PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sarasota Brewing Company - Sarasota, FL
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 11:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > FL > Sarasota > Sarasota Brewing Company
Sarasota Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Sarasota Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.1 / 100
6607 Gateway Avenue
Sarasota, FL 34231
United States
(941) 925-2337
Last Updated: May 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Sarasota, FL
Beer Guide for Florida

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Sarasota Brewing Company
47 Reviews / 7 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Cock and Bull Pub
(5 miles)

2) Sarasota Ale House
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Crescent House Bed & Breakfast
2) Cypress
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN MIDTOWN
2) BW SIESTA BEACH RESORT
3) COMFORT INN SARASOTA
4) COUNTRY INN & SUITES SARASOTA
5) CRESCENTVIEW BEACH CLUB HOTEL
6) HAMPTON INN SARASOTA BEE RIDGE
7) HELMSLEY SANDCASTLE
8) HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS SIESTA KEY
9) HOWARD JOHNSON SARASOTA
10) OASIS RESORT
11) RADISSON LIDO BEACH RESORT
12) RAMADA LIMITED SARASOTA
13) TIMBERWOODS VACATION VILLAS
14) TROPICAL BREEZE RESORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) American National Bank Building
2) Bacheller--Brewer Model Home Estate
3) Bacon and Tomlin, Inc.
4) Bee Ridge Woman's Club
5) Bispham--Wilson Historic District
6) Burns, William J., House
7) Casa Del Mar
8) DeMarcay Hotel
9) House at 507 Jackson Drive
10) Kennedy, Dr. Walter, House
11) Leech, Hilton, House and Amagansett Art School
12) Osprey School
13) Out of Door School
14) Payne, Christy, Mansion
15) Roth Cigar Factory
16) Sanderling Beach Club
17) Sarasota Herald Building
18) Sarasota High School
19) Schueler, George, House
20) South Side School
21) Southwick--Harmon House
22) William, H.B., House
23) Wilson, Dr. C. B., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Catered Affair
2) A Taste Of Britain Inc
3) A Taste Of Europe Intl Deli
4) A's Giant Sandwich
5) Alligators Sports Bar & Grill
6) Alpine Steak House
7) Arby's
8) Bacio Italian Market & Deli
9) Badda Bing
10) Bangkok Restaurant
11) Better Bagels
12) Big Brothers Cafe & Pizzeria
13) Big Kitchen
14) Bistros On 41 Inc
15) Boar's Head Lounge
16) Burger King
17) Burritos Fresh Mexican Food
18) Cafe Tuscany Grill
19) Captain Curt's Crab & Oyster
20) Carrabba's Italian Grill
21) Casa Di Pasta
22) Celtic Tavern Inc
23) Chelsea Center
24) Chez Daniel Restaurant
25) Chez Sylvie Et Fils French
26) Chicken Pie Co
27) China 1
28) China Palace Express
29) China Wok Chinese Takeout
30) City Pizza Inc
31) Coasters At The Southbridge
32) Cockatoo Bistro
33) Corkscrew Deli
34) Dairy Queen
35) De Marco's
36) Demetrios' Restaurant & Pizza
37) Domino's Pizza
38) Dotty's Tavern
39) Dutch Oven
40) Dutch Valley Restaurant
41) El Guacho Italiano
42) Fandango International Cafe
43) Figaro's Pasta & Wine Bar
44) Fish Tales Fresh Seafood
45) Forest Lakes Restaurant/Lounge
46) Four N' Twnety Pasty Co
47) Fox's Pizza Den
48) French Affair
49) Friendly's
50) Galileo Restaurant
51) Gecko's Grill & Pub
52) Geier's Sausage Kitchen
53) Going Bistro
54) Granary
55) Granny's Corner Cafe
56) Greer's Grille
57) Ho Ho Chinese Restaurant
58) Holman Subz II Inc
59) Hooters Of Sarasota
60) Hot Diggity Dog
61) Hot Stuff Pizza
62) Howlin Wolf Restaurant
63) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
64) Ichbane Japenese Restaurants
65) Italian Village Deli
66) Its A Grind Coffee House
67) Jags Nightclub
68) Jameson's South Trail Cafe
69) Kfc
70) La Champagne Restaurant
71) Latino Bistro
72) Latitude 23.5 Coffee & Tea
73) Le Parigot
74) Les Saisons
75) Little Italy Ristorante
76) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
77) Longhorn Steakhouse
78) Lucy Delicatessen
79) Maine Seafood Co
80) Mak's Chinese Restaurant
81) Mama's Pizza Inc
82) Manhattan Bar & Grill
83) Marie's Italian Kitchen
84) Mario's New York Style Pizza
85) Mc Donald's
86) Mc Donald's
87) Miguel's
88) Millies
89) Monk's Steamer Bar Inc
90) Mrs Chen's Chinese Restaurant
91) New Dynasty Chinese Restaurant
92) Oaks Open Pit Bbq
93) Obee's Soup-Salad-Subs
94) Obee's Soup-Salad-Subs
95) Octave
96) Olive Garden
97) Outback Steakhouse
98) Oyster Bars Of Sarasota
99) Ozzie
100) Paddy Wagon
101) Panera Bread
102) Papa John's Pizza
103) Papa John's Pizza
104) Phillippi Creek Village Oyster
105) Piccolo Italian Deli
106) Pierogi Inc
107) Pizza Hut
108) Poki Joe's Catering
109) Pontillo's Pizzeria
110) Prime Rib A Go Go
111) Red Lobster Restaurant
112) Rico's Pizzeria
113) Rio Samba
114) Rita's Italian Ice
115) Ruth's Chris Steak House
116) Sahara Cafe & Mediterranean
117) Sam Seltzer's Steakhouse
118) Sarasota Brewing Co
119) Sarasota Catering Co
120) Sarasota Scoops
121) Selva Grill
122) Serving Spoon
123) Shaner's
124) Shang Hai Express Inc
125) Shell's Seafood Restaurant
126) Siesta Key Subway
127) Simon's Coffee House
128) Simply Gourmet Cookies
129) Something Fishy
130) Southbridge Restaurant Co
131) Starbucks
132) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
133) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
134) Surfrider
135) Sweet Basil Inc
136) Sweet Tomato Restaurant
137) Sweetberries Frozen Custard
138) Swift Soup & Sandwich
139) T P Hans Inc
140) Taco Bell
141) Tandoor Indian Restaurant
142) Taste Of Tokyo
143) Thai Garden Restaurant
144) Thailand Restaurant
145) Therapy
146) To-Ho Cafe
147) Trolley Station
148) Village Pub
149) Waterfront
150) Wendy's
151) Will's Honkytonk
152) Word Of Mouth
153) Yoder's Express
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great
We enjoyed our visit to Sarasota Brewing Company. There was a good crowd watching sports on the many TVs. Our waitress, Denise, took great care of us. She brought our beer and food promptly and checked back with us regularly to see if we needed anything else. We had the sampler and liked the red ale and porter the best even though they needed a little more carbonation. We are only in the area about once a year but try to make sure we stop by for beer and dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave & Diana D Dave & Diana D, Utica, IL
(02/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Had a very bad encounter tonight at your establishment. First the table was dirty and required cleaning . Our server, Denise was not very helpful in getting the table cleaned. We cleaned the table ourselves with a wet wipe my wife had in her handbag. Next we needed to switch to a large table since my friend was in a wheelchair. When a table next to us became available, it took about 20 minutes for Denise to clear the dirty dishes but another young man cleaned the table for us when our food arrived. When our food arrived, it was cold. The attitude of Denise was very rude and unfriendly toward our party. Not a good waitress. If she worked for me, she would be unemployed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Donald A. Wolf Donald A. Wolf, Sarasota, FL
(02/27/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome Brewery with outstanding food--Then toss in the sports bar setting and you got a place you want to return often and dont want to leave. This is a great place to spend some time with friends and family. If you are in Flordia, it is worth a drive to check out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Lee Rob Lee, saint Joseph, MI
(10/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Having stopped by at lunchtime today I'd like to say kudos to the brewer, I enjoyed a marvelous hopped Sarasota IPA and a stellar creamy Midnight Pass Porter, thanks for the great brews. The waitstaff was cordial and friendly and very helpful in getting me a couple of new Ts that had just come in. The food was top notch!! Will be back soon. It's nice to have a place for good brews in the state of FL!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, North Port, FL
(09/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
the beer was very average. nothing exciting about it. most of their beers need more flavor, the taste, more body. seems to cater to the average beer drinker and not to someone that likes and appreciates a craft beer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from phil hartley phil hartley, northville, MI
(09/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Sarasota Brew Co. Great place to drink a micro brew and watch sports. New flat scrrens would help to improve it.

To the lady asking about other brew houses, you can try HOPS in Bradenton off of US41 just south of Cortez Rd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gator Gator, Sarasota, FL
(08/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We've stopped in most years we've been in the area. This year wanted to watch some of the NCAA men's bb tourney games during the day so spent a few hours there. Not pushy at all that we wanted to watch games - good food. Unlike a previous reviewer, hubby has enjoyed the corned beef which has been piled so high he could barely get it in his mouth. I've also enjoyed everything I've ordered. Hubby didn't like the Sequoia Amber Lager while we both liked the Midnight Pass Porter - good head and flavor, described by SBC as "full bodied, robust dark ale." I also loved the Honey Meade Ale made with caramel malt & real honey. Will definitely go back again next year regardless of the bb tourney. Waitress was attentive and told us to move to a better spot when she found out we wanted to see more than one bb game at a time. Are there other brewpubs in Sarasota or Bradenton? We've not found any so if others know of some please post!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cathie cathie, madison, WI
(05/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
I first discovered this place almost 10 years ago. (See previous Post) This review is based on 2 visits in a one week trip.

BEER WITH FLAVOUR - WHAT A CONCEPT !!!! An oasis of Fine Ales in a Fizzy Yellow Lager town. Comfortable atmosphere, and Tasty food. My First and Last Stop In Sarasota.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A.J. Zanyk A.J. Zanyk, Grandview, OH
(01/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Dropped by for lunch and had a great burger and fries (my compliments to the cook)cooked just the way I ordered it. The Presidential Pale Ale was excellent!! Service was much better this trip than on my previous visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, North Port, FL
(07/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Sarasota Brewery is a great place to take your family for dinner and drinks. 2 large big screen tv's and the only Brewery in Sarasota.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Chagrin Falls, OH
(05/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
We stopped in for dinner on our way back to Detroit. Invincible (double IPA) was excellent as was the Amber. The pizza was just OK (bland), the beer soup was pretty good but the meatball sub wasn't very good at all. The service was pretty terrible, our waitress couldn't keep track of who ordered what and didn't seem concerned. In spite of the lackluster food the location is cool and this could have been a great visit with a capable bartender.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I was in town visiting friends and wanted to check this place out. They have a double IPA called Invincible which was really good. Their wings are definitely a must and tasted great with the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sarah Sarah, Chalfont, PA
(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
While we always frequented this place on vacations in the past and found that over the years the place seemed to have slipped a bit, now that we have lived in the area a couple of years we thought we would give it another shot. The brews were good as usual and the menu had changed for the better, the service wasn't bad except for the fact that I had inquired about some of the awesome T-shirts and the waitress never got back to me, I'm sure we will give it another shot, but more than likely we will travel up to Tampa Bay Brewing for our brews for awhile!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, North Port, FL
(10/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
great place for sporting event .great selection of menu items.two very good brews the rest where so so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joe joe, land'o'lakes, FL
(10/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
The beer they did have on tap (5) were good. The pizza was outstaning and the waitress was very good. I would have like to have had the porter which was out. It's a good place to hang out and catch some sports on the many tv's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ann Arbor, MI
(03/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Brats and Reuben arrived with crisp fries and delicate onion strings. Anything that gets the biermaiden's two thumbs up is good chow.

Amber and red: both were nicely hopped for aroma and taste, with enough malty flavor to balance.

We'll be back

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dlsmith dlsmith, Old Orchard Beach, ME
(03/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Good selection of Beer, Pizza was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Ingram Jon Ingram, Apollo Beach, FL
(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Recently spent a week in Sarasota, and the Sarasota Brewing Co. became our daily stop on the way home from the beach in Siesta Key. Super-friendly bartenders, who knew our drink orders by the 2nd day. All the beers were great, but the Sequoia Amber was the best. Goes down super-easy on a hot afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review New Orleans, LA
(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
since good beer is hard to find in florida, this place is definitely worth seeking. five beers were on tap when i visited. the red is the hoppiest, and very drinkable. the brown is full bodied and delicious - more in the style of a porter than their porter, which could've used more body. they also offer a few guest beers, including hoegarden. the food consists of very good pub fare. try the blackened grouper sandwich. this may be the oldest brewpub in florida, as i have been visiting here for years. but judging but the crowd, or lack of, i hope it is still here next time i visit. oh, and if you like sports, they have two projection tv's that occupy the entire wall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from max max, nashua, NH
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great atmosphere, fine service and great home brews. The Midnight Pass Porter tastes has a mocha flavor, very good. Im our large group we had the opportunity to sample many of the menu items, all the salads were huge and very good, especially the Cuban salad. The sandwichs were great, pub fries were unique and delicious. All servings were huge. The server was happy to answer our questions about the homebrews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from melissa melissa, Indianapolis, IN
(03/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
If this place lasts much longer, it'll have the ambience of the Come Back Inn in Melrose Park, IL -- and that's "a good thing"... (All they need are peanut shells on the floor) The beer remains top-notch and the "Midnight Pass Porter" I had just before Christmas was creamy and perfect - the best I've had at SBC in a couple of years.

Support your local brewpub -- they're disappearing fast!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Raleigh, NC
(01/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I personally have been going to the Sarasota brewery for at least 12-14 yrs.I live in Ft. Lauderdale with family in sarasota and no offense to my family but I enjoy going to the brewery just as much as visiting them, the brewery is like my 2nd home while I'm there! The Beer is ALWAY Great and the food as well. Over the years there have been many changes, but the new owners from Chicago have kept up the Excallence I've always come back there for!If your in Sarasota, don't miss out on this place, it's really worth the trip there and it's very reasonable and you won't leave hungry!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mickey Hurter Mickey Hurter, Ft.Lauderdale, FL
(01/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
I have been a pub crawler (mainly east coast) for many years, and have frequented my home-town Sarasota Brewing Company even longer (probably 10 years). I have seen the ups & downs and those who come & go. Currently, they have excellent management and a great kitchen staff. The food has been terrific. Please try the most delicious clam chowder in the state! The wings are mighty good, and the cuban salad too. - The house brews make an excellent match with this great food. The brewmeister is right on top - I love the deep dark porter & stout, when it appears. I would recommend a visit - or join the Lagers Lovers' Club.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beth Roe Beth Roe, Sarasota, FL
(02/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Don't forget to buy a mug. Every time you return, they get it down and refill for reduced prices!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Poplawski Frank Poplawski, Cresskill, NJ
(01/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The Sarasota Brewing Company is a great place to spend a lazy afternoon. It's located in a small strip of restaurants and bars behind the mall. The beers are all very good. I've been coming here once or twice a year for the last several years and they have been very consistent in the quality of the beers. I wish that the would experiment more with different styles. The Sequoia Amber Lager is an excellent, malty beer. The Honey Mead Ale is a style that I can't describe. It is golden in color and well balanced. At 7%, be careful with this one. I was disappointed that they didn't have a porter or stout on this trip and I was a little early for the Abbey Double. Oh well, maybe next year. Make time for this place when in Tampa.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Holl Doug Holl, Atlanta, GA
(12/07/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.228 seconds) 11:14:26 54.90.178.218, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS