PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Greenshields Brewery and Pub - Cary, NC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 07:25 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NC > Cary > Greenshields Brewery and Pub
Greenshields Brewery and Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Greenshields Brewery and Pub
Overall: Good    Score: 64.5 / 100
1077 Darrington Drive
Cary, NC 27513
United States
(919) 388-1599
Last Updated: July 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Cary, NC
Beer Guide for North Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
46 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Harrison's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Woody's Sports Tavern and Grill
(0 mile)

3) Carolina Ale House
(0 mile)

4) Westie's American Grille
(0 mile)

5) MacGregor Ale House
(4 miles)

6) Hibernian Pub
(4 miles)

7) Fox and Hound Pub and Grille
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Pearson Place Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BAYMONT INN & STES RALEIGH AP
2) BEST WESTERN CARY INN AND STES
3) BSA MARQUIS AT CROSSROADS
4) COMFORT SUITES CARY
5) COURTYARD RALEIGH CARY
6) COURTYARD RALEIGH DURHAM AIRPT
7) DAYS INN CARY NC
8) DAYS INN RALEIGH AIRPORT
9) EXTENDEDSTAY CARY REGENCY PRKWY
10) EXTENDEDSTAY RALDUR AIRPORT
11) HAMPTON INN - CARY
12) HAMPTON INN STES RALEIGH CARY
13) HILTON GARDEN INN AIRPORT
14) HOMEWOOD SUITES CARY
15) LA QUINTA INN RALEIGH AIRPORT
16) LA QUINTA INN RALEIGH CARY
17) MICROTEL INN
18) OAKWOOD MORRISVILLE
19) RALEIGH AIRPORT FAIRFIELD INN
20) RED ROOF RALEIGH SOUTHWEST CARY
21) RESIDENCE INN RALEIGH CARY
22) RESIDENCE INN RDU AIRPORT
23) SHERATON IMPERIAL HTL CONF CTR
24) STUDIOPLUS CARY REGENCY PARKWAY
25) STUDIOPLUS HARRISON AVENUE
26) TOWNEPLACE SUITES RALEIGH-CARY
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Apex Historic District (Boundary Increase)
2) Lane-Bennett House
3) Page-Walker Hotel
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amante Gourmet Pizza
2) Arby's
3) Assaggio Cucina Italiano
4) Baba Ghannouj Mediteranean
5) Back Nine Pub
6) Bary Breakfast & Barbuque
7) Bear Rock Cafe
8) Beef O Brady's-Cary Family
9) Belle Rouge Catering
10) Biaggi's
11) Bombay Eatery
12) Bonefish Grill
13) Brigs Restaurant
14) Bruegger's Bagels Bakery
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Cafe 65
18) Cafe Carolina & Bakery
19) Caribou Coffee Co
20) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
21) Cary Cafe
22) Cary Tavern & Grill
23) Chef John Cafe
24) Chick-Fil-A
25) Chico's Mexican Restaurant
26) Chris Ruth's Steak House
27) D'Lites Of Cary
28) Daylight Donuts & Ice Cream
29) Depot
30) Domino's Pizza
31) Dosa Inn
32) El Dorado Vii Mexican Rstrnt
33) Firehouse Subs
34) Fireside Coffee
35) Food Lion
36) Food Lion
37) Gaulart & Maliclet French Cafe
38) Golden Corral Family Steak Hse
39) Goodberrys Frozen Custard
40) Harrison's Bar & Grill
41) Henry James Family Dining
42) Hieronymus Seafood & Produce
43) Hong Kong 1
44) Ice Cream Club
45) Il Sogno Italian Restaurant
46) Italian Pie
47) Jaspers
48) Jersey Mike's Giant Submarines
49) Jo's New Orleans Sno-Balls
50) Kebab House
51) KFC
52) LA Farm Bakery
53) Lashish
54) Loop Pizza Grill
55) Lotus Chinese Restaurant
56) Lotus Leaf Cafe
57) Maggie Moo's Ice Cream & Trtry
58) Mama Fu's Noodle House
59) Manhattan Bagel Co
60) Manhattan Gourmet Deli
61) Maximillians Grill & Wine Bar
62) Mc Donald's
63) Mc Donald's
64) Melba's Country Kitchen
65) Michelangelo's Pizza
66) Moe's Southwestern Grill
67) Morrisville Cafe
68) Nakato Express Inc
69) Neo-China Restaurant
70) New China Restaurant
71) Newton's Southwest Restaurant
72) Ny Pizza
73) Once In A Blue Moon Bakery
74) One Eleven Place
75) Orient Garden
76) Outerbanks Coffee House
77) Panera Bread
78) Papa John's Pizza
79) Pasta Antonio
80) Philly Steak Factory
81) Pizza Hut
82) Quizno's Classic Subs
83) Ralph's Italian Ices
84) Ray's Elbow Room
85) Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches
86) Roma's Italian
87) Rudino's Pizza & Grinders
88) Salvio's Pizzeria
89) Schlotzsky's Deli
90) Shanghai Garden Chinese
91) Starbucks
92) Stonewood Tavern & Grill
93) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
94) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
95) Upper Deck Sports Pub
96) Vespa Of Cary
97) Wendy's
98) Wendy's
99) Woody's Sports Tavern & Grill
100) Yarmi's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just to set the record straight: This placed had a fire at their downtown Raleigh location and closed a few years ago. They reopened in Cary, NC as a pub only and never really made it. It is now closed for good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave B Dave B, Cary, NC
(09/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
new address...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(06/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Out of busines. Sold out after fire.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wilmington, DE
(06/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Real estate company sign says that this property is "Available". Apparently never reopened from fire that was reported in previous reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Call before going as a fire has temporarily closed the place

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review tulsa, OK
(10/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Awesome! Great Great
I went into the establishment on a Sunday morning as I was passing through on my way to a Fayetteville. They do not serve beer in NC on Sunday until 1200! I have the Brown ale which was "lighter" than normal for the style (less body) but I found it refreshing and overall I would highly recommend it. I ordered the beer cheese soup and was suprised by how flavorful it was with a hint of alcohol. TRhe bar tender (I sat at the bar) was very attentative. Overall an excellent experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Knapik Joe Knapik, Abingdon, MD
(06/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
PROBABLY THE BEST BREWPUB BEER I'VE EVER HAD. THE GUY WHO DID THIS REVIEW OBVIOUSLY LIKES AMERICAN HOPPY BEER, AND LACKS TASTE FOR GOOD GERMAN BEER. IT'S HARD TO TAKE HIM SERIOUSLY WHEN HE CAN'T EVEN SPELL ACCEPTABLE. MAYBE HIS FAVOURITE BEER IS BUDWISER. ANYWAY ROBERT'S BEER IS EXCELLENT. I ESPECIALLY LIKE HIS HEFEWEIZEN, AND NUT BROWN. THE AMBER IS GOOD AND HAS A SORT OF FRUITY TASTE, AND THE STOUT HAS A NICE SMOKEY TASTE. THE PILS IS LIGHT AND FLAVORFUL. I WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from AL JEFFRIES AL JEFFRIES, raleigh, NC
(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Good
Okay, I scanned the reviews below, and think that maybe the ratings represent a case of too many beer snobs rating this establishment. While I agree that the food is not spectacular I have been in Raleigh area since 1990 and have always thought that Greenshields is an overall great place to go. I think the beers - especially the pilsner and amber are quite satisfying. They have a great flavor, go down smooth, and don't weigh you down like a ton of bricks. Beer service is great. Food service is lacking, and the food is inconsistent, but still generally good. It's nice particularly during the summer to sit outside and enjoy a brew in the afternoon or evening. The covered porch is shady and cool all day. Definitely worth a trip to decide for yourself!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Durham, NC
(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good
I visited this brewpub on 12/23/03. Brews available were Pilsner, Hefe, IPA, Amber, Nut Brown & Big Tet.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Austin, TX
(12/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
I've been through here a few times and really like the atmosphere of the pub and the location. The beer is drinkable and the food is good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Joseph Mark Joseph, Providence, RI
(11/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
the beer selection was ok, but they all tasted the same. the stout was the only one with a distinct flavor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kelly kelly, raleigh, NC
(11/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So So So
Greenshields was very disappointing to say the least. It is in a very cool part of town, and my hopes were high despite the very low ratings for the brewery. Well, the ratings did not lie. The IPA was the worst excuse of an India that I have ever had. Give me a break. It had no hops or flavor to speak of. What an unexceptable experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom Madigan tom Madigan, kettering, OH
(10/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sad to see all these negative comments. I lioved in Raleigh for a brief period sometime around 89/90 and found Greenshields to be about the best bar in town, replete with a fine and very drinkable stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Peter, London, UK
(08/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Stopped in for a cold one last week not expecting much, had been here before. But guess what? They`ve got a new German brewmaster and the beers are killer, especially the Pils and Hefe-Weiss. Definately worth a visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jerry, raleigh, nc
(03/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Greenshields' new Brewmaster is doing a wonderful job making clean, crisp, authentic german style beers! I had a well-balanced Hefeweiss with a good balance of clove-banana flavors and a wonderful pilsener with a well-balanced Saaz bitterness and aroma. The undisputed star of this show was a magnificent helles bier which I downed liters of while sitting on the patio enjoying some of the best scotch eggs I have ever comsumed. I am a graduate of UC Davis Masterbrewers program and spend lots of time on the road visiting various breweries. I really feel compelled to recommend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Julie, Atlanta, GA
(03/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review texjets, Cary, NC
(02/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Stopped in again this past weekend during their Oktoberfest. Surprisingly, all they had brewed special was an "Oktoberfest Lager"? Oh well, at least the beer is no longer at 0 degrees C. and you can actually taste some of the nuances of the stout. The brown ale is also quite tasty. And, just for the sake of whining, I've got to say that my wife found the pilsener tasty, but "too warm." Good German oom-pah band, good crowd, friendly bartenders (good place for Tir Na Nog to do some hiring, wink-wink). Good fries and beer cheese.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Raleigh, NC
(10/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
After reading other reviews, here, I was looking forward to some truely awful beer. But not so. The worst was average; the best was very good.

The crowd (and there was a crowd) was happy, animated, friendly, and drinking. Not bad. Something is working.

Their lagar and brown ale were weak, as others have mentioned. Their Hefeweisen rivaled my favorite from Schells (New Ulm, MN). Nicely done, fine Bavarian overtones, well balanced. I have to conclude that the brewmeister can hit the target he aims for, and that he aims to please the customers he has.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bradley Kjell Bradley Kjell, Newington, CT
(06/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
Great building, this place just LOOKS so good -- just doesen't follow through somehow...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from texjets texjets, Robbinsville, NJ
(03/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
The beer is basically watery and mostly lagers, although the bartenders really could not tell me the difference between a lager and an ale. When I asked for an ale they said that one of their beers was darker than the others.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Almekinder Ed Almekinder, Raleigh, NC
(02/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A N/A
OK, we read the poor reviews, but we had to check for ourselves being as we were in the area. Really thought the beer tasted like pond water-ug. The good news was there were other bars in this lovely downtown area to walk around to,also shops, little art galleries, imex and museums. Right across the park , there was a really excellent irish pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kelly predo kelly predo, w. paterson, NJ
(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Great So So
It is to bad this place cannot do a better job with the beer. It is located downtown in a nice area with shops and other places to eat. Food was greasy and not very tasty (fish and chips). All the beers were very stripped down and tasted alike. I think I read this in another review. Service was terrific. The gal that waited our table was very quick, helpful, and nice. They need to change the beer, unless maybe the locals like it watered down and tasteless.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Huntley, IL
(12/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Good Lousy
I have been here three times now, hoping that a good brew will appear. All beers tend to taste the same, only the colors differ. Their beers are for the masses that don't appreciate taste. Food hasn't been all that great either. For good micros in Raleigh, so far I have found only two places worth going; The Flying Saucer and Sawmill Taproom

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mason Robertson Mason Robertson, Raleigh, NC
(08/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Lousy So So
Although quantity was plenty (6 on tap, quality was lacking. Pretty weak. Food (especially trout stuffed w/ crab) was very good. Service was absolutely lousy. Certainly don't have to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Thomas Paul Thomas, Bristol, VA
(07/02/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.659 seconds) 07:25:31 54.91.49.40, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS