PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Corner Bar and Grill - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 22, 2014 @ 02:11 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Corner Bar and Grill
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Corner Bar and Grill
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.5 / 100
1020 East Vine Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49001
United States
(269) 385-2028
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: April 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Corner Bar and Grill
22 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(0 mile)

2) Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
(3 miles)

3) London Grill
(3 miles)

4) Shakespeare's Pub
(3 miles)

5) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

6) The Union
(3 miles)

7) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

8) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

9) Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
(3 miles)

10) Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

11) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(3 miles)

12) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(4 miles)

13) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gilbert, Henry, House
7) Haymarket Historic District
8) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
9) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
10) Ladies Library Association Building
11) Lawrence and Chapin Building
12) Lilienfeld, David, House
13) Marlborough, The
14) Masonic Temple Building
15) Michigan Central Depot
16) Montague, Henry, House
17) Oaklands, The
18) Old Central High School
19) Old Fire House No. 4
20) Portage Street Fire Station
21) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
22) Rickman Hotel
23) Roberts, Martin W., House
24) Rose Place Historic District
25) Shaffer, Enoch, House
26) South Street Historic District
27) State Hospital Gatehouse
28) Stevens, Andrew J., House
29) Stuart, Charles E., House
30) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Angelo's Italian Eatery
2) Arby's
3) Arby's
4) Arby's
5) Aries London Grill Singapore
6) B & J Cafe
7) Back Alley Saloon
8) Bagels' & Panini
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Bennuccis
11) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Bill Knapp's Restaurant
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
16) Blue Dolphine
17) Bravo Restaurant & Cafe
18) Brewster's Junction
19) Brewster's Junction
20) Bullseye Pizza & Subs
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) C J's
27) C J's Pub
28) Callahans
29) Chamberlin's Breakfast
30) Charley's Deli
31) Chicago Subs & Grill
32) Chicago Subs & Grill
33) Chicken Coop Inc
34) Chicken Coop Inc
35) Chicken Coop Inc
36) City Subs & More
37) Clarion Hotel
38) Coney Island
39) Cork'n Cleaver
40) Corner Bar
41) Corvet Cafe
42) Cottage Inn Pizza
43) Cup Of Joe To Go
44) Dairy Queen
45) Dairy Queen
46) Damon's
47) Dejavu
48) Denny's
49) Derks
50) District 211
51) Dog House
52) Dragon Inn
53) El Grande Fiesta
54) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
55) Fishel's Deli
56) Flame Restaurant
57) Flightline Cafe Inc
58) Food Dance Cafe
59) Fourth Coast Cafe
60) Fox's Pizza Den
61) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
62) Gateside Cafe
63) Godfather's Pizza
64) Great Wall Of China
65) Gum Ho Restaurant
66) Hana East
67) Harvey's On The Mall
68) Hong Kong Buffet
69) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
70) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
71) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
72) Josephine's
73) Joy Yin Restaurant
74) Joy Yin Restaurant
75) Julianna's Restaurant
76) Julianna's Restaurant
77) Just Good Food
78) King's Table
79) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
80) Kowloon Palace
81) Larry's Bar & Grill
82) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
83) Lee's Garden Restaurant
84) Little Caesars Pizza
85) Little Caesars Pizza
86) Main Street Cafe
87) Mc Donald's
88) Mc Donald's
89) Mc Donald's
90) Mc Donald's
91) Mi Ranchito
92) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
93) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
94) Niko's Express
95) Niko's Landing
96) Nob Hill Restaurant & Bar
97) O'duffy's Pub
98) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
99) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
100) Outback Steakhouse
101) Panda Forest
102) Papa's Italian Sausage
103) Pappy's Place
104) Peter Piper Pizza
105) Pizza Hut
106) Pizza King Of Portage
107) Plaza Cafe
108) Poor Richards Cafe
109) Poor Richards Cafe
110) Root Beer Stand
111) Root Beer Stand
112) Root Beer Stand
113) Root Beer Stand
114) Sandwich Express
115) Sherry's Soul Food House
116) Shortstop
117) St Jude's Grocery Delivery
118) State Grill
119) Steak N Shake
120) Subs-N-More
121) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
122) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
123) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
124) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
125) Sugarbowl
126) Summer Thyme Cafe
127) Summer Thyme Cafe
128) Taco Bell
129) Taco Bell
130) Taco Bell
131) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
132) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
133) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
134) Uncle Ernie's Pancake House
135) Uncle Ernie's Pancake House
136) Webster's
137) Wendy's
138) Wendy's
139) Wendy's
140) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Well, I would have rated this a lot differently, however after witnessing the behavior of the sound man on this weeks open mic night, I would say thumbs down to any place that would let someone like that represent them. The young man that he was cursing out had obviously tried to get his attention to check things out and was being ignored. To bad for the Corner Bar. The guy he was cursing out, Branden Mann is a very respected artist in the lower Michigan and upper Indiana area. He could have been a very good contact for the Corner Bar to have. We were there as a scout for "good music". I really don't care what kind of an establishment this would have been, the behavior that was displayed was very unprofessional.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review elkhart, IN
(10/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
No longer have the cigar humidor here. It has been enlarged and moved to Smokes On Burdick. www.kalamazoosmokes.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kalamazoo Cigars Kalamazoo Cigars, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
This is really a great bar, the decor is a must see, with the walls covered in signs and nostalgia that really brings you back to the bars of years past. So glad to have something so good and so different from every other franchise main stream cookie cutter place in Kalamazoo. Its a bit of a mess to find, way off the beaten path. In its day I am sure that it was in the middle of everything, way back in the 20's and 30's; but today its off your main stream roads and I would call for directions. Also, you must have one of the burgers, ribs or E Coast Ruebens, all local fav.'s.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Young Steve Young, Kalamazoo, MI
(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anne Anne, Kalamazoo, MI
(03/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
My Aunt who came to age in Chicago says that Coner Bar is the closest thing to a throwback local neighborhood bar of the Windy City. It is my fav bar in Kalamazoo, hand down.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kalamazoo, MI
(02/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Kalamazoo is a great beer town so finding a bar like Corner bar with 18 taps is not that unusual. What is nice is that they don't fill 15 of those taps with Bud/Miller/Coors. I don't remember them all but there was an Arcadia, Founders, Great Lakes Brewing Co., and 2 Bells. They also carry a large inventory of bottled beer from 8 or so different Bells to not so common imports like Chimay. Nice homey bar with great service. Teresa is the best bartender and if you feel like a mixed drink she'll give you a nice pour. I hear the food is pretty good but I haven't tried it yet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul S Paul S, Eau Claire, MI
(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Good
Everything seems to be running well since the new owners took over...they are trying there hardest to keep old regulars and also get lots of new comers...over all they are doing a good job and soon it will be the best place in kazoo or michigan to go have a beer and great food

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Teresa Johnston Teresa Johnston, kalamazoo, TX
(04/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Well I hate to be so disagreeable; but I believe all the changes I have seen have been for the better. We had great food, beer and service; not to mention it seems much more organized, cleaner and I have been a customer for over 10 years. Bravo and keep up the great work and thanks for not changing anything I wouldn't have changed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stew Stew, kalamazoo, MI
(04/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So So So So So So So
The new owner(s) are definately changing things! Currently, beer selection low, food unpredictable, and lack of employees. Time will tell what the big plan is.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kalamazoo, MI
(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
After serving Kalamazoo for over 17 years, the Milne family will be leaving The Corner in March of 2004.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kalamazoo, MI
(02/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
excellent local beer selection. awesome burgers. has a very neighborhoody feel. the people there are very friendly. i love it there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren Harbaugh Darren Harbaugh, Colon, MI
(08/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I saw the Rev. Jason Hall smoking a cigar and drinking a beer here. I'm telling his congregation!

But seriously, without the Corner Bar, Kalamazoo would have nothing but The Green Top.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bat Guano Bat Guano, Kalamazoo, MI
(06/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
It is a great place to kick back and relaxe. Also a great place to work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Teresa Johnston, Kalamazoo, Mi
(03/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The ribs are the best on the planet bar none! The beer selection is amazing, the rest of the menu is terrific, and the prices are fair. It is one of those rare "cigar friendly" places to kick back and relax. The walk in humidor is a must visit. They also have the best selection of Padron's and La Gloria cigars. Also check out the Cigar Club. It's just a great time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Johns Tom Johns, London, KY
(01/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Stumbled upon the Corner Bar and grill while driving around Kalamazoo.Very interesting place,and the people there were quite friendly.They have a nice selection of draft beers,and a pretty good selection of bottled.My wife and I each had a burger,which also was very good.Worth stopping at if you are in Kalamazoo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Everett Jack Everett, Ft Wayne, IN
(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
This is a temple of beer - now 18 taps - one is always Bud Light (now #1 in U.S.) and the rest are domestic microbrews (many from Michigan) and imported specialties. The also have 75+ bottled beers, single malt scotch, single barrel bourbon and a walk in humidor. Oh yeah, the have a special back room for you to smoke cigars in. And they have the best ribs in Kalamazoo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from H D Stearns H D Stearns, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place absolutely rules. They have nice big burgers for under $4. Their ribs are the best in town. They have a huge walk-in humidor. They have 15 or 16 taps and always support the locals (Bell's, Kraftbrau, Arcadia, Atwater, etc.). In short, if you're not going to a brewpub, just come here. You can get a few great beers, cheap burgers, marvel at the beer memorabilia that covers EVERY wall (including the ceiling), and have a great time. I see families there all the time too, so it's not just a "drink with the pals" kind of place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Miller Brian Miller, Kalamazoo, MI
(07/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I wish that I could go here everyday, gotta be one of the best beer-bars in Michigan. Go during the week in the middle of the afternoon, that way you can walk around and check out all of the beer stuff that's on the walls. It's kinda like a beer museum.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Hulka Paul Hulka, Muskegon, MI
(06/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Corner Spoils me rotten. I'm never going back....Until the next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason J. Hall Jason J. Hall, Kalamazoo, MI
(05/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Corner has the best ribs around and the Cigar selection is great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dale Michael Dale Michael, Plainwell, MI
(01/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
The Corner Bar is one of my families favorites - we visit everytime I come home from college!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amanda Amanda, Kalamazoo, MI
(12/14/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Best Beer Bar in Michigan. 13+ taps of carefully-selected beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sturgis, MI
(10/16/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.771 seconds) 14:11:32 54.197.65.82, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS