PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 08:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
Overall: Great    Score: 77.2 / 100
402 East Kalamazoo Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
United States
(269) 384-0288
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: October 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
37 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 04:00PM - 80:0PM
Mon 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Tue 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Fri 04:00PM - 01:00AM
Sat 04:00PM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
(0 mile)

2) London Grill
(0 mile)

3) Shakespeare's Pub
(0 mile)

4) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

5) The Union
(0 mile)

6) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

7) Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

8) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(0 mile)

9) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(2 miles)

10) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Corner Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(3 miles)

13) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
10) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO WEST
11) SUPER 8 KALAMAZOO MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gibbs, John, House
7) Gilbert, Henry, House
8) Haymarket Historic District
9) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
10) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
11) Ladies Library Association Building
12) Lawrence and Chapin Building
13) Lilienfeld, David, House
14) Marlborough, The
15) Masonic Temple Building
16) Michigan Central Depot
17) Montague, Henry, House
18) Oaklands, The
19) Old Central High School
20) Old Fire House No. 4
21) Portage Street Fire Station
22) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
23) Rickman Hotel
24) Roberts, Martin W., House
25) Rose Place Historic District
26) Shaffer, Enoch, House
27) South Street Historic District
28) State Hospital Gatehouse
29) Stevens, Andrew J., House
30) Stuart, Charles E., House
31) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAA-Mc Donald's Er Road Svc
2) Argo Inn & Sports Lounge
3) Aries London Grill Singapore
4) Aries London Grill Singapore
5) Bagels' & Panini
6) Bar-B-Q-Pit
7) Barbq Pit
8) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
11) Big Joes Pizza & Deli
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Billie Bob's Corn Beef Deli
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bimbo's Pizza
16) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blue Dolphin
19) Blue Dolphine
20) Bogie's Cafe
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Caffe Casa
25) Centershot Lounge
26) Chicago Subs & Grill
27) Chicago Subs & Grill
28) Chicken Coop Inc
29) City Subs & More
30) Club Soda
31) Coffee Shop
32) Coney Island
33) Coney Island
34) Cosmo's Cucina
35) Cues & Brews
36) Dan's Fish & Bar B Que Shanty
37) District 211
38) District 211
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Inn
41) Dragon Inn
42) Dragon River Restaurant
43) El Grande Fiesta
44) Epic Bistro
45) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
46) Fandango Tapas Bistro
47) Fish Island
48) Fishel's Deli
49) Flame Restaurant
50) Food Dance Cafe
51) Food Dance Cafe
52) Fourth Coast Cafe
53) Francois' Macaroni Factory
54) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
55) Geno's Pizza
56) Golden Chopsticks
57) Harvey's On The Mall
58) Holly's Family Restaurant
59) Home Bar
60) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
61) Java Lounge
62) Jimmy John's
63) Josephine's
64) Just Good Food
65) Just Good Food
66) Kfc
67) King's Table
68) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
69) Kozy Inn
70) Larry's Bar & Grill
71) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
72) Lee's Garden Restaurant
73) Little Caesars Pizza
74) Louie's Restaurant
75) Louie's Restaurant
76) Main Street Cafe
77) Main Street Cafe
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Nally's Kitchen
82) Monaco Bay
83) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
84) Nick's Tavern & Grill
85) Nina's Cafe & Carousel
86) O'duffy's Pub
87) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
88) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
89) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
90) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
91) Papa's Italian Sausage
92) Petra's Cocina
93) Pizza Hut
94) Plaza Cafe
95) Plaza Cafe
96) Poor Richards Cafe
97) Ravenwood Coffee
98) Rib Tip
99) Rice Kitchen
100) Rice Kitchen
101) Root Beer Stand
102) Rugger's Up & Under
103) Sammy's
104) Sandwich Express
105) Sandwich Express
106) Scooters D's
107) Shakespeare's Pub
108) Sojo's Fish & More
109) Soup Kettle
110) South China Restaurant
111) State Grill
112) Subs-N-More
113) Subs-N-More
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Taco Bob's
117) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
118) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
119) Tradewinds Lounge
120) Union Cabaret & Grill
121) University Road House
122) Water Street Coffee Joint
123) Webster's
124) Websters Fine Dining
125) Wendy's
126) Zazios
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
On their blog it looks like they are moving to a new location!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Milan, MI
(12/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Great
Sayonara to Kraftbrau. unfortunately my first visit will be the last but I'm glad I made it here on their last day. We need more places like this that concentrate on just making good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Kistler Mike Kistler, Allentown, PA
(11/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Great beer in a really funked up building. The Helles and Heffe were both great but the Bohemian was good enough to bring a growler home. By the end of the evening the cooler had two more to keep it company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A N/A So So
It was open mike night and several folks were singing. I had the IPA and it had a really off after taste. I will not return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Norman James Norman, Zion, IL
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
Beer quality seemed to have slipped since I visited a year ago. Imperial IPA very strange; tasted more like a Belgian than an IPA. Only stayed for little while--place was as hot as a blast furnace. Will stop by if in the area, but with very low expectations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good So So
Kraftbrau makes fairly bad beer and serves it in a dingy unpleasant albeit unusual place. The beer is slightly better from the bar but bottled kraftbrau is terrible. On a positive note they are smokefree.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Hinsdale, IL
(03/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
In the past year since my last review the place has added a pool table and their website now shows their hours of operation. They are still making a line of beers with quite a few different styles. Too many of these styles are very low alcohol. I drank over a gallon of their Winter Moon on Super Bowl sunday and couldn't tell that I had drank a thing. I don't believe they distribute anymore so this place is now just a brewpub with a stage. I miss the names marketed with the beers. Rock Harbor Red Ale is now just red ale. Overall I like most of the beers but I wish they would start their shows on time and post what's currently on tap on the website.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul S Paul S, Kalamazoo, MI
(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
Kratbruu is located directly across the street fom Bell's. They had one of the strangest beer line ups I have ever seen. Not that this is bad, just an odd style assortment of their own brews. The Imperial IPA was very good though, big and hoppy, with a nice dry finish. I don't remember her name, but the bartender was extremely friendly, helping out with beer selection and dinner choices for the Kalamazoo area, as well as other breweies in southern Michigan. Come to find out, she moonlights at the Water St Coffee Joint adjacent to Kraftbrau and Bell's, which came in handy the next morning.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Awesome!
How does this place compete, being just across from Bell's? Well, it makes one mark by focusing in lagers. When I dropped in last weekend, there were 12 taps; 8 had lagers, 3 had ales, and one had a sangria. I had six in a sampler, and found all to be very well done. The Bohemian was clearly different from their "Down Home" house brew, and they had a nice Blackberry Pilsener, and a dry-hopped "Hoppity Boop" lager. I also enjoyed the unreconstructed hippie vibe, with folk bands playing on Sunday, and a scheduled screening of "Fahrenheit 9/11." It's a nice little place to stop in for something different.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark McDermott Mark McDermott, Park Forest, IL
(10/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Biker bar meets feed mill--retro hippie brewpub. It was the damnedest thing, a going-out-of-business party for a K-zoo clothing store. Seniors with grren hair and shocking pink wigs. Needless to say, I wanted to have some beer. I got to sample 12, that except for the lightest styles were good to above average. The summer Alt was my favorite, well-balnced and flavorful. Many of the ales were english style, rather mild (but good). Did I mention the music? Parliament, followed by Dean Martin and then Ohio Players!? Definitely a unique and good experience. Almost forgot, a Pabst Blue Ribbon pant suit--that says it all!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Great Good
We tried several beers and the all tasted "off"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
16 beers on tap, great variety. Happy hour prices (until 8 PM) monday through Friday, $2.50 for a pint, and $7 growlers. Something for everyone. I tried the Blackberry Dunkel & the ESB. Also, they have very interesting bands play here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(01/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Lousy So So
Stopped in this past Summer while in Kazoo. Had a couple of brews which were fine. There were only 4 people at the bar but the bartendress was so busy talking to a friend about here excercise workouts that you had to practically beg to get a brew. Unfortunately that gives you plenty of time to look around at how dirty the place is. A little elbow grease could go a long way towards cleaning the place up. Thank goodness Bell's was just across the street!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kentwood, MI
(01/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Great
Kraftbrau books all kinds of musical entertainment. It's not always involving loud drums. When I was there there was only 1 beer that was in the $4/6 oz price range. It was a "special brew." All the rest of their ales and lagers were much cheaper. The negatives that I took away from the place had nothing to do with the beer. Most of the tables and chairs had been pushed off to the side when I was there. They only had 1 table and bar seating. A few groups of people came in, saw no seating, and left. I don't know why they did that. Nobody was dancing to what the DJ's were playing and they needed all the tables they could get. The place isn't that big and it was too cold to go outside. I'm also not fond of warehouse bars that think it's cool not to renovate. Leaving a little is ok. But every wall reminded me I was sitting in a warehouse. Overall, ambience poor/beer great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Eau Claire, MI
(12/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Exceedingly friendly staff, and excellent beer. I'd tracvel nback to Kalamzoo to go to this place (and it's a long way from home!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Maidenhead, UK
(08/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good So So
We stopped in for what I thought would be a nice change from Bell's. I was disappointed by a bunch of people banging on loud drums with not much rhythm. My spirits lifted, when I saw a Bock and a Belgium on tap, only to be devastated by the price $4.00 for 6 oz. (is this stuff hopped with gold?) Excuse me but that adds up to $8.00 for a twelve oz. glass. I settled for a glass of red ale, While drink it down, I longed to be at Bell’s where I could have been drinking a Dopple Bock or an Old Ale 12oz. for less than $4.00 Old Peninsula has moved up on my list. Kraftbrau, if you are listening. Get rid of the crappy music, Turn some lights on, and sell beer at a fair price, then call me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Philip molloy Philip molloy, Kalamazoo, MI
(08/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Nuff said

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review DDD, Rosebush, MI
(04/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daniel Jefferies Daniel Jefferies, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
All the beers were delicious. I think there were 16 handcrafted beers on tap. The ones I found most delicious were the Dutch Lager and a Green Apple Riesling Wine. Very good! Really liked the atmosphere as well. The server (Alisha) was very accommodating and personable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stefan Kelley Stefan Kelley, Fort Wayne, IN
(01/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
I live in this area, but have traveled to many beer festivals and am a homebrewer and I consider Kraftbrau to be the best brewery in the area. Bell's and Arcadia brew some great beers, but Bert and Jim do a super job with this small brewery. Pave Pale Ale and the English pale ale are my favorites. Nice atmosphere and no smoking (except on the deck) add to this brewery. Great brewtenders too. Support this brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken McDonald Ken McDonald, Schoolcraft, MI
(12/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This place has flavor, not only in the beer but in the creative mixture of people that you can find there. My fav. is the Lawnmower, tasty and light enough to have more than two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rain Rain, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
16 taps, wine by the glass. Full selection of European lagers, Belgian ales, hoppy Northwest style ales, and cask conditioned English ales.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beerguy Beerguy, Kalamazoo, MI
(10/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Awesome!
jason is sillie.beeir is food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joel joel, kalamazoo, MI
(08/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is the best brew in Kalamazo.No food but great beer and outstanding intertainment. I you are in kalamazo thi is a must stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Ross Rich Ross, Port Huron, MI
(02/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
I went there on a Sunday night, and got charged $7 just to get in! All I wanted to do was try the beer, and they wouldn't let you in without charging you to see whatever show they had that night. After the bad first impression, the beer turned out pretty good- the Dopplebock and the Belgian Ale were two of the best beers I've had at a brewpub. Make sure to call ahead to make sure you won't get robbed at the front door.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Warsaw, IN
(11/28/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.926 seconds) 08:28:34 54.166.105.24, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS