PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


The Church Brew Works - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 22, 2014 @ 07:38 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > The Church Brew Works
The Church Brew Works Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
The Church Brew Works
Overall: Great    Score: 78.1 / 100
3525 Liberty Avenue
Pittsburgh , PA 15201
United States
(412) 688-8200
Listed Since: October 1996
Last Updated: January 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of The Church Brew Works
157 Reviews / 13 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Tue 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Wed 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Thu 11:30AM - 11:45PM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(69 within 5 miles)
1) New Amsterdam
(0 mile)

2) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

3) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(0 mile)

4) Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
(1 mile)

5) Brillobox
(1 mile)

6) Lot 17
(1 mile)

7) Bites and Brews
(2 miles)

8) Harris Grill
(2 miles)

9) Pittsburgh Deli Company
(2 miles)

10) Casbah Mediterranean Kitchen and Wine Bar
(2 miles)

11) Point Brugge Cafe
(2 miles)

12) Red Room Cafe and Lounge
(2 miles)

13) Kelly's Bar and Lounge
(2 miles)

14) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

15) Salt of the Earth
(2 miles)

16) Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
(2 miles)

17) Fuel and Fuddle
(2 miles)

18) India Garden
(2 miles)

19) Aspinwall Grille
(2 miles)

20) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

21) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

22) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

23) Eleven
(2 miles)

24) Gooski's
(2 miles)

25) Meat and Potatoes
(2 miles)

26) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(3 miles)

27) Cioppino
(3 miles)

28) Gene's Last Chance
(3 miles)

29) Six Penn Kitchen
(3 miles)

30) Market Street Ale House
(3 miles)

31) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(3 miles)

32) Roland's Seafood Grill
(3 miles)

33) Kaya
(3 miles)

34) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(3 miles)

35) The Parlour
(3 miles)

36) Bru Lounge
(3 miles)

37) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(3 miles)

38) Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
(3 miles)

39) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(3 miles)

40) Finnigan's Wake
(3 miles)

41) Monterey Pub
(3 miles)

42) East End Brewing Company
(3 miles)

43) Bangkok Balcony
(3 miles)

44) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Restaurant
(3 miles)

45) Squirrel Hill Cafe aka The Cage
(3 miles)

46) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(4 miles)

47) Smokin' Joe's
(4 miles)

48) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(4 miles)

49) S Bar
(4 miles)

50) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(4 miles)

51) Piper's Pub
(4 miles)

52) UUBU6
(4 miles)

53) Claddagh Irish Pub
(4 miles)

54) Double Wide Grill
(4 miles)

55) Hot Metal Grille
(4 miles)

56) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(4 miles)

57) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(4 miles)

58) Dish Osteria and Bar
(4 miles)

59) Tiki Lounge
(4 miles)

60) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(4 miles)

61) The Smiling Moose
(4 miles)

62) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(4 miles)

63) Grandview Saloon
(5 miles)

64) Packs and Dogs
(5 miles)

65) D's Six Packs and Dogz
(5 miles)

66) The Map Room
(5 miles)

67) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

68) Burgatory Bar
(6 miles)

69) Beer Nutz Bottle Shop
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Appletree Bed & Breakfast
2) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
3) Le Domanine
4) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
5) Priory Inn
6) Victoria House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
2) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
3) HILTON PITTSBURGH
4) MORNING GLORY INN
5) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
6) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
7) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
8) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
9) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
10) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
11) THE PRIORY HOTEL
12) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Allerdice, Taylor, High School
6) Alpha Terrace Historic District
7) Armstrong Tunnel
8) Armstrong Tunnel
9) Arsenal Junior High School
10) Baxter High School
11) Bayard School
12) Bedford School
13) Beechwood Elementary School
14) Beltzhoover Elementary School
15) Bindley Hardware Company Building
16) Birmingham Public School
17) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
18) Bost Building
19) Bridge in Shaler Township
20) Buhl Building
21) Burke Building
22) Butler Street Gatehouse
23) Byers-Lyons House
24) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
25) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
26) Colfax Elementary School
27) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
28) Conroy Junior High School
29) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
30) Dilworth Elementary School
31) Dollar Savings Bank
32) Duquesne Incline
33) East Liberty Market
34) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
35) Emmanuel Episcopal Church
36) Evergreen Hamlet
37) Ewart Building
38) Fifth Avenue High School
39) Firstside Historic District
40) Fort Pitt Elementary School
41) Fortieth Street Bridge
42) Foster School
43) Frick Building and Annex
44) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
45) Fulton Building
46) Fulton Elementary School
47) Gardner-Bailey House
48) Greenfield Elementary School
49) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
50) Heathside Cottage
51) Henderson-Metz House
52) Highland Building
53) Highland Towers Apartments
54) Hoene-Werle House
55) Homestead High-Level Bridge
56) Homestead Pennsylvania Railroad Station
57) House at 200 West North Avenue
58) Houses at 2501-2531 Charles Street
59) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
60) Houses at 838-862 Brightridge Street
61) Hunt Armory
62) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
63) Knoxville Junior High School
64) Larimer School
65) Latimer School
66) Lawrence Public School
67) Lemington Elementary School
68) Letsche Elementary School
69) Liberty Bridge
70) Liberty School No. 4, Friendship Building
71) Lightner, Isaac, House
72) Lincoln Elementary School
73) Linden Avenue School
74) Longfellow School
75) Madison Elementary School
76) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
77) McCleary Elementary School
78) Monongahela Incline
79) Moreland-Hoffstot House
80) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
81) Ninth Street Bridge
82) Oakland Public School
83) Old Heidelberg Apartments
84) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
85) Park Place School
86) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
87) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
88) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
89) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
90) Perry High School
91) Phipps Conservatory
92) Phipps--McElveen Building
93) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
94) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
95) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
96) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
97) Rodef Shalom Temple
98) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
99) Schenley High School
100) Schiller Elementary School
101) Scott, James, House
102) Sellers House
103) Seventh Street Bridge
104) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
105) Singer, John F., House
106) Sixteenth Street Bridge
107) Sixth Street Bridge
108) Smithfield Street Bridge
109) Snyder, William Penn, House
110) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
111) South Side High School
112) South Side Market Building
113) South Tenth Street Bridge
114) Springfield Public School
115) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
116) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
117) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
118) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
119) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
120) Sterrett Sub-District School
121) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
122) Union Trust Building
123) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
124) Washington Vocational School
125) Westinghouse High School
126) Whitehill-- Gleason Motors
127) Wightman School
128) William Penn Hotel
129) Woods, John, House
130) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Lounge
2) Abay Ethiopian Cuisine
3) Adrian's Pizza
4) Alexander's Pasta Express
5) Angelo's Pizzeria
6) Anna Misiaszek
7) Anthon's Restaurant & Bakery
8) Armand's Bar
9) Arsenal Public House
10) Atria's Restaurant & Tavern
11) Avanti Uno
12) Bar Millvale
13) Barbs Country Kitchen
14) Baum Vivant
15) Bellini Mediterranean Cuisine
16) Bikki
17) Bill's Tavern
18) Bloomfield Distributing Co
19) Bloomfield Sandwich Shop
20) Boo's Inc
21) Boston Market
22) Bottles Pub
23) Break-N-Eat Ind Caterers
24) Buffalo Blues
25) Burger King
26) Cafe Bellas
27) Cafe Sam
28) Cafe Soiree
29) Cafe Zinho
30) Calabria's Italian Restaurant
31) Candlelight Lounge Inc
32) Cappy's Cafe'
33) Capri Pizza
34) Casbah
35) Charlie Bly's Tavern
36) Charlie's
37) China House
38) China Inn
39) China Lin
40) China Palace Chinese Rstrnt
41) Cignas' Restaurant & Lounge
42) City Cafe
43) Club Havana
44) Coca Coffee Lounge
45) Coffee Tree Roasters
46) Coge Inc
47) Common Grounds Coffee House
48) Copper Pot Catering
49) Coyote Cafe
50) Cozumel
51) Cracker Barrel
52) Crazy Cones Ice Cream
53) Crepes Parisiennes
54) Cump's Super Sub
55) Damico's Place
56) De More's Pizza
57) Del's Bar & Restaurant
58) Dinette
59) Doc's Place
60) Dockside Cafe
61) Domino's Pizza
62) Duranti's Park Plaza Rstrnt
63) Eddie's Restaurant
64) El Dolce Cafe
65) Elbow Room
66) Enrico Biscotti Co
67) Ernies Diner
68) Fajita Grill
69) Flash's Ii
70) Flora's Grill & Grocery
71) Flora's Restaurant & Catering
72) Foundry Aleworks Inc
73) Frank's Pizza Shop
74) Frankie's Extra Long
75) G M Dog'n Burger Shoppe
76) Gator's Saloon
77) Gene's Last Chance
78) Geno's Restaurant and Big Belly Deli
79) Girasole
80) Girasole
81) Good Time Bar
82) Gran Canal Caffe
83) Grant Bar Inc
84) Graziano's Pizzeria
85) Grub Hut Restaurant
86) Hambone's
87) Happy Day Lounge Inc
88) Happy Family Restaurant
89) Hardee's
90) Harris Grill
91) Hermies Gyros
92) Houlihan's
93) Hub's Pub
94) India Palace Cuisine
95) J Harris Grill
96) Jens Juice Joint
97) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Rstrnt
98) JJF Inc
99) Johnny's Coffee Shop
100) Johnny's Place
101) Just Cousins
102) JVS Tavern
103) Kar Hing Chinese Foods
104) Kate & Allie's Cafe & Catering
105) Kelly's Bar & Lounge
106) Kfc
107) Kfc
108) Khalil's Ii
109) Kim's Coffee Shop
110) Kim's Place
111) Kopec's
112) La Feria
113) La Filipiniana Teody's
114) Lamarca Floral & Cappucino Emp
115) Laverne's Diner
116) Le Perroquet
117) Linda's Family Kitchen
118) Lombardozzi Restaurant
119) Lorigan Street Bar
120) Lot 17 Bar & Grill
121) Luna Bar & Grill
122) Mama Rosa
123) Mama Rosa & Daughter
124) Mark's Place
125) Mason Jar
126) Max & Erma's
127) Mc Donald's
128) Mezzanotte Cafe
129) Midtown Tavern
130) Miyoshi Japanese Bistro
131) Monte Cello's
132) Moonlight Express
133) More' Restaurant
134) Morning Glory Coffeehouse
135) My Thai Restaurant
136) New Way Gourmet
137) New York New York Inc
138) Nico's Recovery Room
139) Nied's Hotel
140) Nirvana Deli
141) Nooners
142) Nova Cafe
143) Oh Yeah! Ice Cream and Coffee Company
144) Om Shiva Hookah Lounge
145) Orient Kitchen
146) Oriental Wok
147) P & G Diner
148) Pamela's
149) Panda Village Chinese Rstrnt
150) Panera Bread
151) Pap's & Us
152) Papa John's Pizza
153) Partner's
154) Pasta Piatto
155) Penn Main Cafe
156) Peoples Restaurant
157) Pesaro's Pizza
158) Pho Minh
159) Pita Garden
160) Pittsburgh Deli Co
161) Pizza Hut
162) Pizza Hut
163) Pizza Italia
164) PIZZUTTI'S Restaurant
165) Pleasure Bar & Restaurant
166) Quiznos Sub
167) Quiznos Sub
168) Ray's Marlin Beach Bar & Grill
169) Rhodesia Bey Restaurant
170) Rice King
171) Ritters Diner Inc
172) River Moon Cafe
173) Rocky's Restaurant & Catering
174) Roger's Bar
175) Ron's Pizza Palace
176) Rose Room Restaurant
177) Rotelli The Water Works
178) Round Corner Cantina
179) Salac's Inc
180) Salpietro Restaurant
181) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
182) Sausalido
183) Scoops Plus
184) Seasons Pizza & Cafe
185) Seven Cee's
186) Shady Grove
187) Shadyside Saloon
188) Sharp Edge Bar & Restaurant
189) Si Senor Intl
190) Sidelines Bar & Grill
191) Silky's Pub
192) Soba Lounge
193) Soiree Catering
194) Sonny's Tavern Inc
195) South Avis Inn
196) Spaghetti Warehouse
197) Spak Brothers
198) Sree's Foods
199) Starbucks
200) Starbucks
201) Starbucks
202) Starr's Lunch Counter
203) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
204) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
205) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
206) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
207) Sufak's Round Corner Hotel
208) Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
209) Supreme Pizza
210) Sushi Too
211) Sweeney Irish Pub
212) Taco Bell
213) Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
214) Taste Of India
215) Tasty Chinese Restaurant
216) Tea Lightful LLC
217) Teabags
218) Temperanceville Tavern
219) Tessaro's
220) Thai Cuisine
221) Thai Place Cafe
222) Thai Place Restaurant
223) The Quiet Storm
224) Thirsty's Restaurant & Saloon
225) Thunderbird Cafe
226) Toro's Ribs & Brew
227) Tram's Kitchen
228) Trolls Restaurant
229) Twisters Soft Serve Ice Cream
230) Umi Japanese Restaurant
231) Union Grill
232) Union Grill 2
233) Unique Pizza Factory
234) Upstairs Saloon
235) Urban Fusion Cafe
236) Vecenie's Distributing Co
237) Vermont Flatbread Co
238) Vi's Sweet Treats
239) Village Pizza
240) Vince's Pizzeria
241) Vocelli Pizza
242) Walnut Grill
243) Wendy's
244) Wendy's
245) White House Inn
246) Whitey's Place
247) William Penn Tavern
248) Young Bin Kwan Restaurant
249) Your Inner Vagabond
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
I pretty much agree with all most of the previous comments. The beer is well made and a respectable array is offered, but nothing special here. The actual brew pub in incredible. Nothing I've seen comes close to this building and set up. Now just make the beer a little more interesting and not so wimpy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ottersnotter ottersnotter, Reston, VA
(06/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
I pretty much agree with all most of the previous comments. The beer is well made and a respectable array is offered, but nothing special here. The actual brew pub in incredible. Nothing I've seen comes close to this building and set up. Now just make the beer a little more interesting and not so wimpy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ottersnotter ottersnotter, Reston, VA
(06/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
I pretty much agree with all most of the previous comments. The beer is well made and a respectable array is offered, but nothing special here. The actual brew pub in incredible. Nothing I've seen comes close to this building and set up. Now just make the beer a little more interesting and not so wimpy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ottersnotter ottersnotter, Reston, VA
(06/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great
So I went back for more! The Pale Ale this time was good.. no aftertaste.. they had an Oatmeal Stout that seemed fairly good... Appertizers were good... Our Southwestern Pizza was fresh and spicey as always...

The waitress left a lot to be desired...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(06/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
GO THERE !! It is AWESOME!!! You will be amazed !! The beer is really good AND during happy hour their pints are only $2 !!! WOW !!! The decor is breathtaking !! Best location of any brewpub I have ever been to !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Simmons Randy Simmons, Cincinnati, OH
(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Good Good
Wonderful place for a brewpub. Really enjoyed the building. Got a sampler, and didn't enjoy the beer. Not one stood out. I kept hoping for a favorite I could have a pint of, and none made the cut. Service was so-so and they didn't want to talk beer with me. (It wasn't that busy either.) We ordered one of the pizzas and the praise in other reviews is VERY TRUE. It was outstanding! I have to agree with others, see the place for how beautiful a building it is, have an excellent lunch, but don't expect too much from the brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ricochet Ricochet, Jeffersonville, IN
(05/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
no mass produced beers here...

they only serve what they brew... a bit short on the liquor selection for non brew crew...

surroundings are beautiful and the staff is attentative...

Beer was so so... group had a few samplers... the Pale Ale left a lot to be desired... lots of aftertaste on most of them... Average to good..

Food was taste and filling..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paris Lundis Paris Lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I've been here a half dozen times or so, and haven't been let down yet. They make a very good barleywine and weizenbock. They make a good pizza but you have to ask for the pizza menu after 5.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Michael Yingling G. Michael Yingling, Canonsburg, PA
(03/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!
I agree you can argue that the beer selection could be better, although I really like the Bell Tower Brown myself. However, this seems to be one of the very few places that serves beer at the correct temperature - that by itself should be worth a point or so on quality. The menu is one of the most varied I've seen anywhere, using the "a few good choices" approach, rather than the "list everything in the cookbook" approach.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Norm May Norm May, Pittsburgh, PA
(02/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Beer here is nothing better than OK. Good selection,but no one brew particularly stands out.This is about the fourth time I have been there and the beer always runs consistently average at best.Food was excellent and the building is impressive overall.Would recommend stopping in just to sample the atmosphere if nothing else. Great beer can be found just down the road at Valhalla.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, erie, PA
(02/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A So So So So
The beer was ok but I dont think any were outstanding, Servis was slow as well, but its worth going just to have a look at the building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Ft. Wayne, IN
(02/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Great atmosphere... Check out the southwestern pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, PA
(02/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
An update - this remains the class act it has always been. The beers are awesome, service is great, and the atmosphere just makes you want to have another. Bryan Pearson is a first-rate brewer and individual - his consistently focussed efforts make every beer he brews a first-rate beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good
A very impressive looking place. Well worth a look. However... The food was good. I recommend the pizza but we had to ask for the pizza menu (they didn't provide one for us). Our server rattled off the script for the beers from memory but couldn't seem to remember what we ordered. I got the sampler but they wouldn't let me get a sample of everything, only 6 out of 7 (a pet peeve of mine at brewpubs). The beer wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. The Gold was lacking in both malt and hops flavor, the Pale Ale was really lacking in hops character (almost no aroma with too much flavor coming from the malt - too young perhaps?). The Dunkle and Brown Ale were good but the winner was the CA Common. Very good. A good place to check out but I was a bit disappointed. I'll give them another shot when I am back in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Clair Chris Clair, King of Prussia, PA
(07/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The totally unique setting inside a former church is alone worth the trip. The beer selection was excellent, with an outstanding steam ale on the lone handpump. Well prepared food with an unconventional flair. Pints at the bar are a must but opt for dinner in the courtyard which featured live jazz during my Wednesday night visit. If you're ever near Pittsburgh this is an overall experience not to be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morristown, NJ
(07/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Just an update from the 2000 World Beer Championships, Congratulations to head brewer Bryan Pearson for taking a bronze for our Pious Monk Dunkle in the European Dark Lager category. Congratulations for taking the Bronze Medal at the Real Ale Festival for our Belgium Style limited edition Millenium Ale in the specialty ale category. The outdoor hopgarden/patio is open and the hops are 18 feet tall. Cheers - Sean Casey - President

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Father Foamy Father Foamy, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Hmmm. Where do I start? I almost didn't find the place; if not for my wife noticing the "field of kegs" behind the Pittsburgh Brewing Co. down the street, I would have been totally lost. We got ther just after noon on a Sunday, and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Service was intimate; a pleasant older lady (who cutely had to read index cards to describe the beers) was our waitress, and her grandaughter was the hostess. The buffalo burger was tasty, and I absolutely, positively loved the homemade potato chips (and homemade ice cream too). I stole sips of my daughter's birch beer while she wasn't looking (it too was outstanding). Being a Sunday, in a church, with the wife and kids, I only tried two pints: the Dunkel, which was quite good (although it fell a wee short of the hype), and a nicely balanced Pipe Organ Pale Ale. I wish that I had time to try others (a seasonal Abbey piqued my curiosity); just an excuse to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Stimmel Bill Stimmel, Waterville, OH
(03/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
A first-class total awesome establishment. I have been to over 225 brewpubs and travel allot. As I speak to brewpubs owners about my web site and discuss various pubs, this brewpub always comes up in the conversation. A real favorite of mine. The food and the food menu was excellent. The beer quality and selection - fantastic. If your ever in Pittsburgh, please make this brewpub a priority! And whatever you do, please make sure you bless yourself with the Holy-Water (beer)!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Just up the street from the old Pittsburgh Brewing Company, this "converted" church is a great setting for a couple of brews. Of the 6 beers available, 3 were very good: Pipe Organ Pale, Bell Tavern Brown and a Raspberry Imperial Stout. The food was also very good. If you get the urge to pray before some tanks on the altar, stop by the CBW.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(01/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Beer in a church. What an idea. This place by far is the most unique brewpub that I've been to. Had samples of all the beers, 6 in all. Best was the Blast Furnace Stout. Also has some soup, pretty good. Service was great, nice friendly people. If in Pittsburgh, had you like beer,you have to go to this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(01/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
In line with all the other comments; awesome, totally awesome. Easily the most fantastic brewpub I have ever visited. The stained glass is worth the trip in itself: then drink!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Bentley Pete Bentley, Bozeman, MT
(01/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
It's been 10 days since my last confession. Wow, what a place!! Beer was fantastic, food was great, atmosphere was a little stange a first, but when I sat in my pew, I felt right at home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Coz Coz, Lititz, PA
(12/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
One of the most beautiful and innovative brewpubs anywhere. I ordered the pierogie pizza, it was fantastic! The two beers I sampled, cask-conditioned IPA and Oatmeal Stout were top-notch. The IPA was even served at the correct temperature instead of the God-awful frozen glasses so many bars are using. Service was also good (sat at the bar). While in Pittsburgh, don't forget to go to church.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Miller Robert Miller, Hatfield, PA
(12/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Housed in a former catholic church this brewpub experience starts with the spectacular setting. You can sit in a former church pew and enjoy the architecture and atmosphere of this "holy" setting. And Holy Cow is the food and beer terrific! I sampled the Pale Ale (the best of the bunch) , a very good porter, a good octoberfest (which could be hoppier for my taste) and an adequate brown ale . The food was well above average - a very tasty 7 onion soup was a standout- in an upscale bistro style. How does buffalo and wild mushroow meatloaf sound? Well believe me it tastes even better! The church is not cheap by any means but you definitely get what you pay for. If I had stars to give -The Church would get 4 out of 5- certainly worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Glen, toronto, ON
(11/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just an Update from the 1999 GABF, Congratulations to Head Brewer Bryan Pearson! The Church Brew Works took the Gold Medal for our Blast Furnace Stout and a Silver Medal for our Mad Brewer Maibock. This is in addition to the 1998 Gold Medal for our Pious Monk Dunkle. Cheers and Keep supporting your local breweries! Sean Casey - President

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from S Casey S Casey, Pgh, PA
(10/09/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.312 seconds) 19:38:58 54.161.236.92, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS