PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


High Point Brewing - Butler, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 30, 2014 @ 01:35 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Butler > High Point Brewing
High Point Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
High Point Brewing
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 88 / 100
22 Park Place
Butler, NJ 07405
United States
(973) 838-7400
Listed Since: November 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Butler, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
28 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Morris Canal Ale House
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Simplicity Inn on Blueberry
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Church of the Ascension
2) Fredericks House
3) New York Susquehanna & Western Railroad Station
4) Rockaway Valley Methodist Church
5) Van Duyne, James, Farm House
6) Van Duyne, Martin, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Pizza
2) All American Hero
3) Alpine Pizza
4) Anthony Franco's Ristarante
5) Avanti Brick Oven Restaurant
6) Burger King
7) Cafe Cafe
8) Covello's Family Restaurant
9) Dairy Queen
10) Dawg House Grill
11) Domino's Pizza
12) Fallsview 23 LLC
13) Famularo's Deli
14) Full Moon Saloon
15) Ice Box
16) Il Tulipano Catering
17) Jigg's Corner Steakhouse
18) Kin-Lon Spa
19) Kinnelon Farm
20) Kit Hong Restaurant Inc
21) LA Baita Cucina Italiana
22) LA Cascada
23) LA Mixteca
24) Little Angelo's Ristorante
25) Longfellow's Coffee
26) Lotsa Pasta
27) Macs Diner
28) Pancake House
29) Panda World
30) Patriot Pickle
31) Peking House
32) Pizza King
33) Siena Restaurant
34) Smoke Rise Village Inn
35) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
36) Tony's Place
37) Upstairs At 170
38) Yuki Sushi
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great ? Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I make it up to the brewery a few times a year, most recently this past Saturday for the open house (second Sat. of the month, except for Jan and Feb). Their beers are excellent, especially their wheat beers. The blonde is my overall favorite, it's very true to style (compares favorably to Paulaner Hefeweizen, which is a classic). This visit I had my growler filled with their Winter Wheat, which is a strong, dark style, (I guess you could call it a "weizendoppelbock"). As much as I am enjoying it, I wished I had gotten a growler of the Platinum Blonde they were sampling (I tasted it after I filled my growler), as it was outstanding. Perfect balance, with a little more kick than the standard blonde.

You don't need to wait for an open house to stop by, but call ahead to make sure they are open (I don't know what their normal hours of operation are).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(12/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
We finally got a chance to stop by the brewery for their free monthly open house/tour. A decent crowd packed into the site. The owners went out of their way to make everyone comfortable...including serving cheese, chips, salsa and all the sampling of their beers (3 choices were on tap: Ramstein Blonde, their winter, and an unfiltered version of their Oktoberfest) that you can handle. I got an opportunity, after wanting to for so long, to try their winter seasonal. It was excellent, with a nice blend of different flavors. High Point needs to distribute this seasonal better...aside from here, I have never seen it anywhere before. The tour was nice and low key...it was a small intimate group who actually participated, while the rest of those in attendence stayed behind to continue the drinking. If you are in the area, make an effort to stop by. It is worth your time if you are into microbrews. Everyone seemed really nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(12/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Great
Bavarian style wheat beers aren't my favorite, but the High Point/Ramstein products are superb. This past Saturday's open house featured only two house beers, a blonde wheat and a robust winter wheat in the weizen doppelbock style. Both were very good. They sell bottles and growlers on the premises during the monthly 2 hour tasting period, and have a list of local draft accounts. Good stuff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(11/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
I am still looking forward to getting up to the brewery for a tour...is it possible to expand the tour from just the 2nd Saturday of each month? Either way, their Blonde is a great wheat beer, but I must say, the Ramstein Oktoberfest is easily the best fall seasonal out there. I don't know if it is sold in bottles (I've never seen it), but the Office restaurants have been carrying it...worth trying if you haven't sampled anything from these guys yet. High Points needs to distribute their beers better...only the largest liquor stores carry their product.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Brick, NJ
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I checked out the brewery yesterday, and it was packed with people. Every second Saturday of the month is tour day. They had five taps running for the tatsing, including their Octoberfest. The staff was nice, the beer was great. To the best of my knowledge they make all of their beer in accordance to the Beer Purity Law of 1516. For my money, High Point makes some of the best German Style beer, by U.S. breweries. HAPPY OCTOBERFEST!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(10/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I had the pleasure of sampling Ramstein at the STOUDT's Festival earlier this summer. Then I visited their brewery. While their beer is stupendous - masterfully brewed. The genius of the Brewer is that he has totally gorgeous women serving it. I was personally struck by the raven haired beauty. She was approachable and knowledgeable about the beer. The other beauty was a strawberry blond - with a no nonsense atittude. Professional to a "T" - but a shame she has a boyfriend. She shot down more men than Custer took Indians. What redblooded male does not want to be served outstanding beer by beautiful women? CHEERS and KUDOS to High Point for their marketing genius. You have an outstanding product, gorgeous servers - now all you need is a new logo. I recommend pictures of the ladies. "Grab your hands on our Classic. ( picture of the raven haired Tina) OR how about 'Grab your hands on a Amber" for the strawberry blond fans?? I will be at the NEXT High Point event. Cheers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lancaster, PA
(08/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The maibock is out. A rich malty beer with hints of spices and vanilla. Delicious!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phil, Bronx, NY
(04/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Last Saturday, I decided to grab the beer for our annual Oktoberfest party from Greg at High Point. We picked up 2 torpedos of the Revelation Golden Lager, 2 of the Oktoberfest and 1 of the Classic. I must say, all of the beers were truly incredible. Every guest was curious as to what they were drinking, what country it came from etc. Everyone was pleasantly surprised when we told them the beer came fresh from Butler, NJ - about 30 miles away. A few friends from Germany commented that the Helles lager was the best they had tasted in a long time. All 5 torpedo kegs quickly vanished. I should also note that (as usual) Greg was incredibly hospitable and accommodating. He and his staff are responsible for some of the best beers on the East Coast!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, Hoboken, NJ
(10/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Summer time is wheat beer time and Highpoint makes excellent wheat beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, Bronx, NY
(04/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
These guys define the wheat beer styles. If you think you have to resort to German wheats to get something good your missing out on a hidden treasure. All the classic flavors but even better than German wheats because you're getting it fresh and local. Find Ramstein beers, you won't regret it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clifton, NJ
(04/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
If you have a chance stop by on a Saturday for a tour. Great beer and relaxed tour, what else could you ask for?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Pizzuto Jeff Pizzuto, Dumont, NJ
(03/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Wonderful selection of wheat beers. Greg Zaccardi (Brewmaster) is very accomodating and friendly. The Saturday tours and tastings are a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lea Lea, Saddle River, NJ
(01/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
In case you haven;t read the the reviews below, this place makes some AWESOME wheat (and only wheat) beer. Bought a case to bring back to Wisconsin. Kudos!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Biggins John Biggins, Madison, WI
(01/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
They have a new Maibock out that is excellent - draft only.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hoboken, NJ
(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Best wheat beers on the East Coast.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, Hoboken, NJ
(03/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Would like some comments about the beer. My interpretation by what ive experienced all around is that this beer is ready for me to savor and stock bros hans!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from larry larry, lafayette, NJ
(02/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
I recently took the tour with my fianceƩ (who doesn't drink beer) on a Saturday afternoon. We arrived and sampled the Kristall. This is hands down the best tasting example of this beer that I have had. The tour was exremely informative, the staff incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. My fiancee actually drank a couple of their beers and enjoyed the heck out of them. All in all, a greatway to spend an hour or so on a Saturday - plus they sell their beer, steins and shirts to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Connolly Rob Connolly, Hoboken, NJ
(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Great beer made by good people in the mountains of NJ. They also fill beer "gowlers" at a reasonable price. Don't miss this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(06/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The beer is great and so are the owners! Tours every second Saturday of the month - 2 PM. Take the Tour!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Clark Ron Clark, Oakland, NJ
(01/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Tasted beer, took tour, tasted beer, talked, tasted beer... I got their too late in the season for the Dopplebock, although I've tried it before and it's outstanding. The "classic" and blonde is also great , the blonde is the best hefeweizen I've had in the U.S.The new crystal wasn't my style, but it was a good beer. Take the tour, it's fun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Hawthorne, NJ
(04/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The greatest Hefe Weizen Dopplebock ever! I'd like to see more on the shelves!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Mueler Greg Mueler, South Brunswick, NJ
(01/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Beer was outstanding. Enjoyed their brewery tour- albeit small. Blonde was surprisingly better than most all of the German imports and well beyond anything I have tasted from the US. Dark has more roasty/chocolate flavor than traditional dunkles - however I found it really delicious. Doppelbock advertised as their best - looking forward to trying it in the winter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Serdt Robert Serdt, West Milford, NJ
(09/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Very tasty offerings, especially the Dark Wheat, from the only exclusive wheat beer brewery in the US. All malt and hops ingredients are imported from Germany.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Amin Jay Amin, Cedar Grove, NJ
(05/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pompton Lakes, NJ
(05/02/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.223 seconds) 13:35:09 54.81.77.93, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS