PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Big Horse Brewing - Hood River, OR
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 05:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OR > Hood River > Big Horse Brewing
Big Horse Brewing Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Big Horse Brewing
Overall: Great    Score: 75.7 / 100
114 State Street
Hood River, OR 97031
United States
(541) 386-4411
Listed Since: December 1996
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hood River, OR
Beer Guide for Oregon

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Big Horse Brewing
32 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Full Sail Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast
2) Old Parkdale Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOOD RIVER INN
2) COMFORT SUITES HOOD RIVER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Parkdale Ranger Station
2) Ries--Thompson House
3) Valley Theater
1) Parkdale Ranger Station
2) Ries--Thompson House
3) Valley Theater
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1301 Steak & Spirit
2) Abruzzo Italian Grill
3) Acre Inc
4) Acre Organic Coffeehouse
5) Celilo Restaurant & Bar
6) Chubys
7) Comisas Sweet Tamale Catering
8) Congusto
9) Copper Salmon Pub
10) Divots Restaurant At Indian
11) Domino's Pizza
12) Eagles Lodge
13) El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
14) Expresso Your Love Coffee Shop
15) Geno's Coffee
16) Gotta Java
17) Hood River Taqueria
18) Jean's
19) Mike's Ice Cream
20) Orchard House
21) Palate Pleasers By Carol Lynn
22) Shed
23) Soul Cafe
24) Starbucks
25) Stuffano's Pizzaria
26) Sushi Okalani
27) Taco Dell Mar
28) Taquirea Amigos
29) Three River's Grill
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
Horrible in so many ways. Usually you can trust a Brewery to have good comfort food and maybe one or two good vegetarian options. At 6:30pm they made us wait while the place was dead for 20 minutes to take our order.. and then once they did came back 20 minutes later to tell us the Veggie Burgers they make in house (or the menu says) where all out. Sounds more like someone didnt prep them... nothing else on the menu sounded okay except a side salad and an order of fries. Both gross. We left after taking two bites. I am pretty sure our server was drunk ... the only nice person in the whole place was the bartender who came around to take our order and the only time we saw our server was on the way out when he asked if we had our check. Yes and no thank you.... we tipped the bartender and will never ever go back and i am finding every place i can on the web to comment on how bad the food and service where at Big Horse.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michelle W. Michelle W. , Salt Lake City , UT
(11/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
This place has been a long time destination for me as a windsurfer. I came from Yakima originally and have personally met Bert Grant who I will testify was way ahead of his time so enough said. So for the Big horse Brewery I would agree service is slow, with all those stairs who could blame them. Food is also so-so, but it use to be a lot better, you never know what you will get. The food quality is inconsistant. But with that said the BEER exceeds all my standards or expectations and clientel is very warm and friendly. If you are a IPA guy, like I am. You will get nothing finer and the fact that you can't get it in a bottle makes it for a true Micro-Brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph Joseph , Seattle, WA
(03/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
I decided to try this establishment over the larger Full Sail just to give the little guy a chance. I would agree with everyone else, service slowwwww. I was impressed with the view and the double hop IPA but the atmosphere and the service left something to be desired. Food was average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Sitz Ben Sitz, Boise, ID
(10/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
Wow, the most recent review below is from nearly two years ago! We stopped in for a late lunch on Saturday, June 21, 2008. Here's an up-to-date impression. I think the food was the best brewpub-type fare I've ever had, my barbecue portobello mushroom sandwich was delicious, and generously sized. However, I paid an extra buck or so for the side of sweet potato fries and they didn't come with the special dipping sauce mentioned with the appetizer portion of them, like I assumed they would. We only had time to try two beers, an IPA and an ESB, both were very good. Now, the things that were negatives. The entire place seems a little dirty, ratty and worn out. Examples--lots of food debris on the floors, dirty bathrooms, and a lot of assorted junk has been thrown down next to the building in full view of the outside deck seating--if I recall correctly it was an old air conditioner and some broken deck chairs. As for service, there is a sign that says you must see the hostess for outside seating. It took a little while (not too bad) for anyone to notice us waiting, and then he said he would have to go out and wipe down a table for us. When he came back in he told us to "go ahead" instead of seating us. Meanwhile, I watched two women walk outside and plop down at the table that had just been wiped down for us. I guess we could have confronted them, but I wasn't in the mood, so we just another table that was free at the rear of the deck, not the better table he had cleared for us. All in all, I think things seemed pretty disorganized. The food and beer were good enough that I would definitely give it another try, but I think they need to pay more attention to the service and cleanliness issues.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moondoggie Moondoggie, Tigard, OR
(07/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Awesome!
Loved the place The food service and view was excellent. Best place in Hood River.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Seattle, WA
(10/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Lousy So So
Maybe I'm just a bad-service magnet, but here's what happened today, September 10, 2006 at the Big Horse Pub:

Got to the pub and loved the inside. The atmosphere was awesome and the view of the Columbia was spectacular. But I waited for a bit to get seated. Not a big deal. Finally got seated and then waited for someone to acknowledge me and my girlfriend. Waited 15 minutes for my first drink, an IPA. It arrived flat. No head. No bubbles. Went to the bar because I knew I wasn't going to get service at my table and switched for the English-style IPA. Much better, but not my favorite style.

The menu is pretty extensive, but a bit pricy, especially for a smaller town in Oregon. The food quality is great.

I ordered clam chowder, but it never arrived. When my meal showed up, I told my server she could cancel the order of chowder because I wasn't feeling that hungry any more. When the bill arrived, it was still on the tab. Asked the waitress to split the bill, and she changed the same card twice.

The service was horrible, and there wasn't a real reason for it to be as it wasn't very busy. I overheard my waitress tell someone she just moved to Oregon from Hawaii, so maybe she's still on an island way of doing things, but the service was so bad, I'll never go back. And there is no excuse for flat beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Franklin Franklin, Portland, OR
(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is a brewpub and they do have food so I don't know why the food column in earlier reviews have "N/A". The Beer was awesome. The selection was awesome as well. The day we were there, they had a pale ale, IPA, ESB, Stout, red (amber), porter, wheat and doppelbock. That's a style for almost anyone's taste buds. And each style was outstanding in terms of taste and quality. The food was great as was the service. The view from the brewpub of the Columbia River is worth the climb up the stairs. If you're in the area, be sure to make this a stop.

Dick Steward Naples, FL

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Steward Dick Steward, Naples, FL
(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I was pleasantly surprised when I found this establishment. Unlike the review below this on I found the wait staff fast effecient and courteous. Nice surrounding and good beer what more could you ask for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Ellensburg, WA
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The worst service I've ever had. Only tried the esb because our server got off her shift and sat at the bar. Nobody helped us for over a half hour. By that time I just wanted to get out of there. Good esb but don't waste your time unless you want an empty glass in front of you for a half an hour as you watch the staff chat with each other. Even the manager who gave us our check did'nt remedy the problem after being told about it. Don't waste your time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, Seattle, WA
(03/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
My God, those stairs...but a great view once you get to the top. My schedule kept me from staying very long..but I'll bet if I could have stayed longer, the stairs would have made me leave before I wanted to. I didn't have the service trouble the day I was there but then it was mid-afternoon and I sat at the bar. The Pale Rider IPA wqas very light and not very hoppy but it had a nice taste--although it was more of an ESB than and IPA. The imperial stout was a bit sweet for my liking but very true to style. There were 7 on tap the day I was there: Hefe, IPA, Extra special bitter, Scoth ale, black porter, and the stout. The staff was very friendly and if I can ever get back to beautful Oregon, Big Horse will certainly be on my list of must-go's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hi, this is not a review but a thanks to all who take the time to write them. I'm the brewer and I always check the reviews and I listen to your opinions. I just wanted to take the time to thank you for giving your time. Pub Crawler rocks! Much love Tom Nims

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Nims Tom Nims, pdx, OR
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
The British Bitter is truely the best American brewed beer I have tasted. It deserves the title of a 'British Bitter'. I hope Big Horse Ale continues the good work.

Eric Allen

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Allen Eric Allen, Bellevue, ID
(02/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A big set of stairs makes this pub impossible to get to for the physically challenged, but, other than that, this pub is great. Beer is great, good selection, our service wasn't slow, but we were there at 2 in the afternoon on a Sunday, so maybe that had something to do with it, and our food was quite tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bridget Pilloud Bridget Pilloud, Portland, OR
(01/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy So So
The view is very nice - and the food is pretty good, but the service was spotty at the very best. Would suggest going to Full Sail - or better still Walking Man in Stevenson, WA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from RC of beercc RC of beercc, Richland, WA
(11/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Much better than Full Sail. The server was knowledgeable and the beer and food were very good. The IPA was a nice contrast to Full Sail's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Peter Dilts Peter Dilts, Tampa, FL
(09/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
This was great beer! A small bar made the service a little slow but it was worth it. The beers were "top shelf". The beers were wonderful. This is a great brewpub as far as beer quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johan Bronson Johan Bronson, Willimantic, CT
(08/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great
While I agree with previous comments regarding the speed of service, I must say that the Pale Rider I.P.A. was defintely worth the wait. Nice pale orange color with a delicious fresh grapefruit hop bitterness. Nice location and the beautiful scenery were enough to make me want to return to Hood River. Next time I'll be staying overnight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great
While I agree with previous comments regarding the speed of service, I must say that the Pale Rider I.P.A. was defintely worth the wait. Nice pale orange color with a delicious fresh grapefruit hop bitterness. Nice location and the beautiful scenery were enough to make me want to return to Hood River. Next time I'll be staying overnight.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(08/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
This was a rather rushed stop for us so all I had was the sampler. The beers were pretty good but nothing jumped out and said "Change your plans! You need to stay here." That being said, I'll plan to stop by again some time when I can spend some time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David McKinstry David McKinstry, Renton, WA
(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
Ask the locals: Never go here if you are in any kind of a rush. They not only have the slowest food service in town, they usually take forever to get you your 1st beer and fail to check back on refill needs. Great beer, decent food, but the service absolutely sucks. At least that's an easy problem to solve, should they want to!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Clay Meyers Clay Meyers, Hood River, OR
(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
stopped in after climbing coopers spur on hood for some IPA and salmon. both were great. the service was not bad, unfortunatly no ale glasses for sale with the pubs design. definatly worth the stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Tuwalski Brian Tuwalski, cleveland, OH
(01/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
We had the IPA which was good (nothing special) and the Hefe which was excellent. The bar is on the 3rd floor of restored house, with an outdoor patio giving a terrific view of the Columbia River Gorge.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Klune Mike Klune, Madison, WI
(08/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
I sampled the regular IPA, the Imperial IPA (8.8% wow), and the Imperial stout. Great beer. The food was fine as was the service. Gorgeous view of the river to boot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(02/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Pretty good beer; but consistency lacks somewhat. The bar area is also a bit claustrophobic. The "regulars" seem to get better service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Columbia River Gorge, WA
(05/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
GREAT PLACE TO GO AFTER BEING ON THE TRAIL ALL DAY. PALE RIDER PALE ALE IS EXCELLENT.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Turner Greg Turner, Richmond, VA
(08/13/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.738 seconds) 05:48:28 54.161.202.106, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS