews, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
A must stop if you've never been there before!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(01/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Great food. Great beer slection. I would reccomend it as one of the top 10 places in the Pittsburgh area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Gray Matt Gray, McCandless, PA
(12/30/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.108 seconds) 02:09:03 54.82.217.75, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS